Military Review

“Sea Devil” of the USSR: whether the jet bomber LL-600 will revive

11
“Sea Devil” of the USSR: whether the jet bomber LL-600 will revive



The beginning of the twentieth century was marked by an industrial and technological boom, which led to the rapid industrial development and the emergence of new machines, units and equipment in general. Also in the 20 century there were several wars, which together with the development of enterprises led the world to the era of fundamentally new military equipment. Engineers from many countries invented a strange weaponwhose power and characteristics can strike the minds of even a modern person. And it is not surprising that our compatriots were among the geniuses of design thought.

This article will focus on the major general of the engineering and technical service, aircraft designer Georgy Mikhailovich Beriev and his brainchild - the LL-600 hydro-jet bomber, which, unfortunately, did not have time to swim in the rays of glory. However, by the standards of its time, the aircraft was very progressive and due to its characteristics and abilities it could gain the fame of a real "Sea Devil".

Ingenious designer

Georgy Mikhailovich Beriev - one of the most unknown of the famous aircraft designers in stories aircraft manufacturing of the Russian state. This engineer, without exaggeration, is the founder of the marine aviation Russia and the progressor of the marine aircraft industry. Thanks to him, the world saw the MBR-2 flying boat (built in 1931). This is the most massive pre-war seaplane, which later participated in World War II as a reconnaissance aircraft. It was used for close reconnaissance and sometimes long-range.

Later Beriev designed the first in the USSR flying boat with a turbojet engine, which was named "R-1". True, the seaplane was not completed, since the project was closed. But even then, the designer showed his full potential, creating a water-based bomber, which was not inferior in speed to the American McDonnell FH-1 Phantom and Grumman F9F Panther fighters.

Despite a number of failures, the Soviet aviation engineer built and put into operation the machine. For example, Be - 10 - jet seaplane, which owns world speed records for this type of technology. It is noteworthy that they have not been beaten yet - 912 km / h. Of course, it is impossible to ignore the legendary Be-12 "Seagull", which was used to combat enemy submarines and could use the breakthrough nuclear depth submarine bombs 5ФХNUMX. The most interesting thing is that this aircraft was amphibious, that is, it took off both from land and from water. There were other aircraft, each of which had its own unique characteristics. However, one aircraft deserves the most attention.


Be-10

The Be-12 demonstrated that jet seaplanes could be successfully used as part of military operations, but one task remained to be solved: how to make the bomber fly across the ocean to complete the task and return? And the answer was found - to refuel the aircraft. Only this was done in a specific way, and it was for this that the LN 600 was built.



This aircraft is essentially a giant heavy flying boat. The seaplane is built on the principle of a “flying wing” with a triangular shape. The project LL-600 was developed under the guidance of G.M. Beriev in the OKB TMZ (Beriev OKB), and the conceptual sample appeared already in 1966 year.  

The characteristics of the hydro-bomber were amazing. Yes, they still make you think about a lot. The takeoff weight of the aircraft was 1 kilograms. Eight turbojet engines "TRD NK" lifted the car into the air. Such power made it possible to develop a speed of 000 kilometers per hour. In fact, no one in the world could build a combat flying boat with such indicators.

A distinctive feature of this car was that it could covertly refuel directly into the sea. That is, not in the air, as the M-4, Tu-16 and Tu-95 did, but with the help of submarine tankers or specialized containers. To carry out a covert meeting of the aircraft with the containers placed at sea, according to one of the projects, a signal bomb with a series of charges was dropped from the aircraft when approaching the refueling site at a distance of 200-300 kilometers. After triggering in a certain sequence of charges, the hydroacoustic receiver of the container gave the command to ascend and turn on the drive radio station and visual detection equipment into standby mode. Thus, the entire ocean or sea became a huge airfield. The military assumed that the LL-600 would be used to strengthen naval and anti-submarine aviation. The genius of the LL-600 lies not only in the fact that it can rise from the water with a huge mass, but also in the fact that the aircraft, despite its weight, remained buoyant, unsinkable and stable.

In an interview with PolitEkspert, a military expert, the former head of the anti-aircraft missile forces (2007-2009), the special forces command of the Russian Air Force Sergey Khatylev revealed information on weapons and combat capabilities of the LL-600.



The expert explained that the project of the hydro-bomber was not limited to use only at sea. There were other variations.

“LL-600 is not only a flying bomber boat, it was also developed as a torpedo bomber. He could fight both submarines and enemy ships on the surface. It is known that in the arsenal of the aircraft were depth charges. Also, the seaplane had standard weapons of its time, including cannon weapons, ”explained the interlocutor of PolitEkspert.

We can not exclude the option that the LL-600, which was largely a follower of the Be-12, could also use nuclear depth charges.

Unfortunately, despite the success of the project, it had to be closed, since ballistic missiles were successfully tested in the USSR. The new weapon eliminated the risks of delivering an aircraft to the conflict zone, which, among other things, also needed to be refueled at sea. Moreover, the very doctrine of the use of naval military forces has changed and new technologies have appeared. Heavy seaplanes were replaced by light, powerful and supersonic fighter-bombers. They were not only easier to manage, but easier to maintain. Of course, it is impossible to ignore the fact that aircraft carriers have appeared.

The right to revival

However, the cessation of the massive construction of military seaplanes does not mean that they put an end to such promising aircraft. Many of the military projects feel quite well within the framework of civil aviation. However, the combat designation of such units is still possible.

The fact is that seaplanes have one indisputable advantage - they take off from the water. This means that this type of equipment can be successfully used in remote regions where, for some reason, it is impossible to build a large land military airfield. Moreover, Sergei Khatylev is sure that under certain circumstances, the construction of military hydro-bombers can be resumed.

“Today, the old Be-12 is actively used not only in Russia, but also abroad. Even Indians buy it. Some decommissioned, broken aircraft of this model are bought back from us in Russia and repaired, and then successfully used for civilian needs. For example, through the same Be-12 they deliver mail, things on Sakhalin, the Kuril Islands and some other remote regions, ”Sergey Khatlyev shared his experience.

In conclusion, the expert explained that today there is a concept for the development of such aircraft and it is being implemented. True, the special publicity is not given, but the modernization and development of new aircraft is in full swing. Therefore, it cannot be excluded that in the near future new hydro bombers will appear.
Author:
Originator:
https://politexpert.net/43491-morskoi-dyavol-sssr-vozroditsya-li-reaktivnyi-gidrobombardirovshchik-ll-600
11 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Zulu_S
    Zulu_S 11 June 2017 16: 10
    +12
    the airplane had a mass of 1 kilograms

    And in grams this is a whole billion!
    For example, the Be - 10 is a jet seaplane, which owns world speed records for this type of equipment.

    It was withdrawn from service quite quickly, because there were problems with the operation, aerobatics, and corrosion of the hull.
    Beriev was a wonderful aircraft designer, but still, the author falls out of reality.
  2. Curious
    Curious 11 June 2017 17: 56
    +22
    "This engineer, without exaggeration, is the pioneer of Russian naval aviation and the progressor of the marine aircraft industry" - this, as I understand it, is about Beriev.
    Reading such pearls, the thought arises - something is going wrong with the site.
    Where do these semi-authors who take over the site with their "works" written in clumsy horse-Turkish language and illustrating only one thing come from - the authors completely lack knowledge on the topic. Is it really possible to not respect readers so?
    Georgy Mikhailovich Beriev is an outstanding aircraft designer, but, firstly, he did not deserve such authors to write about him, secondly, he did not need someone else's fame, he had enough of his own.
    Beriev can not be the founder of naval aviation in Russia.
    As a branch of the Russian Navy, naval aviation was created on the eve of the First World War as part of the Imperial Air Force on the Baltic Fleet and the Black Sea Fleet. In the period (1910 - 1914), the fleet first made a choice in favor of airplanes, and then in favor of hydro-airplanes, and by the beginning of the Great War, naval aviation of the Russian Imperial Fleet was practically hydro-aviation.
    If we take the creation of flying boats, then undoubtedly the championship belongs to one of the most famous aircraft designers of the first half of the twentieth century, Dmitry Pavlovich Grigvlovich.
    Of the 80 aircraft designs developed by him or under his leadership, sea flying boats are especially distinguished, which for a long time were unsurpassed in the world and were in service with the RIF hydroaviation

    He created one of the best fighters of his time in the world, brought up a galaxy of designers of aviation and anti-aircraft missile equipment and presented the world aircraft industry with a number of ideas that are used in aircraft designs to this day.
    The author and article are slag.
    1. fider
      fider 11 June 2017 18: 21
      +5
      Curious, correct - Grigorovich.
      1. Curious
        Curious 11 June 2017 19: 35
        +4
        Yes thank you! Of course, Grigorovich. Just a smartphone is not the best device for such comments.
    2. avt
      avt 11 June 2017 20: 03
      +4
      Quote: Curious
      If we take the creation of flying boats, then undoubtedly the championship belongs to one of the most famous aircraft designers of the first half of the twentieth century, Dmitry Pavlovich Grigvlovich.

      What is characteristic is the Russian and Soviet aircraft designer, and really, it’s quite possible to call him Grigorovich
      Quote: Curious
      the founder of naval aviation in Russia.
      With all due respect to Beriev - he is still a student and the next generation
      Quote: Curious
      the article is slag.

      what Maybe sucks? Interesting - the author for the work of Bartini vkusse on the supersonic bomb-hydroplane? Well, it seems to me that yes, no. Would be in kugs - that's all ... I would not write.
  3. APASUS
    APASUS 11 June 2017 18: 07
    +5
    At least the ekranoplanes would have been restored, and then the bombers, if things go well. In the meantime, a clearly winning topic has been festering. How many enthusiasms were about the BE-200, and this is still a piece aircraft
    1. In100gram
      In100gram 11 June 2017 21: 27
      +2
      Quote: APASUS
      How many enthusiasms were about the BE-200, and this is still a piece aircraft

      Too narrow application, therefore piecewise. Airplanes with the ability to land on water are not always needed. And I think the price increase is significant. But I think the Chinese "Xerox" will soon do its job. Ekranoplanes is even more specific in application. Especially in the military field. Although for civilian use in the vastness of our North, perhaps good
      1. APASUS
        APASUS 11 June 2017 21: 54
        +3
        Quote: In100gram
        Too narrow application, therefore piecewise.

        Come on.
        The machine can take off from the water and from the airfield. The main areas of application: water surface protection, rescue operations, environmental missions, fire fighting, transporting passengers and goods.
        Quote: In100gram
        Airplanes with the ability to land on water are not always needed.

        If you take the vastness of Siberia and the lack of roads, then this opportunity can be very useful.
        Quote: In100gram
        But I think the Chinese "Xerox" will soon do its job.

        You need to wait more, having guaranteed demand for this machine, it is still a piece of goods
        1. In100gram
          In100gram 11 June 2017 23: 43
          0
          Quote: APASUS
          Main areas of application: water surface protection, rescue operations, environmental missions, fire fighting, passenger and cargo transportation.

          Sometimes it is redundant for all this range of tasks.
          1. Aviator_
            Aviator_ 12 June 2017 11: 14
            0
            Excess A-40, and Be-200 - it seems, just right for the Ministry of Emergencies, and no one else needs it.
  4. Doliva63
    Doliva63 13 June 2017 22: 05
    +7
    Yes, a refueling method is something! good "There were people in our time" (c)

«Морской Дьявол» СССР: возродится ли реактивный гидробомбардировщик ЛЛ-600

«Морской Дьявол» СССР: возродится ли реактивный гидробомбардировщик ЛЛ-600


Начало двадцатого века ознаменовано промышленным и технологическим бумом, что привело к быстрому индустриальному развитию и появлению новых машин, агрегатов и техники в целом. Также в 20 веке было несколько войн, что в совокупности с развитием предприятий привело мир в эпоху принципиально новой военной техники. Инженеры многих стран мира придумывали диковинное оружие, мощь и характеристики которого могут поразить умы даже современного человека. И нет ничего удивительного в том, что среди гениев конструкторской мысли были наши соотечественники.

В данной статье речь пойдет о генерал-майоре инженерно-технической службы, авиаконструкторе  Георгии Михайловиче Бериеве и его детище – реактивном гидробомбардировщике ЛЛ-600, который, к сожалению, не успел покупаться в лучах славы. Однако, по меркам своего времени, самолет был очень прогрессивным и за счет своих характеристик и способностей мог снискать славу настоящего «Морского дьявола».


Гениальный конструктор

Георгий Михайлович Бериев – один из самых неизвестных из знаменитых авиаконструкторов в истории самолетостроения российского государства. Этот инженер, без преувеличения, является родоначальником морской авиации России и прогрессором морского авиастроения. Благодаря ему мир увидел летающую лодку МБР-2 (построена в 1931 году). Это самый массовый предвоенный гидросамолет, который в последствии участвовал во Второй мировой войне в качестве разведывательного летательного аппарата. Его использовали  для ближней разведки и иногда дальней.

Позднее Бериев сконструировал первую в СССР летающую лодку с турбореактивным двигателем, которая получила название «Р-1». Правда, гидросамолет не был достроен, так как проект закрыли. Но уже тогда конструктор показал весь свой потенциал, создав бомбардировщик водного базирования, который не уступал по скорости американским истребителям McDonnell FH-1 Phantom и Grumman F9F Panther.

Несмотря на ряд неудач советский авиаинженер построил и принятые в эксплуатацию машины. Например, Бе – 10 – реактивный гидросамолет, которому принадлежат мировые рекорды скорости для данного типа техники. Примечательно, что они не побиты до сих пор – 912 км/ч. Конечно, невозможно обойти стороной и легендарный Бе-12 «Чайка», который применялся для борьбы с подводными лодками противника и мог использовать прорывные ядерные глубинные подводные бомбы 5Ф48. Самое интересное, что данный самолет был амфибийным, то есть взлетал как с суши, так и с воды. Были и другие летательные аппараты, каждый из которых обладал своими уникальными характеристиками. Однако один самолет заслуживает наибольшего внимания.


Бе-10

Бе-12 продемонстрировал, что реактивные гидросамолеты можно успешно использовать в рамках военных операций, однако оставалось решить одну задачу: как сделать так, чтобы бомбардировщик мог пролететь через весь океан выполнить задачу и вернуться? И ответ был найден – заправлять самолеты. Только делалось это специфическим образом, и именно для этого был построен ЛЛ 600.



Данный летательный аппарат по своей сути является гигантской тяжелой летающей лодкой. Гидросамолет построен по принципу «летающего крыла» с треугольной формой. Проект ЛЛ-600 был разработан под руководством Г.М. Бериева в ОКБ ТМЗ (ОКБ Бериева), а эскизный образец появился уже в 1966 году.  

Характеристики гидробомбардировщика поражали воображение. Да они и сейчас заставляют о многом задуматься.  Взлетная масса самолета составляла 1 000 000 килограмм. В воздух машину поднимали восемь турбореактивных двигателей «ТРД НК». Такая мощь позволяла развивать скорость в 900 километров в час. Фактически никто в мире не мог построить боевую летающую лодку с такими показателями.

Отличительной особенностью этой машины являлось то, что она могла скрытно заправляться прямо в море. То есть не в воздухе, как это делали М-4, Ту-16 и Ту-95, а при помощи субмарин-танкеров или специализированных контейнеров. Для осуществления скрытной встречи самолета с выставленными в море контейнерами по одному из проектов с самолета при подлете к месту заправки на расстояние 200-300 километров сбрасывалась сигнальная бомба с серией зарядов. После срабатывания в определенной последовательности зарядов, гидроакустический приемник контейнера давал команду на всплытие и включение в дежурный режим приводной радиостанции и средств визуального обнаружения. Таким образом, весь океан или море становилось огромным аэродромом.  Военные предполагали, что ЛЛ-600 будет использоваться для усиления морской и противолодочной авиации. Гениальность ЛЛ-600 заключается не только в том, что он может подниматься с воды с огромной массой, но и то, что самолет при своем весе сохранял плавучесть, непотопляемость и остойчивость.

В интервью изданию «ПолитЭксперт» военный эксперт, бывший начальник зенитно-ракетных войск (2007-2009), командования специального назначения ВВС России Сергей Хатылев раскрыл информацию о вооружении и боевых возможностях ЛЛ-600.



Эксперт пояснил, что проект гидробомбардировщика не ограничивался применением лишь на море. Были и другие вариации.

«ЛЛ-600 - это не только летающая лодка-бомбардировщик, он еще разрабатывался как торпедоносец. Он мог бороться как с подводными лодками, так и с кораблями противника в надводном положении. Известно, что в арсенале летательного аппарата имелись глубинные бомбы. Также гидросамолет имел и стандартное для своего времени вооружение, включая пушечное», - пояснил собеседник «ПолитЭксперта».

Нельзя исключать и тот вариант, что ЛЛ-600, который являлся во многом последователем Бе-12, также мог использовать ядерные глубинные бомбы.

К сожалению, несмотря на успех проекта, его пришлось закрыть, так как в СССР успешно испытали баллистические ракеты. Новое оружие исключало риски по доставке к зоне конфликта самолета, который ко всему прочему, еще и нужно дозаправлять в море.  Более того, изменилась сама по доктрина применения морских военных сил и появились новые технологии. На смену тяжелым гидросамолетам пришли легкие, мощные и сверхзвуковые истребители-бомбардировщики. Ими было не только проще управлять, но легче обслуживать. Конечно, невозможно обойти стороной и тот факт, что появились авианосцы.

Право на возрождение

Однако прекращение массового строительства военных гидросамолетов не означает, что на таких перспективных летательных аппаратах поставили крест. Многие из военных проектов вполне хорошо чувствуют себя в рамках гражданского авиастроения. Однако и боевое назначение подобных агрегатов до сих пор возможно.

Дело в том, что гидросамолеты имеют одно неоспоримое преимущество – они взлетают с воды. А это значит, что подобный тип техники можно успешно использовать в отдаленных регионах, где по некоторым причинам невозможно построить большой сухопутный  военный аэродром. Более того, Сергей Хатылев уверен, что при стечении определенных обстоятельств строительство военных гидробомбардировщиков могут возобновить.

«Сегодня старые Бе-12 активно используются не только в России, но и за рубежом. Его даже индийцы покупают. Некоторые списанные, сломанные самолеты этой модели выкупают у нас же в России и ремонтируют, а потом успешно используют для гражданских нужд. Например, посредством тех же Бе-12 доставляют почту, вещи на Сахалине, Курильских островах и некоторых других отдаленных регионах», - поделился своим опытом Сергей Хатлыев.

В завершение эксперт расскзал, что сегодня существует концепция развития подобных самолетов и она реализуется. Правда, особой огласке не придается, но модернизация и разработка новых летательных аппаратов идет полным ходом. Поэтому нельзя исключать, что в скором времени появятся новые гидробомбардировщики.
Автор: Григорий Павлодубов
Первоисточник: https://politexpert.net/43491-morskoi-dyavol-sssr-vozroditsya-li-reaktivnyi-gidrobombardirovshchik-ll-600


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 11

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Zulu_S 11 июня 2017 16:10
    злетная масса самолета составляла 1 000 000 килограмм

    А в граммах это целый миллиард!
    Например, Бе – 10 – реактивный гидросамолет, которому принадлежат мировые рекорды скорости для данного типа техники.

    Был снят с вооружения довольно быстро, т.к.были проблемы с эксплуацией, пилотажем, коррозией корпуса.
    Бериев был замечательный авиаконструктор, но всё-же автор выпадает из реальности.
  2. Curious 11 июня 2017 17:56
    "Этот инженер, без преувеличения, является родоначальником морской авиации России и прогрессором морского авиастроения" - это, я так понимаю, о Бериеве.
    Читая такие перлы, возникает мысль - что-то с сайтом творится нехорошее.
    Откуда берут этих авторов- недоучек, которые заполонили сайт своими "произведениями", написанными корявым конско-турецким языком и иллюстрирующие только одно - полное отсутствие у авторов знаний по теме. Разве ж можно так читателей не уважать?
    Георгий Михайлович Бериев - выдающийся авиаконструктор, но он, во первых, не заслужил, чтобы о нем писали такие авторы, во вторых, ему не нужна чужая слава, ему своей достаточно.
    Бериев не может быть родоначальником морской авиации России.
    Как род сил ВМФ России морская авиация была создана накануне первой мировой войны в составе Императорского военно-воздушного флота на БФ и ЧФ. В период (1910 — 1914 годов) на флоте сначала был сделан выбор в пользу аэропланов, а затем в пользу гидроаэропланов, и к началу Великой войны морская авиации Русского Императорского флота практически представляла собой гидроавиацию.
    Если брать создание летающих лодок, то здесь несомненно первенство пренадлежит одному известнейших авиаконструкторов первой половины ХХ века Дмитрию Павловичу Григвловичу.
    Из 80 конструкций самолетов, разработанных им или под его руководством, особо выделяются морские летающие лодки, которые долгое время были непревзойденными в мире и состояли на вооружении гидроавиации РИФ

    Он создал и один из лучших в мире истребителей своего времени, воспитал целую плеяду конструкторов авиационной и зенитно-ракетной техники и подарил мировому авиастроению ряд идей, которые используются в конструкциях самолетов и по сей день.
    Автор и статья - шлак.
    1. fider 11 июня 2017 18:21
      Curious, поправь - Григорович.
      1. Curious 11 июня 2017 19:35
        Да, спасибо! Конечно Григорович. Просто смартфон - не лучшее устройство для таких комментариев.
    2. avt 11 июня 2017 20:03
      Цитата: Curious
      Если брать создание летающих лодок, то здесь несомненно первенство пренадлежит одному известнейших авиаконструкторов первой половины ХХ века Дмитрию Павловичу Григвловичу.

      Что характерно - российский и советский авиаконструктор ,и реально его -Григоровича вполне можно назвать
      Цитата: Curious
      родоначальником морской авиации России.
      При всём уважении к Бериеву - он таки ученик и уже следующее поколение
      Цитата: Curious
      статья - шлак.

      what Может отстой ? Интересно - автор за работы Бартини вкугсе по сверхзвуковому бомберу -гидроплану ? Вот мне кажется чтоды -да , таки-нет. Был бы в кугсе - это всё...не писал бы.
      avt
  3. APASUS 11 июня 2017 18:07
    Восстановили бы хотя бы экранопланы ,а потом уже и бомбардировщики ,если дело пойдет.А пока явно выигрышную тему гноят. Сколько было восторгов про БЕ-200 ,а это до сих пор штучный самолет
    1. Ин100грамм 11 июня 2017 21:27
      Цитата: APASUS
      Сколько было восторгов про БЕ-200 ,а это до сих пор штучный самолет

      Слишком узкое применение, поэтому штучный. Не всегда нужны самолеты с возможностью посадки на воду. А удорожание думаю существенно. Но думаю китайский "ксерокс" скоро сделает своё дело. Экранопланы ещё более специфичен в применении. Особенно в военной области. Хотя для гражданского применения на просторах нашего Севера возможно и хорошие
      1. APASUS 11 июня 2017 21:54
        Цитата: Ин100грамм
        Слишком узкое применение, поэтому штучный.

        Да ладно.
        Машина может взлетать с воды и с аэродрома .Основные сферы применения: охрана водных поверхностей,проведение спасательных операций, экологические миссии, тушение пожаров, перевозки пассажиров и грузов.
        Цитата: Ин100грамм
        Не всегда нужны самолеты с возможностью посадки на воду.

        Если взять просторы Сибири и отсутствие дорог то такая возможность может сильно пригодиться.
        Цитата: Ин100грамм
        Но думаю китайский "ксерокс" скоро сделает своё дело.

        Ждать надо больше,имея гарантированный спрос на эту машину это до сих пор штучный товар
        1. Ин100грамм 11 июня 2017 23:43
          Цитата: APASUS
          Основные сферы применения: охрана водных поверхностей,проведение спасательных операций, экологические миссии, тушение пожаров, перевозки пассажиров и грузов.

          Иногда он избыточен для всего этого спектра задач.
          1. Авиатор_ 12 июня 2017 11:14
            Избыточный А-40, а Бе-200 - вроде, в самый раз для МЧС, а больше никому он и не нужен.
  4. Doliva63 13 июня 2017 22:05
    Да уж, способ дозаправки - это нечто! good "Были люди в наше время"(с)
Картина дня