Military Review

Sweet sand

7
The internal political situation in Algeria is not least connected with the neighboring Western Sahara, the Spanish ex-colony, where for more than 40 years the local rebels, the Frente POLISARIO, have been fighting with the Moroccan army.


Sweet sandRabat considers this region its territory, but Algeria still helps the rebels. And recognizes the sovereignty of the Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR) proclaimed by this February 27 front of the 1976 year.

According to many experts, Rabat fears that the victory of POLISARIO and the full recognition of the SADR by the UN will allow Algeria to freely go to the Atlantic and thereby “surround” Morocco. Such a scenario would give control over the colossal resources of high-quality phosphate ore in Western Sahara, as well as large reserves of oil on the adjacent shelf. Morocco, we recall, is a net importer of black gold and up to 30 percent of the volume of consumed petroleum products. But whether it is in the interests of the West to increase the resource potential and political and economic influence of Algeria in the region is a question ... One can say the first confirmation of the anti-Algerian position is the participation of the French Air Force in 1958 in Spain’s military actions against Western Saharan guerrillas. The same thing happened in 1978. The French Air Force in support of the Moroccan military operation bombarded the positions of POLISARIO (Operation "Manatee").

Near the border with Western Sahara, that is, in the west and south-west of Algeria, with 70-x are refugee camps, of which there are many tens of thousands. In Morocco, they consider these camps as training centers for POLISARIO fighters. Such accusations, of course, complicate the already difficult Algerian-Moroccan relationship.

I recall that in Madrid in November 1975, Spain, Morocco and Mauritania agreed on the division of Western Sahara (in proportion of 70 and 30 percent) between Rabat and Nouakchott. The Algerian side formally condemned this document, likening it to the Munich conspiracy of 1938. Meanwhile, until the end of the 60-s in Morocco officially claimed to Mauritania, which is reflected in the Soviet directory "Countries of the World." And it says that the claims are not unreasonable (M., Politizdat, 1962, p. 237).

Therefore, the Moorish-Algerian political-economic rapprochement began in the middle of the 60-s. By the end of 70's, it was transformed into a single position on Western Sahara. In August, 1979, Mauritania signed a peace treaty with POLISARIO, which included the abandonment of "its" (southern) part of Western Sahara. Soon, Nouakchott recognized SADR as a sovereign state. But at the end of 1979, Moroccan troops captured almost the entire ex-Moorish part of Western Sahara.

The ceasefire regime prescribed by the UN since the fall of 1991 is under threat today. This is due, according to the leadership of SADR, with Morocco’s plans to resume military operations in Western Sahara under the pretext of fighting Islamist groups and drug trafficking. Anyway, up to 80 percent of the territory and the entire shelf, where the main mineral resources of Western Sahara are located, are controlled by Moroccan troops. But Rabat’s military activity against the POLISARIO will most likely be limited, for the same groups recently promised to release Ceuta, Melilla and the islands off the northern coast of Morocco from the Western occupation. These coastal enclaves of Spain still persist in the Moroccan north. But in their respect Rabat is much less determined than in the Western Sahara ...

By the way, the USSR and the PRC in 70 and later did not succumb to the persuasions of Algeria to support its position in this region and officially recognize the SADR. But Russia and even before 20 countries (including Spain, the UK, Brazil) recognize the right of Western Saharan to self-determination through a referendum under the auspices of the UN (China officially recognizes Western Sahara as part of Morocco). And for example, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Poland, Saudi Arabia, the United States, Turkey, France stand for the autonomy of the region within Morocco. The UN in 1980– 2000-x, on the initiative of Algeria, adopted over 15 documents on the organization and conduct of a referendum among Western Saharis (including refugees) on self-determination of the region. But these solutions have not been implemented ...

The self-proclaimed SADR qualifies in the UN as non-colonized territory and is included in the list of Non-Self-Governing. Nearly two-thirds (120) of UN members, including the Russian Federation, agree with this status of Western Sahara, and 60 states, including most African, officially recognize SADR independence. Only 22 countries count as part of Morocco Western Sahara.

With regard to the autonomy of the region, here lies the economic interests of those who favor it. First of all, the United States and France. The fact is that, according to the US Geological Survey, the UN Economic Commission for Africa and several other sources (2015 – 2016), the proven reserves of high-grade phosphate ore in Western Sahara are no less than 10,6 billion tons. This is 26 percent global. The largest Bu-Kraa deposit with reserves of up to 1,6 billion tons (and with a record 70-percentage of phosphate rock in the ore) is not far from the border with Morocco.

According to the German chemical expert Horst Enger, “a high proportion of mineral in the rock, shallow phosphate-bearing formations and proximity of Bu Krau to the Atlantic coast (no more than 80 kilometers) significantly reduce the costs of extraction and export of phosphates. By the middle of 70, German companies had built from Bu-Kraa to Lablay terminal in the port of Laayoune, renamed POLISARIO to Dakhla, a transport corridor with a throughput of 15 million tons of phosphate ore per year. ” Almost all of the phosphate subsoil in SADR is controlled by Morocco, but a characteristic fact is that about 40 percent of the annual production volume at Bu Kraa is exported to the USA, and up to 35 percent - to Western Europe.

The explored hydrocarbon reserves on the shelf near SADR and in its other areas are estimated by Western companies in 14 – 17 million barrels of oil and 2,2 – 3,5 billion cubic meters of gas. But the estimated reserves here are at least three times more.

Hence, the proposals of a number of Western importing countries on the autonomy of the region within Morocco. But to completely separate the region and, therefore, to allow Algeria into these “bins” is hardly in the long-term interests of Western business.
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/34642
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. knn54
    knn54 14 January 2017 07: 55
    +1
    We are waiting, with ISIS, well, they cannot live without oil. And the Yankes are waiting for "ball" oil in the bins.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 14 January 2017 08: 24
    +2
    But to completely separate the region and, therefore, to allow Algeria into these "bins"
    or recognize SADR as an independent state .. of course it’s not profitable for the West .. they can stop the robbery ..
    1. Teberii
      Teberii 14 January 2017 08: 45
      +1
      It is not in the interest of former and new colonists to crush such a tidbit.
  3. knn54
    knn54 14 January 2017 09: 34
    +2
    The forecast is not my hobby. Although
    On May 31, the leader of the "Polisario Front", the head of the SADR Mohammed Abdelaziz, who had been heading the struggle for the independence of Western Sahara since 1976, died ASAP.
    The late head of the SADR spoke out against Islamic terrorism. He pursued a LOVING policy. He also enjoyed the support of Algeria.
    -Pan Ki-moon visited a refugee camp in March and called the territorial status of Western Sahara an "occupation."
    -Yankesy and China. promoted the emergence of South Sudan FOR Greater control of oil production.
    situation in Mozambique
    I repeat: wait, sir.
  4. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 14 January 2017 10: 20
    +1
    Do you have something to profit from? Then we go to you. That's the whole western alignment.
  5. Monster_Fat
    Monster_Fat 14 January 2017 10: 23
    +4
    China silently, without noise, is engaged in the purchase of any land in Africa. Sly Chinese obviously know something about the future .... wink
  6. Serega86
    Serega86 15 January 2017 01: 20
    0
    An interesting article +, I did not even know that Algeria has tension with someone

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Лакомый песок

Внутриполитическая ситуация в Алжире не в последнюю очередь связана с соседней Западной Сахарой, испанской экс-колонией, где уже свыше 40 лет местные повстанцы – фронт ПОЛИСАРИО – воюют с армией Марокко.

Лакомый песокРабат считает этот регион свой территорией, но Алжир по-прежнему помогает повстанцам. И признает суверенитет Сахарской Арабской Демократической Республики (САДР), провозглашенной этим фронтом 27 февраля 1976 года.

По мнению многих экспертов, Рабат опасается, что победа ПОЛИСАРИО и полноценное признание САДР со стороны ООН позволят Алжиру беспрепятственно выйти к Атлантике и тем самым «окружить» Марокко. Такой сценарий даст контроль над колоссальными ресурсами высококачественной фосфоритовой руды в Западной Сахаре, а также крупными запасами нефти на прилегающем шельфе. Марокко же, напомним, нетто-импортер черного золота и до 30 процентов объема потребляемых нефтепродуктов. Но в интересах ли Запада увеличивать ресурсный потенциал и политико-экономическое влияние Алжира в регионе – вопрос… Можно сказать, первое подтверждение антиалжирской позиции – участие французских ВВС еще в 1958 году в военных действиях Испании против западносахарских партизан. То же повторилось в 1978-м. ВВС Франции в поддержку военной операции Марокко бомбардировали позиции ПОЛИСАРИО (операция «Ламантин»).


Вблизи границы с Западной Сахарой, то есть на западе и юго-западе Алжира, с 70-х находятся лагеря беженцев, коих там многие десятки тысяч. В Марокко считают эти лагеря центрами подготовки бойцов ПОЛИСАРИО. Такие обвинения, естественно, усложняют и без того непростые алжиро-марокканские взаимоотношения.

Напомню, что в Мадриде в ноябре 1975 года Испания, Марокко и Мавритания договорились о разделе Западной Сахары (в пропорции 70 и 30 процентов) между Рабатом и Нуакшотом. Алжирская сторона официально осудила этот документ, уподобив его Мюнхенскому сговору 1938-го. Между тем до конца 60-х в Марокко официально претендовали и на Мавританию, что отражено в советском справочнике «Страны мира». Причем там сказано, что претензии небезосновательны (М., Политиздат, 1962, стр. 237).

Потому и началось с середины 60-х мавритано-алжирское политико-экономическое сближение. К концу 70-х оно трансформировалось в единую позицию по Западной Сахаре. В августе 1979 года Мавритания подписала с ПОЛИСАРИО договор о мире, включавший отказ от «своей» (южной) части Западной Сахары. Вскоре Нуакшот признал САДР суверенным государством. Но уже в конце 1979-го войска Марокко захватили почти всю экс-мавританскую часть Западной Сахары.

Режим прекращения огня в регионе, предписанный ООН с осени 1991-го, сегодня под угрозой. Это связано, как считают в руководстве САДР, с планами Марокко возобновить военные операции в Западной Сахаре под предлогом борьбы с исламистскими группировками и наркотрафиком. Так или иначе, до 80 процентов территории и весь шельф, где расположены основные минеральные ресурсы Западной Сахары, контролируют марокканские войска. Но военная активность Рабата против ПОЛИСАРИО наверняка будет лимитирована, ибо те же группировки недавно пообещали освободить от западной оккупации Сеуту, Мелилью и острова у северного берега Марокко. Эти прибрежные анклавы Испании поныне сохраняются на марокканском севере. Но в их отношении Рабат настроен куда менее решительно, чем по Западной Сахаре…

Кстати, СССР и КНР в 70-х и позже не поддались на уговоры Алжира поддержать его позицию по этому региону и официально признать САДР. Но Россия и еще до 20 стран (включая Испанию, Великобританию, Бразилию) признают право западносахарцев на самоопределение посредством референдума под эгидой ООН (КНР официально признает Западную Сахару частью Марокко). А например, Азербайджан, Белоруссия, Польша, Саудовская Аравия, США, Турция, Франция выступают за автономию региона в составе Марокко. ООН в 1980– 2000-х по инициативе Алжира приняла свыше 15 документов об организации и проведении референдума среди западносахарцев (включая беженцев) по самоопределению региона. Но эти решения так и не реализованы…

Самопровозглашенная САДР квалифицируется в ООН как недеколонизованная территория и включена в список несамоуправляющихся. С этим статусом Западной Сахары согласны почти две трети (120) членов ООН, включая РФ, а 60 государств, в том числе большинство Африканских, официально признают независимость САДР. Составной частью Марокко Западную Сахару считают только 22 страны.

Что касается варианта автономии региона, здесь кроются экономические интересы тех, кто за это выступает. Прежде всего США и Франции. Дело в том, что, по данным геологической службы США, Экономической комиссии ООН для Африки и ряда других источников (2015–2016), разведанные запасы фосфорной руды высокого качества в Западной Сахаре – не меньше 10,6 миллиарда тонн. Это 26 процентов общемировых. Крупнейшее месторождение Бу-Краа с запасами до 1,6 миллиарда тонн (и с рекордной 70-процентной долей фосфоритов в руде) – невдалеке от границы с Марокко.

По данным германского эксперта по вопросам химической отрасли Хорста Энгера, «высокая доля минерала в породе, неглубокое залегание фосфатосодержащих пластов и близость Бу-Краа к атлантическому побережью (не более 80 километров) существенно сокращают издержки по добыче и экспорту фосфатов. Еще к середине 70-х компании ФРГ построили от Бу-Краа к терминалу Лаблая в порту Эль-Аюн, переименованном ПОЛИСАРИО в Дахла, транспортный коридор с пропускной способностью 15 миллионов тонн фосфатной руды в год». Почти все фосфатные недра в САДР контролирует Марокко, но характерный факт: около 40 процентов объема ежегодной добычи в Бу-Краа вывозится в США, до 35 процентов – в Западную Европу.

Разведанные запасы углеводородов на шельфе вблизи САДР и в других ее районах оцениваются компаниями Запада в 14–17 миллионов баррелей нефти и 2,2–3,5 миллиарда кубометров газа. Но предполагаемых запасов здесь минимум втрое больше.

Отсюда и предложения ряда западных стран-импортеров об автономии региона в составе Марокко. А вот полностью отделять регион и, значит, допускать в эти «закрома» Алжир – едва ли отвечает долговременным интересам западного бизнеса.
Автор: Алексей Чичкин
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/34642


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. knn54 14 января 2017 07:55
    Ждем-с ИГИЛ-ну не могут они жить без нефти.И янкесы ждут в закрома "шаровую"нефть.
  2. parusnik 14 января 2017 08:24
    А вот полностью отделять регион и, значит, допускать в эти «закрома» Алжир
    или признать САДР независимым государством..конечно Западу не выгодно..грабеж могут и приостановить..
    1. Teberii 14 января 2017 08:45
      Не в интересах бывших и новых колонистов дробить такой лакомый кусок.
  3. knn54 14 января 2017 09:34
    Прогноз не мой конёк.хотя
    -31 мая СКОРОПОСТИЖНО скончался лидер "Фронта ПОЛИСАРИО", глава САДР Мохаммед Абдельазиз.с 1976 г. возглавлявший борьбу за независимость Западной Сахары.
    Покойный глава САДР высказывался против исламского терроризма.Проводил МИРОЛЮБИВУЮ политику. Пользовался и поддержкой Алжира.
    -Пан Ги Мун в марте посетил лагерь беженцев и назвал территориальный статус Западной Сахары "оккупацией".
    -янкесы и КНР. содействовали появлению Южного Судана ДЛЯ Большего контроля контроля над нефтедобычей.
    -ситуация в Мозамбике
    Повторюсь:ждем-с.
  4. rotmistr60 14 января 2017 10:20
    У вас есть чем нам поживиться? Тогда мы идем к вам. Вот и весь западный расклад.
  5. Monster_Fat 14 января 2017 10:23
    Китай молча, без шума занимается скупкой ЛЮБОЙ земли в Африке. Хитрые китайцы очевидно что-то такое знают о будущем.... wink
  6. Serega86 15 января 2017 01:20
    Интересная статья +, даже не знал что у Алжира с кем-то напряженности есть
Картина дня