Military Review

Lentil Pomegranate Diskushandgranate

18
Lentil Pomegranate DiskushandgranateThe First World War became a kind of catalyst for the development of the military industry, many inventions of that time could fundamentally change the course of military operations. Changed tactics of combat, created a new weapon, personal protective equipment. Many of the inventions of that time can now be puzzling, since they are not as high-tech as the weapons to which we are accustomed, but once they were truly revolutionary.


Considering the models of weapons of the First World War, it is interesting to observe the course of thought of the designers of that time, who managed without high-precision equipment and a sufficient knowledge base to solve their tasks. Of course, some decisions were primitive, and the result was not always equal to expectations, but it was. So the German designers managed to create an unusual Diskushandgranate hand grenade, which, although it had a lot of flaws, was a vivid example of a simple and original solution to a complex task.

History create a "lentil grenades"

Even while the first manually-thrown explosive devices appeared, their main problem was revealed - a separate brave opponent, instead of trying to hide, could pick up a missile projectile that had not yet exploded and throw it back. In addition, the enemy had time at least to lie on the ground before the explosion.

To solve this problem, it was possible to reduce the response time of the moderator, but this significantly increased the risk of the use of such grenades by soldiers. Experienced fighters could throw a grenade a second or two after launching a moderator, but in the hands of a recruit such a trick could be fatal not only for him, but also for his comrades. Although it is necessary to recognize that such a technique of throwing grenades is very effective with proper skill, especially when a grenade explodes not on the ground, but in the air, on approaching the target, which increases the radius of destruction by shrapnel.

Technically, at that time, it was possible to create a fuse with adjustable response time, but only the cost of even the simplest, but reliable circuit was too high for one-time use. The only correct solution to the problem was to create a hand grenade with an instantaneous fuse that would work from hitting the ground.

The solution to this problem was taken by the German company Dynamit AG. Even before the start of World War I, the company created the first version of a similar grenade, which had an explosive charge of only twenty grams, when the mass of the grenade itself was equal to 360 grams.

This option Diskushandgranate should not be considered as a combat, since its effectiveness was extremely low. Rather, it was an experimental model, which honed the work of the fuse.

A truly effective means of defeating the enemy was a sample of the 1915 grenade of the year, in which an explosive charge was increased, incisions appeared to facilitate the formation of fragments during rupture, and the grain itself grew in size.
Separately, it is necessary to mention such a fact as the possibility of throwing grenade data from various primitive devices such as slingshot or big slingshot, which significantly increased the throwing range, and also made it possible to throw several explosive devices at once into the ranks of the enemy.

Diskushandgranate grenade design

The appearance of the Diskushandgranate grenade can easily be confusing, the only thing that gives out the purpose of this device is a familiar security check. The body of the "lentil grenade" consisted of two cast-iron parts, which were fastened together with rivets. On the inside of each of the halves there were grooves that served to facilitate the formation of fragments during the explosion. It is thanks to the appearance of this grenade and dubbed "lentil."

The grenade has 6 protruding elements. 4 plugged incendiary tubes, 1 tube with an explosion-initiating compound and one fuse tube. All these elements are located in the star-shaped body of the fuse. In the center of the fuse there is a metal detail in the shape of a star with four rays opposite the tubes with incendiary composition.

The fuse is made in the form of a tube with a slot and in its normal position closes the central metal part.

It all had to work as follows. After removing the protective tube from the grenade body, the soldier threw it towards the enemy. Due to its shape, the grenade almost always fell on an edge, which pushed one of the incendiary tubes, and it worked from contact with the sharp beam of the central part of the fuse. This triggered the initiating compound, which, in turn, led to the detonation of the main explosive charge.

The garnet 1915 of the year had a mass of 415 grams, its diameter along the edge was equal to 100 millimeters, the weight of the explosive was 130 grams.

The pros and cons of the Diskushandgranate hand grenade

The main advantage of this hand grenade is the simplicity of its design, which allowed for the shortest time and cost to deploy its production. It should be noted and the possibility of launching several explosive devices from primitive throwing means.

The disadvantages of the lentil grenade had much more. The main disadvantage of Diskushandgranate is its form. With this form it is convenient to take up a throwing grenade is simply impossible, and if you add to everything and a smooth surface of the case, then you can not talk about usability at all.

The second negative quality of the "lentil grenade" is the same body back. It is precisely because of the hull that the fragmentation of fragments is minimal in the plane of the rib. That is, the effectiveness of a grenade hitting the ground in a position parallel to the horizon is minimal, since most of the fragments go down and up. This means that throwing a grenade is the only convenient way, like a sports disk, to reduce the effectiveness of its use.

The reliability of the operation of the Diskushandgranate fuse is also questionable. If the grenade falls into the snow, soft ground or water, then the expected explosion may not occur.

Despite all the shortcomings, it is difficult not to mention the simplicity of the solution of the task set by the designers. And if we evaluate the “lentil grenade” in terms of price-quality ratio, the engineers at Dynamit AG worked on a solid “four”. The "lentil grenade" did not last long, by the end of 1916, production was curtailed, and all stocks in the army were used.
Author:
Photos used:
weaponland.ru, on-infantry.narod.ru
18 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Comrade Stalin
    Comrade Stalin 27 February 2017 06: 28
    +1
    Another creation of a gloomy Teutonic genius. How to throw it? In addition, as correctly noted, almost all fragments go either down to the ground or up.
    1. AlexMark
      27 February 2017 06: 37
      +3
      Well, by modern standards, of course not a grenade, but it is not clear what. At the beginning of the twentieth century is quite a suitable and cheap solution to the task set before the designers. And throw it like a seryuken laughing In another way it will simply be useless to throw, although I am sure that there will be people who seriously count on explosives explosives wink
      1. Curious
        Curious 27 February 2017 08: 36
        +2
        The idea of ​​seryuken is very interesting. I don’t know what it is, but it sounds familiar.
        1. Michael_Zverev
          Michael_Zverev 27 February 2017 16: 47
          0
          Quote: Curious
          The idea of ​​seryuken is very interesting. I don’t know what it is, but it sounds familiar.
          Asterisk Ninja.
          1. Curious
            Curious 27 February 2017 18: 39
            +3
            The ninja asterisk is shuriken. And here is the "seryuken". Maybe it's an asterisk of German ninjas.
            1. Cat man null
              Cat man null 27 February 2017 18: 52
              +2
              Quote: Curious
              The ninja asterisk is shuriken. And here is the "seryuken". Maybe it's a German ninja star

              - maybe, of course, and so.
              - but the root there is clearly "seryuk", and something vaguely reminds me of it ... what
      2. Grid
        Grid 27 February 2017 16: 36
        0
        Firstly, not cheap. Grenade Mills or M24 is much cheaper. Secondly, how to throw a shuriken does not work out, it’s a very large and heavy thing.
    2. Red dwarf
      Red dwarf 30 May 2017 10: 43
      +1
      Excellent grenade, you need more disk bombs ....
  2. Grid
    Grid 27 February 2017 08: 03
    +1
    Quote: Comrade_Stalin
    How to throw it?

    Have you seen the figure of a discus thrower? That's exactly what to throw. The most ugly, if this crap flops on its side, then most likely it will not explode.
    1. AUL
      AUL 27 February 2017 10: 33
      +1
      Due to its shape, the grenade almost always fell on the edge, which pushed one of the tubes with an incendiary composition, and it was triggered by contact with a sharp beam of the central part of the fuse.

      The second negative quality of the “lentil grenade" is the same case back. It is because of the body that the expansion of the fragments is minimal in the plane of the rib. That is, the effectiveness of a grenade hit the ground in a position parallel to the horizon is minimal, since most of the fragments will go up and down.

      The author seems to be confused himself!
      1. AlexMark
        27 February 2017 10: 53
        +2
        The author is not confused, the author understands that the grenade can fall in different ways. Spend a plane in the place of connection of two parts of the grenade body and you will understand everything yourself.
      2. Nikolaevich I
        Nikolaevich I 27 February 2017 16: 40
        +1
        Quote: AUL
        The author seems to be confused himself!

        Yeah! Noticeably!
  3. bionik
    bionik 27 February 2017 08: 03
    +6
    Reichswehr soldiers alone with granite Diskushandgranate.
  4. garri-lin
    garri-lin 27 February 2017 13: 00
    +2
    What prevented the casing from being made round and the caps of the ignition tubes displayed on 6 sides. Like the faces of a cube. And make a lot of hats more.
    1. Nikolaevich I
      Nikolaevich I 27 February 2017 16: 45
      +2
      Quote: garri-lin
      What prevented make the campus round

      Gaspadin karoshiy! We are late! The first MV is already over!
      1. garri-lin
        garri-lin 27 February 2017 19: 23
        +1
        This is me about the gloom of the Teutonic genius !!.
    2. Nikolaevich I
      Nikolaevich I 27 February 2017 17: 05
      +1
      Quote: garri-lin
      What prevented make the campus round

      And what is immediately “round" ?! You can and "square" ... that is, "cubic" .... ugh you! In general, the "brick" shaped hand grenades of Rdultovsky were in the First MV ...
  5. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 27 February 2017 16: 56
    +1
    Lentil pomegranate? And what? The phrase is something familiar! Oh yes, in the beginning of the 70's of the 19 century, they tried to shoot from the "curved" guns with "obvious" grenades (the guns of Mayevsky. Russia)! Xen to the Germans, not a priority!

"Чечевичная граната" Diskushandgranate

"Чечевичная граната" DiskushandgranateПервая мировая война стала своего рода катализатором для развития военной промышленности, многие изобретения того времени в корне могли переломить ход боевых действий. Менялась тактика ведения боя, создавалось новое оружие, средства индивидуальной защиты. Многие из изобретений того времени сейчас могут вызывать недоумение, так как они не настолько высокотехнологичны, как оружие, к которому мы привыкли, но некогда они были действительно революционными.

Рассматривая образцы вооружения Первой мировой войны, интересно наблюдать за ходом мысли конструкторов того времени, которые умудрялись без высокоточного оборудования и достаточной базы знаний решать поставленные перед ними задачи. Конечно, некоторые решения были примитивны, да и результат не всегда был равен ожиданиям, но он был. Так немецким конструкторам удалось создать необычную по своей конструкции ручную гранату Diskushandgranate, которая хоть и имела массу недостатков, но была ярким примером простого и оригинального решения сложной задачи.

История создания «чечевичной гранаты»


Еще в то время как появились первые метаемые вручную взрывные устройства, была выявлена их главная проблема – отдельный смелый противник, вместо того чтобы попытаться укрыться, мог подобрать еще не взорвавшийся метаемый снаряд и бросить его обратно. Кроме того, у противника оставалось время хотя бы для того чтобы лечь на землю до взрыва.

Для решения такой задачи можно было уменьшать время срабатывания замедлителя, но это существенно повышало риск использования таких гранат солдатами. Опытные бойцы могли метать гранату через секунду-две после запуска замедлителя, но в руках новобранца подобный финт мог стать фатальным не только для него, но и для его боевых товарищей. Хотя стоит признать, что такая техника метания гранат очень эффективна при должной сноровке, особенно когда граната взрывается не на земле, а в воздухе, на подлете к цели, что увеличивает радиус поражения осколками.

Технически, на тот момент, можно было создать взрыватель с регулируемым временем срабатывания, но только стоимость даже самой простой, но надежной схемы была слишком высокой для одноразового использования. Единственным верным решением проблемы было создание ручной гранаты с взрывателем моментального действия, который бы срабатывал от удара о землю.

Решением данной задачи занялась немецкая компания Dynamit AG. Еще до начала Первой мировой войны в компании был создан первый вариант подобной гранаты, который имел заряд ВВ массой всего двадцать грамм, когда масса самой гранаты равнялась 360 граммам.

Этот вариант Diskushandgranate не стоит рассматривать как боевой, так как его эффективность была крайне низкой. Скорее это был экспериментальный образец, на котором оттачивали работу взрывателя.

Действительно эффективным средством поражения противника стал образец гранаты 1915 года, в котором была увеличен заряд взрывчатого вещества, появились насечки для облегчения образования осколков при разрыве, да и сама грана выросла в размерах.
Отдельно нужно упомянуть о таком факте как возможность метание данных гранат из различных примитивных устройств типа пращи или большой рогатки, что значительно увеличивало дальность метания, а также позволяло забросить в ряды противника сразу несколько взрывных устройств.

Конструкция гранаты Diskushandgranate

Внешний вид гранаты Diskushandgranate может легко сбить с толку, единственное что выдает назначение данного устройства - знакомая всем предохранительная чека. Корпус «чечевичной гранаты» состоял из двух чугунных деталей, которые скреплялись между собой заклепками. С внутренней стороны каждой из половинок имелись борозды, которые служили для облегчения образования осколков при взрыве. Именно благодаря внешнему виду данную гранату и окрестили «чечевичной».

По ребру гранаты имеется 6 выступающих элементов. 4 заглушенные трубки с зажигательным составом, 1 трубка с инициирующим взрыв составом и одна трубка предохранителя. Все эти элементы находятся в звездообразном корпусе взрывателя. По центру взрывателя имеется металлическая деталь в форме звезды с четырьмя лучами напротив трубок с зажигательным составом.

Предохранитель выполнен в виде трубки с прорезью и в своем нормальном положении закрывает центральную металлическую деталь.

Работать это все должно было следующим образом. После извлечения предохранительной трубки из корпуса гранаты, солдат метал ее в сторону противника. Благодаря своей форме граната почти всегда падала на ребро, что толкало одну из трубок с зажигательным составом, и он срабатывал от соприкосновения с острым лучом центральной детали взрывателя. Это приводило в действие инициирующий состав, который, в свою очередь, приводил к детонации основного заряда взрывчатого вещества.

Граната образца 1915 года имела массу 415 грамм, ее диаметр по ребру равнялся 100 миллиметрам, вес взрывчатого вещества составлял 130 грамм.

Плюсы и минусы ручной гранаты Diskushandgranate

Главным преимуществом данной ручной гранаты является простота ее конструкции, которая позволяла за минимальные сроки и стоимость развернуть ее производство. Нельзя не отметить и возможность запуска нескольких взрывных устройств из примитивных метательных средств.

Недостатков же чечевичная граната имела значительно больше. Главным недостатком Diskushandgranate является ее форма. При такой форме удобно взяться за гранату для метания просто невозможно, а если еще добавить ко всему и гладкую поверхность корпуса, то об удобстве использования вообще можно не говорить.

Вторым отрицательным качеством «чечевичной гранаты» является обратно же корпус. Именно из-за корпуса разлет осколков минимален в плоскости ребра. То есть эффективность гранаты ударившейся о землю в положении параллельном горизонту минимальная, так как большая часть осколков уйдет вниз и вверх. Это значит, что метание гранаты единственным удобным способом, как спортивный диск, ведет к снижению эффективности ее применения.

Надежность срабатывания взрывателя Diskushandgranate тоже сомнительна. Если граната падает в снег, мягкий грунт или воду, то ожидаемого взрыва может и не произойти.

Несмотря на все недостатки, сложно не отметить простоту решения поставленной задачи конструкторами. И если оценивать «чечевичную гранату» по соотношению цена-качество, то инженеры компании Dynamit AG поработали на твердую «четверку». Продержалась "чечевичная граната" недолго, уже к концу 1916 года производство свернули, а все запасы в армии были использованы.
Автор: Марк Поддубный

Использованы фотографии: weaponland.ru, on-infantry.narod.ru

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 18

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Товарищ_Сталин 27 февраля 2017 06:28
    Очередное творение сумрачного тевтонского гения. Как его кидать? К тому же как правильно отмечено, почти все осколки уходят либо вниз в землю, либо вверх.
    1. AlexMark 27 февраля 2017 06:37
      Ну по современным меркам конечно не граната, а непонятно что. На начало двадцатого века вполне годное и дешевое решение поставленной перед конструкторами задачи. А метать ее нужно как серюкен laughing По-другому просто бесполезно бросать будет, хотя я уверен, что будут люди, всерьез рассчитывающие на фугасность ВВ wink
      1. Curious 27 февраля 2017 08:36
        Очень интересна идея серюкена. Не знаю что это, но звучит знакомо.
        1. Михаил_Зверев 27 февраля 2017 16:47
          Цитата: Curious
          Очень интересна идея серюкена. Не знаю что это, но звучит знакомо.
          Звёздочка ниндзя.
          1. Curious 27 февраля 2017 18:39
            Звездочка ниндзя - сюрикен. А здесь "серюкен". Может это звездочка немецких ниндзей.
            1. Cat Man Null 27 февраля 2017 18:52
              Цитата: Curious
              Звездочка ниндзя - сюрикен. А здесь "серюкен". Может это звездочка немецких ниндзей

              - может, конечно, и так.
              - но корень там явно "серюк", и что-то мне это смутно напоминает... what
      2. Grille 27 февраля 2017 16:36
        Во-первых, не дешёвая. Граната Миллса или М24 гораздо дешевле. Во-вторых, как сюрикен метнуть не получиться, бо весьма габаритная и тяжёлая штуковина.
    2. Красный карлик 30 мая 2017 10:43
      Отличная граната, нужны ещё дисковые бомбы ....
  2. Grille 27 февраля 2017 08:03
    Цитата: Товарищ_Сталин
    Как его кидать?

    Фигуру дискобола видели? Вот именно так и метать. Самое безобразное, ежели эта хрень плюхнется на бок, то скорее всего не взорвётся.
    1. AUL 27 февраля 2017 10:33
      Благодаря своей форме граната почти всегда падала на ребро, что толкало одну из трубок с зажигательным составом, и он срабатывал от соприкосновения с острым лучом центральной детали взрывателя.

      Вторым отрицательным качеством «чечевичной гранаты» является обратно же корпус. Именно из-за корпуса разлет осколков минимален в плоскости ребра. То есть эффективность гранаты ударившейся о землю в положении параллельном горизонту минимальная, так как большая часть осколков уйдет вниз и вверх.

      Автор,похоже, сам запутался!
      AUL
      1. AlexMark 27 февраля 2017 10:53
        Автор не запутался, автор понимает, что граната может упасть по-разному. Проведите плоскость в месте сооединения двух деталей корпуса гранаты и сами все поймете.
      2. Nikolaevich I 27 февраля 2017 16:40
        Цитата: AUL
        Автор,похоже, сам запутался!

        Ага ! Заметно !
  3. bionik 27 февраля 2017 08:03
    Солдаты Рейхсвера один с гранотой Diskushandgranate.
  4. garri-lin 27 февраля 2017 13:00
    Что мешало сделат карпус круглым а шляпки запальных трубок вывести на 6 сторон . Как грани у куба. И плошадь шляпок сделать побольше.
    1. Nikolaevich I 27 февраля 2017 16:45
      Цитата: garri-lin
      Что мешало сделат карпус круглым

      Гаспадин кароший ! Ви есть опоздаль ! Первый МВ уже кончился !
      1. garri-lin 27 февраля 2017 19:23
        Это я по поводу сумрачности тэвтонского гэния!!.
    2. Nikolaevich I 27 февраля 2017 17:05
      Цитата: garri-lin
      Что мешало сделат карпус круглым

      А чё сразу "круглый" ?! Можно и "квадратный"...то бишь "кубический"....тьфу ты ! В общем,"кирпичной" формы ручные гранаты Рдултовского были в Первую МВ...
  5. Nikolaevich I 27 февраля 2017 16:56
    "Чечевичная" граната ? А чё? Словосочетание что-то знакомое ! Ах да,в начале 70-х г.19 века пробовали палить из "кривоствольных" орудий "чечевидными" гранатами (орудия Маиевского.Россия) ! Xpeн немцам,а не приоритет !
Картина дня