"Managed Chaos"

"Managed chaos" - better not say about the deck of the aircraft carrier during the flight. Journalists Frank Koenders and Jost van der Burgt conducted a flight shift on the deck (or roof) of the aircraft carrier Dwight D. Eisenhower, along with the personnel of the V-2 division, performing perhaps the most dangerous job among the deck crew.




The aviation component of an aircraft carrier deck team is represented by five divisions (from V-1 to V-5), each of which is responsible for performing well-defined tasks. The people of the V-2 division are engaged in servicing catapults and aerofinishers. The officer of the catapult on the slang is referred to as “shooter”, shooting. According to the state, the team of the US Navy nuclear aircraft carrier consists of seven "firing", they do not belong to the aviation squadrons, but to the crew of the ship. "Shooting" officer of the aircraft carrier "Dwight D. Eisenhower" Lieutenant John Kerr performs his second long-range cruise. His first "trip" lasted two months, the second began in May 2010 of Kerr - the "age" officer - he was 32 of the year, called up as an officer of the US Navy reserve from Rennes State University, then underwent a flight officer training course in Pensacola. Next - training for the navigator of the Orion P-3 patrol aircraft at the Ren-Dolph airbase, pcs. Texas, and finally completed the course as a member of the Orion crew in the VP-30 patrol squadron. At the end of his service life at VP-30, Kerr decided to pursue a career in the Navy: “I dreamed of working on the deck of an aircraft carrier and chose the specialty“ shooting ”because I loved shooting since childhood.”

Most of the "gunners" had previously been sea pilots or were on the flight crews of naval aircraft. As a rule, these people become "shooting" voluntarily. All “shooters” are trained at the USS Lakehurst airbase. Within a month, future officers of the V-2 divisions are studying the materiel, features of its operation and the rules for giving signals. Most of the training is conducted at a land aerodrome using simulators. The course ends with an internship on an aircraft carrier under the guidance of experienced officers. “During my first“ shooting, ”I watched the work of a qualified officer. I was rather a puppet than a "shooter"! The elder gunman literally took over my hands like an experienced puppeteer, ”recalls Lieutenant Kerr.



Lieutenant Kerr considers the ejection start procedure to be extremely complex, nothing like that anymore. On the bridge of the aircraft carrier "air boss" (with a capital letter - Air Boss!) Controls the actions of the calculation of the catapult by means of red, yellow and green lights. A green light means that you are ready to start the ejection start procedure, at which point the shooter must give a signal to be ready to fix the aircraft on the catapult, and the plane will taxi to the catapult track. Then the calculation secures the nose landing gear to the catapult shuttle. Then the shooter commands the pilot to start the engines. The pilot and the "shooting" inspect the deck for objects that could prevent the start.

"Shooting" is personally responsible for the safety of the take-off of each aircraft. He determines the task of each member of the calculation in the process of preparing and executing the ejection start, controls its implementation. Information about the take-off mass of the aircraft calculation receives from the pilot. Based on data on the type of aircraft
parata and its take-off mass, taking into account the corrections for wind, air density and the length of the upper stage, the installation data for the catapult are calculated. After entering the data, checking the correctness of the installation and mounting of the aircraft, the absence of foreign objects on the deck in the launch area, the command is given to take the aircraft off the aircraft carrier.

"Managed Chaos"

The VFA-103 “Jolly Rogers” squadron is armed with F / A-18F Super Hornet fighter-bombers.


Shooting - the working day is not normalized!


Two methods of ejection start are used: from the edge of the deck and below the deck. In the first case, the shooter is kneeling directly on the deck, in the second, he is in a small room, the transparent “roof” of which somewhat rises above the flight deck. Usually the method "below the deck" is used in bad weather. “However, I prefer“ below the deck ”and in fine weather - there is an air conditioner below the deck!” Said Kerr.

"Shooting", in addition to the management of catapult launches, are involved in the performance of other tasks: they perform the duties of an assistant senior aviation officer (Boss), an aerofinisher officer, and a helicopter flight control officer. Shooting and leaders of the movement of aircraft on the deck while working dressed in yellow vests. Shooting - always officers, while the movement of aircraft on the deck led by foremen. Riggers in blue vests are responsible for securing and detaching the aircraft on the deck and precise installation of aircraft on the lines of catapults.

The deck crew in their work uses various methods and types of communication, but most often - the radio. The entire personnel of the deck team has portable radios. Radio is used to negotiate team members among themselves and to communicate with higher managers. At the same time, radio communication is often hampered due to strong noise, especially when taking off and landing "loud" aircraft, like EA-6В, so you have to resort to light signaling or gestures, changing the position of the head and body. So that a gesture or a change in posture does not look random, a person who gives such signals fixes his posture for some time. Signal gestures and postures are different day and night. At night, light signals are applied on a much larger scale.

Perhaps the first question asked by an outsider is a question about possible accidents and malfunctions. For example, what happens if a catapult fails just before the start? In this case, an electronically firing disarms the catapult and disconnects the aircraft from the catapult shuttle. A signal about the termination of the take-off procedure is fired by the shooter with his hands crossed over his head after pressing the button to turn off the catapult. The reason for the termination of the takeoff procedure can also serve as aircraft malfunction. The work of the shooters is often complicated by bad weather, especially by the strong wind, due to which in some cases it is necessary to interrupt the preparation for takeoff.


The combination of heat and strong winds characteristic of the Arabian sea keeps the shooters in constant tension.

The authors of the article are grateful to the lieutenants John Kerr, Matthew Allen and John Feig.

Alexander Golts

"Eisenhower" in combat service

Aircraft 7 th carrier-based wing, which is based on the aircraft carrier "Dwight D. Eichenhower", fly over the southern part of Afghanistan in the interests of the forces of the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF). Air wing has 61 aircraft, per day is performed before 70 departures. The wing consists of VFA-143 “Pukimg Dog”, MAF-83 “Rampagers”, VFA-103 “Jolly Rogers”, VFA-131 “Wildcats” squadrons, helicopter anti-submarine squadron HS-5 “Night Dippers in-off-campaigns, non-launch campaigns” -he-off-campaigns, non-flying-rifles, H-140 “Wildcats”; -121 “Patriots”, VAW-40 “Blue Tails” AFDL squadron and VRC-1200 “Rawhides” transport squadron. The number of wing is 25 people. The aircraft carrier Eisenhower arrived in the Gulf of Oman 2010 in January XNUMX g, replacing the aircraft carrier Nimitz.



The first combat sorties from the Eisenhaura as part of Operation Enduring Freedom, the crews of the 7 aircraft flew the 28 of January. "Eisenhower", or as it is commonly called "Ike" was in the Arabian Sea until July, the rotation of the US Navy carrier groups in the region takes place every four to six months. In total, more than 2600 sorties were flown during the ship’s time in the Gulf of Oman, mainly to support the coalition ground forces in Afghanistan. Up to 30,% of daily ground strikes on land targets were carried out by crews of the 7 air wing. The most frequently used laser-guided 500-pound CAB GNU-12 Paveway II, 500-pound CAB GBU-28 JDAM with GPS correction.

Aircraft AIM-9L / M / X "Sidewinder" airborne for self-defense in all combat sorties. A typical sortie occupied the 6-7 hours. Routes passed through the airspace of Pakistan. Over the territory of Afghanistan, the planes went into the waiting area ~ strikes were delivered “on call” from the airborne duty position. In each flight, several refueling operations were carried out from French and British tanker aircraft. "Work" was carried out mainly in the daytime. During the period when the Eisenhower was located in the Arabian Sea, reconnaissance aircraft of the Iranian Air Force flew to the aircraft carrier several times.

Sunrise over the Arab Sea. The planes of the 7 th carrier-wing wing are ready to fight for the triumph of the values ​​of the Free World in Afghanistan: “You do not have Democracy? It will be soon! ”
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

«Управляемый хаос»

«Управляемый хаос» — лучше не скажешь о палубе авианосца во время полетов. Журналисты Фрэнк Тоендерс и Йост ван дер Бургт провели летную смену на палубе (или крыше) авианосца «Дуайт Д. Эйзенхауэр» вместе с личным составом дивизиона V-2, выполняющего едва ли не самую опасную среди палубной команды работу.

«Управляемый хаос»


Авиационная компонента палубной команды авианосца представлена пятью дивизионами (от V-1 до V-5), каждый из которых отвечает за выполнение строго определенных задач. Люди дивизиона V-2 заняты обслуживанием катапульт и аэрофинишеров. Офицер катапульты на слэнге именуется «shooter», стреляющий. По штату в состав команды атомного авианосца ВМС США входят семеро «стреляющих», относятся они не к авиационным эскадрильям, а к команде корабля. «Стреляющий» офицер авианосца «Дуайт Д. Эйзенхауэр» лейтенант Джон Керр выполняет свой второй дальний поход. Его первая «командировка» продолжалась два месяца, вторая началась в мае 2010 г. Керр — «возрастной» офицер — ему 32 года, призван как офицер резерва ВМС США из университета Ренн Стэйт, затем прошел курс летной офицерской подготовки в Пенсаколе. Далее — обучение на штурмана патрульного самолета Р-3 «Орион» на авиабазе Рэн-дольф, шт. Техас, а окончательно завершил курс обучения в качестве члена экипажа «Ориона» в патрульной эскадрилье VP-30. По завершении срока службы в VP-30 Керр принял решение продолжить карьеру в ВМС: «Я мечтал о работе на палубе авианосца и выбрал специальность «стреляющего», ибо с детства любил стрельбу».


Большинство «стреляющих» ранее являлись морскими летчиками или входили в летные экипажи самолетов авиации ВМС. Как правило, «стреляющими» эти люди становятся добровольно. Все «shooters» проходят подготовку на авиабазе ВМС США Лэйкхёрст. В течении месяца будущие офицеры дивизионов V-2 изучают матчасть, особенности ее эксплуатации и правила подачи сигналов. Большая часть обучения проводится на сухопутном аэродроме с использованием тренажеров. Курс обучения завершается стажировкой на авианосце под руководством опытных офицеров. «При первой моей «стрельбе» я наблюдал за работой квалифицированного офицера. Я был скорее марионеткой, чем «стреляющим»! Старший стреляющий буквально завладел моими руками, словно опытный кукловод», — вспоминает лейтенант Керр.

«Управляемый хаос»


Лейтенант Керр считает процедуру катапультного старта чрезвычайно сложной, ни на что более не похожей. На мостике авианосца «авиабосс» (с большой буквы — Air Boss!) управляет действиями расчета катапульты посредством огней красного, желтого и зеленого цвета. Огонь зеленого цвета означает готовность к началу процедуры катапультного старта, в этот момент стреляющий обязан подать сигнал быть в готовности к закреплению самолета на катапульте, а самолет заруливает на дорожку катапульты. Затем расчет крепит носовую опору шасси к челноку катапульты. Далее стреляющий подает команду летчику запустить двигатели. Летчик и «стреляющий» осматривают палубу на предмет объектов, способных помешать старту.

«Стреляющий» несет личную ответственность за безопасность взлета каждого самолета. Он определяет задачу каждого члена расчета в процессе подготовки и выполнения катапультного старта, контролирует ее выполнение. Информацию о взлетной массе самолета расчет получает от летчика. На основании данных о типе летательного ап-
парата и его взлетной массы, с учетом поправки на ветер, плотность воздуха и длины разгонного участка вычисляются установочные данные для катапульты. После ввода данных, проверки правильности установки и крепления самолета, отсутствия посторонних объектов на палубе в районе старта, отдается команда на взлет самолета с авианосца.

«Управляемый хаос»

На вооружении эскадрильи VFA-103 «Jolly Rogers» состоят истребители-бомбардировщики F/A- 18F «Супер Хорнет»

«Управляемый хаос»

Стреляющий — рабочий день не нормирован!


Используются два способа катапультного старта: с края палубы и ниже палубы. В первом случае стреляющий стоит на коленях непосредственно на палубе, во втором — находится в небольшом помещении, прозрачная «крыша» которого несколько возвышается над полетной палубой. Обычно способ «ниже палубы» используется в непогоду. «Однако я предпочитаю «ниже палубы» и в прекрасную погоду — ниже палубы есть кондиционер!» — заметил Керр.

«Стреляющие», помимо руководства катапультными стартами, привлекаются к выполнению других задач: исполняют обязанности помощника старшего авиационного начальника (Босса), офицера аэрофинишера, офицера управления полетами вертолетов. Стреляющие и руководители движения самолетов по палубе во время работы облачены в жилеты желтого цвета. Стреляющие — всегда офицеры, в то время как перемещением авиационной техники по палубе руководят старшины. Такелажники в жилетах голубого цвета отвечают за закрепление и раскрепление летательных аппаратов на палубе и точную установку самолетов на линиях катапульт.

Палубная команда в своей работе использует различные способы и виды связи, но чаще всего — радио. Весь личный состав палубной команды имеет портативные радиостанции. Радио используется для переговоров членов команды между собой и для связи с вышестоящими начальниками. В то же время связь по радио часто затруднена из-за сильного шума, особенно при взлете и посадке «громких» самолетов, вроде ЕА-6В, поэтому приходится прибегать к световой сигнализации или к жестам, изменению положения головы и тела. Чтобы жест или изменение позы не выглядели случайными, человек, подающий подобные сигналы, фиксирует свою позу в течение некоторого времени. Сигнальные жесты и позы днем и ночью различны. Ночью в гораздо большем масштабе применяются световые сигналы.

Едва ли не первый вопрос, задаваемый стреляющему человеком со стороны, является вопрос о возможных авариях и неисправностях. К примеру, — что бывает, если катапульта отказывает непосредственно перед стартом? В этом случае стреляющий с помощью электроники отключает катапульту и отсоединяет самолет от челнока катапульты. Сигнал о прекращении процедуры взлета стреляющий подает перекрещенными над головой руками после нажатия кнопки выключения катапульты. Поводом для прекращения процедуры взлета могут служить также и неисправности самолета. Работу стреляющих зачастую осложняет непогода, особенно — сильный ветер, из-за которого в отдельных случаях приходится прерывать подготовку к взлету.

Характерное для Арабского моря сочетание жары и сильных ветров держит стреляющих в постоянном напряжении.

Авторы статьи выражают признательность лейтенантам Джону Керру, Мэтью Аллену и Джону Фэйгу.

Александр Гольц

«Эйзенхауэр» на боевой службе

Самолеты 7-го палубного авиакрыла, которое базируется на авианосце «Дуайт Д. Эйхенхауэр», выполняют полеты над южной частью Афганистана в интересах сил ISAF (International Security Assistance Force). Авиакрыло насчитывает 61 самолет, в сутки совершается до 70 вылетов. В состав авиакрыла входят ударные эскадрильи VFA-143 «Pukimg Dog», МАФ-83 «Rampagers», VFA-103 «Jolly Rogers», VFA-131 «Wildcats», вертолетная противолодочная эскадрилья HS-5 «Night Dippers», эскадрилья РЭБ VAQ-140 «Patriots», эскадрилья ДРЛОиУ VAW-121 «Blue Tails» и транспортная эскадрилья VRC-40 «Rawhides». Численность авиакрыла составляет 1200 человек. Авианосец «Эйзенхауэр» прибыл в Оманский залив 25 января 2010 г, сменив авианосец «Нимиц».

«Управляемый хаос»


Первые боевые вылеты с «Эйзенхаура» в рамках операции «Enduring Freedom» экипажи 7-го авиакрыла выполнили 28 января. «Эйзенхауэр», или как его называют в просторечии «Айк» находился в Арабском море до июля, ротация авианосных групп ВМС США в данном регионе проводится каждые четыре - шесть месяцев. В общей сложности за период нахождения корабля в Оманском заливе было выполнено более 2600 вылетов, главным образом - на поддержку сухопутных войск коалиции в Афганистане. До 30% ежедневных вылетов по нанесению ударов по наземным целям выполнялись экипажами 7-го авиакрыла. Чаще всего использовались 500-фунтовые КАБ GNU-12 Paveway II с лазерным наведением, 500-фунтовые КАБ GBU-28 JDAM с коррекцией по GPS.

Во всех боевых вылетах самолеты несли для самообороны УР воздух-воздух AIM-9L/M/X «Сайдуиндер». Типичный боевой вылет занимал 6-7 часов. Маршруты проходили через воздушное пространство Пакистана. Над территорией Афганистана самолеты выходили в район ожидания ~ удары наносились «по вызову» из положения дежурства в воздухе. В каждом полете выполнялось по несколько дозаправок от французских и британских самолетов-заправщиков. «Работа» выполнялась, в основном, в светлое время суток. В период нахождения «Эйзенхауэра» в Арабском море, к авианосцу несколько раз подлетали самолеты-разведчики ВВС Ирана.

Восход над Арабским морем. Самолеты 7-го палубного авиакрыла готовы вступить в бой за торжество ценностей Свободного мира в Афганистане: «У Вас нет Демократии? Скоро будет!»
Автор: Фрэнк Тоендерс, Йост ван дер Бургт
Первоисточник: Авиация и Космонавтика


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. ЛЕХА блин 4 июля 2011 18:15
    да, один хороший залп клабами и это торжество демократии пойдет ко дну кормить крабов на дне
    ЛЕХА блин
    1. flukked 14 февраля 2012 19:05
      Только авианосцы "демократизируют" страны третьего мира, а Клабы, Ониксы, Граниты и прочее мирно стоят в своих стойлах и не могут этому ни помешать, ни повторить. По сути, вся доктрина противодействия АУГам оказалась бесполезной в условиях военного конфликта с третьими странами.
      flukked
  2. vrag 12 октября 2011 14:53
    ну блин, попробуй!
    vrag
  3. TenOk 15 февраля 2012 07:50
    Если откинуть политику, дух захватывает...
    TenOk
  4. kulpin 7 марта 2012 17:36
    "Издай, Кулидж, радостный клич..." Что у ов хорошо, так это авианосцы... Мораль - топить в первую очередь.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня