Military Review

American lawyers are attacking Russian hackers, and Putin has ceased to be the face of Hollywood

6
According to The Hollywood Reporter, Putin’s face was cut from scenarios of major Hollywood films. The decision is all the more surprising because it was made not because of any particular cinematic sanctions against Moscow, but because of the panic over Russian hacking: how many times will the Kremlin respond to Putin’s imprinted image! Only one company is not afraid of Russian hackers in the US - Microsoft. She applied against "Fancy Bear" a new weapon - legal.



He is afraid even in Hollywood. Photo borrowed from «The Independent»


British newspaper «The Independent» reports that Hollywood film studios cut out episodes with Vladimir Putin from two main films. It was made out of fear of possible Russian hacking.

The two largest films that the public was waiting for were Red Sparrow and Kursk (about a sunken submarine). It was known that in the outcome of the material Putin was present in both pictures, but now his image fell under scissors.

Do you think the Hollywood nerves are no good for hell? Perhaps the townsfolk no longer remember the events of three years ago, but they did not forget anything at the film studios. They are well remembered by the sharp reaction of computer hackers to the 2014 release of the “Interview” picture, where James Franco and Seth Rogen played. It was a comedy-farce, where the plot killed two of Kim Jong-un. As a result, hundreds of letters from Sony were stolen by hackers. There were even rumors of a short world war. At least the threat was in the air.

This situation does not want to repeat any studio in the near future. This explains the current “extreme caution towards Vladimir Putin” in Hollywood, the newspaper notes.

The newspaper "The Hollywood Reporter" writes that the Russian leader was really "excluded" from the two main motion pictures. First, from the Red Sparrow (Fox Studio), where Jennifer Lawrence plays a Russian spy, who then became a double CIA agent. The plot is an adaptation of the novel by former CIA officer Jason Matthews. Putin was a key figure in the original book, but he was "quietly cut out" from the film version.

A similar case - with the film "Kursk" (studio "EuropaCorp"). This is genuine история about the Russian submarine that sank in the Barents Sea in 2000 year. On board all died. The publication notes that Putin "played a significant role in the events of that time." Putin was also present in the source material, in Robert Moore’s best-selling book “Time to Die,” and was even shown in earlier versions of the script. However, in the finished film Putin, we will not find!

The irony is, the British publication indicates, that Hollywood's nervousness "is not consistent with his current Russian obsession." Studios are looking for scenarios that best reflect the current political climate and intrigue. For example, a film about spies is being prepared: an American journalist travels to Russia and becomes the Kremlin’s tool. The film is dedicated to the idea of ​​fake News and misinformation campaigns. Apparently, Putin will not be there either.

However, Microsoft is not afraid of what Hollywood is panicky about. Truly fearless people work there: they even went on the attack on the “Kremlin hackers”.


The image of the Russian bear hacker. Photo illustration: Sarah Rogers / The Daily Beast


On the contrary, Mycroft responded to the “Russian hacker group”, according to "The Daily Beast".

Microsoft launched an attack on Fancy Bear, a Russian group of hackers. The fight is conducted with the control of "foreign spies" over domain names, writes journalist Kevin Poulsen.

In its anti-hacker attack, Microsoft puts pressure on “hackers from the Russian government,” the very ones who are behind the interference in last year’s elections. More than 120 new targets have already been identified for the Kremlin's cyber espionage. The company secured the "control segments of the Putin hacker apparatus."

How did she do it? It turns out that Microsoft has something more formidable than malware written in Moscow. And this terrible weapon is lawyers!

Last year, lawyers for Microsoft, a famous software maker, took the lawsuit against a group of hackers Fancy Bear. It was done without fanfare, in a federal court outside of Washington. Lawyers blamed the hacker group for computer hacking, cybersquatting and violation of the Microsoft trademark.

No, no, lawyers at Microsoft are not so naive to try to drag Russian hackers to court. The lawsuit was just a tool aimed at what the lawyers called the “most vulnerable spot” in spyware operations “Fancy Bear”: control servers that hackers used to disguise the spread of malware on victim computers. These servers played the role of iron spies in Russian cyber espionage operations, the publication indicates. At first they “patiently waited” for the contact, then issued encrypted instructions and accepted the stolen files.

Since August, 2016 of the year, Microsoft has repeatedly used its lawsuit to seize control of the seventy control and control points held by Fancy Bear.

As we see, the approach of the corporation is not direct, but effective. Instead of physically arresting the servers that the group rented from data centers, Microsoft seized the domain names that led to them. Examples of names: livemicrosoft.net, rsshotmail.com. These addresses of the guys from "Fancy Bear" registered worldwide under false names. Domain names that fell under the control of Microsoft were redirected from the Russian servers to the servers of the American company. Thus, hackers were cut off from their victims, and Microsoft received a complete picture of the network of “automatic spies”.

In other words, as one of Microsoft’s lawyers explained in court, Stephen Jenson, at any moment when a computer infected with a virus tries to contact the server through one of the domains, it will connect to a secure server controlled by Microsoft employees.

It turned out that “Fancy Bear” focuses its malicious programs mainly on the “Windows” system and relies on the “Microsoft” products when choosing domain names - hence, Microsoft has every reason to claim.

The last trial has been going on for several months, but soon a judge in Alexandria, Virginia, will make a final decision of the court regarding a permanent injunction against Fancy Bear.

This group, recalls the publication, is also known as “APT28”, “Sofacy”, “Pawn Strorm”, etc. , World Anti-Doping Agency and countless NGOs. The military and civilian agencies in Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus are also targeted. According to the American intelligence officers, the loudest invasions of the “bears” concerned the National Committee of the Democratic Party and personally Hillary Clinton last year “as part of Moscow’s efforts to promote Donald Trump to the White House,” the author writes.

However, Microsoft has evaded the definition of Fancy Bear hackers as Russian. Lawyers have identified spies as an unknown "complex and well-resourced organization." However, US intelligence data indicate that the activity of Fancy Bear is directed by Russian intelligence, namely the GRU, Kevin Poulsen notes.

The attack on Fancy Bear seems to be the first high-tech attempt to prevent foreign intelligence operations. In addition to legal weapons, there is also an economic one: Fancy Bear has far fewer opportunities than before, and at the same time, hackers have to lay out more money when Microsoft drowns their domains. The greater the restructuring of their infrastructure, the more expensive cyber spies are for their activities, intelligence experts say.

The cat-and-mouse game has been going on for a long time, and Microsoft is thoroughly analyzing the domain name variants and even adding to the list, which so far includes 140 words that most likely will appear in the new Fancy Bear domains. In order to simplify the process, a retired judge was appointed as an independent “observer” who monitors legal requests for “cutting off” hackers from domains. It is reported that since March last year, Microsoft has taken away the Russian 70 domains.

However, the corporation and the courts have still not been able to expose those who stand behind the name “Fancy Bear”. The 52 agenda of the US courts was issued and 46 made unofficial requests abroad, but to this day Microsoft is no closer to exposing Fancy Bear hackers than last spring. Payment records showed that domains are registered using bitcoin currency or one-time prepaid credit cards; As for the server logs, they tracked the hackers only to the Tor site (browser anonymizer). Microsoft lawyers do not know a single real name or address that hackers would use. Nevertheless, the corporation is confident that the struggle had a "significant impact" on Fancy Bear operations. Americans have some grounds for optimism: analyzing the traffic coming to Microsoft, security experts of the company revealed 122 new actions on cyber espionage. On the other hand, lawyer Jenson believes that hackers will not give up their business and will even "try to grow."

Algorithms computed by Microsoft suggest that Kremlin hackers may use the names infomicrosoftcenter.com, win-newsmail.com, statistic-security-microsoft.com in the future ... The words that the experts have inclined have led to the formation of nine thousand entries!

Is it any wonder that Hollywood has already surrendered in a battle with Putin?

Observed and commented on Oleg Chuvakin
- especially for topwar.ru
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 25 July 2017 07: 22
    +5
    The British newspaper The Independent reports that Hollywood movie studios have cut episodes with Vladimir Putin from two major films.

    ... even if they cut the credits, otherwise the "Russian hackers" will climb them laughing ... and indeed, let banks with films be buried in the ground, deeper, more reliable ... bully
    1. vovanpain
      vovanpain 25 July 2017 07: 51
      +4
      The decision is all the more surprising because it was made not because of any special cinematic sanctions against Moscow, but because of the panic before Russian hacking

      Our hackers, they’re stealing anything like that. fellow
  2. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 25 July 2017 08: 41
    +4
    Someone on the "Russian hackers" makes a political career, someone rating and, accordingly, money (media), and someone decides their corporate interests. It’s time for Russia to take% from them.
  3. Ursus
    Ursus 25 July 2017 09: 10
    +4
    melkosoft - well done: they have created holes, sold them for money, and now they are suing those who used them :)

    Microsoft lawyers do not know a single genuine name or address at which hackers would be served. Nevertheless, the corporation is confident that the fight had a “significant impact” on the operations of “Fancy Bear”.


    More lawyers, more courts, more efforts and resources for the legal fight against hackers! Db!
  4. Rostislav
    Rostislav 25 July 2017 11: 29
    +2
    A rare interesting review, thanks to the author.
    And then the retelling of the evil tales from foreign media, in which they frighten their people with the “evil Russians led by the tyrant of the GDP”, has already begun to bore.
    Why should this mud be poured regularly on us?
    1. Walanin
      Walanin 27 July 2017 02: 30
      0
      And you eat, eat. Lapshichka is good. You will not be fed that much either. Only do not touch the ears.

Американские юристы атакуют русских хакеров, а Путин перестал быть лицом Голливуда

По данным «The Hollywood Reporter», лик Путина был вырезан из сценариев крупнейших голливудских фильмов. Решение тем более удивительное, что принято оно не из-за каких-то особых киношных санкций против Москвы, а из-за паники перед русским хакерством: мало ли как ответит Кремль на запечатленный образ Путина! Не боится в США русских хакеров только одна компания — «Microsoft». Она применила против «Fancy Bear» новое оружие — юридическое.


Его боятся даже в Голливуде. Фото позаимствовано у «The Independent»



Британская газета «The Independent» сообщает, что голливудские киностудии вырезали эпизоды с Владимиром Путиным из двух главных фильмов. Это было сделано из страха перед возможным русским хакерством.

Два крупнейших фильма, которых ждала публика, — это «Красный воробей» и «Курск» (о затонувшей подводной лодке). Было известно, что в исходом материале Путин присутствовал в обеих картинах, но теперь его образ попал под ножницы.

Думаете, голливудские нервы ни к чёрту не годятся? Возможно, обыватели уже не помнят событий трёхлетней давности, но на киностудиях ничего не забыли. Там отлично помнят резкую реакцию компьютерных взломщиков на выход в 2014 г. картины «Интервью», где играли James Franco и Seth Rogen. Это была комедия-фарс, где по сюжету двое убивали Ким Чен Ына. В результате сотни писем от «Sony» были украдены хакерами. Ходили даже слухи о короткой мировой войне. По крайней мере, угроза витала в воздухе.

Такую ситуацию не желает повторять ни одна студия в ближайшем будущем. Именно этим объясняется нынешняя «чрезвычайная осторожность по отношению к Владимиру Путину» в Голливуде, отмечает издание.

Газета «The Hollywood Reporter» пишет, что российского лидера действительно «исключили» из двух основных кинокартин. Во-первых, из «Красного воробья» (студия «Фокс»), где Дженнифер Лоуренс играет русскую шпионку, превратившуюся затем в двойного агента ЦРУ. Сюжет — адаптация романа бывшего сотрудника ЦРУ Джейсона Мэтьюза. Путин был ключевой фигурой в оригинальной книге, но его «тихо вырезали» из экранизации.

Аналогичный случай — с фильмом «Курск» (студия «EuropaCorp»). Это подлинная история о российской подводной лодке, затонувшей в Баренцевом море в 2000 году. На борту все погибли. Издание отмечает, что Путин «сыграл значительную роль в тогдашних событиях». Путин присутствовал и в исходном материале, в бестселлере Роберта Мура «Время умирать», и даже был показан в ранних версиях сценария. Однако в готовом фильме Путина мы не найдём!

Ирония заключается в том, указывает британское издание, что нервозность Голливуда «не согласуется с его нынешней российской одержимостью». Студии ищут сценарии, которые лучше всего отражали бы нынешний политический климат и интриги. Готовится, например, фильм о шпионах: журналист-американец путешествует в Россию и становится «инструментом Кремля». Фильм посвящён идее фейковых новостей и кампаний по дезинформации. Видимо, Путина там тоже не будет.

Впрочем, того, чего панически боится Голливуд, не боится корпорация «Майкрософт». Там работают поистине бесстрашные люди: они даже пошли в атаку на «кремлёвских хакеров».


Образ русского медведя-хакера. Фотоиллюстрация: Sarah Rogers / The Daily Beast


Взломом наоборот ответила «Майкрофт» «русской хакерской группировке», сообщает «The Daily Beast».

«Microsoft» пошла в атаку на «Fancy Bear», российскую группу хакеров. Борьба ведётся с контролем «иностранных шпионов» над доменными именами, пишет журналист Кевин Поулсен.

В своём антихакерском наступлении «Microsoft» давит на «хакеров из российского правительства», тех самых, что стоят за вмешательством в прошлогодние выборы. Уже выявлено более 120 новых целей для «кибершпионажа Кремля». Компания обезопасила «контрольные сегменты путинского хакерского аппарата».

Как она это сделала? Оказывается, у «Microsoft» есть что-то ещё более грозное, нежели вредоносное ПО, написанное в Москве. И это грозное оружие — юристы!

В прошлом году адвокаты «Майкрософт», знаменитого производителя программного обеспечения, взяли да спокойно подали в суд на группу хакеров «Fancy Bear». Это было сделано без лишнего шума, в федеральном суде за пределами Вашингтона. Юристы обвинили хакерскую группировку в компьютерном взломе, киберсквоттинге и нарушении торговой марки «Microsoft».

Нет-нет, юристы «Майкрософт» вовсе не так наивны, чтобы пытаться затащить русских хакеров в суд. Иск был лишь инструментом, направленным на то, что адвокаты назвали «самым уязвимым местом» в шпионских операциях «Fancy Bear»: управляющие серверы, которые хакеры использовали для скрытого распространения вредоносного ПО на компьютерах-жертвах. Эти серверы играли роль железных шпионов в операциях русского кибершпионажа, указывает издание. Сначала они «терпеливо ожидали» контакта, затем выдавали шифрованные инструкции и принимали похищенные файлы.

С августа 2016 года «Microsoft» уже не раз использовала свой иск, чтобы перехватить контроль над семьюдесятью точками управления и контроля, имевшимися в распоряжении «Fancy Bear».

Как видим, подход корпорации является не прямым, зато эффективным. Вместо физического ареста серверов, которые группировка арендовала у центров обработки данных, «Microsoft» захватывала имена доменов, которые к ним вели. Примеры имён: livemicrosoft.net, rsshotmail.com. Эти адреса ребята из «Fancy Bear» регистрировали по всему миру под фальшивыми фамилиями. Доменные имена, попавшие под контроль «Microsoft», перенаправлялись с русских серверов на серверы американской компании. Таким образом хакеры отрезались от своих жертв, а «Майкрософт» получала полную картину сети «автоматических шпионов».

Другими словами, как объяснил в суде один из адвокатов «Microsoft», Стивен Дженсон, в любой момент, когда инфицированный вирусом компьютер попытается связаться с сервером через один из доменов, он подключится к безопасному серверу, контролируемому сотрудниками «Microsoft».

Сложилось так, что «Fancy Bear» нацеливает свои вредоносные программы в основном на систему «Windows» и при выборе доменных имён опирается на продукты «Microsoft» — отсюда у «Microsoft» есть все основания для иска.

Последнее судебное разбирательство тянется уже несколько месяцев, но скоро судья в Александрии, штат Вирджиния, вынесет окончательное решение суда, касающееся постоянного судебного запрета, направленного против «Fancy Bear».

Эта группа, напоминает издание, известна также как «APT28», «Sofacy», «Pawn Strorm» и др. Считается, что «Медведь» ведёт кибершпионаж, по крайней мере, с 2007 года, оплетая сетями НАТО, Белый дом, французское ТВ, Всемирное антидопинговое агентство и бесчисленные НПО. Под прицел попадают также военные ведомства и гражданские агентства в Европе, Центральной Азии и на Кавказе. По данным американских разведчиков, самые шумные вторжения «медведей» касались Национального комитета Демократической партии и лично Хиллари Клинтон в прошлом году «в рамках усилий Москвы по продвижению Дональда Трампа в Белый дом», пишет автор.

Однако «Microsoft» уклонилась от определения хакеров «Fancy Bear» как российских. Юристы определили шпионов как неизвестную «сложную и хорошо обеспеченную ресурсами организацию». Впрочем, данные разведки США указывают на то, что деятельность «Fancy Bear» направляется русской разведкой, а именно ГРУ, отмечает Кевин Поулсен.

Атака на «Fancy Bear», похоже, является первой высокотехнологичной попыткой по предотвращению операции внешней разведки. Помимо юридического оружия, действует и экономическое: у «Fancy Bear» остаётся намного меньше возможностей, чем раньше, и вместе с тем хакерам приходится выкладывать больше денежек, когда «Майкрософт» топит их домены. Чем большей перестройке подвергается их инфраструктура, тем дороже обходится кибершпионам их деятельность, говорят эксперты из разведки.

Игра в «кошки-мышки» идёт уже долго, и «Microsoft» тщательно анализирует варианты доменных имен и даже пополняет список, включающий пока 140 слов, которые, скорее всего, появятся в новых доменах «Fancy Bear». Для упрощения процесса был назначен судья, вышедший на пенсию, в качестве независимого «наблюдателя», который следит за юридическими запросами на «отрезание» хакеров от доменов. Сообщается, что с марта прошлого года «Microsoft» отобрала у русских 70 доменов.

Однако разоблачить тех, кто стоит за именем «Fancy Bear», корпорация и суды до сих пор не смогли. Было выписано 52 повестки в американские суды и сделано 46 неофициальных запросов за рубежом, но и по сей день «Microsoft» не ближе к разоблачению хакеров «Fancy Bear», чем весной прошлого года. Платёжные записи показали, что домены зарегистрированы с использованием валюты биткоин или одноразовых предоплаченных кредитных карт; что до серверных журналов, то они отслеживали хакеров лишь до узла выхода «Tor» (браузер-анонимайзер). Юристы «Microsoft» не знают ни одного подлинного имени или адреса, по которому обслуживались бы хакеры. Тем не менее, в корпорации уверены, что борьба оказала «значительное влияние» на операции «Fancy Bear». Некоторые основания для оптимизма у американцев есть: анализируя поступающий к «Майкрософт» трафик, эксперты по безопасности компании выявили 122 новых действия по кибершпионажу. С другой стороны, адвокат Дженсон полагает, что хакеры не оставят своего дела и даже будут «пытаться расти».

Алгоритмы, вычисленные в «Майкрософт», предполагают, что «хакеры Кремля» могут использовать в будущем имена infomicrosoftcenter.com, win-newsmail.com, statistic-security-microsoft.com… Склоняемые специалистами слова привели к формированию уже девяти тысяч записей!

Стоит ли удивляться, что Голливуд в сражении с Путиным уже сдался?

Обозревал и комментировал Олег Чувакин
— специально для topwar.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти