Emelyan Pugachev - a rebel or ...

7
Many in stories Russia was peasant wars, uprisings and riots. For several centuries, a patient and long-suffering people rebelled against their oppressors and cruelly punished them for their greed and heartlessness. Each time a certain mysterious personality appeared on the crest of the people's wrath, which was the whole force of popular indignation. Such an embodiment of bloody madness was Stenka Razin, Emelyan Pugachev had the same image. Born in the same village, they had a similar fate and played a big role in the life of the Russian Empire. Their tragic end was also common.

Considering the “Pugachevschina”, it is necessary to establish what this terrible and bloody phenomenon was. The movement cannot be called a peasant war, since workers from the Ural factories, free roving people, and even noblemen joined the insurgents. The clergy and the military also came over to Pugachev’s side. The core of the army, as well as the uprising of Razin, remained a free and freedom-loving Cossacks. Most historians call the rise of the Russian people a revolt, and therefore we will join them and agree with this point of view.

Prerequisites for the emergence of the main rebel was enough. The reign of Catherine II, although called the “golden age of enlightenment,” cannot be called so fully. The Empress paid more attention to the nobles and the state administration, while in relation to the peasants, workers and Cossacks, the measures taken were depressing. Free Zaporozhye was subjected to strict subordination by state governors, starting with the development of Orenburg and the appointment of a representative of imperial power to the city. Cossacks were forced to carry certain duties, the most difficult of which was obligatory service in the ranks of the regular army. Repeated unrest on the Don was brutally suppressed, and brave and glorious warriors were subjected to humiliation in the form of public flogging and tearing out nostrils, which served as an additional irritant.

Emelyan Pugachev from his youth was notable for his violent temper, for which he often had a bit of whips. In the village, according to historical information, he had a lawful wife, Sophia, and children, whom he often left and wandered, embarrassing the people and calling for action. Contemporaries claim that Pugachev was outwardly similar to Peter Fedorovich, but it was hardly possible to trust such rumors, as the population often could not even accurately describe the ruling sovereign, not to mention her late spouse. Did the Don Cossacks believe that Emelyan, who came from Poland, really is Peter 3 or not? Even today there are the most courageous points of view on this fact, which feeds their strange behavior of the monarchs in relation to the relatives of the executed rebel. Both wives and children of Pugachev were imprisoned for the rest of their lives and died without posterity. They were strictly isolated by Catherine II, refused to let go of Paul and subsequent rulers, which raises some doubts about the veracity of the official version of the origin of the eighth impostor.



The appearance of 1772, the new rebel on the Don, immediately attracted the attention of the governor. At that time, Yemelyan Ivanovich had a great experience of military battles. He visited the battles of the Seven Years and the Turkish Wars and understood military affairs well. His stories about his royal origin forced the local authorities to react, as a result of which Pugachev was captured and taken to Kazan for trial and punishment. However, the successful and already known enough impostor soon escaped and reappeared among the Cossacks.

In September, 1773 Pugachev announces his first imperial edict, in which he calls the Cossacks to action and promises them former freedom and liberties. The text of the appeal also contained cherished words about exemption from the poll tax and freedom, which played a significant role in attracting the peasants to participate in the uprising. It is not surprising that a lot of volunteers were recruited into the squadron, however the squadron was still few in number, although it consisted of professional warriors who owned weapons from an early age. Attempts to take Yaik were unsuccessful, despite the fact that the rebel detachment was growing rapidly. After brief attempts to invade the city, Pugachev went further and set up a military camp near the Iletsky settlement. Here, the rebel again played the role of Peter Fyodorovich escaped and accepted a multitude of people into the ranks of the insurgents, after which the main forces moved to Orenburg, taking several fortresses along the way. The first stage of the rebellion led by Pugachev lasts until the siege is lifted from this glorious city. Then followed a series of small clashes with the imperial forces and the capture of fortresses. The rebel movement went with alternate success, but was essentially supported by the unrest of the serfs and workers. Finally, there was the first serious defeat of the rebellious army by the army under the command of Michels. The uprising finally ended only after the devastating defeat of the impostor at Black Yar. The leader was issued to the authorities for trial. The execution took place on Bolotnaya Square and consisted of quartering. However, unlike Razin’s execution, Pugachev’s head was cut off immediately and death was less painful. Emelyan Ivanovich behaved with dignity, which is characteristic of the proud Don Cossacks.

Emelyan Pugachev - a rebel or ...


The military art of Yemelyan Ivanovich and the support of the Don Cossacks allowed to capture many fortresses, cities, factories, but since the first stage, the rebel was perceived by the population ambiguous. Some cities and fortresses occupied self-defense, and residents voluntarily assisted the imperial authorities in the fight against the rebels. This behavior is associated with the incredible cruelty of the rebels. Captured cities literally bled to death the townspeople. The rebels raped women and killed children, made drunken fights and brutally cracked down on officials. The rebels practiced robbery. Even the confessors could not escape from them, they were also tormented and tortured, which more often instilled horror in the hearts of civilians than other feelings. However, it is worth making a reservation that cruelty on the part of the punishers was practiced no less, although it manifested itself selectively.

Describing the events of "Pugachev" should focus on the strange behavior of the Empress in relation to Yemelyan Ivanovich. First, she called him "Marquis", and the question of what this nickname was connected with has not yet been resolved. Secondly, the empress was afraid even of the executed rebel, which is confirmed by the desire of imperial officials to sharpen his living relatives in eternal bondage. All property and documents were immediately seized and destroyed, or transferred to secret archives, the authorities sought to eliminate all references to this person.



Third, the discussions themselves about the uprising and its causes were considered a violation of the law under Catherine II. What was the empress so afraid of, and why did the rebel so much disturb the succeeding monarchs? We are unlikely to know this, since most of the documents about him were carefully hidden or destroyed. However, there are opinions that prominent French and Polish influential figures stood behind Pugachev’s back.

Since this information is extremely controversial and based on unverified facts, they should not be trusted unconditionally, but it is still necessary to think about the real reasons for the strange behavior of royal persons.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +4
    2 February 2012 10: 30
    the complete lack of rights of the peasants, from the first moment to the last, was recognized by the people as a temporary phenomenon, due to the needs of the state.
    The power of the nobility was established by the king and could only be held by the king. It was a clear and obvious fact. A peasant, immersed in lawlessness, said about himself: "The soul of God, the body is royal, and the back is lordly." The peasant served the master because the master served the king. True, the manifesto on the freedom of the nobility, having abolished the obligatory service of the nobles, thereby logically demanded the abolition of serfdom as well. This logic of things did not remain alien to the Pugachevism, which was a declaration of the moral illegality of serfdom after the manifesto of 1762.
    The peasants have never lost confidence that the king is also their king, common, popular, and not noble.
    Under Catherine II, the serfs lost the last remnants of their personal freedom and turned into "baptized property." The last point was put when the "Northern Minerva" forbade the peasants to complain to the representatives of the state about the illegal actions of their landlords.
    Pugachev raised the peasants to revolt, spreading the rumor circulating among the people that Peter III was killed by his wife, a German and noblemen, for what he also wanted to give liberties and serfs.
    Pugachev's main slogan: "freedom of the Orthodox faith"... Pugachev promised in his manifestos that everyone in his kingdom would "keep the old faith, it would be forbidden to shave a beard and wear a German dress."
    Pugachevschina is the response of the people to an alien form of Western European slavery, which replaced the former soft form of serfdom. Pugachevschina is the response of the people to a manifesto of liberty for the nobility, which freed the nobility from all obligations to the State, but left the peasants completely dependent on the nobility.
    Freedom of faith and the legitimate monarchical principle are the main motives of this genuine popular movement. Half of the empire was embraced by the spirit of rebellion and rebellion and the broad masses of the people did not give another name to Pugachev, like Peter III. The tortured Pyotr Feodorovich seemed to come out of the grave with his avenger and made the nobility tremble, which even in Moscow was waiting for Pugachev and considered himself doomed.

    The powerful scope of the Pugachev uprising is explained by the fact that the people believed him that he was the saved Orthodox Tsar, who would return Russia to the path of his ancestors.
  2. Strabo
    +1
    2 February 2012 11: 18
    The official history is a little disingenuous in questions about the Pugachev region. Well, how could you not be cunning, because then you would have to admit that these events were of a nature essentially a civil war. When brother went against brother The main events took place on the lands of the Ural (Yaik) Cossack army. Now the territory of Kazakhstan. The Cossacks were also divided into two fronts, those who went for a lie by the king and who did not accept him at all. By the way, Pugachav was not literate; he could neither write nor read. Cossacks were the first to suffer from this riot. The river and the city - Yaik were renamed the Urals and, accordingly, Uralsk. Cossacks were deprived of privileges. And in general, if it were not for Pushkin who was closely involved in this issue, we would not have known about such a historical event. Few people know the fact that Generalisimus Suvorov came to Uralsk to escort Pugachev and conduct the first interrogations. this suggests that Catherine II was looking for signs of foreign interference in state affairs. It is a pity that the minutes of the interrogation of Pugachev’s wives are not published. There, the verbal description of their husbands, both wives give different. Both by age and by height. Maybe they were different people?
    1. -1
      2 February 2012 12: 10
      Suvorov was not yet a generalissimo or even a field marshal. And as for interrogations - was the political investigation in the military department, like the Secret Chancellery was engaged in this.
  3. 0
    2 February 2012 11: 19
    But Katya Anhalt-Tserbskaya was not afraid of Pugacheva specifically, but of the Russian people under his leadership. After all, they knew that a foreigner ruled Russia. The Dowager Empress understood that her position on the throne was precarious all the more so in a foreign country - that is why she tried to appease the Russian aristocracy. Therefore, they exploited the indigenous people worse than the colonialists.
  4. Strabo
    +1
    2 February 2012 11: 24
    Otherwise, why explain that until the end of their days both innocent wives and children were in captivity? A lot of white spots in this story. Although the events were like not so long ago. And during his lifetime, Pushkin talked with the direct participants in those events.
  5. Commoner
    0
    2 February 2012 11: 49
    Here, I found this on me:

    Luxury and resentment ...
    Freedom and Quartering ....
    How dark are you, holy Russia,
    When I take up the pitchfork ...
  6. zakko2009
    0
    26 January 2014 21: 32
    Emelyanu Pugacheva
    Vladimir Shebzukhov

    Stories are Forgiven
    This rebellion, since not otherwise:

    When people live badly,
    Know the king is not real!

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Емельян Пугачев – бунтарь или…

Емельян Пугачев – бунтарь или…Много в истории России было крестьянских войн, восстаний и бунтов. Терпеливый и многострадальный народ за несколько веков не раз восставал против своих угнетателей и жестоко карал их за жадность и бездушие. Каждый раз на гребне народного гнева появлялась некая таинственная личность, являвшая собой всю силу народного негодования. Таким воплощением кровавого безумия был Стенька Разин, тот же образ имел и Емельян Пугачев. Рожденные в одной станице, они имели схожую судьбу и сыграли большую роль в жизни Российской империи. Общим был и их трагический конец.

Рассматривая «пугачевщину» необходимо установить, что же представляло собой это страшное и кровопролитное явление. Назвать движение крестьянской войной нельзя, так как к повстанцам примыкали и рабочие с уральских заводов, и вольные бродячие люди, и даже дворяне. Переходило на сторону Пугачева и духовенство, и военные. Ядром же армии, как и восстании Разина, оставалось вольное и свободолюбивое казачество. Большинство историков именуют подъем русского народа бунтом, поэтому и мы примкнем к их числу и согласимся с этой точкой зрения.

Предпосылок для появления главного бунтаря было предостаточно. Правление Екатерины II, хотя и называется «золотым веком просвещения», не может именоваться таковым в полной мере. Императрица уделяла внимание более дворянам и государственному управлению, в отношении же крестьян, рабочих и казаков принятые меры носили угнетающий характер. Вольное Запорожье подверглось жесткому подчинению со стороны государственных губернаторов, начиная с развития Оренбурга и назначения в город представителя императорской власти. Казаков принуждали нести определенные повинности, самой тяжелой из которых оказалась обязательная служба в рядах регулярной армии. Неоднократные волнения на Дону жестоко подавлялись, а бравые и славные воины подвергались унижениям в виде публичной порки и вырыванию ноздрей, что служило дополнительным раздражителем.


Емельян Пугачев смолоду отличался буйным нравом, за что часто бывал бит плетьми. В станице по историческим сведениям у него имелась законная жена Софья и дети, которых он часто покидал и бродяжничал, смущая народ и призывая к активным действиям. Современники утверждают, что внешне Пугачев был сходен с Петром Федоровичем, однако доверять таким слухам вряд ли возможно, так как зачастую население не могло точно описать даже правящую государыню, не говоря уже о ее покойном супруге. Верили ли донские казаки в то, что пришедший из Польши Емельян действительно является Петром 3 или нет сказать точно нельзя. Даже сегодня существуют самые смелые точки зрения на этот факт, питает их странное поведение монарших особ относительно родственников казненного бунтаря. Обе жены и дети Пугачева находились в заточении всю оставшуюся жизнь и умерли без потомства. Их строго изолировала Екатерина II, отказался отпустить Павел и последующие государи, что порождает некоторые сомнения в правдивости официальной версии происхождения восьмого самозванца.

Емельян Пугачев – бунтарь или…


Появление 1772 году нового бунтаря на Дону сразу же привлекло внимание губернатора. В то время у Емельяна Ивановича был большой опыт военных сражений. Он побывал в баталиях Семилетней и Турецких войн и хорошо понимал военное дело. Его рассказы о своем монаршем происхождении заставили отреагировать местную власть, в результате чего Пугачев был схвачен и вывезен в Казань для суда и наказания. Однако удачливый и уже достаточно известный к тому времени самозванец в скором времени бежал и вновь появился среди казаков.

В сентябре 1773 Пугачев оглашает свой первый императорский указ, в котором призывает казаков к действию и обещает им былую свободу и вольности. В тексте обращения были также заветные слова об освобождении от подушной подати и свободе, что сыграло значительную роль в привлечении к участию в восстании крестьян. Неудивительно, что добровольцев в отряд было набрано немало, однако отряд был еще малочисленен, хотя и состоял из профессиональных воинов, владеющих оружием с малых лет. Попытки взять Яик не увенчались успехом, несмотря на то, что отряд повстанцев стремительно рос. После непродолжительных попыток вторжения в город Пугачев направился далее и встал военным лагерем близ Илецкого поселения. Здесь бунтарь вновь выступил в роли спасшегося Петра Федоровича и принял в ряды повстанцев множество народа, после чего основные силы двинулись на Оренбург, взяв по дороге несколько крепостей. Первый этап бунта под предводительством Пугачева длиться вплоть до снятия осады с этого славного города. Затем последовала череда захватов небольших стычек с имперскими силами и взятие крепостей. Движение повстанцев шло с попеременным успехом, но существенно поддерживалось волнениями крепостных и рабочих. Наконец, произошел первый серьезный разгром бунтарского войска армией под командованием Михельса. Окончательно завершилось восстание лишь после сокрушительного поражения самозванца у Черного Яра. Предводитель был выдан властям для суда. Казнь проходила на Болотной площади и заключалась в четвертовании. Однако, в отличие от казни Разина, Пугачеву голова была отсечена сразу и смерть была менее мучительной. Вел себя Емельян Иванович достойно, что свойственно гордым донским казакам.

Емельян Пугачев – бунтарь или…


Военное искусство Емельяна Ивановича и поддержка донского казачества позволила захватить множество крепостей, городов, заводов, но начиная с первого этапа, воспринимался бунтарь населением неоднозначно. Некоторые города и крепости занимали самооборону, а жители добровольно помогали имперским властям в борьбе с повстанцами. Такое поведение связано с неимоверной жестокостью бунтарей. Захваченные города в буквальном смысле истекали кровью горожан. Повстанцы насиловали женщин и убивали детей, устраивали пьяные дебоши и жестоко расправлялись с чиновниками. Повстанцы практиковали грабеж. Не могли спастись от них даже духовники, их также терзали и мучили, что чаще вселяло ужас в сердца мирных жителей, чем иные чувства. Однако стоит оговориться, что жестокость со стороны карателей практиковалась ничуть не меньшая, хотя и проявлялась она избирательно.

Описывая события «пугачевщины» следует заострить внимание на странном поведении императрицы в отношении Емельяна Ивановича. Во-первых, именовала она его «маркизом», причем вопрос о том, с чем было связано такое прозвище, до сих пор не решен. Во-вторых, государыня опасалась даже казненного бунтаря, что подтверждается стремлением имперских чиновников заточить живых родственников его в вечную неволю. Все имущество и документы немедленно изымались и уничтожались, либо передавались в секретные архивы, власти стремились истребить все упоминания об этом человеке.

Емельян Пугачев – бунтарь или…


В-третьих, сами обсуждения восстания и его причин считались нарушением закона при Екатерине II. Чего так боялась императрица, и почему бунтарь так сильно тревожил последующих монархов? Это мы вряд ли узнаем, поскольку большинство документов о нем было тщательно спрятано или уничтожено. Однако существуют мнения, что за спиной Пугачева стояли известные французские и польские влиятельные деятели.

Так как эти сведения крайне противоречивы и основаны на непроверенных фактах им не стоит безоговорочно доверять, но задуматься о подлинных причинах странного поведения царственных особ все же следует.
Автор: Вадим Собин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. Аскет 2 февраля 2012 10:30
    полное бесправие крестьян, с первого момента и до последнего, сознавалось народом, как явление временное, обусловленное потребностями государства.
    Власть дворянства была создана царем и могла держаться только царем. Это был явный и очевидный факт. Мужик, погруженный в бесправие, говорил о себе: "Душа Божья, тело царское, а спина барская". Мужик служил барину потому, что барин служил царю. Правда, манифест о вольности дворянства, уничтожив обязательную службу дворян, тем самым логически требовал уничтожения также и крепостного права. Эта логика вещей не осталась чужда Пугачевщине, которая была заявлением нравственной незаконности крепостного права после манифеста 1762 г.
    Никогда крестьяне не теряли уверенности, что царь есть также и их царь, общий, всенародный, а не дворянский.
    При Екатерине II крепостные крестьяне потеряли последние остатки своей личной свободы и превратились в "крещенную собственность". Последняя точка была поставлена, когда "Северная Минерва" запретила крестьянам жаловаться представителям государства на противозаконные действия своих помещиков.
    Пугачев поднял крестьян на восстание, распространяя ходивший в народе слух, что Петр III был убит своей женой немкой и дворянами за то, что он хотел дать также вольность и крепостным.
    Главный лозунг Пугачева: "свобода православной веры". Пугачев в своих манифестах обещал, что в его царстве все будут "держать старую веру, будет запрещено брить бороду и носить немецкое платье".
    Пугачевщина это ответ народа на чуждую ему форму западноевропейского рабства, сменившую прежнюю мягкую форму крепостной зависимости. Пугачевщина это ответ народа на манифест вольности дворянству, освобождавшего дворянство от всяких обязанностей Государству, но оставлявшего крестьян в полной зависимости от дворян.
    Свобода веры и легитимный монархический принцип — главные мотивы этого подлинного народного движения. Половина империи была объята духом мятежа и восстания и широкие народные массы не давали другого имени Пугачеву, как Петр III. Замученный Петр Феодорович как бы вышел из могилы своим мстителем и заставил трепетать дворянство, которое даже в Москве ждало Пугачева и считало себя обреченным.

    Мощный размах восстания Пугачева объясняется тем, что народ поверил ему, что он спасшийся православный царь, который вернет Русь на путь предков.
  2. Страбон 2 февраля 2012 11:18
    Официальная история немного лукавит в вопросах о Пугачевщине. Ну а как не лукавить ведь тогда бы пришлось признать, что эти события носили характер по сути гражданской войны. Когда брат пошел против брата. Основные события происходили на землях Уральского (Яикского) казачьего войска. Ныне территория Казахстана. Казаки так же разделились на два фронта, тех кто пошел за лже царем и кто вообще его не принял. К слову сказать Пугачав был не грамотным не умел ни писать ни читать. От этого бунта пострадали в первую очередь казаки. Реку и город - Яик переименовали в Урал и соответственно Уральск. Казаков лишили привелегий. И вообще если бы не Пушкин который вплотную занимался этим вопросом, мы бы и не знали о таком историческом событии. Мало кому известен тот факт, что этапировать Пугачева и проводить первые допросы в Уральск приезжал генералисимус Суворов. это говорит о том, что Екатерина II искала следы иностранного вмешательства в дела государства. Жаль, что не публикуют протоколы допросов жен Пугачева. Там словесное описание своих мужей обе жены дают разные. Как по возрасту так и росту. Может это и были разные люди?
    Страбон
    1. Prometey 2 февраля 2012 12:10
      Суворов тогда не был еще генералиссимусом и даже фельдмаршалом. И насчет допросов - разве политический сыск был в ведомстве военных, вроде этим занималась Тайная канцелярия.
  3. Prometey 2 февраля 2012 11:19
    А испугалась Катя Ангальт-Цербская не конкретно Пугачева, а русского народа под его предводительством. Ведь знали, что Россией правит чужеземка. Вдовствующая императрица понимала, что ее положение на троне шатко тем более в чужой стране - вот поэтому и старалась ублажать русскую аристократию. Поэтому и эксплуатировали коренной народ похлеще, чем колонизаторы.
  4. Страбон 2 февраля 2012 11:24
    Иначе, чем объяснить, что до конца своих дней обе ни в чем неповинные жены и дети были в неволе? Очень много белых пятен в этой истории. Хотя события были вроде и не так давно. И Пушкин при жизни разговаривал с непосредственными участниками тех cобытий.
    Страбон
  5. Простолюдин 2 февраля 2012 11:49
    Вот, нашло такое на меня:

    Роскошь и негодование...
    Свобода и четвертование....
    Как темна ты, святая Русь,
    Когда я за вилы берусь...
    Простолюдин
  6. zakko2009 26 января 2014 21:32
    Емельяну Пугачёву
    Владимир Шебзухов

    Истории дано простить
    Сей бунт, коль, не иначе:

    Когда народу плохо жить,
    Знать, царь — не Настоящий!
    zakko2009

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня