Military Review

The oldest Taiwanese submarine will remain in service

22
The Chinese Navy has signed an agreement with the Taiwan International Shipbuilding Corporation to conduct another mid-level repair of the S 791 Hai Shih (Sea Lion) diesel-electric submarine, the oldest submarine in the world with 1945 g, according to a blog bmpd with reference to Taiwan News.




The cost of the agreement was $ 19 million. The submarine must be repaired in 18 months.

“In addition to general repair work, the navigation equipment will be updated on the boat. Repair will extend the life of the boat until 2026, and thus Hai Shih will celebrate its 80th anniversary in the ranks of Taiwan fleet"- writes the Taiwanese newspaper.

It is reported that “SS 791 Hai Shih is a former American submarine SS 478 Cutlass type Tench, which was built on the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, launched in November 1944 of the year and transferred to the US Navy 17 in March 1945 of the year, having completed 1945 in August alone combat campaign on the Pacific Ocean ".

In 1948, the submarine was upgraded using the GUPPY I program, and in the 1960 year it was re-upgraded.

“The boat was officially handed over to 12 on April 1973 of Taiwan, becoming the first full-fledged operating submarine of the Republic of China (except for the Italian subversive ultra-small submarines of the Cosmos CE1960F and SX-2 projects purchased in 404). Hai Shih after repairs in Philadelphia arrived in Taiwan on April 18 1974. Now it is the oldest submarine in the world in service, ”the material says.

The oldest Taiwanese submarine will remain in service


The boat was handed over to Taiwan without torpedoes with blocked torpedo tubes, so as not to annoy Beijing, with which the United States at the time was trying to establish relations. “However, later the torpedo tubes were reintroduced by Taiwanese and the boats were armed with torpedoes (their type is unknown),” the newspaper writes.

The combat missions of the submarine were considered (and, apparently, remain) reconnaissance, staging of minefields and ensuring the actions of special forces.

It is noted that "Taiwan is forced to retain the old submarines in the Navy because of the inability to obtain modern submarines abroad."

Photos used:
news.ltn.com.tw and www.upmedia.mg
22 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vitalson
    Vitalson 25 January 2017 10: 12
    +3
    amusing fleet collect.
    1. himRa
      himRa 25 January 2017 10: 15
      +7
      She’s probably all shaking when immersed! fool
    2. 210ox
      210ox 25 January 2017 10: 17
      +5
      Rather, a floating museum ..
      Quote: Vitalson
      amusing fleet collect.
    3. vovanpain
      vovanpain 25 January 2017 10: 22
      +9
      The oldest Taiwanese submarine will remain in service

      It would be better if they made a monument out of it, because it can sink and not emerge. request
      1. bouncyhunter
        bouncyhunter 25 January 2017 10: 31
        +7
        Quote: vovanpain
        After all, it can sink and not float. request

        Then we get an underwater monument. wink
      2. Vitalson
        Vitalson 25 January 2017 10: 32
        +1
        Then there will be an underwater monument.
    4. antivirus
      antivirus 25 January 2017 11: 32
      0
      THIS IS GEOPOLITICS. China received a warning from Trump about the possible modernization of Taiwan's Navy and Navy. Openly. Modernization money in Taiwan = RMB to USD exchange rate
      “Collective Trump” has already offered “its own number.” Which will Beijing choose?
      -freedom of development or align with Washington exchange rate.?
    5. Sergej1972
      Sergej1972 25 January 2017 13: 18
      0
      Taiwan has a fairly powerful fleet.
      1. Santa Fe
        Santa Fe 26 January 2017 07: 06
        0
        The Navy of the Republic of China is the sixth largest in the Asia-Pacific region. The honorable sixth place is not much quoted in our world, however, this is a good result for a small island off the coast of China.


        Missile destroyers "Ki Lun" (1801) and "Su Ao" (1802) of the Chinese Navy,
        in total there are four units - former. American cruisers-destroyers of the Kidd class



        Kang Ding type stealth frigates with guided missile - six units





        In addition to the combat units listed above, the Taiwanese Navy includes 16 multipurpose frigates (8 built under license by the long-hull Oliver H. Perry and 8 Knoxes from the US Navy), the Ankor-type amphibious assault-carrying dock-type, two tank landing ships of the type “ Newport, 10 minesweepers and 40 + missile and patrol boats. The naval aviation has anti-submarine “Sea Hawk” helicopters and light “Hughes 500MD” patrol helicopters - only about three dozen units. Anti-submarine and S-2T Turbo Trekker (26 in the ranks, half of them fly) are gradually replaced by P-3C Orion: the first 12 of the ordered aircraft arrived in Taiwan in November 2013.

        FAMILY FLEET
  2. 210ox
    210ox 25 January 2017 10: 15
    +3
    They are Yankeses ... they’ll not only present a boat with practically disabled devices, but they will also sell guns without a breech ... In the name of world peace ..
  3. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 25 January 2017 10: 16
    +3
    in service since 1945,

    You can go nuts.
    The cost of the agreement was $ 19 million.

    Is it worth it to spend that kind of money so that it is believed that Taiwan has its own submarine fleet. Maybe it’s better to make a museum, for example, like in Vladivostok?
    1. himRa
      himRa 25 January 2017 10: 21
      +5
      Quote: rotmistr60
      Is it worth it to spend that kind of money so that it is believed that Taiwan has its own submarine fleet. Maybe it’s better to make a museum, for example, like in Vladivostok?

      I think it will be so and the article is on the conscience of author
      Well, the boat can’t be in service so much! wassat sea ​​water and other
      1. Evgen2x
        Evgen2x 25 January 2017 11: 00
        0
        Yeah question! And the fatigue threw, and sea water, what with a solid case ??? Well, if the modernization did not include the final replacement of a durable and lightweight housing))
      2. Santa Fe
        Santa Fe 26 January 2017 07: 09
        0
        the former US submarines USS Cutlass and USS Tusk (cruising boats of the type "Balao" and "Tench") - both were laid in the 1943-44's. and launched in 1945 year! Despite their age limit, both submarines are still listed as active combat units and occasionally go to sea as training classes for training Chinese submariners. According to some data, they now have a limit on the depth of immersion.

        The reason for the amazing longevity of the boats "Hi Shi" is the modernization carried out under the GUPPY program. Strictly speaking, what the Taiwanese sailors are using now has little to do with the USS Cutlass and USS Tusk that plied the seas in the 1940s. From the previous boats there was only a solid hull, everything else has undergone global changes.

        The Greater Underwater Propulsion Power Program (GUPPY) project was adopted in the 1950-s under the influence of the German Electrobot ideas. Exploring the trophy boat, the American designers realized a simple truth: it is worth sacrificing everything - artillery, ammunition, autonomy, comfort compartments, speed in surface position - for the sake of the submarine characteristics of the submarine. All free space was taken by batteries. Their number has doubled. The artillery and the fencing of the cabin were removed, only the narrow streamlined “sail” remained from the cutting itself - all for the sake of reducing the resistance when moving under water.

        Max. submerged speed increased to an incredible 17-18 for that era, and the range of submerged navigation increased to several hundred miles. Equipped with modern sonars and radars, the boats of the war years found a second life - upgraded by the GUPPY project, they turned into formidable underwater opponents and were used in the US Navy right up to the beginning of the 1970s!

        A similar boat (“Santa Fe”, formerly USS Catfish) was actively used by the Argentine Navy during the Falkland conflict, 1982. The old boat died, nevertheless, fulfilled its mission, delivering a group of assault forces.

        So it’s too early to discount the old Taiwanese submarines - they are still able to show their old fangs. It is curious that both boats were transferred to Taiwan in the form of training units: without ammunition and with brewed torpedo tubes - however, the sly Chinese restored the boats, equipping them with modern Italian torpedoes. A caring attitude to technology works wonders - for years already 40 “Hai Shi” and “Hai Pao” regularly serve under the blue-red flag of the Republic of China.


        These boats are not at all like those on which Lunin and Marinesko fought.
  4. kolkulon
    kolkulon 25 January 2017 10: 29
    +1
    The superstructure is beautiful.
  5. Evil 55
    Evil 55 25 January 2017 10: 41
    +1
    They will repair and give Chubais to drown ...
  6. akribos
    akribos 25 January 2017 11: 43
    +1
    It's nice to see frugal and tidy people, we have few of them. Yours faithfully!
  7. DenZ
    DenZ 25 January 2017 11: 49
    0
    The article says that it was modernized under the Guppi I program. But purely outwardly (in the form of cutting) it is pure Guppi II.
  8. vvp2412
    vvp2412 25 January 2017 15: 05
    0
    Even I did not understand !? Mainland navy? Or Taiwanese Navy? Then bullshit !?
    Taiwan Navy can?
    It is unlikely that the Navy of China will modernize the Taiwanese boat !?
  9. Aaabuz
    Aaabuz 25 January 2017 15: 05
    0
    Navy of China? Is modernization carried out by the enemy?
    1. Kasym
      Kasym 25 January 2017 21: 32
      +1
      Misunderstood. Taiwan, Republic of China. Taiwan, Republic of China - full name. The author had in mind the Taiwan Navy, which signed a repair agreement with a Taiwanese company. hi
  10. sub307
    sub307 25 January 2017 16: 47
    0
    This is how "thrift for thrifty" looks like ....

Старейшая тайваньская подлодка останется в строю

ВМС Китая подписали соглашение с тайваньской корпорацией «Taiwan International Shipbuilding Corporation» о проведении очередного среднего ремонта ДЭПЛ S 791 Hai Shih ("Морской Лев") – старейшей в мире подлодки, находящейся в строю с 1945 г, сообщает блог bmpd со ссылкой на «Taiwan News».



Стоимость соглашения составила $19 млн. Субмарина должна быть отремонтирована за 18 месяцев.


«Помимо общих ремонтных работ, на лодке будет обновлено навигационное оборудование. Ремонт позволит продлить срок службы лодки до 2026 года, и таким образом Hai Shih встретит свое 80-летие в строю тайваньского флота», – пишет тайваньская газета.

Сообщается, что «SS 791 Hai Shih – бывшая американская подводная лодка SS 478 Cutlass типа Tench, которая была построена на Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, спущена на воду в ноябре 1944 года и передана ВМС США 17 марта 1945 года, успев совершить в августе 1945 года один боевой поход на Тихом океане».

В 1948 г субмарина была модернизирована по программе GUPPY I, а в 1960 году модернизирована повторно.

«Лодка была официально передана Тайваню 12 апреля 1973 года, став первой полноценной действующей подводной лодкой Китайской Республики (если не считать купленных в 1960-е годы итальянских диверсионных сверхмалых подводных лодок проектов Cosmos CE2F и SX-404). Hai Shih после ремонта в Филадельфии прибыла на Тайвань 18 апреля 1974 года. Сейчас она является старейшей подводной лодкой в мире, находящейся в строю», – говорится в материале.

Старейшая тайваньская подлодка останется в строю


Лодка была передана Тайваню без торпед с заблокированными торпедными аппаратами, чтобы не раздражать Пекин, с которым США в то время пытались наладить отношения. «Однако позднее торпедные аппараты были вновь введены тайванцами в строй и лодки были вооружены торпедами (тип их неизвестен)», – пишет издание.

Боевыми задачами субмарины считались (и, видимо, остаются) разведка, постановка минных заграждений и обеспечение действий сил специального назначения.

Отмечается, что «Тайвань вынужден сохранять старые подлодки в составе ВМС из-за невозможности получения современных подводных лодок за рубежом».


Использованы фотографии: news.ltn.com.tw и www.upmedia.mg

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 22

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Vitalson 25 января 2017 10:12
    потешный флот собирают.
    1. himRa 25 января 2017 10:15
      Она наверна вся трящщит при погружении!не боятся ведь fool
    2. 210окв 25 января 2017 10:17
      Скорее плавающий музей..
      Цитата: Vitalson
      потешный флот собирают.
    3. vovanpain 25 января 2017 10:22
      Старейшая тайваньская подлодка останется в строю

      Лучше бы памятник из нее сделали.Ведь может погрузится и не всплыть. request
      1. bouncyhunter 25 января 2017 10:31
        Цитата: vovanpain
        Ведь может погрузится и не всплыть. request

        Тогда получится подводный памятник . wink
      2. Vitalson 25 января 2017 10:32
        Тогда будет подводный памятник.
    4. антивирус 25 января 2017 11:32
      ЭТО-ГЕОПОЛИТИКА. Китай получил предупреждение от Трампа о возможной модернизации ВС и ВМФ Тайваня. В открытую. Деньги на модернизацию в Тайвань = обменному курсу юаня к долл.
      "Коллективный Трамп" уже предложил "свою цЫфру" .Что выберет Пекин?
      -свободу развития или согласовать с Вашингтоном обменного курса.?
    5. Sergej1972 25 января 2017 13:18
      У Тайваня достаточно мощный флот.
      1. Santa Fe 26 января 2017 07:06
        Военно-морской флот Китайской Республики — шестой по величине в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Почетное шестое место не слишком котируется в нашем мире, тем не менее, это неплохой результат для маленького острова у берегов Китая.


        Ракетные эсминцы "Ки Лун" (1801) и "Су Ао" (1802) ВМС Китайской Республики,
        всего в составе четыре единицы - бывш. американские крейсеры-эсминцы типа "Кидд"



        Стелс-фрегаты с управляемым ракетным оружием типа Kang Ding — шесть единиц





        Кроме вышеперечисленных боевых единиц, ВМС Тайваня включают в себя 16 многоцелевых фрегатов (8 построенных по лицензии длиннокорпусных «Оливер Х. Перри» и 8 «Ноксов» из состава ВМС США), десантный вертолетоносец-док типа «Анкордж», два танкодесантных корабля типа «Ньюпорт», 10 тральщиков и 40+ ракетных и патрульных катеров. На вооружении авиации ВМС находятся противолодочные вертолеты «Си Хоук» и легкие патрульные вертолеты «Хьюз 500MD» — всего около трех десятков единиц. Противолодочные и поисково-спасательные самолеты S-2T «Турбо Треккер» (26 в строю, из них летает половина) постепенно заменяются на P-3C «Орион»: первый из 12 заказанных самолетов прибыл на Тайвань в ноябре 2013 года.

        ПОТЕШНЫЙ ФЛОТ
  2. 210окв 25 января 2017 10:15
    Янкесы они такие...не только лодку с выведенными фактически из строя аппаратами подарят,но и орудия без казенной части продадут...Во имя мира во всем мире..
  3. rotmistr60 25 января 2017 10:16
    находящейся в строю с 1945 г,

    Офигеть можно.
    Стоимость соглашения составила $19 млн

    А стоит ли тратить такие деньги для того, чтобы считалось, что у Тайваня есть свой подводный флот. Может лучше сделать музей, например как во Владивостоке?
    1. himRa 25 января 2017 10:21
      Цитата: rotmistr60
      А стоит ли тратить такие деньги для того, чтобы считалось, что у Тайваня есть свой подводный флот. Может лучше сделать музей, например как во Владивостоке?

      думаю так и будет а статья это на совести аффтара
      ну не может лодка столько быть на вооружении! wassat морская вода и прочее
      1. Evgen2x 25 января 2017 11:00
        Дааа вопрос! И усталость метала, и морская вода, что с прочным корпусом??? ну ежели в модернизацию не входила конечна замена прочного и легкого корпусов))
      2. Santa Fe 26 января 2017 07:09
        бывшие американские субмарины USS Cutlass и USS Tusk (крейсерские лодки типов «Балао» и «Тенч») — обе были заложены в 1943-44 гг. и спущены на воду в 1945 году! Несмотря на свой предельный возраст, обе субмарины до сих пор числятся действующими боевыми единицами и периодически выходят в море в качестве учебных классов для подготовки китайских подводников. По некоторым данным, сейчас имеют ограничение по глубине погружения.

        Причина удивительного долголетия лодок «Хай Ши» — модернизация, проведенная по программе GUPPY. Строго говоря, то, что сейчас используют тайванские моряки, имеет мало отношения к тем USS Cutlass и USS Tusk, что бороздили моря в 1940-х годах. От прежних лодок остался лишь прочный корпус, все остальное подверглось глобальным изменениям.

        Проект Greater Underwater Propulsion Power Program (GUPPY) был принят в 1950-х годах под влиянием идей немецкого «Электробота». Исследуя трофейную лодку, американские конструкторы осознали простую истину: стоит пожертвовать всем — артиллерией, боезапасом, автономностью, комфортностью отсеков, скоростью в надводном положении — ради подводных характеристик подводной лодки. Все свободное место заняли аккумуляторные батареи. Их количество увеличилось в два раза. Была снята артиллерия и ограждение рубки, от самой рубки остался лишь узкий обтекаемый «парус» — все ради снижения сопротивления при движении под водой.

        Макс. скорость в подводном положении возросла до невероятных для той эпохи 17-18 уз., дальность плавания под водой увеличилась до нескольких сотен миль. Оснащенные современными гидролокаторами и радарами, лодки военных лет обрели вторую жизнь — модернизированные по проекту GUPPY, они превратилась в грозных подводных противников и использовались на американском флоте вплоть до начала 1970-х годов!

        Похожая лодка («Санта Фе», бывш. USS Catfish) активно использовалась ВМС Аргентины в ходе Фолклендского конфликта, 1982 г. Старая лодка погибла, тем не менее, выполнила свою миссию, доставив группу десанта.

        Так что слишком рано снимать со счетов старые тайванские субмарины — они все еще способны показать свои старые клыки. Любопытно, что обе лодки передавались Тайваню в виде учебных единиц: без боекомплекта и с заваренным торпедными аппаратами — однако, хитрые китайцы восстановили лодки, оснастив их современными итальянскими торпедами. Заботливое отношение к технике творит чудеса — вот уже 40 лет «Хай Ши» и «Хай Пао» исправно служат под сине-красным флагом Китайской Республики.


        Эти лодки совсем не похожи на те, на которых воевали Лунин и Маринеско
  4. kolkulon 25 января 2017 10:29
    Надстроечка красивая.
  5. Злой 55 25 января 2017 10:41
    Отремонтируют и подарят Чубайсу,чтобы утопился...
  6. akribos 25 января 2017 11:43
    Приятно видить, бережливых и аккуратных людей, у нас таких мало. С уважением!
  7. DenZ 25 января 2017 11:49
    В статье написано что прошла модернизацию по программе Guppi I. Но чисто внешне ( по форме рубки) это чистая Guppi II .
  8. vvp2412 25 января 2017 15:05
    Чет я не понял!? ВМС континентального Китая? Или ВМС Тайваньского Китая? Тогда бред!?
    ВМС Тайваня может?
    Вряд ли ВМС КНР будут модернизировать тайваньскую лодку!?
  9. Aaabuz 25 января 2017 15:05
    ВМФ Китая? Модернизация проводится врагом?
    1. Касым 25 января 2017 21:32
      Неправильно поняли. Тайвань, Китайская Республика. Taiwan, Republic of China - полное название. Автор имел в виду ВМС Тайваня, который подписал с тайваньской компанией договор о ремонте. hi
  10. sub307 25 января 2017 16:47
    Вот так выглчдит "бережливость к бережливо сбережённому"....
Картина дня