Gray Cardinal Century 18

6
Gray Cardinal Century 18The political figure of Osterman has not been studied by domestic historians enough; in the author's works we find only superficial references to this extraordinary person. There are many gaps in his biography, and his assessments are ambiguous and contradictory. However, all researchers agree on one thing: Heinrich Osterman played an important role for Russia at a difficult time after the death of Peter the Great.

Born a brilliant courtier in 1687, in the small German town of Bochum, in a devout Catholic family. Despite the strict moral education, Osterman did not escape a period of crazy youth, the mistakes of which he had spared all his long and wonderful life. According to descriptions of contemporaries, he was a proud, even somewhat arrogant and arrogant person, a completely incorruptible official, as well as a dangerous and cunning politician. Heinrich Osterman had a rounded chin and upturned lip, his portraits are on numerous medallions left to his descendants. Not much is known about the youth of the gray cardinal of the Russian throne. It is surprising that this correct, demanding person led a very dissolute student life and even killed one of his peers in a drunken stupor. Vicious behavior of young Osterman almost killed his father, who served as a pastor in the local Catholic church. Born German who showed high ability in training, was forced to flee from justice in far northern Russia. But do not say that the flow of the service of the Russian emperor was the only way out, the purpose of which was only saved from criminal punishment. Despite his young age, Osterman even then had a keen mind and insight, so he knew perfectly well what benefits the trip would bring. The age of sixteen did not prevent the prudent German from entering the sovereign's service. The courage of a future politician was spurred on by his arrogance and desire for exaltation. He was not only a talented specialist in the field of public service, but also an ambitious, arrogant contender for power. Few people enjoyed talking with a German, so he had no close friends.

During the reign of Peter the Great, Osterman stood out thanks to his diplomatic abilities, manifested in negotiations with the Swedes. Hypocrisy, pretense and prudence were inherent in the German, and he skillfully used them. Andrei Ivanovich’s career, namely, Osterman chose this Russian name for himself, was developing rapidly, as even his enemies recognized his extraordinary analytical skills. Pyotr Alekseevich noted the special care, diligence and foresight of the German careerist, for which he especially appreciated and honored him. During the reign of Peter the Great, there is no need to talk about the influence on Osterman’s government decisions, but even then he became irreplaceable. However, after the death of the brilliant reformer, the German gained a great deal of weight at court. Andrey had no permanent and faithful allies, because no one trusted and acted only in his own careerist interests. The only interests with which he was considered were the state positions and objectives of tsarism.

First in power in tandem with Menshikov and Catherine I, Osterman was able to enlist the support of Anna Ivanovna and her relative Anna Leopoldovna and continued his exaltation already during their reign. The government of the country, while Anna Ivanovna was on the throne, was nominally carried out on behalf of the empress, but in fact the decisions were made by Biron, Osterman and Minich. A period of revelry and luxury on the part of the royal person and dangerous internecine intrigues brought Russia into a state of instability and decline. A lot of lands received by the empire during the time of Peter the Great were lost, the combat effectiveness of the army decreased, and former power was lost fleet. It was during this difficult and gloomy period stories Russia came the heyday of the power of the brilliant German. Adhering to the pro-Austrian policy, Osterman repeatedly protected the decisions to send Russian troops to Europe. Often such manipulations brought direct damage to Russia, but the gray cardinal inexorably built his own line of government.

Preparation of a palace coup led by Elizabeth was not sheltered from sight visionary German. Long before his preparation, Andrei Ivanovich recommended the empress to eliminate Peter’s masterful daughter, marrying one of the European princes, but his proposals were not taken into account.

Since the ascension to the throne of Elizabeth, Osterman immediately descends from the heights of power and is detained as one of the leaders of the "ruling German clique." The new empress organized the trial, as a result of which Osterman was accused of many serious political crimes, one of which was a forgery of the royal decree on the successor. It is reliable to establish whether, in reality, the making of the new royal manifesto for the enthronement of the foolish son of Anna Leopoldovna, today is no longer possible. Following the investigation, the once all-powerful courtier was sentenced to death in the form of wheeling. However, the oath of Elizabeth about preventing bloody massacres after coming to the state administration did not allow Osterman to die on the shameful scaffold. During the period of imprisonment within the prison walls, a famous prisoner opened a dangerous leg wound, which passed into gangrene and nearly killed him before the execution of the sentence. According to contemporaries, Andrei Ivanovich was taken to the square for execution in a warm sheepskin coat and a cap, but he could not climb the scaffold himself. His composure struck the executioners. The old man calmly listened to the sentence and laid his head on the block, but at the last moment the Empress pardoned his enemy. Osterman was removed to the province under the vigilant observation of the royal guardsmen and died in the 1747 year, not even reaching the 60 age.
The genius of the Palace Intrigue

About the famous Russian diplomat of German origin, Heinrich Johann Friedrich Ostermann - a recognized genius of palace intrigues and internal political struggle in the Russian Imperial court 1703-1730-s.

Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 755962
    +1
    23 January 2012 10: 41
    Along with many unsympathetic features in the character of Osterman, however, much is noted that compares him favorably with many of his contemporaries. Being stingy, he was distinguished by extreme integrity. Two-faced and deceitful, he did not change the one he served: contemporaries found it difficult to name a state whose interests Osterman consciously and for selfish reasons would sacrifice the interests of Russia. Like this.
  2. 0
    23 January 2012 15: 57
    . Two-faced and deceitful, he did not change the one he served: contemporaries found it difficult to name a state whose interests Osterman consciously and for selfish reasons would sacrifice the interests of Russia. That's it .-- everything is right, he started all his life Pro-Austrian the line of bending and the end of her career was faithful to her. Having inflicted so much damage to Russia that even whole armies cannot do it. and the intriguer was soooo strong and smart therefore dangerous !! fellowBiron - a mad dog, but he was a sinner loved gold, you could buy what you used. Nikita Demidov in particular. Minikh was cruel, but was a commander and quite good and faithful to the Russian state. and this type, with his own mind, was the most dangerous enemy of our state !!! He was lucky that Elizabeth was good !! fellow
  3. Strabo
    0
    23 January 2012 17: 06
    Here are the grateful descendants of Peter the Great and honor the two-faced false pearls. Stop praising foreigners. We know that they wrote the history of Russia and it was not in vain that the Russian peasant Lomonosov beaten up a little for falsification.
    Here is an excerpt of how the Germans treated the Russians: “With other European nations you can achieve the goal in humane ways, but with the Russians it is not so ... I do not deal with people, but with animals that I want to transform into people” - such a documented phrase of Peter 1 is very clear conveys his attitude towards the Russian people.
  4. +1
    23 January 2012 17: 40
    The "genius reformer" instilled in our people monkeying before the West, shed so much Russian blood. Yes, what can we say if he killed his own son. Sadist and maniac.
    1. 0
      23 January 2012 19: 35
      Pancho, yeah, and at that time in the enlightened and democratic West - all were white and fluffy wink Yes, they also brought down their friends and strangers to please themselves! fellow
  5. Volkhov
    0
    23 January 2012 21: 18
    From the portrait you cannot say that the German is as if from a Babylonian captivity ...
  6. snowman
    0
    23 January 2012 22: 35
    Valentin Pikul describes him very well in his novel "Word and Deed". Judging by the novel, he was a real enemy of Russia. But really the Russian patriots of Russia of that troubled and bloody time have little information

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Серый кардинал 18 века

Серый кардинал 18 векаПолитическая фигура Остермана исследована отечественными историками недостаточно, в авторских трудах мы встречаем лишь поверхностные упоминания об этом незаурядном человеке. В его биографии множество пробелов, а оценки его деятельности неоднозначны и противоречивы. Однако все исследователи сходятся в одном: Генрих Остерман сыграл важную роль для России в сложное время после кончины Петра Великого.

Родился гениальный царедворец в 1687 году в небольшом немецком городке Бохума, в набожной католической семье. Несмотря на строгое нравственное воспитание, Остерман не избежал периода шальной юности, об ошибках которой жалел всю свою долгую и удивительную жизнь. По описаниям современников это был гордый, даже несколько заносчивый и высокомерный, человек, совершенно неподкупный чиновник, а также опасный и хитрый политик. Генрих Остерман обладал округлым подбородком и вздернутой губой, его портреты имеются на многочисленных медальонах, оставшихся в наследие потомкам. О юношестве серого кардинала российского престола известно не много. Удивительно, что этот правильный, требовательный человек вел весьма разгульную студенческую жизнь и даже убил в пьяном угаре одного из своих сверстников. Порочное поведение молодого Остермана едва не погубило его отца, служившего пастором в местной католической церкви. Прирожденный немец, выказывавший высокие способности в обучении, был вынужден бежать от правосудия в далекую северную Россию. Однако не стоит говорить о том, что поступление на службу к российскому императору было единственным выходом, целью которого было исключительно спасение от уголовного наказания. Невзирая на свой юный возраст, Остерман уже тогда обладал острым умом и прозорливостью, поэтому прекрасно понимал, какие выгоды сулит поездка. Шестнадцатилетний возраст не помешал расчетливому немцу поступить на государеву службу. Смелость будущего политического деятеля подхлестывалась его высокомерием и стремлением к возвеличиванию. Это был не только талантливый специалист в области государственной службы, но и честолюбивый, надменный претендент на власть. Общение с немцем мало кому приносило удовольствие, поэтому близких приятелей у него не было.

Во время царствования Петра Великого Остерман выделился благодаря своим дипломатическим способностям, проявившимся в переговорах со шведами. Лицемерие, притворство и расчетливость были присущи немцу, и он умело ими пользовался. Карьера Андрея Ивановича, а именно такое русское имя выбрал себе Остерман, развивалась стремительно, так как незаурядные аналитические способности его признавали даже недруги. Петр Алексеевич отмечал особую аккуратность, исполнительность и предусмотрительность немецкого карьериста, за что особо его ценил и чествовал. В период правления Петра Великого о влиянии на государственные решения Остермана говорить не приходится, но уже тогда он стал незаменимым. Однако по смерти гениального реформатора немец приобрел при дворе очень большой вес. Андрей Иванович не имел постоянных и верных союзников, поскольку никому не доверял и действовал лишь в собственных карьеристских интересах. Единственные интересы, с которыми он считался, были государственные позиции и цели царизма.


Властвуя сначала в тандеме с Меньшиковым и Екатериной I, Остерман смог заручиться поддержкой Анны Ивановны и ее родственницы Анны Леопольдовны и продолжил свое возвышение уже в период их царствования. Управление страной, во времена нахождения на престоле Анны Ивановны, номинально осуществлялось от имени императрицы, но фактически решения принимал Бирон, Остерман и Миних. Период разгула и роскоши со стороны царственной особы и опасных междоусобных интриг привели Россию в состояние нестабильности и упадка. Было потеряно множество земель, полученных империей во времена Петра Великого, снизилась боеспособность армии, утрачено былое могущество флота. Именно в этот тяжелый и мрачный период истории России наступил расцвет могущества гениального немца. Придерживаясь проавстрийской политики, Остерман неоднократно протекционировал решения о направлении российских войск в Европу. Нередко такие манипуляции приносили прямой ущерб России, но серый кардинал неумолимо строил свою линию руководства страной.

Подготовка дворцового переворота во главе с Елизаветой Петровной не была укрыта от взгляда прозорливого немца. Задолго до его подготовки Андрей Иванович рекомендовал императрице устранить своевольную дочь Петра, выдав ее замуж за одного из европейских принцев, однако его предложения не были приняты во внимание.

С момента восшествия на престол Елизаветы, Остерман немедленно низвергается с вершин власти и заключается под стражу как один из предводителей «властвующей немецкой клики». Новая императрица организовала судебный процесс, в результате которого Остерман был обвинен во множестве тяжких политических преступлений, одним из которых была названа подделка царского указа о преемнике. Достоверно установить было ли в реальности изготовление нового царского манифеста о возведении на престол несмышленого сына Анны Леопольдовны, сегодня уже нет возможности. По итогам расследования, некогда всесильного царедворца приговорили к смертной казни в виде колесования. Однако, клятва Елизаветы о недопущении кровавых расправ по пришествии к государственному управлению не позволила Остерману умереть на позорном эшафоте. В период заключения в стенах тюрьмы у знаменитого узника открылась опасная рана ноги, перешедшая в гангрену, и едва не убившая его до исполнения приговора. По свидетельству современников вывезли Андрея Ивановича на площадь для казни в теплом тулупе и колпаке, но сам он на эшафот подняться уже не смог. Его самообладание поразило палачей. Старик спокойно выслушал приговор и сам положил голову на плаху, но в последний момент императрица помиловала своего врага. Остерман был удален в провинцию под неусыпное наблюдение царских стражников и умер в 1747 году, не достигнув и 60-ти летнего возраста.
Автор: Вадим Собин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Гений Дворцовой Интриги

О знаменитом русском дипломате немецкого происхождения Генрихе Иоганне Фридрихе Остермане - признанном гении дворцовых интриг и внутренней политической борьбы при Русском Императорском дворе 1703-1730-х годов.

Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. 755962 23 января 2012 10:41
    Наряду со многими несимпатичными чертами в характере Остермана отмечается, однако, и многое такое, что выгодно отличает его от многих из его современников. Будучи скуп, он отличался крайней неподкупностью. Двуличный и лживый, он не изменял тому, кому служил: современники затруднялись назвать державу, интересам которой Остерман сознательно и по корыстным соображениям приносил бы в жертву интересы России. Вот так.
    755962
  2. datur 23 января 2012 15:57
    . Двуличный и лживый, он не изменял тому, кому служил: современники затруднялись назвать державу, интересам которой Остерман сознательно и по корыстным соображениям приносил бы в жертву интересы России. Вот так.---все правильно он всю жизнь как начал Проавстрийскую линию гнуть так и ло конца своей карьеры был ей верен. Нанеся России столько вреда что и целым армиям не под силу. а интриган был дааа сильный и умный поэтому и опасный!! fellowбирон -собака бешеная, но грешен был любил злато,купить можно было чем и пользовались. Никита Демидов в частности.Миних был жесток, но был полководцем и достаточно хорошим и верным государству Российскому . а сей тип при своем уме был самым опасным врагом нашего государства!!!Повезло ему что Елизавета доброй была!! fellow
  3. Страбон 23 января 2012 17:06
    Вот благодарные потомки и Петра 1 чтим и двуличного лживого мемчуру. Хватит восхвалять иноземцев. Мы знаем, что они и историю Руси писали и не зря Русский мужик Ломоносов немчуру поколотил за фальсификацию.
    Вот выдержка как немцы относились к Русским «С другими европейскими народами можно достигать цели человеколюбивыми способами, а с русским – не так… Я имею дело не с людьми, а с животными, которых хочу переделать в людей» – подобная задокументированная фраза Петра 1 очень наглядно передаёт его отношение к русскому народу .
    Страбон
  4. Pancho 23 января 2012 17:40
    "Гениальный реформатор" привил нашему народу обезьянничание перед Западом,пролил столько русской крови.Да о чем можно говорить,если он собственного сына убил.Садист и маньяк.
    1. datur 23 января 2012 19:35
      Pancho,ага а в это время на просвещенном и демократическом западе --все были белые и пушистые wink да так же и еще похуже валили и своих и чужих в угоду себе! fellow
  5. Волхов 23 января 2012 21:18
    По портрету не скажешь, что немец - как будто из Вавилонского плена...
    Волхов
  6. snowman 23 января 2012 22:35
    Валентин Пикуль очень хорошо описывает о нем в своем романе "Слово и дело". Судя по роману, он был настоящим врагом России. А вот действительно русских патриотах России того смутного и кровавого времени мало инофрмации
    snowman

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня