Military Review

British Defense Ministry confirms plans to send troops to Estonia remain in place

17
British Defense Secretary Michael Fallon has confirmed the government's intention to send 800 troops to Estonia, reports RIA News message of the military department of the country.


British Defense Ministry confirms plans to send troops to Estonia remain in place


Fallon met with NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg on Wednesday to discuss Britain's practical involvement in the alliance's plans.

“He (Fallon) confirmed that Britain will send 800 troops to Estonia as part of the NATO multinational battalion. The full strength of the battalion will be provided with the participation of France and Denmark, " - says the release of the Ministry of Defense.

As a reminder, the NATO battalion in Estonia will be deployed (as in other Baltic countries) in the first half of 2017. It will include 1,1 troops - 800 from Britain and 300 from France. Later the Danes will replace the French. The battalion will be equipped with heavy military equipment and will be stationed in Tapa.
Photos used:
RIA News. Alex Vitvitsky
17 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. hirurg
    hirurg 24 November 2016 11: 20
    +4
    And they are not afraid of the next lullies in McDonald's?
    1. Finches
      Finches 24 November 2016 11: 30
      +3
      The town with a population of 5693 people will rejoice at the arrival of thousands of civilized Europeans - they have probably already begun to prepare lawns, and moths flock from all over Estonia ... laughing

      From a military point of view, this town is a large railway junction, which means it allows you to quickly strengthen this grouping ...
      1. cniza
        cniza 24 November 2016 11: 35
        +4
        Quote: Finches
        The town with a population of 5693 people will rejoice at the arrival of thousands of civilized Europeans - they have probably already begun to prepare lawns, and moths flock from all over Estonia ... laughing

        From a military point of view, this town is a large railway junction, which means it allows
        quickly strengthen this group ...


        While they will be engaged in assimilation, but in general a very serious springboard for further deployment.
        1. Giant thought
          Giant thought 24 November 2016 11: 45
          +2
          The British are doing everything, as they believe, to strengthen the peace and security of the Baltic States, I would have looked at their reaction if Russia had deployed its military contingent in Ireland to also strengthen peace.
    2. vovanpain
      vovanpain 24 November 2016 11: 45
      +8
      Quote: hirurg
      And they are not afraid of the next lullies in McDonald's?

      Yes, let them rake, colleague, it's a pity or something. laughing
  2. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 24 November 2016 11: 26
    +1
    The Estonian president probably had a butterfly standing on end and rested against the glasses with joyful excitement and anticipation of the NATO "power" in the amount of 800 people.
    1. LÄRZ
      LÄRZ 24 November 2016 11: 42
      0
      Quote: rotmistr60
      The Estonian president probably had a butterfly standing on end and rested against the glasses with joyful excitement and anticipation of the NATO "power" in the amount of 800 people.

      Kaljulaid was born on December 30, 1969 in the city of Tartu and is an Estonian citizen by birth. In 1987 she graduated from Tallinn Secondary School No. 44, and in 1992 from the Faculty of Biology of the University of Tartu. She received her MBA from the University of Tartu in 2001, was a member of the Estonian Gene Fund and a member of the curatorial office of the University of Tartu. Since 2011, she has chaired the Council of the University of Tartu. In 1998-1999 she worked as a project manager in the banking investment department of Hansapank Markets. In 1999, she was the economic advisor to the Prime Minister of Estonia Mart Laar. In February 2002, she was appointed head of the management accounting department of the Iru power plant. In September 2002 she was appointed director of this power plant. From 2001 to 2004 she was a member of the Union of the Fatherland party. From May 2004 to September 2016 she worked as the representative of Estonia in the European Court of Auditors. From 2010 to 2014 she was responsible for the control methodology and annual reports. Since 2014, she has been in charge of the agricultural audit and the reform of the chamber's structure, and since September 2016, she has chaired the Development Monitoring Council under the Chancellery of the Riigikogu.After three rounds of presidential elections in the Riigikogu and two in the Electoral College, the Council of Elders of the Estonian Parliament nominated Kaljulaid as the only candidate for the post of head of state on 27 September. On October 3, 2016, in the elections for the President of Estonia in the Riigikogu, she won 81 votes out of 101 and became the first woman president of this country. After her election as head of state, Kaljulaid expressed a desire to continue living in her house in the Tallinn district of Nõmme and not to move to the presidential palace in Kadriorg. Finland and Latvia
      Family Spouse: Georg-Rene Maksimovsky
      Children: daughter Silja Mardla
      son Siim Talvik


      Источник: https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%9A%D0%B0%D0%BB%
      D1%8C%D1%8E%D0%BB%D0%B0%D0%B9%D0%B4,_%D0%9A%D0%B5
      %D1%80%D1%81%D1%82%D0%B8
      1. rotmistr60
        rotmistr60 24 November 2016 12: 14
        +1
        Thanks for the amendment. She's only been president for a month, and I'm out of habit about the old. I had to write an ex.
  3. Warrior with machine gun
    Warrior with machine gun 24 November 2016 11: 30
    +6
    oh, the western warriors can't wait to gaze at the terrible Russia with a small eye, and then the lady tell terrible stories about her hypothetical exploits, but in general it seems that the more they talk about their safety, the more their countries look like a courtyard where they hang out everyone who wants to, and even shit, can, but they just scuffle and clean up, (do these naive people think that someone will harness for them in the event of a fight, how many examples in history when, despite all the promises and britos, and service jackets, they threw their wards, something in 1939 they were in no hurry)
  4. VSZMK
    VSZMK 24 November 2016 11: 30
    0
    The battalion will be equipped with heavy military equipment and will be stationed in Tapa.

    Tapa (Est. Tapa) is a city without a municipal status in Estonia, an administrative center and an integral part of Tapa Parish. Large railway junction. The population is 5693 people.
    By 1991, the following units of the Soviet army were based in the city: a school of driver mechanics for engineering troops, an anti-aircraft missile brigade and, at the airfield, air force units: a fighter regiment and a separate squadron of Mi-24 helicopters.
    The ethnic composition of the urban population almost all the time consisted of Estonians in the majority, followed by Russians. The exception is the period of the late 1980s - early 1990s, when the majority were representatives of the Russian-speaking population, the number of which subsequently significantly decreased precisely because of the withdrawal of military units of the former Soviet Army.
    Now the majority will be English-speaking!
  5. Alex_Tug
    Alex_Tug 24 November 2016 11: 31
    0
    British Defense Secretary Michael Fallon confirms government's intention to send 800 troops to Estonia

    Now Russia needs to stock up on fly swatter?
  6. Altona
    Altona 24 November 2016 11: 34
    +1
    Meat for provocations. The defense as it was and will be zero, and if the English Landsknecht is slammed, or even better several on armored vehicles, then there will be a casus belli, that is, a reason to start a war with Russia or accuse Russia of something and impose sanctions on a full Scottish kilt. There is no more sense in these British warriors
  7. BOB044
    BOB044 24 November 2016 12: 25
    0
    [quote The British Ministry of Defense confirmed that plans to send a military contingent to Estonia remain in place] [/ quote] Only they will need to put more toilets there. the territory of the exercises of its RF Armed Forces.
  8. Stinger
    Stinger 24 November 2016 12: 57
    +1
    The British are born defenders of the weak and the poor. They will fight the aggressor to the last Estonian. So Estonians can sleep peacefully. Moreover, Russian bears do not eat them. very sour.
  9. azer
    azer 24 November 2016 14: 30
    +1
    Another cannon fodder for the Iskander.
  10. Niccola Mack
    Niccola Mack 25 November 2016 11: 14
    0
    If the British send troops, it means they think that it will be safe there in the near future!
    If they thought it was dangerous, they would not send it!
    As history shows, England is ready to fight to the last soldier - if only he is not English.
  11. Yak-3P
    Yak-3P 25 November 2016 14: 48
    0
    by our standards, so a regiment there, yes, with the effort of artillerymen ... and in the Second World War it was like that ... the Fritzes had a battalion ... we have a regiment ... and in aviation and in arte just ... we have a regiment (number) - they have a squadron ..

Минобороны Британии подтвердило, что планы по отправке в Эстонию воинского контингента остаются в силе

Министр обороны Британии Майкл Фэллон подтвердил намерение правительства направить в Эстонию 800 военнослужащих, передает РИА Новости сообщение военного ведомства страны.

Минобороны Британии подтвердило, что планы по отправке в Эстонию воинского контингента остаются в силе


В среду Фэллон встретился с генсеком НАТО Йенсом Столтенбергом и обсудил с ним практическое участие Великобритании в планах альянса.


«Он (Фэллон) подтвердил, что Британия направит 800 военнослужащих в Эстонию в состав многонационального батальона НАТО. Полная численность батальона будет обеспечена с участием Франции и Дании», – говорится в релизе Минобороны.

Напомним, натовский батальон в Эстонии будет размещен (как и в других странах Балтии) в первой половине 2017 г. В его составе будет находиться 1,1 тыс. военнослужащих – 800 из Британии и 300 из Франции. Позже французов поменяют датчане. Батальон будет оснащен тяжелой боевой техникой и разместится в г. Тапа.

Использованы фотографии: РИА Новости. Алексей Витвицкий

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 17

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. hirurg 24 ноября 2016 11:20
    А очередных люлей в макдоналдсе они огрести не боятся?
    1. Зяблицев 24 ноября 2016 11:30
      Городок с населением в 5693 человека возрадуется прибытию тысячи цивилизованных европейцев - наверное уже начали готовить газоны, а ночные бабочки слетаются со всей Эстонии... laughing

      С военной точки зрения - этот городок крупный железнодорожный узел, а значит позволяет быстро усилить эту группировочку...
      1. cniza 24 ноября 2016 11:35
        Цитата: Зяблицев
        Городок с населением в 5693 человека возрадуется прибытию тысячи цивилизованных европейцев - наверное уже начали готовить газоны, а ночные бабочки слетаются со всей Эстонии... laughing

        С военной точки зрения - этот городок крупный железнодорожный узел, а значит позволяет
        быстро усилить эту группировочку...


        Пока займутся ассимиляцией , а вообще очень серьёзный плацдарм для дальнейшего развертывания.
        1. Гигант мысли 24 ноября 2016 11:45
          Британцы делают это всё, как они считают, для укрепления мира и безопасности Прибалтики, посмотрел бы я на их реакцию, если бы Россия разместила свой военный контингент на территории Ирландии тоже для укрепления мира.
    2. vovanpain 24 ноября 2016 11:45
      Цитата: hirurg
      А очередных люлей в макдоналдсе они огрести не боятся?

      Да пусть огребают,коллега,жалко что ли. laughing
  2. rotmistr60 24 ноября 2016 11:26
    У президента Эстония наверное бабочка дыбом встала и в очки уперлась от радостного возбуждения и предвкушения НАТОвской "мощи" в количестве 800 чел.
    1. LÄRZ 24 ноября 2016 11:42
      Цитата: rotmistr60
      У президента Эстония наверное бабочка дыбом встала и в очки уперлась от радостного возбуждения и предвкушения НАТОвской "мощи" в количестве 800 чел.

      Кальюлайд родилась 30 декабря 1969 года в городе Тарту и является гражданкой Эстонии по рождению. В 1987 году закончила таллинскую среднюю школу № 44, а в 1992 — факультет биологии Тартуского университета. В 2001 году получила степень магистра делового администрирования в Тартуском университете.Была членом Эстонского генного фонда и членом куратория Тартуского университета. С 2011 года возглавляет совет Тартуского университета.В 1998—1999 годах работала руководителем проекта в отделе банковских инвестиций Hansapank Markets. В 1999 году была советником премьер-министра Эстонии Марта Лаара по экономике.В феврале 2002 года назначена руководителем отдела управленческого учёта электростанции «Иру». В сентябре 2002 года назначена директором этой электростанции.С 2001 по 2004 год была членом партии «Союз отечества».С мая 2004 года по сентябрь 2016 года работала представителем Эстонии в Европейской счётной палате. С 2010 по 2014 год отвечала за методику контроля и годовые отчёты. С 2014 года руководила проведением аудита по сельскому хозяйству и проведением реформы структуры палаты.С сентября 2016 года возглавляла образованный при канцелярии Рийгикогу совет по мониторингу развития.После трёх не выявивших победителя раундов президентских выборов в Рийгикогу и двух в Коллегии выборщиков, совет старейшин парламента Эстонии 27 сентября выдвинул Кальюлайд единственным кандидатом на пост главы государства. 3 октября 2016 на выборах президента Эстонии в Рийгикогу набрала 81 голос из 101 и стала первой женщиной-президентом этой страны. Кальюлайд после избрания её главой государства изъявила желание дальше жить в своем доме в таллинском районе Нымме и не переезжать в президентский дворец в Кадриорге 10 октября официально вступила в должность президента Эстонии и получила нагрудную цепь с золотой звездой После вступления в должность Кальюлайд первые официальные визиты нанесла в Финляндию и Латвию
      Семья Супруг: Георг-Рене Максимовский
      Дети: дочь Силья Мярдла
      сын Сийм Тальвик


      Источник: https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%9A%D0%B0%D0%BB%
      D1%8C%D1%8E%D0%BB%D0%B0%D0%B9%D0%B4,_%D0%9A%D0%B5
      %D1%80%D1%81%D1%82%D0%B8
      1. rotmistr60 24 ноября 2016 12:14
        Спасибо за поправку. Она только месяц как президент, а я по привычке о старом.Нужно было написать экс.
  3. Ратник с пулеметом 24 ноября 2016 11:30
    ох не терпится западным воякам,хоть глазком вблизи на страшную Россию поглазеть,а потом дама расказывать жуткие истории о своих гипотетических подвигах,а вообще создается впечатление,что чем больше проебалты о своей безопасности парятся,тем больше их страны похожи на проходной двор,где шляются все кто хочет,да еще и нагадить может,а они только расшаркаются и уберут,(неужели эти наивняки думают что кто то за них в случае драки впряжется,сколько примеров в истории когда несмотря на все обещалки и бритосы,и френчи кидали своих подопечных,что то в 1939 они совсем не торопились)
  4. ВСЗМК 24 ноября 2016 11:30
    Батальон будет оснащен тяжелой боевой техникой и разместится в г. Тапа.

    Та́па (эст. Tapa) — город без муниципального статуса в Эстонии, административный центр и составная часть волости Тапа. Крупный железнодорожный узел. Население — 5693 человека.
    К 1991 году в городе базировались следующие части Советской армии: школа механиков-водителей инженерных войск, зенитно-ракетная бригада и, на аэродроме, части ВВС: истребительный авиаполк и отдельная эскадрилья вертолётов Ми-24.
    Этнический состав городского населения практически всё время в большинстве состоял из эстонцев, на втором месте - русских. Исключением является период конца 1980-х - начала 1990-х, когда большинство составили именно представители русскоязычного населения, число которых впоследствии заметно уменьшилось именно из-за ухода воинских частей бывшей Советской Армии.
    Теперь большинство будет англоязычным!
  5. Alex_Tug 24 ноября 2016 11:31
    Министр обороны Британии Майкл Фэллон подтвердил намерение правительства направить в Эстонию 800 военнослужащих

    Теперь России надо запасаться мухобойками?
  6. Altona 24 ноября 2016 11:34
    Мясо для провокаций. Оборона как была так и будет нулевая, а если хлопнут английского ландскнехта, а ещё лучше нескольких и на бронетехнике, то появится казус белли, то есть повод начать войну с Россией или обвинить Россию в чем-либо и наложить санкций на полный шотландский килт. Больше смысла в этих бритто-вояках нет
  7. BOB044 24 ноября 2016 12:25
    [quoteМинобороны Британии подтвердило, что планы по отправке в Эстонию воинского контингента остаются в силе][/quote] Только им побольше туда туалетов надо будет поставить .Что бы их военнослужащие не загадили всю территорию в тот момент когда Россия будет проводить в этом регионе на своей территории учения своих ВС РФ.
  8. Stinger 24 ноября 2016 12:57
    Англичане прирождённые защитники слабых и убогих. Будут сражаться с агрессором до последнего эстонца. Так что эстонцы могут спать спокойно. Тем более, что русские медведи ими не питаются. кислые очень.
  9. azer 24 ноября 2016 14:30
    Очередное пушечное мясо для искандеров.
  10. Никкола Мак 25 ноября 2016 11:14
    Если англичане посылают войска - значит считают что ближайшее время там будет безопасно!
    Считали бы что опасно - не послали!
    Как показывает история, Англия готова воевать до последнего солдата - если он только не английский.
  11. Як-3П 25 ноября 2016 14:48
    по нашим меркам так -то полк там да с усилием артиллеристов..и в ВОВ так было.. у фрицев --бат.. у нас полк ..и в авиации и в арте так-же..у нас полк(количество)-- у них эскадрилья..
Картина дня