Military Review

The head of the Pentagon announced the commitment of the United States of NATO

16
The new head of the Pentagon, James Mattis, in a telephone conversation with his British counterpart Michael Fallon, declared that Washington was committed to NATO and thanked for the decision of the authorities to allocate 2% of GDP for defense.


The head of the Pentagon announced the commitment of the United States of NATO


Mattis "stressed NATO’s unshakeable commitment by the United States and thanked Minister Fallon for his country's decision to spend 2% of GDP on defense and maintaining international security," TASS Pentagon spokesman Jeff Davis.

The ministers also "agreed to work together, while focusing on the destruction of the Islamic State terrorist group (banned in the Russian Federation)."

In addition, Mattis assured that the United States and Britain "will always maintain an exceptionally close relationship." The head of the Pentagon intends to talk with Fallon during the upcoming meeting of NATO defense ministers.

Recall, on Monday, Mattis also had a telephone conversation with Defense Minister Harjit Singh Sadzhan, in which they noted "the crucial importance of the North America Aerospace Defense Joint Command (NORAD)."
Photos used:
Jonathan Ernst / Reuters
16 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. cniza
    cniza 24 January 2017 08: 23
    +6
    Mattis “emphasized NATO’s indestructible commitment on the part of the United States and thanked Minister Fallon for his country's decision to spend 2% of its GDP on defense and international security,” Pentagon spokesman Jeff Davis quoted TASS as saying.


    The goal is quickly achieved, an example is shown to everyone.
    1. vovanpain
      vovanpain 24 January 2017 08: 53
      +10
      declared Washington’s commitment to NATO and thanked for the decision of the authorities to allocate 2% of GDP for defense.

      Well, that's right, pay or go to the penal battalion. fellow
      1. Alexander Abdrakhmanov
        Alexander Abdrakhmanov 24 January 2017 10: 04
        0
        You must be confused with someone. Not Russia Trump chose America. All Democrats in America fanned when they lost the election. They began to write that Russia intervened, before the election this was not in the media. They immediately picked up in Europe that Russia was interfering in their policies. They waited and were 100% sure that Mrs. Clinton would win. In the morning they learned that the mare lost their race. The bets were paid - and Jack Pot took another, it was a shame that they put on the wrong one, they spent so much money and everything was idle. It makes no difference to us who will win the election, but we did not scream like the Democrats and European officials. If the policy changes for the Oceans, maybe they will be fine. What wakes us up from this is better, the confrontation as it was will remain only if it wakes softer. We have the best friend - the army and navy, we don’t have to wait for another. Only liberals are upset with us - that they can’t pay money for propaganda in Russia. They work poorly - they get 0 in the elections, and constantly remain on the sidelines. Soros is already furious - Russia throws money to the wind. Sanctions do not help, if we are unable to get us out.
      2. Monos
        Monos 24 January 2017 10: 05
        +3
        In principle, it is already clear that Trump immediately began to strengthen the US position. Nobody was going to dismiss the block. On the contrary, it will be strengthened, forcing everyone to pay the required fees.
        America is preparing for a serious confrontation for its place under the sun in the future world order.
    2. Nyrobsky
      Nyrobsky 24 January 2017 11: 25
      0
      Quote: cniza
      The goal is quickly achieved, an example is shown to everyone.

      Britain before Brexit unfastened 11 billion dollars in the EU, getting back 4 billion. The difference is 7 billion. Probably it can pour them into NATO, without much damage to itself. As for such countries as the Baltic States and Bulgaria, this example is certainly not "contagious" for them))) because the EU began to allocate them 7 billion less. laughing
      1. Dembel77
        Dembel77 25 January 2017 15: 08
        0
        US and Britain "will always maintain an exceptionally close relationship"
        Who would doubt ... a raven will not peck out a raven's eye. We have one hope for ourselves.
  2. Thunderbolt
    Thunderbolt 24 January 2017 08: 30
    0
    thanked Minister Fallon for his country's decision to spend 2% of GDP on defense
    As I understand it, there will be a special conversation with fines ... everyone will pay, transparently hinted Frantic Great Dane.
  3. 210ox
    210ox 24 January 2017 08: 30
    0
    Yes, this is understandable! Where is NATO without you .. yes
  4. andj61
    andj61 24 January 2017 08: 32
    +6
    Trump’s task was not to break up NATO at all, but to force NATO allies to pay 2% of the country's GDP for defense - as was recorded in the NATO agreements. Only NATO countries, except Turkey and the UK, do not want to bear these costs! So Trump raises the question: either pay the agreed 2% - or you went to the forest! America will not bear the additional costs of your safety!
    So for us, these tensions in NATO do not bring any positive: NATO countries will scratch their hair, groan, but sooner or later they will pay more. And this is not at all in our interests!
    1. Thunderbolt
      Thunderbolt 24 January 2017 08: 50
      0
      Here are the exact numbers. Obama gave the penalties 10 years to rectify the situation, but Trump is probably not so patient.Official NATO data on the level of military expenditures of NATO member countries to GDP in 2016, and in comparison with previous years 2014 and 2015 (based on prices and rates in 2010) (c) NATO (via Jane's)
    2. Lelek
      Lelek 24 January 2017 09: 00
      +4
      Quote: andj61
      for us, these frictions in NATO do not carry any positive: NATO countries will scratch their hair, groan, but sooner or later they will pay more.

      Hey.
      A small note. For the "big" NATO member states, the increase in contributions may not be painful, but for small and especially Eastern European countries it will be costly, since they will pay not only the established quotas, but also for the deployment of allied military units on their territories. Well, yes, this is their choice, let them get out, or turn on their heads and be guided by the interests of their countries. yes
      1. vladimirvn
        vladimirvn 24 January 2017 09: 11
        0
        They do not go back. So, .. remember, for sure, Evdokimov’s monologue about bees that “hunt, but climb”?
  5. Trailer
    Trailer 24 January 2017 08: 44
    0
    I still feel that it smells like the upcoming auction
  6. AID.S
    AID.S 24 January 2017 08: 49
    0
    The head of the Pentagon announced the commitment of the United States of NATO

    Oil, butter ...
  7. Alexey-74
    Alexey-74 24 January 2017 09: 19
    0
    In general, we are waiting for reforms in NATO .... (for the same as Georgia and Ukraine .... I think the way was ordered there)
  8. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 24 January 2017 10: 15
    0
    NATO’s indestructible commitment on the part of the United States and thanked Minister Fallon for his country's decision to spend 2% of GDP on defense

    In the morning money, lunch commitment. Money at lunch, evening commitment.

Глава Пентагона заявил о приверженности Соединенных Штатов НАТО

Новый глава Пентагона Джеймс Мэттис в телефонном разговоре со своим британским коллегой Майклом Фэллоном заявил о приверженности Вашингтона НАТО и поблагодарил за решение властей выделять на оборону 2 % ВВП.

Глава Пентагона заявил о приверженности Соединенных Штатов НАТО


Мэттис «подчеркнул нерушимую приверженность НАТО со стороны Соединенных Штатов и поблагодарил министра Фэллона за решение его страны тратить 2% ВВП на оборону и поддержание международной безопасности», приводит ТАСС слова представителя Пентагона Джеффа Дэвиса.


Министры также «условились работать вместе, сосредоточив при этом внимание на уничтожении террористической группировки "Исламское государство" (запрещена в РФ)».

Кроме того, Мэттис заверил, что США и Британия «всегда будут поддерживать исключительно тесные взаимоотношения». Глава Пентагона намерен пообщаться с Фэллоном в ходе предстоящей встречи министров обороны стран НАТО.

Напомним, в понедельник Мэттис также провел телефонный разговор с министром обороны Харджитом Сингхом Саджаном, в котором отметили «крайне важное значение Объединенного командования аэрокосмической обороны Северной Америки (NORAD)».

Использованы фотографии: Jonathan Ernst / Reuters

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 16

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. cniza 24 января 2017 08:23
    Мэттис «подчеркнул нерушимую приверженность НАТО со стороны Соединенных Штатов и поблагодарил министра Фэллона за решение его страны тратить 2% ВВП на оборону и поддержание международной безопасности», приводит ТАСС слова представителя Пентагона Джеффа Дэвиса.


    Цель быстро достигнута , всем пример показан.
    1. vovanpain 24 января 2017 08:53
      заявил о приверженности Вашингтона НАТО и поблагодарил за решение властей выделять на оборону 2 % ВВП.

      Ну все правильно,плати или отправляйся в штрафбат. fellow
      1. Вы наверно с кем то путайте . Не Россия Трампа выбирала а Америка . Раздули все демократы в Америки , когда проиграли на выборах . Начали писать что Россия вмешалась , до выборов такого в СМИ не было . Сразу подхватили в Европе , что Россия в их политику вмешиваются . Они ждали и на 100% были уверенны - что госпожа Клинтон победит. Утром узнали - что на гонках кобыла у них проиграла . Ставки были оплачены - а Джек пот взял другой , стало обидно что поставили не на того , столько денег потратили и все в холостую . Нам какая разница кто на выборах победит , мы же не кричали , как демократы и Европейские чиновники . Если поменяется политика за Океанам , может у них будет хорошо . Нам от этого что лучше будит , противостояние как было так и останется , только если мягче будит . У нас лучший друг - армия и флот , другого ждать не приходиться . У нас только либералы расстроились - что могут деньги за пропаганду в России не заплатить . Плохо работают - на выборах получают 0 , и постоянно остаются на обочине . Сорос уже в бешенстве - деньги выбрасывает в России на ветер . Санкции не помогают , нас с коли и не могут выбить .
      2. Монос 24 января 2017 10:05
        В принципе уже понятно, что Трамп сходу стал укреплять позиции США. Блок никто и не собирался распускать. Наоборот - его будут укреплять, заставив всех платить положенные взносы.
        Америка готовится к серьёзному противостоянию за своё место под солнцем в будущем мироустройстве.
    2. Ныробский 24 января 2017 11:25
      Цитата: cniza
      Цель быстро достигнута , всем пример показан.

      Британия до Брекзита отстёгивала в ЕС 11 млрд.долларов получая обратно 4 млрд. Разница 7 млрд. Наверное их она может вваливать в НАТО, без особого для себя ущерба. Что касается таких стран как Прибалтика и Болгария, то этот пример наверняка не является для них "заразительным"))) ибо из ЕС им стали выделять на 7 млрд.меньше. laughing
      1. Дембель77 25 января 2017 15:08
        США и Британия «всегда будут поддерживать исключительно тесные взаимоотношения»
        Кто бы сомневался...ворон ворону глаз не выклюет. Одна у нас надежда на самих себя.
  2. Громобой 24 января 2017 08:30
    поблагодарил министра Фэллона за решение его страны тратить 2% ВВП на оборону
    Как я понимаю,со штрафниками будет разговор особый...платить будут все,прозрачно намекает Бешеный дог.
  3. 210окв 24 января 2017 08:30
    Да это понятно!Куда же НАТО без вас..заштатников yes
  4. andj61 24 января 2017 08:32
    Задачей Трампа был вовсе не развал НАТО, а заставить союзников по НАТО платить 2% ВВП страны на оборону - как это и зафиксировано в натовских договорённостях. Только страны НАТО, кроме Турции и Великобритании эти расходы нести не желают! Вот Трамп и ставит вопрос ребром: или платите оговорённые 2% - или пошли Вы лесом! Америка дополнительные расходы на вашу безопасность нести не будет!
    Так что для нас эти трения в НАТО никакого позитива не несут: страны НАТО почешутся, покряхтят, но платить больше рано или поздно станут. А это вовсе не в наших интересах!
    1. Громобой 24 января 2017 08:50
      Вот точные цифры.Обама давал штрафникам 10 лет на выправление ситуации,но Трамп наверно не такой терпеливый.Официальные данные НАТО об уровне военных расходов стран-членов НАТО к ВВП в 2016 году, и в сравнении с предшествующими 2014 и 2015 годами (основываясь на ценах и курсах 2010 года) (с) НАТО (via Jane's)
    2. Лелёк 24 января 2017 09:00
      Цитата: andj61
      для нас эти трения в НАТО никакого позитива не несут: страны НАТО почешутся, покряхтят, но платить больше рано или поздно станут.

      Привет.
      Маленькое замечание. Для "больших" стран-членов НАТО повышение взносов может быть и не будет болезненным, а вот для малых и особенно восточно-европейских это будет накладно поскольку они будут платить не только установленные квоты, но и за размещение на их территориях союзных войсковых подразделений. Ну, да это их выбор, пусть выкручиваются, либо включают голову и руководствуются интересами своих стран. yes
      1. vladimirvn 24 января 2017 09:11
        Им назад ходу нет. Так что,.. помните, наверняка, монолог Евдокимова, про пчел, которые «пыщщат, да лезут»?
  5. Karavan 24 января 2017 08:44
    я таки чувствую, что здесь пахнет грядущими торгами
  6. AID.S 24 января 2017 08:49
    Глава Пентагона заявил о приверженности Соединенных Штатов НАТО

    Масло маслянное...
  7. Alexey-74 24 января 2017 09:19
    Вообщем ждем реформ в НАТО....(для таких же как Грузия и Украина....думаю туда путь заказан)
  8. rotmistr60 24 января 2017 10:15
    нерушимую приверженность НАТО со стороны Соединенных Штатов и поблагодарил министра Фэллона за решение его страны тратить 2% ВВП на оборону

    Утром деньги, в обед приверженность. В обед деньги, вечером приверженность.
Картина дня