Military Review

Terrex armored vehicles: an apple of contention between China and Singapore

4
Terrex armored vehicles: an apple of contention between China and Singapore

Diplomatic phone lines between Singapore and China were red hot after nine Singapore-based Terrex 8x8 armored personnel carriers were confiscated in Hong Kong in November 2016.


Nine vehicles and three containers with additional equipment were transported aboard the APL Qatar 041 merchant ship, which followed its route from Kaohsiung in Taiwan to Singapore. They were confiscated, allegedly for undeclared military property.

It turns out that the Chinese authorities initiated this arrest, instructing the Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department. The ship was detained in the Chinese city of Xiamen on November 21 before reaching Hong Kong in two days.

Hong Kong Customs reported that it was a routine check, but the Chinese law enforcement authorities immediately denied it. In addition, to check on the vessel APL Qatar 041 instead of the usual two or three officers, a whole group landed.

A spokesman for the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Jen Shuang, said that goods arriving and leaving Hong Kong must comply with relevant rules. As expected, he added that "for a long time, China was strongly opposed to official exchanges, including military exchanges and cooperation between Taiwan and any countries that have diplomatic ties with China."

The fact is that Terrex armored personnel carriers arrived in Taiwan to participate in the Singapore's Starlight personnel training program, which was launched in accordance with the agreement of the year 1975. Singapore maintains training units in Taiwan on a full-time basis, although unilaterally rather than bilaterally.

It is interesting to note that a photo of one of the Terrex cars with a Taiwan state registration number appeared in the press, apparently, in order to hide the origin of the car during their stay in Taiwan. Not surprisingly, press releases issued by the Singapore Department of Defense continue to avoid any mention of Taiwan.

China has for many years been absolutely silent about the presence of Singaporean military experts in Taiwan, even though he does not like it very much. Singapore is now more talkative about the persistent Chinese claims about the South China Sea; it is clear that there are tensions in Beijing’s relations with the island nation.



An editorial published in the People's Daily newspaper gave a political assessment of this difficult relationship. It states that "for quite some time, Singapore has sought to strike a balance between China and the United States, in fact, taking the side of Washington." In support of this claim, the author of the article refers to Singapore’s readiness to accept American ships fleet and authorize the operation of the patrol anti-submarine aircraft P-8A.

The article blamed Singapore for being "the platform of Washington restraining and stopping Beijing." It further states that “Singapore has stated that it does not take any side in disputes over the South China Sea, but its comments on the problem are far from neutral; they only complicated and expanded the scale of the problem. ”

By confiscating these vehicles from the Singapore Army and using Hong Kong as a confidant to relieve themselves of direct responsibility, China showed its irritation to Singapore for its “unacceptable crimes” associated with working with Taiwan and the courage to resist Chinese expansion in the South China Sea.

This incident also raised questions about the transportation of military equipment. Singapore has long used the merchant fleet to freely move weapons systems, including transportation to and from Taiwan.

However, the statement by the Singapore Ministry of Defense that shipping companies "must comply with strict requirements for protection against theft and damage to property" and that "there have been no incidents of loss, theft or damage in recent years" is now a poor consolation.

The ministry “transferred” the charges to the shipping company APL, noting that “it had to comply with all the rules, including the declaration of the equipment being transported ...” ports.

But in this case Singapore’s weakness is also visible, since this island nation is very vulnerable, especially when a large number of equipment and personnel participating in joint exercises are scattered throughout the world. There is no doubt that in any conflict, it will be relatively simple for China or any other potential adversary to block access or apply pressure.

This is a lesson for other countries in the region, such as Japan, the Philippines, South Korea, or Taiwan, whose courts China may hold up to express political discontent.

Perhaps Hong Kong’s customs should have allowed the Chinese army or its structures to check Terrex machines? Customs did not respond to the request, but this is understandable, given that Singapore sent a special group whose task was to “rescue” armored vehicles.

Although the Terrex armored vehicle has already turned 10 years, but it would be very interesting for China to get access to the digital battle management system on board these vehicles. The Singapore Ministry of Defense stated that "there was no sensitive equipment on board the Terrex armored vehicles," although no one really expected a different answer.

As for the Terrex armored vehicle project, now it has also gone international. ST Kinetics introduced its Terrex 400 (Sentinel II) variant for the Australian Army Land 2 Phase 3 program, although it was not selected. Also, the Terrex 2 armored vehicle is a contender for the ACV1.1 requirement of the US Marine Corps.

For this reason alone, the Terrex armored vehicle and the underlying philosophy could be interesting for Chinese engineers.

In a statement released by 24 in November, the Ministry of Defense announced that it expects "the shipment of cargo and its return to Singapore in an expedited manner." However, the fate of these nine cars is very far from being resolved and will depend on negotiations with the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Hong Kong had previously regularly confiscated military vehicles passing through its territory, including the WZ551 armored personnel carriers on the way back to China from the Taiwan Defense Exhibition. In 2010, five BTR-70 armored personnel carriers were detained on their way to China and at least one of them now serves as an exhibit in a city park.

Two armored vehicles, including the K21 BMP, returning to South Korea after a demonstration in Saudi Arabia in the 2010 year, were returned to the owner after the missing customs documents were submitted to the Chinese authorities.

Singapore announced last May that 1,66 is investing a billion dollars in large-scale modernization and utilization of military training bases in Australia. The island nation is already in the process of transition to closer military cooperation with its southern ally. Whether the transportation of nine Terrex armored vehicles from Taiwan was part of this process or the usual regular rotation was not yet clear.

Be that as it may, this incident, named Terrexgate, will probably only strengthen the position of Singapore, which will now rely more on military cooperation with Australia and to a lesser extent with Taiwan. In any case, this is what China exactly wants in the first place. His goal is to push back Taiwan at every opportunity.


Materials used:
www.shephardmedia.com
www.stengg.com
en.people.cn
www.wikipedia.org
en.wikipedia.org
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. ImPerts
    ImPerts 25 January 2017 07: 41
    +2
    As one movie said:
    1. Cat
      Cat 25 January 2017 19: 53
      +1
      Bare fight at the lackeys forelocks crack!
  2. Basarev
    Basarev 26 January 2017 09: 55
    +1
    Singapore is not Russia and will not tolerate attacks on its property for the sake of mythical friendship. You will see, China will meet a hard shit and henceforth will not rock the boat on Singapore.
  3. Evgeniy30
    Evgeniy30 27 January 2017 13: 31
    0
    Quote: Kotischa
    Bare fight at the lackeys forelocks crack!

    Who are the bar?

Бронемашины Terrex: яблоко раздора между Китаем и Сингапуром

Бронемашины Terrex: яблоко раздора между Китаем и Сингапуром

Дипломатические телефонные линии между Сингапуром и Китаем раскалились докрасна после того, как девять бронетранспортеров сингапурской армии Terrex 8x8 были конфискованы в Гонконге в ноябре 2016 года.

Девять машин и три контейнера с дополнительным оборудованием перевозились на борту торгового корабля APL Qatar 041, шедшем по своему маршруту из Гаосюна на Тайване в Сингапур. Они были конфискованы, как утверждают, за недекларированное военное имущество.

Оказывается, что китайские власти стали инициатором этого ареста, дав указание гонконгскому департаменту таможни и акцизов. Корабль был задержан в китайском городе Сямынь 21 ноября перед тем, как через два дня достичь Гонконга.


Гонконгская таможня сообщила, что это была обычная проверка, но китайские правоохранительные органы незамедлительно опровергли ее. Кроме того, для проверки на судно APL Qatar 041 вместо обычных двух или трех офицеров высадилась целая группа.

Представитель китайского министерства иностранных дел Джен Шуанг сказал, что товары пребывающие и покидающие Гонконг, должны подчиняться соответствующим правилам. Как и следовало ожидать, он добавил, что Китай «долгое время был решительно против официальных обменов, включая обмен и сотрудничество в военной сфере между Тайванем и любыми странами, которые имеют дипломатические связи с Китаем».

Все дело в том, что бронетранспортеры Terrex прибыли на Тайвань для участия в секретной сингапурской программе подготовки личного состава Starlight, которая была начата в соответствии с соглашением от 1975 года. Сингапур на постоянной основе держит подразделения, проходящие подготовку на Тайване, хотя скорее в одностороннем, чем в двухстороннем порядке.

Интересно отметить, что в прессе появилось фото одной из машин Terrex с тайваньским государственным регистрационным номером, по всей видимости, для того, скрыть происхождение машины во время пребывания в Тайване. Не удивительно, что пресс-релизы, выпущенные сингапурским министерством обороны, продолжают избегать какого-либо упоминания Тайваня.

Китай вот уже много лет хранит абсолютное молчание о присутствии сингапурских военных специалистов на Тайване, даже хотя ему это очень не нравится. Сингапур же ныне более разговорчив по поводу настойчивых китайских претензий касательно Южно-Китайского моря; понятно, что здесь имеются трения в отношениях Пекина с островным государством.



В редакционной статье, напечатанной в газете People’s Daily (Жэньми́нь жиба́о), была дана политическая оценка этим непростым взаимоотношениям. В ней утверждается, что «довольно продолжительное время Сингапур стремился найти баланс между Китаем и США, в действительности, вставая на сторону Вашингтона». В обоснование этого утверждения, автор статьи ссылается на готовность Сингапура принимать корабли американского флота и разрешать работу патрульного противолодочного самолета P-8A.

Статья обвинила Сингапур в том, что он является «платформой Вашингтона, сдерживающей и останавливающей Пекин». Далее в ней говорится, что «Сингапур заявил, что не занимает какую-то сторону в спорах о Южно-Китайском море, но его комментарии о проблеме далеки от нейтральных; они только лишь усложнили и расширили масштаб проблемы».

Конфисковав эти машины сингапурской армии и использовав Гонконг в качестве доверенного лица, чтобы снять с себя прямую ответственность, Китай показал свое раздражение Сингапуру за его «неприемлемые преступления», связанные с сотрудничеством с Тайванем и смелостью противостоять китайской экспансии в Южно-Китайском море.

Этот инцидент также поднял вопросы о транспортировке военной техники. Сингапур долгое время использовал торговый флот для свободного перемещения систем вооружения, включая транспортировку в Тайвань и обратно.

Впрочем, заявление сингапурского министерства обороны о том, что судоходным компаниям «необходимо соответствовать строгим требованиям к защите от воровства и порчи имущества» и что «не было инцидентов потери, воровства или порчи за последние годы», является теперь слабым утешением.

Министерство «перевело» обвинения на судоходную компанию APL, отметив, что «ей необходимо было соответствовать всем правилам, включая декларацию о перевозимом оборудовании…» Впрочем, здесь видна удовлетворенность сингапурской стороны, поскольку компания должна была осознавать риски при перевозке военной техники из Тайваня через китайские порты.

Но в этом случае видна и слабость Сингапура, так как это островное государство очень уязвимо, особенно когда большое количество техники и личного состава, участвующее в совместных учениях, разбросано по всему миру. Нет сомнений, что при любом конфликте Китаю или любому другому потенциальному противнику относительно просто будет заблокировать доступ или оказать давление.

Это урок для других стран региона, например Японии, Филиппин, Южной Кореи или Тайваня, суда которых Китай может задержать для выражения политического недовольства.

Возможно, таможня Гонконга должна была допустить китайскую армию или ее структуры для проверки машин Terrex? Таможня на запрос не ответила, но это и понятно, учитывая то, что Сингапур послал специальную группу, в задачу которой входило «вызволение» бронемашин.

Хотя бронемашине Terrex уже исполнилось 10 лет, но Китаю было бы очень интересно получить доступ к цифровой системе управления боем на борту этих машин. Министерство обороны Сингапура заявило, что «на борту бронемашин Terrex не было чувствительного оборудования», хотя никто особо и не ожидал другого ответа.

Что касается проекта по бронемашине Terrex, то теперь он также вышел на международный уровень. Компания ST Kinetics представила для программы австралийской армии Land 400 Phase 2 свой вариант Terrex 3 (Sentinel II), хотя он и не был выбран. Также бронемашина Terrex 2 является претендентом на требование ACV1.1 американского корпуса морской пехоты.

Только по одной этой причине бронемашина Terrex и лежащая в ее основе философия могла бы быть интересной для китайских инженеров.

В заявлении, опубликованном 24 ноября, министерство обороны заявило, что ожидает «отправление груза и его возвращение в Сингапур в ускоренном порядке». Впрочем, судьба этих девяти машин очень далека от разрешения и будет зависеть от переговоров с китайским министерством иностранных дел.

Гонконг ранее регулярно конфисковывал военные машины, проходящие через его территорию включая бронетранспортеры WZ551 на обратном пути в Китай с тайваньской оборонной выставки. В 2010 году пять бронетранспортеров БТР-70 были задержаны на пути в Китай и, по крайней мере, один из них теперь служит в качестве экспоната в городском парке.

Две бронированных машины, включая БМП K21, возвращавшиеся в Южную Корею после демонстрации в Саудовской Аравии в 2010 году, были возвращены владельцу после того, как отсутствовавшие таможенные документы были представлены китайским властям.

Сингапур объявил в мае прошлого года о том, что инвестирует 1,66 миллиарда долларов в крупномасштабную модернизацию и утилизацию военных учебных баз в Австралии. Островное государство уже находится в процессе перехода к более тесному военному сотрудничеству со своим южным союзником. Была ли транспортировка девяти бронемашин Terrex из Тайваня частью этого процесса или обычной регулярной ротацией, пока не ясно.

Как бы то ни было, этот инцидент, получивший имя «Террексгейт», вероятно только укрепит позицию Сингапура, который теперь будет полагаться в большей степени на военное сотрудничество с Австралией и в меньшей степени с Тайванем. Во всяком случае, это то, что Китай точно хочет в первую очередь. Его цель - оттеснять Тайвань при каждом удобном случае.


Использованы материалы:
www.shephardmedia.com
www.stengg.com
en.people.cn
www.wikipedia.org
ru.wikipedia.org
Автор: Alex Alexeev


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. ИмПерц 25 января 2017 07:41
    Как говорилось в одном фильме:
    1. Котище 25 января 2017 19:53
      Баре дерутся у холопов чубы трещат!
  2. Басарев 26 января 2017 09:55
    Сингапур не Россия и не станет терпеть посягательств на своё имущества ради мифической дружбы. Вот увидите, Китай встретит жёсткий отлуп и впредь не будет рыпаться на Сингапур.
  3. Евгений30 27 января 2017 13:31
    Цитата: Котище
    Баре дерутся у холопов чубы трещат!

    Кто такие баре?
Картина дня