Military Review

Popelyany and the strategic role of the Russian cavalry in the Baltic States

16
The fighting in the Baltics in the spring-early summer of 1915 was highly dynamic, while the opponents concentrated a significant number of cavalry units in the theater of military operations. During this period of the war, on the northern flank of the Russian-German front, operational units of a mixed composition operated with a significant share of mobile troop groups.


By mid-May, the German grouping that operated in Latvia and northern Lithuania, after receiving additional forces, was structured in the form of the Nemansky army. Russian reserves were hurriedly sent to the theater of military operations, of which two military groups were formed, which after the transfer of additional reserves were structured in the form of the 5 Army of the North-Western Front.

By May 28, 1915, the northern strike group of the Nemansk army (the 1 reserve corps of K. von Morgen and E. Shmettov's cavalry corps) continued the offensive that had begun earlier in order to crush the Russian troops near Shavli. 1-I reserve division of the enemy 30-May defeated the Russian places. Kuzhi, and 31-go - Kuzovimya. 6-I reserve division took places. Daukshi, reflecting a strong night attack of Russian parts.

Shmettov's equestrian corps (6-I (28-I, 33-I, 45-I cavalry brigades), 2-I (5-I, 8-I cavalry and Leib-Husar brigades) cavalry divisions flank of the German infantry. In fact, a crucial task was set before the German cavalry: while the infantry would be hammered by Russian troops from the front, to carry out a flanking maneuver and cut off their escape routes.

The course of the movement of Shmettov's horse hull is to Popelyany.

Seeing the danger, in order to fend off the enemy’s movement, the Russian command advanced strong reserves — the Ussurian cavalry brigade, the 4 th cavalry division, the Cossack units and the troops of the 17 th infantry division of the 19 th army corps.

The German cavalry, carrying out the task, attacked the Russian part. And here, as the German eyewitness wrote: “events occurred that put an end to this cavalry operation in the enemy’s rear”. 1 of June at places. Popelyany Germans were attacked by the Russian cavalry.

The balance of forces of the opponents in the battle at Popelyan was as follows.

Russian: Ussurian Horse Brigade: Primorsky Dragoon Regiment, 1 of Nerchinsky His Highness Heir Tsesarevich Regiment of the Transbaikalian Cossack Army, Ussurian Cossack Regiment, 1 of the Mounted Artillery Division.

Germans: 6 Cavalry Division: 33 Cavalry Brigade (9 and 13 Dragoon Regiments); 2 Cavalry Division: 8 Cavalry Brigade (7 Cth Cuirassier and 12 C hussars); Life-Hussar Brigade (1 and 2-th Life Hussars).

One of the outstanding units of the Russian cavalry was the Ussurian cavalry brigade. Parts of the brigade distinguished themselves in the Russian-Chinese 1900 - 1901. and the Russian-Japanese 1904 - 1905's. wars, brilliantly proved themselves in the First World War. Since 27 in March 1915, the brigade was commanded by one of the best cavalry commanders of the Russian army during the Great War during the Great War, Major General A. M. Krymov. The commander of 5-th Russian army of the North-Western Front, cavalry general P. A. Plehve, considering the Ussuri cavalry brigade to be a particularly stable part, used it as a selective mobile reserve capable of solving the widest range of combat missions.

Popelyany and the strategic role of the Russian cavalry in the Baltic States

Il 1. The banner of 1 of Nerchinsky, His Highness the Heir of the Tsarevich, the regiment of the Trans-Baikal Cossack Army of the Ussurian Horse Brigade. 1 th Nerchinsky regiment of the Trans-Baikal Cossack troops 1896-1906. Comp. Makovkin A.E. Spb., 1907.

In the June battles of Popelyan, the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment of the Ussurian Horse Brigade was especially notable.

A German source describes these events in the following way: “... followed by a strong outburst of the enemy against the left flank of the 33 Cavalry Brigade of Popelyany and Kalnishki. The brigade was forced to retreat with persistent battles on Trishki, hiding behind the 1 squadron of the 9 th dragoon regiment and the 5 squadron of the 12 hussar regiment ... I had to clear Popelyany. The brigade retreated to Trishki. ”

The combat log of the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment recorded how the 1 th and 2 th squadrons of the regiment forced the river under enemy fire, overturning and destroying the enemy’s military guard at the ford, and the dragoon machine guns opened fire on Kalnyshki village.

German artillery opened fire on the crossing, but to no avail - the speed of cavalry was its best defense. Under enemy fire, Russian squadrons broke into Kalnishki: “... no less than 100 enemy horsemen pursued by strikes of dragoon peaks and drafts, but at the height of der. Our Urbanai pursuing horsemen were met by enemy fire in the flank ... and having lost several horses, partly turned into Kalnyshki, and partly rushed headlong at the shots. " The regimental commander at the head of the 3 th squadron and with the support of 5 th drove the enemy out of Urbanay. And the 5 th squadron overturned the "Thuringian" hussars with one blow (i.e. the hussars of the 12 th regiment).

Applying to the tactical situation, the Russian dragoons fought a combined battle - in Urbanay, they, dismounting, with a “checkers” strike, beat persistent Germans out of the village houses.

Russian horsemen chased the enemy in the direction of the village. Dumbra - part of them fell into the swampy area with peatlands south of the village. The commander of the Primorsky regiment reported the battlefield picture he saw at that time: “... the battlefield ... represented the following picture: individual horsemen and groups roamed and scurried across the field and bushes, clearing the terrain from the scattered enemy; who, having lost a horse, killed a German horse, who led a prisoner, the shots did not cease, some enemy fighters resisted stubbornly. There was a case when a captured non-commissioned officer, a hussar, was a few dozen steps away from the assembly point, snatching a revolver with a shot at close range, put the dragoon guard and shot himself. Two hussars, sowing surrounded in a ditch, answered the offer of delivery with shots until they were cut down. ”

As a result of this dynamic battle der. and mr. dv Kalnishki, as well as der. Urbanay were captured by the Russian dragoons.

The enemy began to retreat to the shore of the river. Venta, where he was met by fire suitable Transbaikalians. The Germans were knocked out of the village of Rymshi and Grezhi, rushing to the township. Populated under the protection of their trenches. The 1-I hundred of the Nerchinsk Cossack regiment was approaching the battlefield, forcing the river.


Il 2. Cavalry attack Cossacks-Ussurians. Niva. 1915. No. 37.

The Germans strengthened in Popelyany, turning the Catholic church into the main stronghold. Moreover, the enemy tried to counterattack, but again the 3 th and 6 th squadrons of the Primorsky Dragoons regiment were knocked off, and withdrew behind the barbed wire. Fire from the trenches in 6 squadron killed the hero of the popelyansky battle - Lieutenant Zubov and 8 dragoons who tried to cut the wire with swords. 3-th squadron blow to the flank forced the Germans to abandon the fortified position and retreat to Popelyany.

At the same time, the group of captain Shipunova seized der. Dumbra, knocking over the enemy’s half-squadron with a horse attack, attacked the enemy from the rear. Once in a semi-circle, the Germans began to depart from Popelyan to the south.


Il 3. N. I. Shipunov, captain of the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment, hero of the battle at Popelyan 1 June 1915, Georgievsky cavalier. In the future - the commander of the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment. He died in Buenos Aires in 1952. In the photo - in dragoon peacetime form with epaulets of staff captain. Gorokhov J. Russian Imperial cavalry. Collectors book, 2008.

The tactical attack of the Russian cavalry represents a kind of record - the Primorsky Dragoons regiment forced the r. Venta, moving field gallop throughout 8-mi versts. In the course of the battle, frontal attacks, actions to the flank and rear of the enemy were used. When the attack did not succeed with a swoop, the dragoons methodically repeated it, applying to the conditions of the terrain and the characteristics of the battle. The initiative of the command of the unit - the regimental commander, division commanders and squadrons draws attention. The actions of the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment were distinguished by their flexibility in responding to the situation, the combination of fire, strikes with cold weapons and maneuver.

The losses of the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment, despite the German reports about the "destruction", the "death" of the Russian squadrons were: 5 officers (1 killed, 3 injured, 1 went missing) and 92 of dragoon (22 killed and died, 29 was wounded and injured XUUMX (32 killed and died, 9 was wounded and injured). injured, but remained in the ranks, XNUMX was missing).

The Germans are hacked "without an account." Moreover, according to German data, the loss of only one 1 squadron of the 9 dragoon regiment amounted to 33 man. According to the testimony of the prisoners, the 9 th Dragoon Regiment completely lost its squadron to 2, and the rest of the German cavalry suffered heavy losses. Primorye trophies steel: 1 officer 12-th Hussars, 1 officer 9-th Dragoons, 48 lower ranks 9-th and 13-th dragoon regiments, 12-th Hussars, 1-th and 2-of Life Hussar regiments, 69 horses, field kitchen and 9 carts.

5-th of King Charles I of Romania (9-mu Hanover) and 1-mu (Schleswig-Holstein) Dragoons (13-Cavalry Brigade 33-Cavalry Division): The defeat 6-minute German cavalry regiment was applied during the horse attack , 1 and 2 (Queen Victoria Prussian No. 2), the Lifeguard brah (the Life-Hussar Brigade of the 2th Cavalry Division) and the 12 (Thuringian) Hussar Regiment (5-the cavalry regiment (2), and the XNUMX (Thuringian) Hussar Regiment (XNUMX-the cavalry regiment (XNUMX), and the XNUMX (Thuringian) Hussar Regiment (XNUMX-th Cavalry Regiment (XNUMX-th Cavalry) (XNUMX-th Cavalry Regiment (XNUMX-th Cavalry Regiment (XNUMX-th Cavalry Regiment) (XNUMX-th Cavalry Division)) ).

In fact, the Russian cavalry brigade defeated the whole cavalry corps of the Germans! Including the select hussar life brigade - so-called. "Hussars of Death." The chief of the 1 th Leib Hussar Regiment at the time of the outbreak of World War was Wilhelm Kronprinz Prussky - heir to the throne of the German Empire.


Il 4. Wilhelm Kronprinz of Prussia in the form of the 1 th hussar regiment. Hugo FW Schulz. Die Preußischen Kavallerie-Regimenter 1913-1914. Augsburg, 1992.

Moreover, the German infantry was also defeated - after jumping over a wire fence, the Primorsky Dragoons regiment overthrew a battalion of German rangers.


Il 5. Attack of the Russian cavalry on the village, defended by German rangers. Fig. thin R. Frentz. Chronicle of the war 1915. No. 39.

The attack on Popelyan on June 1 of 1915 was of major operational importance. The covering maneuver of the German troops (Shmettov's cavalry corps) was paralyzed and the advance of the infantry (Morgen corps) was stopped. 1-th Reserve Corps stopped the offensive and went on the defensive - he was ordered to gain a foothold and hold the occupied lines. Under the influence of these events, the command of the German Eastern Front promised to the command of the Neman army to send reinforcements consisting of: 3 and 41 infantry divisions, 29 brigade of landsturm and 8 cavalry division. As the German source shyly noted: “The Neman army was now confronted with the task of retaining the won space for the near future until there was an opportunity for a new offensive for further rejection of the northern Russian flank.”

The situation in the Shavel direction has stabilized. Opponent almost a month went on the defensive. Stabilization of the front in the Baltic States — the Russian cavalry of the North-Western Front worked on this crucial task as part of the 1915 summer campaign, which was difficult for the Russian army.

If the German cavalry fought almost exclusively with firearms, the Russian cavalry practiced strikes with cold weapons, trying to achieve a breakthrough of the enemy front, attacking in cavalry. Attacks in the horse ranks assumed a high combat level of the unit, the determination and valor of its personnel, the achievement of tactical surprise.

All these prerequisites existed among units of the Ussurian horse brigade. Its units not only successfully combined firefighting and combat with cold weapons, carried out saber and bayonet attacks, were able to operate in the field and settlements, fought in equestrian and on foot. They harbored a special love for equestrian attacks - the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment from May 25 to June 11. 1915 conducted seven such attacks (by the forces of the entire regiment and individual squadrons). And this is under the conditions of the so-called. "Modern war", gradually eliminating the cavalry from the battlefield. The command of the brigade skillfully achieve tactical surprise, competently operated with horse masses in battle.

It was the Russian imperial cavalry in the First World War, unlike the cavalry of other armies, that had completed cavalry attacks. And one of them is the immortal equestrian attack of the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment at Popelyans 1, June 1915.
Author:
16 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. V.ic
    V.ic 17 November 2016 06: 13
    +5
    The high mobility of the cavalry made it possible to use it as a sharp scalpel in military operations. In the conditions of positional warfare on the western front since 1916, cavalry gave way to a new kind = tanks. But on the Eastern Front before the transition of the war to the positional phase, cavalry battles took place. But in the conditions of the civil war in Russia, which ran parallel to the railway lines (echelon war), the role of cavalry increased many times: Mamantov’s raid, 4 (four!) Mounted armies near the Red Army.
    1. igordok
      igordok 17 November 2016 07: 48
      +1
      Quote: V.ic
      The high mobility of the cavalry made it possible to use it as a sharp scalpel in military operations.

      But machine guns, as well as shrapnel with buckshot, put an end to the cavalry as a form of aircraft.
      1. V.ic
        V.ic 17 November 2016 08: 47
        +5
        Horses need to be fed, washed, grazed, scraped, raised, kept shorter. It is expensive at the present time. One horsepower needs a lot of feed. But imagine the raid of Belov's horsemen to the rear of the Germans or the raids of Kovpak and Saburov without horses ... We will not underestimate the role of Lev Dovator's cavalry in the counter-offensive near Moscow, and the role of mechanized cavalry groups in the Bagration operation was also very significant.
      2. Alexey RA
        Alexey RA 17 November 2016 15: 37
        +5
        Quote: igordok
        But machine guns, as well as shrapnel with buckshot, put an end to the cavalry as a form of aircraft.

        Not on cavalry. And on attacks in horseback.
        The cavalry remained as "motorized infantry for the poor": movement by horsemen, attack - on foot (an attack in a mounted formation - only in exceptional cases, when the enemy is caught by surprise and does not have time to build a defense). And so she fought the entire Second World War.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 17 November 2016 07: 49
    +2
    Maybe S.M.Budenny is right when asked what role the cavalry will play in the atomic war, he answered decisively?
    1. Urfin
      Urfin 17 November 2016 09: 27
      +2
      hmm ... really. providing horses, on the one hand, is more expensive, but, on the other, essentially does not require industry as such. True horses for starters need to be bred in the right amount - it's 10-20 years, probably. During this time, industry can recover, at least sufficiently to provide fuel.
    2. tundra
      tundra 19 November 2016 11: 22
      +1
      Hmm under the USSR, I have repeatedly seen the parking of mothballed steam locomotives, including in Sverdlovsk.
      It’s also like a relic, but no chips, cut firewood and eat,
      no electromagnetic radiation is scary.
      Not what kind of computer board do you have, nor electronic fuel injection control units.
      Horses are peculiar from the past.
  3. nivander
    nivander 17 November 2016 10: 22
    +10
    non-commissioned officer of the Primorsky Dragoon Regiment Semyon Budyonny
  4. Aleksander
    Aleksander 17 November 2016 10: 47
    +13
    No wonder the war was called the Second Patriotic War - how selflessly fought Russian soldiers and officers against the German invaders! Thanks to the author for a wonderful article.

    There, near, near Vilna, in the same saber attack was killed platoon commander Oleg Romanov, Emperor's second cousinwho went to war along with all the other 4 brothers I .. The war really was a nationwide


    The platoon leader Oleg Romanov
    1. captain
      captain 17 November 2016 12: 10
      +9
      The bulk of the relatives of Nicholas !! fought at the front. The commander of the Caucasian equestrian Native division (among the Wild) was the brother of Tsar Mikhail, who was highly respected among Muslims.
  5. xan
    xan 17 November 2016 15: 59
    +1
    with fans to fight Russia was always lucky. But why did some popolises climb up? If such a cool cavalry (this is undeniable), then why not a single strategic raid in the entire war? The Germans had one.
  6. antivirus
    antivirus 17 November 2016 19: 47
    +1
    and drag machine guns opened fire on the village of Kalniki.
    - why "carts from Budyonny and Makhno" and not Cossack machine guns on carts?
    How did Ros Empire's "theory of military art" sink into dust and nothingness?
    Could the mobility of the carts (?) Compensate for the advantage in heavy artillery and orgnung?
    Or was everything predetermined by the development-drying process of the Ros Empire?
    What is the effect of the backlog in the UAV? Where do we come, retired theorists? or is everything fixable? And in 15 g, why did they give Poland away?
    1. V.ic
      V.ic 17 November 2016 20: 09
      0
      Quote: antivirus
      "orgnung"?

      ... "Ordnung" can only be defeated by Ordnung / ...
      1. antivirus
        antivirus 17 November 2016 20: 29
        0
        thanks already forgotten (passed at school, it was a long time ago)
  7. Zmicerz
    Zmicerz 18 November 2016 12: 31
    +1
    On the topic of the article there is a very good book "Russian cavalry in the First World War" edited by Professor Sergei Vladimirovich Volkov, which contains the memoirs of the participants.
  8. Trapperxnumx
    Trapperxnumx 18 November 2016 16: 00
    +6
    The film would make such .... it would be great !!!!

Попеляны и стратегическая роль русской конницы в Прибалтике

Боевые действия в Прибалтике весной – начале лета 1915 г. отличались высокой динамичностью, на театре военных действий противники сосредоточили значительное количество кавалерийских частей. В этот период войны на северном фланге русско-германского фронта действовали оперативные объединения смешанного состава со значительным удельным весом мобильных войсковых групп.

К середине мая германская группировка, действовавшая в Латвии и северной Литве, после получения дополнительных сил, была структурирована в форме Неманской армии. На театр военных действий были спешно направлены русские резервы, из которых образованы две войсковые группы, которые после переброски дополнительных резервов были структурированы в форме 5-й армии Северо-Западного фронта.

К 28-му мая 1915 г. северная ударная группа Неманской армии (1-й резервный корпус К. фон Моргена и кавалерийский корпус Э. Шметтова) продолжала начавшееся ранее наступление с целью разгромить русские войска у г. Шавли. 1-я резервная дивизия противника 30-го мая отбила у русских мест. Кужи, а 31-го – Кузовимя. 6-я резервная дивизия заняла мест. Даукши, отразив сильную ночную атаку русских частей.


Конный корпус Шметтова (6-я (28-я, 33-я, 45-я кавалерийские бригады), 2-я (5-я, 8-я кавалерийские и Лейб-гусарская бригады) кавалерийские дивизии с приданными частями усиления) обеспечивал левый фланг германской пехоты. Фактически перед германской конницей ставилась ответственная задача: в то время как пехота скует русские войска с фронта, осуществить фланговый маневр и отрезать им пути отступления.

Курс движения конного корпуса Шметтова – на Попеляны.

Увидев опасность, с целью парировать движение противника, русское командование выдвинуло сильные резервы - Уссурийскую конную бригаду, 4-ю кавалерийскую дивизию, казачьи части и войска 17-й пехотной дивизии 19-го армейского корпуса.

Германская конница, выполняя поставленную задачу, атаковала русские части. И тут, как писал германский очевидец: «произошли события, которые положили конец этой операции конницы в тылу противника». 1-го июня у мест. Попеляны германцы были атакованы русской конницей.

Соотношение сил противников в бою у Попелян было следующим.

Русские: Уссурийская конная бригада: Приморский драгунский полк, 1-й Нерчинский Его Высочества Наследника Цесаревича полк Забайкальского казачьего войска, Уссурийский казачий полк, 1-й конно-артиллерийский дивизион.

Германцы: 6-я кавалерийская дивизия: 33-я кавалерийская бригада (9-й и 13-й драгунские полки); 2-я кавалерийская дивизия: 8-я кавалерийская бригада (7-й кирасирский и 12-й гусарский полки); Лейб-гусарская бригада (1-й и 2-й лейб-гусарские полки).

Одним из выдающихся соединений русской кавалерии являлась Уссурийская конная бригада. Части бригады отличились в Русско-китайской 1900 - 1901 гг. и Русско-японской 1904 – 1905 гг. войнах, блестяще проявили себя в Первой мировой войне. С 27 марта 1915 г. бригадой командовал один из лучших кавалерийских командиров русской армии периода Великой войны генерал-майор А. М. Крымов. Командующий 5-й русской армией Северо-Западного фронта генерал от кавалерии П. А. Плеве, считая Уссурийскую конную бригаду особенно устойчивой частью, пользовался ей и как отборным мобильным резервом, способным решать самый широкий спектр боевых задач.

Попеляны и стратегическая роль русской конницы в Прибалтике

Ил. 1. Знамя 1-го Нерчинского Его Высочества Наследника Цесаревича полка Забайкальского казачьего войска Уссурийской конной бригады. 1-й Нерчинский полк Забайкальского казачьего войска 1896-1906 гг. Сост. Маковкин А. Е. Спб., 1907.

В июньских боях у Попелян особенно отличился Приморский драгунский полк Уссурийской конной бригады.

Немецкий источник так описывает эти события: «…последовала сильная охватывающая атака противника на левый фланг 33-й кавалерийской бригады у Попеляны и Кальнишки. Бригада вынуждена была отойти с упорными боями на Тришки, прикрываясь 1-м эскадроном 9-го драгунского полка и 5-м эскадроном 12-го гусарского полка… Пришлось очистить Попеляны. Бригада отошла на Тришки».

Журнал боевых действий Приморского драгунского полка зафиксировал, как под огнем врага 1-й и 2-й эскадроны полка форсировали реку, опрокинув и уничтожив боевое охранение противника у брода, а драгунские пулеметы открыли огонь по д. Кальнишки.

Германская артиллерия открыла огонь по переправе, но безрезультатно – скорость конницы была ее лучшей защитой. Под огнем противника русские эскадроны ворвались в Кальнишки: «…по большой дороге от Кальнишек на Грежи показалось не менее 100 неприятельских всадников, преследуемых ударами драгунских пик и шашек, но на высоте дер. Урбанайцы наши преследующие всадники были встречены огнем противника во фланг… и потеряв несколько лошадей, частью повернули в Кальнишки, а частью бросились в лоб на выстрелы». Командир полка во главе 3-го эскадрона и при поддержке 5-го выбил противника из Урбанайцы. Причем 5-й эскадрон одним ударом опрокинул «тюрингских» гусар (т. е. гусар 12-го полка).

Применяясь к тактической обстановке, русские драгуны вели комбинированный бой – в Урбанайцах они, спешившись, ударом «в шашки» выбивали упорствующих германцев из домов деревни.

Русские конники преследовали противника в направлении на дер. Думбры – часть их попала в заболоченную торфяниками местность к югу от селения. Командир Приморского полка так передает увиденную им в это время картину поля боя: «...поле боя … представляло следующую картину: отдельные всадники и группы бродили и носились по полю и кустам, очищая местность от рассеянного противника; кто, потеряв убитым коня, ловил немецкую лошадь, кто вел пленного, выстрелы не смолкали, отдельные бойцы противника сопротивлялись упорно. Зарегистрирован случай, когда пленный унтер-офицер гусар в нескольких десятках шагов от сборного пункта, выхватив револьвер выстрелом в упор уложил конвоира-драгуна и застрелился сам. Два гусара, засев в канаве окруженные, на предложение сдачи отвечали выстрелами, пока не были зарублены».

В итоге этого динамичного боя дер. и госп. дв. Кальнишки, а также дер. Урбанайцы были захвачены русскими драгунами.

Противник стал отходить на берег р. Венты, где был встречен огнем подходивших забайкальцев. Немцы были выбиты и из д.д Рымши и Грежи, бросившись к местеч. Попеляны под защиту своих окопов. К полю боя приближалась, форсировав реку, 1-я сотня Нерчинского казачьего полка.


Ил. 2. Кавалерийская атака казаков-уссурийцев. Нива. 1915. № 37.

Немцы укрепились в Попелянах, превратив католический костел в главный опорный пункт. Более того, противник попытался контратаковать, но вновь конной атакой 3-го и 6-го эскадронов Приморского драгунского полка был опрокинут, и отошел за колючую проволоку. Огнем из окопов в 6-м эскадроне были убиты герой попелянского боя – поручик Зубов и 8 драгун, попытавшихся рубить проволоку шашками. 3-й эскадрон ударом во фланг вынудил немцев бросить укрепленную позицию и отойти в Попеляны.

В это же время группа ротмистра Шипунова захватила дер. Думбры, конной атакой опрокинув полуэскадрон гусар противника, и атаковала врага с тыла. Оказавшись в полуокружении, германцы стали отходить из Попелян на юг.


Ил. 3. Н. И. Шипунов, ротмистр Приморского драгунского полка, герой боя у Попелян 1 июня 1915 г., георгиевский кавалер. В будущем – командир Приморского драгунского полка. Умер в Буэнос-Айресе в 1952 г. На фотографии - в драгунской форме мирного времени с погонами штабс-ротмистра. Горохов Ж. Русская императорская кавалерия. Collectors book, 2008.

Тактически атака русских конников представляет собой своеобразный рекорд - Приморский драгунский полк форсировал р. Венту, двигаясь полевым галопом на протяжении 8-ми верст. В ходе боя применялись лобовые атаки, действия во фланг и тыл противника. Когда атака с наскока не удавалась, драгуны методически ее повторяли, применившись к условиям местности и особенностям боя. Обращает на себя внимание инициативность командования части - командира полка, командиров дивизионов и эскадронов. Действия Приморского драгунского полка отличали гибкость реагирования на обстановку, сочетание огня, ударов холодным оружием и маневра.

Потери Приморского драгунского полка, несмотря на немецкие реляции о «уничтожении», «гибели» русских эскадронов составили: 5 офицеров (1 убит, 3 ранены, 1 пропал без вести) и 92 драгуна (22 убито и умерло, 29 ранено и эвакуировано, 32 ранены, но остались в строю, 9 пропало без вести).

Немцев изрублено «без счета». Причем, по немецким данным, потери только одного 1-го эскадрона 9-го драгунского полка составили 33 человека. По показаниям пленных, 9-й драгунский полк полностью потерял 2 своих эскадрона, тяжелые потери понесли и остальные части германской конницы. Трофеями приморцев стали: 1 офицер 12-го гусарского полка, 1 офицер 9-го драгунского полка, 48 нижних чинов 9-го и 13-го драгунских полков, 12-го гусарского, 1-го и 2-го лейб-гусарских полков, 69 лошадей, походная кухня и 9 повозок.

В ходе конной атаки было нанесено поражение 5-ти германским кавалерийским полкам: 9-му короля Карла I Румынского (1-му Ганноверскому) и 13-му (Шлезвиг-Гольштейнскому) драгунским полкам (33-я кавалерийская бригада 6-й кавалерийской дивизии), 1-му и 2-му (королевы Виктории Прусской № 2) лейб-гусарским полкам (Лейб-гусарская бригада 2-й кавалерийской дивизии) и 12-му (Тюрингскому) гусарскому полку (5-я кавалерийская бригада 2-й кавалерийской дивизии).

Фактически русская конная бригада нанесла поражение целому конному корпусу немцев! В том числе отборной гусарской Лейб-бригаде – т. н. «Гусарам Смерти». Шефом 1-го лейб-гусарского полка к моменту начала мировой войны являлся Вильгельм Кронпринц Прусский – наследник престола Германской империи.


Ил. 4. Вильгельм Кронпринц Прусский в форме 1-го лейб-гусарского полка. Hugo F. W. Schulz. Die Preußischen Kavallerie-Regimenter 1913-1914. Augsburg, 1992.

Более того, было нанесено поражение и германской пехоте - перемахнув через проволочное заграждение, Приморский драгунский полк опрокинул батальон немецких егерей.


Ил. 5. Атака русских кавалеристов на деревню, обороняемую немецкими егерями. Рис. худ. Р. Френц. Летопись войны 1915. № 39.

Атака у Попелян 1-го июня 1915 г. имела важное оперативное значение. Был парализован охватывающий маневр германских войск (конный корпус Шметтова) и остановлено наступление пехоты (корпус Моргена). 1-й резервный корпус прекратил наступление и перешел к обороне – ему было приказано закрепиться и удерживать занятые рубежи. Командование германского Восточного фронта под влиянием этих событий обещало командованию Неманской армии присылку подкреплений в составе: 3-й и 41-й пехотных дивизий, 29-й бригады ландштурма и 8-й кавалерийской дивизии. Как стыдливо отметил германский источник: «Перед Неманской армией стояла теперь задача - удержать за собой на ближайшее время выигранное пространство до тех пор, пока не представится случай к новому наступлению для дальнейшего отбрасывания северного русского фланга».

Обстановка на Шавельском направлении стабилизировалась. Противник почти на месяц перешел к обороне. Стабилизация фронта в Прибалтике – на решение этой важнейшей задачи в рамках тяжелой для русской армии летней кампании 1915 г. работала русская конница Северо-Западного фронта.

Если германская кавалерия сражалась почти исключительно при помощи огнестрельного оружия, то русская конница практиковала удары холодным оружием, стремилась добиться прорыва фронта противника, атакуя в конном строю. Атаки в конном строю предполагали высокий боевой уровень части, решительность и доблесть ее личного состава, достижение тактической внезапности.

Все эти предпосылки имелись у частей Уссурийской конной бригады. Ее подразделения не только удачно сочетали огневой бой и бой холодным оружием, осуществляли сабельные и штыковые атаки, умели действовать в поле и населенных пунктах, сражались в конном и пешем строю. Они питали особую любовь именно к конным атакам – Приморский драгунский полк с 25-го мая по 11-е июня 1915 г. провел семь таких атак (силами всего полка и отдельных эскадронов). И это в условиях т. н. «современной войны», постепенно устранявшей конницу с поля боя. Командование бригады умело достигать тактической внезапности, грамотно оперировало конными массами в бою.

Именно у русской императорской кавалерии в Первую мировую войну, в отличие от кавалерии других армий, были завершенные конные атаки. И одна из них – бессмертная конная атака Приморского драгунского полка у Попелян 1-го июня 1915 г.
Автор: Олейников Алексей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 16

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. V.ic 17 ноября 2016 06:13
    Высокая мобильность кавалерии позволяла применить её как острый скальпель в войсковых операциях. В условиях позиционной войны на западном фронте с 1916 г. кавалерия уступила место новому виду = танкам. Зато на Восточном фронте до перехода войны в позиционную фазу кавалерийские схватки имели место. Зато в условиях гражданской войны в России шедшей параллельно ж/д магистралям (эшелонная война) роль конницы возросла многократно: рейд Мамантова, 4 (четыре!) конные армии у Красной Армии.
    1. igordok 17 ноября 2016 07:48
      Цитата: V.ic
      Высокая мобильность кавалерии позволяла применить её как острый скальпель в войсковых операциях.

      Но пулеметы, а так-же шрапнель с картечью, поставили крест на коннице как виде ВС.
      1. V.ic 17 ноября 2016 08:47
        Коней нужно: кормить, мыть, пасти, скрести, растить, содержать короче. По нынешним временам дорого. На одну лошадиную силу нужно много корма. Зато представьте себе рейд конников Белова в тыл к немцам или рейды Ковпака и Сабурова без коней... Роль конницы Льва Доватора в контрнаступлении под Москвой не будем преуменьшать, да и роль конно-механизированных групп в проведении операции "Багратион" тоже была весьма значительной.
      2. Alexey RA 17 ноября 2016 15:37
        Цитата: igordok
        Но пулеметы, а так-же шрапнель с картечью, поставили крест на коннице как виде ВС.

        Не на коннице. А на атаках в конном строю.
        Конница же осталась как "мотопехота для бедных": передвижение конными, атака - в пешем строю (атака в конном строю - лишь в исключительных случаях, когда противник застигнут врасплох и не успевает выстроить оборону). И провоевала так всю Вторую Мировую.
  2. parusnik 17 ноября 2016 07:49
    Может прав С.М.Буденный, когда его спросили, какую роль сыграет кавалерия в атомной войне, он ответил решающую?
    1. Урфин 17 ноября 2016 09:27
      хм... действительно. обеспечение лошадей, с одной стороны, дороже, но, с другой, по сути не требует наличия промышленности как таковой. Правда коней для начала нужно развести в нужном количестве - это лет 10-20, наверное. За это время промышленность может восстановиться, по крайней мере в достаточное степени для обеспечения топливом.
    2. тундряк 19 ноября 2016 11:22
      Хм при СССР , не раз видел стоянки законсервированных паровозов , в Свердловске в том числе.
      Тоже вроде пережиток, зато никаких микросхем, руби дрова да едь,
      никакое эл магнитное излучение не страшно.
      Ни каких тебе борт компьютеров, ни электронных блоков управления впрыском топлива.
      Лошадки своеобразные из прошлого.
  3. нивасандер 17 ноября 2016 10:22
    унтер-офицер Приморского драгунского полка Семен Буденный
  4. Aleksander 17 ноября 2016 10:47
    Недаром война называлась Второй Отечественной-как же самоотверженно дрались русские солдаты и офицеры против немецких оккупантов! Спасибо автору за замечательную статью.

    Там же, рядом, под Вильно,в такой же сабельной атаке погиб командир взвода Олег Романов-троюродный брат Императора, отправившийся на войну вместе со всеми остальными 4-я братьями.. Война действительно была всенародной


    Командир взвода Олег Константинович Романов
    1. ротмистр 17 ноября 2016 12:10
      Основная масса родственников Николая!! воевала на фронте. Командира Кавказской конной Туземной дивизии ( в народе Дикой) был брат царя Михаил, пользовался огромным уважением среди мусульман.
  5. xan 17 ноября 2016 15:59
    с любителями подраться России вечно везло. Вот только почему наверх одни пополизы вылезали? Если такая классная кавалерия (это бесспорно), то почему не одного стратегического рейда за всю войну? У немцев один был.
    xan
  6. антивирус 17 ноября 2016 19:47
    а драгунские пулеметы открыли огонь по д. Кальнишки.
    - почему "тачанки от Буденного и Махно" , а не Казачьи пулеметы на повозках?
    Как проседала в пыль и небытие "теория военного искусства" Рос Империи?
    Мобильность тачанок могла (?) компенсировать перевес в тяжелой артиллерии и "оргнунге"?
    Или всё было предрешено ходом развития-усыхания Рос Империи?
    Как сказывается сейчас отставание в БЛА? К чему придем, теоретики-отставники? или всё поправимо? А в 15 г почему Польшу отдали?
    1. V.ic 17 ноября 2016 20:09
      Цитата: антивирус
      "оргнунге"?

      ..."оргнунг" можно одолеть только орднунгом /Ordnung/...
      1. антивирус 17 ноября 2016 20:29
        спасибо забыл уже(проходил в школе, давно было)
  7. Zmicerz 18 ноября 2016 12:31
    На тему статьи есть очень хорошая книга "Русская кавалерия в первой мировой войне" по редакцией профессора Сергея Владимировича Волкова, где собраны воспоминания участников.
  8. Trapper7 18 ноября 2016 16:00
    Фильм бы снять такой.... было-бы здорово!!!!
Картина дня