Tender for 7.3 billion dollars given by Russian manufacturers of the fifth generation fighter without a fight

According to the newspaper "Izvestia", the fifth-generation T-50 fighter manufacturers did not fight with foreign competitors for a lucrative tender for 7.3 billion dollars, which was announced by South Korea. As the representatives of the Russian aviation industry explained, there are several reasons for this. The first is that Russia does not want secret developments to fall to South Korea’s American allies. The second is that manufacturers do not hope to win. And the third is that the mass production of widely publicized T-50 has not yet been fully launched.

Rossiyskaya Gazeta notes that South Korea plans to acquire 60 fighter units that will guard the skies over Korea for the next thirty years as part of the completion of the third phase of the FX project aimed at rearming the Air Force. This transaction has already been called the “contract of the century” due to its unprecedented scale of procurement for South Korea.


Reception of applications to the organizing committee of the tender stopped at the end of last week. According to the results, it turned out that Eurofighter Typhoon from the European concern EADS, Gripen fighter from the Swedish SAAB, and two representatives of the US aviation industry - F-35 (Lightning-II) from Lockheed Martin and F-15SE (Silent Eagle) will fight for Korean billions from Boeing. Earlier in the newspaper The Korea Times, citing the South Korean Defense Procurement Agency, it was reported that the Russian Sukhoi Design Bureau is going to fight for the tender with its T-50 (PAK FA) fighter.

However, now it became known that the leadership of the United Aircraft Corporation was not even going to put up the Russian fighter jets for the competition. According to the source "Izvestia" in the KLA, the practices used in the T-50 are classified. While only three prototypes of this aircraft have been created, there is no export option among them yet. In addition, he noted that South Korea is an ally of the United States, so it was hardly worth expecting that they would choose Russian aircraft, not American ones.

But the main reason for the refusal of the Russian manufacturer to participate in the tender, according to the director of the Institute for Strategic Evaluations and Analysis, Alexander Konovalov, is that the developers are not yet ready to present a competitive version of the fifth-generation fighter to the court of experts. According to him, so far there is only a hint of this development, and the requirements in international tenders are very high - their onboard systems must be able to receive and process a huge amount of information, be equipped with a very powerful computer, be able to develop supersonic speed and remain invisible to radars.

The expert added that Americans use small copper rings in fighter coatings to reduce radio sight, but for now we do not use it. In addition, Konovalov noted that the mass production of T-50 has not yet begun at any of the aircraft manufacturing plants.

The T-50 was developed as a Russian response to the American F-22 and F-35 fighters. By the end of the year, flight test machines must be completed. And in 2013, they plan to start testing new missiles for it. It was shown to the general public last summer at the MAKS-2011 air show.

In addition, the Director of the World Trade Analysis Center weapons Igor Korotchenko believes that at the moment the T-50 project does not need financial support from Koreans. According to him, Russia has plans to sign a large contract with India, which has already expressed a desire to acquire 250 new T-50 fighter jets. Therefore, the loss of a hypothetical seven billion will not be critical for the project. He also mentioned that Russia already had experience in fighting for South Korean tenders, which showed that they were still betting on the United States.

Most likely, the suspicions that the tender is just an empty formality, and the preferences already given to partners from the United States, are by no means groundless. The Korean TV channel MBN made public the information that Seoul had already paid about a million dollars for the documentation of one of the American applicants F-35 before the tender was announced. This suggests that the political decision to purchase the F-35 has already been made, although, according to experts, in an honest competition, at least one more aircraft, the Eurofighter Typhoon, can compete with the American fighter.

Russia participated in the tender for the South Korean Air Force back in 2002 year. Su-35 lost then F-15 US production. However, it is worth noting that purchases of Russian military equipment for the South Korean army were still made. Armed with them now are tanks T-80U and BMP-3.

Independent Military Review recalled that Russians, Europeans and Americans had recently taken part in a tender announced by India, which involves the delivery of a multi-purpose aircraft under the MMRCA program. Russia introduced the MiG-35, which, however, did not become the winner. The leaders were the French Rafale and the European Typhoon.
Author:
Dedov Alexander
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

85 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Тендер на 7.3 миллиарда долларов отдан российскими производителями истребителя пятого поколения без борьбы

Как сообщает газета «Известия», производители истребителя Т-50 пятого поколения не стали бороться с зарубежными конкурентами за получение выгодного тендера на 7.3 миллиарда долларов, который был объявлен Южной Кореей. Как объяснили представители авиапрома России, на это есть несколько причин. Первая - Россия не хочет, чтобы секретные разработки попали к американским союзникам Южной Кореи. Вторая - производители не надеятся на победу. И третья - еще полностью не запущено серийное производство широко разрекламированных Т-50.

«Российская газета» отмечает, что Южной Кореей в рамках завершения третьего этапа проекта F-X, направленного на перевооружение ВВС, планирует приобрести 60 единиц истребителей, которые будут охранять небо над Кореей в следующие тридцать лет. Эта сделка уже получила название «контракт века» в связи с ее беспрецедентным для Южной Кореи масштабом производимых закупок.


Прием заявок в оргкомитет тендера прекратили еще в конце прошлой недели. По результатам оказалось, что бороться за корейские миллиарды будут Eurofighter Typhoon от европейского концерна EADS, истребитель Gripen от шведского SAAB, а также два представителя авиационной промышленности США - F-35 (Lightning-II) от Lockheed Martin и F-15SE (Silent Eagle) от Boeing. Ранее в газете The Korea Times, со ссылкой на Агентство оборонных закупок Южной Кореи, появилась информация о том, что за тендер собирается побороться и российское ОКБ «Сухой» со своим истребителем Т-50 (ПАК ФА).

Однако теперь стало известно, что руководство Объединенной авиастроительной корпорацией даже не собиралось выставлять на конкурс российские истребители. По словам источника «Известий» в ОАК, наработки, применяемые в Т-50, засекречены. Пока создано лишь три опытных образца этого самолета, экспортного варианта среди них еще нет. Кроме того, он отметил, что Южная Корея является союзником США, поэтому вряд ли стоило ожидать, что они выберут российские самолеты, а не американские.

Но главной причиной отказа российского производителя от участия в тендере, по мнению директора Института стратегических оценок и анализа Александра Коновалова, стало то, что разработчики пока не готовы представить конкурентный вариант истребителя пятого поколения на суд экспертов. По его словам, пока есть лишь намек на эту разработку, а требования в международных тендерах очень высокие – их бортовые системы должны уметь принять и обработать огромное количество информации, оснащаться очень мощным компьютером, быть способными развить сверхзвуковую скорость и оставаться при этом незаметными для радаров.

Эксперт добавил, что для снижения радиозаметности американцы применяют мелкие колечки из меди в покрытии истребителей, а у нас пока это не применяют. Кроме того, Коновалов отметил, что серийное производство Т-50 еще не начато ни на одном из авиастроительных заводов.

Т-50 разрабатывался как российский ответ на американские истребители F-22 и F-35. До конца года должны завершиться летные испытание машины. А в 2013 году планируют начать испытывать новые ракеты для нее. Широкой публике его продемонстрировали летом прошлого года на авиасалоне МАКС-2011.

Кроме того, директор Центра анализа мировой торговли оружием Игорь Коротченко считает, что в данный момент проекту Т-50 не нужна финансовая поддержка корейцев. По его словам, у России в планах подписание крупного контракта с Индией, которая уже выразила желание приобрести 250 новых истребителей Т-50. Поэтому потеря гипотетических семи миллиардов не станет для проекта критичной. Также он упомянул, что у России уже был опыт борьбы за южнокорейские тендеры, который показал, что ставку там все же делают на США.

Скорее всего, подозрения в том, что тендер – это всего лишь пустая формальность, а предпочтения уже отданы партнерам из США, отнюдь не беспочвенны. Корейским телеканалом MBN обнародована информация о тот, что Сеул еще до объявления тендера заплатил за документацию одного из американских претендентов F-35 около миллиона долларов. Это наводит на мысль, что политическое решение о закупке F-35 уже принято, хотя, по мнениям экспертов, в честной конкурентной борьбе, как минимум еще один самолет - Eurofighter Typhoon - может соперничать с американским истребителем.

Россия принимала участие в тендере для ВВС Южной Кореи еще в 2002 году. Су-35 проиграл тогда F-15 производства США. Впрочем, стоит отметить, что закупки российской боевой техники для армии Южной Кореи все же производились. На вооружении у них сейчас стоят танки Т-80У и БМП-3.

«Независимое военное обозрение» напомнило, что россияне, европейцы и американцы незадолго до этого приняли участие в тендере, объявленном Индией, который предполагает поставку многоцелевого самолета по программе MMRCA. Россия представила МиГ-35, который, впрочем, победителем не стал. В лидеры выбились французский Rafale и европейский Typhoon.
Автор:
Дедов Александр
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

84 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти