Military Review

European values ​​to the detriment of national interests

18
European values ​​to the detriment of national interests



Estonian President Kersti Kaljulaid said that improving relations between the European Union and Russia is possible only if "Moscow’s behavior changes." In her opinion, at present, the priority is to demonstrate unity with Brussels in terms of "a country that does not fulfill its international obligations."

Fundamentally nothing new in the statement Kaljulaid no. Relations of Western countries and Russia have been in a deep crisis for several years now, the latter is now blamed for all sins and troubles, especially in the Baltic region. It is in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania that local politicians do not get tired of repeating the threat of attack hanging over their countries by the “bloodthirsty” eastern neighbor, who is seeking to deprive the independence of the “Baltic tigers”.

Due to the current situation in world politics, a change in relations between Tallinn and Moscow for the better is not among the main foreign policy goals of President Kaljulaid. The head of state explicitly stated that she fully relies on the competence of NATO partners in building a dialogue with the eastern neighbor, without resolving which she will not take any independent steps.

One cannot argue with the Estonian president - the stability of the regime is critically dependent on the support of Washington and Brussels. After all, if Tallinn does not get their approval of the policy pursued, who will then provide financial assistance? And the money to meet the interests of the Allies in the North Atlantic Alliance Estonia will need in the coming year much more than before. This is connected not only and not so much with the increase in military spending, for which Kersti Kaljulaid advocates, but rather with the fact that the multinational battalions of the military-political bloc will begin to be deployed in the republic’s 2017. Naturally, all associated costs will fall on the Estonian budget, already burdened by the requirements of Brussels to allocate for defense needs over 2% of GDP.

It is worth adding that in the Baltic countries there are already structural units of NATO specializing in repelling threats in the information space. So, in Estonia, the Cyber ​​Security Center is based, whose activities are not officially aimed against Russia, but the geographical position leaves no doubt about its true purpose.

Meanwhile, the country's leadership would not hurt to approach the assessment of the prospects for bilateral relations based on their own national interests, rather than being guided by what the “authorities” say in Brussels. Considering that a quarter of the population of the Republic of Estonia is Russian-speaking, the aggressive rhetoric addressed to Moscow is unprofitable for the authorities, at least from the point of view of the consolidation of society, which remains largely divided.
Author:
18 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 210ox
    210ox 8 January 2017 06: 53
    +2
    But IT WE NEED? This is the most .. European value ..
    1. Teberii
      Teberii 8 January 2017 09: 14
      0
      Tallinn behaves correctly, NATO listen to Brussels and Washington.
  2. aszzz888
    aszzz888 8 January 2017 07: 36
    +2
    Estonian President Kersti Kaljulaid said that improving relations between the European Union and Russia is only possible if “Moscow’s behavior changes”


    This president would sit at home, and not blather. Micro-dwarfs, (in the political, world sense) you yourself will figure it out yourself, and we will somehow manage without ... hints.laughing
    1. CYBERNINJA
      CYBERNINJA 8 January 2017 10: 57
      0
      This is ... President of Estonia ..... Baba, not a man!
  3. knn54
    knn54 8 January 2017 09: 26
    0
    THE MAIN EUROPEAN VALUE - PERSONAL (selfish) interests.
  4. midshipman
    midshipman 8 January 2017 09: 33
    +4
    And how should the behavior of Moscow change? In Estonia, all enterprises created by the USSR are closed. Agricultural products from Estonia must not be purchased in any case. They cannot do anything else. It is a pity the Russian population. We need a policy of the Government of the Russian Federation on relocating it. And Estonia Russia must pay the funds that our Tsar Peter paid the Swedes for this territory in 1721. I have the honor.
    1. Kostya Andreev
      Kostya Andreev 8 January 2017 11: 47
      +3
      Of course, I understand that this country has no future, that Estonian President Kersti Kaljulaid is a talking doll complying with the instructions of Washington and Brussels, but why are you sure that the Russians from the Baltic states are trying to move to Russia? and what did they forget here and will do? Everyone who wanted and could leave, left!

      I don’t understand why the news about the Baltic problems causes such jubilation among the VO commentators, it feels like they are so shitty that they try to reassure those who are even worse, and thereby console themselves.
      1. Flinky
        Flinky 8 January 2017 12: 40
        +1
        Quote: Kostya Andrei
        it feels like so horseradish is living

        Sucks. Do not distort your native language.
      2. Pete mitchell
        Pete mitchell 8 January 2017 20: 14
        +8
        I would like to agree with Konstantin: everything is clear with the Baltic states - whoever orders the music dances to the girl, and the pleasure of the girl does not matter.
        But the talk about compatriots, relocation is excuse nonsense by nine tenths. This is such a lower card in the big game, and all players play it. On the part of the Baltic states, especially Latvians and Estonians, this is a game of fool, where they themselves surrendered Russia's trump cards. Russia has its own interests and this is correct, but I doubt that to make compatriots happy is the goal. The bourgeois comrades simply create a buffer zone promoting their interests, and, of course, business interests.
        So everything is back to square one, as it is before the Great Patriotic War just now: the pleasure of the girls is of no interest to anyone, all honestly, but they hoped ...
      3. Larra anathema
        Larra anathema 8 January 2017 20: 29
        +1
        Quote: Kostya Andreev
        I don’t understand why news about the problems of the Baltic states cause such jubilation among commentators.

        Well, first of all, it’s such a human weakness to gossip when the neighbor’s house is on fire. Especially when the hunt is gossip, not thinking.
        Secondly, I generally agree with you. As for the fact that the Russian-speaking people who are not very much left there, we also want to. On the one hand, this is the influence of anti-Russian propaganda, and much more ancient than in Ukraine. And secondly...
        Once I was in the Baltic states. As a teenager, and in the Soviet last years. I watched and listened very carefully.
        Then Lithuania seemed like a fabulous country with solid gingerbread houses, unprecedented patriarchal peace in the streets and with passers-by who all resembled (in behavior) a "well-bred rabbit" from a famous cartoon. It was very beautiful there, and very well-mannered. Well-groomed and loved by the owners. And our Russian excursion (families of Soviet engineers on vacation) was a herd of hamadryas there, dangerous and alien. Even I felt ashamed when “our shot” threw a cigarette butt onto an impeccably clean sidewalk, and a passer-by who was walking after picked up the rubbish and carefully carried it to the trash can. Without saying anything.
        It has its own culture, and only an authentic, great and mighty USSR could save these small in their own way very beautiful, well-mannered countries from deep-rooted complexes. The USSR is gone.
        And the Baltic States felt like that rabbit, in which Winnie the Pooh seriously ossified. But Winnie the Pooh (aka the USSR) was in their brains, in their fears that their cozy, clean little world would come and trample the rude bear. This fear has taken advantage of hostile propaganda.
        It was as easy as shelling pears! They have nothing but their gingerbread house, which they cherish so much. And now the frightened Rabbit is learning to handle weapons and likes to stand in front of a mirror (her own media), admiring how terrible he is now. They really are wildly afraid of everything rude, strong, unpredictable, they are constantly tormented here and there by their entire history. But they want - for example, to have something like that in Holland. But the West, the USA, everyone who wants to hunt, continue to intimidate them, now to the point of seizures.
        There, the truth was very peaceful and good. But even then, every passer-by was cringing with his back: would my little peace be destroyed right now? Do not you enemies? They entered the USSR scared to stupor and did not have time to move away from one fear, as the second, the real one, happened: the USSR was gone.
        I am sorry for these three countries with their eternal desire to be left alone, and with national pride and arrogance of a desperate coward pressed against the wall.
        1. midshipman
          midshipman 8 January 2017 21: 48
          +1
          Dear "Larra Anathema", please read my article in "VO", if, of course, you have time. "The task is to improve the accuracy of missile and bomb strikes." Due to the nature of my service and work in the Baltics, I had to train our pilots at training ranges. In my article I also wrote about the nature of these countries. I have the honor.
        2. Pete mitchell
          Pete mitchell 9 January 2017 16: 13
          +8
          Dear Larra Anathem, you described everything beautifully, but there are things that you cannot agree with. When they fell into the fraternal family of the peoples of the USSR they were merged, the British merged, and by and large. The Britons indulged the Nazis and this led to the restructuring of Europe, then the cutter changed. And the Balts still believe that foreign countries will help them,. But to this was added the desire to surrender to someone. To surrender in the literal sense - the more there will be someone else's western, the more active the west will protect, but I want to hang out beautifully and spin like on a panel.
          And the fact that all dogs hang on a neighbor is a historical habit
    2. Pete mitchell
      Pete mitchell 8 January 2017 20: 21
      +10
      You know Michman, it’s a pity that those who threw compatriots to their fate when the Union was drunk in Belovezhskaya Pushcha did not get along with honor. This applies not only to the Baltic states, but also to other former republics. And not everything is in order in the kingdom, if they are now praised and the centers are called by their name. Sorry, further only obscene ...
  5. fa2998
    fa2998 8 January 2017 09: 51
    +1
    Quote: 210ox
    And IT we need?
    In VO, a lot of time and place is devoted to the situation in these limitrophes. That is Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, or all together! Not too much attention? Let the dog bark and the caravan go. There are so many problems in Russia that pay attention to these dwarfs! request hi









    quote
    A complaint
    Yet...







    210ox
  6. CYBERNINJA
    CYBERNINJA 8 January 2017 11: 00
    +4
    What is happening in the Baltic countries is their problem, they made their choice. The choice is to fall out in shit. How will they be laundered? That’s the question ... But ... the Russian Federation should not help them. In this case, there will be help rated as weakness.
  7. Nyrobsky
    Nyrobsky 8 January 2017 11: 34
    +2
    Meanwhile, the country's leadership would not hurt to approach the assessment of the prospects of bilateral relations based on their own national interests, and not guided by what the "bosses" in Brussels say.

    But after Estonia joined the EU, it did not have national interests. Now they are doomed to ensure only the interests of others. Fenita La Comedy ......
  8. captain
    captain 8 January 2017 11: 56
    +1
    Peter bought it! these Papuans for 2mln. Yefimok, equipped them, trained at the expense of the Russians, and now they are yapping from the gateway. When will our rulers learn to buy the right thing?
  9. The splinter
    The splinter 10 January 2017 01: 02
    +1
    Russia will live without Estonia, which itself has spoiled relations with the Russian Federation all this time.

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Европейские ценности в ущерб национальным интересам

Европейские ценности в ущерб национальным интересам


Президент Эстонии Керсти Кальюлайд заявила, что улучшение отношений между Европейским союзом и Россией возможно только в том случае, если «изменится поведение Москвы». По ее мнению, в настоящее время приоритетной является демонстрация единства с Брюсселем в том, что касается «страны, не выполняющей своих международных обязательств».

Принципиально ничего нового в заявлении Кальюлайд нет. Отношения стран Запада и России уже не первый год находятся в глубоком кризисе, последнюю сейчас принято винить во всех грехах и бедах, особенно в прибалтийском регионе. Именно в Эстонии, Латвии и Литве местные политики не устают повторять о нависшей над их странами угрозой нападения со стороны «кровожадного» восточного соседа, стремящегося лишить независимости «балтийских тигров».


Вследствие сложившейся обстановки в сфере мировой политики изменение отношений между Таллином и Москвой в лучшую сторону не находится в числе главных внешнеполитических целей президента Кальюлайд. Глава государства прямо заявляла, что в вопросе выстраивания диалога с восточным соседом всецело полагается на компетентность партнеров по НАТО, без разрешения которых не будет предпринимать никаких самостоятельных шагов.

В одном с эстонским президентом поспорить нельзя – стабильность режима критически зависит от поддержки Вашингтона и Брюсселя. Ведь если Таллин не добьется от них одобрения проводимого политического курса, кто тогда будет предоставлять финансовую помощь? А денег для удовлетворения интересов союзников по Североатлантическому альянсу Эстонии понадобится в наступающем году гораздо больше, чем ранее. Это связано не только и не столько с увеличением военных расходов, за что ратует Керсти Кальюлайд, сколько с тем, что в 2017 году на территории республики начнется размещение многонациональных батальонов военно-политического блока. Все сопутствующие расходы, естественно, лягут на эстонский бюджет, и без того отягощенный требованиями Брюсселя выделять на оборонные нужды свыше 2% ВВП.

Стоит добавить, что в странах Прибалтики уже действуют структурные подразделения НАТО, специализирующиеся на отражении угроз в информационном пространстве. Так, в Эстонии базируется Центр кибербезопасности, деятельность которого официально не направлена против России, однако географическое положение не оставляет сомнений в его истинном предназначении.

Между тем, руководству страны не помешало бы подойти к оценке перспектив двусторонних отношений исходя из собственных национальных интересов, а не руководствуясь тем, что скажет «начальство» в Брюсселе. Учитывая, что четверть населения Эстонской республики составляют русскоязычные, агрессивная риторика в адрес Москвы невыгодна властям хотя бы с точки зрения консолидации общества, которое во многом остается расколотым.
Автор: Аркадий Нойман


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 18

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. 210окв 8 января 2017 06:53
    А ОНО нам надо?Это самое..Европейская ценность..
    1. Teberii 8 января 2017 09:14
      Таллин ведет себя правильно,НАТО слушать Брюссель и Вашингтон.
  2. a.s.zzz888 8 января 2017 07:36
    Президент Эстонии Керсти Кальюлайд заявила, что улучшение отношений между Европейским союзом и Россией возможно только в том случае, если «изменится поведение Москвы»


    Сидел бы этот президент у себя, и не вякал. Микрокарлики, ( в политическом, мировом понимании) вы там сами у себя разберитесь, а мы уж как нибудь без ср...х подсказок обойдемся.laughing
    1. КИБЕРНИНДЗЯ 8 января 2017 10:57
      Это... Президент Эстонии.....Баба,а не мужик!
  3. knn54 8 января 2017 09:26
    ГЛАВНАЯ европейская ценность - ЛИЧНЫЕ (шкурные) интересы.
  4. мичман 8 января 2017 09:33
    А как должно измениться поведение Москвы? В Эстонии закрыты все предприятия, созданные СССР. Сельхоз продукцию из Эстонии нельзя закупать ни в коем случае. Другого они ничего делать не могут. Жаль русское население. Нужна политика Правительства РФ о переселении его. А Эстония России должна выплатить те средства, которые наш царь Петр Заплатил Шведам за эту территорию в 1721 году. Честь имею.
    1. костя андреев 8 января 2017 11:47
      Я конечно понимаю, что у этой страны нет будущего, что Президент Эстонии Керсти Кальюлайд говорящая кукла выполняющая указания Вашингтона и Брюсселя, но почему вы уверены что русские из Прибалтики стремятся переселится в Россию? и что они здесь забыли и делать будут? Все кто хотел и мог уехать, уехали!

      Не понимаю, почему новости о проблемах Прибалтики вызывают такое ликование среди комментаторов ВО, такое чувство что им так хреного живется, что пытаются для успокоения найти тех кому еще хуже, и тем самым утешить себя.
      1. Flinky 8 января 2017 12:40
        Цитата: костя андреев
        такое чувство что им так хреного живется

        Хреново. Не коверкай родной язык.
      2. Pete Mitchell 8 января 2017 20:14
        Хочется согласиться с Константином: с прибалтикой все понятно - кто музыку заказывает, тот девушку и танцует, и удовольствие девушки значения не имеет.
        А вот разговоры о соотечественниках, переселении это простите чушь на девять десятых. Эта такая низшая карта в большой игре, и играют ее все игроки. Со стороны прибалтов, особенно латышей и эстов, это игра в дурака, где они сами сдали козыри России. У России свои интересы и это правильно, но сомневаюсь что осчастливить соотечественников является целью. Товарищи буржуи просто создают буферную зону продвигая свои интересы, ну и конечно бизнес интересы.
        Так что все возвращается на круги своя, как и перед ВОВ так и сейчас: удовольствие девушек - никому не интересно, все по честному, а они надеялись...
      3. Larra Anathema 8 января 2017 20:29
        Цитата: костя андреев
        Не понимаю, почему новости о проблемах Прибалтики вызывают такое ликование среди комментаторов

        Ну, во-первых, это человеческая такая слабость - посудачить, когда горит дом соседа. Особенно когда охота судачить, а не думать.
        Во-вторых, я с Вами, в целом, соглашусь. Насчёт того, что не очень-то оставшимся там русскоязычным к нам и хочется. С одной стороны, это влияние антироссийской пропаганды, и гораздо более древнее, чем на Украине. А во-вторых...
        Когда-то я была в Прибалтике. Подростком, и в советские последние годы. Очень внимательно смотрела и слушала.
        Тогда Литва казалась сказочной страной со сплошными пряничными домиками, небывалым патриархальным покоем на улицах и с прохожими, которые все как один походили (по поведению) на "воспитанного кролика" из известного мультфильма. Очень красиво там было, и очень воспитанно. Ухоженно и облюблено хозяевами. И наша русская экскурсия (семьи советских инженеров на отдыхе) была там стадом гамадрилов, опасным и чуждым. Даже мне стало стыдно, когда "наш кадр" бросил окурок на безупречно чистый тротуар, а шедший следом прохожий поднял мусор и аккуратно донёс до урны. Ничего не сказав.
        Там очень своя культура, и только подлинный, великий и могучий СССР мог избавить эти маленькие по-своему очень красивые, воспитанные страны от глубоко укоренившихся комплексов. СССР не стало.
        И Прибалтика почувствовала себя как тот кролик, у которого Винни Пух всерьёз загостился. Но Винни Пух (он же СССР) был у них в мозгах, в их страхах, что их уютный, чистенький мирок придёт и растопчет невоспитанный медведь. Этим страхом воспользовалась враждебная пропаганда.
        Это было проще простого! У них же ничего нет, кроме их пряничного домика, которым они так дорожат. И вот уже перепуганный Кролик учится обращаться с оружием и любит постоять перед зеркалом (собственные СМИ), любуясь, какой он теперь грозный. Они же действительно дико боятся всего грубого, сильного, непредсказуемого, их же постоянно трепало туда и сюда всю их историю. Им же хочется - чтобы, например, было у них как в Голландии какой-нибудь. Но Запад, США, все кому охота - продолжают их запугивать, теперь уже до судорог.
        Там правда было очень мирно и хорошо. Но уже тогда всякий прохожий спиной ёжился: не порушат ли вот прямо сейчас мой маленький покой? Не враги ли? В СССР они вошли напуганными до одури и не успели отойти от одного страха, как приключился второй, настоящий: СССР не стало.
        Мне жаль эти три страны с их вечным желанием, чтобы их оставили в покое, и с национальной гордостью и заносчивостью отчаянного труса, прижатого к стенке.
        1. мичман 8 января 2017 21:48
          Уважаемая "Larra Anathema", прочтите, пожалуйста мою статью в "ВО", если, конечно будет время. "Задача повысить точность ракетно-бомбовых ударов". По роду службы и работы мне в Прибалтике на полигонах пришлось готовить наших летчиков. Я в статье написал и о природе этих стран. Честь имею.
        2. Pete Mitchell 9 января 2017 16:13
          Уважаемая Larra Anathemа, красиво вы все описали, но есть вещи с которыми согласиться нельзя. Когда они попали в братскую семью народов СССР их ведь слили, слили британцы и ко по большому счету. Бриты потворствовали нацистам и это привело к перекройке европы, потом закройщик поменялся. А прибалты до сих пор верят что заграница им поможет, . Но к этому добавилось желание отдаться кому нибудь. Отдаться в прямом смысле - чем больше будет чужого западного, тем активнее запад будет защищать, но хочется тусоваться красиво вот и крутятся как на панели.
          А то что всех собак вешать на соседа - так это привычка историческая
    2. Pete Mitchell 8 января 2017 20:21
      Знаете Мичман, жаль что с честью не лады у тех, кто бросил соотечественников на произвол судьбы, когда Союз пропили в Беловежской пуще. Это касается не только прибалтики, но и других бывших республик. И не все в порядке в королевстве, если их сейчас славят и центры их именем называют. Извините, дальше только матом...
  5. фа2998 8 января 2017 09:51
    Цитата: 210окв
    А ОНО нам надо?
    На ВО очень много уделяется времени и места о ситуации в этих лимитрофах.То Латвия ,то Эстония,то Литва, то все вместе!Не слишком много внимания?Пусть собака лает,а караван идет.Тут в России проблем и так много,что бы этим карликам внимание уделять! request hi









    Цитировать
    Жалоба
    Еще...







    210окв
  6. КИБЕРНИНДЗЯ 8 января 2017 11:00
    В том,что происходит в странах Балтии,это их проблемы-они свой выбор сделали.Выбор вываляться в дерьме.Как будут отмываться?Вот в чем вопрос...Но... РФ не стоит им помогать.В данном случае,помощь будет оцениваться как слабость.
  7. Ныробский 8 января 2017 11:34
    Между тем, руководству страны не помешало бы подойти к оценке перспектив двусторонних отношений исходя из собственных национальных интересов, а не руководствуясь тем, что скажет «начальство» в Брюсселе.

    Вот после того, как Эстония вступила в ЕС, у неё и не стало национальных интересов. Теперь они обречены обеспечивать лишь чужие интересы. Фенита ля комедия......
  8. ротмистр 8 января 2017 11:56
    Купил Петр ! этих папуасов за 2млн. ефимок, обустроили их, обучили за счет русских, а теперь тявкают из подворотни. Когда же наши правители научаться покупать нужное .
  9. Заноза 10 января 2017 01:02
    Россия проживет и без Эстонии,которая сама все это время портила отношения с РФ.
Картина дня