Military Review

Price of life

8
What do we know about the exploits of WWI sappers? About one such forgotten feat - this article.


In the Naroch operation 5 - 17 of March 1916 of the year during the fighting near the town of Pastavy of the advancing group of Generals cavalry corps MM Pleshkov (1 and 27 army, 1 Siberian Horse Corps) 7 sappers th Siberian engineer battalion had to blow up enemy wire barriers three times. The first two times they were able to successfully accomplish the combat mission, but the passages in the wire obstacles created for the movement of their infantry were not used — the direction of attack was changing at the last minute. For the third time, it was already dangerous to go to the enemy’s wire fence without any special precautions - the Germans had time to take increased measures to guard their barriers.

Without waiting for artillery fire.
It was decided that two hours before the wire obstacles were blown up, the artillery would start bombarding the approaches to the enemy’s trenches with shrapnel fire, and by the time the demolition bombers arrived, they would transfer the fire to the trenches and the space behind them. To help the sappers had to temporarily attached to the corps heavy artillery. But there was no written order given to her, there was only an oral agreement with the battalion commander - and this was a major mistake.

It should also be noted that the sappers, in the number of 3 - 4 companies, were already concentrated in the forest near M. Volotski in February - they were ordered to prepare for the preparation of the attack wickers and ladders (should be used to block the enemy wire fence - but not one was not used).

The demolition men should have advanced at midnight from 12 to 13 in March.
After making the passages in the barriers of the 4 th Siberian rifle regiment, the forest strongly fortified by the enemy, located between the villages of Malye Volotski and Buchelishki, was to attack.

But for some reason, the artillery did not open fire, and the team of X-NUMX demolition men at 25-officers, about 2 in the morning moved forward. I had to go through the thawed marsh: on top of the water, then ice, and deeper - already a quagmire.

Heroes-bombers.
When approaching the wire fence on the left flank of the team, enemy reconnaissance agents appeared - they surrounded two extreme sappers, carrying one of the charges, and demanded that they surrender.

Then one of the bombers, senior non-commissioned officer Kozlov, blew up the charge. Not only the senior non-commissioned officer and his comrade died, but the Germans who surrounded them.

Seeing that he could no longer delay, the team leader gave the order to run to the barriers and lay charges on them. The Germans opened a strong rifle, machine-gun, mortar and artillery fire. At this moment, the Russian heavy artillery, remembering that it was necessary to help the sappers, opened fire on the approaches to the enemy’s trenches.

As a result, from 9, the remaining 3 charges were laid under the wire and blown up, 5 was laid but not blown up and 1 was carried away by the sappers back (the soldiers who carried off this charge could not explain why they put themselves at this unnecessary danger).

Of the 25, the team members returned to their own five (of which only one was not injured). From the fire of the Russian artillery, unexploded charges detonated - and eight passes were formed in the enemy's wire fence.

4 th Siberian Rifle Regiment, taking advantage of the aisles, safely and almost without loss, attacked and captured the forest.

Thus, the feat of those who did not want to surrender to the senior non-commissioned officer Kozlov and his comrade not only distracted the enemy’s attention and stimulated the demining team to take more active actions - he awakened his artillery from the “hibernation”, which made it possible to lay most of it under cover of its fire. charges that under the influence of the same fire were successfully blown up.

As a result, the attack was crowned with success, and the feat of the sapper heroes saved the blood of the Russian infantry.


Promotion scouts. Pictures of war
Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 16 October 2017 07: 43 New
    16
    Interesting episode. Thank you ..
  2. XII Legion
    XII Legion 16 October 2017 08: 16 New
    22
    Resurrecting a forgotten feat is important in itself
    And if he still saved the lives of people
    Had a tactical significance
    That is doubly important
  3. Barcid
    Barcid 16 October 2017 09: 27 New
    21
    It is a pity that the heroes of WWI almost do not know. Thank you for not letting them forget.
  4. igordok
    igordok 16 October 2017 11: 34 New
    +4
    When were anti-personnel mines “born”? In WWII, they were practically nonexistent, and in WWII, they were already used to the full.
    1. soldier
      soldier 16 October 2017 15: 28 New
      21
      In the positional period of the First War, unguided landmines were used - they were usually laid in front of barriers.
      It seems that anti-personnel mines appeared in the interwar period. I read somewhere about the "German shrapnel mine sample 35 g." and about the anti-personnel mine of the Red Army PPM arr. 1933
      Very interesting question
      1. WUA 518
        WUA 518 16 October 2017 18: 28 New
        +9
        Quote: soldier
        Very interesting question

        In 1905, Head Captain Karasev developed two anti-personnel mines, the shattering elements of which were shrapnel bullets. The design of these mines provided for factory production. Non-commissioned officer Semenov developed a flexible elongated explosive charge for making passages in wire fences (then it was called a "mine charge"). This development in a modified version began to be made in England in 1941 under the name Snake. The Germans were quite attentive to the experience of the Russo-Japanese War, and although the experience of the mine war was not studied enough, the German army adopted a self-exploding mine called Tretmine by the beginning of the First World War. She was outfitted with dynamite.
        Already at the beginning of 1915, factory-made landmines began to enter the army (the term "mine" at that time was left only for sea mines) were divided by area of ​​application into:

        1.Field;

        2. Serfs;

        3. River.

        On a technical basis on:

        1. Ordinary (exploding from a control point);

        2. Self-blasting;

        3. Repeated (unclear term?)., Which was a modification of the Karasev mine. They went under the names of "Large Shrapnel Mine" and "Small Shrapnel Mine." Unfortunately, descriptions of these mines were not preserved.
  5. Gopnik
    Gopnik 16 October 2017 13: 57 New
    15
    Thank. An interesting episode.
  6. Lieutenant Teterin
    Lieutenant Teterin 16 October 2017 14: 45 New
    19
    Great article. To the author - my sincere appreciation for the work done and for the return from oblivion of another heroic page in the history of the Russian Imperial Army and the names of its heroes! hi

Ценой жизни

Что мы знаем о подвигах героев-саперов Первой мировой? Об одном таком забытом подвиге – эта статья.

В Нарочской операции 5 - 17 марта 1916 года в ходе боев у местечка Поставы наступающей группы корпусов генерала от кавалерии М. М. Плешкова (1-й и 27-й армейские, 1-й Сибирский армейский, 7-й Конный корпуса) саперам 1-го сибирского саперного батальона трижды приходилось взрывать неприятельские проволочные заграждения. Первые два раза им удалось благополучно выполнить боевую задачу, но созданные для движения своей пехоты проходы в проволочных заграждениях не были использованы - в последнюю минуту изменялось направление атаки. В третий раз идти к проволочному заграждению противника без особой предосторожности было уже опасно - немцы успели принять повышенные меры охранения своих заграждений.

Не дождавшись огня артиллерии.
Было решено, что за два часа до подрыва проволочных заграждений артиллерия начнет обстреливать шрапнельным огнем подступы к неприятельским окопам, а к моменту выступления саперов-подрывников перенесет огонь на окопы и пространство за ними. Помогать саперам должна была временно приданная корпусу тяжелая артиллерия. Но письменного приказа ей отдано не было, существовала лишь устная договоренность с комбатом – и это была крупная ошибка.


Необходимо также отметить, что саперы, в количестве 3 - 4 рот еще в феврале были сосредоточены в лесу у М. Волоцки - им было приказано для подготовки атаки заготавливать плетни и лестницы (должны были использоваться для перекрытия неприятельского проволочного заграждения – но ни один из плетней использован не был).

Подрывникам следовало выдвинуться в полночь с 12 на 13 марта.
После проделывания проходов в заграждениях 4-й Сибирский стрелковый полк должен был атаковать сильно укрепленный противником лес, находившийся между деревнями Малые Волоцки и Бучелишки.

Но артиллерия почему-то огня не открывала, и команда подрывников численностью в 25 человек при 2-х офицерах, около 4 утра двинулась вперед. Идти пришлось по оттаявшему болоту: сверху вода, затем лед, а глубже – уже трясина.

Герои-подрывники.
При подходе к проволочному заграждению на левом фланге команды появились неприятельские разведчики - они окружили двух крайних саперов, несущих один из зарядов, и потребовали от них сдачи в плен.

Тогда один из подрывников - старший унтер-офицер Козлов - подорвал заряд. Погибли не только старший унтер-офицер и его товарищ, но и окружившие их немцы.

Видя, что медлить больше нельзя, начальник команды отдал приказ бежать к заграждениям и закладывать под них заряды. Немцы открыли сильный винтовочный, пулеметный, минометный и артиллерийский огонь. В этот момент русская тяжелая артиллерия, вспомнив, что надо помочь саперам, открыла огонь по подступам к неприятельским окопам.

В итоге, из 9 оставшихся зарядов 3 были заложены под проволоку и взорваны, 5 заложены, но не взорваны и 1 унесен саперами обратно (унесшие этот заряд бойцы потом так и не смогли объяснить, зачем они подвергли себя этой ненужной опасности).

Из 25-ти человек команды вернулись к своим пятеро (из них лишь один был не ранен). От огня русской артиллерии невзорвавшиеся заряды сдетонировали - и в проволочном заграждении противника было образовано восемь проходов.

4-й Сибирский стрелковый полк, воспользовавшись проходами, благополучно и почти без потерь, атаковал и захватил лес.

Таким образом, подвиг не пожелавших сдаться в плен старшего унтер-офицера Козлова и его товарища не только отвлек внимание противника и простимулировал саперную команду к более активным действиям – он пробудил от «спячки» свою артиллерию, что позволило под прикрытием ее огня успешно заложить большую часть зарядов, которые под воздействием того же огня были успешно взорваны.

В результате атака увенчалась успехом, а подвиг героев-саперов сберег кровь русской пехоты.


Продвижение разведчиков. Картины войны
Автор: Олейников Алексей


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 8

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 16 октября 2017 07:43
    Интересный эпизод.Спасибо..
  2. XII легион (Цезарь) 16 октября 2017 08:16
    Воскресить забытый подвиг важно само по себе
    А если он еще сохранил жизнь людей
    Имел тактическое значение
    То важно вдвойне
  3. Barcid (Андрей) 16 октября 2017 09:27
    Жаль, что героев ПМВ почти не знают. Спасибо, что не даете о них забыть.
  4. igordok (Игорь) 16 октября 2017 11:34
    Когда "родились" противопехотные мины? В ПМВ, их практически не было, а во ВМВ, они уже использовались во всю.
    1. солдатъ (Федор Иванович) 16 октября 2017 15:28
      В позиционный период Первой войны применялись неуправляемые фугасы - закладывались как правило перед заграждениями.
      Вроде бы появились противопехотные мины в межвоенный период. Читал где-то о «Германской шрапнельной мине образца 35 г.» и о противопехотной мине РККА ППМ обр. 1933 г.
      Очень интересный вопрос
      1. АВП 518 (Александр) 16 октября 2017 18:28
        Цитата: солдатъ
        Очень интересный вопрос

        В 1905 году штаб-капитан Карасев разработал два образца противопехотных мин, поражающими элементами которых были шрапнельные пули. Конструкция этих мин предусматривала заводское изготовление. Унтер-офицер Семенов разработал гибкий удлиненный заряд ВВ для проделывания проходов в проволочных заграждениях ( тогда он именовался "мина-заряд"). Эту разработку в доработанном варианте стали изготавливать в Англии в 1941 году под названием Snake. Немцы к опыту русско-японской войны отнеслись достаточно внимательно, и хотя опыт минной войны был изучен и ими недостаточно, но все же к началу Первой Мировой войны германская армия приняла на вооружение самовзрывающуюся мину под названием Tretmine. Она снаряжалась динамитом.
        Уже в начале 1915 года в армию стали поступать фугасы фабричного изготовления (термин "мина" в то время был оставлен лишь для морских мин) делились по области применения на:

        1.Полевые;

        2.Крепостные;

        3.Речные.

        По техническому признаку на:

        1. Обыкновенные ( взрываемые с пункта управления);

        2. Самовзрывные;

        3.Повторные ( неясный термин ?)., представлявшие собой модификацию мины Карасева. Они шли под названиями "Большой шрапнельный фугас" и "Малый шрапнельный фугас". К сожалению, описаний этих мин не сохранилось
  5. Гопник 16 октября 2017 13:57
    Спасибо. Интересный эпизод.
  6. ПоручикТетеринъ 16 октября 2017 14:45
    Прекрасная статья. Автору--моя искренняя признательность за проделанный труд и за возвращение из забвения еще одной героической страницы истории Русской Императорской армии и имен её героев! hi
Картина дня