Military Review

Principality or Republic? How Albania sought independence

4
November 28 Independence Day marked Albania - one of the most isolated countries in Europe. 104 a year ago, in November 1912, the Declaration of Independence of Albania was adopted, which 83 signed by the political and public figures of the country that was then part of the Ottoman Empire. After the declaration was signed, politicians Ismail Kemali and Luid Gurakuchi hung out from the balcony of the building in the city of Vlore, where the authors of the document gathered, an Albanian flag with an eagle. So turned the next page in stories Albania, more than four centuries before that was part of the Ottoman Empire.


Principality or Republic? How Albania sought independence


The conquest of Albania by the Ottoman Turks began at the end of the 14th century and was accompanied by the struggle of the Ottoman Empire and the Republic of Venice. In the end, in the second half of the 15th century, the Ottomans established control over most of the territory inhabited by Albanians. In the empire, Albania took a special place. The fact is that the Ottoman sultans considered the Albanians as a natural counterweight to the Slavic and Greek population of the Balkan Peninsula. Moreover, Islam began to spread rapidly among the Albanians. Although still in Albania a significant part of the population professes Christianity - Catholicism or Orthodoxy, it was Islam that played an important role in the development of Albanian identity and the separation of Albania from the rest of the Greek Slavic Christian world of the Balkans. The militant Albanian highlanders, or, as the Ottomans and the Arnauts called them, became the suppliers of the warriors for the Ottoman Empire. Many prominent Ottoman commanders and statesmen were of Albanian origin. Unlike Christians, Slavs and Greeks, Albanian Muslims were perfectly integrated into the political system of the Ottoman Empire. At the same time, in Albania, confessional affiliation has never been decisive - at least in the form it was in neighboring Yugoslavia. Albanians - Muslims, Catholics and Orthodox, ultimately remained Albanians. They separated themselves from the Slavic and Greek populations, which could not but impress Istanbul.

Nevertheless, even among the Albanian elite, by the beginning of the twentieth century, the ideas of autonomy, and even gaining state independence, gradually began to spread. In 1909-1910 An Albanian uprising broke out in Kosovo, which was severely crushed by Ottoman troops. Then, in 1911, a new uprising began, whose leaders raised the demand for national autonomy. Another uprising broke out in March 1912. The most volatile were the northern areas of Albania, where the Ottoman government was the weakest. By mid-August 1912, the rebels were able to capture a number of cities. The most important role in declaring the independence of the country was played by the First Balkan War, as a result of which Serbian and Greek troops entered the territory of Albania.

Ismail Kemali (1844-1919) stood at the source of the national movement of Albania, as is clear from his name, a Muslim by religion, a native of a noble Albanian Ottoman Bey family. From a young age he began his career as a civil servant in the Ottoman Empire, led a number of cities on the Balkan Peninsula, and the most significant post of Ismail Kemal became the post of governor of Beirut. However, Kemaly periodically flared up differences with other Ottoman officials. Finally, in 1900, Ismail Kemaly appeared on the yacht of the British ambassador and asked for political asylum. He was removed from the territory of the Ottoman Empire and the next eight years he lived in emigration, during which time he became the most prominent figure of the Albanian national movement. Kemali was a supporter of the liberalization of the political system in the Ottoman Empire and advocated the proclamation of the independence of the Albanian national state.

Luid Gurakuchi (1879-1925) was another major figure in the national movement who was behind the adoption of the Declaration of Independence of Albania. Unlike Ismail Kemali, Luid Gurakuchi (pictured) was born to a Christian Albanian Catholic family and was educated at a Jesuit college. Albanians - Catholics were focused on cooperation with Italy, considering the Italians the most culturally close people. There was no exception and Luid Gurakuchi. In 1909, he headed the first Albanian Pedagogical Institute.

Hassan Pristina (real name - Berisha, 1873-1933) - an Albanian politician who studied law in his youth in Istanbul, then elected a deputy of the Majlis of the Ottoman Empire, also played a prominent role in proclaiming the independence of Albania. In 1912, it was Hassan Pristina who led the Albanian national uprising. At this time he was considering the possibility of creating a mixed Albanian-Slavic state in Macedonia, and this idea was approved by the British leadership, but it was never destined to be realized. Another Ottoman official, Ilias Bey Vrioni (1882-1932), came from a noble Albanian family, also participated in writing the country's Declaration of Independence.

After the Declaration of Independence was adopted on November 28, the Provisional Government was formed in Albania, which existed until December 4 1914. Its first chairman was Ismail Kemali, in 1913-1914. also serving as foreign minister. Luid Gurakuchi took the post of Minister of Education in this office. Ismail Kemali hoped to achieve independence peacefully, while maintaining good relations with the Ottoman Empire and with the countries of the West. To this end, he attracted many old Ottoman officials to participate in the formation of the Provisional Government. However, the Provisional Government failed to establish control over the whole of Albania. This was due to the peculiarities of the Albanian society, in which the most important role was played by the clans and their leaders - large landowners. In addition, the world community did not view the Kemali government as the sole representative of the Albanian people. In fact, Kemali enjoyed the support of only Italy and Austria-Hungary, while Great Britain and France sought in every possible way to delay the international recognition of Albanian independence. Serbia, Greece and Montenegro, which won the First Balkan War against the Ottoman Empire, claimed large parts of the territory of Albania.

A special role in Albanian politics was played by the influential feudal general Essad Pasha Toptani (1863-1920) in the north of the country, who served in the Ottoman army as the head of the garrison of the city of Scutari. During the 1912 anti-Ottoman uprising of the year, Essad Pasha, despite the fact that he was an acting Ottoman officer, did not seriously hinder the insurgents. After the proclamation of independence of Albania, Essad Pasha chose to start his own political game. He competed for power with the government of Ismail Kemali and in this struggle enlisted the support of the Serbian and Montenegrin governments. In 1913, Essad Pasha proclaimed the creation of the Republic of Central Albania, which was not subject to the Provisional Government of Ismail Kemal.

21 February 1914, with the consent of the great powers, Albania was proclaimed a principality. On the throne of the prince of Albania, the German prince Wilhelm Vid (1876-1945) was erected - the nephew of Queen Elizabeth of Romania. In Albania itself, he was called the king - to emphasize the equivalence of the king of neighboring Montenegro. Wilhelm Vid (pictured) arrived in Albania on March 7 1914 of the year, along with Dutch officers who were to lead the Albanian gendarmerie. However, in September 1914, after the start of a new uprising under the leadership of General Essad Pasha, Prince William was forced to leave Albania. He no longer came to the country, although he formally remained its head until the 1925 year, when a republic was proclaimed in Albania. After the departure of Prince Wilhelm, Albania did not find unity - the Muslim part of the population was guided by the Ottoman Empire and favored a Muslim by religion to become the ruler of the country. Islamized clans of Albania did not recognize a unified national government. Fearing the invasion of Albania by the troops of Austria-Hungary, with the outbreak of the First World War, the Allies sent troops into the territory of Albania. Greece claimed the part of the territory of Albania, under the auspices of which the Autonomous Republic of Northern Epirus existed, which was created during the First Balkan War and had a significant Greek population. Only in 1921, the area occupied by the Greek troops finally moved to Albania.

Thus, despite the independence proclaimed, there was no unified government in Albania. The power struggle between various clans and political factions continued, great interests, regional powers like Italy and Austria-Hungary, the Ottoman Empire, and the Balkan neighbors of the country - Serbia, Montenegro and Greece, pursued their interests in Albania. With 1916, Turhan Pasha Permeti (1839-1927) became the actual head of Albania. He was a representative of one of the most influential aristocratic families in Albania, who served for a long time in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Ottoman Empire, and then served as ambassador to Russia. After the proclamation of independence of Albania, Turhan Pasha took part in the creation of a national government, supported Prince William Weed, served as prime minister of Albania. However, despite the fact that Turhan Pasha headed the Albanian government, there was another center of power - led by Essad Pasha, who sought to pursue his political line.

Essad Pasha wanted the great powers to recognize the sovereignty of Albania and abandoned plans for its division. Note that during the First World War, the future political future of the Albanian state remained extremely uncertain. So, Italy long ago laid claim to Albania, and the great powers, counting on Italy’s entry into the war against Germany and Austria-Hungary, 26 on April 1915 were signed by the London Treaty. In accordance with it, Italy left the Triple Alliance, for which the Entente promised Rome the following territorial acquisitions: Tyrol, Trieste, Goritsa and Gradiska, Istria, a part of the Inner Krai, Northern Dalmatia, the Dodecanese Islands, the Albanian city of Vlora and the protectorate over Albania, part of the Asian and African possessions of Germany. On the other hand, part of the Albanian territory was promised by the Entente of Serbia and Montenegro.

During the war, Italian troops entered the territory of Albania, which did not leave the country even after the defeat of Germany, Austria-Hungary and the Ottoman Empire. Italy claimed control of the city of Vlore - thus, where the independence of Albania was proclaimed. In turn, the Albanian side was in no hurry with the recognition of Italy’s territorial claims. When the Albanian authorities in 1920 year demanded that the Italian command withdraw troops from Vlora, General Settimo Piacentini, who commanded the Italian army, refused. In Vlora, an anti-Italian uprising began under the leadership of Kazim Kochuli. A national army of about four thousand men was formed, under the command of Ahmed Lepenitsa. Despite the fact that well trained and armed Italian troops of thousands of soldiers and officers in 20 were stationed in Vlora (that is, five times more than the insurgents), Albanian troops were able to besiege Vlore, driving Italian troops into the city. The Italian command did not manage to transfer reinforcements. In the end, 2 August 1920, the Italian leadership refused the claims on Vlora and agreed to withdraw its troops from the territory of Albania. In fact, the fighting in Vlora put an end to the long saga of Albanian independence.

Earlier, than Italian troops were driven out of Vlora, Essad Pasha Toptani was killed in June 1920 in Paris. He was shot by Avni Rustemi (1895-1924) - an Albanian revolutionary who participated in organizing anti-Italian speeches in Vlora in 1918-1919.

The strengthening of the sovereign Albanian statehood that followed in 1920-1930-s was associated with the coming to power in the country of Ahmed Zog (1895-1961), which in 1922, at the age of twenty-seven, became the Prime Minister of Albania for the first time. In 1924, he re-occupied the prime minister’s chair, and then, relying on the help of a detachment of Russian émigrés, accomplished a military coup and seized power in the country. Ahmed Bey Mukhtar Zogolli, who was actually called Ahmed Zogu, came from a wealthy Albanian feudal family and was the nephew of Essad Pasha Tptani. It was Ahmed Zogu who first began a real modernization of the backward Albanian society, seeking to minimize the influence of the clans on the political life of the country. Ahmed Zogu was actively supported in the implementation of his plans by fascist Italy, which by the second half of the 1920 had become the most important foreign political and economic patron of Albania. It was from Italy that Zog received financial assistance for the economic modernization of the country.

In 1928, Ahmed Zogu was crowned king of Albania under the name Zogu I. Thus, the monarchy was restored in Albania, only the ethnic Albanian became head of state. The reign of Zog continued until the 1939 year, when the country was occupied by Italy. King Zog himself emigrated to Greece and then to Great Britain, and the Albanian government, wholly controlled by the Italians, was headed by Shefket Verlaji, a long-time political opponent of Ahmed Zog. The full independence of Albania was restored only after the end of the Second World War.
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 29 November 2016 08: 00
    +2
    Thank you, Ilya is very interesting ... There was another funny story, when two fraudsters seized power, one of them introduced himself as the king of Albania ..
  2. Rashid
    Rashid 29 November 2016 10: 22
    +3
    As a child, we watched a historical film about the national hero of Albania Skanderbeg, then they fought against the Turkish invaders. But about the period of the Second World War there was a film called "Fortune", about the struggle against the invaders, the film is good, color. By the way, Albania is the only Balkan country that freed itself from the occupiers on its own, without the help of the Red Army or the Allied troops.
  3. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 30 November 2016 09: 21
    +1
    Thank you very much for the story about such a little-known country for me! At home there is a book from the 1950s, a large one --- "Albanian Tales". There are a lot of pictures, and Albanians on them look like Turks in appearance and clothes ( in other books).
    That's interesting: if the Albanians are not Slavs and Greeks, then who are they then by origin?
    Is it possible to find out: is there a genetic connection between the Albanians in the Balkans and the inhabitants of ancient Caucasian Albania?
    Now, when I hear about the Albanians --- immediately associations with the war in Yugoslavia and in Kosovo. Also reports that there are many refugees in Europe --- Albanians ???
    Sincerely.
    1. pytar
      pytar 8 November 2017 14: 01
      +1
      The Albanians consider themselves the direct heirs of the autochronous population of the Western Balkans - the ILIRIS. They were contemporaries of the ancient Greeks, Macedonians and Thracians. Before the Slavs came to the Bolkans, the Ilyrian tribes inhabited a vast territory covering present-day Albania, Slovenia, Croatia, BiH, Western Serbia and Cerna Gora. In the Albanian epics, many legends about their "resistance against the Slavic descendants" have been preserved. In the 7 century, the Ilyrian tribes, under the pressure of Slavic immigrants, retreated to the hard-to-reach mountain areas of present-day Albania. During the Ottoman invasion of the Bolkans, the Albanians / skippars as they call themselves / showed fierce resistance, led by their leader Skender-run / Iskender-Alexander /. The Ottomans were at war from this small people then, they suffered more losses than the conquest of other Balkan states .. The Albanian language is by ear similar to Romanian, although linguists do not consider it Romance. According to those geneticists whose studies I read, Balkan Albanians have no family connection with Caucasian Albanians. This is just a coincidence in the names.
      As for Kossovo, if we look back at history, then this region was originally inhabited by Illyrian and Thracian tribes. As for the Kosovo war in Yugoslavia, this is a separate and very extensive topic, which, unfortunately, is extremely biased in Russian information resources. I have been to Albania and Kossovo! My impressions are that Albanians and Kossovars are very different. This is in mind that for a long time they lived in states with different social and ideological systems. There is also a noticeable difference in their attitude towards Russia and Russians. It seems to me that in Albania itself Russians are treated normally, often even with sympathy. And in Kossovo, the attitude towards Russia is sharply negative, in view of the pro-Serb position taken by it. My opinion is of course subjective.
  4. tiaman.76
    tiaman.76 1 December 2016 19: 52
    0
    Albanians are not ethnically descendants of Illyrians or epriotics? It would be interesting to know

Княжество или республика? Как Албания добивалась независимости

28 ноября День независимости отметила Албания — одна из самых обособленных стран Европы. 104 года назад, в ноябре 1912 года, была принята Декларация независимости Албании, которую подписали 83 политических и общественных деятеля страны, входившей тогда в состав Османской империи. После подписания декларации политические деятели Исмаил Кемали и Луидь Гуракучи вывесили с балкона здания в городе Влере, где собрались авторы документа, албанский флаг с орлом. Так перевернулась очередная страница в истории Албании, более четырех столетий до этого входившей в состав Османской империи.

Княжество или республика? Как Албания добивалась независимости


Покорение Албании турками — османами началось еще в конце XIV века и сопровождалось борьбой Османской империи с Венецианской республикой. В конце концов, во второй половине XV века османы установили контроль над большей частью населенной албанцами территории. В империи Албания заняла особое место. Дело в том, что османские султаны рассматривали албанцев как естественный противовес славянскому и греческому населению Балканского полуострова. Тем более, что среди албанцев стал быстро распространяться ислам. Хотя до сих пор в Албании значительная часть населения исповедует христианство — католицизм или православие, именно ислам сыграл важную роль в становлении албанской идентичности и обособлении Албании от остального греко-славянского христианского мира Балкан. Воинственные албанские горцы, или, как их называли османы, арнауты, стали поставщиками воинов для Османской империи. Албанское происхождение имели многие выдающиеся османские военачальники и государственные деятели. В отличие от христиан, славян и греков, албанские мусульмане прекрасно встроились в политическую систему Османской империи. В то же время, в Албании конфессиональная принадлежность никогда не являлась определяющей — по крайней мере, в той форме, как это было в соседней Югославии. Албанцы — мусульмане, католики и православные, в конечном итоге, оставались албанцами. Они обособляли себя от славянского и греческого населения, что не могло не импонировать Стамбулу.


Тем не менее, даже среди албанской элиты к началу ХХ века постепенно стали распространяться идеи автономии, а то и получения государственной независимости. В 1909-1910 гг. вспыхнуло албанское восстание в Косово, которое было жестко подавлено османскими войсками. Затем в 1911 г. началось новое восстание, лидеры которого подняли требование национальной автономии. Еще одно восстание вспыхнуло в марте 1912 года. Наиболее неспокойными были северные районы Албании, где османская власть была наиболее слабой. К середине августа 1912 г. восставшие смогли захватить ряд городов. Важнейшую же роль в провозглашении независимости страны сыграла Первая Балканская война, в результате которой на территорию Албании вошли сербские и греческие войска.

У истоков национального движения Албании стоял Исмаил Кемали (1844-1919) — как понятно из его имени, мусульманин по вероисповеданию, выходец из знатной албанской семьи османских беев. С юных лет он начал карьеру государственного служащего в Османской империи, руководил рядом городов на Балканском полуострове, а самой значительной должностью Исмаила Кемали стал пост губернатора Бейрута. Однако, у Кемали периодически вспыхивали разногласия с другими османскими чиновниками. В конце концов, в 1900 году Исмаил Кемали явился на яхту посла Великобритании и попросил политическое убежище. Его вывезли с территории Османской империи и следующие восемь лет он прожил в эмиграции, за это время превратившись в виднейшего деятеля албанского национального движения. Кемали был сторонником либерализации политической системы в Османской империи и выступал за провозглашение независимости албанского национального государства.

Другим важнейшим деятелем национального движения, стоявшим за принятием Декларации независимости Албании, был Луидь Гуракучи (1879-1925). В отличие от Исмаила Кемали, Луидь Гуракучи (на фото) родился в христианской семье албанцев — католиков и получил образование в иезуитском колледже. Албанцы — католики ориентировались на сотрудничество с Италией, считая итальянцев наиболее близким в культурном отношении народом. Не был исключением и Луидь Гуракучи. В 1909 году он возглавил первый албанский педагогический институт.

Видную роль в провозглашении независимости Албании сыграл и Хасан Приштина (настоящая фамилия — Бериша, 1873-1933) — албанский политик, в молодости изучавший право в Стамбуле, затем избиравшийся депутатом меджлиса Османской империи. В 1912 году именно Хасан Приштина руководил албанским национальным восстанием. В это время он рассматривал возможность создания смешанного албано-славянского государства в Македонии, причем эта идея нашла одобрение у британского руководства, но ей так и не суждено было осуществиться. Еще один османский чиновник, Илиас-бей Вриони (1882-1932), выходец из знатной албанской фамилии, также принимал участие в написании Декларации независимости страны.

После того, как 28 ноября была принята Декларация независимости, в Албании было сформировано Временное правительство, просуществовавшее до 4 декабря 1914 года. Его первым председателем стал Исмаил Кемали, в 1913-1914 гг. также занимавший пост министра иностранных дел. Луидь Гуракучи занял в этом кабинете пост министра образования. Исмаил Кемали рассчитывал мирным путем добиться независимости, сохраняя хорошие отношения и с Османской империей, и со странами Запада. Для этого он привлек к участию в формировании Временного правительства многих старых османских чиновников. Однако, Временному правительству так и не удалось установить контроль над всей Албанией. Это объяснялось особенностями албанского общества, в котором важнейшую роль играли кланы и их лидеры — крупные землевладельцы. Кроме того, мировое сообщество не рассматривало правительство Кемали как единственного представителя албанского народа. Фактически, Кемали пользовался поддержкой лишь Италии и Австро-Венгрии, а Великобритания и Франция стремились всячески отсрочить международное признание албанской независимости. На большие участки территории Албании претендовали Сербия, Греция и Черногория, выигравшие у Османской империи Первую Балканскую войну.

Особую роль в албанской политике играл влиятельный на севере страны феодал генерал Эссад-паша Топтани (1863-1920), служивший в османской армии в должности начальника гарнизона города Скутари. Во время антиосманского восстания 1912 года Эссад-паша, несмотря на то, что он был действующим османским офицером, не оказывал серьезных препятствий восставшим. После провозглашения независимости Албании Эссад-паша предпочел начать собственную политическую игру. Он соперничал за власть с правительством Исмаила Кемали и в этой борьбе заручился поддержкой сербского и черногорского правительств. В 1913 г. Эссад-паша провозгласил создание Республики Центральной Албании, которая не подчинялась Временному правительству Исмаила Кемали.

21 февраля 1914 г., с согласия великих держав, Албания была провозглашена княжеством. На престол князя Албании был возведен немецкий принц Вильгельм Вид (1876-1945) — племянник королевы Елизаветы Румынской. В самой Албании его называли королем — чтобы подчеркнуть равнозначность королю соседней Черногории. Вильгельм Вид (на фото) прибыл в Албанию 7 марта 1914 года, вместе с голландскими офицерами, которые должны были возглавить албанскую жандармерию. Однако уже в сентябре 1914 года, после начала нового восстания под руководством генерала Эссад-паши, князь Вильгельм был вынужден покинуть Албанию. Больше он не приезжал в страну, хотя формально оставался ее главой до 1925 года, когда в Албании провозгласили республику. После отъезда князя Вильгельма Албания не обрела единства — мусульманская часть населения ориентировалась на Османскую империю и выступала за то, чтобы правителем страны стал мусульманин по вероисповеданию. Исламизированные кланы Албании не признавали единого национального правительства. Опасаясь вторжения в Албанию войск Австро-Венгрии, с началом Первой мировой войны союзники ввели войска на территорию Албании. На часть территории Албании претендовала Греция, под эгидой которой существовала Автономная Республика Северного Эпира, созданная еще во время Первой Балканской войны и имевшая значительное греческое население. Лишь в 1921 году область, оккупированная греческими войсками, окончательно отошла к Албании.

Таким образом, несмотря на провозглашенную независимость, единое правительство в Албании отсутствовало. Продолжалась борьба за власть между различными кланами и политическими группировками, свои интересы в Албании преследовали и великие державы, и региональные державы вроде Италии и Австро-Венгрии, и Османская империя, и балканские соседи страны — Сербия, Черногория и Греция. С 1916 г. фактическим руководителем Албании стал Турхан-паша Пермети (1839-1927) — представитель одной из влиятельных аристократических семей Албании, долгое время служивший в Министерстве иностранных дел Османской империи, а затем служивший послом в России. После провозглашения независимости Албании Турхан-паша принял участие в создании национального правительства, поддерживал принца Вильгельма Вида, занимал пост премьер-министра Албании. Однако, несмотря на то, что Турхан-паша возглавлял албанское правительство, существовал и другой центр силы — во главе с Эссад-пашой, который стремился проводить свою политическую линию.

Эссад-паша добивался того, чтобы великие державы признали суверенитет Албании и отказались от планов по ее разделу. Отметим, что во время Первой мировой войны дальнейшее политическое будущее албанского государства оставалось крайне неопределенным. Так, на Албанию давно претендовала Италия, а великие державы, рассчитывая на вступление Италии в войну против Германии и Австро-Венгрии, 26 апреля 1915 г. подписали Лондонский договор. В соответствии с ним, Италия покидала Тройственный союз, за что Антанта обещала Риму следующие территориальные приобретения: Тироль, Триест, Горицу и Градишку, Истрию, часть Внутренней Крайны, Северную Далмацию, острова Додеканес, албанский город Влера и протекторат над Албанией, часть азиатских и африканских владений Германии. С другой стороны, часть албанской территории была обещана Антантой Сербии и Черногории.

Во время войны на территорию Албании вступили итальянские войска, которые не покинули страну и после разгрома Германии, Австро-Венгрии и Османской империи. Италия претендовала на управление городом Влёра — тем самым, где провозглашалась независимость Албании. В свою очередь, албанская сторона не спешила с признанием территориальных претензий Италии. Когда албанские власти в 1920 году потребовали от итальянского командования вывести войска из Влеры, генерал Сеттимо Пьячентини, командовавший итальянской армией, ответил отказом. Во Влере началось антиитальянское восстание под руководством Казима Кочули. Была сформирована народная армия численностью около четырех тысяч человек, которой командовал Ахмед Лепеница. Несмотря на то, что во Влере размещались хорошо обученные и вооруженные итальянские войска численностью в 20 тысяч солдат и офицеров (то есть, в пять раз больше, чем повстанцев), албанские отряды смогли осадить Влеру, загнав в город итальянские части. Перебросить подкрепление итальянское командование не успело. В конечном итоге, 2 августа 1920 года итальянское руководство отказалось от претензий на Влеру и согласилось вывести войска с территории Албании. Фактически, боевые действия во Влере поставили точку в долгой эпопее албанской независимости.

Еще раньше, чем из Влеры были изгнаны итальянские войска, в июне 1920 года в Париже был убит Эссад-паша Топтани. Его застрелил Авни Рустеми (1895-1924) — албанский революционер, участвовавший в организации антиитальянских выступлений во Влере в 1918-1919 гг.

Укрепление суверенной албанской государственности, последовавшее в 1920-е — 1930-е годы, было связано с приходом к власти в стране Ахмеда Зогу (1895-1961), который в 1922 году, в двадцатисемилетнем возрасте, первый раз стал премьер-министром Албании. В 1924 году он занял кресло премьера повторно, а затем, опираясь на помощь отряда русских эмигрантов, совершил военный переворот и захватил власть в стране. Ахмед-бей Мухтар Зоголли, как на самом деле звали Ахмеда Зогу, был выходцем из богатого албанского феодального рода и приходился племянником Эссад-паше Топтани. Именно Ахмед Зогу первым начал реальную модернизацию отсталого албанского общества, стремясь свести к минимуму влияние кланов на политическую жизнь страны. Активную поддержку Ахмеду Зогу в реализации его планов оказывала фашистская Италия, которая ко второй половине 1920-х годов превратилась в важнейшего внешнеполитического и экономического покровителя Албании. Именно из Италии Зогу получал финансовую помощь, направлявшуюся на экономическую модернизацию страны.

В 1928 году Ахмед Зогу короновался как король Албании под именем Зогу I. Так в Албании была возрождена монархия, только во главе государства встал этнический албанец. Правление Зогу продолжалось до 1939 года, когда страна была оккупирована Италией. Сам король Зогу эмигрировал в Грецию, а затем в Великобританию, а албанское правительство, всецело подконтрольное итальянцам, возглавил Шефкет Верладжи — давний политический оппонент Ахмеда Зогу. В полной мере независимость Албании была восстановлена только после окончания Второй мировой войны.
Автор: Илья Полонский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. parusnik 29 ноября 2016 08:00
    Спасибо, Илья весьма интересно...Там была, еще забавная история, когда два мошенника захватили власть, один из них представился королем Албании..
  2. Rashid 29 ноября 2016 10:22
    В детстве мы смотрели исторический фильм о народном герое Албании Скандербеге, тогда они боролись с турецкими захватчиками. А вот про период второй мировой был фильм под названием "Фортуна", про борьбу с захватчиками, фильм хороший, цветной. Кстати, Албания единственная балканская страна, которая освободилась от оккупантов самостоятельно, без помощи РККА или войск союзников.
  3. Reptiloid 30 ноября 2016 09:21
    Большое спасибо за рассказ о такой малоизвестной для меня стране!Дома есть книга 1950-х годов, большая ---""Албанские сказки "".Очень много картинок,и албанцы на них выглядят по внешнему виду и одежде---как турки (в других книгах ).
    Вот интересно :если Албанцы---не Славяне и не Греки, то кто же они тогда по происхождению?
    Возможно ли узнать :а есть ли генетическая связь между Албанцами,которые на Балканах, и жителями древней Кавказской Албании?
    Сейчас, когда слышу про албанцев---сразу ассоциации с войной в Югославии и в Косове.Также сообщения о том, что в Европе много беженцев ---албанцев???
    С уважением.
  4. tiaman.76 1 декабря 2016 19:52
    албанцы этнически не потомками иллирийцев или эприотов являются?интересно бы узнать
Картина дня