Military Review

Pobedonostsev - an evil genius or a patriot?

4
Pobedonostsev Konstantin Petrovich - statesman, lawyer, talented publicist, chief prosecutor of the Holy Synod. The attitude of historians to this controversial person is very contradictory. Make your own conclusion about whether Pobedonostsev was a villain and a black genius in the era of the autocracy’s decline, or whether he was the faithful son of his fatherland, let's try in the text of this article.

Pobedonostsev was born in an enlightened and believing family of a professor of literature, an admirer of literature and Orthodoxy. Intelligent atmosphere made him a diligent student and fostered a love of knowledge. Young Konstantin Petrovich is described by an intelligent and modest man with a romantic kind and passionate disposition. That he owns the scandalous work "Sovereign of the Little Voices". However, the liberal youth quite quickly changed to consistent conservatism, and the character gained strength. Youthful fervor was replaced by prudence, perseverance and steadfastness.

A successful career as a politician began with the protection of a master's degree in jurisprudence on the problems of civil justice and its reform. After a successful defense, an invitation to enter the service in the imperial house as an educator of royal persons, including the heirs to the state throne, followed. This honor confirms once again that the level of education of Pobedonostsev was one of the highest in the capital and in Russia. After serving with the emperor, Konstantin Petrovich held important posts and actively participated in political life. By the time of his entry into the path of public administration, he was already an established person with strong convictions and ideology.

In Soviet times, Pobedonostsev was portrayed as a fierce reactionary, intolerant of any free-thinking, inert and dry, opposing everything new and liberal. The attitude towards Konstantin Petrovich Blok was most clearly reflected in the poetic lines “Retribution”:
"... Pobedonostsev over Russia
Stretched owl wings ... ".

Historians of the Soviet period consider Pobedonostsev a symbol of a conservative era, the destroyer of the free-thinking intelligentsia of Russia. Indeed, the famous manifesto dedicated to autocracy and its inviolability, prepared for the emperor on the occasion of his arrival in Moscow in the summer of 1881, belongs to Konstantin Petrovich. He is the author of many literary works describing the pochsennichestvo and commitment to the unlimited power of the monarch. As a member of the State Council, as well as occupying high positions in the administrative apparatus, Pobedonostsev fiercely defended the position of reaction to any manifestation of democratic ideas. Most of the work devoted to public administration is aimed at promoting autocracy and harsh criticism of democracy, election and parliamentarism. The policy pursued by Pobedonostsev, being the chief procurator of the Holy Synod, is strongly condemned by the Jewish community, since it was the Jews who were persecuted and deported.

The forcible imposition of Orthodoxy to nations with a different religious culture was a specific method of strengthening morality and faith in God. Old Believers and sectarians also suffered from the decisions of Konstantin Petrovich. There are numerous accusations against the head of the ecclesiastical bureaucracy that this man did not have any true faith, but only advocated the preservation of external forms and ritualism, avoiding theology and the search for truth. In support of the position, historians cite the results of Pobedonostsev, who actively opposed the implementation of liberal laws, which were bloody revolutions and the complete collapse of the monarchy. Konstantin Petrovich is also blamed for his short-sightedness and stubbornness, which he showed when discussing bills, jealously ensuring that they did not contain norms that limit the power of the monarch in any way.

On the other hand, modern historians argue that Pobedonostsev is a true servant of the fatherland, postponing the fall of the Russian Empire by a quarter century. Historical Konstantin Petrovich’s merit is seen in the fact that he opposed and did not allow the sovereign to sign Melikov’s bill. In their opinion, the document would have fermented the already tense masses, at the head of which revolutionaries would immediately have risen.

The restriction of the monarchy could not save the state, since the changes required a completely different character and scale. Arguments about Pobedonostsev’s hostility towards cultural and enlightened representatives of the Russian intelligentsia are also refuted. Reliable facts are friendly relations with Dostoevsky, Soloviev, Nesterov, Vasnetsov, Mussorgsky and other brilliant people of literature and art. The closest relationship was with Fedor Mikhailovich Dostoevsky. With the great Russian writer Pobedonostsev was brought together by common views on the path of the state, opinions on the only sure salvation from death in faith, Narodism and autocracy. The leader of the "militant obscurantists," as Soviet history calls Konstantin Petrovich, could not be a friend and like-minded person of such a genius as Dostoevsky. The arguments that the head of the Holy Synod avoided discussing the truth and was not interested in theology do not need a refutation. This really took place, but by no means because Konstantin Petrovich did not have faith, but because of his nature. Pobedonostsev preferred to rely on facts, rather than vague reasoning and abstract truths, and therefore had no inclination to go into lengthy conversations. It was enough for a dignitary to simply believe in the existence of God, as well as in the inseparability of autocracy from the state. The proponent of tough measures against liberals was convinced that they were right and useful for the future of Russia.

Thus, it cannot be said that Pobedonostsev was the embodiment of reactionary evil, who consciously brought the states to a critical moment. This patriotic and undoubtedly intelligent man served his fatherland and remained faithful to convictions to the end. It was both positive and negative, so Konstantin Petrovich is best viewed as a man of his time, who was worthy of the conservatives' position.
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Ascetic
    Ascetic 27 January 2012 08: 28
    +7
    “For too quarter of a century, his name has attracted the attention of contemporaries, it did not leave the columns of our press, some hated and cursed him, others glorified him, bowed down to him and blessed him: some saw in him the angel-savior of Russia, others - her evil genius. Nobody was indifferent to him. ”This is how the Historical Bulletin responded to Pobedonostsev’s death. However, in our time, few know about his position, activities for the good of Russia, the majority are content with the untruth that revolutionaries and liberals of all stripes have branded Konstantin Petrovich - "retrograde", "obscurantist" and so on. Pobedonostsev was one of the few seers of the last century who understood what was happening in the world and what threatened Russia if it changed God's path and imitated the West. Here is a small excerpt from his famous article "The Great Lies of Our Time" (1896) about the consequences of parliamentarism for a multinational state.

    “... These deplorable results are most clearly found where the population of the state territory does not have an integral composition, but embodies diverse nationalities. Nationalism in our time can be called a touchstone, which reveals the deceit and impracticality of parliamentary rule. It is noteworthy that the beginning of nationality came forward and became a driving and annoying force in the course of events precisely from the time when it came into contact with the latest forms of democracy.

    It is rather difficult to determine the essence of this new force and the goals to which it aspires; but it is undoubtedly that in it is the source of a great and complex struggle, which still lies in the history of mankind and is not aware of what the outcome will be. We now see that each individual tribe belonging to the composition of a diverse tribal state is possessed by a passionate feeling of intolerance towards the state institution connecting it into a common system with other tribes, and the desire to have its own control, with its own, often imaginary, culture. And this happens not only with those tribes that had their own history and, in the past, a separate political life and culture, but with those that never lived a special political life.

    The unlimited monarchy managed to eliminate or reconcile all such demands and impulses - and not only by force, but also by the equation of rights and relations under one power. But democracy cannot cope with them, and the instincts of nationalism serve as a corrosive element for it: each tribe from its locality sends representatives - not state and popular ideas, but representatives of tribal instincts, tribal irritation, tribal hatred - both to the ruling tribe and to others tribes, and to an institution connecting all parts of the state. What a disconcerting appearance in such a composition is popular representation and parliamentary rule - the Austrian parliament today is an obvious example.

    Providence has saved our Russia from such a disaster, with its diverse composition. It is terrible to think what would have happened when fate sent us the fateful gift of the All-Russian Parliament! Yes it will not be. "


    http://hrono.ru/biograf/bio_p/pobedonoscev.php
    1. skullcap
      skullcap 27 January 2012 09: 56
      +1
      Ascetic, first put a plus, and only then began to read. and, as always, was not mistaken.
      Well done, you always express a sensible point of view, which is so necessary in our difficult time, stuffed with unhealthy, sick ideas. Stuffed especially for us, so that we get confused in them and go astray.
      And since the enemies of the Russian people, the Democrats, have always destroyed Pobedonostsev, this is a sure sign that he was a decent person.
      It is necessary to get acquainted with his works.
    2. Lech e-mine
      Lech e-mine 27 January 2012 12: 17
      +2
      When I look at the consequences of revolutions, I always say that the road to HELL is well-intentioned. People trying to stop the revolution have always been perceived negatively, but when I saw the death of Gaddafi, I understand that they are right.
  2. go_by
    go_by 27 January 2012 21: 26
    0
    By the way. I read here at my leisure Akunin (Chkhartishvili). At first, he was struck by the specific interpretation of Christianity ... And Pobedonostsev has the personification of evil ... And Akunin himself is an ardent democrat ... And there is nothing new under the sun ...

Победоносцев – злой гений или патриот?

Победоносцев – злой гений или патриот?Победоносцев Константин Петрович - государственный деятель, юрист, талантливый публицист, обер-прокурор Святого Синода. Отношение историков к этой противоречивой личности весьма противоречиво. Сделать свой собственный вывод о том, был ли Победоносцев злодеем и черным гением эпохи заката самодержавия, или являлся он верным сыном своего отечества, попробуем в тексте данной статьи.

Родился Победоносцев в просвещенной и верующей семье профессора словесности, почитателя литературы и православия. Интеллигентная атмосфера сделали его прилежным учеником и воспитали любовь к знаниям. Молодого Константина Петровича описывают умным и скромным человеком с романтичной натурой и пылким нравом. Именно ему принадлежит скандальное произведение «Государь Вполголоса». Однако либеральная юность довольно быстро сменилась последовательным консерватизмом, а характер обрел твердость. Юношеская пылкость сменилась рассудительностью, упорством и непоколебимостью.

Успешная карьера политика началась с защиты магистерского звания по юриспруденции о проблемах гражданского судопроизводства и его реформирования. После успешной защиты последовало приглашение поступить на службу в императорский дом в качестве воспитателя царственных особ, в том числе и наследников государственного престола. Такая честь еще раз подтверждает, что уровень образования Победоносцева был одним из самых высоких в столице и в России. После службы у императора Константин Петрович занимал важнейшие посты и активно участвовал в политической жизни. К моменту своего вступления на путь государственного управления он уже был сложившейся личностью с твердыми убеждениями и мировоззрением.


В советское время Победоносцева изображали яростным реакционером, нетерпимым к любому свободомыслию, косным и сухим, противящемуся всему новому и либеральному. Ярче всего отразил отношение к Константину Петровичу Блок в поэтических строках «Возмездие»:
«… Победоносцев над Россией
Простер совиные крыла…».

Историки советского периода считают Победоносцева символом консервативной эпохи, губителем свободомыслящей интеллигенции России. Действительно, перу Константина Петровича принадлежит известный манифест, посвященный самодержавию и его незыблемости, подготовленный для императора по случаю приезда в Москву летом 1881 года. Он - автор множества литературных трудов, характеризующих почвенничество и приверженность неограниченной власти монарха. Являясь членом Государственного совета, а также занимая высокие должности в управленческом аппарате, Победоносцев яростно отстаивал позицию реакции на любое проявление демократических идей. Большая часть работ, посвященная государственному управлению, направлена на пропаганду самодержавия и резкую критику демократии, выборности и парламентаризма. Политика, которую проводил Победоносцев, будучи обер-прокурором Священного Синода, резко осуждается со стороны еврейского сообщества, поскольку именно иудеи были подвергнуты гонениям и высылке.

Насильственное насаждение православия народностям с иной религиозной культурой было специфическим методом укрепления нравственности и веры в Бога. Пострадали от решений Константина Петровича также старообрядцы и сектанты. Имеются многочисленные обвинения в адрес главы духовного чиновничества о том, что никакой истинной веры этот человек не имел, а лишь ратовал за сохранение внешних форм и обрядовости, избегая богословия и поиска истины. В обоснование позиции историки приводят результаты деятельности Победоносцева, активно противившегося проведению в жизнь либеральных законов, коими явились кровавые революции и полный крах монархии. Константина Петровича винят также в недальновидности и упрямстве, которые он проявлял при обсуждении законопроектов, ревностно следя за тем, чтобы в них не было норм, сколько-нибудь ограничивающих власть монарха.

С другой стороны выступают современные историки утверждающие, что Победоносцев – истинный слуга отечества, отсрочивший падение Российской империи на четверть века. Историческую заслугу Константина Петровича видят в том, что он воспротивился и не дал подписать государю законопроект Меликова. По их мнению, документ привел бы в брожение и без того напряженные массы, во главе которых немедленно встали бы революционеры.

Ограничение монархии не могло спасти государства, так как перемены требовались совершенно иного характера и масштаба. Опровергаются также и доводы о неприязни Победоносцева к культурным и просвещенным представителям российской интеллигенции. Достоверным фактом являются дружественные отношения с Достоевским, Соловьевым, Нестеровым, Васнецовым, Мусоргским и прочими гениальными людьми литературы и искусства. Самыми тесными были отношения с Федором Михайловичем Достоевским. С великим русским писателем сближали Победоносцева общие взгляды на путь государства, мнения о единственном верном спасении от гибели в вере, народничестве и самодержавии. Предводитель «воинствующих мракобесов», как именует Константина Петровича советская история, не мог быть другом и единомышленником такого гения как Достоевский. Доводы о том, что глава Священного Синода избегал рассуждений об истине и не увлекался богословием, не нуждаются в опровержении. Это действительно имело место, но отнюдь не потому, что Константин Петрович не имел веры, а в силу его натуры. Победоносцев предпочитал опираться на факты, а не туманные рассуждения и абстрактные истины, поэтому и не имел склонности вдаваться в пространные беседы. Сановнику было достаточно просто верить в бытие Божие, также как и в неотделимость самодержавия от государства. Сторонник жестких мер в отношении либералов был убежден в своей правоте и полезности таких мер для будущего России.

Таким образом, нельзя говорить о том, что Победоносцев был воплощением реакционного зла, сознательно доводившим государства до критического момента. Этот патриотичный и, несомненно, умный человек служил своему отечеству и оставался верным убеждениям до конца. Было в нем и положительное и отрицательное, поэтому Константина Петровича лучше рассматривать как человека своего времени, достойно отстаивавшего позицию консерваторов.
Автор: Вадим Собин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Аскет 27 января 2012 08:28
    «К его имени в течение слишком четверти века приковывалось внимание современников, оно не сходило со столбцов нашей печати, одни его ненавидели и проклинали, другие славословили, перед ним преклонялись и его благословляли: одни в нем видели ангела-спасителя России, другие - ее злого гения. Безразлично к нему никто не относился».Так откликнулся на смерть Победоносцева "Исторический вестник". Однако в наше время о его позиции, деятельности во благо России знают немногие, большинство довольствуется той неправдой, которой заклеймили Константина Петровича революционеры и либералы всех мастей - "ретроград", "мракобес" и проч. Победоносцев - один из немногих прозорливцев прошлого века, кто понимал, что происходит в мире и что грозит России, если она изменит Божьему пути и будет подражать Западу. Приведем небольшой отрывок из его знаменитой статьи "Великая ложь нашего времени" (1896) о последствиях парламентаризма для многонационального государства.

    «... Эти плачевные результаты всего явственнее обнаруживаются там, где население государственной территории не имеет цельного состава, но заключает в себе разнородные национальности. Национализм в наше время можно назвать пробным камнем, на котором обнаруживается лживость и непрактичность парламентского правления. Примечательно, что начало национальности выступило вперед и стало движущею и раздражающею силой в ходе событий именно с того времени, как пришло в соприкосновение с новейшими формами демократии.

    Довольно трудно определить существо этой новой силы и тех целей, к каким она стремится; но несомненно, что в ней -источник великой и сложной борьбы, которая предстоит еще в истории человечества и неведомо к какому приведет исходу. Мы видим теперь, что каждым отдельным племенем, принадлежащим к составу разноплеменного государства, овладевает страстное чувство нетерпимости к государственному учреждению, соединяющему его в общий строй с другими племенами, и желание иметь свое самостоятельное управление, со своею, нередко мнимою, культурой. И это происходит не с теми только племенами, которые имели свою историю и, в прошедшем своем, отдельную политическую жизнь и культуру, -но и с теми, которые никогда не жили особой политической жизнью.

    Монархия неограниченная успевала устранять или примирять все подобные требования и порывы, - и не одной только силой, но и уравнением прав и отношений под одной властью. Но демократия не может с ними справиться, и инстинкты национализма служат для нее разъедающим элементом: каждое племя из своей местности высылает представителей - не государственной и народной идеи, но представителей племенных инстинктов, племенного раздражения, племенной ненависти - и к господствующему племени, и к другим племенам, и к связующему все части государства учреждению. Какой нестройный вид получает в подобном составе народное представительство и парламентское правление - очевидным тому примером служит в наши дни австрийский парламент.

    Провидение сохранило нашу Россию от подобного бедствия, при ее разноплеменном составе. Страшно и подумать, что возникло бы у нас, когда бы судьба послала нам роковой дар -всероссийского парламента! Да не будет».


    http://hrono.ru/biograf/bio_p/pobedonoscev.php
    1. косопуз 27 января 2012 09:56
      Аскет, сначала поставил плюс, а уже потом начал читать. и, как всегда, не ошибся.
      Молодчина, всегда высказываешь здравую точку зрения, что так необходимо в наше сложное время, напичканное именно нездоровыми, больными идеями. Напичканными специально для нас, чтобы мы в них запутались и сбились с верного пути.
      А поскольку враги русского народа- демократы всегда изничтожали Победоносцева, то это верный признак того, что он был порядочным человеком.
      Надо обязательно познакомиться с его трудами.
    2. Леха е-мое 27 января 2012 12:17
      Когда я смотрю на последствия революций я всегда говорю благими намерениями устлана дорога в АД.Люди пытающиеся остановить революции всегда воспринимались негативно но когда я увидел смерть КАДДАФИ я понимаю что они правы.
      Леха е-мое
  2. go_by 27 января 2012 21:26
    К слову. Почитал тут на досуге Акунина (Чхартишвили). Сначала поразила его специфическая трактовка Христианства... И Победоносцев у него олицетрворение зла... И сам Акунин ярый демократ... И нет ничего нового под солнцем...
    go_by

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня