Military Review

All for the front, all for victory: EU countries increase defense spending

13
All for the front, all for victory: EU countries increase defense spending



The spread of the thesis of the "Russian threat" led to the rapid militarization of the European region. The deployment of the multinational NATO battalions in Poland and the Baltic countries, as well as exercises at the national level, conducted with increased frequency, are a continuation of the dispute over the necessary amount of defense expenditures.

One of the requirements for members of the North Atlantic Alliance is to achieve the level of funds allocated for military needs in an amount of at least 2% of GDP. Currently, this rule is followed by an absolute minority of participants in the military bloc: United Kingdom (2,21%), Greece (2,38%), Poland (2%), Estonia (2,16%).

It should be noted that from this list only the United Kingdom can maintain a “defense bar” relatively without harm to the budget. In addition, the United Kingdom has been a longtime proponent of American interests on the European continent as part of the “special relationship” model with an ally across the Atlantic. The most economically prosperous members of the European Union, such as Germany, France, and Italy, after the 2008 crisis, significantly reduced their military budgets and have since redirected financial resources to the social sector.

The fall in expenses of European NATO allies forced the United States to pay for numerous operations, exercises and training of the alliance from its own pocket: in 2013, almost three-quarters of the costs required for the activities of the military-political bloc were covered from the US state budget.

However, not only economic considerations predetermined the position of most European countries regarding military spending. With the change in the strategic situation after the collapse of the socialist bloc and the USSR, the likelihood of large-scale conflict in Europe began to rapidly approach zero. In a situation where a serious threat was not foreseen, the countries leading by the European Union (first of all, France and Germany) began to gradually move away from the idea of ​​close cooperation with the United States in the defense sphere. Instead of an abstract transatlantic association, the development of an independent military policy, including providing for independence from Washington and the creation of pan-European armed forces, became topical.

This is opposed by the United Kingdom, which calls for a sharp increase in spending within NATO, as well as some Eastern European countries, which are awaiting invasion by the Russian army from day to day. A striking example here are Latvia and Lithuania, which have increased the military budget over the past two years by one and a half times. It is important for the leadership of these countries to prove their commitment to their allied duty to the United States. At the same time, the purely economic inexpediency of the priority financing of defense is not an argument for them. On the contrary, even in the conditions of recession, deterioration of the demographic situation and decline in the standard of living of the population, the governments of the Baltic states seek to continue to choose guns instead of oil. So, Algirdas Butkevicius, who until recently held the post of Prime Minister of the Republic of Lithuania, said: “If we estimate the allocation of funds for the defense system in our country, compared to all NATO countries, then we are no longer outsiders, but so much (funds) will be allocated. "

Summing up, it is necessary to note the lack of consensus among European countries on the issue of the size of military expenditures and the need to raise them. Attempts by some states to soberly assess the existing military threats and to abolish the atavism of the Cold War in the form of hundreds of American military bases still housed in Europe face tensions on the part of others. The difference between the two is that the former are not ready to perceive the artificially created image of the enemy in the person of Russia and, in accordance with this, uncontrolledly allocate funds for armament and the formation of new military contingents to the detriment of national well-being.
Author:
13 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. GOGENATOR
    GOGENATOR 6 December 2016 15: 08
    +2
    If the countries of Europe, like Russia, spend more than 20% of the budget on the defense industry, then they rivet a lot more equipment. The total budget of Russia is $ 250 billion, and the German budget is $ 1500 billion. 20% of Germany’s budget is $ 300 billion, which is 10 times more than Germany’s military budget for 2016, so if Europe wants to, she can create a powerful army that is much stronger than the Russian one.
    1. jonhr
      jonhr 6 December 2016 16: 37
      0
      If we compare the pan-European defense budget of Europe, then it already surpasses the Russian one. it's just that everyone is used to perceiving it as individual countries. but from small pebbles you can pour a mountain. exactly the same applies to human resources almost fourfold. and this is not counting the usa
      1. GOGENATOR
        GOGENATOR 6 December 2016 18: 26
        0
        The financial forces of the EU are ten times larger than the Russian ones. The sum of the budgets of Germany, France and the UK -1500 + 1200 + 1000 = 3700 billion dollars. From the bottom, only 2-4% of the percentage is spent on the defense industry. For comparison: Russia's budget is 210 billion dollars, 50 billion or 20-25% is spent on the defense industry.
  2. Galleon
    Galleon 6 December 2016 16: 33
    +3
    Here, like nowhere else, the phrase is suitable: "Nothing personal - only money." spells about Russian aggression are the best advertisement for the military-industrial complex. Weapons are bought where there is fear, so fear should not disappear. And no matter what we do, no matter how we behave, the leading Western media ("nothing personal - but they pay for it") will talk about our stupidity and aggressiveness, about bears walking along the streets, spills of vodka and the barbarity of Russians. The arms trade, the most monetary of all, needs opposition. The confrontation needs misunderstanding and a cultural gap between peoples.
    Well, to hell with them ...
  3. Franciscan
    Franciscan 6 December 2016 16: 50
    +1
    and all these tanks will not help them.
  4. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 6 December 2016 17: 09
    0
    2% will not be enough. How many kilotons are there, on Novaya? For Europe, it will pull, but before Greenland, you need to think about it ... Or at once Stirlitz, that would be enough for everyone.
  5. afrikanez
    afrikanez 6 December 2016 17: 25
    0
    For the United States, deploying bases in Europe is a business. And that's it! Why is it not clear to us? To be present in a "flammable" region is one thing and to have thousands of bases is quite another.
  6. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 6 December 2016 19: 02
    +1
    It’s not tanks and bayonets that decide the war, but TOPOL - M !!!
    1. Incvizitor
      Incvizitor 6 December 2016 22: 56
      0
      Well, the authorities there have a delay in development of 40 years, everything is "at war" with the USSR.
  7. knn54
    knn54 6 December 2016 19: 19
    +1
    EU countries increase defense spending.
    This is their personal American business ...
  8. Barakuda
    Barakuda 6 December 2016 22: 52
    0
    Power is in the truth. And not as a percentage of GDP. Well, Latvia, Lithuania, you know yourself - a hackneyed topic. Spit on the map, and even clumsy. Why the hell do Russia need them?
  9. Incvizitor
    Incvizitor 6 December 2016 22: 54
    0
    From whom are they "defending themselves" there with tanks?) Are they living like a "breakthrough of tank hordes" across the English Channel in the last century?)

    Note that from this list only the United Kingdom can maintain a “defense bar” relatively relatively without harm to the budget.


    And the rest seems just to the detriment of the budget the owner decided to lick)
  10. Wolka
    Wolka 8 December 2016 13: 02
    0
    that is why NATO is bursting at the seams, but this should not be deluded, the situation in the CIS is no better, everyone wants to have modern Russian weapons, and so that "for free" as in the USSR

Все для фронта, все для победы: страны ЕС повышают расходы на оборону

Все для фронта, все для победы: страны ЕС повышают расходы на оборону


Распространение тезиса о «российской угрозе» привело к стремительной милитаризации европейского региона. Размещение многонациональных батальонов НАТО в Польше и странах Балтии, а также учения на национальном уровне, проводящиеся с усиленной частотой, являются продолжением спора о необходимом размере оборонных расходов.

Одним из требований, предъявляемых к членам Североатлантического альянса, является достижение уровня средств, выделяемых на военные нужды, в размере не менее 2% ВВП. В настоящее время этого правила придерживается абсолютное меньшинство участников военного блока: Великобритания (2,21%), Греция (2,38%), Польша (2%), Эстония (2,16%).


Отметим, что из этого списка только Великобритания может относительно без вреда для бюджета поддерживать «оборонную планку». К тому же Соединенное Королевство является давним проводником американских интересов на европейском континенте в рамках модели «особых отношений» с союзником по ту сторону Атлантического океана. Наиболее благополучные с экономической точки зрения члены Евросоюза, такие как Германия, Франция, Италия, после кризиса 2008 года заметно сократили свои военные бюджеты и с тех пор перенаправляют финансовые ресурсы на социальный сектор.

Падение расходов европейских союзников по НАТО вынудило США оплачивать многочисленные операции, учения и тренировки альянса из собственного кармана: в 2013 году необходимые для деятельности военно-политического блока затраты практически на три четверти покрывались из американского госбюджета.

Однако не только экономические соображения предопределили позицию большинства европейских стран относительно военных расходов. С изменением стратегической обстановки после распада социалистического блока и СССР вероятность широкомасштабного конфликта в Европе начала стремительно приближаться к нулю. В условиях, когда серьезной угрозы не предвиделось, страны-лидеры Европейского союза (прежде всего, Франция и Германия) стали постепенно отходить от идеи тесного сотрудничества с США в оборонной сфере. Вместо абстрактного трансатлантического объединения актуальной стала выработка независимой военной политики, в том числе предусматривающей независимость от Вашингтона и создание общеевропейских вооруженных сил.

Против этого выступает Великобритания, призывающая к резкому росту расходов в рамках НАТО, а также некоторые восточноевропейские страны, со дня на день ожидающее вторжения российской армии. Ярким примером здесь являются Латвия и Литва, увеличившие военный бюджет за последние два года в полтора раза. Для руководства этих стран важно доказать приверженность союзническому долгу перед Соединенными Штатами. При этом чисто экономическая нецелесообразность приоритетного финансирования обороны не является для них аргументом. Наоборот, даже в условиях рецессии, ухудшения демографической обстановки и снижения уровня жизни населения правительства прибалтийских государств стремятся и в дальнейшем выбирать пушки вместо масла. Так, Альгирдас Буткявичюс, до недавнего времени занимавший пост премьер-министра Литовской республики заявил: «Если оценивать выделение средств на систему обороны у нас, по сравнению со всеми странами НАТО, то мы уже не аутсайдеры, а практически мы уже будем в десятке, если столько (средств) будут выделены».

Подводя итог, необходимо отметить отсутствие консенсуса среди европейских стран по вопросу о размерах военных расходов и необходимости их повышения. Попытки одних государств трезво оценить существующие военные угрозы и упразднить атавизмы холодной войны в виде сотен американских военных баз, до сих пор дислоцирующихся в Европе, наталкиваются на нагнетание напряженности со стороны других. Разница между ними состоит в том, что первые не готовы воспринимать искусственно создаваемый образ врага в лице России и в соответствии с этим бесконтрольно выделять средства на вооружение и формирование новых воинских контингентов в ущерб национальному благосостоянию.
Автор: Аркадий Нойман


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. GOGENATOR 6 декабря 2016 15:08
    Если страны Европы тоже как Россия будут тратить больше 20% бюджета на оборонку ,то они намного больше техники наклепают .Общий бюджет России 250 млрд долларов ,а бюджет Германии 1500 млрд долларов. 20% от бюджета Германии - 300 млрд долларов , что в 10раз больше военного бюджета Германии на 2016 год.Так что если Европа захочет ,она сможет создать мощную армию, намного сильнее Российской.
    1. jonhr 6 декабря 2016 16:37
      если сравнивать общеевропейский оборонный бюджет европы то он и так превосходит российский. просто все привыкли воспринимать это как отдельно взятые страны. но и из маленьких камешком можно гору насыпать. точно так-же это касается и человеческих ресурсов почти четырёхкратное. и это не считая сша
      1. GOGENATOR 6 декабря 2016 18:26
        Финансовые силы ЕС в десятки раз больше российских. Сумма бюджетов Германии , Франции и Великобритании -1500 + 1200 + 1000 = 3700 млрд долларов. Из низ только 2-4% процента тратиться на оборонку. Для сравнения :бюджет России 210 млрд долларов , на оборонку тратиться 50 млрд или 20-25%..
  2. Галеон 6 декабря 2016 16:33
    Здесь как нигде подходит фраза: "Ничего личного - только деньги". заклинания о русской агрессии - лучшая реклама для ВПК. Оружие покупают там, где есть страх, поэтому страх не должен исчезать. И что бы мы ни делали, как бы себя ни вели - ведущие западные СМИ ("ничего личного - но за это ведь платят") будут говорить о нашей тупости и агрессивности, о гуляющих по улицам медведях, разливах водки и варварстве русских. Коммерция оружия, самая денежная из всех возможных, нуждается в противостоянии. Противостояние нуждается в непонимании и культурной пропасти между народами.
    Ну и хрен с ними...
  3. Францисканец 6 декабря 2016 16:50
    и все эти танки не помогут им .
  4. Mavrikiy 6 декабря 2016 17:09
    2% - маловато будет. Сколько там килотонн, на Новой? Для Европы потянет, а вот до Гренландии, это подумать надо... Или сразу Штирлица, что бы на всех хватило.
  5. afrikanez 6 декабря 2016 17:25
    Для США размещение баз в Европе - это бизнес. И этим всё сказано! Нам то это зачем не понятно? Присутствовать в "огнеопасном" регионе одно а иметь тысячи баз это совсем другое.
  6. Робертъ Невский 6 декабря 2016 19:02
    Не танки и штыки решать войну, а ТОПОЛЬ - М!!!
    1. Incvizitor 6 декабря 2016 22:56
      Ну у властей там задержка в развитии лет на 40 всё с СССР "воюют".
  7. knn54 6 декабря 2016 19:19
    -страны ЕС повышают расходы на оборону.
    Это их личное американское дело...
  8. Баракуда 6 декабря 2016 22:52
    Сила в правде. А не в процентах от ВВП. Ну а Латвия,Литва, сами знаете - избитая тема. Плевок на карте, да еще и корявый. Нахрен они России нужны ?
  9. Incvizitor 6 декабря 2016 22:54
    От кого они там танками "обороняются"?) они что в прошлом веке живут типа "прорыв танковых орд" через Ла-манш?)

    Отметим, что из этого списка только Великобритания может относительно без вреда для бюджета поддерживать «оборонную планку».


    А остальные кажется просто в ущерб бюджету хозяину подлизнуть решили)
  10. Волька 8 декабря 2016 13:02
    вот поэтому НАТО трещит по швам, но обольщаться этому не стоит, в СНГ ситуация не лучше, все хотят иметь современное российское оружие, и чтоб "даром" как в бытность СССР
Картина дня