Military Review

Americans can't even agree on a battle, much less win the war ("The National", United Arab Emirates)

0
Americans can't even agree on a battle, much less win the war ("The National", United Arab Emirates)There is a common misconception that only one war is fought in Afghanistan. In fact, there are at least three conflicts at the same time, which may explain why so little has been achieved in nine years.

The war in which the United States and the allies are fighting against the Taliban is the one that is shown on TV. There is a picture, there is drama and the pain of loss (among military and civilians), there are biting words of generals, supported by the weight of their medals and form.

This week, the generals expressed their thoughts, suggesting the following recipe for success: more time and more support on the political front.

General David Petraeus, commander of international troops in Afghanistan, believes that thanks to the influx of fresh forces he was able to "reverse the movement" of the Taliban in the south of the country.

Known for his frankness, the commander of the Marine Corps, General James Conway (James Conway) openly opposes the plans of President Barack Obama to begin withdrawing troops from next year. According to him, the marines are not ready to transfer responsibility for ensuring the security of the Afghan army either next year or in the near foreseeable future.

“You can either lose quickly or win slowly,” said the general.

It is clear that it is advantageous for the military to talk about victory in terms of prestige and budget, despite the gloomy example of Iraq, from which all the combat units of the US troops have recently left without defeating the rebels and without ensuring political stability.

The second theater of operations in Afghanistan is a “peaceful” struggle to create stable leadership, which the Americans can entrust the country to after leaving. This struggle, waged behind closed doors, aims to transform an unmanageable community of tribal groups into a kind of modern state. The battlefield in this fight was the personality of President Hamid Karzai.

Stunning material was published in the Wall Street Journal, ripping covers from the problems associated with the transformation of Hamid Karzai into the national leader of the kind that the US needs. The article depicts Karzai as a sullen and unreliable man, subject to emotional outbursts, which only the head of the CIA station in Kabul, who is called a “blanket” for the president, is capable of extinguishing.

The head of the CIA station — not one of those “tricky foxes” from the Ivy League, whom they like to portray in Hollywood films — is a normal military executive. He served in the Marine Corps, and in 1970's he joined the ranks of the armed division of the CIA. In December, 2001, along with Karzai, attended a meeting with the elders of the tribe, which was inadvertently bombed by the United States. The tsrushnik rushed to protect the future president and, although he did not save his life in the full sense, became his friend for a long time.

The drawbacks are not without one; when things are going badly, any leader can be portrayed as a weak and dependent person. If Germany had crushed Britain in World War II, Winston Churchill would have remained in stories depressive alcoholic. But he led his country to victory, and forgot about the shortcomings.

The war waged by General Petraeus cannot be waged in a political vacuum. This means that the character of Karzai is a matter of key importance. If the country does not have a strong leader, a working government and a reliable army, the blood of the Americans will be shed in vain.

Everyone is well aware of the third theater - this is a showdown between the centers of power in Washington, arguing over the vector of Afghan politics. We can already see how the military are resisting Obama’s plans to begin withdrawing troops from next year in order to be in time for the 2012 elections. But yesterday, a more vivid example of how Washington is trying to pull simultaneously in several directions appeared.

The Obama administration is trying to curb the overwhelming corruption that has hit the government, and to create independent anti-corruption agencies. It is estimated that at least a billion dollars are exported annually from politicians, field commanders and drug lords. In July, Afghan agents, with US support, arrested Assistant Karzai Mohammad Zia Salehi, who was allegedly demanding a bribe to stop the investigation into a profitable remittance agency.

Karzai canceled the order to arrest Salehi, and he was released, and then cries of horror came from Washington. Yesterday, the story received a new turn: the New York Times reported that Salehi had been a CIA agent for many years. The CIA, of course, believes that keeping influential people “under the hood” is more important than ideologically fighting corruption.

The current situation reminds me of what happened to the Russians in the last years of their ill-fated occupation of Afghanistan in the 1980s.

They made the president of the deceased (and now forgotten) Babrak Karmal, ordering him to spread communism in the country. But this only added fuel to the fire of resistance to the Soviet occupation. The Kremlin began to lose faith in Karmal. He was called "nothingness." Karmal began to whine and complain to his masters: "They put me here, now protect me."

The Kremlin, negotiating the withdrawal of the 40 Army, replaced Karmal with a strong leader, the head of the secret police Najibullah, whom she refused from the communist ideology and surprisingly successfully fought against the Mujahideen, until Russia stopped supplying it weapons and oil.

I do not compare the characters of Mr. Karzai and Comrade Karmal. I am not familiar with any of them, although I remember how in 1980, Karmal came to Moscow and was greeted as the savior of Afghanistan.

Unfortunately, this is not a question of character, but an irreversible process. In Afghanistan, with its culture of rabid independence, leaders who hold power on the bayonets of foreigners quickly lose their credibility. It is hardly possible to fulfill the requirements of the occupiers and at the same time not to lose the trust of the elders of the tribes.

Most likely, Karzai will resign, and the political vacuum in which men and women are fighting under the leadership of General Petraeus will sooner or later be filled with a new strong leader of Afghans.
Author:
Originator:
http://inosmi.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://inosmi.ru
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Американцы не могут даже договориться о сражении, не то что победить в войне ("The National", Объединенные Арабские Эмираты)

Американцы не могут даже договориться о сражении, не то что победить в войне ("The National", Объединенные Арабские Эмираты)Существует распространённое заблуждение, что в Афганистане ведётся только одна война. На самом деле там одновременно протекает по меньшей мере три конфликта, что может объяснить, почему за девять лет удалось добиться столь малого.

Та война, на которой воюют США и союзники против талибов, — это та, которую показывают по телевизору. Тут есть картинка, есть драматизм и боль потерь (среди военных и гражданских лиц), есть хлёсткие слова генералов, подкрепляемые весом их медалей и формы.

На этой неделе генералы высказывали свои соображения, предлагая следующий рецепт успеха: больше времени и больше поддержки на политическом фронте.


Генерал Дэвид Петреус, командующий международными войсками в Афганистане, считает, что благодаря притоку свежих сил ему удалось «обратить вспять движение» талибов вперёд на юге страны.

Известный своей откровенностью командующий морской пехотой генерал Джеймс Конуэй (James Conway) открыто выступает против планов президента Барака Обамы начать вывод войск со следующего года. По его словам, морская пехота не готова передавать ответственность за обеспечение безопасности афганской армии ни в следующем году, ни в ближайшем обозримом будущем.

«Можно или проиграть быстро, или победить медленно», — сказал генерал.

Понятно, что военным выгодно говорить о победе с точки зрения престижа и бюджета, несмотря на мрачный пример Ирака, откуда все боевые подразделения войск США недавно ушли, не разгромив мятежников и не обеспечив политической стабильности.

Второй театр военных действий в Афганистане — это «мирная» борьба за создание стабильного руководства, которому американцы смогут доверить страну после ухода. Эта борьба, ведущаяся за закрытыми дверями, нацелена на превращение неуправляемого сообщества племенных групп в подобие современного государства. Полем битвы в этой борьбе стала личность президента Хамида Карзая.

В Wall Street Journal была опубликован ошеломлящий материал, сорвавший покровы с проблем, связанных с превращением Хамида Карзая в национального лидера того рода, который нужен США. В статье Карзай изображён угрюмым и ненадёжным человеком, подверженным эмоциональным всплескам, пригасить которые способен только глава резидентуры ЦРУ в Кабуле, которого называют «одеялом» для президента.

Глава резидентуры ЦРУ — не один из тех «хитрых лис» из Лиги плюща, которых так любят изображать в голливудских фильмах, — это нормальный исполнительный военный. Он служил в морской пехоте, а в 1970-х вступил в ряду вооружённого подразделения ЦРУ. В декабре 2001-го он вместе с Карзаем присутствовал на встрече со старейшинами племени, которое нечаянно разбомбили США. ЦРУшник бросился защищать будущего президента и, хотя и не спас ему жизнь в полном смысле, надолго стал его другом.

Недостатков не лишён никто; когда дела идут плохо, любого лидера можно изобразить слабым и несамостоятельным человеком. Если бы Германия разгромила Великобританию во Второй мировой войне, Уинстон Черчилль остался бы в истории депрессивным алкоголиком. Но он привёл свою страну к победе, и о недостатках позабыли.

Войну, которую ведёт генерал Петреус, нельзя вести в политическом вакууме. Это означает, что характер Карзая — вопрос ключевой важности. Если в стране не будет сильного лидера, работоспособного правительства и надёжной армии, кровь американцев будет пролита зря.

О третьем театре всем хорошо известно — это разборки между центрами власти в Вашингтоне, спорящими из-за вектора афганской политики. Уже сейчас видно, как военные сопротивляются планам Обамы начать выводить войска со следующего года, чтобы успеть к выборам 2012-го. Но вчера появился более яркий пример того, как Вашингтон пытается тянуть одновременно в нескольких направлениях.

Администрация Обамы пытается обуздать неудержимую коррупцию, поразившую правительство, и создать независимые противокоррупционные агентства. По имеющимся оценкам, политиками, полевыми командирами и наркобаронами из страны ежегодно вывозится по меньшей мере миллиард долларов. В июле афганские агенты при поддержке США арестовали помощника Карзая Мохаммада Зию Салехи, который, как утверждается, требовал взятку за прекращение расследования в отношении доходного агентства денежных переводов.

Карзай отменил приказ об аресте Салехи, и его освободили, после чего из Вашингтона донеслись крики ужаса. Вчера история получила новый оборот: New York Times сообщили, что Салехи много лет был агентом ЦРУ. В ЦРУ, конечно, считают, что держать «под колпаком» влиятельных людей — это важнее, чем идейно бороться против коррупции.

Нынешняя ситуация напоминает мне о том, что происходило с русскими в последние годы их злополучной оккупации Афганистана в 1980-х.

Они сделали президентом покойного (и ныне забытого) Бабрака Кармаля, приказав ему распространять в стране коммунизм. Но это лишь подлило масла в огонь противодействия советской оккупации. Кремль начал терять веру в Кармаля. Его называли «ничтожеством». Кармаль начал скулить и жаловаться своим господам: «Сами меня сюда поставили, теперь защищайте».

Кремль же, ведя переговоры о выводе 40-й армии, заменил Кармаля на сильного лидера — начальника тайной полиции Наджибуллу, которой отказался от коммунистической идеологии и на удивление успешно воевал против моджахедов, пока Россия не перестала снабжать его оружием и нефтью.

Я не сравниваю характеры господина Карзая и товарища Кармаля. Я не знаком ни с одним из них, хотя помню, как в 1980-м году Кармаль приезжал в Москву и его встречали как спасителя Афганистана.

К сожалению, это не вопрос характера, а необратимый процесс. В Афганистане с его культурой бешеной тяги к независимости лидеры, держащиеся у власти на штыках иностранцев, быстро теряют свой авторитет. Едва ли возможно выполнять требования оккупантов и в то же время не терять доверия старейшин племён.

Скорее всего, Карзай уйдёт в отставку, и политический вакуум, в котором воюют мужчины и женщины под руководством генерала Петреуса, будет рано или поздно заполнен новым сильным лидером афганцев.
Автор: Алан Филипс (Alan Philps)
Первоисточник: http://inosmi.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://inosmi.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня