El Cid Campeador - National Hero of Spain

9
Reconquista on the Iberian Peninsula lasted more than 7 centuries. It was a time of glorious victories and bitter defeats, insidious betrayals and heroic devotion. The struggle of Christians against the Moors gave Spain one of its most famous national heroes, Rodrigo Díaz de Vivara, who was nicknamed El Cid Campeador.

El Cid Campeador - National Hero of Spain




The internecine war

The legendary "Song of my Side" states that the future hero of Castile, and then of all of Spain, came from a noble family. According to one of the versions, his ancestor held a high post of judge. The fact is that in Castile there was a long tradition - all disputed moments in the life of citizens were decided by two judges. Accordingly, only a noble and respected person could take such a position. Father de Vivara, Diego Laínez, devoted all his life to guarding the borders of Castile and Navara from the raids of the Moors.
Due to his high social status, Rodrigo was entrusted to the Castilian court and was educated at the monastery of San Pedro de Cardena. After the death of his father, Fernando I was brought up at the court, and his best friend was the king’s eldest son, Sancho. In the monastery Rodrigo taught to read and write. And the latter is proved, since the signature of El Cid has been preserved.

In the 1065 year, when the king of Castile Ferdinand I died, the kingdom was in the depths of civil war. The fact is that Ferdinand I divided the vast lands between three sons. Castile itself went to the eldest - Sancho, Leon went to the middle one - Alfonso. Well, the youngest, Garcia, got into their possession Galicia.

In the conflict that broke out, success was accompanied by Sancho II. It was on this king’s side that Rodrigo fought. He gained fame thanks to his courage and heroism during numerous battles. In one of them, El Cid did not just defeat the army of the enemy, but also captured King Alfonso. Thanks to this, Sancho II managed to take control of land belonging to a relative. According to one version, it was for this feat Rodrigo was nicknamed Kampeador. This word can be translated as “knight”, “great warrior”.

But the standoff did not end there. In 1072, Sancho II led his troops to the city of Zamora, in which his sister, Urrac, hid. She helped Alfonso escape from captivity and take refuge with Emir Mamun in Toledo. Of course, Sancho considered this a betrayal and decided to deal with an insidious relative. The inhabitants of Zamora were heroically holding their defenses, although the forces remained less and less. And when it seemed that the city was about to fall, Sancho II was killed. He was killed by scout Velido Alfonso, who played the role of defector and was able to thus penetrate the camp of the King of Castile and Leon. After the death of Sancho, Alfonso VI ascended to the throne.

Standoff with Alfonso

Becoming a full ruler of vast lands, Alfonso VI behaved wisely. First of all reconciled with Rodrigo. He did not want to find a natural enemy in the face of such a famous and respected warrior. True, according to one of the legends, El Sid demanded that the newly made king swear that he was not involved in the murder of his brother. This episode first surfaced in the middle of the 30 of the 13 of the 20th century. However, many historians consider it an author’s fiction, since no documents confirming the oath have been preserved.

By and large, true or not - it does not matter. Most importantly, Rodrigo Diaz de Vivar became the head of the whole army of Castile. And then he married a relative of King Jimene Diaz.

In those turbulent times, the rulers of fragmented Spain did not stop internecine wars. Moreover, for the sake of victory or financial gain, they did not disdain even to conclude short-term alliances with the main enemies - the Moors. It was because of such a skirmish that El Cid suffered. Joining together with the emir of Seville, Al Mutamid, who, by the way, was an ally of Castile, he joined an “open field” with the army of Abdullah, the ruler of Granada. That fight ended in victory for Rodrigo and Al Mutmida. But the joy of victory spoiled one fact. It turned out that Count García Ordóñez, under the patronage of Alfonso VI, was discovered in the army of Abdullah. This graph was captured by Rodrigo. And after that, El Cid still devastated the land of Toledo, which was also under the protectorate of the King of Castile.

I must say, Alfonso VI was rather cold about a successful commander. The wisdom shown at the beginning gave way to envy and fear of losing the throne. After all, El Cid was very popular in the army and among the people. Therefore, the capture of Ordóñez and the raid on Toledo Alfonso used with the maximum benefit for themselves. El Cid fell into disgrace and was forced to leave Castile in 1080.

Turning out to be unnecessary to Alfonso, Rodrigo began an active search for a new equally powerful and influential patron. First of all, he offered help in the fight against the Moors to the counts of Barcelona. But for some reason they refused to El Cid. And then Rodrigo went over to the camp of the enemies - he rose “under the gun” to the emirs of Zaragoza.

At the time, it was not considered out of the ordinary. The usual common practice among Christian warriors who could not find a master of similar faith. The emirs went to the service because of the acute shortage of means of livelihood or because of persecutions at home. The Moors, in turn, sought to lure the Christian warriors, because they differed discipline and training. In addition, they had no relatives or any influential friends among Muslims. So, in the undercover intrigue, they did not climb. It turned out mutually beneficial cooperation in the context of the ongoing war for the liberation of the Iberian Peninsula from Muslims.

While in the service of the Saragossky Emir, El Cid joined the fight against Barcelona. And in several battles he managed to defeat the graphs, who not so long ago refused him patronage.

In 1086, the Christians had a new enemy - at the invitation of the emirs of Seville, Granada and Badajoz, the Almoravid troops invaded Morocco from Andalusia. In one of the biggest battles of all time Reconquista - the battle of Zallak - Spanish Christians suffered a crushing defeat. King Alfonso VI himself miraculously escaped from the battlefield.

According to one of the versions, El Cid Kampeador took part in that battle. And although the battle was lost, he managed to regain the position of the king of Castile and returned to his homeland.

Just a year later, El Cid again went on the warpath. This time the conflict broke out over Valencia. Against Rodrigo spoke his old opponent - Ramon Berenguer, Count of Barcelona, ​​who supports the emirs. I must say, Kampeador himself also spoke on the side of the Muslims. In the battles for Valencia, El Cid was stronger, and the city passed under the protectorate of Alfonso VI. The King of Castile valued and hated Rodrigo at the same time. Therefore, when he refused to support Alfonso in the raid on the Moors, the governor again banished Campeador.

Per se

After another undeserved disgrace, according to El Cid, he began to work exclusively for himself. Using enormous prestige, Campeador managed to conquer the lands of Valencia, having gained recognition from his emirs. Then once again defeated the army of Ramon Berenger and managed to capture him. For the release of Rodrigo demanded from the enemy once and for all abandon claims to the land of Valencia. The count had to agree.

In 1094, El Cid was able to subdue the city itself. The Almoravids tried several times to discourage Valencia, but all their attempts failed.

El Cid, as befits a real hero, did not die in his own bed. According to legend, before the battle with the Moors it was wounded by a poisoned arrow. Feeling the approach of death, Rodrigo ordered his wife to dress him in armor and put him on a horse so that the enemy would not suspect anything. Jimena fulfilled the wish of her husband. The Moors most likely knew that El Cid was mortally wounded, so his appearance caused fear in them, and they fled. So, at least, it is written in the legends.
But when the news of the death of Rodrigo spread throughout Spain, the Moors began to try to conquer Valencia with redoubled force. Jimena, as she could, defended the city. But a few years later, when the forces were exhausted, she asked for protection from Alfonso VI. The King of Castile did not bother with the Moors, but simply suggested that Christian residents leave the city. And soon Valencia was occupied by Muslims.

El Cid and his family are buried in the monastery of Burgos. An epitaph composed by Menedes Pidal is stamped on the tomb: “Here lie Rodrigo Dias, Kampeador, who died in Valencia on 1099, and his wife Jimena, daughter of Count Diego de Oviedo, of royal family. They all achieved honor and were born in good time. ”

National hero

Due to the character and great number of victories, El Cid was considered to be the true embodiment of the Castilian spirit even during his lifetime. Therefore, he gained immortality as the national hero of Spain in traditions and songs-romancero. For example, “Song of My Side”, composed from the end of 12 to the beginning of 13 centuries. She is considered a model of the Spanish medieval epos.

After several centuries, the hero was remembered by the writer Guillen de Castro, who composed the plays “Youth of Sid”. Then this idea was picked up and developed by the playwright Pierre Corneille in the poetic play Sid. And if the creation of de Castro was, in fact, parochial, nobody knew about him outside of Spain, then the Frenchman brought Rodrigo world fame. According to the play, the composer Massenet composed the opera. And at the beginning of the 19 century, Kampeadore was remembered by the poet Robert Southey from England, who wrote the Chronicle of Sid. The filmmaker didn’t get around this topic either - the Hollywood film “El Cid” appeared in 1961, and in 2003 the Spaniards created a cartoon called “The Legend of Side”.

Rodrigo's Blade

“The song about my Side” glorified not only the brave Rodrigo. His swords, Tysona and Colada, became famous too. And, very importantly, both of these swords have survived to the present day. One of them is definitely a contemporary of Campeador. This was confirmed by chemical analysis.

According to some historians, after the death of El Cid, his blade was among the ancestors of the future King Ferdinand II of Aragon. That, in turn, at the beginning of the 16-th century presented weapon Marquis de Falces as a sign of gratitude for the dedicated service. As the legend says, the king allowed de Falces to choose what he wanted. And the Marquis took the legendary blade instead of money or a castle.

In 2007, the owner of the sword sold it to the region of Castile and Leon. After that, the weapon settled in the Cathedral of Burgos, where El Cid himself is intoxicated.

It is curious that at one time it was rumored that Tysona was a fake. An examination was carried out. She showed that the hilt of the sword was made in the 16 century, but the blade itself dates from the 11 century. But El Cid’s second sword, Colada, did not belong to the national hero of Spain. He was forged in the 13 century.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +6
    28 September 2017 07: 35
    In the History Reading for 6 grades, an excerpt from the Song of Side was published .. A collection was published in which there was a Song of Side, a Song of Roland, A Word about Igor's regiment .. but it was in Soviet times .. it’s a pity they don’t publish now like ...
    1. +3
      28 September 2017 12: 06
      Quote: parusnik
      but it was in Soviet times .. it’s a pity they don’t publish anything like that now ...

      Previously, they often showed the American film "El Cid", in excellent translation ... in childhood it was interesting to watch.
    2. +1
      28 September 2017 20: 24
      Quote: parusnik
      ...... sorry now do not publish this ...

      My grandmother left me a 200th hundredth volume of World Literature. Among them, there are.
  2. +19
    28 September 2017 08: 16
    A unique phenomenon is the Reconquista (conquering from the Arab invaders - usually, after all, everything happened the other way around). In Spain and Crete, such a miracle happened.
    El Cid is a real ascetic.
    Important and necessary topic, thanks to the author
  3. +1
    28 September 2017 08: 20
    Looking at today's Spain, Rodrigo spins in the grave with a propeller.
  4. +2
    28 September 2017 12: 07
    First of all, he offered help in countering the Moors to the counts of Barcelona. But they for some reason refused El Sid. And then Rodrigo went over to the camp of enemies - stood "under the gun" to the emirs of Zaragoza.
    Everything is interesting ... that’s the question, and would the current Barcelona authorities refuse such a defender now?
  5. +1
    28 September 2017 19: 39
    Quote: svp67
    Quote: parusnik
    but it was in Soviet times .. it’s a pity they don’t publish anything like that now ...

    Previously, they often showed the American film "El Cid", in excellent translation ... in childhood it was interesting to watch.

    I didn’t have to watch it, I’ll look in YouTube. Hollywood HAD BEAUTIFUL films for children, I mean CLASSIC Hollywood
  6. +1
    28 September 2017 21: 55
    That's what great PR means! Sil worked mainly as himself, his beloved - but his rival Garcia Ordonez worked all his life for the good of his homeland - and he entered the epic only as an enemy of Sid! But only the heroic death of Ordonez is worth a separate epic poem!
  7. 0
    2 January 2018 19: 40
    Any Alfonso will deceive a real knight. Of course, after death only the memory will remain of the great man and the knight. BUT, unfortunately, with every hidalgo, like a clinging rag at a spur, next to it there will always be a memory of the stink of Alfonso.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Эль Сид Кампеадор – национальный герой Испании

Реконкиста на Пиренейском полуострове длилась более 7 веков. Это было время славных побед и горьких поражений, коварных предательств и героической преданности. Борьба христиан с маврами подарила Испании, наверное, одного из самых известных ее национальный героев - Родриго Диаса де Вивара, которого прозвали Эль Сид Кампеадор.

Эль Сид Кампеадор – национальный герой Испании



Междоусобная война

В легендарной «Песне о моем Сиде» говорится, что будущий герой Кастилии, а потом и всей Испании, происходил из дворянского рода. По одной из версий, его предок занимал высокую должность судьи. Дело в том, что в Кастилии существовала давняя традиция – все спорные моменты в жизни граждан решали два судьи. Соответственно, занять такую должность мог только знатный и уважаемый человек. Отец де Вивара Диего Лаинес всю свою жизнь посвятил охране границ Кастилии и Навары от набегов мавров.
Благодаря высокому социальному статусу Родриго был вхож в кастильский двор и получил образование в монастыре San Pedro de Cardena. После смерти отца воспитывался при дворе Фернандо I, а его лучшим другом стал старший сын короля – Санчо. В монастыре Родриго научили читать и писать. Причем последнее доказано, поскольку сохранилась подпись Эль Сида.

В 1065 году, когда умер король Кастилии Фердинанд I, королевство оказалось в пучине междоусобной войны. Дело в том, что Фердинанд I поделил обширные земли между тремя сыновьями. Сама Кастилия отошла к старшему – Санчо, Леон достался среднему – Альфонсо. Ну а младший, Гарсия, получил в свои владения Галисию.

В разгоревшемся конфликте успех сопутствовал Санчо II. Именно на стороне этого короля и воевал Родриго. Известность он получил благодаря храбрости и героизму во время многочисленных битв. В одной из них Эль Сид не просто разгромил армию неприятеля, но еще взял в плен короля Альфонсо. Благодаря этому Санчо II сумел взять под свой контроль земли, принадлежащие родственнику. По одной из версий, именно за этот подвиг Родриго получил прозвище Кампеадор. Это слово можно перевести как «рыцарь», «великий воин».

Но противостояние на этом не закончилось. В 1072 году Санчо II повел свои войска к городу Самора, в котором спряталась его сестра Уррака. Она помогла Альфонсо сбежать из плена и укрыться у эмира Мамуну в Толедо. Конечно, Санчо посчитал это предательством и решил расправиться с коварной родственницей. Жители Саморы героически держали оборону, хотя сил оставалось все меньше. И когда казалось, что город вот-вот падет, Санчо II погиб. Его убил лазутчик Велидо Альфонсо, который сыграл роль перебежчика и сумел таким образом проникнуть в лагерь короля Кастилии и Леона. После гибели Санчо на трон взошел Альфонсо VI.

Противостояние с Альфонсо

Став полноправным правителем обширных земель, Альфонсо VI повел себя мудро. Первым делом помирился с Родриго. Он не хотел обрести кровного врага в лице столь прославленного и уважаемого воина. Правда, по одной из легенд, Эль Сид потребовал от новоиспеченного короля поклясться в том, что тот непричастен к убийству брата. Впервые этот эпизод всплыл в середине 30-х годов 13-го века. Однако многие историки считают его авторским вымыслом, поскольку никаких документов, подтверждающих клятву, не сохранилось.

По большом счету, правда это или нет - неважно. Главное, Родриго Диас де Вивар встал во главе всей армии Кастилии. А затем женился на родственнице короля Химене Диас.

В те неспокойные времена правители раздробленной Испании не прекращали междоусобные войны. Причем ради победы или финансовой выгоды они не гнушались даже заключением краткосрочных союзов с главными врагами – маврами. Именно из-за такой стычки и пострадал Эль Сид. Объединившись с эмиром Севильи Аль Мутамидом, который, к слову, был союзником Кастилии, он в «чистом поле» сошелся с войском Абдуллы, правителя Гранады. Тот бой закончился победой Родриго и Аль Мутмида. Но радость от победы испортил один факт. Оказалось, в войске Абдуллы обнаружился граф Гарсия Ордоньес, находившийся под покровительством Альфонсо VI. Этот граф был взят в плен Родриго. А после этого Эль Сид еще опустошил земли Толедо, которые также находились под протекторатом короля Кастилии.

Надо сказать, Альфонсо VI довольно холодно относился к успешному полководцу. Мудрость, проявленная в начале, уступила место зависти и боязни потерять трон. Ведь Эль Сид был очень популярен в армии и в народе. Поэтому пленение Ордоньеса и налет на Толедо Альфонсо использовал с максимальной для себя выгодой. Эль Сид попал в опалу и в 1080 году был вынужден покинуть Кастилию.

Оказавшись ненужным Альфонсо, Родриго начал активный поиск нового столь же сильно и влиятельного покровителя. Первым делом он предложил помощь в борьбе с маврами графам Барселоны. Но те по каким-то причинам отказали Эль Сиду. И тогда Родриго переметнулся в стан врагов – встал «под ружье» к эмирам Сарагосы.

В то время это не считалось чем-то из ряда вон выходящим. Обычная распространенная практика среди воинов-христиан, которые не смогли найти себе хозяина аналогичной веры. На службу к эмирам шли из-за острой нехватки средств к существованию или же по причине гонений на родине. Мавры, в свою очередь, стремились переманить воинов-христиан, поскольку те отличались дисциплиной и выучкой. Кроме того, у них не было родственников или каких-либо влиятельных друзей среди мусульман. А значит, в подковерные интриги они не лезли. Получалось взаимовыгодное сотрудничество в условиях непрекращающейся войны за освобождение Пиренейского полуострова от мусульман.

Находясь на службе Сарагоского эмира, Эль Сид вступил в борьбу с Барселоной. И в нескольких битвах сумел одолеть графов, которые не так давно отказали ему в покровительстве.

В 1086 году у христиан появился новый враг – по приглашению эмиров Севильи, Гранады и Бадахоса из Марокко в Андалусию вторглись войска Альморавидов. В одной из крупнейших битв за все время Реконкисты – сражение при Заллаке – испанские христиане потерпели сокрушительное поражение. Сам король Альфонсо VI чудом спасся с поля боя.

По одной из версий в той битве принимал участие и Эль Сид Кампеадор. И хоть сражение было проиграно, он сумел вернуть себе расположение короля Кастилии и вернулся на родину.

Спустя всего год Эль Сид вновь вышел на тропу войны. На сей раз конфликт разгорелся из-за Валенсии. Против Родриго выступил его старый противник – Рамон Беренгер, граф Барселоны, поддерживающий эмиров. Надо сказать, сам Кампеадор также выступал на стороне мусульман. В битвах за Валенсию сильнее оказался Эль Сид, и город перешел под протекторат Альфонсо VI. Король Кастилии ценил и ненавидел Родриго одновременно. Поэтому, когда тот отказался поддержать Альфонсо в набеге на мавров, правитель вновь изгнал Кампеадора.

Сам по себе

После очередной незаслуженной, по мнению Эль Сида, опалы, он начал работать исключительно на себя. Пользуясь огромным авторитетом, Кампеадор сумел завоевать земли Валенсии, добившись от эмиров признания его власти. Затем в очередной раз разбил войско Рамона Беренгера и сумел взять его в плен. За освобождение Родриго потребовал от врага раз и навсегда отказаться от претензий на земли Валенсии. Графу пришлось согласиться.

В 1094 году Эль Сид сумел подчинить себе и сам город. Альморавиды несколько раз пытались отбить у нег Валенсию, но все их попытки провалились.

Эль Сид, как и положено настоящему герою, умер не в собственной постели. По легенде, перед битвой с маврами его ранила отравленная стрела. Чувствуя приближение смерти, Родриго приказал жене облачить его в доспехи и посадить на коня, чтобы противник ничего не заподозрил. Химена выполнила пожелание своего мужа. Мавры, скорее всего, знали, что Эль Сид был смертельно ранен, поэтому его появление вызвало у них испуг, и они разбежались. Так, по крайней мере, написано в легендах.
Но когда весть о смерти Родриго распространилась по Испании, мавры с удвоенной силой стали пытаться завоевать Валенсию. Химена, как могла, обороняла город. Но спустя несколько лет, когда силы истощились, она попросила защиты у Альфонсо VI. Король Кастилии не стал связываться с маврами, а просто предложил жителям-христианам покинуть город. И вскоре Валенсию заняли мусульмане.

Эль Сид и его семья похоронены в монастыре Бургоса. На гробнице выбита эпитафия, сочиненная Менедесом Пидалем: «Здесь лежат Родриго Диас, Кампеадор, умерший в Валенсии в 1099, и его жена Химена, дочь графа Диего де Овьедо, королевского рода. Все они достигли чести и родились в добрый час».

Национальный герой

Благодаря характеру и великому множеству побед Эль Сида еще при жизни считали истинным воплощением кастильского духа. Поэтому он обрел бессмертие как национальный герой Испании в преданиях и песнях-романсеро. Например, «Песнь о моем Сиде», сочиненная в период с конца 12 до начала 13 веков. Ее считают образцом испанского средневекового эпоса.

Спустя несколько столетий о герое вспомнил писатель Гильена де Кастро, сочинивший пьесы «Юность Сида». Затем эту идею подхватил и развил драматург Пьер Корнель в стихотворной пьесе «Сид». И если творение де Кастро было, по сути, местечковым, за пределами Испании о нем никто не знал, то француз принес Родриго мировую известность. По пьесе композитор Массне сочинил оперу. А в начале 19-го века о Кампеадоре вспомнил поэт Роберт Саути из Англии, сочинивший «Хронику Сида». Не обошли эту тему стороной и киномастера – в 1961 появился голливудский фильм «Эль Сид», а в 2003 испанцы создали мультфильм под названием «Легенда о Сиде».

Клинок Родриго

«Песня о моем Сиде» прославила не только отважного Родриго. Известность получили и его клинки – Тисона и Колада. И, что очень важно, оба этих меча сохранились до наших дней. Один из них точно является современником Кампеадора. Это подтвердил химический анализ.

Как считают некоторые историки, после смерти Эль Сида его клинок оказался у предков будущего короля Фердинанда II Арагонского. Тот, в свою очередь, в начале 16-го века подарил оружие маркизу де Фальсес в знак благодарности за преданную службу. Как гласит легенда, король позволил выбрать де Фальсесу то, что он пожелает. И маркиз взял легендарный клинок вместо денег или замка.

В 2007 году владелец меча продал его региону Кастилия и Леон. После чего оружие поселилось в соборе Бургоса, где упоен сам Эль Сид.

Любопытно, что одно время ходили слухи, будто Тисона – подделка. Был проведена экспертиза. Она показала, что эфес меча изготовлен в 16 веке, а вот сам клинок датируется 11 веком. А вот второй меч Эль Сида – Колада – национальному герою Испании точно не принадлежал. Его выковали в 13-м веке.
Автор:
Павел Жуков
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти