Military Review

Rob Roy - Scottish analogue of Robin Hood

16
Scotland could not do without its own national hero. After all, their eternal opponent and rival - England - had Robin Hood. And if the English fighter for justice is still a partly fictional character, then the Scots are absolutely real. Robert Roy MacGregor is the most famous and at the same time ambiguous hero of Scotland.




Features of the life of the Highlanders

The novel of the Scottish writer "Rob Roy" was released in 1817, that is, 83 years after the death of the national hero in kilt. It is clear that for such a long time the image of Robert McGregor managed to acquire a lot of myths and legends, which hid the true face of the Scotsman. Did not get to the truth, and Scott. He nevertheless wrote not authentic historical composition. Therefore, the image of Rob Roy has become even more romanticized.

The future national hero of Scotland was born in early March 1671 of the year. His father, Donald McGregor, served King James VII (James II Stewart). However, as a result of the Glorious Revolution that took place in 1688, the last English Catholic king was overthrown. But the MacGregor clan remained committed to the disgraced monarch, “enrolling” in the stormy Jacobite. Accordingly, Rob Roy held the same political views as his native clan.

Robert McGregor received a good education at that time. He knew the history of his clan very well, knew literature and politics. In addition, he was known as an excellent pastoralist and trader.

The main occupation of the McGerogue clan was the raising of cattle and its subsequent sale. True, this activity has never been distinguished by compliance with strict laws. The theft of animals and their illegal sale were considered at that time to be taken for granted.



The mountaineers had another way of making money. They offered rich landowners services to protect herds from various thugs. After all, grazing cows or sheep are easy prey for lovers of easy money. Most often, businessmen of that time agreed. And not because animals really needed to be protected. The fact is that the negative response to the "advantageous offer" was dragging behind it very unpleasant consequences. For example, if a landowner refused services, his animals would soon begin to disappear. And the longer he resisted, the more herds and flocks disappeared. In the end, the landowner, on the verge of ruin, was ready to give anything to return the animals. And as soon as he made a contract, the Highlanders “in the shortest possible time” “found” precious missing.

This is what Red Rob has done (this is how Roy translates). True, unlike many other Highlanders, he nevertheless tried to follow a certain code and not to deviate from his principles. Therefore, a train of senseless murders or any cruelty did not follow him. The abduction of livestock Rob Roy turned into a theatrical performance.

Lifetime standoff

As usual, Robert McGregor had a personal enemy, the war with which lasted almost three decades. The stubborn Scot once promised a foe that he would regret the bottom when he dared to insult him. And, I must say, I kept my word to the last.

At first, nothing foreshadowed trouble. Rob and James Graham, the Duke of Montrose, did business together and were quite pleased with each other. MacGregor rented the land of the Duke, and paid him that they protected his numerous herds from predatory attacks. In addition, Montrose periodically supplied Rob with money when the latter had financial problems. It is clear that the money was given in debt, and until a certain point the Scot was a trustworthy client.



Once Rob Roy borrowed a certain amount from Montrose. And did not want to return. The duke, of course, became angry and decided to punish the debtor. Soon representatives of the law came to McGregor's house, seized the property of the Scotsman, and also insulted his wife. Rob himself was outlawed.

The Highlander had no choice but to go underground and hide for some time from his pursuers. In this he was helped by another duke - Argyll. Soon, Rob Roy decided to take revenge on his abuser. This war lasted for several decades, but did not identify the winner. The Scotsman, driven by stung pride, vowed that Montrose would regret the conflict bitterly. And he began systematically stealing animals from him. Moreover, he turned off the abduction not in the cover of night, but during the day. Moreover, Rob had warned in advance where he was going to "go out". Of course, Montrose tried to resist with all his might, but the proud Scot still turned out to be smarter and bolder. Then MacGregor sold the loot. And it is also quite open - sending invitations to bid for the richest livestock breeders. And even though they knew whose cattle the Scot sold, they did not dare to refuse him. Nobody wanted to spoil the relationship with him. Thus, Montrose lost animals, and therefore money.

The character of the real highlander

When the Jacobite rebellion broke out in 1715 in the country, led by John Erskine, Earl of Mara, Rob Roy could not stand aside. The MacGregors naturally supported the insurgency. True, quite peculiar. An indicative episode occurred in a decisive battle. Then the army under the authority of the duke Argayl (the one who patronized Rob in his war with Montrose) faltered. The mountaineers were on the verge of an important victory, but MacGregor did not lead his soldiers into battle. Instead, he instructed them to go on looting. Argyle managed to withstand the onslaught and defeated the Jacobites.

No matter how hard Rob Roy tried to please everyone, the punishment could not be avoided. After the suppression of the rebellion, he was deprived of not only property, but was again outlawed. For some time the Scot hid from his pursuers. But then publicly surrendered to Colonel Patrick Campbell Finn. He appreciated the goodwill gesture of the highlander and took it under protection. The Duke of Argyll did not abandon his “ward” either.

With such powerful patrons behind him, Rob Roy returned to his favorite occupation - the war with Montrose. Gathering a few dozens of like-minded people under his beginnings, he began to devastate the duke's pastures. In parallel with this, the Scot negotiated with rich landowners on the protection of their animals. The irony of the situation was that Rob and his “clients” were well aware that the mountaineer promised to protect the cows and sheep from himself. And although the English garrison was located in Inversnaide, no one could place a brave Scot. Only in the 1722 year, according to the totality of crimes, it was once again outlawed. Rob Roy surrendered voluntarily and spent almost 7 years behind bars. But then he was pardoned and released. At that time, the stubborn highlander was 58 years old. But he did not refuse from the war with Montrose, nor about the “racketeering” activity.



Surprisingly in the life of a mountaineer that he died quietly and calmly, in his bed. All his life he walked around the edge, but did not stumble. Even in his last days, Rob Roy remained true to himself: he was in conflict with his neighbors, demanded payment for the protection of livestock. And when he realized that the hour of death was approaching, "he expressed some remorse in some episodes of his life" (according to Walter Scott). The spouse of such an act did not appreciate, to which Rob Roy replied: "You have sown enmity between me and the powerful of the world, and now you want to spoil the relationship between me and the Lord."

And the most significant episode occurred with the Scotsman, when he was already lying on the deathbed. Suddenly, a representative of the MacLaren clan came to his house, with whom Rob Roy was, of course, at enmity. The guest wanted to look at the dying old man, but the Scot did not provide McLaren with a similar service. He ordered to raise himself, to wrap a rug, to give a dagger, pistols and an old broadsword. And before the guest MacGregor appeared in full combat uniform. He could not allow the enemy to see him unarmed and weak. As soon as Maclaren left, the mountaineer said: “Now everything is over. Tell the bagpiper to play the pibroch "We will not return again."

Rob Roy is buried in Balkvidder cemetery. On his grave is a massive tombstone depicting a sword.

National hero or double agent?

At the start of 2000, St. Andrew University professor David Stevenson made a sensational statement. Having thoroughly studied the archive data, he published the book “Rob Roy - a Man and a Legend”. True, in it he taught the national hero of Scotland as ... a traitor. About MacGregor's connection with Argayl was known for a long time. But the fact of the transfer of valuable information for a long time was still a speculation. And Stevenson was the first historian to find evidence for these actions: “This is very typical behavior for Rob Roy. On the one hand, he considered himself a real Jacobite, on the other - he was in the secret service of the government. Roy supplied detailed information to the English army in Scotland. ”

Also, the professor said that it was Walter Scott who was to blame for the romanticization of the image of McGregor. To such a statement, professors responded violently to members of the MacGregor clan, who considered themselves descendants of the very national hero. Lady Mary McGregor said: “This is fiction. Rob Roy was a true Robin Hood with one exception - he really lived. He may have robbed the rich, but never for profit. ”



But even the statement of Stevenson did not change the attitude of the Scots to his hero. After all, today it is not just a national treasure, but, one can say, a successful and famous brand. Scott’s book, Rob Roy, the Highland Rogue, shot by Disney in 1953, starring Rob Roy with Liam Neeson (1995 year), influenced his popularization. Several varieties of Scotch whiskey are named after the national hero. Therefore, one can only guess about whether Stevenson was right ...
Author:
16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. DimanC
    DimanC 26 September 2017 06: 04
    +2
    Hmm, how can I not recall Aldar Kose ...
  2. Cartalon
    Cartalon 26 September 2017 06: 28
    +2
    Even I did not understand what the heroism was, since the Scot means a hero, so what?
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 26 September 2017 07: 40
    +2
    The highlanders also had another way of making money. They offered wealthy landowners services to protect herds from various bandits. After all, grazing cows or sheep are easy prey for lovers of easy money. Most often, businessmen of that time agreed. And not because the animals really needed to be protected. The fact is that the negative response to the "advantageous offer" dragged on very unpleasant consequences.
    ... Say a word about the poor racketeer of the 18th century ... There were no electric irons then ...
    1. Mikado
      Mikado 26 September 2017 10: 37
      +2
      Rob Roy - Scottish analogue of Robin Hood

      Alexey Anatolyevich, good morning! hi
      riddle wink "with onions and eggs, but not robin hood" - who it? laughing
      1. parusnik
        parusnik 26 September 2017 15: 06
        +1
        good If not Robin Hood, and not Rob Roy the one without onions, but with eggs ... then a pie ... laughing
        1. Mikado
          Mikado 26 September 2017 15: 54
          +2
          ah, you knew, you knew, cunning! wink drinks
          1. parusnik
            parusnik 26 September 2017 15: 55
            +3
            No ... I did not know ... therefore, I presented a chain of reasoning ... It was necessary to write more and more broadly ... wink drinks
            1. Mikado
              Mikado 26 September 2017 16: 01
              +1
              If not Robin Hood, and not Rob Roy the one without a bow, but with eggs

              wise! good "Mind Games, Part Two." Gorgeous, you know how! yes drinks
  4. XII Legion
    XII Legion 26 September 2017 08: 52
    16
    Movie rob roy is amazing
    Liam Nisson and Tim Roth are handsome.
    And the Jacobite era is specific. And Roy saved his clan and retained the honor - well done
  5. Molot1979
    Molot1979 26 September 2017 11: 08
    +1
    All the similarities with Robin - robbed the rich (and what to take from the poor), was a robber, and sometimes fought with the British. But Goode also helped the poor. And Red Robert helped only himself and his clan. Although the type, of course, is interesting. In favor of the version of the double agent and his behavior on the battlefield, when he did not support the decisive attack of the Jacobites.
  6. Looking for
    Looking for 26 September 2017 14: 55
    -1
    The article can be recommended for extracurricular reading at a school course in the history of Western Europe. To understand what constituted Scotland and its population, I advise you to watch the documentary 12-episode film "Clans of Scotland"
  7. vvp2412
    vvp2412 26 September 2017 15: 06
    +1
    And what is he a hero? The fact that he protected the cattle breeders from himself, or stole ?! Not a word is written that he was giving out money to the poor or something like that!
    1. Weyland
      Weyland 27 September 2017 00: 36
      0
      Quote: vvp2412
      And what is he a hero?

      Cattle theft all cattle-breeding peoples was considered a heroic deed. For instance, 10th feat of Hercules - abduction of cows Gerion. And the first event that Hermes performed in his life (and even in infancy!) - the abduction of cows from Apollo laughing
  8. Catherine II
    Catherine II 26 September 2017 18: 22
    +1
    I read it with interest. A strange hero in our understanding. However, given the uniqueness of the Scots, there is probably something for it. We then with our worldview and history cannot evaluate the hero of Scotland by our standards.
    Thank you for the article.
  9. Weyland
    Weyland 26 September 2017 19: 59
    0
    For all agricultural peoples, cattle stealing is considered a serious crime. and all pastoralists have a normal business! Famous Greek heroes - Castor and Polydeus, Idas and Linkey, and Hercules himself (and from the gods - Hermes) often engaged in this business! For Turkic peoples, this business is called “Barymta”, and for Ossetians “Balts” —and they have the name Baltzag = “cattle-thief”! But the Scots surpassed everyone: for several centuries in the British Parliament two parties really butted - “Tories” (Irl. “Persecuted”) and Whigs (short for scotl. "wiggams" = cattle stealers!) laughing
    1. Looking for
      Looking for 26 September 2017 21: 15
      -1
      Three times in a short time, Charles II convened Parliament. In the election campaign, again, as in 1641, two nicknames appeared, at first offensive, but then completely lost their original meaning and preserved more than 200 years before the middle of the XNUMXth century: Tories (“conspirators”) for supporters of the king’s unlimited power, and Whigs ("robbers") for the resistance.

Роб Рой – шотландский аналог Робина Гуда

Шотландия никак не могла обойтись без собственного национального героя. Ведь у их извечного противника и соперника – Англии – был Робин Гуд. И если английский борец за справедливость все же персонаж частично выдуманный, то у шотландцев - абсолютно реальный. Роберт Рой Макгрегор - самый прославленный и вместе с тем неоднозначный герой Шотландии.



Особенности жизни горцев


Роман шотландского писателя «Роб Рой» увидел свет в 1817 году, то есть спустя 83 года после кончины национального героя в килте. Понятно, за такое долгое время образ Роберта Макгрегора успел обрасти множеством мифов и легенд, за которыми скрылось истинное лицо шотландца. Не стал добираться до истины и Скотт. Он все-таки писал не доподлинное историческое произведение. Поэтому образ Роба Роя стал еще больше романтизированным.

Будущий национальный герой Шотландии родился в начале марта 1671 года. Его отец Дональд Макгрегор служил королю Якову VII (Яков II Стюарт). Однако в результате «Славной революции», произошедшей в 1688 году, последний английский король-католик был свергнут. Но клан Макгрегоров сохранил приверженность опальному монарху, «записавшись» в стан рьяных якобитов. Соответственно, Роб Рой придерживался тех же политических взглядов, что и его родной клан.

Роберт Макгрегор получил хорошее по тем временам образование. Он прекрасно знал историю своего клана, разбирался в литературе и политике. Кроме того, слыл прекрасным скотоводом и торговцем.

Главным занятием клана Макгерогов было выращивание крупнорогатого скота и его последующая продажа. Правда, эта деятельность никогда не отличалась соблюдением строгих законов. Кража животных и их нелегальная продажа считались в то время само собой разумеющимся фактом.



Был у горцев и еще один способ заработка денег. Они предлагали богатым землевладельцам услуги по охране стад от различных бандитов. Ведь пасущиеся коровы или овцы – легкая добыча для любителей шальных денег. Чаще всего бизнесмены того времени соглашались. И не потому, что животных действительно нужно было охранять. Дело в том, что отрицательный ответ на «выгодное предложение» тянул за собой очень неприятные последствия. К примеру, если землевладелец отказывался от услуг, вскоре его животные начинали исчезать. И чем дольше он сопротивлялся, тем больше стад и отар пропадало. В конце концов, землевладелец, находящийся на грани разорения, был готов отдать что угодно, лишь бы вернуть животных. И стоило ему заключить договор, как горцы в кратчайшие сроки «находили» драгоценные пропажи.

Этим и занимался Рыжий Роб (именно так переводится Рой). Правда, в отличие от многих других горцев он все-таки старался следовать определенному кодексу и не отступать от своих принципов. Поэтому за ним не тянулся шлейф бессмысленных убийств или проявления какой-либо жестокости. Похищение скота Роб Рой превращал в театральное действо.

Противостояние длинною в жизнь

Как водится, был у Роберта Макгрегора и персональный враг, война с которым длилась чуть ли не три десятилетия. Упрямый шотландец однажды пообещал недругу, что тот пожалеет о дне, когда осмелился его оскорбить. И, надо сказать, свое слово держал до последнего.

Поначалу ничего не предвещало беды. Роб и Джеймс Грэм, герцог Монтроз вели совместные дела и были вполне довольны друг другом. Макгрегоры арендовали земли герцога, а платили ему тем, что охраняли его многочисленные стада от разбойничьих нападок. К тому же, Монтроз периодически снабжал Роба деньгами, когда у последнего намечались финансовые проблемы. Понятно, что деньги давались в долг, и до определенного момента шотландец был благонадежным клиентом.



Как-то Роб Рой одолжил у Монтроза определенную сумму. И возвращать не захотел. Герцог, естественно, рассердился и решил наказать должника. Вскоре в дом Макгрегора явились представители закона, наложили арест на имущество шотландца, а также оскорбили его жену. Сам Роб оказался вне закона.

Горцу ничего не оставалось, как уйти в подполье и некоторое время скрываться от преследователей. В этом ему помог другой герцог – Аргайл. Вскоре Роб Рой решил отомстить своему обидчику. Эта война растянулась на несколько десятилетий, но победителя так и не выявила. Шотландец, ведомый ущемленной гордостью, поклялся, что Монтроз горько пожалеет о конфликте. И принялся систематически воровать у него животных. Причем похищения он проворачивал не под покровом ночи, а днем. Более того, Роб заранее предупреждал, где собирается «отовариться». Конечно, Монтроз все силами пытался сопротивляться, но гордый шотландец все равно оказывался хитрее и наглее. Потом Макгрегор продавал награбленный товар. И тоже вполне открыто – отправляя приглашения на торги наиболее богатым животноводам. И хоть те знали, чей скот продает шотландец, отказывать ему не решались. Никто не хотел портить с ним отношения. Таким образом, Монтроз лишался животных, а значит, и денег.

Характер настоящего горца

Когда в 1715 году в стране вспыхнуло восстание якобитов, возглавляемых Джоном Эрскином, графом Мара, Роб Рой не мог остаться в стороне. Макгрегоры, естественно, поддержали мятеж. Правда, довольно своеобразно. Показательный эпизод произошел в решающей битве. Тогда армия под началом герцога Аргайла (того самого, который покровительствовал Робу в его войне с Монтрозом) дрогнула. Горцы были в шаге от важнейшей победы, но Макгрегор не повел своих солдат в бой. Вместо этого он скомандовал им заняться мародерством. Аргайл сумел выдержать натиск и победил якобитов.

Как ни старался Роб Рой угодить всем, наказания избежать не получилось. После подавления мятежа его лишили не только имущества, но вновь объявили вне закона. Некоторое время шотландец прятался от преследователей. Но затем прилюдно сдался полковнику Патрику Кэмпбеллу Финну. Тот оценил жест доброй воли горца и взял его под защиту. Не бросал своего «подопечного» и герцог Аргайл.

Имея за спиной таких мощных покровителей, Роб Рой вновь вернулся к своему излюбленному занятию – войне с Монтрозом. Собрав под свое начало несколько десятков единомышленников, он начал опустошать пастбища герцога. Параллельно с этим шотландец договаривался богатыми землевладельцами об охране их животных. Ирония ситуации заключалась в том, что у Роб и его «клиенты» прекрасно понимали, что горец обещает охранять коров и овец от самого себя. И хоть в Инверснэйде располагался английский гарнизон, никто не мог помещать храброму шотландцу. Лишь в 1722 году его, по совокупности преступлений, в очередной раз объявили вне закона. Роб Рой сдался добровольно и почти 7 лет провел за решеткой. Но потом его помиловали и отпустили. На тот момент упрямому горцу было 58 лет. Но ни от войны с Монтрозом, ни о «рэкетирской» деятельности он не отказался.



Удивительно в жизни горца то, что он умер тихо и спокойно, в своей постели. Всю жизнь он ходил по краю, но не споткнулся. Даже в последние свои дни Роб Рой оставался верен себе: конфликтовал с соседями, требовал платы за охрану скота. А когда понял, что приближается смертный час, «выразил некоторое раскаяние в некоторых эпизодах своей жизни» (по версии Вальтера Скотта). Супруга такого поступка не оценила, на что Роб Рой ответил: «Вы посеяли вражду между мной и сильными мира сего, и теперь хотите испортить отношения между мной и Господом».

А самый показательный эпизод произошел с шотландцем, когда он уже лежал смертном ложе. Неожиданно в его дом явился представитель клана Макларенов, с который Роб Рой, конечно же, враждовал. Гость захотел посмотреть на умирающего старика, но шотландец не оказал Макларену подобной услуги. Он приказал поднять себя, обмотать пледом, дать кинжал, пистолеты и старинный палаш. И перед гостем Макгрегор появился в полном боевом обмундировании. Он не мог допустить, чтобы враг увидел его безоружным и слабым. Как только Макларен ушел, горец сказал: «Теперь все закончено. Скажите волынщику играть пиброх «Мы больше не вернемся»».

Похоронен Роб Рой на кладбище Балквиддера. На его могиле находится массивная надгробная плита с изображением меча.

Национальный герой или двойной агент?

В начале 2000-х годов профессор университета Святого Андрея Дэвид Стивенсон сделал сенсационное заявление. Основательно изучив архивные данные, он издал книгу «Роб Рой – человек и легенда». Правда, в ней он преподал национального героя Шотландии как… предателя. О связи Макгрегора с Аргайлом известно было давно. Но факт передачи ценных сведений долгое время был все-таки домыслом. А Стивенсон стал первым историком, нашедшим этим поступкам доказательства: «Это очень типичное поведение для Роб Роя. С одной стороны, он считал себя настоящим якобитом, с другой - находился на секретной службе у правительства. Рой снабжал подробной информацией английскую армию в Шотландии».

Также профессор заявил, что именно Вальтер Скотт виноват в романтизации образа Макгрегора. На такое заявление профессора бурно отреагировали члены клана Макгрегоров, которые считали себя потомками того самого национального героя. Леди Мэри Макгрегор заявила: «Это вымысел. Роб Рой был настоящим Робином Гудом с одним исключением - он реально жил. Возможно, он и грабил богатых, но никогда не для выгоды».



Но даже заявление Стивенсона не изменило отношение шотландцев к своему герою. Ведь он на сегодняшний день не просто национальное достояние, а, можно сказать, успешный и знаменитый бренд. На его популяризацию повлияла книга Скотта, фильм «Rob Roy, the Highland Rogue», снятый студией Дисней в 1953 году, картина «Роб Рой» с Лиамом Нисоном в главной роли (1995 год). Именем национального героя названы и несколько сортов шотландского виски. Поэтому о том, прав ли был Стивенсон, остаётся только гадать…
Автор: Павел Жуков


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 16

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. DimanC (Дмитрий) 26 сентября 2017 06:04
    Мда, как тут не вспомнить Алдара Косе...
  2. Cartalon (Михаил) 26 сентября 2017 06:28
    Чёт я не понял в чём геройство заключалась, раз шотландец значит герой, так что ли?
  3. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 26 сентября 2017 07:40
    Был у горцев и еще один способ заработка денег. Они предлагали богатым землевладельцам услуги по охране стад от различных бандитов. Ведь пасущиеся коровы или овцы – легкая добыча для любителей шальных денег. Чаще всего бизнесмены того времени соглашались. И не потому, что животных действительно нужно было охранять. Дело в том, что отрицательный ответ на «выгодное предложение» тянул за собой очень неприятные последствия.
    ...О бедном рэкетире 18 века замолвите слово...Электрических утюгов тогда еще не было...
    1. Микадо (Николай) 26 сентября 2017 10:37
      Роб Рой – шотландский аналог Робина Гуда

      Алексей Анатольевич, доброе утро! hi
      загадка wink "с луком и с яйцами, но не Робин Гуд" - кто такой? laughing
      1. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 26 сентября 2017 15:06
        good Если не Робин Гуд, и не Роб Рой тот без лука, но с яйцами...тогда пирожок... laughing
        1. Микадо (Николай) 26 сентября 2017 15:54
          ах, Вы знали, Вы знали, хитрец! wink drinks
          1. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 26 сентября 2017 15:55
            Нет..не знал..поэтому и представил цепочку рассуждений..Надо было ширее и глыбже написать.. wink drinks
            1. Микадо (Николай) 26 сентября 2017 16:01
              Если не Робин Гуд, и не Роб Рой тот без лука, но с яйцами

              мудрО! good "Игры разума, часть вторая". Шикарно, умеете! yes drinks
  4. XII легион (Цезарь) 26 сентября 2017 08:52
    Фильм Роб Рой потрясающ
    Лиам Ниссон и Тим Рот - красавчики.
    И якобитская эпоха специфична. А Рой сберег свой клан и сохранил честь - уже молодец
  5. Molot1979 26 сентября 2017 11:08
    Все сходство с Робином - грабил богатых (а что взять с бедных-то), был разбойником, временами сражался с англичанами. Но Гуд еще и бедным помогал. А Рыжий Роберт помогал только себе да своему клану. Хотя тип, конечно, интересный. В пользу версии о двойном агенте и его поведение на поле боя, когда он не поддержал решительную атаку якобитов.
  6. Ищущий (александр) 26 сентября 2017 14:55
    Статья может быть рекомендована для внеклассного чтения по школьному курсу истории западной Европы.Чтобы понять.что же собой представляла Шотландия и её население,советую посмотреть документальный 12-ти серийный фильм "Кланы Шотландии"
  7. vvp2412 (Владимир) 26 сентября 2017 15:06
    И в чем он герой? В том, что крышевал скотоводов от самого себя, либо воровал?! Не написано ни слова, что он раздавал деньги бедным или что-то типа этого!
    1. Weyland (Константин) 27 сентября 2017 00:36
      Цитата: vvp2412
      И в чем он герой?

      Угон скота у всех скотоводческих народов считался геройским поступком. Например, 10й подвиг Геракла - похищение коров Гериона. А первое мероприятие, которое Гермес совершил в своей жизни (причем еще во младенчестве!) - похищение коров у Аполлона laughing
  8. Екатерина II (Izabella) 26 сентября 2017 18:22
    Прочел с интересом. Странный герой в нашем понимании. Однако, учитывая, уникальность шотландцев-наверное есть за что. Мы то со своим мировоззрением и историей не можем оценить героя Шотландии по своим меркам.
    Спасибо за статью.
  9. Weyland (Константин) 26 сентября 2017 19:59
    У всех земледельческих народов скотокрадство считается тяжким преступлением. а у всех скотоводов - нормальным бизнесом! Знаменитые греческие герои - Кастор и Полидевк, Идас и Линкей, да и сам Геракл (а из богов - Гермес) этим бизнесом занимались частенько! У тюркских народов этот бизнес зовется "барымта", а у осетин "балц" - причем у них есть имя Балцаг = "угонщик скота"! Но Шотландцы переплюнули всех: на протяжении нескольких веков в британском парламенте реально бодались две партии - "тори" (ирл. "гонимые") и "виги" (сокращение от шотл. "виггаморы" = скотокрады!) laughing
    1. Ищущий (александр) 26 сентября 2017 21:15
      Три раза в течение короткого срока созывал Карл II парламент. В избирательной борьбе опять, как в 1641 г. появились две клички, сначала обидные, но потом совершенно утратившие первоначальный смысл и сохранившиеся более, чем на 200 лег до средины XIX в.: тори («заговорщики») для сторонников неограниченной власти короля, и виги («разбойники») для сопротивляющихся.
Картина дня