Military Review

US in the Arctic: neither to yourself nor to people

15
February 1 in Copenhagen ended the meeting of the Arctic Council Working Group on the Arctic Marine Environment Protection Program (PAME).




The meeting was attended by representatives of all countries participating in the Arctic Council (Russian Federation, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Iceland, Canada and the United States), as well as representatives of other working groups of the Council and non-governmental organizations.

Since May 2017, Finland has become the chairman of the Arctic Council for two years. The focus was on the program that she plans to implement during this period. Among the tasks listed by the Finns, an important place is occupied by the issues of shipping and the protection of the marine environment from its negative impact.

One of the biggest events will be international exercises, which will be held in March 2018 of the year in the Gulf of Bothnia, during which oil spill response in the Arctic will be worked out.

To date, the use of heavy fuels (fuel oil) is one of the biggest problems in the region. As the transport and environmental group reported in its report, “in the event of oil spills as a result of ship accidents, it is impossible to completely clear the sea of ​​heavy sorts of oil products, which will adversely affect extremely vulnerable species in the Arctic.” It is known that only one ton of oil creates a film with an area of ​​about 12 km2, and a tanker can transport from 16 to 320 and even more tons.

Since the vast majority of ships currently use fuel oil in the Arctic waters, delegations made a joint decision to develop an information document with proposals for resolving the problem. The report will be submitted to the International Maritime Organization.

Another project aimed at protecting the marine environment from the negative impact of shipping was the Polar Code, which entered into force on January 1 of the year 2017. Russia and Finland were appointed to be responsible for monitoring its implementation.

Recall that in December 2016, former US President Barack Obama and Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau declared the American and Canadian zones in the Arctic protected areas and banned the production of hydrocarbons in these territories.

On the one hand, the solution looks environmentally positive. No production - no associated infrastructure, the operation of which represents the greatest danger to the environment. The decision of the Western authorities supported the World Wildlife Fund and the international public organization Greenpeace. However, not everything is so clearly rosy.

First, shortly after his victory in the presidential elections in the States, Donald Trump noted that his plans include the active development of fuel production in the Arctic. Experts do not exclude that Obama's innovation was a farewell "gift" for Trump, whose political course he did not approve. Now, after the introduction of restrictions on extractive work, if Mr. Trump wants to re-start work in the north, he will have to seek the lifting of the ban through the courts, which may take more than one year.

Secondly, against the backdrop of the actions of Barack Obama, who have received a positive response from nature conservation organizations, the work of other countries in the Arctic region may cause public criticism. Despite the fact that the development of deposits is carried out in compliance with environmental standards and measures are being taken to improve the environmental situation in the region, they will look like a blind and irresponsible pursuit of resources.

This can play into the hands of Western countries. The US senator from Alaska acknowledged that Russia is far ahead of the United States in developing the Arctic region. “We are late,” he stated. And if the Americans admit that they will not be able to catch up with Moscow, they, nevertheless, may try to obstruct it.

Nevertheless, as the cooperation of Russia with Norway and Finland on the protection of the environment shows, no country takes any rash actions in the Arctic. On the contrary, the development of the region probably goes somewhat slower than it could, but in this case it is impossible to hurry. Without a doubt, each of the countries, considering its next step, acts in its own interests. But while some are worried about the safe increase of efficiency and the prevention of possible consequences, others are trying to do so that no one gets it.
Author:
15 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. grandson of the hero
    grandson of the hero 16 February 2017 07: 08
    +11
    At the beginning of winter, I was at this station, which is in the photograph. Varandey station is located in our territorial waters of the Barents Sea. Practically - it fills tankers that cannot approach the shore. For several tens of meters, the piles are driven into the bottom and the station itself is up to the bottom (depth about 20m). In fact, the ship (it just doesn’t move anywhere) - there is a captain, a boatswain ... Kok cooks just fine, five-time meals. The top with the refueling module rotates 360 ° for the convenience and safety of refueling tankers.
    For especially stubborn "green" - zero emission. Physically, nothing can get overboard. Periodic checks reveal nothing at all. And two ships nearby - support vessels, are constantly next to the station.
    The author of the article was mistaken in the volume of tanker filling - it should be read: thousand tons.
    And the cherry - well, of course LUKOIL.
    If interested, I will answer questions as far as possible.
    1. Evdokim
      Evdokim 16 February 2017 14: 41
      +1
      Oh, how I want to somehow be involved in the national treasure, at least a little, but not on that studied.
      1. grandson of the hero
        grandson of the hero 16 February 2017 19: 18
        0
        The total station personnel have a seafarer and a Northern Sea Route.
    2. grandson of the hero
      grandson of the hero 16 February 2017 19: 29
      0
      Guess where tankers mostly go ???
      You are mistaken ... to Norway !!! No.
  2. Mar.Tirah
    Mar.Tirah 16 February 2017 07: 11
    +4
    Soviet times caused great damage to the territory of the Arctic and its coast. Then we carried goods only in one direction. And all this accumulated there for decades. I remember thousands of oil barrels and fuel dumped under a hill. And the oil-covered windows of small lakes formed in the summer in the tundra! But the worst part is fuel oil. Light fractions decompose and evaporate. And the rest of the mass, similar in its properties to liquid tar, is thrown onto the banks, or sticks to animals, and the body of the electric ship .. It's a terrible sight. It even smells no, like rainbow spots. I’m glad that in fact, not in words, we started the fight against pollution. The video footage confirms this. We also learned how to deal with discharges of under-water waters. And it’s very strict right now. on pumps, check the FFV change logs at the bunker bases.
    1. Igor V
      Igor V 16 February 2017 13: 58
      +2
      Barrels are the most massive building material in the Arctic. From walls and stoves, to road landmarks and gurias in special places. Now all the barrels will be destroyed, how to mark the track? sad
      But it’s not worth blaming everything on Russia, there were no Soviet polar explorers in Greenland, and no less was sent.
  3. midshipman
    midshipman 16 February 2017 07: 27
    +5
    By decision of the Government of the country, we published the monograph "The Arctic Regions of Russia: Management, Development." I have the honor.
  4. Gormenghast
    Gormenghast 16 February 2017 08: 17
    +3
    "Environmental protection"- This is a line from the Obama song about global warming, solar and wind energy, electric cars and other clownish inventions.

    What the United States is doing in the Arctic Council is not clear; They have not ratified the Convention on the Law of the Sea; want to sit on two chairs at the same time. Not that I am for the Convention (it’s a betrayal of Russian interests), but now that it has been signed, it’s necessary not to take the Amer’s sticks out of the wheels, but to clean the a-measures themselves from the relevant organization. am
    1. antivirus
      antivirus 16 February 2017 09: 01
      0
      want to sit on two chairs at the same time.
      And sit-size allows.
      Their business is to prevent others from becoming stronger, ours is free to develop.
  5. V.ic
    V.ic 16 February 2017 10: 45
    0
    Maybe it's time to lay submarines = tankers on slipways Nevermind ice ...
  6. Alexey RA
    Alexey RA 16 February 2017 11: 54
    0
    Today, the use of heavy fuels (fuel oil) is one of the largest problems in the region.

    Excellent - it means you need to switch to ... nuclear power plants. Exclusively in compliance with the requirements of the Greens on the rejection of fuel oil in the Arctic. laughing
  7. The comment was deleted.
  8. Charond
    Charond 16 February 2017 12: 55
    +4
    It is time for Russia to unilaterally declare all the Arctic territories to which it claims to be its territory and let it turn up if they dare ... China is doing the right thing. He installed his anti-ship missiles and anti-aircraft defense on the islands and warned of the consequences of an attack on them.
    1. grandson of the hero
      grandson of the hero 16 February 2017 19: 27
      0
      Prirazlomnaya and Varandey, and maybe something else, they want to declare islands and expand territorial waters. There are a lot of subtleties, money at stake and gov .... tsa (sorry for the unformat).
      1. Charond
        Charond 16 February 2017 19: 32
        0
        China does and does right.
  9. EternalStranger
    EternalStranger 16 February 2017 14: 53
    0
    Cooperation between Russia and Norway, is this supposed to be the surrender of the Barents Sea to the Norwegians?

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

США в Арктике: ни себе, ни людям

1 февраля в Копенгагене завершилось заседание Рабочей группы Арктического совета по Программе защиты арктической морской среды (PAME).



На заседании присутствовали представители всех стран-участниц Арктического совета (Российская Федерация, Норвегия, Швеция, Финляндия, Дания, Исландия, Канада и США), а также представители других рабочих групп совета и неправительственных организаций.


С мая 2017 года председателем Арктического совета на два года становится Финляндия. Основное внимание было уделено программе, которую она планирует реализовать в течение этого срока. Среди перечисленных финнами задач важное место занимают вопросы судоходства и охрана морской среды от его негативного воздействия.

Одним из наиболее крупных мероприятий станут международные учения, которые пройдут в марте 2018 года в Ботническом заливе, в ходе которых будет отработана ликвидация разливов нефти в Арктике.

На сегодняшний день использование тяжелых видов топлива (мазута) представляет собой одну из наиболее крупных проблем региона. Как сообщила в своем докладе группа по транспорту и экологии, «в случае разливов нефти в результате аварий судов невозможно полностью очистить море от тяжелых сортов нефтепродуктов, что крайне негативно скажется на чрезвычайно уязвимых видах жизни в Арктике». Известно, что всего одна тонна нефти создает пленку площадью около 12 км2, а танкер может перевозить от 16 до 320 и даже более тонн.

Поскольку в настоящее время в арктических водах подавляющее большинство судов используют именно мазут, делегациями было принято совместное решение разработать информационный документ с предложениями по урегулированию проблемы. Доклад будет представлен на рассмотрение в Международную морскую организацию.

Еще одним проектом, направленным на защиту морской среды от негативного влияния судоходства, стал Полярный кодекс, вступивший в силу 1 января 2017 года. Ответственными за контроль его выполнения были назначены Россия и Финляндия.

Напомним, что в декабре 2016 года бывший президент США Барак Обама и премьер-министр Канады Джастин Трюдо объявили американскую и канадскую зоны в Арктике заповедными зонами и запретили добычу углеводородов на этих территориях.

С одной стороны, решение выглядит экологически позитивным. Нет добычи — нет сопутствующей инфраструктуры, эксплуатация которой и представляет собой наибольшую опасность для окружающей среды. Решение западных властей поддержали Всемирный фонд дикой природы и международная общественная организация «Гринпис». Однако не все так однозначно радужно.

Во-первых, вскоре после своей победы на президентских выборах в Штатах Дональд Трамп отметил, что в его планы входит активное развитие добычи топлива в Арктике. Эксперты не исключают, что нововведение Обамы было прощальным «подарком» для Трампа, политический курс которого он не одобрял. Теперь, после введения ограничений на добывающие работы, если господин Трамп захочет вновь начать работы на севере, ему придется добиваться отмены запрета через суды, что может занять не один год.

Во-вторых, на фоне действий Барака Обамы, получивших положительный отклик со стороны организаций по охране природы, работы других стран в Арктическом регионе могут вызвать критику общественности. Несмотря на то, что разработки месторождений ведутся с соблюдением экологических норм и проводятся мероприятия, направленные на оздоровление экологической обстановки в регионе, они будут выглядеть слепой и безответственной погоней за ресурсы.

Это может сыграть на руку странам Запада. Американский сенатор от штата Аляска признал, что Россия сильно опережает США в освоении Арктического региона. «Мы опоздали», — констатировал он. И если американцы признают, что догнать Москву у них уже не выйдет, они, тем не менее, могут попытаться чинить ей препятствия.

Тем не менее, как показывает сотрудничество России с Норвегией и Финляндией по вопросам защиты окружающей среды, ни одна страна не предпринимает необдуманных действий в Арктике. Напротив, развитие региона, вероятно, идет несколько медленнее, чем могло бы, но в данном случае спешить нельзя. Без сомнения, каждая из стран, обдумывая свой следующий шаг, действует в своих интересах. Но пока одни беспокоятся о безопасном повышении эффективности и предотвращении возможных последствий, другие пытаются сделать так, чтобы не досталось никому.
Автор: Виктор Зарецкий


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 16

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. внук героя 16 февраля 2017 07:08
    В начале зимы я был на этой станции, что на фотографиии. Станция "Варандей" расположена в наших территориальных водах Баренцова моря. Практически - наполняет танкеры, которые не могут подойти к берегу. На несколько десятков метров сваи вбиты в дно и сама станция до самого дна (глубина около 20м). По сути корабль (только ни куда не двигается) - есть капитан, боцман... Кок готовит просто великолепно, питание пятиразовое. Верхняя часть с заправочным модулем вращается на 360° для удобства и безопасности заправки танкеров.
    Для особо упоротых "зелёных" - нулевой выброс. За борт физически ничего попасть не может. Периодические проверки ничего не выявляют вообще. А два судна рядом - суда обеспечения, находятся постоянно рядом со станцией.
    Автор статьи ошибся в объёмах заливки танкеров - следует читать : тысяч тонн.
    И вишенка - ну конечно ЛУКОИЛ.
    Если интересно, по возможности отвечу на вопросы.
    1. Евдоким 16 февраля 2017 14:41
      Эх как хочется хоть как-нибудь быть причастным к национальному достоянию, хоть чуть- чуть, но не на того учился.
      1. внук героя 16 февраля 2017 19:18
        У Всего персонала станции за плечами мореходка и севморпуть.
    2. внук героя 16 февраля 2017 19:29
      Угадайте, куда в основном идут танкеры???
      Ошибаетесь... в Норвегию!!! no
  2. Мар.Тира 16 февраля 2017 07:11
    Советские времена принесли большой ущерб территории Арктики,и её побережью.Тогда мы везли грузы только в одну сторону.И всё это скапливалось там десятилетиями.Помню тысячи бочек из под масла,и топлива,сброшенные под сопку.И покрытые масляной пленкой окна небольших озёр образующихся летом в в тундре!Но самое страшное это мазут.Легкие фракции разлагаются и испаряются.А во остальная масса по своим свойствам схожая с жидким гудроном выбрасывается на берега,или прилипает к животным,и корпусу электрохода..Это страшное зрелище.У него даже запаха нет,как и радужных пятен. Радует,что мы на деле а не на словах начали борьбу с загрязнением .Видео кадры это подтверждают.Со сбросами подсланевых вод,тоже научились бороться.И с этим сейчас очень строго.Каждое судно проверяют на соответствие санитарным нормам,сверяют пломбы на сливных горловинах,на насосах,проверяют журналы сдачи ФФВ на бункер базах.
    1. Игорь В 16 февраля 2017 13:58
      Бочки - самый массовый строительный материал в Арктике. От стен и печек, до дорожных вешек и гуриев в особых местах. Вот сейчас уничтожат все бочки, как трассу размечать? sad
      Только валить всё на Россию не стоит, в Гренландии советских полярников не было, а засЛано нисколько не меньше.
  3. мичман 16 февраля 2017 07:27
    Мы по решению Правительства страны выпустили монографию "Арктические регионы России: управления, освоение". Честь имею.
  4. Горменгаст 16 февраля 2017 08:17
    "Защита среды" - это строка из обамовской песни о глобальном потеплении, солнечной и ветровой энергетике, электромобилях и прочих шутовских выдумках.

    Что США делает в Арктическом совете - непонятно; Конвенцию по морскому праву они не ратифицировали; желают сидеть на двух стульях одновременно. Не то, что я за Конвенцию (это предательство российских интересов), но вот, раз она подписана, надо не а-мерские палки из колес вынимать, а самих а-меров вычистить из соответствующей организации. am
    1. антивирус 16 февраля 2017 09:01
      желают сидеть на двух стульях одновременно.
      И сидят- размер позволяет.
      Их дело не дать другим стать сильнее, наш -свободно развиваться.
  5. V.ic 16 февраля 2017 10:45
    Может быть пора закладывать на стапелях подводные лодки=танкеры? По-фигу лёд...
  6. Alexey RA 16 февраля 2017 11:54
    На сегодняшний день использование тяжелых видов топлива (мазута) представляет собой одну из наиболее крупных проблем региона.

    Отлично - значит нужно переходить на... атомные энергоустановки. Исключительно во исполнение требований зелёных об отказе от мазута в Арктике. laughing
  7. Пилот НЛО 16 февраля 2017 12:50
    Ну, какое освоение Арктики может быть без антропоморфных роботов-аватаров?

    Только с роботами-аватарами: http://streltsovaleks.narod.ru

    wink
  8. Чаронда 16 февраля 2017 12:55
    России пора в одностороннем порядке объявить все арктические территории на которые она претендует своей территорией и пусть сунутся,если осмелятся...Китай правильно делает. Установил на островах свои ПКР и ПВО и предупредил о последствиях посягательства на них.
    1. внук героя 16 февраля 2017 19:27
      "Приразломную" и "Варандей", может и ещё чего, хотят объявить островами и расширить территориальные воды. Там тонкостей много, денег на кону и гов....ца (извиняйте за неформат).
      1. Чаронда 16 февраля 2017 19:32
        Китай так и делает и правильно делает .
  9. EternalStranger 16 февраля 2017 14:53
    Сотрудничество России и Норвегии это надо полагать сдача акватории Баренцева моря норвежцам?
Картина дня