Military Review

Arsenal with a beard

11
Brexit pushed the same passion over the independence referendum of Scotland into the background, thanks to the sober-mindedness of the local electorate, which still preserved the integrity of the United Kingdom. But such an outcome prevented the geopolitical drama associated with the possible collapse of a nuclear power. There is a precedent - the collapse of the USSR.


The nuclear power of Britain is several times inferior and inferior to the forces of the Soviet Union (Russia) and the United States. Nevertheless, Albion has the potential to cause unacceptable damage to a potential enemy. In creating and improving nuclear weapons, the British relied on US assistance. No one else has the Americans provided legal support in the development and expansion of nuclear weapons, except for the British. The action of the Anglo-American cooperation agreement in this field (Mutual Defense Agreement - MDA), signed in 1958, is extended to 2024.

The idea of ​​acquiring an atomic bomb was approved in December by 1941-nd by Prime Minister Churchill, who received a proposal for joint development a month earlier from US President Roosevelt. They agreed not to use nuclear weapons against each other. weapons, keeping information about him in secret from third countries and about the direct participation of British scientists in the Manhattan project, successfully implemented by 1945. However, the following year, cooperation ceased for some time, and in 1947, on the initiative of the new British Prime Minister Attlee, the British started an independent nuclear project.

"Blue Danube", "Yellow Sun"

The country's first-class research and production potential and the experience of participating in the Manhattan project allowed the first nuclear test to be carried out on October 3 1952 in the waters of Trimouilly Island off the northwest coast of Australia.

If the United States and the USSR in the first tests blew up nuclear charges in special towers, the British placed it in the hold of an anchored frigate Plym. Moreover, the guard himself delivered his death in the past, having made the transition with the top-secret cargo from England. The explosion pulled into 25 kilotons, the British coped with the task no worse than the Americans in Alamogordo and the Soviet scientists near Semipalatinsk. 28 on April 1958, the strategic bomber of the Valiant Air Force, dropped the first full-scale hydrogen bomb over Polynesian Christmas Island (operation Grapple Y - “Fight Wye”). The energy release during the test was 2 MT.

In 1952 – 1991, the UK conducted 45 nuclear tests: 21 in Australia and the Pacific, 24 in the United States. Among them were rather unusual: 9 of October 1957 of the year at the Maralling testing ground in Australia, a charge of 25 kilotons was blown up, suspended under three balloons at an altitude of about 300 meters (Antler's operation - “Antler”).

Arsenal with a beardThe first nuclear bombs to enter the strategic arsenal in 1953 aviation UK, became the Blue Danube ("Blue Danube") with a capacity of 15 kilotons (in the latest samples brought up to 40 kilotons). These plutonium and uranium-plutonium products were structurally similar to the American Fat Man (“Fat Man”) dumped on Nagasaki. However, the British bombs were distinguished by an elongated pointed shape, which, according to the creators, increased the accuracy of the bombing. 20 Blue Danube were in service until 1962.

The “Blue Danube” was followed by the more advanced Red Beard (“Red Beard”) with a capacity of 5–20 kilotons (in the years 1961–1971 in the arsenal of the British Air Force and Aviation fleet there were up to 110 of these bombs), as well as the 400-kiloton thermonuclear Yellow Sun ("Yellow Sun") Mk1. They were released a little in 1958, which is associated with the launch of the Yellow Sun Mk2 modification with a charge of 1 MT. About 150 of these bombs replenished the British nuclear arsenal in 1961 and remained in it until 1972. Then, from 1966 they were replaced by thermonuclear WE177s with a variable power from 0,5 to 450 kilotons. They existed in tactical, strategic and anti-submarine variants. And they served 32 years. Perhaps their prototypes were the American B61 and B57. Great Britain allegedly did not produce more nuclear and thermonuclear bombs.

On every brave enough air defense

The first British strategic carriers of nuclear bombs in the 50 were the pre- and near-sound turbojet bombers of the V-Valiant ("The Brave"), Victor ("Winner") and Vulcan ("Vulcan") families. The speed of the last, the most perfect of the three, reached 1200 kilometers per hour, the practical ceiling was 19 thousand meters, the maximum flight range was 7650 kilometers. However, the development of Soviet air defense made it difficult for such aircraft to break through to targets. Therefore, for the Victor and Vulcan bombers, they created a Blue Steel (“Blue Steel”) air-to-air cruise missile with a range of 200 kilometers and equipped with a powerful Mk28 thermonuclear charge. The British Air Force believed that Victor and Vulcan, each carrying one Blue Steel, should not get into the affected area by the Soviet C-25 and C-75 air defense systems when entering the launch line. However, this did not guarantee their invulnerability from the mid-range 60-s of the distant locking supersonic interceptors Tu-128, whose missiles (air-to-air Р-4) could destroy British vehicles even before they reached the launch position. In 1962 – 1970, the British Air Force had 40 Blue Steel ready.

Other aviation carriers of British nuclear weapons of the time — Canberra subsonic tactical bombers and Buccaneer deck-attack aircraft, were also vulnerable to Soviet air defenses. This forced the British to reconsider the program of developing the SNF in favor of ballistic missiles.

Armed to the "Tridents"

Taking into account all the circumstances, London chose atomic submarines with ballistic missiles. They were recognized as the least vulnerable component of the SNF. Four Resolution-type boats (“Resolve”) were built in the 1967 – 1968, each received the American RNPD 16 Polaris A3T with three combat fusion units of dissipating type with a power of 200 kilotons. In total, for SSRBs of the Resolution type, 144 combat units have been released.

Then, according to the secret Chevaline (“Horse”) program, the British replaced the W58 type with six new, individual TK-100 units with 50 – 100 kiloton charges on these missiles. For them, developed and means to overcome the missile defense of Moscow. The upgraded missiles were given the name Polaris A3TK (launch range - 3500 – 4000 kilometers).

Replaced the "Resolve" in the UK Navy came four SSBNs like Vanguard ("Avangard"). They are the only component of the country’s SNF. Each submarine carries a Trident-II D-16 (Trident) American intercontinental SLBM with a range of nine thousand kilometers. The rocket has 5 – 8 English thermonuclear blocks, the power of which in the 12 – 0,3 – 10 – 100 range of kilotons provides the choice of the most suitable for individual destruction of various security and area targets. Which guarantees unacceptable damage.
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/34748
11 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. inkass_98
    inkass_98 21 January 2017 07: 08
    +6
    The main sadness of the English strategic nuclear forces is the location of the submarine base in Scotland. Local already promised two things:
    a) in case of active "Brexit", hold another referendum on secession from the kingdom;
    b) to squeeze this very base of the Navy in its favor.
    The British sailors will have to spend money on a new base in a less convenient place and before that make something like the escape of "Kuznetsov" from the Ruins.
    1. commbatant
      commbatant 21 January 2017 17: 45
      +2
      All four boats are part of the 1st submarine division of the Royal Clyde Naval Base, located in the city of Faslane (Faslane, Scotland).
      Faslane himself was chosen as a base at the height of the Cold War due to its geographical location. Relatively isolated, but deep and easy to navigate, Gar Loch and the Firth of Clyde turn it into a protected "bastion" (English) on the west coast of Scotland. At the same time, its position provides convenient and covert access through the North Strait to submarine patrol areas in the North Atlantic and through the Faroe-Icelandic border to the Norwegian Sea. One of the boats was always on alert. And in a politically unstable time, the second went to sea.



      The title of the article could come up with another
  2. Cat
    Cat 21 January 2017 08: 46
    +1
    Right!
    Scottish separatists, ardent haters of nuclear weapons!
  3. Old26
    Old26 21 January 2017 09: 51
    +3
    Delivered an article to PLUS, although it is satisfied with the surface. Sergey Linnik (Bongo) has a similar article in more detail. In addition, the author did not indicate yet another characteristic feature of modern British nuclear weapons. Despite the fact that SLBMs can carry a significant amount of nuclear warheads, at present only half of the missiles in boats are sometimes equipped with nuclear warheads. This is one option. In the second - with the exception of one or two, which carry 3-4 nuclear weapons each, the rest are equipped with a single charge. The number of UBZ in the British armed forces is reduced year by year. If a few years ago the aircraft were equipped with 160 EMNIP charges, but by 2016 already 120. Unlike France, the nuclear component of Britain is degrading
    1. Monster_Fat
      Monster_Fat 21 January 2017 12: 04
      +2
      That's for sure. Few people know, but nuclear weapons require enormous resources and forces to keep them in a state of readiness due to the degradation of the components of the nuclear charge and the failure of the others by its element from radiation and from time to time.
      1. Aviator_
        Aviator_ 21 January 2017 17: 16
        0
        Quite right (about the huge funds for maintaining nuclear weapons in a combat-ready state). Now, for sure, there is progress in this area, and the first generation nuclear weapons, such as the American "Fat Man", had a polonium neutron fuse, a feature of which was its replacement every six months due to the short half-life of polonium. It is not surprising that there were only 20 "Blue Dunays".
    2. commbatant
      commbatant 21 January 2017 17: 46
      0
      Right. I read it in the "ZVO".
  4. Quzmi4
    Quzmi4 21 January 2017 18: 24
    0
    Little amendment.
    Blue Steel does not translate into the forehead.
    It is enough to doubt and climb into the dictionary to find right translation - "blued steel".
    A much more logical name for a weapon, isn't it?
  5. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 21 January 2017 20: 13
    0
    Great Britain is trying to be great ... soldier
  6. Barakuda
    Barakuda 21 January 2017 23: 13
    +1
    Personally, I don’t care how British bloodsuckers are there and hedgehog with them. India alone, they must with three boxes. They even climbed into St. Petersburg to Krymskaya, but they raked concrete pills and never rocked further (the 1918th can not be considered). Churchill's nagging is especially hushed up when he asked Stalin to join the war. am
    And somehow, yes, Russia will keep track of 4 British boats with ICBMs. The ponytails are clearly tied there.
    1. inkass_98
      inkass_98 22 January 2017 09: 39
      0
      I want to correct you about bloodsuckers: within the framework of decommunization and in accordance with the reform of the Khokhlomovs from Azarov there is a new version of the word, namely, "krovosisi". Excellent Newspeak wink .

Арсенал с бородой

Брексит отодвинул на задний план такие же страсти по референдуму о независимости Шотландии, благодаря трезвомыслию тамошнего электората все же сохранившей целостность Соединенного Королевства. А ведь такой исход предотвратил геополитическую драму, связанную с возможным распадом ядерной державы. Прецедент – развал СССР – имеется.

Ядерная мощь Великобритании многократно уступала и уступает силам Советского Союза (России) и США. Тем не менее Альбион располагает потенциалом, позволяющим причинить вероятному противнику неприемлемый ущерб. В создании и совершенствовании ЯО англичане опирались на помощь США. Никому больше американцы не обеспечивали легальную поддержку в развитии и наращивании ядерных вооружений, кроме как англичанам. Действие англо-американского соглашения о сотрудничестве в этой области (Mutual Defence Agreement – MDA), подписанного в 1958-м, пролонгировано до 2024 года.

Идея обзавестись атомной бомбой была одобрена в декабре 1941-го премьер-министром Черчиллем, месяцем раньше получившим от президента США Рузвельта предложение о совместной разработке. Они договорились о неприменении друг против друга ядерного оружия, сохранении информации о нем в тайне от третьих стран и о непосредственном участии британских ученых в проекте «Манхэттен», успешно реализованном к 1945-му. Однако на следующий год сотрудничество на некоторое время прекратилось, и в 1947-м по инициативе нового премьер-министра Великобритании Эттли стартовал самостоятельный атомный проект англичан.


«Голубой Дунай», «Желтое солнце»

Первоклассный научно-производственный потенциал страны и опыт участия в Манхэттенском проекте позволили провести первое ядерное испытание уже 3 октября 1952 года в акватории острова Тримоуилли у северо-западного побережья Австралии.

Если США и СССР в первых испытаниях взорвали ядерные заряды в специальных башнях, то англичане поместили его в трюме поставленного на якорь фрегата Plym. Причем свою погибель прошедший войну сторожевик сам же и доставил, совершив переход со сверхсекретным грузом из Англии. Взрыв потянул на 25 килотонн, британцы справились с задачей не хуже, чем американцы в Аламогордо и советские ученые под Семипалатинском. 28 апреля 1958 года стратегический бомбардировщик ВВС Valiant сбросил над полинезийским островом Рождества первую полноценную водородную бомбу (операция Grapple Y – «Схватка Уай»). Энерговыделение при испытании составило 2 Мт.

В 1952–1991 годах Великобритания провела 45 ядерных испытаний: 21 – в Австралии и на Тихом океане, 24 – в США. Среди них были довольно необычные: 9 октября 1957 года на полигоне Мараллинга в Австралии заряд мощностью 25 килотонн взорвали, подвесив под тремя аэростатами на высоте около 300 метров (операция Antler – «Олений рог»).

Арсенал с бородойПервыми ядерными авиабомбами, поступившими в 1953 году на вооружение стратегической авиации Великобритании, стали Blue Danube («Голубой Дунай») мощностью 15 килотонн (в последних образцах доведенной до 40 килотонн). Эти плутониевые и уран-плутониевые изделия конструктивно были сходны с американским Fat Man («Толстяк»), сброшенным на Нагасаки. Однако британские бомбы отличались продолговатой остроконечной формой, что, по мнению создателей, повышало точность бомбометания. 20 Blue Danube состояли на вооружении до 1962 года.

За «Голубым Дунаем» последовали более совершенные Red Beard («Рыжая борода») мощностью 5–20 килотонн (в 1961–1971 годах в арсенале английских ВВС и авиации флота имелось до 110 этих бомб), а также 400-килотонные термоядерные Yellow Sun («Желтое солнце») Mk1. Их в 1958-м выпустили немного, что связано с запуском модификации Yellow Sun Mk2 c зарядом 1 Мт. Около 150 этих бомб пополнили ядерный арсенал Великобритании в 1961-м и оставались в нем до 1972 года. Затем, с 1966-го их заменили термоядерные WE177 варьируемой мощностью от 0,5 до 450 килотонн. Они существовали в тактическом, стратегическом и противолодочном вариантах. И прослужили 32 года. Возможно, их прототипами послужили американские B61 и B57. Больше ядерные и термоядерные авиабомбы Великобритания якобы не производила.

На всякого храбреца довольно ПВО

Первыми английскими стратегическими носителями ядерных бомб в 50-е стали до- и околозвуковые турбореактивные бомбардировщики семейства V – Valiant («Храбрец»), Victor («Победитель») и Vulcan («Вулкан»). Скорость последнего, самого совершенного из трех, достигала 1200 километров в час, практический потолок – 19 тысяч метров, максимальная дальность полета – 7650 километров. Однако развитие советской ПВО сделало проблематичной возможность прорыва таких самолетов к целям. Поэтому для бомбардировщиков Victor и Vulcan создали крылатую ракету Blue Steel («Голубая сталь») класса «воздух-земля» с дальностью стрельбы 200 километров и оснащенную мощным термоядерным зарядом по типу Mk28. В ВВС Англии полагали, что Victor и Vulcan, каждый из которых нес одну Blue Steel, при выходе на рубеж пуска не должны попасть в зону поражения советскими ЗРК C-25 и С-75. Однако это не гарантировало их неуязвимость от появившихся к середине 60-х дальних барражирующих сверхзвуковых перехватчиков Ту-128, ракеты которых (Р-4 класса «воздух-воздух») могли уничтожить английские машины еще до их выхода на позицию пуска. В 1962–1970 годах ВВС Великобритании имели в готовности 40 Blue Steel.

Уязвимыми для советской ПВО были и другие авиационные носители английского ядерного оружия того времени – дозвуковые тактические бомбардировщики Canberra и палубные штурмовики Buccaneer. Это вынудило англичан пересмотреть программу развития СЯС в пользу баллистических ракет.

Вооружены до «Трезубцев»

Приняв во внимание все обстоятельства, Лондон выбрал атомные субмарины с баллистическими ракетами. Именно их признали самым малоуязвимым компонентом СЯС. Четыре лодки типа Resolution («Решимость») построили в 1967–1968 годах, каждая получила 16 американских БРСД Polaris A3T с тремя боевыми термоядерными блоками рассеивающегося типа мощностью 200 килотонн. Всего для ПЛАРБ типа Resolution выпустили 144 боевых блока.

Затем англичане по секретной программе Chevaline («Конский») заменили на этих ракетах блоки типа W58 шестью новыми, индивидуального наведения TK-100 с зарядами мощностью 50–100 килотонн. Для них разрабатывались и средства преодоления ПРО Москвы. Модернизированным ракетам дали имя Polaris A3TK (дальность пуска – 3500–4000 километров).

На смену «Решимости» в ВМС Великобритании пришли четыре ПЛАРБ типа Vanguard («Авангард»). Именно они составляют единственный компонент СЯС страны. Каждая субмарина несет 16 американских межконтинентальных БРПЛ Trident-II D-5 («Трезубец») с дальностью девять тысяч километров. Ракета имеет 8–12 английских термоядерных блоков, мощность которых в диапазоне 0,3–10 – 100–500 килотонн обеспечивает выбор наиболее подходящих для индивидуального поражения различных по защищенности и площади целей. Что и гарантирует нанесение неприемлемого ущерба.
Автор: Константин Чуприн
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/34748


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 11

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. inkass_98 21 января 2017 07:08
    Главная печалька английских СЯС - расположение базы подводных лодок в Шотландии. Местные уже обещали две вещи:
    а) в случае активного "брекзита" провести очередной референдум о выходе из состава королевства;
    б) отжать в свою пользу эту самую базу ВМФ.
    Придется английским морякам потратиться на новую базу в менее удобном месте а до этого совершить нечто вроде побега "Кузнецова" из Руины.
    1. commbatant 21 января 2017 17:45
      Все четыре лодки входят в состав 1-го дивизиона подводных лодок королевской военно-морской базы Клайд, расположенной в городе Фаслэйн (Faslane, Шотландия).
      Сам Фаслейн был выбран в качестве базы в разгар Холодной войны благодаря своему географическому положению. Относительно изолированные, но глубокие и простые для навигации Гар Лох и Ферт-оф-Клайд превращают его в защищённый «бастион» (англ.) на западном побережье Шотландии. Одновременно его положение обеспечивает удобный и скрытный доступ через Северный пролив к районам патрулирования подводных лодок в Северной Атлантике и через Фареро-Исландский рубеж в Норвежское море. Одна из лодок всегда была на боевом дежурстве. А в политически нестабильное время в море выходила вторая.



      Название статьи могли бы другую придумать
  2. Котище 21 января 2017 08:46
    Верно!
    Шотландские сепаратисты, ярые ненавистники ядерного оружия!
  3. Старый26 21 января 2017 09:51
    Поставил статье ПЛЮС, хотя она довольна поверхностная У Сергея Линника (Bongo) аналогичная статья более развернутая. К тому же автор не указал на еще одну характерную особенность современного британского ЯО. Несмотря на то, что БРПЛ могут нести значительное количество ЯБЗ, в настоящее время порой только половина ракет на лодках оснащена ЯБЗ. Это по одному варианту. По второму - за исключением одной-двух, которые несут по 3-4 ЯБЗ, остальные оснащены вообще одним зарядом. Количество ЯБЗ в Британскиз вооруженных силах сокращается год от года. Если несколько лет назад ВС были оснащены 160 ЕМНИП зарядами, но на 2016 уже 120. В отличии от той же Франции ядерная компонента у Британии деградирует
    1. Monster_Fat 21 января 2017 12:04
      Это точно. Мало кто знает, но ядерное оружие требует огромных средств и сил по поддержанию его в боеготовом состоянии из-за деградации компонентов ядерного заряда и выхода из строя остальных его элементом от радиации и от времени.
      1. Авиатор_ 21 января 2017 17:16
        Совершенно верно (про громадные средства на поддержание ЯО в боеспособном состоянии). Сейчас наверняка в этой области есть прогресс, а на ЯО первого поколения, типа американского "Толстяка", стоял полониевый нейтронный запал, особенностью которого была его замена через каждые полгода из-за малого периода полураспада полония. Неудивительно, что "Голубых Дунаев" было всего 20 шт.
    2. commbatant 21 января 2017 17:46
      Верно. Я это читал в "ЗВО".
  4. Quzmi4 21 января 2017 18:24
    Маленькая поправка.
    Blue Steel в лоб не переводится.
    Достаточно усомниться и полезть в словарь, чтобы найти правильный перевод - "воронёная сталь".
    Намного более логичное название для оружия, не правда ли?
  5. Робертъ Невский 21 января 2017 20:13
    мелькобритания пытается быть великой ... soldier
  6. Баракуда 21 января 2017 23:13
    Лично мне пофиг, как там кровососы британцы поживают и еже с ними. Одной Индии они должны с три короба. Даже на Петербург лезли в Крымскую, но пилюлей отгребли конкретных и дальше не рыпались никогда ( 1918 -тый можно не считать ). Особенно замалчивается нытье Черчиля, когда у Сталина просил вступить в войну. am
    И уж как-нибудь, да за 4-мя британскими лодками с МБР, Россия уследит. " Хвостики " там явно привязаны.
    1. inkass_98 22 января 2017 09:39
      Хочу Вас поправить по поводу кровососов: в рамках декоммунизации и в соответствии с реформой хохломовы от Азарова есть новая редакция слова, а именно - "кровосиси". Отличный новояз wink .
Картина дня