Military Review

Go, the government will look after you

16
Go, the government will look after you



Surveillance of Internet activity and telephone conversations in the United States in a certain form will continue under the administration of Donald Trump, said Joan O'Hara, chief adviser of the National Security Committee of the House of Representatives of the US Congress.

O'Hara said that the Trump team consists of people open to dialogue who are currently trying to form a general understanding of the problem, understand which aspects of it are troubling, and study existing expert opinions.

Recall, the US intelligence agencies officially received the authority to collect data on Internet traffic and telephone conversations of Americans in order to counter terrorism with the adoption of the Patriot Act after the September 11 terrorist attacks on 2001.

Since then, the US authorities have been constantly trying to find a balance between hawks from a powerful intelligence community, including 17 departments, and representatives of human rights organizations. At the same time, the first ones say that access to personal data allows preventing terrorist acts at an early stage. The latter insist on the position that the study of correspondence, telephone records and other user data is a direct violation of the first amendment to the US Constitution, which guarantees freedom of speech for all American citizens.

Under the administration of Barack Obama, the Freedom Act came to replace the Patriot Act, which extended the powers of the special services to conduct activities to monitor the activity of Americans on the Internet, albeit with some restrictions. The changes affected only the procedure for obtaining permission to conduct operational activities - formally, it had to be authorized by the court. The Democrat President took the path of least resistance, introducing an element of transparency, which, according to experts, did not fundamentally change the ability of the National Security Agency and other intelligence services to invade the privacy of Americans without the knowledge of Congress and the courts.

To date, one NSA has access to every 17 byte of personal information of American citizens on the Internet from 100. It is not yet known whether the agency does this, but technically it is able to obtain detailed information about the telephone calls of every American. There are no exceptions and other types of communication - “scouts” can enter each email inbox, each chat on Skype, they can access messages on Facebook, Twitter, iMessage, as well as all photos stored on cloud services, and the location of the smartphone on any given point in time.

According to the so-called system of checks and balances, in theory, any actions of the executive branch are approved by Congress, and the courts are obliged to establish whether the authors of one initiative or another have not exceeded their authority. However, this scheme does not work in the case of intelligence services, even if their activities are directed against American citizens. Neither the federal courts nor the special judicial authority to control the collection of intelligence information actually have the authority to comprehensively supervise the activities of intelligence services on the Internet. Even a special body that could take legal action against the NSA does not exist in the United States.

It is unlikely that this situation will change after 2017, when the Freedom Act expires. Too influential forces in the United States are interested in continuing to collect information not only about foreign citizens and politicians, but also about the inhabitants of their own country.
Author:
16 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sofa expert
    Sofa expert 19 November 2016 06: 10
    +1
    Big brother is watching you))
    1. iouris
      iouris 19 November 2016 14: 54
      +2
      Follows. In full accordance with the "Patriotic Act" adopted after the demolition of the "Twin Brothers". And in our country, in general, since the early 1930s. But marketing technologies are developing: it is well known which product, from a car to a politician, can be "sold" to a consumer.
      1. Mavrikiy
        Mavrikiy 20 November 2016 05: 44
        0
        Quote: iouris
        Follows. In full accordance with the "Patriotic Act" adopted after the demolition of the "Twin Brothers". And in our country, in general, since the early 1930s. But marketing technologies are developing: it is well known which product, from a car to a politician, can be "sold" to a consumer.

        It’s great that there is a commercial exhaust. Nationwide, it pays off. Dual-use technology, almost conversion.
        Yes, and a person is immune from mistakes, he either said or downloaded.
  2. Same lech
    Same lech 19 November 2016 06: 15
    +5
    At the same time, the first ones say that access to personal data allows you to stop terrorist acts at an early stage. The second insist on the position that the study of correspondence, records of telephone conversations and other user data is a direct violation of the first amendment to the US Constitution, which guarantees freedom of speech for all American citizens.


    It’s all so ... but I’m more concerned not with the problems of the Americans, but with the activities of our authorities in this regard.
    Roskomnadzor, as I see it, in an impulse to block the illegal activities of foreign information collectors, silently begins to block information streams for our citizens ... smile so to speak in the interests of copyright holders and preachers of high morality.
    This can lead to the fact that our person can be cut off from the sources of information and knowledge he needs ... and some minister like MEDinsky will determine what we listen to on the radio, watch on TV and the Internet and read books ... hehe in the interest advertisers and copyright holders.
    I am against such a policy with one remark ...
    for fragile minds (children, adolescents and demented people) yes barriers should be put in the ocean of information ... but for an adult with experience, let me decide what to watch, read and listen to ... I will figure out where it is good and where it is bad.
    Therefore, I’m looking at SNOWDEN, looking at total control of information in the USA, I am telling our authorities ... look at them and draw conclusions ... do you want the same fate for our country.
    1. rotmistr60
      rotmistr60 19 November 2016 07: 04
      +4
      but to me an adult with experience, let me decide what to watch, read and listen to ... I will figure it out myself where is good and where is bad

      All this, of course, seems to be correct. That's just the one, as you put it, which "blocks the streams of information" does not know who is sitting at the computer - an adult or a child with an immature mind. And so everything should be in moderation, i.e. not to the detriment of a citizen of the country.
      1. Same lech
        Same lech 19 November 2016 07: 14
        +1
        That's just the one, as you put it, which "blocks the streams of information" does not know who is sitting at the computer - an adult or a child with a fragile mind


        smile If he doesn’t know ... then he must find out otherwise what the hell a professional minister is ... let him go to the bazaar to work.
        In government affairs, decisions must be made very carefully and carefully without any personal likes and dislikes; otherwise, you risk breaking firewood and amassing a ton of subsequent problems.
        And it turns out that one minister or ministry wanted to make everyone atheists, so we adopt laws and regulations of this kind in the State Duma ... you can’t do this ... it's a dead end ... you need to look at least at what temperature in the thermometer under the armpit in society (figuratively speaking )
    2. Senior manager
      Senior manager 19 November 2016 07: 25
      +3
      A very important topic, you are against instructions on what information to use, you think that you are immune from information influence - but in vain. Man by nature is a subject, and the technologies for influencing the subject have been sufficiently developed and they are very effective. It is quite easy to blur convictions, change values, redirect actions among individuals and groups of people, which is what is done with our people. Examples - look around, see for yourself. A lot of people from all walks of life are struggling to show "that I am a ruble more expensive", Haute couture clothes from the basement, watches for millions, yachts, girls to bathe in champagne, etc. The virus of consumerism is inoculated and successfully. And you say freedom of information, by the way, is also a hammered position from the West. In conditions of information war, it is necessary to take measures to limit the enemy's information impact. In my opinion, we are still losing. And the balance in access to information and restrictions is a dream, but no one knows how to achieve it.
      1. Same lech
        Same lech 19 November 2016 07: 30
        0
        . And you say freedom of information, by the way, is also a driven situation from the West. In the conditions of the information war, it is necessary to take measures to limit the information impact of the enemy.

        I agree ... but I emphasize reasonable restrictions not in the interests of, say, advertisers, bankers, or as it is now fashionable to say copyright holders who are more like a gang of crooks.
        And the enemy can simply provoke you to limit information ... as they say you know less about the bombing of, for example, the US hospitals and weddings in Afghanistan, you sleep better ... everyone is fine except for the Afghans themselves (sorry example).
        1. Senior manager
          Senior manager 19 November 2016 15: 11
          0
          You can’t say more precisely - REASONABLE.
  3. akudr48
    akudr48 19 November 2016 08: 52
    +4
    Too powerful forces in the United States are interested in continuing to collect information not only about foreign citizens and political figures, but also about residents of their own country.

    Good article. And the author is not deprived of talent.

    He gives universal formulations in which replacing the value of one parameter (for example, the USA) with another (for example, Russia) does not change the meaning of what was said. What is not easy to come up with.
  4. Tambov Wolf
    Tambov Wolf 19 November 2016 10: 03
    0
    A little off topic. Today, under the amnesty, the former head of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Yakutia was released. Well, since, will Ulyukaev sit on a kitsch or not? Show mast go he?
    1. jovanni
      jovanni 19 November 2016 17: 34
      0
      Quote: Tambov Wolf
      A little off topic. Today, under the amnesty, the former head of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Yakutia was released. Well, since, will Ulyukaev sit on a kitsch or not? Show mast go he?


      No way. They will be transferred to an extreme country in some specially open literary fund. Editor in Poetry. Well, or deputy director of the Yeltsin Museum ... Oh! HSE will be accepted by someone! With arms and legs they’ll take ...
  5. 0255
    0255 19 November 2016 10: 56
    0
    And the FSB type does not read our correspondence in contacts and Mail.ru? bully
    And if you follow the citizens spiritually, then why in the Russian Federation they adopted the Yarovaya package?
  6. Masya masya
    Masya masya 19 November 2016 18: 36
    +4
    Quote: Divan expert
    Big brother is watching you))

    I sit high, look far away ...
  7. Paulwer
    Paulwer 20 November 2016 21: 26
    0
    To date, one NSA has access to every 17 byte of personal information of American citizens on the Internet from 100. It is not yet known whether the agency does this, but technically it is able to obtain detailed information about the telephone calls of every American. There are no exceptions and other types of communication - “scouts” can enter each email inbox, each chat on Skype, they can access messages on Facebook, Twitter, iMessage, as well as all photos stored on cloud services, and the location of the smartphone on any given point in time.

    Work for a phone for months, for a car for years. Inconvenient clothes. Expensive exhibition-shows-ceremonies, uninteresting 95% of people.
    Promising companies in the field of AI (artificial intelligence) are acquired for hundreds of millions of dollars, modern media describe the use of such technologies more than 50 years ago. Without computers, but there was a specialization of people in this direction. Appearance, property, and many more "levers" for influencing people. Yes, and it was mentioned somewhere that about 90% of information (including classified information) can be found in open sources. And computer sites by large (large) companies are commissioned by acres (how much is it in our opinion?). Enough, the less you know, the better you sleep)

Ступай, правительство присмотрит за тобой

Ступай, правительство присмотрит за тобой


Слежка за интернет-активностью и телефонными разговорами в США в определенной форме продолжится при администрации Дональда Трампа, заявила главный советник комитета по национальной безопасности Палаты представителей Конгресса США Джоан О’Хара.

О’Хара отметила, что команда Трампа состоит из людей, открытых для диалога, которые в настоящий момент пытаются сформировать общее представление о проблеме, понять, какие ее аспекты вызывают беспокойство и изучить существующие мнения специалистов.

Напомним, спецслужбы США официально получили полномочия по сбору данных об интернет-трафике и телефонных разговорах американцев в целях противодействия терроризму с принятием Патриотического акта после террористических атак 11 сентября 2001 года.

С тех пор американские власти постоянно пытаются найти баланс между ястребами из мощного разведывательного сообщества, насчитывающего 17 ведомств, и представителями правозащитных организаций. При этом, первые говорят о том, что доступ к личным данным позволяет на ранней стадии пресекать террористические акты. Вторые же настаивают на той позиции, что изучение переписки, записей телефонных разговоров и прочих данных пользователей – прямое нарушение первой поправки к Конституции США, гарантирующей свободу слова для всех американских граждан.

При администрации Барака Обамы на смену Патриотическому акту пришел Акт о свободе, продливший полномочия спецслужб на проведение мероприятий по слежению за активностью американцев в интернете, хотя и с некоторыми ограничениями. Изменения коснулись лишь процедуры получения разрешения на проведение оперативных мероприятий – формально оно должно было быть санкционировано судом. Президент-демократ пошел по пути наименьшего сопротивления, внеся элемент прозрачности, который, по мнению экспертов, коренным образом не изменил способности Агентства национальной безопасности и других разведывательных служб вторгаться в личную жизнь американцев без ведома Конгресса и судов.

К настоящему моменту одно АНБ имеет доступ к каждым 17 байтам личной информации американских граждан в интернете из 100. Пока неизвестно, делает ли агентство это, однако технически оно способно получить подробную информацию о телефонных звонках каждого американца. Исключение не составляют и иные виды связи – «разведчики» могут войти в каждый электронный ящик, в каждый чат в Skype, им доступны сообщения в Facebook, Twitter, iMessage, а также все фотографии, хранящиеся на облачных сервисах, и данные о местоположении смартфона на любой заданный момент времени.

Согласно так называемой системе сдержек и противовесов, теоретически любые действия исполнительной власти получают одобрение Конгресса, а суды обязаны установить, не превысили ли авторы той или иной инициативы свои полномочия. Однако эта схема не работает в случае с разведывательными службами, даже если их деятельность направлена против американских граждан. Ни федеральные суды, ни специальная судебная инстанция по контролю за сбором разведывательной информации фактически не имеют полномочий по всеобъемлющему надзору за деятельностью разведслужб в интернете. Даже специального органа, который мог бы принимать судебные иски против АНБ, в США не существует.

Вряд ли такое положение изменится после 2017 года, когда прекратит действие Акт о свободе. Слишком влиятельные силы в США заинтересованы в продолжении сбора информации не только об иностранных гражданах и политических деятелях, но также и о жителях собственной страны.
Автор: Аркадий Нойман


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 16

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Диванный эксперт 19 ноября 2016 06:10
    Большой брат следит за тобой))
    1. iouris 19 ноября 2016 14:54
      Следит. В полном соответствии с "Патриотическим актом", принятым после сноса "Братьев-близнецов". А у нас - так, вообще, с начала 1930-ых. Зато маркетинговые технологии развиваются: хорошо известно какой товар, от автомобиля до политика, можно "продать" потребителю.
      1. Mavrikiy 20 ноября 2016 05:44
        Цитата: iouris
        Следит. В полном соответствии с "Патриотическим актом", принятым после сноса "Братьев-близнецов". А у нас - так, вообще, с начала 1930-ых. Зато маркетинговые технологии развиваются: хорошо известно какой товар, от автомобиля до политика, можно "продать" потребителю.

        Это замечательно, что есть комерческий выхлоп. В масштабах страны это окупается. Технология двойного назначения, почти конверсия.
        Да и человек застрахован от ошибок, не то сказал, не то скачал.
  2. Тот же ЛЕХА 19 ноября 2016 06:15
    При этом, первые говорят о том, что доступ к личным данным позволяет на ранней стадии пресекать террористические акты. Вторые же настаивают на той позиции, что изучение переписки, записей телефонных разговоров и прочих данных пользователей – прямое нарушение первой поправки к Конституции США, гарантирующей свободу слова для всех американских граждан.


    Все так...но меня больше беспокоят не проблемы американцев а деятельность наших властей в этом плане.
    Роскомнадзор как я вижу в порыве перекрыть незаконную деятельность зарубежных сборщиков информации под шумок начинает перекрывать ручейки информации и для наших граждан... smile так сказать в интересах правообладателей и проповедников высокой морали.
    Это может привести к тому что наш человек может быть отрезан от источников информации и знаний нужных ему...и какой нибудь министр типа МЕДИНСКОГО будет определять что нам слушать по радио смотреть по ТВ и инету и читать по книгам...хе хе в интересах рекламщиков и правообладателей.
    Я против такой политики с одним замечанием...
    для неокрепших умов(детей ,подростков и умалишенных людей) да должны быть поставлены шлагбаумы в океане информации...но мне взрослому человеку с опытом позвольте самому решать что мне смотреть ,читать и слушать...разберусь сам где хорошо а где плохо.
    Поэтому я глядя на СНОУДЕНА глядя на тотальный контроль информации в США говорю нашим властям...смотрите на них и делайте выводы...хотите ли вы такой же судьбы для нашей страны.
    1. rotmistr60 19 ноября 2016 07:04
      но мне взрослому человеку с опытом позвольте самому решать что мне смотреть ,читать и слушать...разберусь сам где хорошо а где плохо

      Все это конечно вроде и правильно. Вот только тот, как вы выразились, который "перекрывает ручейки информации" не знает кто сидит за компьютером - взрослый человек или ребенок с неокрепшим умом. А так все должно быть в меру, т.е. не во вред гражданину страны.
      1. Тот же ЛЕХА 19 ноября 2016 07:14
        Вот только тот, как вы выразились, который "перекрывает ручейки информации" не знает кто сидит за компьютером - взрослый человек или ребенок с неокрепшим умом


        smile Если не знает ...значит должен узнать иначе какой он к черту профессионал -министр...пускай идет на базар работать.
        В государственных делах решения надо принимать очень осторожно и взвешено без всяких личных симпатий и антипатий иначе рискуешь наломать дров и нажить массу последующих проблем.
        А то получается одному министру или министерству захотелось всех сделать атеистами значит принимаем законы и нормативные акты такого рода в госдуме...так нельзя делать ...это тупик...надо посмотреть хотя бы какая температура в градуснике под мышкой в обществе(образно говоря).
    2. Ст.пропорщик 19 ноября 2016 07:25
      Весьма важная тема, Вы против указаний какую информацию Вам использовать, считаете , что обладаете иммунитетом от информационного воздействия - а зря. Человек по своей природе субъект, а технологии воздействия на субъекта разработано достаточно и они весьма эффективны. Размыть убеждения , сменить ценности, перенацелить действия достаточно просто у индивидов и групп людей, что и делается с нашим народом. Примеры - оглянитесь , увидите сами. Очень много людей из всех слоев пыжатся изо всех сил показать "что Я на рубль дороже", Одежда от кутюр из подвала, часы за миллионы, яхты, девок искупать в шампанском и т. д. Прививается вирус потребительства и успешно причем. А Вы говорите свобода информации, кстати тоже вбитое положение с Запада. В условия информационной войны необходимо принимать меры по ограничению информационного воздействия противника. На мой взгляд мы пока проигрываем. А баланс в доступе к информации и ограничениях - это мечта, только как её достичь не ведает никто.
      1. Тот же ЛЕХА 19 ноября 2016 07:30
        . А Вы говорите свобода информации, кстати тоже вбитое положение с Запада. В условия информационной войны необходимо принимать меры по ограничению информационного воздействия противника.

        Согласен ...но подчеркиваю разумные ограничения не в интересах скажем там рекламщиков ,банкиров или как сейчас модно говорить правообладателей которые больше напоминают шайку жуликов.
        Да и противник вас может просто спровоцировать на ограничение информации ...как говорится меньше знаешь о бомбежках например США госпиталей и свадеб в АФГАНИСТАНЕ крепче спишь...всем хорошо кроме самих афганцев(образный пример извините).
        1. Ст.пропорщик 19 ноября 2016 15:11
          Точнее не скажешь - РАЗУМНЫЕ.
  3. akudr48 19 ноября 2016 08:52
    Слишком влиятельные силы в США заинтересованы в продолжении сбора информации не только об иностранных гражданах и политических деятелях, но также и о жителях собственной страны.

    Хорошая статья. И автор не обделен талантом.

    Он дает универсальные формулировки, в которых замена значения одного параметра (например, США) на другое (например, Россия) никак не меняет смысла сказанного. Что не просто придумать.
  4. Тамбовский Волк 19 ноября 2016 10:03
    Малость не в тему.Сегодня по амнистии освободили бывшего главу МВД Якутии.Ну так как,сядет ли Улюкаев на кичу или нет ? Шоу маст гоу он?
    1. Jovanni 19 ноября 2016 17:34
      Цитата: Тамбовский Волк
      Малость не в тему.Сегодня по амнистии освободили бывшего главу МВД Якутии.Ну так как,сядет ли Улюкаев на кичу или нет ? Шоу маст гоу он?


      Да ни при каком раскладе. На крайняк в какой - нибудь специально открытый литературный фонд переведут. Редактором по стихам. Ну, или замдиректора ельцынским музеем... О! В ВШЭ примут кем-нибудь! С руками и с ногами возьмут...
  5. 0255 19 ноября 2016 10:56
    А типа ФСБ не читает нашу переписку в контактиках и Mail.ru? bully
    И если следить за гражданами бездуховно, то зачем в РФ приняли пакет Яровой?
  6. Masya Masya 19 ноября 2016 18:36
    Цитата: Диванный эксперт
    Большой брат следит за тобой))

    Высоко сижу, далеко гляжу...
  7. Paulwer 20 ноября 2016 21:26
    К настоящему моменту одно АНБ имеет доступ к каждым 17 байтам личной информации американских граждан в интернете из 100. Пока неизвестно, делает ли агентство это, однако технически оно способно получить подробную информацию о телефонных звонках каждого американца. Исключение не составляют и иные виды связи – «разведчики» могут войти в каждый электронный ящик, в каждый чат в Skype, им доступны сообщения в Facebook, Twitter, iMessage, а также все фотографии, хранящиеся на облачных сервисах, и данные о местоположении смартфона на любой заданный момент времени.

    За телефон работать месяцами, за автомобиль годами. Неудобная одежда. Дорогие выставки-показы-церемонии, малоинтересные 95% людей.
    Перспективнные компании в сфере ИИ (искуственный интеллект) приобретаются за сотни млн.$, в современных СМИ описывается применение таких технологий более 50 лет назад. Без ЭВМ, но была специализация людей в этом направлении. Внешний вид, имущество, и ещё много "рычагов" для воздействия на людей. Да и упоминалось где-то, что около 90% информации (в т.ч. секретной) можно найти в открытых источниках. И площадки ЭВМ крупными (крупными) компаниями вводятся акрами (сколько это по-нашему?). Хватит, меньше знаешь - лучше спишь )
Картина дня