Military Review

Forge frames. Part of 2. "Elegant Bolly" and his comrades

9
Another famous Varangian Guardsman, Bolly Bollason (born near 1006). He was Icelander, and also as Harald reached the rank of manglabit. After returning home, because of his brilliant equipment, he became known as the “elegant Bolly”, becoming a character in several sagas. Like Harald, he returned home to a rich man.


Bolly suffered a heavy childhood, saw the death of loved ones. Having joined 18 for years in the struggle for the inheritance, Bolly and his brother were at the court of the Norwegian king Olaf II, drawing attention to themselves with excellent armament and excellent equipment. After a visit to Denmark, Bollason found himself in Constantinople - and then, for a long time, faithfully and faithfully served the Byzantine Empire in the ranks of Varangi. In battle, Bolly was always in the forefront, receiving a number of awards from Emperor Roman III. The sagas call Bolly "the most courageous in all matters worthy of a man."



Bollason and his 12 warriors had already received general attention at the time of their arrival in Constantinople — they were wearing all aloe and had red shields. Bollason stood out with a gilded helmet, a luxurious belt, a sword with a golden hilt and a scarlet cloak.

Forge frames. Part of 2. "Elegant Bolly" and his comrades

5. pages of the Bolly Bollason saga.

Bolli Bollason, a representative of the Scandinavian contingent of Varangi, died during the reign of King Harald III Hardrada, his colleague in the Varangian Guard.

Edgar II was also a Varangian guard (1051 - c. 1126), the last Anglo-Saxon king from the house of Wessex - a representative of Anglo-Varanga. Being proclaimed (not crowned) by the English king during the Norman conquest of England, Edgar was a member of the Anglo-Saxon resistance to William the Conqueror. Around 1098, Edgar went to the East - on a pilgrimage. Staying in Constantinople, he joined the Varangian Guard, having served in it for a long time. Emperor Alexei Komnin soon even handed him command fleet, instructing to protect the Crusader allies from attacks from the sea and conduct reconnaissance of Antioch. It is not known how long Edgar and his soldiers served the empire - they returned to Europe in about 1106.


6. Edgar Eteling.

Harald, Bolley and Edgar are the "stars" of Varangi. But sagas, runic stones and other sources allow you to hear the names of other Varangians who served the empire.


7. Runestone

Goodlog Lazy (his stone is dated to 1050-1080) died in the “Land of the Lombards”. [Edberg R., Mattias E., Vanehem M. Runriket - en handledning. Stockholms, 2007. S. 28]. The empire led during this period, fierce fighting in Italy - against Muslims and Normans. In the battle of Bari in 1071, the Varangian guardsmen were active. The life of the Scandinavian stopped at about this time.


8. runestone Gooddog Lazy.

Yarlabank "died in Greece" - as the inscription on his stone says.


9. rune stone Yarlabanka.

Some of the latter, such as the Ulf Baresta Stone (1010-1050), bear Christian symbolism.


10. rune stone Ulf Baresta.

A truly unique monument of the stay of the Vikings in Byzantium - the inscriptions on the Pirean lion. They are of average Swedish origin and are elegantly ornamented and non-traditional in content. One inscription, noting that the Varangians participated in the suppression of the uprising (probably Peter Delyan), names the names of Ulf, Gakon, Yern, Asmund, and “Harald the High”, noting that they bestowed tribute to the Athenians. Another, noting the death of a warrior named Horsey, says that his comrades carved these runes. The third reports that the warrior acted according to the mind, winning gold. Probably, the whole unit of Varangians worked on the Piraeus graffiti.

There are inscriptions in the temple of Constantinople Hagia Sophia - someone Khalfdan was similarly noted in stories.

From the 53-s of runic stones of the Swedish Upland it is told about Byzantium in 18-ti.

A stone from the town of Ed near Stockholm reports exploits in the Aegean Sea, indicating that these runes were carved by order of Ragnwald, who commanded the army in Greece.

Another inscription states that someone Dalk was taken prisoner in distant lands, and Egil went on a campaign with Ragnar to Armenia and Romania.

Another inscription concisely notes that the warrior "was in the East and in the West."

And Ulf and Svein erected stones in memory of their brothers, Halfdan and Gunnar, who found their end in the east.

Another inscription says that the Varangian warrior died in Serkland (that is, in the lands of the Saracens - the possessions of the Arab caliphate).

And another Varyag went to the east with Ingvar (Igor) and died in Serkland; the second “died with Ingvar in the east”, and the third “was in the east with Ingvar”.

Another laconic inscription noted - “Harald, the brother of Ingvar”, and the next informs us that this warrior, being in the East, drove the ship and was with Ingvar.


11. rune stone Harald.

A total of 9 Swedish runic stones are known, referring to the Ingvar expedition. These inscriptions tell about the fate of the warriors of King Ingvar - it is believed that the name was worn by the Swedish prince (died in 1042), the hero of the Ingvar saga. This saga was created at the beginning of the 13th century, and its basis was the now lost more ancient poem.

Of the 16 names of the warriors mentioned in the famous sagas, 10 names belong to Icelanders, 4 names are Norwegians, 1 are Swedes and 1 are Dane.

The inscriptions mainly reflect the second, exclusively Scandinavian wave of the Varangi contingent - most of them (10 names) refer to the 1 half - the middle of the XI century. Among the names are Ulf, Hanrodar, Asmundar, Halldor, and others. For example, the Icelander Dromundr in 1030 was "in the Mediterranean was on a ship."

Roughly 30 runic inscriptions refer only to Greece. 30 Swedes, whose names are carved on them, mostly refer to the 1 th wave of the Varangian guard contingent - the end of the 10th - beginning of the 11th centuries. Among these names, we hear "more familiar" names - Gunnar, Ragnvald and others. And, very importantly - 7 stones bear Christian symbols or inscriptions on themselves. One of the inscriptions clearly noted: "I was a retinue commander in Greece."


12. christian cross on rune stone.

We learn that in the Varangian Guard served Kolskegg (after 989 of the year), Torstein Stursson and Gest Torhallsson (about 1011 of the year), Bardi (between 1022 and 1025). After 1016, Dane Ailis Thorgilsson visited Constantinople. Someone Torkel "walks under the hand" of the emperor of the Romans, and Eyvind served in his "squad", etc. Moreover, Kolskegg not only "went into the service", but also grew to the "leader of the Varang troops." "Among the warang" Gest and many dozens of Scandinavians.

Between 1079-1080 warrior of the Varangian Guard, a certain Oleg Svyatoslavovich was exiled from Constantinople to the island of Rhodes. Known and someone Hardigt, Varang-Anglo-Saxon. He came into conflict with two Byzantines, appearing in the palace at the basil court. Insidious Greeks waylaid a warrior walking through the palace, and released from the lion's cage. Hardigt with his bare hands killed the beast, hitting his head on the palace pillar, and then dealt with the attackers. Impressed by courage and strength of the Varanga, Emperor Alexey I Komnin initially appointed him commander of his guards, and then commander of the navy of the empire.

And the ideal of the prevailing fate of a Varyag warrior in the imperial service can be considered as strict by one of the Scandinavian sagas, who noted that "he carried the imperial service, and the last thing that was heard about him was that he took his wife there, and was over the Varangians head, and stayed there. "
Author:
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 18 October 2017 07: 55
    +7
    Between 1079-1080 warrior of the Varangian Guard, someone Oleg Svyatoslavovich
    ..Not just a warrior, but a Russian prince, and in the “Word on Igor's Regiment” nicknamed Gorislavich .. If you make a film about him, the Battle of Thrones rests ...
    1. Reptiloid
      Reptiloid 18 October 2017 15: 10
      +1
      That's right, I’ll add that Ingvar and Igor are different names referring to different nations! Does anyone seriously think that the Rus "" called the Scandinavians, Germans, etc. "" ???
      1. Monarchist
        Monarchist 18 October 2017 17: 29
        +2
        Unfortunately, neither the standards nor the anti-Normanists have independent witnesses.
        I do not cease alternative historians at all. It’s better to read fantasy about Svarog and others.
        In my opinion, various alternative historians such as a weather vane. Once Raikin had a miniature "Weathervane" and from childhood he remembered the words: "car, car I can here, I can go there, but never against the wind" and alternative historians, if they need them, Rurik will become a communist, Marx - a Martian.
        Some of our comrades reject PVL and all historians until 1917, but if with the previous historians, although I do not agree, you can reject them and read, say, Soviet or post-Soviet historians. But our chronicles are our roots, and how to do without roots? To everyone who rejects our annals, I want to say: do you have alternative sources? Documents to the studio!
  2. XII Legion
    XII Legion 18 October 2017 08: 03
    18
    The voices of history ...
    They sound especially convincing, albeit in different languages.
    Thank you!
  3. Barcid
    Barcid 18 October 2017 11: 32
    16
    What kind of personality. We need to make films about them. And most importantly, you do not need to invent anything. Just read books. Probably our directors, and Western ones above it. Thank you for the article. I enjoyed it a lot.
    1. gladcu2
      gladcu2 18 October 2017 22: 32
      0
      So I want to say like: "everything is invented before you." Just thought out loud.

      And dear historians, or maybe geologists, can explain the huge number of craters on the surface of the planet according to Google photos?

      There is also about the 3-year-long winter, they recall.
  4. Some kind of compote
    Some kind of compote 18 October 2017 13: 34
    17
    Hardigit killed the beast with his bare hands, hitting his head on the palace column

    Cool man
    Yes, and the whole team is super
    As if the prototype of the Foreign Legion
    Different nations dominated there at different times. In the 20 years. - Russians (after Grazhd.v-ny), Germans, etc.
  5. Ostrovsky
    Ostrovsky 19 October 2017 21: 14
    16
    Thanks to the author for the article. Uses a large number of sources. The work was concise and very capacious in content.
  6. Lieutenant Teterin
    Lieutenant Teterin 23 October 2017 11: 32
    13
    Wonderful article. The stories of people presented here are worthy of adaptation, the life and fate of real people are much more impressive than script fiction. The author - my sincere gratitude for the work done!

Кузница кадров. Часть 2. «Элегантный Болли» и его товарищи

Другой известный варяжский гвардеец - Болли Болласон (родился около 1006 г.). Он был исландцем, и также как Харальд дослужился до ранга манглабита. После возвращения на родину, из-за блестящей экипировки, он получил известность как «элегантный Болли», став персонажем нескольких саг. Также как и Харальд, возвратился домой богатым человеком.

Болли перенес тяжелое детство, видел гибель родных и близких. Включившись в 18 лет в борьбу за наследство, Болли и его брат оказались при дворе норвежского короля Олафа II, обратив на себя внимание прекрасным вооружением и отличной экипировкой. После визита в Данию Болласон очутился в Константинополе – и затем долго верой и правдой служил Византийской империи в рядах Варанги. В бою Болли всегда был в первых рядах, получив ряд наград от императора Романа III. Саги именуют Болли «самым отважным во всех делах, достойных мужчины».




Болласон и его 12 воинов уже во время прибытия в Константинополь привлекли общее внимание – были одеты во все алое и имели красные щиты. Болласон выделялся позолоченным шлемом, роскошным поясом, мечом с золотой рукоятью и алым плащом.

Кузница кадров. Часть 2. «Элегантный Болли» и его товарищи

5. страницы саги Болли Болласона.

Болли Болласон, представитель скандинавского контингента Варанги, умер во время правления короля Харальда III Хардрады - своего сослуживца по Варяжской гвардии.

Варяжским гвардейцем был и Эдгар II (1051 – около 1126 гг.), последний англо-саксонский король из дома Уэссекса - представитель Англо-Варанги. Будучи провозглашенным (не коронованным) английским королем во время норманнского завоевания Англии, Эдгар был участником англо-саксонского сопротивления Вильгельму Завоевателю. Примерно в 1098 г. Эдгар отправился на Восток - в паломничество. Остановившись в Константинополе, он присоединился к Варяжской гвардии, прослужив в ней достаточно долго. Император Алексей I Комнин вскоре даже вручил ему командование флотом, поручив охранять союзников-крестоносцев от атак с моря и провести разведку Антиохии. Неизвестно, как долго Эдгар и его бойцы служили империи – в Европу они вернулись примерно в 1106 г.


6. Эдгар Этелинг.

Харальд, Болли и Эдгар – это «звезды» Варанги. Но саги, рунические камни и иные источники позволяют услышать и имена других варягов, служивших империи.


7. Рунический камень

Гудлог Ленивый (его камень датирован 1050-1080 гг.) умер в «стране лангобардов». [Edberg R., Mattias E., Vanehem M. Runriket – en handledning. Stockholms, 2007. S. 28]. Империя вела в этот период ожесточенные боевые действия в Италии – против мусульман и норманнов. В битве у Бари в 1071 г. активно действовали гвардейцы-варяги. Жизненный путь скандинава пресекся примерно в это время.


8. рунический камень Гудлога Ленивого.

Ярлабанк «умер в Греции» - как гласит надпись на его камне.


9. рунический камень Ярлабанка.

Некоторые из последних, как например камень Ульфа Баресты (1010-1050 гг.) несут на себе христианскую символику.


10. рунический камень Ульфа Баресты.

Воистину уникальный памятник пребывания варягов в Византии - надписи на пирейском льве. Среднешведского происхождения, они изысканно орнаментированы и нетрадиционны по своему содержанию. Одна надпись, отмечая что варяги участвовали в подавлении восстания (вероятно, Петра Деляна), называет имена Ульфа, Гакона, Ерна, Асмунда, и «Харальда Высокого», отмечая что они обложили податями афинян. Другая, отмечая гибель воина по имени Хорси, гласит о том что его товарищи высекли эти руны. Третья сообщает, что воин действовал по уму, завоевав золото. Вероятно, над пирейскими граффити трудилось целое подразделение варангов.

Имеются надписи в храме константинопольской Святой Софии – некто Хальфдан подобным образом отметился в истории.

Из 53-х рунических камней шведского Упланда повествуется о Византии в 18-ти.

Камень из местечка Эд под Стокгольмом сообщает о подвигах в Эгейском море, свидетельствуя, что эти руны высечены по приказу Рагнвальда, командовавшего войском в Греции.

Другая надпись гласит, что некто Далк в дальних краях попал в плен, а Эгиль ушел в поход с Рагнаром в Армению и Румынию.

Другая надпись лаконично отмечает, что воин «был на Востоке и на Западе».

А Ульф и Свейн воздвигли камни в память своих братьев - Хальвдана и Гуннара, нашедших свой конец на востоке.

Другая надпись гласит, что варяжский воин умер в Серкланде (то есть в землях сарацин – владениях Арабского халифата).

А другой варяг уехал на восток с Ингварем (Игорем) и умер в Серкланде; второй «погиб с Ингварем на востоке», а третий – «был на востоке с Ингварем».

Другая лаконичная надпись отметила - «Харальд, брат Ингваря», а следующая сообщает нам о том, что данный воин, будучи на Востоке, управлял кораблем и был с Ингварем.


11. рунический камень Харальда.

Всего известны 9 шведских рунических камней, ссылающихся на экспедицию Ингваря. Данные надписи повествуют о судьбе воинов конунга Ингваря - считается, что имя носил шведский принц (умер в 1042 г.), герой саги Ингваря. Данная сага была создана в начале XIII в., а ее основой стала ныне утраченная более древняя поэма.

Из имен 16-ти воинов, упомянутых в известных сагах, 10 имен принадлежат исландцам, 4 имени - норвежцам, 1 - шведу и 1 - датчанину.

Надписи отражают в основном вторую, исключительно скандинавскую волну контингента Варанги – в большинстве своем (10 имен) относясь к 1-й половине - середине XI в. Среди имен - Ульф, Ханродар, Асмундар, Халлдор и др. Например, исландец Дромундр в 1030 г. «в Средиземном море был на корабле».

Примерно 30 рунических надписей касаются лишь Греции. 30 шведов, имена которых на них высечены, в большинстве относятся к 1-й волне варяжского контингента гвардии – конец X – начало XI-го вв. Среди этих имен мы слышим «более привычные» имена – Гуннар, Рагнвальд и др. И, что очень важно – 7 камней несут на себе христианскую символику или надписи. Одна из надписей четко зафиксировала: «был в Греции свитским командиром».


12. христианский крест на руническом камне.

Мы узнаем, что в Варяжской гвардии служили Кольскегг (после 989 года), Торстейн Стюрссон и Гест Торхалльссон (около 1011 года), Барди (между 1022 и 1025 гг.). После 1016 года в Константинополе побывал датчанин Эйлив Торгильссон. Некто Торкель «ходит под рукой» императора ромеев, а Эйвинд служил в его «дружине» и т. д. Причем Кольскегг не только «ушел на службу», но и вырос до «предводителя войска варангов». «В числе варангов» Гест и еще многие десятки скандинавов.

Между 1079-1080 гг. воин Варяжской гвардии некто Олег Святославович был выслан из Константинополя на остров Родос. Известен и некто Хардигт, варанг-англосакс. Он вступил в конфликт с двумя византийцами, явившись во дворец на суд василевса. Коварные греки подкараулили воина, идущего по дворцу, и выпустили из клетки льва. Хардигт голыми руками убил зверя, ударив его головой о дворцовую колонну, а после чего расправился и со злоумышленниками. Пораженный мужеством и силой варанга император Алексей I Комнин вначале назначил его командиром своей охраны, а затем – командующим ВМС империи.

И идеалом сложившейся судьбы воина-варяга на имперской службе можно посчитать строги одной из скандинавских саг, отметившей, что «он нес имперскую службу, и последнее, что было о нем слышно – так это то что он там взял себе жену, и был над варягами начальником, и остался там».
Автор:
Олейников Алексей
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти