Military Review

Soviet river flotillas in the Civil War. 1918 year. Part of 2

7
Soviet river flotillas in the Civil War. 1918 year. Part of 2



Of interest are the operations of the North Dvinsk flotilla, although they didn’t have such great significance as the actions of Volzhskaya, but still of interest, since her opponent had special military courts (built for operations during the First World War on the Tigris and Euphrates - but in the 1918 campaign they will show themselves did not make it).

In early August, Arkhangelsk, by joint efforts of the British, French and white rebels, was cleared of Soviet troops. The road to Kotlas for the first two weeks was free for them - but the whites at the moment did not have ships for waging a river war and were forced to start creating a flotilla. The Americans were the quickest to orient themselves: having armed several boats with rapid-fire cannons and installing six-inch guns on rafts, they launched an offensive.

The Reds created the 3 gunboats, one of the most powerful tugboats they had available. During this period, hostilities on Dvina were clearly partisan in nature, and neither side had an obvious advantage.

When the White rafts were commissioned by the Whites, the Reds decided to arm their ships with stronger artillery: they began to put 75-mm on gunboats, and 100-mm guns on barges. Now the red side had an advantage: large-caliber guns were mounted on their barges, and besides, towing white rafts was difficult - especially since white had to act against the current. The rafts were inactive. In one of the fights between the red floating battery and the white raft, the latter was quickly destroyed.

Until September, whites' efforts were focused primarily on mastering the mouth of the r. Wagi - the most important point for moving inland. The battles for mastering the mouth of the Vaga were fought with varying success - until a monitor with 5-inch artillery arrived at the whites. With the advent of the monitor, they captured the mouth of the Vaga and quickly advanced up the river.

In response, the Reds set up a minefield consisting of ball mines of the 1908 model of the year and mines of the engineering department. But not the mines, but the coming winter stopped the movement of the whites.

The difference in the periods of freezing of the upper and lower reaches of the river, which reached seven days, was of great importance for the result of the operation - it forced the whites to remove their ships for wintering in Arkhangelsk before the Reds had to.

1918 was the year for the Northern Dvina to be a prelude to serious future clashes for owning a river. By the autumn of 1918, with the help of icebreakers in Arkhangelsk, considerable white forces were concentrated in: six gunboats built in 1916 and armed with two 6-inch, two 3-inch anti-aircraft guns and six machine guns (14 nodes, 2400 engine l s., displacement 645 tons), six monitors (displacement 570 tons, move 14 nodes), armed with one 9-inch, one 4-inch guns, three anti-aircraft guns and six machine guns.

In addition to the Volga and North Dvina flotillas, in 1918 there was a fairly strong flotilla on Lake Onega. But her hostilities were shackled by White’s success on Dvina, and in 1918, they didn’t matter much.

The experience of hard struggle for supremacy on the most important waterways of the country was used to organize the river war during the 1919 campaign of the year.

The most important in terms of accumulation of experience were the actions of the Volga Military Flotilla. It was recognized that the actions of the flotilla can be both independent and auxiliary character. Independent operations were considered aimed at disorganizing and destroying the enemy flotilla: attacks of ships, setting minefields, etc. In auxiliary operations, the flotilla must support the ground forces with its own artillery fire.

It was recognized that the flotilla should have the following types of ships and vessels: for solving independent tasks, gunboats, reconnaissance boats, barriers and minesweepers; for assistance to the army - auxiliary ships, floating batteries, pontoon and vehicles, balloons and airplanes (used to monitor and adjust fire).

Based on the experimental data of the Nizhny Novgorod military port, it was considered possible to install artillery on river vessels up to 120-mm caliber, and on floating batteries - up to 8-inch caliber. The artillery installed on the gunboats, as the main requirement was the presence of a good rate of fire and long range - at least due to the caliber. The caliber of artillery on auxiliary ships was supposed to be maximum, while the rate of fire for her was not decisive. The arming of floating batteries, intended only for firing at shore targets, should have been based on the same principle as for auxiliary vessels. Boats were subject to arming with mountain guns and machine guns.

Successful use of minefields in 1918 in the river war has attached great importance to them - not only as defensive, but also as offensive weapons. It was considered necessary to include in the flotilla of the detachment minelayers with special devices for dropping mines of the “Rybka” type - this type was recognized as the most successful due to the simplicity of the device and the high speed of mine settings.

The transport flotilla was to consist of passenger and tugboats: these ships did not have special armament, and, if necessary, were armed with machine guns.

The experience of the 1918 campaign of the year in river theaters of military operations had a great significance not only for the subsequent campaigns of the Civil War, but also for the further development of the river military fleets of our country.


Gunboat "Thunder" (former towboat "Mukomol").
Author:
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Olgovich
    Olgovich 13 February 2017 07: 38
    +9
    The article is certainly interesting.
    min type "Fish"


    This mine was created specifically to block the Bosphorus and river estuaries: due to its non-spherical shape, it did not press against the ground and was a very unpleasant surprise for small ships and fruit boats. Used in the Second World War.

    It’s a shame that it was used by their own against their own in civilian.
    1. V.ic
      V.ic 13 February 2017 08: 24
      +7
      Quote: Olgovich
      It’s a shame that it was used by their own against their own in civilian.

      ... "mosinka", perhaps, will be worse.
    2. Amurets
      Amurets 13 February 2017 08: 44
      +4
      Quote: Olgovich
      This mine was created specifically to block the Bosphorus and river estuaries: due to its non-spherical shape, it did not press against the ground and was a very unpleasant surprise for small ships and fruit boats. Used in the Second World War.

      Yes, I support you and another quote
      "The greatest application was found by a small strike mine of the Rybka type. The elongated shape made it possible to place this mine in areas with a strong current, mainly on rivers. Usual steep mines with the current presses them to the bottom and tilts them, ships can freely pass over them." Rybka " while on the course it kept a horizontal position and was convenient for staging with small baits and boats. These mines were widely used in the civil war on the Caspian and Azov seas, as well as on rivers. "

      Link where the quote came from: http://www.studfiles.ru/preview/896339/
      The material is interesting. Very little has been written about the war in the north, except perhaps something about Peacock Vinogradov, Yes V. Pikul "From the impasse."
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 13 February 2017 07: 45
    +9
    joint efforts of the British, French and white rebels
    ... It seems that the French, the British are the indigenous inhabitants of the Russian North .. And the article is interesting, thanks ...
    1. Schultz
      Schultz 13 February 2017 08: 57
      +4
      According to the plan of Trotsky, the father of the founder of the intervention of the Western powers, and later the Chief Concession Provider (4 concession objects were envisaged), concession emissaries should also be introduced into the leadership of the Russian North and Russian Far East. In 1921, the PB raised the question of placing the colonists who arrived in ECHELONS to enslave the concession territories.
  3. Thunderbolt
    Thunderbolt 13 February 2017 08: 29
    +6
    I learned a lot, and then everything was limited to the book "Salon" read in childhood, with beautiful, by the way, illustrations.
  4. Barcid
    Barcid 13 February 2017 10: 21
    +17
    Thank. Interesting stuff

Советские речные флотилии в Гражданской войне. 1918 год. Часть 2

Советские речные флотилии в Гражданской войне. 1918 год. Часть 2


Интерес представляют и операции Северо-Двинской флотилии, хотя и не имевшие столь большого значения, как действия Волжской, но все же представляющие интерес, так как ее противник располагал специальными военными судами (построенными для действий в период Первой мировой войны на Тигре и Ефрате - но в кампании 1918 г. они себя проявить не успели).

В начале августа Архангельск совместными усилиями англичан, французов и белых повстанцев был очищен от советских войск. Дорога на Котлас первые две недели была для них была свободна - но белые в данный момент не имели кораблей для ведения речной войны и были вынуждены приступить к созданию флотилии. Быстрее всех сориентировались американцы: вооружив несколько катеров скорострельными пушками и установив шестидюймовые орудия на плотах, они перешли в наступление.


Красные же создали 3 канонерских лодки - из наиболее мощных буксиров, имевшихся у них в наличии. В этот период боевые действия на Двине носили явно партизанский характер, и очевидного перевеса ни у одной из сторон не было.

Когда у белых вошли в строй боевые плоты, красные решили вооружить свои корабли более сильной артиллерией: на канонерках начали ставить 75-мм, а на баржах – 100-мм орудия. Теперь на стороне красных оказалось преимущество: на их баржах были установлены орудия крупного калибра, а кроме того буксировка белых плотов была затруднительна - тем более что белым приходилось действовать против течения. Плоты были малоподвижны. В одном из поединков между красной плавучей батарей и белым плотом последний был быстро уничтожен.

До сентября месяца усилия белых были сосредоточены, прежде всего, на овладении устьем р. Ваги - важнейшим пунктом для продвижения в глубь страны. Бои за овладение устьем Ваги велись с переменным успехом - до тех пор, пока к белым не прибыл монитор с 5-дюймовой артиллерией. С появлением монитора они овладели устьем Ваги и быстро продвинулись вверх по реке.

В ответ красные выставили минное заграждение, состоявшее из шаровых мин образца 1908 года и мин инженерного ведомства. Но не мины, а наступившая зима приостановила движение белых.

Большое значение на результат операции имела разница в сроках замерзания верхнего и нижнего течения реки, доходившая до семи дней - она заставила белых убрать свои корабли на зимовку в Архангельск раньше, чем это должны были сделать красные.

1918 год для Северной Двины был прелюдией к будущим серьезным столкновениям за обладание рекой. Уже к осени 1918 года при помощи ледоколов в Архангельске были сосредоточены значительные силы белых в составе: шести канонерских лодок, построенных в 1916 году и вооруженных двумя 6-дюймовыми, двумя 3-дюймовыми зенитными пушками и шестью пулеметами (ход 14 узлов, двигатель 2400 л. с., водоизмещение 645 тонн), шести мониторов (водоизмещение 570 тонн, ход 14 узлов), вооруженных одним 9-дюймовым, одним 4-дюймовым орудиями, тремя зенитными пушками и шестью пулеметами.

Помимо Волжской и Северо-Двинской флотилий в 1918 году существовала и довольно сильная флотилия на Онежском озере. Но ее боевые действия были скованы успехами белых на Двине, и в 1918 году они особого значения не имели.

Опыт тяжелой борьбы за господство на наиболее важных водных путях страны был использован при организации речной войны в ходе кампании 1919 года.

Наиболее важными в плане накопления опыта оказались действия Волжской военной флотилии. Было признано, что действия флотилии могут носить как самостоятельный, так и вспомогательный характер. Самостоятельными считались операции, направленные к дезорганизации и уничтожению неприятельской флотилии: атаки кораблей, постановки минных заграждений и пр. Во вспомогательных операциях флотилия должна поддерживать сухопутные войска огнем своей артиллерии.

Было признано, что флотилия должна располагать следующими типами кораблей и судов: для решения самостоятельных задач - канонерскими лодками, разведывательными катерами, заградителями и тральщиками; для содействия армии - вспомогательными судами, плавучими батареями, понтонными и транспортными средствами, воздушными шарами и аэропланами (использовались для наблюдения и корректировки огня).

На основании опытных данных Нижегородского военного порта признавалась возможной установка на речных судах артиллерии до 120-мм калибра, а на плавучих батареях - до 8-дюймового калибра. К артиллерии, устанавливаемой на канонерках, в качестве главного требования предъявлялось наличие хорошей скорострельности и дальнобойности – хотя бы и за счет калибра. Калибр артиллерии на вспомогательных судах должен был быть максимальным, в то время как скорострельность для нее решающего значения не имела. Вооружение плавучих батарей, предназначенных только для стрельбы по береговым целям, должно было быть основано на том же принципе, что и для вспомогательных судов. Катера подлежали вооружению горными орудиями и пулеметами.

Удачное использование в 1918 году в речной войне минных заграждений закрепило за ними большое значение - причем не только как оборонительного, но и как наступательного оружия. Было признано необходимым включение в состав флотилии отряда минных заградителей со специальными приспособлениями для сбрасывания мин типа «Рыбка» - этот тип был признан наиболее удачным благодаря простоте устройства и высокой скорости минных постановок.

Транспортная флотилия должна была состоять из пассажирских и буксирных пароходов: специального вооружения эти суда не имели, и при необходимости вооружались пулеметами.

Опыт кампании 1918 года на речных театрах военных действий оказал огромное значение не только на последующие кампании Гражданской войны, но и на дальнейшее становление речных военных флотилий нашей страны.


Канонерская лодка «Громовой» (бывший буксирный пароход «Мукомол»).
Автор: Олейников Алексей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Ольгович 13 февраля 2017 07:38
    Статья, безусловно, интересная
    мин типа «Рыбка»


    Эта мина создавалась специально для блокирования Босфора и устьев рек: в силу своей нешаровидной формы она не прижималась течением к грунту и была очень неприятным сюрпизом для небольших кораблей и ПЛодок. Использовалась и в ВОВ.

    Оччень обидно, что использовалась своими против своих в гражданской.
    1. V.ic 13 февраля 2017 08:24
      Цитата: Ольгович
      Оччень обидно, что использовалась своими против своих в гражданской.

      ..."мосинка", пожалуй, пострашнее будет.
    2. амурец 13 февраля 2017 08:44
      Цитата: Ольгович
      Эта мина создавалась специально для блокирования Босфора и устьев рек: в силу своей нешаровидной формы она не прижималась течением к грунту и была очень неприятным сюрпизом для небольших кораблей и ПЛодок. Использовалась и в ВОВ.

      Да поддерживаю вас и ещё одна цитата
      "Наибольшее применение нашла малая ударная мина типа "Рыбка". Вытянутая форма позволяла ставить эту мину в районах с сильным течением, главным образом на реках. Обычные крутые мины течением прижимает ко дну и наклоняет их, корабли могут свободно проходить над ними. "Рыбка" же на течении сохраняла горизонтальное положение и была удобна для постановки с малых травлей и катеров. Эти мины широко применялись и в гражданскую войну на Каспийском и Азовском морях, а также на реках."

      Ссылка, откуда взята цитата: http://www.studfiles.ru/preview/896339/
      Материал интересный. Про войну на севере очень мало написано, разве кое-что о Павлине Виноградове попадается, Да В. Пикуль "Из тупика".
  2. parusnik 13 февраля 2017 07:45
    совместными усилиями англичан, французов и белых повстанцев
    ...Такое впечатление, что французы, англичане коренные жители русского Севера..А статья интересная, спасибо...
    1. Шульц 13 февраля 2017 08:57
      По замыслу Троцкого - отца основателя интервенции западных держав, а в последствии Главного по концессиям( предусматривалось - 4 тыс.концес.объектов) в руководство русского Севера и русского ДВ должны быть введены и эмиссары от концессий. В 1921 году на ПБ ставился вопрос о размещении прибывших в ЭШЕЛОНАХ колонистов, для порабощения концессионных территорий.
  3. Громобой 13 февраля 2017 08:29
    Много узнал,а то всё ограничивалось прочитанной в детстве книжки "Салажонок", с красивыми,кстати,иллюстрациями.
  4. Barcid 13 февраля 2017 10:21
    Спасибо. Интересный материал
Картина дня