Military Review

Special representative of the Trump administration "discovered America" ​​in the Donbass

9
At the weekend, the special representative of the US administration in Ukraine, Kurt Volker, visited the part of the Donbass controlled by the Ukrainian authorities and even gave a press conference in Kramatorsk on Sunday. World media immediately replicated the assessment by Volker of the conflict in Ukraine. “My observation is not a frozen conflict, but a hot war,” the American special representative defined the situation. “There are killed, wounded, the economy and industry have been destroyed.”


Special representative of the Trump administration "discovered America" ​​in the Donbass


Yesterday news

Recognition by a high-ranking American official of a long time obvious fact was hardly surprised by anyone in Russia. Here they know well about the “hot war” in the Donbass, so Volker, as it is said in such cases, “discovered America”. The special representative of the United States had the opportunity to make sure that not only the Minsk truce, but even the widely publicized “grain truce”, announced in the conflict zone at the time of harvest, does not work.

As representatives of the Kiev authorities who accompanied him on the Donbas trip in Kramatorsk reported to Kurt Volker, only a day 19-20 July in the area of ​​Krasnogorovka, Marinka and Novgorod were killed nine Ukrainian servicemen. In total, over May-June-July, units of the Ukrainian Armed Forces and volunteer battalions lost over five hundred people killed and wounded.

They say that Volker was impressed with the data on losses in the ranks of the Ukrainian military. Nothing is known about the reaction of the US Special Representative to the death of Donbas civilians. Meanwhile, the mournful list of people killed by the Ukrainian army as a result of artillery and mortar shelling of settlements continues to grow.

In April, speaking at a meeting of the Valdai International Discussion Club, OSCE Secretary General Lamberto Zannier said that since the beginning of this year, 140 civilians had died in the conflict zone. Later, the OSCE special representative in the tripartite contact group on Ukraine, Martin Saidik, spoke about the alarming dynamics of the death of Donbas civilians.

According to Saidik, civilian casualties have more than doubled over the year. More precisely - at 120 percent. “This is the result of the continued use of heavy weapons and the delays in demining,” Interfax was quoted as saying by the OSCE Special Representative. However, there is another reason for such a rapid increase in civilian casualties.

In late January, units of the Ukrainian armed forces attempted to go on the offensive and take control of the so-called “gray zones”, which are, in fact, the territory of the delimitation of the parties to the conflict. Especially fierce battles took place near Avdiivka. They fought for the industrial zone, near which is located Yasinovatskaya interchange - an important transportation hub of the region.

According to observers, there have been no such serious clashes since August 2015, when the Kiev authorities conducted massive shelling of the DPR settlements. By the way, Martin Saidik also let it slip. He named Avdiivka (along with Yasinovataya and Svetlodarsk) among the three zones where the bulk (85 percent) of all violations of the use of heavy weapons occurred.

However, even these tragic events were only fragments of the bloody civil conflict that the current authorities of Ukraine unleashed in the east of the country. The United Nations keeps its bitter statistics. According to the UN, as a result of the conflict in the Donbas, which counts from 2014, over 33 affected thousands of people, almost a third of them died.

Against the backdrop of these terrible figures, the revelation of the American emissary of the “hot war” in the Donbass is perceived, at least, as yesterday's news. However, even more surprised by the plans of the "peacemaker" from Washington.

More gasoline in the flames of war

This was Kurt Volcker's second trip to Ukraine. In early July, he visited Kiev with Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and even lingered there for three days to get a better understanding of the situation. The current assignment of the special envoy of the US administration (from 21 to 24 in July) was limited to a similar timeframe. Only this time, Volker turned to the practical "restoration of the sovereignty of Ukraine and its territorial integrity" and even matured to public statements.

At first, as we remember, there was his press conference in Kramatorsk. On Monday - an interview for the Air Force. Here, Volker was also not distinguished by new ideas. He told British journalists that Washington is actively considering the possibility of sending Kiev weapon to help fight pro-Russian militants.

According to Kurt Volcker, the supply by the United States of weapons for the Ukrainian army "would help stop Russia, which threatens Ukraine." Exactly a year ago, Senator John McCain, now ill, also articulated. Volker then worked as executive director of the McCain Institute for International Leadership at the University of Arizona.

This institute not only absorbed the name of the “hawk” senator in its pompous name, but also accepted its political attitudes. With them, Kurt Volker returned to high politics. Volker is no stranger here. He managed to work in five US administrations. Engaged in issues of European politics and security. He earned a reputation as an expert in the field of international relations, national security and European and Eurasian affairs, as well as a reputation as a “hawk”.

This quality of Kurt Volcker was fully manifested this April at a hearing in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee. Volker there called on the Donald Trump administration to "resist the challenges of Russia" and even gave examples of "Russian aggression." There was a place for Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine ...

With these political attitudes, Volker moved from Arizona to Washington and took a high place in the controversial administration of President Trump. Today it reminds a team without a coach, where everyone is free to play his game. Because of this confusion and whirlwind, resignations have already begun in the immediate circle of Donald Trump.

While they touched the faces of the second echelon. On Tuesday, CNN, citing sources in the US administration, sounded the information that US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson could retire early. The reason for this is the repeated disagreement between Tillerson and Donald Trump. They also concerned the appointments of the undersecretary of state.

Perhaps Kurt Volker is aware of the topic, as soon as he showed unprecedented independence and, in spite of the opinion of the Secretary of State, he spoke about the delivery of lethal weapons to Kiev. To go this way is to splash gasoline into the flames of war. Sane politicians overseas understand that this step will strengthen the Ukrainian authorities in their thoughts to resolve the conflict in the Donbas solely by force, which will bring new blood and new innocent victims.

Volcker, by the way, knows about such sentiments in Washington. In an interview with the Air Force, he regretted that the weapon might not be sent to Ukraine because of the fear of the American establishment to “annoy Russia”. However, it’s not at all afraid of “annoying” anyone. Even Volker at the Air Force agreed that peace can be established in the east of Ukraine only through a new strategic dialogue with Russia.

This topic is not very popular in today's Washington. Today, they dream of victories, bargains and the priority of American interests over others. So far, the emphasis is on solving problems with the help of force, and not strategic dialogue. With his intention to supply weapons to Kiev, the special representative of the US administration in Ukraine, Kurt Volker, confirmed this very clearly. Then he did not discover America.
Author:
9 comments
Ad

The editorial board of Voenniy Obozreniye urgently needs a proofreader. Requirements: impeccable knowledge of the Russian language, diligence, discipline. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. siberalt
    siberalt 26 July 2017 08: 32 New
    +2
    The Minsk Dead End can be solved in one way - to untie the hands of LDNR.
    1. Antianglosax
      Antianglosax 26 July 2017 12: 36 New
      +1
      Or in any other way to force the USG to unconditionally leave the territory of the former outskirts once and for all.
      1. aybolyt678
        aybolyt678 27 July 2017 22: 02 New
        0
        Quote: Antianglosaks
        any other way to force the cc to unconditionally leave

        two more for example ??
  2. Vladimir73
    Vladimir73 26 July 2017 11: 09 New
    0
    Ndaaa .... "hawks" were sent so that MIR restored to / in Ukraine ... wassat
    Trump promised Putin to appoint an administration representative to resolve issues ... appointed ... recourse
  3. Squelcher
    Squelcher 26 July 2017 13: 54 New
    0
    Kurt Walker, I think if scratching him, then most likely the relative of this character must have emigrated to America in 1945 ....
  4. Catherine II
    Catherine II 26 July 2017 14: 30 New
    0
    heh, what about tanks? Which were found in one of the articles ... that the special representative with the supply of tanks ...
    Really correctly translated the words ...
    If you imagine this as a conflict of interest, then why the Russian Federation can supply (unofficially) all that is needed, and the United States is officially bad? Especially in the Regions, the army is larger than many European and Zakharchenko, who dreams of Kiev and Washington.
    1. aybolyt678
      aybolyt678 27 July 2017 22: 00 New
      0
      Quote: Catherine II
      then why the Russian Federation can supply (unofficially) all that is needed, and the United States is officially bad?

      Yes, because amers are not burned in the houses of trade unions
  5. aybolyt678
    aybolyt678 27 July 2017 20: 43 New
    0
    Today, they dream of victories, profitable deals and the priority of American interests over others.
    And not only dreaming. There is a war on Earth, at least on our side of the Ball. America's priority is their stability and the military conflicts we manage. Ukraine is not very manageable, the situation of smoldering coal suits them completely
  6. Alex20042004
    Alex20042004 28 July 2017 20: 32 New
    0
    From past topics:

Спецпредставитель администрации Трампа «открыл Америку» на Донбассе

Специальный представитель американской администрации по Украине Курт Волкер в выходные побывал на подконтрольной украинским властям части Донбасса и даже дал в воскресенье пресс-конференцию в Краматорске. Мировые СМИ тут же растиражировали оценку Волкером конфликта на Украине. «Мои наблюдения-это не замороженный конфликт, а горячая война, — определил ситуацию американский спецпредставитель. — Тут есть убитые, раненые, уничтожена экономика, промышленность».

Спецпредставитель администрации Трампа «открыл Америку» на Донбассе


Вчерашняя новость


Признание высокопоставленным американским чиновником давно очевидного факта мало кого удивило в России. Здесь о «горячей войне» на Донбассе знают хорошо, так что Волкер нам, как в таких случаях говорится, «открыл Америку». Спецпредставитель Соединённых Штатов имел возможность убедиться, что де-факто не действует не только минское перемирие, но даже широко разрекламированное «хлебное перемирие», объявленное в зоне конфликта на время уборки урожая.

Как доложили в Краматорске Курту Волкеру сопровождавшие его в поездке по Донбассу представители киевской власти, только за сутки 19−20 июля в районе населенных пунктов Красногоровка, Марьинка и Новгородское погибли девять украинских военнослужащих. Всего же за май-июнь-июль подразделения вооружённых сил Украины и добровольческие батальоны потеряли убитыми и ранеными свыше пятисот человек.

Говорят, Волкер впечатлился данными о потерях в рядах украинских военных. О реакции американского спецпредставителя на гибель мирных жителей Донбасса не известно ничего. Меж тем, скорбный список людей, убитых украинским воинством в результате артиллерийских и миномётных обстрелов населенных пунктов, продолжает расти.

В апреле, выступая на заседании международного дискуссионного клуба «Валдай», генеральный секретарь ОБСЕ Ламберто Занньер заявил, что с начала нынешнего года в зоне конфликта погибли 140 гражданских лиц. Позднее, спецпредставитель ОБСЕ в трехсторонней контактной группе по Украине Мартин Сайдик говорил о тревожной динамике гибели мирных жителей Донбасса.

По словам Сайдика, потери среди гражданских лиц за год выросли более чем вдвое. Точнее — на 120 процентов. «Это результат продолжающегося использования тяжелого вооружения и затягивания разминирования», — процитировал Интерфакс заявление спецпредставителя ОБСЕ. Однако есть ещё причина столь стремительного роста потерь среди гражданского населения.

В конце января подразделения вооружённых сил Украины попытались перейти в наступление и взять под контроль так называемые «серые зоны», являющиеся, по сути, территорией размежевания участников конфликта. Особенно ожесточённые бои развернулись под Авдеевкой. Бились за промзону, неподалеку от которой находится Ясиноватская развязка — важный транспортный узел региона.

По оценкам наблюдателей, таких серьёзных боестолкновений не было с августа 2015 года, когда войска киевской власти вели массированные обстрелы населённых пунктов ДНР. Об этом, кстати, проговорился и Мартин Сайдик. Он назвал Авдеевку (вместе с Ясиноватой и Светлодарском) в числе трёх зон, где произошла основная масса (85 процентов) всех нарушений применения тяжёлого вооружения.

Однако даже эти трагические события стали лишь фрагментами кровавого гражданского конфликта, которые нынешние власти Украины развязали на востоке страны. Организация Объединённых Наций ведёт его горькую статистику. По данным ООН, в результате конфликта на Донбассе, отсчёт которого идёт с 2014 года, пострадало свыше 33 тысяч человек, почти треть из них погибли.

На фоне этих жутких цифр, откровение американского эмиссара о «горячей войне» на Донбассе воспринимается, по меньшей мере, как вчерашняя новость. Однако ещё больше удивили планы «миротворца» из Вашингтона.

Больше бензина в пламя войны

Это была вторая поездка Курта Волкера на Украину. В начале июля он посетил Киев вместе с госсекретарём Рексом Тиллерсоном и даже задержался там на три дня, чтобы получше разобраться в обстановке. Нынешняя командировка спецпредставителя администрации США (с 21 по 24 июля) ограничилась похожими временными рамками. Только на этот раз Волкер перешёл к практическому «восстановлению суверенитета Украины и её территориальной целостности» и даже дозрел до публичных заявлений.

Вначале, как помним, была его пресс-конференция в Краматорске. В понедельник — интервью для ВВС. Тут Волкер тоже не отличился новизной идей. Британским журналистам он заявил, что Вашингтон активно рассматривает возможность послать Киеву оружие для помощи в борьбе с пророссийскими боевиками.

По мнению Курта Волкера, поставка Соединёнными Штатами вооружений для украинской армии «помогла бы остановить Россию, которая угрожает Украине». Ровно тоже ещё год назад артикулировал заболевший ныне сенатор Джон Маккейн. Тогда Волкер работал исполнительным директором Института международного лидерства Маккейна при Университете штата Аризона.

Институт этот не только впитал в своё помпезное название имя сенатора-«ястреба», но и принял его политические установки. С ними Курт Волкер вернулся в высокую политику. Здесь Волкер не новичок. Он успел поработать в пяти американских администрациях. Занимался вопросами европейской политики и безопасности. Заработал репутацию эксперта в сфере международных отношений, национальной безопасности и по делам Европы и Евразии, а ещё — репутацию «ястреба».

Это качество Курта Волкера вполне проявилось в нынешнем апреле на слушаниях в Комитете по международным отношениям Сената США. Волкер там призвал администрацию Дональда Трампа «противодействовать вызовам со стороны России» и даже привёл примеры «российской агрессии». Здесь нашлось место для Грузии, Молдовы, Украины…

С этими политическими установками Волкер переместился из Аризоны в Вашингтон и занял высокое место в раздираемой противоречиями администрации президента Трампа. Она сегодня напоминает команду без тренера, где каждый волен играть свою игру. Из-за такой неразберихи и круговерти уже начались отставки в ближайшем окружении Дональда Трампа.

Пока они коснулись лиц второго эшелона. Во вторник телеканал CNN со ссылкой на источники в американской администрации раструбил информацию, что может досрочно уйти в отставку госсекретарь США Рекс Тиллерсон. В качестве причины называются неоднократные разногласия Тиллерсона с Дональдом Трампом. Касались они и назначений заместителей госсекретаря.

Возможно, Курт Волкер в курсе темы, коль скоро проявил невиданную самостоятельность и в пику мнению госсекретаря заговорил о поставке Киеву летальных вооружений. Пойти по этому пути — всё равно, что плеснуть бензина в пламя войны. Вменяемые политики за океаном понимают, что этот шаг укрепит власти Украины в мысли решать конфликт на Донбассе исключительно силовыми методами, что принесёт новую кровь и новые невинные жертвы.

Волкер, кстати, знает и о таких настроениях в Вашингтоне. В интервью ВВС он сожалел, что оружие может быть не отправлено Украине из-за боязни американского истеблишмента «разозлить Россию». Впрочем, тут дело совсем не боязни кого-то «разозлить». Даже Волкер на ВВС согласился, что установить мир на востоке Украины можно только с помощью нового стратегического диалога с Россией.

Тема эта не очень популярна в нынешнем Вашингтоне. Сегодня здесь грезят победами, выгодными сделками и приоритетом американских интересов над прочими. Пока ставка делается на решение проблем при помощи силы, а не стратегического диалога. Своим намерением поставлять оружие Киеву спецпредставитель американской администрации по Украине Курт Волкер подтвердил это предельно ясно. Тут он «Америки не открыл».
Автор: Геннадий Грановский


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 9

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сибиралт (Олег) 26 июля 2017 08:32
    "Минский тупик" можно решить одним способом - развязать руки ЛДНР.
    1. Антианглосакс 26 июля 2017 12:36
      Либо любым другим способом заставить сшг безоговорочно покинуть территорию бывшей окраины раз и навсегда.
      1. aybolyt678 (aybolyt678) 27 июля 2017 22:02
        Цитата: Антианглосакс
        любым другим способом заставить сшг безоговорочно покинуть

        еще два например??
  2. Vladimir73 (Володя) 26 июля 2017 11:09
    Ндааа.... "ястреба" прислали дабы МИР восстановил в/на Украине... wassat
    Трамп пообещал же путину назначить представителя администрации на урегулирование вопросов... назначил... recourse
  3. Squelcher (Максим) 26 июля 2017 13:54
    Курт Волкер думаю если его поскребсти, то скорее всего родня даного персонажа наверно в1945 в америку эмегрировала....
  4. Екатерина II (Izabella) 26 июля 2017 14:30
    хех, а как же танки? Которые нашли в одной из статей..что спецпредставитель с поставкой танков...
    неужто правильно перевели слова...
    Если представить это конфликтом интересов-то почему РФ можно поставлять(неофициально) все что нужно, а США официально это плохо? Тем более у Районов армия побольше многих европейских и Захарченко, который Киевом грезит и Вашингтоном.
    1. aybolyt678 (aybolyt678) 27 июля 2017 22:00
      Цитата: Екатерина II
      то почему РФ можно поставлять(неофициально) все что нужно, а США официально это плохо?

      Да потому что амеров не жгут в домах профсоюзов
  5. aybolyt678 (aybolyt678) 27 июля 2017 20:43
    Сегодня здесь грезят победами, выгодными сделками и приоритетом американских интересов над прочими.
    И не только грезят. На Земле идет Война, по крайней мере на нашей стороне Шарика. Приоритет Америки это стабильность у них и управляемые военные конфликты у нас. Украина не сильно управляема, ситуация тлеющего угля их устраивает полностью
  6. Alex20042004 (Алексей) 28 июля 2017 20:32
    Из прошлых тем:
Картина дня