Military Review

What will happen for the EU collapse of the referendum in Italy

6
What will happen for the EU collapse of the referendum in Italy



December 4 in Italy held a referendum on amending the country's constitution. The majority of votes (60%) was cast against new laws. Prime Minister Matteo Renzi, who became the author of the amendments submitted for discussion, earlier promised to leave his post in the event of failure to vote.

The essence of the amendments

Voted last Sunday at once on several issues. First, Renzi proposed reducing the number of members of the upper parliament (Senate) from 315 to 100 so that lawmaking in Italy would become more productive. The country is faced with a situation where, due to the mass character of the parliament, any decision may be delayed for years, or even remain without result.

Secondly, the Prime Minister in the interests of the economic development of the country, in which the financial sector demonstrates a serious recession, proposed limiting the power of the regions by adding powers to the president and regional representatives in parliament. Energy issues, strategic infrastructure and civil defense, in his opinion, would be more effectively addressed by the central government.

What Renzi Didn't Consider

The fact is that a country with cardinal regional differences, united only in the second half of the XIX century, a priori cannot be ready for the transfer of authority to the center. Unification is not a solution for a country where the north and the south by all possible criteria are not similar to each other.

What could have been achieved by referendum

If these amendments were adopted, Renzi could postpone discussions about Italy’s withdrawal from the European Union. His plans were to hold a meeting at the G-7 summit in 2017, the outcome of which was to be the allocation of assistance to African countries. This could reduce the number of refugees, the money for which is allocated from the country's budget, and therefore, leave the funds for the improvement of the financial sector. In addition, Renzi was not satisfied with the new EU financial norms, according to which the Italians' bank deposits could be devalued or cut back (!).

The Prime Minister planned to send taxpayers' money to the improvement of the banking sector, which is prohibited by banking rules. Thus, EU regulations may have such an impact on the Italian economy, that the country will be on the verge of a financial crisis, which will be able to pull the entire Eurozone along.

Renzi became one of the few people who, although pursuing their own interests, offer a more or less conservative future. The rejection of the reforms proposed by him will require more decisive and more perceptibly painful steps, not only for Italy itself, but also for the whole of Europe.

Many compare Cameron’s actions with attempts to reform Renzi, but there are significantly more differences between politicians and their program than similarities. Cameron used the referendum to put pressure on the EU in order to achieve more favorable membership conditions. Cameron actually blackmailed the European Union with a referendum in the hope of an exceptional situation for himself and the Cabinet. The people were a tool for a politician whose career ultimately ended rather ingloriously.

Renzi used the referendum as a risky move, again for his own advancement along the career ladder. But if he managed to achieve the amendments, for his country he would become a major reformer and a serious figure for the EU economy. Unfortunately, youth and excessive ambition played against Renzi, who proposed measures that were justified but not at all suitable for the Italians.

What happens next with Renzi

According to the formal procedure adopted in Italy, Renzi, as he has already announced, will hand in his resignation letter to the head of state Sergio Mattarella. Further, the president should take the final decision: he either accepts the resignation and declares the dissolution of parliament, which presupposes the appointment of new elections, either asks the retired prime minister to head the technical cabinet or invites someone else whose candidature would suit a parliamentary majority. The latter scenario, according to observers, is less likely, since opposition representatives have repeatedly stated that they will not agree to a technical government and will seek early elections.

The holding of early elections immediately, as required by the opposition, is hampered by the actual absence of electoral legislation. The relevant approved law (“Italicum”), firstly, is not yet recognized as constitutional (court decision is expected), and, secondly, regulates elections only to the Chamber of Deputies, whereas after the rejection of constitutional reform, the senate remains.

Thus, his resignation is not the only possible development of the situation, in fact, Renzi may well remain in his place "at the behest of third parties." It is worth noting that the entire political elite of Italy is elected in such a way that you can choose "each other." Very convenient mutual responsibility in a situation where “our people” are needed everywhere.

What will happen next with Italy and the EU

The failure of the referendum is a good chance for the oppositional Italian Five Stars party, which advocates for the country's withdrawal from the European Union, not only to call for early elections, but also to campaign for the soonest holding of the referendum. In addition, the presence of other influential opposition groups makes the party of power less and less powerful, and the emergence of new arguments against being in the European Union expands the field of activity for parties.

For the European Union, Italy is the third largest economy, a large territory, and a large trading partner. But finding it without taking action can undermine the financial structure and currency, and its output - the stability of the Union as a whole. Thus, no matter how Italian voters may behave, after the sole reformer has recused himself, it is difficult to imagine an idyll in relations between Italy and the rest of Europe.

On the one hand, the performance of the Italians against the current premier showed that the authorities do not understand their people, and the people do not really trust the authorities. On the other hand, such a decision 60% of those who voted untie the hands of the main opposition movement (by the way, the mayor of Rome is also a member of the Five Stars).

Will the current position of Italy turn into a catastrophe for Italy itself? Not. Because it has been bad in the country for several years now, and this is “bad” for finance, but it is so strong that the lack of measures is very silly on the part of the government. So it’s not a referendum that will let the current government under the monastery.

Will the current position of Italy turn into a disaster for the EU? If we talk about Italy’s withdrawal from the Union, the effect is unlikely to be as strong as the loss, for example, of Britain, was offensive. It is impossible to speak unequivocally about the impact of the gradual self-liquidation of EU members, because it strikes both the image, and the idea, and the values, and the budget. Where to put migrants, from whom to collect loans to other countries and other problems that arise with the release of even one large country? And if Italy still remains in the union, the main issue that will have to be resolved urgently is the issue of financial and economic recovery, which Renzi could not solve.
Author:
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Andrey Yuryevich
    Andrey Yuryevich 7 December 2016 05: 49
    +1
    What will happen for the EU collapse of the referendum in Italy
    if, in short, nothing ... where are they from the "submarine"? even talking about this is ridiculous ...
    1. Titsen
      Titsen 7 December 2016 07: 00
      +1
      Quote: Andrey Yurievich
      if, in short, nothing ... where are they from the "submarine"? even talking about this is ridiculous ...


      Funny - not funny ...

      Almost all of these movements in the strongest EU countries lead to the destabilization of Europe.

      But whoever catches a fish in this muddy water will rule the ball.
  2. aszzz888
    aszzz888 7 December 2016 05: 59
    +1
    Will Italy’s current position be a disaster for Italy itself? Not.


    Yeah, a lot of noise from nothing. They whined about holes too! bully
  3. ImPerts
    ImPerts 7 December 2016 06: 14
    +1
    Problems in the EU will come out in 2018 (sort of) when they start demanding a loan back and interest on them from the Young Europeans.
    Even if Italy withdraws from the EU, nothing much will happen. The CIS has existed for 25 years and has not disappeared, no one has died.
  4. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 7 December 2016 07: 23
    0
    Sorry, youth and excessive ambitiousness played against Renzi, who proposed justified, but not at all suitable for Italians.

    Why unfortunately? Could it be for the better that Renzi did not get what he wanted?
  5. iouris
    iouris 7 December 2016 12: 50
    0
    Italy has a debt of 2 trillion. (!), and the FRG is the main economy of the "Reich". After the "Brexit" and the possible distancing of France from the FRG, Merkel has no choice but to restore order in her economy with an iron hand, separating her cutlets from annoying flies. Perhaps, Merkel will try to “transfer” care of the eastern "members", or rather about the pensioners and marginalized people who remained there (Washington, Warsaw, Moscow, Beijing). The southern regions of Italy, Spain, Greece, most likely, will be forced to swim out on their own, giving them "broad autonomy." Perhaps Renzi will return to implement the Merkel program. But the final alignment will become clear only after Merkel's victory in the elections. In short, it's time to collect stones. People, be careful! Watch your hands.

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Чем обернётся для ЕС крах референдума в Италии

Чем обернётся для ЕС крах референдума в Италии


4 декабря в Италии состоялся референдум по вопросу внесения поправок в конституцию страны. Большинство голосов (60%) было отдано против принятия новых законов. Премьер-министр Маттео Ренци, ставший автором вынесенных на обсуждение поправок, ранее обещал покинуть свой пост в случае провала на голосовании.

Суть поправок


Голосовали в прошедшее воскресенье сразу по нескольким вопросам. Во-первых, Ренци предлагал сократить число членов верхней парламента (Сената) с 315 до 100, чтобы законотворчество в Италии стало более продуктивным. Страна столкнулась с ситуацией, когда из-за массовости парламента любое решение может затягиваться на годы, или вообще остаться без результата.

Во-вторых, премьер-министр в интересах экономического развития страны, финансовый сектор в которой демонстрирует серьезный спад, предлагал ограничить власть регионов, добавив полномочий президенту и региональным представителям в парламенте. Вопросы энергетики, стратегической инфраструктуры и гражданской обороны, по его мнению, более эффективно решались бы центральным правительством.

Чего не учел Ренци

Дело в том, что страна с кардинальными региональными различиями, объединившаяся лишь во второй половине XIX столетия, априори не может быть готова к передаче полномочий центру. Унификация — это не решение для страны, где север и юг по всем возможным критериям не похожи друг на друга.

Чего можно было добиться референдумом

В случае принятия этих поправок Ренци мог отсрочить обсуждения о выходе Италии из Евросоюза. В его планы входило провести на саммите "семерки" в 2017 году встречи, итогом которых должно было стать выделение помощи африканским странам. Это могло уменьшить число беженцев, деньги на которых выделяются из бюджета страны, а значит, оставить средства для оздоровления финансового сектора. Кроме того, Ренци не устраивали новые финансовые нормы ЕС, по которым банковские вклады итальянцев можно было бы обесценивать или урезать (!).

Премьер-министр планировал направить на оздоровление банковского сектора деньги налогоплательщиков, что запрещено банковскими правилами. Таким образом, нормы ЕС могут оказать такое влияние на экономику Италии, что страна окажется на грани финансового кризиса, который будет в состоянии потянуть за собой всю еврозону.

Ренци стал одним из немногих людей, которые, хоть и преследовали свои интересы, но предлагают более-менее консервативное будущее. Отказ от предложенных им реформ потребуют более решительных и более ощутимо болезненных шагов, причем не только для самой Италии, но и для всей Европы.

Многие сравнивают действия Кэмерона с попытками реформ Ренци, однако между политиками и их программой различий существенно больше, чем сходств. Кэмерон использовал референдум для оказания давления на ЕС с тем, чтобы добиться более выгодных условий членства. Кэмерон фактически шантажировал референдумом Евросоюз в надежде на исключительное положения для себя и кабмина. Народ был инструментом для политика, чья карьера, в конечном счете, довольно бесславно завершилась.

Ренци использовал референдум как рисковый шаг опять же для собственного продвижения по карьерной лестнице. Но если бы ему удалось добиться поправок, для своей страны он стал бы крупным реформатором и серьезной фигурой для экономики Евросоюза. К сожалению, молодость и чрезмерная амбициозность сыграли против Ренци, который предложил оправданные, но совсем не подходящие для итальянцев меры.

Что дальше будет с Ренци

Согласно принятой в Италии формальной процедуре, Ренци, как он уже объявил, передаст заявление об отставке в руки главы государства Серджо Маттареллы. Далее окончательное решение должен принимать президент: он либо принимает отставку и заявляет о роспуске парламента, что предполагает назначение новых выборов, либо просит отставного премьера возглавить технический кабинет или приглашает для этого какого-то другого, чья кандидатура устраивала бы парламентское большинство. Последний сценарий, по мнению наблюдателей, менее вероятен, поскольку представители оппозиции неоднократно заявляли, что не согласятся на техническое правительство и будут добиваться досрочных выборов.

Проведению досрочных выборов немедленно, как того требует оппозиция, препятствует фактическое отсутствие избирательного законодательства. Соответствующий одобренный закон ("италикум"), во-первых, еще не признан конституционным (решение суда ожидается), а, во-вторых, регулирует выборы только в палату депутатов, тогда как после отклонения конституционной реформы сенат сохраняется.

Таким образом, его отставка — это не единственно возможное развитие ситуации, фактически Ренци вполне может оставаться на своем месте "по велению третьих лиц". Стоит отметить, что вся политическая верхушка Италии избирается таким образом, что выбирать можно "друг друга". Очень удобная круговая порука в ситуации, когда везде нужны "свои люди".

Что дальше будет с Италией и ЕС

Провал референдума — хороший шанс для оппозиционной итальянской партии "Пять звезд", выступающей за выход страны из Евросоюза, не только взывать к досрочным выборам, но и агитировать за скорейшее проведение референдума. Кроме того, наличие и других влиятельных оппозиционных групп делает партию власти всё менее сильной, а появление новых аргументов против нахождения в Европейском союзе расширяет поле деятельности для партий.

Для Европейского союза Италия — третья по объему экономика, крупная территория и большой торговый партнер. Но ее нахождение без принятия мер может подорвать финансовую структуру и валюту, а ее выход — стабильность Союза в целом. Таким образом, как бы ни повели себя итальянские избиратели, после самоотвода единственного реформатора, сложно представить идиллию в отношениях Италии и остальной Европы.

С одной стороны, выступление итальянцев против действующего премьера показало, что власть не понимает свой народ, а народ не очень-то и доверяет власти. С другой стороны, такое решение 60% голосовавших развязывает руки главному оппозиционному движению (между прочим, мэр Рима — тоже член "Пяти звезд").

Обернется ли текущая позиция Италии катастрофой для самой Италии? Нет. Потому что плохо в стране на протяжении уже нескольких лет, причем это "плохо" касается финансов, зато касается так сильно, что отсутствие мер очень глупо со стороны правительства. Так что вовсе не референдум подведет действующую власть под монастырь.

Обернется ли текущая позиция Италии катастрофой для ЕС? Если говорить о выходе Италии из союза, то вряд ли эффект будет таким же сильным, насколько обидной была потеря, например, Британии. Нельзя однозначно говорить о влиянии постепенной самоликвидации членов ЕС, потому что это ударяет и по имиджу, и по идее, и по ценностям, и по бюджету. Куда девать мигрантов, с кого собирать на займы другим странам и прочие проблемы, которые возникают с выходом даже одной крупной страны? А если Италия все-таки останется в составе объединения, то главный вопрос, который придется решать в срочном порядке, это вопрос финансово-экономического оздоровления, который Ренци так решить и не смог.
Автор: Андрей Манзолевский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. андрей юрьевич 7 декабря 2016 05:49
    Чем обернётся для ЕС крах референдума в Италии
    если коротко-ничем... куда они с "подводной лодки"? даже говорить на эту тему-смешно...
    1. Titsen 7 декабря 2016 07:00
      Цитата: андрей юрьевич
      если коротко-ничем... куда они с "подводной лодки"? даже говорить на эту тему-смешно...


      Смешо - не смешно...

      Практически все эти телодвижения в сильнейших странах ЕС ведут к дестабилизации Европы.

      А вот кто выловит рыбку в этой мутной воде, тот и будет править балом.
  2. a.s.zzz888 7 декабря 2016 05:59
    Обернется ли текущая позиция Италии катастрофой для самой Италии? Нет.


    Ага, много шума из ничего. Поскулили и по норам! bully
  3. ИмПерц 7 декабря 2016 06:14
    Проблемы в ЕС вылезут наружу в 2018 (вроде), когда с младоевропейцев начнут требовать возврат кредитов и процентов по ним.
    Даже если Италия выйдет из состава ЕС, то ничего особого не случится. СНГ существует уже лет 25 и не исчезло, никто не умер.
  4. rotmistr60 7 декабря 2016 07:23
    К сожалению, молодость и чрезмерная амбициозность сыграли против Ренци, который предложил оправданные, но совсем не подходящие для итальянцев меры.

    А почему к сожалению? Может быть к лучшему, что Ренци не получил того, чего хотел?
  5. iouris 7 декабря 2016 12:50
    У Италии долг - 2 трлн. (!), а ФРГ - главная экономика "рейха". После "брекзита" и возможного отдаления Франции от ФРГ у Меркель нет иного выхода, кроме как железной рукой навести порядок в своём хозяйстве, отделив свои котлеты от назойливых мух. Заботу о восточных "членах", точнее об оставшихся там пенсионерах и маргиналах, возможно, Меркель постарается кому-то "передать" (Вашингтону, Варшаве, Москве, Пекину). Южные районы Италии, Испании, Грецию, скорее всего, заставят выплывать самим, предоставив им "широкую автономию". Возможно, Ренци ещё вернётся для реализации программы Меркель. Но окончательный расклад станет понятен только после победы Меркель на выборах. Короче, наступает время собирания камней. Люди, будьте бдительны! Следите за руками.
Картина дня