Fire argument 28-I art brigade in East Prussia

6
Soviet military historian Colonel F. Khramov wrote that if before the First World Germans considered Russian troops poorly prepared tactically, the course of the East Prussian operation 1914 of the year proved the opposite, and even more so - the tactical training of Russian artillery turned out to be higher than the German. Let us recall the actions of the Russian artillery in East Prussia during this period.

28-I artillery brigade. One of the artillery units of the 1 Army of the North-Western Front. One brigade division had the honor to distinguish itself during the Gumbinnensky battle of 7 in August, and the other in the First battle at the Masurian lakes of 30 in August of 1914.



In the fire of Gumbinnen.
A difficult week of mobilization quickly passed, and another week of anxious waiting at the forts of Kovno fortress passed behind it, and finally, on August 4 1914. The 28 artillery brigade passed the German border from Shirvinda. From the south came the continuous thunder of artillery, and clouds of shrapnel were sometimes visible in the clear sky: this was a successful battle near the Stlupenen 29-I Infantry Division. The traces of the war were already noticeable: on both sides of the highway, the corpses of horses, rows of small, hastily dug trenches are visible, barbed wire stretched in some places. From the side of Stallupena there was a huge glow, the battle calmed down, and only occasionally came some dull shots.

Frightened by the false assurances of the German government, the local population in a panic fled before the Russians inland, leaving the property to the mercy of fate. A strange impression was made by neat German villages, in which there was not a soul, and only the abandoned cattle announced the neighborhood with a mournful roar. Right and left, fires flared up now and then - the work of elusive spies - and thick plumes of smoke marked the path of Russian soldiers.

The last "peaceful" overnight stay was in the village. Vitkampen. Occasionally, rifle shots came from the guards: the infantry had already come into contact with the enemy. As soon as the sun rose, German artillery opened fire: in response, the 4-i battery, which was in the vanguard of the brigade, rumbled very close. The gunners' faces became serious at first, but then the high gaps of the German shrapnel caused a smile and even critical remarks of our soldiers: “You can't kill a lot of things like that”.

Scouts from the 5 and 6 batteries came forward. The smooth lines of the advancing Russian infantry were clearly visible from the hills. On the right, the 4-I battery was beating with volleys. Suddenly 4 shook the earth and huge pillars of stones and earth, which rose from the 4 battery, showed that German heavy artillery opened fire on it. But the Germans continued to stubbornly put their shells into a shallow hollow that was half a kilometer away from the battery - thinking that there was a battery in it.

Having received information from advanced intelligence, as well as having learned the situation from the commander of the 110 Infantry Regiment, the commander of the 2 Division, Colonel MK Shtakelberg together with the commanders of the 5 and 6 batteries, Lieutenant Colonels Abert and Rodovich, under a strong artillery fire. the enemy personally chose a firing position in 1500 meters northeast of the sites. Brakupen A high pumping station in m. Brakupenen was chosen as an observation point. From it, the German positions were perfectly visible. But the water tower was a great target for the Germans. There was nothing to do - it was necessary to take risks, since the German batteries rattled the Russian infantry. Second Lieutenant Verevkin volunteered to be an observer. They held the phone, and the batteries under the command of the captains Bugreev and Protasovich famously carried the position.

From the observation point, the three German batteries were clearly visible - and after the report to the division commander, within a few minutes, the 5-I battery opened fire on the nearest German one. Not seeing the Russian battery, the Germans opened the strongest artillery fire at the observer: heavy and light shrapnel and grenades literally bombarded m. Brakupenen and the water tower, on the wheel of which the brave lieutenant, Verevkin, sat. It seemed that it was impossible to get out of this hell alive — and only periodic beeps of the phone with messages from the observer proved that the second lieutenant was alive and continues his work. Exceptionally due to his observations, the nearest German battery, which tried to target in the division, was forced to shut up after several fugitive volleys of the 5 battery. The attempt of the Germans to remove the battery from the position failed: its front end was broken.

Then the division commander ordered the 6 battery to open fire on the next German one - and after a few minutes the German crews ran away from their guns. The heavy battery of the Germans, who was standing to the left, first groped Russian batteries to no avail, and then concentrated fire on the town of Brakupenen - trying to destroy the house on which the pumping engine was standing. But then 5-i and 6-i batteries hit her.

A few minutes of quick fire - and the heavy battery of the Germans suffered the sad fate of the two previous ones.

Meanwhile, the town of Brakupenen was ablaze, the house where the observation point was located, caught fire, and the valiant lieutenant Verevkin had to leave it. Until late in the evening, the batteries fired at the German infantry, periodically returning to the German batteries, preventing them from opening fire.


1. Field gun in battle. 1914

The 7 of August came - the day when the terrible blow of the German 28 Army Corps attacked the 1 Division, reinforced by parts of one of the divisions of the Königsberg garrison. The valiant Russian infantry persevered, inflicting terrible losses on the opposing enemy. In the giant pot of Gumbinnen, the best divisions of the Russian and German armies grabbed.

Next to the batteries, rifle bullets began to whistle. Under the killing fire of the Germans, half-thinned out and having lost almost the entire officer corps, the infantry of the 28 division slowly retreated until, finally, it retired beyond the artillery line.

Less than a kilometer in front of the batteries was the highway. The division commander M. K. Stackelberg ordered his batteries to send guns at him. The terrain behind the highway was going down, and through the binoculars, the movement of dense masses of German infantry was clearly visible. Minute - and on the highway gushed gray waves of people in pointed helmets.

The infantry went on the attack on the batteries.
Gunners opened fire. The highway was clouded with smoke, and when it cleared, no one was already on it - only the white canvas of the road turned gray from the mass of German corpses lying on it. The second wave of attackers rushed forward. A quick fire again and it became clear on the highway again.

Then an airplane-spotter with black crosses flew over the Russians, and the hell began on the batteries. Invisible German batteries bombarded them with a hail of shells. The huge hayloft, located to the right of the 6 battery, flamed up, and the entire field was covered with black smoke - under its cover the German infantry was advancing on the division and was already bypassing the 4 battery. The hero of the day, the observer-lieutenant, died the death of the brave, shot by German infantrymen. The 4-I battery struck point-blank, and machine guns were already cracking in its rear. When the smoke cleared, it became clear that the glorious 4-i battery died completely - and the German infantry was already on it.

German infantrymen approached the 5 and 6 batteries for the 500 distance - 600 steps and fired at the gunners. The gunners beat on them, but now with a rare fire - the shells ended. The whole field was littered with the corpses of the Germans, and they did not rush to attack.


2. Field battery in battle

Then the division commander ordered the 5 battery to retreat under the cover of the 6 battery. Then 6 was supposed to depart. But the front of the 6 battery, which had fallen under heavy enemy light and heavy artillery in the morning, withdrew, and there was no connection with them - both of the orderly communications were killed. Then the commander of the 6 battery, the valiant Lieutenant Colonel Abert, firing the last three shells, ordered the soldiers to remove the bebut daggers, and the officers the revolvers - waiting for the German bayonets. There was no salvation for the battery left without the front end - even though the German artillery no longer fired, but the rifle bullets whistled in all directions. The gunner 1 of the gun Stepanov and several other people died.

Suddenly, there was a horse trampling and a crash of wheels - the front end of the 5 battery rushed up at full career - they picked up the neighbors' guns and quickly pushed them away. The 6-I battery was saved. The battalion commander was the last to leave the battlefield - after making sure that the 5-i and 6-i batteries had retreated, and the 4-i could no longer be helped.

But the feat of the gunners was not in vain - the Germans who suffered terrible losses did not go further.

Battle at the lakes.
In the First Battle of the Mazury Lakes, the Germans ousted the 1 Army from East Prussia - left alone after the defeat of the 2 Army, it was forced to retreat under the pressure of superior enemy forces.

30 August The 28-Infantry Division fought on the left flank of the army near the village. Didshullen, holding back bypassing the superior forces of the Germans. Was ordered to withdraw. But it was a shame to retreat: from dawn to 14 hours, the division not only successfully restrained the Germans, but even threw the enemy back. The 6-th battery of the 28-th artillery brigade hit a German armored car, and the 3-nd battery almost completely destroyed the German light battery that had come out of the position.

But I had to submit to the sad need. The left column of the division, consisting of two regiments and the 1 division of the 28 artillery brigade, headed for Stallupen. The commander of the 2 brigade of the 28 division headed by Major General E. A. Rossiysky, temporary commander of the 28 artillery brigade Colonel V. Ye. Nasekin and commander of the 1 division Colonel V. Ya. Burkhanovsky moved in the head of the column.

Fire argument 28-I art brigade in East Prussia
3. E. A. Russian.


4. V. Ya. Burkhanovsky.

Then the 2-i battery moved under the command of Lieutenant Colonel V.I. Sosnovsky.


5. V.I. Sosnovsky.

The column was moving quite calmly: no one expected an unpleasant surprise. But before the head of the column reached the edge of the forest near the village. Tolmingkemen, as a hail of bullets fell: several gunners were wounded, 5 horses were killed and wounded. Despite the surprise of the attack, the gunners were not taken aback: the senior officer of the 2 battery, the staff captain Stogov immediately removed the first gun from the front and opened fire on the village. A few minutes later, the shots from the village ceased, and the infantry coming up from the tail of the column swept it with a chain, finding the bodies of two German soldiers and traces of an ambush. Movement to the east continued.

Around 16 hours the column approached the village. Ozheningken, when the bullets suddenly fell again, and shrapnel began to break over the column with a dry crack - the second ambush was more serious. Immediately, the first gun of the 2 battery was directly removed from the front of the highway and opened fire on the village, and the remaining guns, famously jumping over a roadside ditch, were carried to the position on the highway and also removed from the front.

But before the 2-I battery managed to remove from the front, a hail of shrapnel was falling on it, sent from German batteries that were invisible to the eye: they were beating from the front, and to the right, and to the left. There was nothing to think about shelter - an attempt to dig at least small trenches, caused even more fierce German fire.

The heroic contest of an open Russian battery with three German batteries in a closed position, as well as with German infantry began. V. Ya. Burkhanovsky and V. I. Sosnovsky were on the battery, a few steps from its left flank and jointly controlled the fire.

The battery worked smartly and calmly: no one needed prodding or reminders, everyone knew that the question was about life and death, striving for one thing: to fulfill your duty until the end and to sell your life more expensively. In the eyes of the brigade commander, the glorious battery melted away - the shields did not withstand fire from close range, depriving the calculations of the last shelter. One by one people were out of action. By 19 hours the losses in people were so great that Lieutenant Kalabukhin began to perform the duties of a loader, but during the opening of the gun lock a fragment shattered his right arm.

The commander of the half-battery, Lieutenant Kalachevsky, was seriously wounded by a shell fragment in the stomach, and only two officers remained on the battery and, according to 2, the 3 numbers per gun. But the battery fire did not subside: on the contrary, the guns thundered even more vigorously, as if wanting to avenge the enemy for their heavy losses.

Twilight descended. There seemed to be no hope of saving the battery: there were almost no people, half the horses were slaughtered, the shells were running out. But no one thought about death - the gunners were imbued with the consciousness of the great task that fell to the battery: with its fire it held back the advancing enemy for several hours, diverting its murderous fire to itself and allowing the whole detachment to turn into battle formation. A little more - the column will unfold, and the task will be completed.

But in the current hopeless situation, Lieutenant Colonel V.I. Sosnovsky ordered the gunners to get ready to take down their guns, leaving only two to repel the enemy's bayonet attack. And the bayonet attack was already close - the German infantry, using twilight, crawled on the edge of the village and slowly advanced on the battery.

But here at the last minute (as it often happens in films, but how, fortunately, it happened in stories 2 battery 28 artillery brigade) 2 dismounted hundreds of divisional cavalry - 3 Don Cossack Yermak Timofeyev Regiment. The Donets silently moved forward and covered their perishing battery with their breasts. A few minutes later, the guns were removed from the position one by one, and the Germans, who were counting to seize a weakened battery without a shot, were met with a hail of bullets and bayonets from the donts - and ran.

Russian artillerymen successfully acted in the most diverse combat conditions, showing ingenuity and high professionalism, helping the infantry more than once and deciding the fate of battles and battles.


6. Battery firing position.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +10
    29 September 2017
    No wonder the gunners in the Russian army called the "Gods of War" ...
  2. +8
    29 September 2017
    E. A. Russian-participant of the White Movement as part of the Union. On September 29.09.1919, 1922 in the reserve of ranks of troops of the Novorrossiysk region. In the Russian Army before the evacuation of Crimea. Gallipoli. From mid-1923 to the end of 1922, the head of the Konstantinovsky military school. In 1925 he was expelled from Bulgaria. Since the fall of XNUMX in Yugoslavia. Died in Pozharevac, Yugoslavia.
    V. Ya. Burkhanovsky is a participant in the White Movement as part of the All-Union Socialist League. In 1919 he was evacuated from Odessa on the ship "Caucasus". Consisted of a reserve of ranks of troops of the Novorossiysk region, the further fate is unknown.
    V.I. Sosnovsky- Died of his wounds on September 19, 1915.
  3. +17
    29 September 2017
    Great article. To the author - my sincere gratitude for the work done and for the return from oblivion of another heroic page of Russian military history.
    I would like to add on my own that during the years of WWII Russian artillery was famous for its excellent level of training for officers and lower ranks. Moreover, this was recognized primarily by our opponents. If my memory serves me right, Anton Kersnovsky wrote that the German artillery could fight on equal terms with the Russian only with a 3-1 advantage in their favor.
  4. +18
    29 September 2017
    Russian gunners successfully operated in a wide variety of combat conditions, showing resourcefulness and high professionalism

    Tradition C
    Pushkar case - skillfully beat for the motherland soldier
  5. +19
    29 September 2017
    Such an amusing document
    RGVA. F. 1198k. Op. 1. D. 512.L. 1.
  6. +18
    29 September 2017
    What are the amazing details of the war. Thank you for the article

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Огневой аргумент. 28-я артбригада в Восточной Пруссии

Советский военный историк полковник Ф. Храмов писал о том, что если до Первой мировой германцы считали русские войска слабо подготовленными тактически, то ход Восточно-Прусской операции 1914 года доказал обратное и даже более того - тактическая подготовка русской артиллерии оказалось выше немецкой. Вспомним о действиях русской артиллерии в Восточной Пруссии в этот период.

28-я артиллерийская бригада. Одна из артиллерийских частей 1-й армии Северо-Западного фронта. Один дивизион бригады имел честь отличиться в ходе Гумбинненского боя 7 августа, а другой – в Первом сражении у Мазурских озер 30 августа 1914 г.

В огне Гумбиннена.
Быстро прошла трудная неделя мобилизации, а за ней минула еще неделя томительного ожидания на фортах крепости Ковно, и, наконец, 4 августа 1914 г. 28-я артиллерийская бригада перешла у Ширвинда германскую границу. С юга доносился непрерывный гром артиллерии, и на ясном небе иногда были видны облачка шрапнели: это вела успешный бой у г. Сталлупенен 29-я пехотная дивизия. Заметны были уже следы войны: по обеим сторонам шоссе видны трупы лошадей, ряды мелких, наскоро вырытых окопов, кое-где тянулась колючая проволока. Со стороны Сталлупенена виднелось огромное зарево, бой затихал, и лишь изредка доносились отдельные глухие выстрелы.


Напуганное лживыми уверениями германского правительства, местное население в панике бежало перед русскими вглубь страны, бросая имущество на произвол судьбы. Странное впечатление производили чистенькие немецкие деревушки, в которых не осталось ни души, и лишь покинутый скот оглашал окрестности жалобным ревом. Справа и слева то и дело вспыхивали пожары - дело рук неуловимых шпионов - и густые столбы дыма отмечали путь русских солдат.

Последний «мирный» ночлег был в дер. Виткампен. Изредка доносились винтовочные выстрелы сторожевого охранения: пехота уже вошла в соприкосновение с противником. Едва взошло солнце, как германская артиллерия открыла огонь: в ответ на него, уже совсем близко, загрохотала 4-я батарея, находившаяся в авангарде бригады. Лица у артиллеристов сначала стали серьезными, но затем высокие разрывы германской шрапнели вызвали улыбку и даже критические замечания наших солдат: «Этак, пожалуй, много не убьешь».

Выдвинулись разведчики от 5-й и 6-й батарей. С холмов ясно были видны ровные линии наступающей русской пехоты. Справа залпами била 4-я батарея. Вдруг 4 страшных удара потрясли землю и огромные столбы камней и земли, поднявшиеся у 4-й батареи, показали, что по ней открыла огонь германская тяжелая артиллерия. Но немцы продолжали упорно класть свои снаряды в неглубокую лощинку, находившуюся в полукилометре от батареи - думая, что в ней и стоит батарея.

Получив информацию от передовой разведки, а также узнав обстановку у командира 110-го пехотного полка, командир 2-го дивизиона полковник М. К. Штакельберг вместе с командирами 5-й и 6-й батарей, подполковниками Абертом и Родовичем, под сильным артиллерийским огнем противника лично выбрал огневую позицию в 1500 метрах северо-восточнее мест. Бракупенен. В качестве наблюдательного пункта была выбрана высокая водокачка в м. Бракупенен - с нее были прекрасно видны немецкие позиции. Но водокачка была прекрасной мишенью и для немцев. Делать было нечего – приходилось идти на риск, т. к. немецкие батареи трепали русскую пехоту. Наблюдателем вызвался быть подпоручик Веревкин. Провели телефон, и батареи под командой штабс-капитанов Бугреева и Протасовича лихо вынеслись на позицию.

С наблюдательного пункта три германские батареи были видны как на ладони – и после доклада командиру дивизиона уже через несколько минут 5-я батарея открыла огонь по ближайшей германской. Не видя русской батареи, немцы открыли сильнейший артиллерийский огонь по наблюдателю: тяжелые и легкие шрапнели и гранаты буквально засыпали м. Бракупенен и водокачку, на колесе которой сидел храбрый подпоручик Веревкин. Казалось, что из этого ада уйти живым невозможно – и лишь периодические гудки телефона с сообщениями от наблюдателя доказывали, что подпоручик жив и продолжает свое дело. Исключительно благодаря его наблюдениям ближайшая германская батарея, пытавшаяся пристреляться по дивизиону, после нескольких беглых залпов 5-й батареи вынуждена была замолчать. Попытка немцев снять батарею с позиции не удалась: ее передки были разбиты.

Тогда командир дивизиона приказал 6-й батарее открыть огонь по следующей германской - и через несколько минут немецкие расчеты побежали прочь от своих орудий. Тяжелая батарея немцев, стоявшая левее, сначала безрезультатно нащупывала русские батареи, а затем сосредоточила огонь по местечку Бракупенен - стараясь разрушить дом, на котором стоял двигатель водокачки. Но тут на нее обрушились 5-я и 6-я батареи.

Несколько минут беглого огня - и тяжелую батарею немцев постигла печальная участь двух предыдущих.

Тем временем местечко Бракупенен пылало, дом, на котором находился наблюдательный пункт, загорелся, и доблестному подпоручику Веревкину пришлось его покинуть. До позднего вечера батареи вели огонь по германской пехоте, периодически возвращаясь к германским батареям, препятствуя открытию ими огня.


1. Полевое орудие в бою. 1914 г.

Наступало 7-е августа – день когда на 28-ю дивизию обрушился страшный удар германского 1-го армейского корпуса, усиленного частями одной из дивизий Кенигсбергского гарнизона. Упорно держалась доблестная русская пехота, нанося страшные потери наседавшему противнику. В гигантском котле Гумбиннена схватились лучшие дивизии русской и германской армий.

Рядом с батареями стали свистеть винтовочные пули. Под убийственным огнем немцев, наполовину поредевшая и потеряв почти весь офицерский состав, медленно отходила пехота 28-й дивизии, пока, наконец, не отошла за линию артиллерии.

Менее чем в километре перед батареями проходило шоссе. Комдив М. К. Штакельберг приказал своим батареям направить на него орудия. Местность за шоссе понижалась, и в бинокль было ясно видно движение густых масс германской пехоты. Минута - и по шоссе хлынули серые волны людей в остроконечных касках.

Пехота шла в атаку на батареи.
Артиллеристы открыли беглый огонь. Шоссе заволокло дымом, а когда он рассеялся, на нем уже никого не было - лишь белое полотно дороги стало серым от массы лежавших на нем немецких трупов. Ринулась вперед вторая волна атакующих. Вновь беглый огонь - и снова стало чисто на шоссе.

Тогда над русскими пролетел аэроплан-корректировщик с черными крестами - и на батареях начался ад. Невидимые германские батареи засыпали их градом снарядов. Огромный сеновал, находившийся правее 6-й батареи, запылал, и все поле заволокло черным дымом – под его прикрытием немецкая пехота надвигалась на дивизион и уже обходила 4-ю батарею. Герой дня наблюдатель-подпоручик пал смертью храбрых, застреленный германскими пехотинцами. 4-я батарея била в упор, а в ее тылу уже трещали пулеметы. Когда дым рассеялся, стало видно, что доблестная 4-я батарея погибла целиком - и на ней уже находится германская пехота.

Немецкие пехотинцы подошли к 5-й и 6-й батареям на дистанцию 500 - 600 шагов и лежа вели огонь по артиллеристам. Артиллеристы били по ним, но теперь уже редким огнем – снаряды заканчивались. Все поле было усеяно трупами немцев, и в атаку они переходить не спешили.


2. Полевая батарея в бою

Тогда командир дивизиона приказал 5-й батарее отходить под прикрытием огня 6-й батареи. Затем должна была отходить и 6-я. Но передки 6-й батареи, попавшие еще утром под сильный огонь тяжелой и легкой артиллерии противника, отошли, и связи с ними не было - оба ординарца связи были убиты. Тогда командир 6-й батареи доблестный подполковник Аберт, выпустив три последних снаряда, приказал бойцам вынуть кинжалы-бебуты, а офицерам револьверы - в ожидании штыковой немцев. Спасения оставшейся без передков батарее не было - хоть артиллерия немцев уже не стреляла, но винтовочные пули свистели по всем направлениям. Погибли наводчик 1-го орудия Степанов и еще несколько человек.

Вдруг раздался конский топот и грохот колес – это на полном карьере примчались передки 5-й батареи - подхватили пушки соседа и быстро их умчали. 6-я батарея была спасена. Последним ушел с поля боя командир дивизиона - предварительно убедившись, что 5-я и 6-я батареи отошли, а 4-й помочь уже нельзя.

Но подвиг артиллеристов был не напрасен - понесшие страшные потери германцы дальше не пошли.

Сражение у озер.
В Первом сражении у Мазурских озер немцы вытеснили 1-ю армию из Восточной Пруссии – оставшись в одиночестве после поражения 2-й армии, она была вынуждена отходить под натиском превосходящих сил противника.

30-го августа 28-я пехотная дивизия вела бой на крайнем левом фланге армии у дер. Дидшуллен, сдерживая обходящие фланг превосходящие силы немцев. Был получен приказ на отход. Но отступать было обидно: с рассвета и до 14 часов дивизия не только успешно сдерживала немцев, но даже отбросила противника назад. 6-я батарея 28-й артиллерийской бригады подбила германский бронеавтомобиль, а 3-я батарея почти полностью уничтожила выезжавшую на позицию немецкую легкую батарею.

Но пришлось подчиниться печальной необходимости. Левая колонна дивизии в составе двух полков и 1-го дивизиона 28-й артиллерийской бригады направилась на г. Сталлупенен. В голове колонны двигались возглавлявший ее командир 2-й бригады 28-й дивизии генерал-майор Е. А. Российский, временно командующий 28-й артбригадой полковник В. Е. Насекин и командир 1-го дивизиона полковник В. Я. Бурхановский.

Огневой аргумент. 28-я артбригада в Восточной Пруссии
3. Е. А. Российский.


4. В. Я. Бурхановский.

Затем двигалась 2-я батарея под командованием подполковника В. И. Сосновского.


5. В. И. Сосновский.

Колонна двигалась совершенно спокойно: неприятного сюрприза никто не ожидал. Но не успела голова колонны выйти на опушку леса у дер. Тольмингкемен, как посыпался град пуль: несколько артиллеристов было ранено, убито и ранено 5 лошадей. Несмотря на неожиданность нападения, артиллеристы не растерялись: старший офицер 2-й батареи штабс-капитан Стогов немедленно снял с передка первое орудие и открыл огонь по деревне. Через несколько минут выстрелы из деревни прекратились, и подошедшая из хвоста колонны пехота цепью ее прочесала, обнаружив трупы двух немецких солдат и следы засады. Движение на восток продолжилось.

Около 16 часов колонна подошла к дер. Оженингкен, как вдруг опять посыпались пули, а над колонной с сухим треском начала рваться шрапнель – вторая засада была серьезнее. Немедленно первое орудие 2-й батареи было прямо на шоссе снято с передка и открыло огонь по деревне, а остальные орудия, лихо перемахнув через придорожную канаву, вынеслись на позицию у шоссе и также снялись с передков.

Но не успела 2-я батарея сняться с передков, как на нее посыпался град шрапнели, посылаемой с невидимых глазу немецких батарей: били и с фронта, и справа, и слева. Об укрытии нечего было и думать - попытка расчетов вырыть хоть небольшие окопы, вызвала еще более бешеный огонь немцев.

Началось героическое состязание стоявшей открыто русской батареи с тремя германскими батареями, находящимися на закрытой позиции, а также с немецкой пехотой. В. Я. Бурхановский и В. И. Сосновский находились на батарее, в нескольких шагах от ее левого фланга и совместно управляли огнем.

Батарея работала лихо и спокойно: никто не нуждался в понуканиях или напоминаниях, каждый знал, что вопрос идет о жизни и смерти, стремясь к одному: до конца выполнить свой долг и подороже продать свою жизнь. На глазах у командира бригады славная батарея таяла - щиты не выдерживали огня с близкой дистанции, лишая расчеты последнего укрытия. Один за другим выбывали из строя люди. К 19 часам потери в людях были так велики, что поручик Калабухин стал выполнять обязанности заряжающего, но во время открывания орудийного замка осколок перебил ему правую руку.

Командир полубатареи поручик Калачевский был тяжело ранен осколком снаряда в живот, и на батарее осталось лишь два офицера и по 2 - 3 номера на орудие. Но огонь батареи не утихал: наоборот, еще энергичнее грохотали орудия, как бы желая отомстить врагу за свои тяжкие потери.

Спускались сумерки. Надежды на спасение батареи, казалось, не было: людей почти нет, половина лошадей перебита, снаряды на исходе. Но о гибели никто не думал – артиллеристы были проникнуты сознанием той великой задачи, которая выпала на долю батареи: своим огнем она несколько часов сдерживала наступавшего противника, отвлекая его убийственный огонь на себя и давая возможность всему отряду развернуться в боевой порядок. Еще немного - колонна развернется, и задача будет выполнена.

Но в сложившейся безысходной ситуации подполковник В. И. Сосновский приказал артиллеристам приготовиться выводить орудия из строя, оставив лишь два - для отражения штыковой атаки противника. А штыковая атака была уже близко - немецкая пехота, пользуясь сумерками, цепью выползала на опушку деревни и медленно надвигалась на батарею.

Но тут в последнюю минуту (как это не раз бывает в фильмах, но как, к счастью, произошло и в истории 2-й батареи 28-й артбригады) на батарею вышли 2 спешенные сотни дивизионной конницы - 3-го Донского казачьего Ермака Тимофеева полка. Донцы бесшумно двинулись вперед и закрыли своей грудью погибающую батарею. Через несколько минут орудия по одному были сняты с позиции, а немцы, рассчитывавшие без выстрела захватить обессилевшую батарею, были встречены градом пуль и штыками донцов – и побежали.

Русские артиллеристы успешно действовали в самых различных боевых условиях, проявляя находчивость и высокий профессионализм, не раз выручая пехоту и решая судьбы боев и сражений.


6. Батарея на огневой позиции.
Автор:
Олейников Алексей
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. svp67 Офлайн
    svp67 29 сентября 2017 07:02
    +10
    Не зря же артиллеристов в русской армии называли "Богами войны"...
  2. parusnik Офлайн
    parusnik 29 сентября 2017 07:50
    +8
    Е. А. Российский-участник Белого движения в составе ВСЮР. С 29.09.1919 в резерве чинов войск Новорроссийской области. В Русской Армии до эвакуации Крыма. Галлиполиец. С середины 1922 до конца 1923 начальник Константиновского военного училища. В 1922 выслан из Болгарии.С осени 1925 в Югославии. Умер в Пожареваце , Югославия.
    В. Я. Бурхановский-участник Белого движения в составе ВСЮР. В 1919 эвакуирован из Одессы на корабле "Кавказ". Состоял в резерве чинов войск Новороссийской области, дальнейшая судьба неизвестна.
    В. И. Сосновский- Скончался от ран 19 сентября 1915 года.
  3. ПоручикТетеринъ 29 сентября 2017 08:52
    +17
    Прекрасная статья. Автору--моя искренняя благодарность за проделанный труд и за возвращение из забвения ещё одной героической страницы русской военной истории.
    От себя хотел бы добавить, что в годы ПМВ русская артиллерия славилась превосходным уровнем выучки офицеров и нижних чинов. Причём это признавалось в первую очередь нашими противниками. Если мне не изменяет память, Антон Керсновский писал, что германская артиллерия могла на равных бороться с русской лишь при перевесе 3 к 1 в свою пользу.
  4. Какой-то Компот 29 сентября 2017 12:12
    +18
    Русские артиллеристы успешно действовали в самых различных боевых условиях, проявляя находчивость и высокий профессионализм

    Традиция С
    Пушкарское дело - бить за Родину умело soldier
  5. BRONEVIK Офлайн
    BRONEVIK 29 сентября 2017 19:31
    +19
    Такой вот занятный документ
    РГВА. Ф. 1198к. Oп. 1. Д. 512. Л. 1.
  6. Barcid Офлайн
    Barcid 29 сентября 2017 20:42
    +18
    Какие потрясающие детали войны. Спасибо за статью