Military Review

Land Rover Mysteries. Mysterious 101 Truck

15
Land Rover Mysteries. Mysterious 101 Truck



As it turned out, the British army did not always use the services of manufacturers of heavy military equipment to upgrade its fleet of trucks and all-terrain vehicles. Occasionally, in search of new solutions and maybe even visions, the Ministry of Defense turned to large, reputable automobile companies. One day, Her Majesty’s army wanted a truck and ordered it from Land Rover, which had a good reputation as a manufacturer of army off-road vehicles, but had never dealt with trucks.

Initially, the novelty was supposed to be a tractor for the L118 105-mm caliber cannon with an additional load of no more than a ton, therefore, at the design stage, the concept was called the Rover for one ton. The final name was influenced by the wheelbase of the car and the position of the driver in the cab. The 101-inch bridge and driver's seat in front of it played a decisive role and the truck was born with the name Land Rover 101 Forward Control.

Norman Busby, an engineer in 1967, took up development in five years, and after five years the company was able to start mass production of one of the most popular British army trucks used throughout almost all units of the ground forces as well as the Air Force and Navy. 101FC quickly turned into a universal army vehicle.

There were many modifications: they used it as a medical center on wheels, auto radio protection and even for the usual transportation of heavy artillery. FC was produced before 1978, and has not officially retired so far. Despite the fact that in the middle of the 90's, Austrian Pinzgauer ousted them from the market, a more modern and sophisticated analogue of an all-terrain vehicle, and part of FC was written off, they are still used on all five continents. Often preferring civilian modification. Although military carriers are now in service with Australia, some countries in Africa and Indonesia. Enough of them naturally in Afghanistan, Iraq and Libya.

The inconspicuous 101 became famous thanks to the American militant "Judge Dredd". Film Studio acquired the 31 car and turned them into a futuristic taxi with fiberglass elements mounted on the chassis and dismantled body.
Forward Control is a little-known Land Rover legend, time-tested in combat conditions around the world.
Author:
15 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Amurets
    Amurets 20 December 2016 15: 54
    +3
    Many modifications appeared: they used it as a medical center on wheels, auto radiation protection, and even for the usual transportation of heavy artillery.

    Looks like our Shishig. In the army configuration, even the characteristics are similar. I just doubt that he will be able to transport heavy artillery.
    << It is noteworthy that the purely army 101 Forward Control was equipped with a 3,5-liter V8, gearbox and transfer case from the new "civil" Range Rover SUV, which began to be produced in 1970. Some 101 FCs also included a transmission-driven Nokken winch that pulled the car both forward and backward. There was even an experimental trailer with drive wheels (they were driven from the truck's transmission), but this 6x6 scheme was eventually abandoned: on the off-road, the trailer pushed the truck to the side. >>
    http://auto.vesti.ru/news/show/news_id/658220/
    1. dkkayak
      dkkayak 20 December 2016 16: 39
      +2
      rode this in Italy, Our 66th compared to the Land Rover model of comfort.
      1. Baikal
        Baikal 20 December 2016 19: 51
        +14
        For those who, as I did not immediately understand, this is yellow in the article - a dummy made of shit and sticks for the film. Land Rover 101 Forward Control without makeup:

        In comparison, "shishiga" is simply the height of elegance.
        1. your1970
          your1970 20 December 2016 20: 28
          +4
          yeah, especially the trench tool, and asks to get lost repeat
          1. alex86
            alex86 20 December 2016 21: 30
            +3
            But it’s immediately clear whether I forgot or not, it’s not hanging out in the back, it’s available.
          2. The stranger
            The stranger 26 December 2016 12: 21
            0
            Nope. In sight, and not dragging dirt into the cabin, it is already enough.
        2. alex86
          alex86 20 December 2016 21: 37
          0
          Quote: Baikal
          just the height of grace.

          This is a matter of taste - I never liked the cabin of the 66th.
          Quote: Baikal
          it's yellow in the article
          - I was amazed - such an advanced taratayka, have the warriors really adopted such weapons - but no, it turned out to be just a temptation
        3. Zulu_S
          Zulu_S 21 December 2016 00: 14
          +1
          Quote: Baikal
          "shishiga" is simply the height of elegance.

          I agree 100%. The curved starter draws particular attention. There is a modern saying: "a range rover goes either to repair or from repair." But this is a joke, of course. For an army truck, grace is not the deciding factor. And yet shishiga is somehow dearer.
        4. Mordvin 3
          Mordvin 3 21 December 2016 00: 27
          +2
          Quote: Baikal
          In comparison, "shishiga" is simply the height of elegance.

          This is some kind of coffin (pictured).
      2. Amurets
        Amurets 21 December 2016 00: 55
        +2
        Quote: dkkayak
        rode this in Italy, Our 66th compared to the Land Rover model of comfort.

        The first time I hear good things about comfort in our cars. +++++ good
        1. Agent_017
          Agent_017 23 December 2016 15: 04
          +1
          And here it is not so. On our machines from the first AMO, there has always been climate control! In winter it is cold, in summer it is hot. And it was our cars that worked on everything that was poured into the gas tank ...
          1. Amurets
            Amurets 23 December 2016 15: 54
            +2
            Quote: Agent_017
            And here it is not so. On our machines from the first AMO, there has always been climate control! In winter it is cold, in summer it is hot. And it was our cars that worked on everything that was poured into the gas tank ...

            I do not agree with what was poured into the tank. There were cars at the gas stove, which was poured into the bunker.
  2. 0255
    0255 21 December 2016 13: 50
    0
    Already read the article hesitated, well, so many letters ...
    1. ratfly
      ratfly 22 December 2016 12: 00
      0
      Yeah zadolbal analysis of technology, diagrams, graphs ...
  3. wei
    wei April 17 2017 00: 16
    0
    english shishiga smile

Тайны Land Rover. Загадочный трак 101

15
Тайны Land Rover. Загадочный трак 101


Как оказалось, армия Великобритании не всегда пользовалась услугами производителей тяжёлой военной техники для обновления своего автопарка грузовиков и вездеходов. Изредка, в поисках новых решений и может даже видения, Министерство обороны обращалось к крупным, авторитетным автомобильным компаниям. Однажды армия её величества захотела грузовик и заказала его у компании Land Rover, отлично зарекомендовавшей себя как производитель армейских внедорожников, но никогда не имевшей дело с грузовой техникой.



Изначально предполагалось новинка будет тягачом для пушки L118 105-мм калибра с расчётом на дополнительный груз не больше тонны, поэтому на стадии разработки концепт и называли «Ровер на одну тонну». На окончательное же название повлияла колёсная база автомобиля и положение водителя в кабине. 101-дюймовый мост и водительское сиденье перед ним сыграли решающую роль и грузовик появился на свет с именем Land Rover 101 Forward Control.

Разработкой занялся в 1967 году инженер Норман Басби и уже через пять лет смог компания смогла запустить серийное производство одного из популярнейших в последствии грузовиков британской армии, использовавшихся повсеместно практически во всех подразделениях как сухопутных войск, так и ВВС и ВМС. 101FC быстро превратился в универсальный автомобиль армии.

Модификаций появилось множество: использовали его в качестве медицинского центра на колёсах, авто радиозащиты и даже для обычной перевозки тяжёлой артиллерии. FC выпускался до 1978 года и официально не вышел на пенсию до сих пор. Несмотря на то, что в середине 90-х с рынка их вытеснил австриец Pinzgauer, более современный и совершенный аналог грузового вездехода, и часть FC списали, пользуются ими до сих пор на всех пяти континентах. Частенько отдавая предпочтение гражданской модификации. Хотя и военные тягачи сейчас стоят на вооружении Австралии, некоторых стран Африки и Индонезии. Хватает их естественно и в Афганистане, Ираке и Ливии.

Прославился же неприметный 101-й благодаря американскому боевику «Судья Дредд». Киностудия приобрела 31 автомобиль и превратила их в футуристическое такси с помощью стеклопластиковых элементов, установленных на шасси и демонтированного кузова.
Forward Control – малоизвестная легенда Land Rover, проверенная временем в боевых условиях по всему миру.
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +3
    20 декабря 2016
    Модификаций появилось множество: использовали его в качестве медицинского центра на колёсах, авто радиозащиты и даже для обычной перевозки тяжёлой артиллерии.

    Похож на нашу Шишигу. В армейской комплектации даже характеристики схожие. Вот только сомневаюсь, что сможет перевозить тяжёлую артиллерию.
    <<Примечательно, что чисто армейский 101 Forward Control оснащался 3,5-литровым V8, коробкой передач и раздаткой от нового "гражданского" внедорожника Range Rover, который начали выпускать в 1970 году. В оснащение некоторых 101 FC также входила лебедка Nokken с приводом от трансмиссии, тянувшая машину как вперед, так и назад. Был даже экспериментальный прицеп с ведущими колесами (они приводились от трансмиссии грузовика), но от такой схемы 6х6 в итоге отказались: на бездорожье прицеп сталкивал грузовик в сторону.>>
    http://auto.vesti.ru/news/show/news_id/658220/
    1. +2
      20 декабря 2016
      ездил на таком в Италии, Наш 66й по сравнению с лендровером образец комфорта.
      1. +14
        20 декабря 2016
        Для тех, кто как я не сразу понял, это желтенькое в статье - муляж из говна и палок для фильма. Land Rover 101 Forward Control без макияжа:

        В сравнении - "шишига" просто верх изящности.
        1. +4
          20 декабря 2016
          да уж,особенно шанцевый инструмент-так и просится потеряться feel
          1. +3
            20 декабря 2016
            Зато сразу понятно, забыл или нет, в кузове не болтается, доступен.
          2. 0
            26 декабря 2016
            Не-а. На виду, и не тащиш грязь в кабину, ее и так хватает.
        2. 0
          20 декабря 2016
          Цитата: Байкал
          просто верх изящности.

          Это вопрос вкуса - мне кабина 66-го никогда не нравилась.
          Цитата: Байкал
          это желтенькое в статье
          - я было подивился - такая продвинутая таратайка, неужели вояки приняли такую на вооружение - но нет, оказалось просто замануха
        3. +1
          21 декабря 2016
          Цитата: Байкал
          "шишига" просто верх изящности.

          Согласен на все 100%. Особое внимание привлекает кривой стартер. Современная поговорка: " ренж-ровер едет или в ремонт, или из ремонта". Но это шутка, конечно. Для армейского грузовика изящество - не решающий фактор. А всё же шишига роднее как-то.
        4. +2
          21 декабря 2016
          Цитата: Байкал
          В сравнении - "шишига" просто верх изящности.

          Это гроб какой то (на фото).
      2. +2
        21 декабря 2016
        Цитата: dkkayak
        ездил на таком в Италии, Наш 66й по сравнению с лендровером образец комфорта.

        Первый раз слышу доброе о комфорте в наших машинах. +++++ good
        1. +1
          23 декабря 2016
          А вот и не так. На наших машинах с первых АМО, всегда был климат-контроль! Зимой - холодно, летом - жарко. И именно наши машины работали на всем, что заливали в бензобак...
          1. +2
            23 декабря 2016
            Цитата: Agent_017
            А вот и не так. На наших машинах с первых АМО, всегда был климат-контроль! Зимой - холодно, летом - жарко. И именно наши машины работали на всем, что заливали в бензобак...

            Не согласен с тем, что заливали в бак. Были машины и на газочурке, которую засыпали в бункер.
  2. 0
    21 декабря 2016
    Аж читать статью заколебался, ну так много букв...
    1. 0
      22 декабря 2016
      Ага задолбал анализом техники, схемами, графиками...
  3. wei
    0
    17 апреля 2017
    англицкая шишига smile

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»