Animals in military service

0
Since ancient times, they help people in the difficult military service, who are they?



Dog
You can talk about dog service for a long time, here are some places where dogs serve:
- customs (search weapons and drug)
- border (search and detention of offenders)
- minefields (search for mines)
- mountains (search and rescue for avalanche tourists)
During WWII, suicide dogs undermined Tanks carrying explosives on their backs under the tank, medical dogs delivered a medical bag to wounded soldiers.



Horse

For a long time, people shared horses with all the wars, but 70 had not gone years since they left the battlefield. Today, cavalry in memory of past exploits performs a ceremonial function. Her participation in parades, guard patrols, reconstruction of battle scenes invariably enjoys no less success with the audience than the performance of aerobatic teams or the appearance of columns of armored vehicles on city streets. The gendarmerie continues to use horses to patrol pedestrian zones and parks, as well as to maintain order during mass events.

Animals in military service


Dolphin

The Americans in South Vietnam are faced with underwater saboteurs of the enemy, an attempt was made to use dolphins to destroy them. A special device was fixed on the body of the animal, consisting of a cylinder with compressed carbon dioxide and a long needle. A trained dolphin pierced this needle into a discovered diver, causing him to receive a deadly barotrauma of internal organs and float to the surface. In the period from 1970 to 1971, 40 of Vietnamese divers and saboteurs were killed as well as two Americans who happened to be in the area protected by dolphins.



Sea lion

By order of the naval fleet The USA group of sea lions was trained to find and raise small sunken objects from the bottom, which for some reason are of special value. Each lion is equipped with an automatic grip, it is enough for the animal to find the sunken object and poke “horns” mounted on its head so that the grips close and clamp the find.



Seals

Arctic seals are superior to sea lions in reliability and speed of command execution. Moreover, they are not inferior to the dolphins of the southern seas in the speed of developing the skills necessary for work. A huge plus of the seal - it does not need a swimming pool for transportation over long distances, it can stay for a long time on land, which is a death for a dolphin. The seal is also able to dive to great depths and develop greater speed under water. Suffice it to say that it easily floats behind the boat with a trainer at a speed of 30 – 40 km / h.



Rats

Scientists from the University of Antwerp, Belgium, who trained giant African rats to search for anti-personnel mines. These rodents have no less acute sense of smell than dogs, but have a small (up to 3 kg) body weight, which reduces the risk of detonation. They are smaller than dogs, suffer from heat and tropical diseases, willingly perform repetitive actions of the same kind, receiving food from the conductor for each detected mine. Now the Belgians have set up a company specializing in the training of rats and their use in humanitarian demining in Mozambique and other African countries.



Buffalo

The Brazilian army uses water buffaloes in operations carried out in the dense Amazon jungle. Tough, easily trained and, moreover, disease-resistant animals, Portuguese settlers brought back centuries from Asia to the island of Marahao in the Amazon delta. The hard-to-reach valley of this river passes the border of Brazil with its neighboring states with a length of more than 11 thousand km. Its protection is provided by about 30 military bases supplied by air and river transport. But since servicemen have to track down drug producers and carriers, stop diamond smuggling and deforestation, prevent militants from entering Colombia, they often have to go into difficult areas of the jungle that are inaccessible to cars and boats. Therefore, a few years ago, two or three animals were used at each Brazilian outpost, used to deliver ammunition, food, and equipment in complete off-road conditions. The buffalo is able to carry kg of cargo along narrow paths and riverbeds of small rivers up to 500, while feeding on pasture and not giving out traces and unnecessary noise of the location of the patrols.



Sokol (Falcon)

Since 1966, the manual falcons have been guarding the airfield in Lossiemouth (Scotland). Before the falcons were accepted into service, about six hundred birds were constantly held in the airfield area, and birds collided with the planes coming to land about once every two weeks. After the start of the falcon patrol, the collision stopped.



Monkey

The Chinese government information site in English, People's Daily Online, has published an article about the use of trained monkeys by the Afghan Taliban to combat the US military. It reports that a special squad of macaques and baboons has been created in the Taliban army, which locals catch in the jungle and sell to the Taliban. Young primates are sent to a secret base for a course of study, during which the method of punishment and rewards is applied (bananas and sticks). Makak and monkeys are taught to use AK-47 assault rifles and “Bern” machine guns, at the same time “explaining” to them that weapons can only be used against people in American military uniforms.



Elephants

Elephants were tamed and began to be used for military purposes for the first time in India. Until the XIII century, elephants were used in the armies of the Middle Eastern and southeastern states, for example, Khorezm and Burma, but in small quantities.
    Our news channels

    Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

    "Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

    “Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Животные на военной службе

С древних времен помогают они людям в нелегкой воинской службе, кто же они?

Животные на военной службе


Собака
О службе собак можно говорить долго, вот только некоторые места где служат собаки:

- таможня (поиск оружия и наркотиков)
- граница (поиск и задержание нарушителей)
- минные поля (поиск мин)
- горы (поиск и спасение попавших под лавины туристов)
Во время ВОВ, собаки-смертники подрывали танки неся на спине взрывчатку под танк, собаки-медики доставляли мед.сумку раненным солдатам.

Животные на военной службе


Лошадь

Долгое время с людьми все тяготы войн делили лошади, но не прошло и 70 лет, как они покинули поле боя. Сегодня конница в память о былых подвигах выполняет церемониальную функцию. Ее участие в парадах, разводах караулов, реконструкции батальных сцен неизменно пользуется у зрителей не меньшим успехом, чем выступления пилотажных групп или появление на городских улицах колонн бронетехники. Жандармерия продолжает использовать лошадей для патрулирования пешеходных зон и парков, а также для поддержания порядка во время проведения массовых мероприятий.

Животные на военной службе


Дельфин

Американцы в Южном Вьетнаме столкнулись с подводными диверсантами противника, была предпринята попытка использовать дельфинов для их уничтожения. На теле животного закреплялось специальное устройство, состоящее из баллона со сжатым углекислым газом и длинной иглы. Дрессированный дельфин вонзал эту иглу в обнаруженного ныряльщика, отчего тот получал смертельную баротравму внутренних органов и всплывал на поверхность. В период с 1970 по 1971 год так были убиты 40 вьетнамских ныряльщиков-диверсантов, а также два американца, случайно оказавшиеся в зоне, охраняемой дельфинами.

Животные на военной службе


Морской лев

По заказу военно-морского флота США группа морских львов была обучена находить и поднимать со дна небольшие затонувшие предметы, почему-либо представляющие особую ценность. Каждый лев снабжен автоматическим захватом, животному достаточно найти затонувший предмет и ткнуть в него укрепленными на голове “рогами”, чтобы захваты сомкнулись и зажали находку.

Животные на военной службе


Тюлени

Арктически тюлени превосходят сивучей в надежности и скорости выполнения команд. Более того, они не уступают дельфинам южных морей по скорости выработки навыков, необходимых для работы. Огромный плюс тюленя – ему не нужен бассейн для транспортировки на большие расстояния, он может долго находиться на суше, что для дельфина – гибель. Тюлень также способен погружаться на большие глубины и развивать под водой большую скорость. Достаточно сказать, что он легко плывет за катером с тренером со скоростью 30–40 км/час.

Животные на военной службе


Крысы

Ученых из университета бельгийского г. Антверпен, которые обучили гигантских африканских крыс разыскивать противопехотные мины. Эти грызуны обладают не менее острым нюхом, чем собаки, но имеют небольшую (до 3 кг) массу тела, что снижает риск подрыва. Они меньше, чем собаки, страдают от жары и тропических болезней, охотно совершают однообразные повторяющиеся действия, получая от проводника пищу за каждую обнаруженную мину. Сейчас бельгийцами создана фирма, специализирующаяся на дрессировке крыс и их использовании при проведении гуманитарного разминирования в Мозамбике и других странах Африки.

Животные на военной службе


Буйвол

Бразильская армия в операциях, проводимых в густой амазонской сельве, использует водяных буйволов. Выносливых, легко обучаемых и к тому же болезнеустойчивых животных португальские поселенцы завезли несколько столетий назад из Азии на остров Марахао в дельте Амазонки. По труднодоступной долине этой реки проходит граница Бразилии с соседними государствами протяженностью более 11 тыс. км. Ее охрану обеспечивают около 30 военных баз, снабжаемых воздушным и речным транспортом. Но поскольку военнослужащим приходится выслеживать производителей и перевозчиков наркотиков, пресекать контрабанду алмазов и вырубку леса, не допускать проникновения боевиков с территории Колумбии, они часто вынуждены пешком углубляться в труднопроходимые участки сельвы, недоступные для автомобилей и катеров. Поэтому несколько лет назад на каждой бразильской заставе были заведены два-три животных, используемых для доставки боеприпасов, продовольствия и снаряжения в условиях полного бездорожья. Буйвол способен переносить по узким тропам и руслам мелких рек до 500 кг грузов, питаясь при этом подножным кормом и не выдавая следами и лишним шумом расположения дозоров.

Животные на военной службе


Сокол

С 1966 года аэродром в Лоссимуте (Шотландия) охраняют ручные соколы. До того, как соколы были приняты на службу, в районе аэродрома постоянно держалось около шестисот птиц, и примерно раз в две недели происходили столкновения птиц с самолетами, идущими на посадку. После начала патрульных полетов соколов столкновения прекратились.

Животные на военной службе


Обезьяны

Китайский правительственный информационный сайт на английском языке People’s Daily Online опубликовал статью о применении афганскими талибами дрессированных обезьян для борьбы с американскими военнослужащими. В ней сообщается о том, что в талибской армии создан специальный отряд из макак и бабуинов, которых местные жители ловят в джунглях и продают Талибану. Молодых приматов отправляют на секретную базу для прохождения курса обучения, в ходе которого применяется методика наказаний и поощрений (бананы и палки). Макак и мартышек обучают пользоваться автоматами АК-47 и пулеметами «Берн», одновременно «разъясняют» им, что оружие можно применять только против людей в американской военной форме.

Животные на военной службе


Слоны

Слоны были приручены и стали использоваться в военных целях впервые в Индии. До XIII века слоны использовались и в армиях ближневосточных и юго-восточных государств, например, Хорезма и Бирмы, но в небольшом количестве.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня