Military Review

German tank destroyer E-10 Hetzer II

3


E-10 was a representative tanks a new concept, the design of which was designed to unify production as much as possible. E-10 was considered as a test platform for the entire generation of tanks with index E, primarily engines, as well as transmission and chassis components.



He was supposed to be an easy reckless tank destroyer, as well as a reconnaissance vehicle, designed by Klockner-Humboldt-Deutz from Ulm.



Before the E-10 project, this company had never been involved in the development of armored vehicles. The power plant on the E-10 was supposed to be a water-cooled Maybach HL 100 installed at the rear of the hull, with an HP 400 power. or Argus air-cooled, power 350 hp. After installing fuel injection and an improved cooling system, the engine power from the Maybach HL 100 should have been raised to 550 hp. at 3800 rpm



The combined system of hydrodynamic transmission and steering should have been made by Voith. The system also had to be installed in the rear of the tank, which would simplify its dismantling and maintenance. This layout also allowed to increase the space of the fighting compartment of the tank. The engine compartment and rear armor plates were planned to be made completely removable, so that it was possible to dismantle the engine and transmission in a single block. It was expected that the maximum speed of the tank should have been 65-70 km / h. Although the designation E-10 implied the weight of the vehicle to 10 tons, the topic was no less, the mass of the new tank should have been about 16 tons.



On the tank it was planned to install 75 mm gun Pak 39 L / 48, almost the same thing that was installed on the tank destroyer Hetzer. In the production process, it could be replaced by a rigidly fixed version (Starr) of the same instrument. Suspension on external levers, using Belleville washers as springs.

On each side of the machine, there were 4 external levers, on each of which a steel rubberized wheel was installed with a diameter of 1000 mm. The wheels alternately overlapped each other and were installed in pairs to the left and right of the single-row track teeth. One of the possibilities of the tank was to regulate the amount of ground clearance. This was achieved with the help of hydraulics. The height of the machine could vary from 1400 to 1760 mm. The booking was 60 mm on the upper front sheet, inclined at an angle 60 °, 30 mm on the lower front sheet and 20 mm on all other armor sheets.



E-10 did not go into production, and its role was assigned to a similar in size, but structurally simpler Jagdpanzer 38 (d), based on an elongated version of the old Czech chassis Panzer 38 (t) with a new engine.
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. dred
    dred 27 December 2011 19: 24
    +1
    Well. Something that the Germans lost a sense of beauty.
  2. Artemka
    Artemka 27 December 2011 19: 26
    0
    They also suffered from gigantism by the way.
  3. Dr. FuManchu
    Dr. FuManchu 17 May 2017 05: 32
    +1
    A full UG, somewhere spread the report of the German user of the progenitor of this “wunderwafer” Hetzer, he whimpered that there were no guns that UG full-UGN and UVN, inside there was a cramp, if someone was wounded, do not get out. and pull out, further to the Varalbom somewhere there were Hetzer’s fotos whose sheets of armor were stupidly torn out, judging by the photo most likely with the usual Sherman’s 75-mm shell, the crew think there was without a doubt meat stuffing. In general, was it still ... pain
    As for me, all these Hetzer, E-10. Marders and other things are just fulfilling the desire to use to the maximum the possibilities of a good overall and quite massive Skoda chassis from the PTsT-38 by creating any ersatz self-propelled guns on its base in order to give the troops at least something massive of armored vehicles to make up for the ever-increasing losses of tanks in the Wehrmacht

Немецкий истребитель танков Е-10 Хетцер II

Немецкий истребитель танков Е-10 Хетцер II


Е-10 был представителем танков новой концепции, конструкция которых была призвана максимально унифицировать производство. Е-10 рассматривался в качестве тестовой платформы для всего поколения танков с индексом Е, прежде всего двигателей, а так же компонентов трансмиссии и ходовой.

Немецкий истребитель танков Е-10 Хетцер II



Он должен был стать лёгким безбашенным истребителем танков, а так же разведывательной машиной, спроектированный компанией «Klockner- Humboldt-Deutz» из города Ульм.

Немецкий истребитель танков Е-10 Хетцер II


Эта фирма до проекта Е-10 вообще никогда не занималась разработкой бронетехники. Силовой установкой на Е-10 должен был стать установленный в задней части корпуса Maybach HL 100 с водяным охлаждением, мощностью 400 л.с. или Argus с воздушным охлаждением, мощностью 350 л.с.. После установки впрыска топлива и усовершенствованной системы охлаждения мощность двигателя со Maybach HL 100 должна была быть поднята до 550 л.с. при 3800 об / мин.

Немецкий истребитель танков Е-10 Хетцер II


Комбинированная система из гидродинамической трансмиссии и рулевого управления должна была производиться фирмой Voith. Система так же должна была устанавливаться в задней части танка, что упрощало бы её демонтаж и обслуживание. Такая схема размещения также позволяла увеличить пространство боевого отделения танка. Отсек двигателя и задние бронеплиты планировалось сделать полностью съёмными, чтобы имелась возможность демонтировать двигатель и трансмиссию единым блоком. Ожидалось, что максимальная скорость танка должна была составлять 65-70 км/ч. Хотя обозначение Е-10 подразумевало вес машины до 10 тонн, теме не менее, масса нового танка должна была составить около 16 тонн.

Немецкий истребитель танков Е-10 Хетцер II


На танк планировалось устанавливать 75 мм орудие Pak 39 L/48, практически то же самое, что устанавливалось на истребитель танков Hetzer. В процессе производства оно могло быть заменено жёсткозакреплённой версией (Starr) того же орудия. Подвеска на внешних рычагах, с использованием шайб Belleville как пружин.

С каждой стороны машины имелось по 4 внешних рычага, на каждый из которых устанавливалось стальное обрезиненное колесо, диаметром 1000 мм. Колёса поочерёдно перекрывали друг друга и устанавливались попарно слева и справа от однорядных зубьев трака. Одной из возможностей танка было регулировать величину клиренса. Достигалось это с помощью гидравлики. Высота машины могла варьироваться от 1400 до 1760 мм. Бронирование составляло 60 мм на верхнем лобовом листе, наклонённая под углом 60 °, 30 мм на нижнем лобовом листе и 20 мм на всех остальных бронелистах.

Немецкий истребитель танков Е-10 Хетцер II


E-10 так и не пошёл в производство, а выполнение его роли было возложено на близкий по размерам, но конструктивно более простой Jagdpanzer 38(d), базировавшийся на удлинённой версии шасси устаревшего чешского Panzer 38(t) с новым двигателем.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. dred 27 декабря 2011 19:24
    Ну и .Что то у немцев чувство красоты пропало.
    dred
  2. Artemka 27 декабря 2011 19:26
    Они еще и гигантизмом страдали кстати.
    Artemka

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня