Military Review

Corvette with rollback

8
Arms supply contracts are an iceberg. On the surface only the top, but the most interesting in the part that is not visible. Something similar takes place in the case of a contract for the supply of arms between Qatar and Italy.


It is known that 16 June 2016 was signed on the protocol of intent, which was signed by the Minister of Defense of Qatar Khalid bin Muhammad al-Attiyah and his Italian colleague Robert Pinotti. The supply of seven warships was agreed. Namely: four corvettes based on the Baynunah project, two ocean patrols and one universal dock ship. Qatari called this program Protector.

June 29, MBDA’s Chief Commercial Officer Antonio Perfetti, has signed a contract with Qatari Navy Commander Major General Mohammed Nasser Al Mohannadi for the supply of weapons to these ships for 1,1 billion euros.

The total value of the transaction has reached almost five billion euros. This is quite a large amount for contracts of this kind, it is for comparison the equivalent of a third of French arms exports for 2015 a year.

The following is known about the deal today. The Italians must deliver four corvettes to the petrostate, armed with eight MBDA Exocet MM40 Block 3 anti-ship missiles, a ship-mounted air defense system with 16 Aster 30 Block 1 (with anti-ballistic missile capabilities), RAM air defense system, torpedoes, 76-mm anti-aircraft guns, 20 mm artillery mounts, helicopter. Radio-electronic systems (radar, gas, electronic warfare) will be supplied by Selex, a member of weapons holding Leonardo. Patrol ships with a length of 60 meters will be equipped with air defense missiles with Mica missiles with vertical launch. Designed according to the Falaj-2 type (two such ships were delivered by Italians from the UAE in 2010). The UDC project was developed on the basis of Kalaat Beni Abbes, built by order of the Algerian Navy and equipped with Aster air defense systems. Deliveries should begin in 2022, that is, by the time the World Cup is held in Doha. It is interesting to note that the contracts with the Italians provide for a 15-year period of ship maintenance, including crew training.

With these purchases, Qatar creates a navy capable of operating in the ocean. Doha now has a very modest fleet of patrol ships and boats.

Corvette with rollbackBehind this pretty familiar to the arms market picture, which does not stand out among other major contracts, hides a hidden part. That is what makes it possible to think that the largest expenses just do not show up to the observers.

The cost of weapons roughly corresponds to the contracts that MBDA signed earlier in Asia and the Middle East. In addition, the participation of France in the concern MBDA, which will supply missiles Mica VL and Exocet, makes "smearing" the budget a difficult task for the Italians. That is, the opportunity to inflate costs should be sought directly in the shipbuilding part.

If you analyze the previous deals with warships, you can find the following. The cost of UDC Kalaat Beni Abbes for Algeria was 420 million euros, the contract itself was signed in 2011 year. Two Falaj-2 patrol for the UAE cost 200 million euros, while the total amount included the cost of transferring a building license, which is not the case in Qatari.

As for the four corvettes, which are a modernized version of Abu-Dhabi, supplied by the United Arab Emirates, with increased length, the cost of one Emirate model without armament was 92 million euros, and a total of about 110 million euros without ammunition. It is believed that the ships ordered are based on the Fincantieri project Multipurpose Corvette with a standard displacement of 2400 tons and a length of 104 meters.

If we analyze the average cost of heavy corvettes that are present on the market (excluding Algeria, whose MEKO A200AN are also “oversold”), we can see that the price of one is 180 – 250 million euros maximum (the latter case is the case for corvettes of the 10514 project of the company Damen, which are built in Indonesia, have a length comparable to the Qatari order and are armed with Exocet and Mica VL). Assuming that the price of the enlarged Abu-Dhabi is 250 million euros (that is, twice as expensive as those set in the UAE), we get the total value of the entire contract billion euro. That is, in the end, the Protector program should cost 1,62 billion euros (420 million plus 200 million plus 1 billion), a maximum of two billion taking into account the additional costs for a modified version of the corvette. This is very different from the voiced figures - 3,8 billion euros. The difference in 1,8 billion euros can not be attributed solely to the cost of maintenance and repair over the course of 15 years.

It turns out: the package of contracts Protector at its cost represents a certain anomaly. The huge amount that cannot be identified and explained on the basis of the data available in the public domain forces us to make assumptions about kickbacks (at the political level in Italy) or bribes (in Qatar).

The commercial links between Doha and Rome are extensive. The emirate has already invested 150 billion euros in the Apennines through Qia. The Italian company Salini-Impregilo is building a subway in Doha on the eve of the 2022 World Cup. In general, it can be stated that bilateral economic ties are consistently strengthened. At the beginning of 2016, the number of joint ventures that operated in the emirate exceeded 200 entities.

According to available information, the financial scheme of the arms contract was developed by the Qatari company Yousef Group, which conducts business in various fields and industries. It is headed by Mohammed Khalifa bin Youssef Al Suwaydi, who previously served in the General Staff, and then was the second person at the court of the Crown Prince (Sheikh Khalifa). After that, he began to make a diplomatic career, was in responsible positions in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the country, after which he went into the financial sector, where he also held solid positions.

Other mechanisms have been created for kickbacks. Among them, the company Gulf Helicopter, which is engaged in the repair of helicopters, and by a strange coincidence, belongs to the family of the Chief of Staff of the Navy Al Mohannadi. It is very closely connected with AugustaWestland, and also operates several helicopters of its production (AW189 and AW139). From 2008, Gulf Helicopter depends on Gulf International Services, which in turn is owned by Qatar Petroleum.

Another potential channel for transferring funds may be the Italian project of the underwater archaeological museum in Qatar, a very interesting emir. The project is being developed by Bluimage Productions and PRAS Technica Edilizia. And the construction will be carried out with the help of the Italian companies Leonardo and Fincantieri, that is, those involved in the Protector program.
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/34105
8 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. cap
    cap 7 December 2016 15: 10
    +2
    It turns out: the package of contracts Protector at its cost represents a certain anomaly. The huge amount that cannot be identified and explained on the basis of the data available in the public domain forces us to make assumptions about kickbacks (at the political level in Italy) or bribes (in Qatar).
    The difference of 1,8 billion euros cannot be attributed solely to the cost of maintenance and repair for 15 years.

    The general also needs to live, there is no oil well, and the desert is all around request And go get three wives.
    1. Titsen
      Titsen 7 December 2016 21: 13
      +2
      Quote: cap
      A huge amount that cannot be identified and explained on the basis of publicly available data makes us speculate about kickbacks (at the political level in Italy) or bribes (in Qatar).


      And what about us?
      1. cap
        cap 7 December 2016 21: 19
        0
        Quote: Titsen
        And what about us?


        For some reason I remembered "... and we have gas in our apartment .... and you." They steal my friend, although there are no harems, but the greed of those in power knows no bounds. The position of executioner has been vacant for a very long time, but that's another story. hi
  2. demiurg
    demiurg 7 December 2016 18: 03
    +1
    Is not a fact. Additional ammunition, zip, crew training, simulators can be supplied. Maybe in the load to the corvettes quietly shoot arrows or something. Arms deliveries are always classified.
    Rollback is there, in the East it is impossible without gifts, but not billions. So, a small yacht, 40-50 meters, a plane to the country house in Switzerland to fly, a little gold coin to the wives. It’s not supposed to take a rank, they can separate the hair with the head from the body.
  3. Olegmog
    Olegmog 7 December 2016 20: 12
    0
    An interesting location of the add-on in the photo!
    What guided the designers?
  4. Sergey-8848
    Sergey-8848 7 December 2016 20: 57
    +1
    Where did the Navy personnel suddenly come from in Qatar for all this power? Although what am I talking about, it’s a great ocean power with centuries-old traditions and a system of training personnel trained for the fleet for years ...
    1. cap
      cap 7 December 2016 21: 46
      0
      Quote: Sergey-8848
      Where did the Navy personnel suddenly come from in Qatar for all this power? Although what am I talking about, it’s a great ocean power with centuries-old traditions and a system of training personnel trained for the fleet for years ...


      It is interesting to note that the contracts with the Italians provide for a 15-year period of ship maintenance, including crew training.
  5. seos
    seos 7 December 2016 22: 37
    0
    Obviously, the ships come in a modern configuration and ultra-modern weapons, because the price is higher than standard corvetics and frigate ...

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Корвет с откатом

Контракты на поставку вооружений представляют собой айсберг. На поверхности только верхушка, но самое интересное в той части, которая не видна. Нечто подобное имеет место в случае контракта на поставку вооружений между Катаром и Италией.

Известно, что 16 июня 2016 года был подписан протокол о намерениях, на котором поставили подписи министр обороны Катара Халид бин Мухаммад аль-Аттия и его итальянская коллега Роберта Пинотти. Оговаривалась поставка семи боевых кораблей. А именно: четырех корветов на базе проекта Baynunah, двух океанских патрульных и одного универсального корабля-дока. Катарцы назвали эту программу Protector.

29 июня коммерческий директор концерна MBDA Антонио Перфетти подписал с главнокомандующим ВМС Катара генерал-майором Мохаммедом Нассером Аль Моханнади контракт на поставку вооружений для перечисленных кораблей на 1,1 миллиарда евро.

Общая стоимость сделки достигла почти пяти миллиардов евро. Это довольно большая сумма для подобного рода контрактов, она для сравнения эквивалентна трети французского оружейного экспорта за 2015 год.

На сегодня о сделке известно следующее. Итальянцы должны поставить петростейту четыре корвета, на вооружении которых имеется восемь ПКР MBDA Exocet MM40 Block 3, корабельный ЗРК с 16 Aster 30 Block 1 (с возможностями применения против баллистических ракет), система ПВО RAM, торпеды, 76-мм АУ, 20-мм артиллерийские установки, вертолет. Радиоэлектронные системы (РЛС, ГАС, РЭБ) будут поставлены компанией Selex, входящей в оружейный холдинг Leonardo. Патрульные корабли при длине 60 метров будут оснащены ЗРК с ракетами Mica с вертикальным пуском. Спроектированы по типу Falaj-2 (два таких корабля поставлены итальянцами ОАЭ в 2010-м). Проект УДК разработан на базе Kalaat Beni Abbes, построенного по заказу ВМС Алжира и оснащенного ЗРК с ракетами Aster. Поставки должны начаться с 2022 года, то есть к моменту проведения в Дохе чемпионата мира по футболу. Интересно отметить, что контрактами с итальянцами предусматривается 15-летний срок обслуживания кораблей, включая подготовку экипажей.

Этими закупками Катар создает ВМФ, способный действовать в океане. Сейчас у Дохи весьма скромный флот, состоящий из патрульных кораблей и катеров.

Корвет с откатомЗа этой довольно привычной для оружейного рынка картиной, которая ничем особенным не выделяется среди других крупных контрактов, прячется скрытая часть. Именно она позволяет думать о том, что самые крупные расходы как раз не показываются на глаза наблюдателям.

Стоимость вооружения примерно соответствует тем контрактам, которые MBDA подписывала раньше в Азии и на Ближнем Востоке. Кроме того, участие Франции в концерне MBDA, который будет осуществлять поставки ракет Mica VL и Exocet, делает «размазывание» бюджета непростой задачей для итальянцев. То есть возможность завысить расходы следует искать непосредственно в кораблестроительной части.

Если провести анализ предыдущих сделок с боевыми кораблями, можно обнаружить следующее. Стоимость УДК Kalaat Beni Abbes для Алжира составила 420 миллионов евро, сам контракт был подписан в 2011 году. Два патрульных Falaj-2 для ОАЭ стоили 200 миллионов евро, притом что общая сумма включала стоимость передачи лицензии на строительство, чего нет в катарском случае.

Что касается четырех корветов, которые являются модернизированным вариантом Abu-Dhabi, поставленных ОАЭ, с увеличенной длиной, стоимость одного эмиратского образца без вооружения составила 92 миллиона евро, а в общей сложности порядка 110 миллионов евро без учета боекомплекта. Считается, что заказанные корабли основываются на разработанном Fincantieri проекте Multipurpose Corvette стандартным водоизмещением 2400 тонн и длиной 104 метра.

Если проанализировать среднюю стоимость тяжелых корветов, которые присутствуют на рынке (без учета Алжира, чьи MEKO А200АN тоже являются «перепроданными»), можно увидеть, что цена одного – 180–250 миллионов евро максимум (последний случай имеет место в отношении корветов проекта 10514 компании Damen, которые строятся в Индонезии, они имеют длину, сравнимую с катарским заказом и вооружены Exocet и Mica VL). Предположив, что цена укрупненного Abu-Dhabi составляет 250 миллионов евро (то есть вдвое дороже поставленных в ОАЭ), получаем общую стоимость всего контракта миллиард евро. То есть в конечном счете программа Protector должна стоить 1,62 миллиарда евро (420 млн плюс 200 млн плюс 1 млрд), максимум два миллиарда с учетом дополнительных расходов для модифицированного варианта корвета. Это сильно отличается от озвученных цифр – 3,8 миллиарда евро. Разница в 1,8 миллиарда евро не может приходиться исключительно на стоимость обслуживания и ремонта в течение 15 лет.

Получается: пакет контрактов Protector по своей стоимости представляет собой определенную аномалию. Огромная сумма, которую невозможно идентифицировать и объяснить на основании имеющихся в открытом доступе данных, заставляет сделать предположение об откатах (на политическом уровне в Италии) или взятках (в Катаре).

Коммерческие связи между Дохой и Римом весьма обширны. Эмират уже инвестировал на Апеннинах порядка 150 миллиардов евро через фонд Qia. Итальянская компания Salini-Impregilo ведет строительство метро в Дохе в преддверии чемпионата мира по футболу 2022 года. В целом можно констатировать, что двусторонние экономические связи последовательно укрепляются. На начало 2016 года число совместных предприятий, которые вели работу в эмирате, превысило 200 субъектов.

По имеющейся информации, финансовую схему оружейного контракта разработала катарская компания Yousef Group, которая ведет бизнес в различных сферах и отраслях. Ее возглавляет Мохаммед Халифа бин Юсеф Аль Сувайди, ранее служивший в Генеральном штабе, а затем был вторым человеком при дворе наследного принца (шейха Халифы). После этого он стал делать дипломатическую карьеру, находился на ответственных постах в Министерстве иностранных дел страны, после чего ушел в финансовую сферу, где также занимал солидные должности.

Для откатов были созданы и другие механизмы. Среди них компания Gulf Helicopter, которая занимается ремонтом вертолетов и по странному стечению обстоятельств принадлежит семье начальника главного штаба ВМС Аль Моханнади. Она очень тесно связана с AugustaWestland, а также эксплуатирует несколько вертолетов ее производства (AW189 и AW139). С 2008 года Gulf Helicopter зависит от Gulf International Services, в свою очередь принадлежащей компании Qatar Petroleum.

Другим потенциальным каналом для перевода средств может выступать итальянский проект подводного археологического музея в Катаре, весьма интересный эмиру. Проект разрабатывают Bluimage Productions и PRAS Technica Edilizia. А строительство будет вестись при помощи итальянских компаний Leonardo и Fincantieri, то есть тех самых, которые вовлечены в программу Protector.
Автор: Андрей Фролов
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/34105


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 8

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. кеп 7 декабря 2016 15:10
    Получается: пакет контрактов Protector по своей стоимости представляет собой определенную аномалию. Огромная сумма, которую невозможно идентифицировать и объяснить на основании имеющихся в открытом доступе данных, заставляет сделать предположение об откатах (на политическом уровне в Италии) или взятках (в Катаре).
    Разница в 1,8 миллиарда евро не может приходиться исключительно на стоимость обслуживания и ремонта в течение 15 лет.

    Генералу тоже жить надо,нефтяной скважины нет, а кругом пустыня request И жен поди штуки три.
    1. Titsen 7 декабря 2016 21:13
      Цитата: кеп
      Огромная сумма, которую невозможно идентифицировать и объяснить на основании имеющихся в открытом доступе данных, заставляет сделать предположение об откатах (на политическом уровне в Италии) или взятках (в Катаре).


      А как у нас?
      1. кеп 7 декабря 2016 21:19
        Цитата: Titsen
        А как у нас?


        Почему то вспомнил "... а у нас в квартире газ....а у вас". Воруют батенька,хоть и гаремов нет,но жадность власть придержащих не знает границ. Должность палача вакантна очень давно,но это другая история. hi
  2. demiurg 7 декабря 2016 18:03
    Не факт. Может поставляться дополнительный боекомплект, зип, обучение экипажей, тренажеры. Может в нагрузку к корветам втихую напоставляют стрелковки или еще чего. Поставки вооружения всегда засекречены.
    Откат там есть, на Востоке без подарков нельзя, но никак не миллиарды. Так, яхту небольшую, метров 40-50, самолетик на дачу в Швейцарии летать, немножко золотишка женам. Брать не по рангу не положено, могут отделить волосы вместе с головой от туловища.
  3. Олегмог 7 декабря 2016 20:12
    Интересное расположение надстройки на фото!
    Чем руководствовались проектировщики?
  4. Сергей-8848 7 декабря 2016 20:57
    Откуда внезапно личный состав ВМФ возьмётся в Катаре для всего этого могущества? Хотя о чём это я, это же великая океанская держава с вековыми традициями и отработанной годами системой подготовки кадров для флота...
    1. кеп 7 декабря 2016 21:46
      Цитата: Сергей-8848
      Откуда внезапно личный состав ВМФ возьмётся в Катаре для всего этого могущества? Хотя о чём это я, это же великая океанская держава с вековыми традициями и отработанной годами системой подготовки кадров для флота...


      Интересно отметить, что контрактами с итальянцами предусматривается 15-летний срок обслуживания кораблей, включая подготовку экипажей.
  5. seos 7 декабря 2016 22:37
    Очевидно,что корабли идут в современной комплектации и суперсовременным вооружением, потому и цена выше стандартных корветиков и фрегатиков....
Картина дня