Military Review

Russian C-400 will protect Saudi Arabia from Soviet missiles and the Iranian threat

24
Russian C-400 will protect Saudi Arabia from Soviet missiles and the Iranian threat



For more than half a year the Saudi princes have been living in constant fear. In February 2017, the Yemeni rebels successfully bombarded the suburbs of the capital, the city of Riyadh, and achieved an accurate missile attack on the territory of the military base of the royal armed forces. After that, the question of the “professional suitability” of the American Patriot air defense systems covering the capital finally disappeared, and it was time to think: what to do next?

"Blitzkrieg" failed

When Saudi Arabia planned a blitzkrieg in Yemen at the beginning of 2015, its leadership even in the most terrible dreams could not have imagined that in two years the capital of the kingdom would be subjected to rocket attack in response.

The war plan looked beautiful and real. The forces of the coalition collected by the Saudis were significant. According to the calculations of the Royal General Staff, the campaign could last a maximum of 2-3 of the month.



But the unexpected happened. Ordinary villagers and part of the Yemeni army, armed mainly with small-arms and portable anti-tank weapons, using partisan tactics, stopped the advance of well-armed invaders. After several more attempts by the Saudi coalition to reverse the situation in its favor, the war took a protracted character, and by mid-autumn 2015, the front line took the configuration that has been preserved on the whole so far.

Saudi Arabia under fire

Even before the war, Yemen had Soviet P-17 ("Scud-B" according to Western terminology) Soviet missiles that could strike at a distance of up to 300 km. And also North Korea (or Iranian) improved clones of these missiles (Scud-C) were purchased from Syria.

The first Yemeni long-range ballistic missiles were launched around the kingdom in June 2015 of the year, but were intercepted by the Patriot air defense system. The second shelling occurred on August 26 and with the same result. It was only on the third attempt that the Yemenis were lucky. The airbase, located in the south-west of the country near the town of Khamis-Mushayta (about 250 km from the front line or about 350-400 km from the place of the likely launch) was struck.

On the whole, 2015 ended the year in favor of the Patriots. And then began what nobody expected ...

"Patriot" is not the same



After a long break, in September 2016, a new Yemeni ballistic missile struck a Saudi military base near the city of Taif (1) (approximately 600 km in a straight line from the front and 700 km from the probable launch site). It was clear that the kingdom was hit by one of the latest versions of Scud, produced today in Iran and the DPRK. And the worst thing for the leadership of Saudi Arabia was that the Patriots were powerless against the new missile threat.

Back in September, 2016, the leadership of the rebels warned that the next target would be the capital of Saudi Arabia, and ... kept its word.

6 February 2017 was hit by the Mazahimiya military base (2), located 20 km west of Riyadh. This news caused a panic in the capital and a denial of the official authorities, who did not dare to tell their subjects the truth, Saudi Arabia is completely defenseless against the missile gifts of the Yemeni rebels.

It was necessary to urgently look for a replacement for the outdated "Patriots" ...

Russia or the United States?

Today in the world there are only two manufacturers of modern air defense systems: Russia and the United States. In 2016, the Saudis didn’t have a question about who to buy anti-missile systems from. Russia is the enemy, and the USA is a friend, and therefore there was actually no choice.

That is why in the summer of 2017, during the visit to Saudi Arabia of 45 US President Donald Trump, an agreement was reached on the supply of THAAD to the Kingdom of 44 launchers, 16 command and control centers and seven guidance radars. All this (together with 360 rockets) cost the royal treasury a round sum of 15 billion dollars.

It would seem that there should be no problems with supplies, but the State Department, despite the promises made by Trump, was in no hurry to give permission for export.

A bolt from the blue for Americans struck 6 on October 2017, when it became known that Saudi Arabia wanted to buy, and Russia agreed to sell four C-400 division kits for 2 billion dollars.

On the same day (!!!) the US government approved the sale of Saudi Arabia THAAD air defense system.

Tellingly, the four C-400 divisions are in fact the same kit as the USA (48 PU and 8 guidance radars). As we see, “anti-missile” contracts with the United States and the Russian Federation are essentially similar and “interchangeable”, but what is the difference in price? Is the American air defense system so much better?

The issue is controversial, and in the case of Saudi Arabia, and senseless. Both systems can easily intercept the Scuds and any other missiles that may appear in service with Iran and other enemies of the kingdom in the foreseeable future.

Also in the case of Saudi Arabia, the issue of contract value is not as critical as the issue of security, and therefore the decision will be made not in the economic sphere, but political. And there is another very important point that makes the choice of princes very difficult ...

Why does Russia supply the “enemy” with the latest air defense systems?

Let's remember the map of Colonel Peters.



We see that the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, according to the plan of Washington, should lose a significant part of its present territory (including in favor of Yemen). They laughed at this card for a long time and said that it was a fake, but the events of the “Arab spring” and their consequences showed that this is the real American plan to reformat the Middle East.

If anyone forgot, under Barack Obama, Saudi Arabia was found guilty of the September 11 2001 terrorist attack of the year. Even then, American society began to prepare for the fact that the most faithful and reliable ally of the United States in the region is not such a friend of America ...

Russia just does not need to destroy Saudi Arabia. She needs to return stability and peace to the region and the best way to achieve this is to restore the pre-war status quo. Moscow has already managed to drag former opponents into its camp, Iran and Turkey, which, in turn, hope to solve their geopolitical problems with the help of Russian influence.

But for Russia, it harbors a threat. As soon as the US loses its influence in the Middle East, and Saudi Arabia will be crushed, Ankara and Tehran will start their “elder” brother. To avoid this, Russia should not finish off, but support the Saudi princes who are in a difficult situation. It is necessary to protect their heads with their missile systems from the former Soviet and now Iranian missiles and in no case prevent today's allies to stop needing a new guarantor of stability in the Middle East.
Author:
24 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Livonetc
    Livonetc 11 October 2017 15: 05 New
    +3
    If you get an interesting experience in missile defense testing is possible.
    But then again, if.
    1. venaya
      venaya 11 October 2017 15: 30 New
      +3
      The multivectorial foreign policy is vital for the Saudis, otherwise they will simply be torn to pieces, this is in the plans of their enemies. So even if they do not need air defense systems, then they will need to acquire something else, I think that in this matter there is more simply their foreign policy task.
      1. maxim947
        maxim947 11 October 2017 19: 09 New
        +2
        The need for a multi-vector policy has ripened relatively recently. Previously, they were happy with everything, they sat tight under the mattresses and petrodollars sheared and bandits financed. But constancy is an impossible thing, and they squealed.
  2. Warnoob
    Warnoob 11 October 2017 15: 33 New
    +2
    Do not rejoice ahead of time. There, with Turkey already hemorrhoid went, and yet there really was nothing. Saudis can also bend down unacceptable and absurd demands.
    1. Yurasumy
      11 October 2017 15: 48 New
      +5
      There is the crap expected. Turks want technology, Russia says no. There is a bargaining.
      1. stas
        stas 11 October 2017 19: 19 New
        +3
        Turkey is a temporary travel companion for the situation.
        You can’t believe them, you must use them for your own purposes.
  3. BRONEVIK
    BRONEVIK 11 October 2017 17: 30 New
    20
    I wonder how Iran likes it.
  4. sergo1914
    sergo1914 11 October 2017 19: 17 New
    +1
    That’s because ... The country has been gone for so many years, but there are rockets. Able to do. Not a match for the current handshakes.
    1. Kenxnumx
      Kenxnumx 11 October 2017 19: 57 New
      +1
      What they could. Scud primitive like a club. And here is the c400 new Russian complex
  5. tforik
    tforik 11 October 2017 19: 40 New
    +1
    Russia actually threw Iran from the S-300, and now, to their enemy the Saudis, PR is about the supply of the S-400.
    What nafig friendship with the Persians?
    and the Arabs still won’t buy a triumph ...
    1. Kenxnumx
      Kenxnumx 11 October 2017 19: 54 New
      +2
      Iran got its s-300
      1. tforik
        tforik 11 October 2017 20: 01 New
        +1
        Many years later. Iran was greatly offended by the Russian Federation for this.
        1. Kenxnumx
          Kenxnumx 11 October 2017 23: 09 New
          +1
          Nothing. We forgive them.
  6. knn54
    knn54 11 October 2017 19: 43 New
    0
    I wonder what will happen to Al-Nusra? But we can say one thing, the S400 is more reliable than the guarantees of the Yankees ...
  7. Morrrow
    Morrrow 11 October 2017 19: 56 New
    0
    How many missiles intercepted the S-400?
    1. tforik
      tforik 11 October 2017 20: 01 New
      0
      They are not delivered yet?))) Why?
    2. Shahno
      Shahno 11 October 2017 20: 20 New
      +1
      Yes, it seems nothing intercepted the complex. In a combat setting. Could intercept f-16, f-35 but hesitated. “Kipat Barzel” intercepted.
      1. _Jack_
        _Jack_ 11 October 2017 20: 48 New
        0
        do not say stupid things, we are not fighting there with the USA, with Israel too, if there is an attack on our planes as with the Turks (but this is unlikely), it will intercept
  8. Zina389
    Zina389 11 October 2017 21: 31 New
    0
    In my opinion, the whole point is not in missiles, but in the general, so to speak, trend. Russia has taken the right position over the confrontation in the Middle East. It is optimal to have business relations with all major centers of power, and let them go to Moscow and complain about each other. Both the oil market and the final reconciliation in Syria continue to depend on the Saudis. Well, replenish the treasury)
    1. LAWNER
      LAWNER 12 October 2017 02: 10 New
      0
      The United States also took a position Over the confrontation and it ended badly. The barons stopped going to the king. To influence the situation, you need to be in the thick of things. trade and not war.
      The Hussites will finish off with the attacks of MEKKI! Do not let Allah get! The whole Islamic world will declare their enemies .... And those who help them, then Iran will definitely "not shine, become the Lamp of Islam"
      Yes, and Muslims. ... if they like a child pick up their favorite toy, they will begin to break the toys of other children. I apologize for exaggerating.
      In short .... with the help of a small country, you can burn the whole world.
  9. Magua
    Magua 12 October 2017 04: 51 New
    0
    At first they themselves bombed the Hussites and now they complain ..
  10. Maalkavianin
    Maalkavianin 12 October 2017 09: 56 New
    0
    So they acquire Western systems, don't they? Even the news was the other day.
  11. Servisinzhener
    Servisinzhener 12 October 2017 14: 31 New
    0
    So far, all these contracts are with Saudi Arabia and with Turkey more speculative Wishlist. And the desire to cause "jealousy" in the United States. While there was no export, even to China, which was the first comer.
  12. Atlant-1164
    Atlant-1164 15 October 2017 00: 03 New
    +2
    By such methods, a huckster who shoves everyone in a row and that’s all ... we’ll not only have partners and friends. but also what is lost. for example, Azerbaijan-Armenia, China-India, Iran-Saudi Arabia, plus bother Turkey. there is no work on the front. There is a task to cut down the loot. it is a short-sighted policy. one day we will become all enemies.

Военное обозрение

Российские С-400 защитят Саудовскую Аравию от советских ракет и иранской угрозы

24
Российские С-400 защитят Саудовскую Аравию от советских ракет и иранской угрозы



Уже более полугода саудовские принцы живут в постоянном страхе. В феврале 2017 года йеменские повстанцы удачно обстреляли пригороды столицы, города Эр-Рияда, и добились точного ракетного попадания по территории военной базы королевских вооруженных сил. После этого вопрос о «профпригодности» американских ЗРК «Пэтриот», прикрывающих столицу, окончательно отпал, и настало время задуматься: что же делать дальше?

«Блицкриг» не удался

Когда Саудовская Аравия в начале 2015 года планировала блицкриг в Йемене, ее руководство даже в самых страшных снах не могло себе представить, что уже через два года столица королевства подвергнется ответному ракетному обстрелу.

План войны выглядел красивым и реальным. Силы собранной саудитами коалиции были значительными. По расчетам королевского Генштаба, кампания могла продлиться максимум 2-3 месяца.



Но случилось непредвиденное. Простые селяне и часть йеменской армии, вооруженные в основном легким стрелковым и переносным противотанковым вооружением, используя партизанскую тактику, остановили продвижение хорошо вооруженных оккупантов. После еще нескольких попыток со стороны саудовской коалиции переломить ситуацию в свою пользу война приняла затяжной характер, и к середине осени 2015 года линия фронта приняла конфигурацию, сохранившуюся в целом до сих пор.

Саудовская Аравия под обстрелом

Еще до войны у Йемена имелись на вооружении советские ракеты Р-17 («Scud-B» по западной терминологии), которые могли наносить удары на расстоянии до 300 км. А еще у Сирии были закуплены северокорейские (или иранские) улучшенные «клоны» этих ракет («Scud-С»).

Первые йеменские баллистические ракеты дальнего радиуса действия были запущены по королевству в июне 2015 года, но были перехвачены ЗРК «Пэтриот». Второй обстрел произошел 26 августа и с тем же результатом. Только с третьей попытки йеменцам улыбнулась удача. Была поражена авиабаза, расположенная на юго-западе страны недалеко от г. Хамис-Мушайта (примерно в 250 км от линии фронта или примерно 350-400 км от места вероятного пуска).

В целом 2015 год закончился в пользу «Пэтриотов». А затем началось то, чего никто не ожидал…

«Пэтриот» уже не тот



После длительного перерыва, в сентябре 2016 года новая йеменская баллистическая ракета поразила военную базу саудитов недалеко от города Таифа (1) (примерно 600 км по прямой от фронта и 700 км от вероятного места пуска). Было понятно, что по королевству был нанесен удар одной из последних версий «Скадов», производящихся сегодня в Иране и КНДР. И самым страшным для руководства Саудовской Аравии стало то, что «Пэтриоты» оказались бессильны против новой ракетной угрозы.

Еще в сентябре 2016 года руководство восставших предупредило, что следующей целью станет столица Саудовской Аравии, и… сдержало свое слово.

6 февраля 2017 года была поражена военная база Мазахимия (2), находящаяся в 20 км на запад от Эр-Рияда. Это известие вызвало панику в столице и опровержение официальных властей, которые так и не решились сказать своим подданным правду, Саудовская Аравия полностью беззащитна против ракетных даров йеменских повстанцев.

Надо было срочно искать замену устаревшим «Пэтриотам»…

Россия или США?

Сегодня в мире есть только два производителя современных ЗРК: Россия и США. В 2016 году у саудитов вопрос, у кого покупать противоракетные системы, еще не стоял. Россия — это враг, а США — это друг, а потому выбора фактически не было.

Именно поэтому летом 2017 года во время визита в Саудовскую Аравию 45-го президента США Дональда Трампа было заключено соглашение о поставке в королевство ЗРК THAAD в составе 44 пусковых установок, 16 пунктов управления и семи радаров наведения. Все это (вместе с 360 ракетами) обходилось королевской казне в круглую сумму 15 млрд. долларов.

Казалось бы, проблем с поставками быть не должно, но Госдеп, несмотря на данные Трампом обещания, не спешил давать разрешение на экспорт.

Гром среди ясного неба для американцев грянул 6 октября 2017 года, когда стало известно, что Саудовская Аравия хочет купить, а Россия согласна продать четыре дивизионных комплектов С-400 за 2 млрд. долларов.

В тот же день (!!!) правительство США одобрило продажу Саудовской Аравии ЗРК THAAD.

Что характерно, четыре дивизиона С-400 — это фактически тот же комплект, что и у США (48 ПУ и 8 радаров наведения). Как видим, «противоракетные» контракты с США и РФ по сути аналогичны и «взаимозаменяемы», но какова разница в цене? Неужели американские ЗРК настолько лучше?

Вопрос спорный, а в случае Саудовской Аравии и бессмысленный. Обе системы способны с легкостью перехватывать «Скады» и любые другие ракеты, которые могут появиться на вооружении Ирана и иных врагов королевства в обозримой перспективе.

Также в случае Саудовской Аравии вопрос стоимости контракта не так критичен, как вопрос безопасности, а потому решение будет приниматься не в экономической плоскости, а политической. И здесь есть еще один очень важный момент, который делает выбор принцев очень трудным…

Почему Россия поставляет «врагу» новейшие ЗРК

Давайте вспомним карту полковника Петерса.



Мы видим, что королевство Саудовская Аравия по плану Вашингтона должно потерять значительную часть своей нынешней территории (в том числе и в пользу Йемена). Очень долго над этой картой смеялись и говорили, что это фейк, но события «арабской весны» и их последствия показали, что это и есть реальный американский план по переформатированию Ближнего Востока.

Если кто забыл, еще при Бараке Обаме Саудовская Аравия была признана виновной в террористической атаке 11 сентября 2001 года. Американское общество уже тогда начали готовить к тому, что самый преданный и надежный союзник США в регионе не такой уж и друг Америки...

России же как раз не нужно уничтожать Саудовскую Аравию. Ей нужно вернуть стабильность и мир в регион и лучшим способом достичь этого является восстановление довоенного статус-кво. Москве уже удалось перетащить в свой лагерь бывших противников, Иран и Турцию, которые, в свою очередь, надеются с помощью российского влияния решить свои геополитические проблемы.

Но для России это таит угрозу. Как только США потеряют свое влияние на Ближнем Востоке, а Саудовская Аравия будет разгромлена, Анкара и Тегеран начнут тяготиться своим «старшим» братом. Чтобы этого избежать, России надо не добивать, а поддержать находящихся в тяжелой ситуации саудовских принцев. Надо защитить их головы своими ракетными комплексами от бывших советских, а ныне иранских ракет и ни в коем случае не допустить, чтобы сегодняшние союзники перестали нуждаться в новом гаранте стабильности на Ближнем Востоке.
Автор:
24 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Livonetc
    Livonetc 11 октября 2017 15:05 Новый
    +3
    Если приобретут возможен интересный опыт тестирования на предмет противоракетной обороны.
    Но опять же если.
    1. venaya
      venaya 11 октября 2017 15:30 Новый
      +3
      Многовекторность внешней политики для саудитов жизненно необходима, иначе их просто разорвут на части, такое в планах их недругов имеется. Так что даже если не системы ПВО, то что-нибудь другое им понадобиться приобретать, думаю что в этом деле присутствует больше просто их внешнеполитическая задача.
      1. maxim947
        maxim947 11 октября 2017 19:09 Новый
        +2
        Необходимость в многовекторной политике назрела относительно не давно. Раньше их все устраивало, сидели плотно под матрасами и нефтедоллары стригли и бандюков финансировали. Но постоянство вещь невозможная, вот и заерзали.
  2. WarNoob
    WarNoob 11 октября 2017 15:33 Новый
    +2
    Не стоит радоваться раньше времени. Вон, с турцией уже геммор пошёл, а ещё ведь толком ничего и не было. Саудиты тоже могут загнуть неприемлимые и абсудные требования.
    1. Yurasumy
      11 октября 2017 15:48 Новый
      +5
      Там ожидаемый геморой. Турки хотят технологии, Россия говорит нет. Идет торг.
      1. stas
        stas 11 октября 2017 19:19 Новый
        +3
        Турция это временный попутчик по ситуации.
        Верить им нельзя, надо использовать их в своих целях.
  3. BRONEVIK
    BRONEVIK 11 октября 2017 17:30 Новый
    +20
    Интересно как это нравится Ирану
  4. sergo1914
    sergo1914 11 октября 2017 19:17 Новый
    +1
    Вот ведь... Страны уже нет столько лет, а ракеты - есть. Умели делать. Не чета нынешним рукожопам.
    1. Ken71
      Ken71 11 октября 2017 19:57 Новый
      +1
      Что умели. Скад примитивный как дубина. А вот с400 новый российский комплекс
  5. tforik
    tforik 11 октября 2017 19:40 Новый
    +1
    Россия фактически киданула Иран с С-300, а сейчас, их врагу саудитам, пиарится про поставки С-400.
    Какая нафиг дружба с Персами?
    а арабы еще и не купят в итоге триумф...
    1. Ken71
      Ken71 11 октября 2017 19:54 Новый
      +2
      Иран получил свои с-300
      1. tforik
        tforik 11 октября 2017 20:01 Новый
        +1
        Спустя много лет. Иран сильно обиделся на РФ за это.
        1. Ken71
          Ken71 11 октября 2017 23:09 Новый
          +1
          Ничего. Мы им прощаем.
  6. knn54
    knn54 11 октября 2017 19:43 Новый
    0
    Интересно,что будет с "Аль-Нусра"? Но можно сказать одно-С400 надежнее гарантий янкесов...
  7. Morrrow
    Morrrow 11 октября 2017 19:56 Новый
    0
    Сколько ракет перехватило С-400?
    1. tforik
      tforik 11 октября 2017 20:01 Новый
      0
      Они же еще не поставлены?))) Почему?
    2. Shahno
      Shahno 11 октября 2017 20:20 Новый
      +1
      Да вроде ничего не перехватывал комплекс. В боевой обстановке. Могли перехватить ф-16,ф-35 но постеснялись. "Кипат барзель" перехватывал.
      1. _Jack_
        _Jack_ 11 октября 2017 20:48 Новый
        0
        не говорите глупости, мы там с США не воюем, с Израилем тоже, если будет нападение на наши самолеты как с турками (но это вряд ли), перехватит
  8. Zina389
    Zina389 11 октября 2017 21:31 Новый
    0
    По-моему, все дело не в ракетах, а в общей, так сказать, тенденции. Россия заняла правильную позицию над противостоянием на Ближнем Востоке. Оптимально иметь со всеми крупными центрами силы деловые отношения, и пусть они в Москву ездят и жалуются друг на друга. От саудитов по-прежнему зависит как нефтяной рынок, так и окончательное замирение в Сирии. Ну и казну пополнить )
    1. ПРАВОкатор
      ПРАВОкатор 12 октября 2017 02:10 Новый
      0
      США тоже занимали позицию Над противостоянием и это плохо кончилось.Бароны перестали ездить к королю.Чтобы влиять на ситуацию,нужно быть в гуще событий.Хочешь жить-умей вертется.А про торговлю-обеими руками за!!!Арабам нужно показать,что важнее торговля а не война.
      С атаками МЕККИ хуситы доиграются!Не дай Аллах попадут!Весь исламский мир их врагами объявит....И тех кто им помогает, Ирану потом точно "не светит-стать Светочем Ислама"
      Да и Мусульмане.…если у них как у ребёнка забрать любимую игрушку,начнут ломать игрушки других детей.Прошу прощение за утрирование.
      Короче.... с помощью маленькой страны можно спалить весь Мир.
  9. Магуа
    Магуа 12 октября 2017 04:51 Новый
    0
    Сначала сами бомбили хуситов а теперь жалуются..
  10. Malkavianin
    Malkavianin 12 октября 2017 09:56 Новый
    0
    Так они западные системы приобретают, разве нет? Даже новость была на днях.
  11. Servisinzhener
    Servisinzhener 12 октября 2017 14:31 Новый
    0
    Пока все эти контракты что с Саудовской Аравией что с Турцией больше умозрительные хотелки. И желание вызвать "ревность" в США. Пока экспортных поставок не было, даже в Китай который был первым желающим.
  12. Atlant-1164
    Atlant-1164 15 октября 2017 00:03 Новый
    +2
    такими методами барыги ,который пихает всем подряд и всё.. мы не только партнеров и друзей не заимеем. но и то что есть потеряем. например Азербайджан-Армения, Китай-Индия, Иран-Саудовская Аравия, плюс докучи Турция. нету работы на перёд. есть задача срубить бабло. это недальновидная политика. в один прекрасный день станем всем врагами.