Military Review

Cipher Day in Russia

28
5 May very professional people celebrate their professional holiday. These are cryptographers.


Cipher Day in Russia


In 1921, on that day, in accordance with the Resolution of the Council of People's Commissars of the RSFSR, a cryptographic service was created to protect information and transfer data outside the country.

The origin of science itself - cryptography - began much earlier. In fact, back in those days when a person learned to put his thoughts into words and write them using certain characters. Roman Emperor Gaius Julius Caesar was a fairly gifted cryptographer of his era, as evidenced by historical sources telling about the use of various systems by the emperor, as they would now say, encryption of information. A great contribution to the development of this science was made at one time by such ancient Greek thinkers as Aristotle and Pythagoras.

In ancient times, cryptograms were often used in the literary and philosophical environment. The well-known Leonardo da Vinci is the inventor of the first encryption device. And the term “da Vinci code”, thanks to the well-known book and its adaptation, became a model of something unsolved in the field of displaying information.

Medieval writers were trained in this case and published new books in encrypted form. Enlightened personalities communicated with each other through cryptograms. During the medieval inquisition, philosophers and scientists could not openly publish their work, so in order to preserve their ideas, they had to use the most sophisticated encryption methods. It got to the point that encryption methods changed so quickly and often that, after the death of the authors of the texts, their works remained for a long time undeciphered.
Some remain so to this day. One example of undeciphered material is the so-called Voynich manuscript, after its owner. Several generations of specialists and amateurs fought over the decoding of this text, until the idea was expressed that the manuscript was an imitation of a meaningful text, the purpose of the creation of which is unknown. Every day there are more and more supporters of the idea of ​​a hoax when creating a manuscript, since even modern computer programs cannot grasp symbolic regularities in the text.



With the advent of radio and telegraph in the 20th century, the cryptographic business became very popular. In this connection, new encryption methods were invented. One of the most important vectors for the development of encryption is related to military affairs.

During World War II, Soviet engineers made a breakthrough in the field of encryption. From 1941 to 1947, a total of over a million encrypted telegrams and codograms were transferred over 1,6 year. The load on the communication channels sometimes reached 1,5 thousand telegrams per day. This stream allowed to receive the most important information in the shortest possible time, which affected the speed of decision-making.

Troop coders had to work in exceptional conditions: under fire, in trenches and dugouts. In accordance with the instructions of the General Staff, they were provided with enhanced security, but it also happened that, instead of guarding, the cipherman set a canister of gasoline in front of him, put grenades near him and took out a pistol from his holster. Life was secondary. Primary - the material that went through encryption or decryption.

By the way, it is known from the partially declassified archives of the Wehrmacht that the German command promised a generous reward for capturing the Russian cryptographer: an iron cross, a vacation to Germany and an estate in the Crimea.

During the war years, the Soviet cipher engineers did a tremendous job. By the spring of 1942, about 50 of thousands of German telegrams and radiograms had been deciphered. The most important role was played by the Soviet cryptographic service in the victory of the Soviet troops in the battle for Moscow. The cipher developers provided substantial security to the Soviet lines of communication, and the decryptors successfully intercepted and deciphered the enemy's cryptograms.

The heroic and intense work of the cryptographic service personnel during the war was highly commanded by the command. For the exemplary performance of government assignments, only at the beginning of the war, an 54 specialist was awarded orders and medals.

In total, cryptographic schools prepared and sent to the front more than 5 thousand specialists.

In the USSR, cryptography was a completely closed discipline, which was used exclusively for the needs of defense and state security, and therefore there was no need for publicizing the achievements in this area. The archives of this direction store thousands of documents classified as “secret”, and therefore information about the numerous merits of the Soviet military cryptographic school is not available to the public.



At present, cryptographers are engaged in the development of cipher and cryptographic software systems. These are really attentive, diligent and hardworking people. Their work requires the highest concentration, because even what the average person seems trivial can play a role.

The names of some cryptographers and security program developers are widely known. Among them is Yevgeny Kaspersky, who at one time graduated from the 4 (technical) faculty of the KGB Higher School (now the Institute of Cryptography, Communications and Informatics of the Academy of the FSB of Russia). But the majority of names, for obvious reasons, are unknown to a wide audience.

The formation of the domestic cryptographic service has been going on for many decades. The principles and foundations of this work, its forms and methods, techniques and methods have been developed by several generations of Soviet and Russian cryptographers. In this story, as in the history of any science, there were victories and defeats, successes and failures, great and tragic pages. All of them are our national treasure, our pride, memory, pain and victory.
Photos used:
http://function.mil.ru, Фейсбук
28 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. tasha
    tasha 5 May 2017 05: 53
    +3
    19 17 18 01 09 05 15 10 12 16 14!
    wink
    1. siberalt
      siberalt 5 May 2017 10: 09
      0
      Without cryptographers in the Army and the Navy it will be a little taut, but without cooks at all. Who knows when we have the day of military cooks and cooks? In addition, one of the ciphers for the command is pipe signals (they are not canceled). Where are the days of a military trumpeter or a military drummer? Or are they not military experts?
      1. Astart
        Astart 5 May 2017 16: 18
        0
        Go to the "search engine" brother, he will answer all your questions,;))))
      2. cost
        cost 6 May 2017 01: 39
        +1
        Day of the military cook October 20. On this day, cooks drink vodka, bathe in fountains and save the world, like Steven Seagal laughing
    2. cost
      cost 6 May 2017 01: 50
      +1
      19 17 18 01 09 05 15 10 12 16 14! wink
    3. ufpb
      ufpb 29 March 2018 19: 46
      +1
      schschschschschschschschsch 15248 25368 25478 23651 25485 95702 tsststststststststs - times of Stirlitz
      schschschschsch ratr tapoy uaschsh tsvite vdzhyb snry yyyyarv tststststststs - modern
  2. Amurets
    Amurets 5 May 2017 06: 37
    +4
    Happy Holders and Protectors of Information.
    1. antivirus
      antivirus 5 May 2017 08: 08
      +1
      p-217 is gone forever
  3. Nyrobsky
    Nyrobsky 5 May 2017 07: 08
    +3
    YAVERTYUIOP - Who will understand the topic))) Happy Holidays !!! soldier
  4. Thirteenth
    Thirteenth 5 May 2017 07: 24
    +2
    Cryptographers today will be "encrypted" by taverns and restaurants))
  5. thinker
    thinker 5 May 2017 07: 48
    +4
    Yuyalvardzop! drinks
  6. Astart
    Astart 5 May 2017 08: 06
    +2
    Yes, in Russia every first cryptographer, Happy Holidays to those who do it professionally!
  7. Fotoceva62
    Fotoceva62 5 May 2017 08: 18
    +4
    "Shamans" and those involved with the holiday.
  8. japs
    japs 5 May 2017 09: 05
    +4
    I’m probably a brake. And what about the ZAS?
    1. Simon_71
      Simon_71 5 May 2017 09: 12
      +2
      secret communication
      1. Niccola Mack
        Niccola Mack 6 May 2017 08: 30
        0
        And here it is wrong - Secret Communication Equipment.
        Personally, I worked with the P-819.
        1. ufpb
          ufpb 29 March 2018 19: 49
          +1
          and cryptographers - encoders (VUS 909) were referred to as SPS - a special wired connection.
          1. Bobrovsky
            Bobrovsky 13 November 2018 21: 01
            0
            No wired, but just special communications.
          2. Victor Kovalev
            Victor Kovalev 5 May 2020 04: 53
            0
            ATP is a special point of contact.
  9. Simon_71
    Simon_71 5 May 2017 09: 12
    +1
    21 ok everyone with a holiday (8 exercise of the KGB of the USSR)
  10. Leonid Har
    Leonid Har 5 May 2017 15: 06
    0
    Is ZAS a cryptor?
    Then today is my holiday.
    1. ufpb
      ufpb 29 March 2018 19: 51
      +1
      Sasovets is a signalman. Cryptographers are different, as the comrade said above - eights
  11. Warrior05
    Warrior05 5 May 2017 16: 39
    +3
    Happy holiday, colleagues!
    More congratulatory, and less out of regular pieces
    1. Nyrobsky
      Nyrobsky 5 May 2017 23: 20
      +1
      Quote: Warrior05
      Happy holiday, colleagues!
      More congratulatory, and less out of regular pieces

      Our brother is not so much here))), which in fact is not surprising, given the specifics of the work. Happy holiday colleague!
      1. serg_sh74
        serg_sh74 7 May 2017 12: 42
        +1
        Hello from the T-600, ZAS. US "Rubin". wink
        1. Nikolaevich I
          Nikolaevich I 12 November 2017 02: 58
          +1
          We know ..... "swam"! wink
  12. tt_868
    tt_868 8 May 2017 18: 41
    0
    25 years have passed .... Everything else ... There now ... To work .... I wonder ...
    1. ufpb
      ufpb 29 March 2018 19: 52
      +1
      Well, what for this Ukra serve.

День шифровальщика в России

5 мая свой профессиональный праздник отмечают люди весьма редкой профессии. Это шифровальщики.

День шифровальщика в России


В 1921 году в этот день, согласно Постановлению Совета народных комиссаров РСФСР, для защиты информации и передачи данных за пределы страны, была создана криптографическая служба.


Зарождение самой науки – криптографии - началось гораздо раньше. По сути, ещё в те времена, когда человек научился облачать свои мысли в слова и записывать их с использованием определённых символов. Римский император Гай Юлий Цезарь был достаточно одарённым криптографом своей эпохи, о чём свидетельствуют исторические источники, рассказывающие об использовании императором различных систем, как бы сейчас сказали, шифрования информации. Большой вклад в развитие этой науки внесли в своё время такие древнегреческие мыслители как Аристотель и Пифагор.

В древние века криптограммы часто применялись в литературной и философской среде. Известный всем Леонардо да Винчи является изобретателем первого шифровального аппарата. А термин «код да Винчи», благодаря известной книге и её экранизации, стал образцом чего-то неразгаданного в области отображения информации.

Средневековые писатели обучались этому делу и издавали новые книги в зашифрованном виде. Просвещённые личности общались между собой благодаря криптограммам. Во времена средневековой инквизиции философы и учёные не могли открыто публиковать свои работы, поэтому чтобы сохранить свои идеи, им приходилось применять самые изощрённые методы шифрования. Дошло до того, что методы шифрования менялись настолько быстро и часто, что после смерти авторов текстов их труды долгое время оставались нерасшифрованными.
Некоторые остаются таковыми до сих пор. Один из примеров нерасшифрованного материала – так называемый манускрипт Войнича – по имени его владельца. Над расшифровкой этого текста бились несколько поколений специалистов и любителей, пока не была высказана идея о том, что рукопись – имитация осмысленного текста, цель создания которой неизвестна. Сторонников идеи мистификации при создании рукописи с каждым днём становится всё больше, так как даже современные компьютерные программы не могут уловить символьной закономерности в тексте.



С появлением в XX веке радио и телеграфа шифровальное дело стало очень популярным. В связи с этим стали изобретаться новые методы шифрования. Один из важнейших векторов развития шифрования связан с военным делом.

Во время Великой Отечественной войны советские инженеры совершили прорыв в области шифрования. С 1941 по 1947 год было передано в общей сложности свыше 1,6 миллиона шифрованных телеграмм и кодограмм. Нагрузка на каналы связи порой достигала 1,5 тыс. телеграмм в сутки. Этот поток позволял получать важнейшую информацию в кратчайшее время, что влияло на оперативность принятия решений.

Войсковым шифровальщикам доводилось работать в исключительных условиях: под огнём, в окопах и блиндажах. В соответствии с инструкцией Генерального штаба они обеспечивались усиленной охраной, но случалось и так, что вместо охраны шифровальщик ставил перед собой канистру с бензином, укладывал рядом гранаты и вынимал из кобуры пистолет. Жизнь была вторична. Первично – материал, который проходил через шифрование или дешифрование.

Кстати, из частично рассекреченных архивов вермахта известно, что за взятие в плен русского шифровальщика немецкое командование обещало щедрое вознаграждение: железный крест, отпуск в Германию и поместье в Крыму.

Советские шифровальщики за годы войны провели колоссальную работу. Уже к весне 1942 года было дешифровано около 50 тысяч немецких телеграмм и радиограмм. Важнейшую роль сыграла советская криптографическая служба в победе советских войск в битве за Москву. Разработчики шифров обеспечили существенную безопасность советских линий связи, а дешифровальщики успешно перехватывали и дешифровали криптограммы противника.

Героический и напряжённый труд военнослужащих шифровальной службы в период войны был высоко отмечен командованием. За образцовое выполнение заданий правительства только в начале войны орденами и медалями были награждены 54 специалиста.

Всего криптографические школы подготовили и отправили на фронт более 5 тыс. специалистов.

В СССР криптография была полностью закрытой дисциплиной, которая использовалась исключительно для нужд обороны и государственной безопасности, а поэтому не было необходимости в публичном освещении достижений в этой области. Архивы этого направления хранят тысячи документов по грифом «секретно», а потому информация о многочисленных заслугах советской криптографической военной школы недоступна для общественности.



В настоящее время разработкой систем шифров и шифровальных программ занимаются криптографы. Это по-настоящему внимательные, усердные и трудолюбивые люди. Их работа требует высочайшей концентрации, ведь свою роль может сыграть даже то, что рядовому человеку покажется мелочью.

Имена некоторых криптографов и разработчиков защитных программ широко известны. Среди них – Евгений Касперский, окончивший в своё время 4-й (технический) факультет Высшей школы КГБ (ныне институт криптографии, связи и информатики Академии ФСБ России). Но большинство имён, по понятным причинам, неизвестны широкой аудитории.

Становление отечественной криптографической службы происходило на протяжении многих десятилетий. Принципы и основы этой работы, её формы и методы, приёмы и способы вырабатывались несколькими поколениями советских и российских криптографов. В этой истории, как и в истории любой науки были свои победы и поражения, успехи и неудачи, великие и трагические страницы. Все они – наше национальное достояние, наша гордость, память, боль и победа.
Использованы фотографии:
http://function.mil.ru, Фейсбук
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

26 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. тасха Офлайн
    тасха 5 мая 2017 05:53
    +3
    19 17 18 01 09 05 15 10 12 16 14 !
    wink
    1. сибиралт Офлайн
      сибиралт 5 мая 2017 10:09
      0
      Без шифровальщиков в Армии и на Флоте туговато будет, а без поваров вообще никак. Кто знает, когда у нас день военных поваров и коков? К тому же, одним из шифров для команды служат сигналы трубы (они не отменены). Где у нас дни военного трубача или военного барабанщика? Или они не военные специалисты?
      1. Астарт Офлайн
        Астарт 5 мая 2017 16:18
        0
        Зайди в "поисковик" брат, он тебе на все вопросы ответит, ;))))
      2. рич Офлайн
        рич 6 мая 2017 01:39
        +1
        День военного повара 20 октября. В этот день повара пьют водку, купаются в фонтанах и спасают мир, как Стивен Сигал laughing
    2. рич Офлайн
      рич 6 мая 2017 01:50
      +1
      19 17 18 01 09 05 15 10 12 16 14 ! wink
    3. ufpb Офлайн
      ufpb 29 марта 2018 19:46
      +1
      щщщщщ щщщщщ 15248 25368 25478 23651 25485 95702 ццццц ццццц - времена Штирлица
      щщщщщ ратпр тапоы уащхь цвите вджыб сьнры юйярв ццццц - современное
  2. амурец Офлайн
    амурец 5 мая 2017 06:37
    +4
    С праздником хранители и защитники информации.
    1. антивирус Офлайн
      антивирус 5 мая 2017 08:08
      +1
      п-217 ушел уже в вечность
  3. Ныробский Офлайн
    Ныробский 5 мая 2017 07:08
    +3
    ЯВЕРТЫУИОП - Кто в теме поймёт))) С Праздником!!! soldier
  4. Тринадцатый Офлайн
    Тринадцатый 5 мая 2017 07:24
    +2
    Шифровальщики сегодня будут "шифроваться" по кабакам и ресторанам))
  5. мыслитель Офлайн
    мыслитель 5 мая 2017 07:48
    +4
    Юялвардзоп ! drinks
  6. Астарт Офлайн
    Астарт 5 мая 2017 08:06
    +2
    Да в России каждый первый шифровальщик, С Праздником тех, кто это делает профессионально!
  7. Fotoceva62 Офлайн
    Fotoceva62 5 мая 2017 08:18
    +4
    «шаманов» и причастных с праздником.
  8. japs Офлайн
    japs 5 мая 2017 09:05
    +4
    Я, наверное, тормоз. А что ЗАС?
    1. Simon_71 Офлайн
      Simon_71 5 мая 2017 09:12
      +2
      засекреченая связь
      1. Никкола Мак Офлайн
        Никкола Мак 6 мая 2017 08:30
        0
        А вот и неправильно - Засекречивающая Аппаратура Связи.
        Лично я работал с П-819.
        1. ufpb Офлайн
          ufpb 29 марта 2018 19:49
          +1
          а шифровальщики - кодировщики(ВУС 909) именовались как СПС - специальная проводная связь.
  9. Simon_71 Офлайн
    Simon_71 5 мая 2017 09:12
    +1
    21 ок всех с праздником (8 упр КГБ СССР)
  10. Леонид Хар Офлайн
    Леонид Хар 5 мая 2017 15:06
    0
    Боец ЗАС это и есть шифровальщик?
    Тогда сегодня мой праздник.
    1. ufpb Офлайн
      ufpb 29 марта 2018 19:51
      +1
      засовец - связист. Шифровальщики другое, как сказал товарищ выше - восьмерики
  11. Ратник05 Офлайн
    Ратник05 5 мая 2017 16:39
    +3
    С праздником, коллеги!
    Больше поздравительных, и меньше вне очередных штшек
    1. Ныробский Офлайн
      Ныробский 5 мая 2017 23:20
      +1
      Цитата: Ратник05
      С праздником, коллеги!
      Больше поздравительных, и меньше вне очередных штшек

      Нашего брата тут не так уж и много))), что собственно и не удивительно, учитывая специфику работы. С праздником коллега!
      1. serg_sh74 Офлайн
        serg_sh74 7 мая 2017 12:42
        +1
        Привет от Т-600,ЗАС. УС "Рубин". wink
        1. Nikolaevich I Офлайн
          Nikolaevich I 12 ноября 2017 02:58
          +1
          Знаем....."плавали" ! wink
  12. tt_868 Офлайн
    tt_868 8 мая 2017 18:41
    0
    25 лет прошло.... Все другое... Там сейчас... Поработать бы.... Интересно...
    1. ufpb Офлайн
      ufpb 29 марта 2018 19:52
      +1
      Ну его нафиг на эту Укру служить.