Military Review

Yakov Pavlov. One of the most famous heroes of Stalingrad

26
Yakov Fedotovich Pavlov forever inscribed his name in history of our country, becoming one of the most famous heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad. Mention of it can be found today in any history textbook. Commanding a group of fighters, in the autumn of 1942, he organized the defense of a four-storey residential building on the square of 9 in January in the center of Stalingrad, this house went down in history as Pavlov’s house. The house itself and, of course, its defenders, became symbols of the heroic defense of the city during the years of the Great Patriotic War.


Yakov Pavlov was born exactly 100 years ago, October 4 (October 17 in new style) 1917 in the small village of Krestovaya (today it is the territory of the Valdai district of the Novgorod region), in an ordinary peasant family, by nationality - Russian. A few days after his birth, the October Revolution took place, followed by a civil war. Jacob's childhood was difficult enough, which was true for the whole country. He managed to finish only primary school. In 1938, he received a summons and was drafted into the ranks of the Red Army. He met the beginning of World War II in the army, fought from June 1941. He met the war at Covel in Ukraine as part of the troops of the South-Western Front.

The plan of the summer-autumn campaign 1942 of the German fascist troops provided for the capture of Stalingrad and the attack on the Caucasus. The battle of Stalingrad began on July 17, 1942, from that day until November, 18, the Germans did not stop trying to master this major administrative, industrial and transport center on the Volga. According to the plans of Hitler, the German troops were to capture Stalingrad, which is of great strategic importance, for two weeks of fighting, but the stubborn resistance of the Soviet troops in the city destroyed by the fighting confused all the plans of the Hitler generals.

Yakov Pavlov. One of the most famous heroes of Stalingrad

In 1942, Yakov Pavlov was sent to the 42 Guards Regiment of the 13 Guards Rifle Division of General Alexander Rodimtsev. After the defeat of the Soviet troops near Kharkov, this division was assigned to the left bank of the Volga, where its re-formation took place. During the reorganization of the division, Sergeant Yakov Pavlov was appointed commander of the machine-gun department of the 7 Company. In September 1942, Rodimtsev's division became part of the 62-th army of the Stalingrad Front.

The division was tasked to cross the Volga and knock out German troops from the coastal strip, to occupy and firmly defend the central part of Stalingrad from the enemy. On the night of 14 on 15 in September of 1942, the vanguard of the 42 Guards Regiment managed to cross the Volga and immediately fought with the enemy. On September 15, the soldiers of the regiment fought off the central railway station, giving the opportunity to cross the Volga to the remaining units of the 13 Guards Rifle Division. September 16 of the 39 Guards Regiment's War, supported by the combined 416 Infantry Regiment of the 112 Infantry Division, captured the summit of Mamayev Kurgan during an assault and stubborn battles. From 21 to 23, the September 13 War of the Guards Rifle Division, supported by front artillery, withstood the strongest onslaught of the enemy, preventing the Germans from reaching the Volga in the central part of the city.

It is in the central part of the city in the area of ​​the square of January 9 (today Lenin Square) the four-storey brick house is located, which later went down in history. It was the home of the regional consumer union, house №61 on Penzenskaya street. That he will go down in history as the house of Pavlov. Next to it was the Sovkontrol’s House, the future home of Zabolotny, a mirror copy of Pavlov’s house. Between these two houses, there was a railway line to Gosmelnitsa No. XXUMX (Gergardt-Grudinina mill). Both buildings played a key role in the defense of the square and the approaches to it. In the area of ​​these buildings, the 4 th Guards Rifle Regiment of Colonel Ivan Yelin defended, who ordered the commander of the 42 Infantry Battalion, Captain Alexei Zhukov, to capture the houses, turning them into strong points.

Pavlov House after the end of the Battle of Stalingrad. In the background - Gergardt Mill

Oblpotrebsoyuz House was a four-story building with four entrances. It was built in the second half of the 1930-ies by the architect Sergey Voloshinov, who died on September 27 of 1942, along with his wife, who was expecting a child, this happened in their house on Pugachevskaya street during the regular bombing of Stalingrad. The Oblpotrebsoyuz House was considered one of the most prestigious in the city, other elite residential buildings were located next to it: the NKVD House of Workers, the Telecommunication House of Workers, the House of Railwaymen and others. Specialists of industrial enterprises and party workers lived in Pavlov’s house.

Both houses were very important, the Soviet commanders correctly assessed their tactical importance for building defense in this sector. From the houses, the surrounding area was clearly visible. It was possible to observe and fire at enemy positions in occupied parts of Stalingrad: to the west to one kilometer, to the north and south - and even more. Also from the houses it was possible to see all the ways of the possible breakthrough of the Nazis to the Volga, to which it was within easy reach. To capture the houses, two groups were created: the group of Sergeant Pavlov and Lieutenant Zabolotny. Zabolotny’s house was later burned out and blown up by the advancing German troops, which collapsed, burying the Soviet soldiers who defended it under the ruins.

At the end of September, 1942, in the reconnaissance and assault group of Pavlov, were also the corporal V. S. Glushchenko and the Red Army soldiers A. P. Alexandrov and N. Ya. Chernogolovy. Pavlov's group was able to penetrate the house and capture it, knocking the Germans out of it. A handful of soldiers stayed in the house for three days, after which reinforcements arrived to it: machine-gun platoon of Lieutenant Ivan Afanasyev (7 soldiers with one heavy machine gun), a group of senior sergeant Andrei Sobgaydy’s armored soldiers (6 soldiers with three anti-guns and four anti-tank guns), four ammo men, four ammo, and four ammo squadron squadrons, 4 calves, and amy of four anti-tank guns, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, 4 ammo, and 16 ammo; under the command of Junior Lieutenant Alexei Chernyshenko and three machine gunners. The house also had a telephone connection and organized ammunition. This small garrison stayed in the house for almost two months, preventing the Germans from reaching the Volga in this sector of defense. During the battle in the basement of the house, civilians were also hiding (about 30 people) who could not evacuate from it, some of them were seriously injured as a result of shelling and bombing.


Almost all the time the Germans bombarded this house with artillery and mortar shells, air strikes were inflicted on it (as a result of blows one of the walls was completely destroyed), continuous attacks were carried out, but the Germans could not take the house. Soviet soldiers competently prepared him for a perimeter defense, during attacks they fired at the enemy from different places of the house through prepared embrasures made in the bricked-up windows, as well as breaks in the walls. As soon as the Germans approached the building, they were met by dense rifle-and-machine-gun fire from various firing points on different floors of the building, grenades flew in the direction of the Nazis.

At the same time, lieutenants Afanasyev, Chernyshenko (died during the defense) and sergeant Pavlov managed to establish good fire interaction with the strongholds arranged in the neighboring buildings - the house of Zabolotny and the mill building where the command post of the 42 rifle regiment was located. A significant role in the competent organization of defense was also played by the fact that Afanasyev and Pavlov were experienced fighters, Pavlov could be called a professional soldier, yet he was in the army since 1938. Significantly simplified the interaction of strongholds and the fact that on the third floor of Pavlov’s house an observation post was equipped, which the Germans could not destroy. Later, the commander of the 62 Army, General Vasiliy Chuikov, recalled: "A small group of Soviet soldiers, defending one house, destroyed the enemy soldiers more than the Nazis lost when they took Paris."

Great help to the defenders of the house provided prepared by them spare positions. In front of the house itself there was a cemented fuel depot, to which the defenders managed to dig an underground passage. And about a meter away in 30 from the house there was a hatchway leading into the water tunnel, to which an underground passage was also dug. It was in this way that the defenders of Pavlov’s house relatively unnoticeably and safely could receive the necessary ammunition and food for defense. During the shelling, all the defenders of the house, except for the military guard and observers, went down to the shelters. After the cessation of shelling, the entire small garrison once again held its position and met the enemy with fire.

Pavlov's grave in the Western cemetery of Veliky Novgorod

The defense of the house lasted about two months before November 24, 1942, when its defenders left it and the 42 regiment, along with other units, launched a counteroffensive. During the heroic defense of Pavlov’s house, only three of his defenders were killed: Junior Lieutenant Alexei Chernyshenko, Sergeant Idel Heit and Red Army soldier Ivan Svirin. However, many defenders of the house were injured. Yakov Pavlov himself was seriously injured in 25’s leg on November 1942 of the year during an attack on the German positions.

After returning from the hospital, Sergeant Pavlov fought as worthily as he did in Stalingrad, but in artillery. He was the commander of the intelligence unit in various artillery units of the 3-th Ukrainian and 2-th Byelorussian fronts, which successfully reached Stettin, passing the Great Patriotic War from the first to the last day. For his military achievements, he was awarded two orders of the Red Star, as well as numerous medals. June 17 Junior Lieutenant Yakov Fedotovich Pavlov was awarded the honorary title of Hero of the Soviet Union and was awarded the Gold Star Medal (No. XXUMX), by which time he had already joined the Communist Party. For the award, he was presented precisely for the feat, committed in Stalingrad in 1945 year.

After demobilization from the army in 1946, Yakov Pavlov returned to his homeland. He worked for a long time in the city of Valdai of the Novgorod region, was the third secretary of the district committee of the party, graduated from the Higher Party School at the Central Committee of the CPSU. Three times he was elected deputy of the Supreme Soviet of the RSFSR from the Novgorod region. After the end of World War II, he was also presented to the Order of the October Revolution. In the postwar years, he often came to Stalingrad, where he met with local residents who survived the war and restored the Volga city from ruins. Not only Yakov Pavlov, but all the other defenders of the house have always been the most dear guests of the townspeople. In 1980, Yakov Pavlov was awarded the title “Honorary Citizen of the Hero-City of Volgograd”.

Yakov Fedotovich Pavlov passed away on September 28 on 1981, at the age of 63. Most likely, his front-line injuries contributed to the relatively early demise of the hero. He was buried in the alley of the heroes of the Western cemetery of Veliky Novgorod. Currently Yakov Pavlov’s name is a boarding school for orphans and children left without parental care in Veliky Novgorod. Also the streets in Veliky Novgorod, Valdai and Yoshkar-Ola were named after Yakov Pavlov.

Based on materials from open sources
Author:
26 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. moskowit
    moskowit 17 October 2017 06: 30
    +8
    Everlasting memory! Eternal Glory! Simple and ordinary Man in life, but Great are his Acts and Feat !!!

    European countries resisted Hitler’s troops:
    Netherlands - 6 days, Belgium - 8 days, Yugoslavia - 12 days, Greece - 24 days, Poland - 36 days, France - 43 days.


    When trying to take the famous Pavlov’s House in Stalingrad, which for 58 days held the detachment of Red Army men from 31 people, the Germans lost more soldiers than when they captured Paris.
    1. Vend
      Vend 17 October 2017 08: 55
      +8
      There were no such houses in Stalingrad. You can’t do this with detachments. Only the courage and fearlessness of the soldiers.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 17 October 2017 07: 32
    +7
    Vasily Chuykov recalled: "A small group of Soviet soldiers, defending one house, destroyed more enemy soldiers than the Nazis lost when they captured Paris."
    ... filled up with corpses, German ...
    1. svp67
      svp67 17 October 2017 22: 03
      +2
      Quote: parusnik
      ... filled up with corpses, German ...

      as well as Romanian and Hungarian ...
  3. XII Legion
    XII Legion 17 October 2017 07: 47
    17
    House of Immortal Soldier Courage
    And Yakov Pavlov was an excellent tactician
    Honor and glory to the heroes
  4. Victor_B
    Victor_B 17 October 2017 08: 21
    +3
    Truly an immortal garrison!
    Glory to our grandfathers - soldiers!
    May the fascists, Nazis, Bandera and their lair be damned!
  5. Victor_B
    Victor_B 17 October 2017 08: 44
    +2
    Quote: lUSERMANN
    The Germans did not take Paris at all, it was declared an open city ..

    Apparently so "heroically" defended him ...
  6. Olgovich
    Olgovich 17 October 2017 12: 06
    +7
    The garrison was commanded by senior lieutenant Ivan Afanasyev.
    He received nothing for the defense of the house. As a result of injuries, he lost his sight.
    Since 1965, he has been collecting in this house in the apartment of Z.P. Selezneva or at home (he remained to live in Volgograd) of all surviving members of the defense of the house (15 people). Pavlov did not come ...
    Afanasyev wrote and published a book “House of Soldier Glory”
    1. chenia
      chenia 17 October 2017 18: 01
      +7
      Quote: Olgovich
      He received nothing for the defense of the house.


      And Pavlov did not receive anything (he became a hero after the war, already being a gentleman of two orders).

      What claims to it? He first entered the house (from there the name went, from beginning to end he defended it (and the command for injuries changed).
      He honestly fought before and after. In his part (after being wounded) he did not get anymore. And he treated this event (home defense) as an ordinary episode of the war (maybe he had had more heroic deeds before, since the first day there were no awards in the war). And some cockerel cannot judge him.
      Afanasyev is also a hero, no doubt - but he was not the first, and was not completely (by wound). I believe that I organized the defense competently willingly, but Pavlov, a rather experienced sergeant, contributed.
      1. Olgovich
        Olgovich 18 October 2017 12: 11
        0
        Quote: chenia
        And Pavlov did not receive anything (he became a hero after the war, already being a gentleman of two orders).

        Afanasyev did NOT become him after the war.
        Quote: chenia
        What claims to it?

        Where are the claims ?!
        Commanded by Afanasyev. This is what was said.
        1. chenia
          chenia 18 October 2017 13: 38
          +2
          Why don’t you understand? Pavlov’s House is a symbol of the resilience of Stalingrad.

          Quote: Wend
          There were no such houses in Stalingrad.


          And Pavlov received an award for all the dead and the living. And deservedly so. Throughout the war, from bell to bell, several times wounded. order bearer, who later became an officer.
          He is a guideline, when you can say, "and there were many."
          1. Olgovich
            Olgovich 19 October 2017 08: 14
            0
            Quote: chenia
            Why don’t you understand? Pavlov’s House is a symbol of the resilience of Stalingrad.

            You didn’t understand .... request
  7. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 17 October 2017 17: 29
    +3
    He commanded a platoon (group) as expected, an officer - Lieutenant Ivan Afanasyev.
    It would not hurt to give the Star of the Hero to him either.
    But Pavlov, of course, is a hero.
  8. Alf
    Alf 17 October 2017 23: 19
    +1
    Didn’t the Germans take Pavlov’s House? Have taken. Recently I watched the "masterpiece" of the underdog of Bondarchuk, so it became clear from the plot that the Germans took the Pavlov House. Eh, females of a dog, there is no Lawrence Palych on you ...
  9. Okolotochny
    Okolotochny 19 October 2017 06: 50
    +6
    A little off topic. And what kind of story is this for a monk who, according to some clergymen, was Sergeant Pavlov?
    1. Alf
      Alf 19 October 2017 22: 09
      0
      Quote: Okolotochny
      A little off topic. And what kind of story is this for a monk who, according to some clergymen, was Sergeant Pavlov?

      But did these very “ministers” bring any evidence?
  10. Goldmitro
    Goldmitro 17 December 2017 14: 34
    0
    Quote: chenia
    He (Pavlov) first entered the house (from there the name went

    According to the recollections of other participants in the defense of the house, Pavlov wrote on the house that Sergeant Pavlov was protecting the house. But the newspaper correspondent saw this inscription did not, did not have time to go into details, and wrote an article in the newspaper, thereby glorifying Pavlov, after which his name was assigned to the house.

Военное обозрение

Яков Павлов. Один из самых известных героев Сталинграда

26
Яков Федотович Павлов навсегда вписал свою имя в историю нашей страны, став одним из самых известных героев Сталинградской битвы. Упоминание о нем можно найти сегодня в любом учебнике истории. Командуя группой бойцов, он осенью 1942 года организовал оборону четырехэтажного жилого дома на площади 9-го января в центре Сталинграде, в историю этот дом так и вошел — как дом Павлова. Сам дом и, конечно же, его защитники, стали символами героической обороны города в годы Великой Отечественной войны.


Яков Павлов появился на свет ровно 100 лет назад, 4 октября (17 октября по новому стилю) 1917 года в небольшой деревне Крестовой (сегодня это территория Валдайского района Новгородской области), в обычной крестьянской семье, по национальности — русский. Спустя несколько дней после его рождения произошла Октябрьская революция, за которой последовала гражданская война. Детство Якова было достаточно трудным, что было справедливо для всей страны. Он успел окончить лишь начальную школу. В 1938 году он получил повестку и был призван в ряды РККА. Начало Великой Отечественной войны он встретил в действующей армии, воевал с июня 1941 года. Войну он встретил под Ковелем на Украине в составе войск Юго-Западного фронта.

План летне-осенней кампании 1942 года немецко-фашистских войск предусматривал захват Сталинграда и наступление на Кавказ. Сталинградская битва началась 17 июля 1942 года, начиная с этого дня и до 18 ноября, немцы не прекращали попыток овладения этим крупным административным, промышленным и транспортным центром на Волге. По планам Гитлера, немецкие войска должны были захватить Сталинград, имеющий огромное стратегическое значение, за две недели боев, однако упорное сопротивление советских войск в разрушенном боевыми действиями городе спутало все планы гитлеровских генералов.

Яков Павлов. Один из самых известных героев Сталинграда

В 1942 году Яков Павлов был направлен в 42-й гвардейский полк 13-й гвардейской стрелковой дивизии генерала Александра Родимцева. После поражения советских войск под Харьковом, данная дивизия была отведена на левый берег Волги, где проходило ее переформирование. Во время переформирования дивизии сержант Яков Павлов был назначен командиром пулеметного отделения 7-й роты. В сентябре 1942 года дивизия Родимцева вошла в состав 62-й армии Сталинградского фронта.

Дивизии была поставлена задача переправиться через Волгу и выбить немецкие войска с прибрежной полосы, занять и прочно оборонять от врага центральную часть Сталинграда. В ночь с 14 на 15 сентября 1942 года передовой отряд 42-го гвардейского полка сумел переправиться через Волгу и сходу вступил в бой с противником. 15 сентября солдаты полка отбили центральный железнодорожный вокзал, дав возможность переправиться через Волгу остальным соединениям 13-й гвардейской стрелковой дивизии. 16 сентября войны 39-го гвардейского полка при поддержке сводного 416-го стрелкового полка 112-й стрелковой дивизии в ходе штурма и упорных боев захватили вершину Мамаева кургана. С 21 по 23 сентября войны 13-й гвардейской стрелковой дивизии при поддержке фронтовой артиллерии выдержали самый сильный натиск противника, не допустив выхода немцев к Волге в центральной части города.

Именно в центральной части города в районе площади 9-го января (сегодня площадь Ленина) расположился четырехэтажный кирпичный дом, вошедший впоследствии в историю. Это был дом облпотребсоюза, дом №61 на улице Пензенской. Именно он войдет в историю, как дом Павлова. Рядом с ним находился Дом Совконтроля — будущий дом Заболотного — зеркальная копия дома Павлова. Между двумя этими домами проходила железнодорожная ветка к Госмельнице №4 (мельница Гергардта-Грудинина). Оба здания сыграли ключевую роль в обороне площади и подступов к ней. В районе данных зданий оборонялся 42-й гвардейский стрелковый полк полковника Ивана Елина, который приказал командиру 3-го стрелкового батальона капитану Алексею Жукову захватить данные дома, превратив их в опорные пункты.

Дом Павлова после окончания Сталинградской битвы. На заднем плане — Мельница Гергардта

Дом Облпотребсоюза представлял собой четырехэтажное здание с четырьмя подъездами. Он был построен во второй половине 1930-х годов по проекту архитектора Сергея Волошинова, который погиб 27 сентября 1942 года вместе со свой женой, которая ждала ребенка, это произошло в их доме на улице Пугачевской во время очередной бомбежки Сталинграда. Дом Облпотребсоюза считался одним из самых престижных в городе, рядом с ним были расположены другие элитные жилые здания: Дома работников НКВД, Дом связистов, Дом железнодорожников и другие. В доме Павлова проживали специалисты промышленных предприятий, а также партийные работники.

Оба дома имели очень важное значение, советские командиры правильно оценили их тактическую значимость для построения обороны на данном участке. Из домов хорошо просматривалась окружающая местность. Можно было вести наблюдение, а также обстреливать позиции противника в занятых частях Сталинграда: на запад до одного километра, на север и юг — и того больше. Также из домов можно было просматривать все пути возможного прорыва гитлеровцев к Волге, до которой здесь было рукой подать. Для захвата домов были созданы две группы: группа сержанта Павлова и лейтенанта Заболотного. Дом Заболотного впоследствии во время боев был выжжен и взорван наступавшими немецкими войсками, он рухнул, похоронив под развалинами оборонявших его советских бойцов.

В конце сентября 1942 года в разведывательно-штурмовую группу Павлова вошли также ефрейтор В. С. Глущенко и красноармейцы А. П. Александров и Н. Я. Черноголовый. Группа Павлова смогла проникнуть в дом и захватить его, выбив из него немцев. Горстка бойцов продержалась в доме трое суток, после чего к ней прибыло подкрепление: пулеметный взвод лейтенанта Ивана Афанасьева (7 бойцов с одним станковым пулеметом), группа бронебойщиков старшего сержанта Андрея Собгайды (6 бойцов с тремя противотанковыми ружьями), четверо минометчиков с двумя ротными минометами под командованием младшего лейтенанта Алексея Чернышенко и три автоматчика. В дом также была проведена телефонная связь и организовано боепитание. Данный небольшой гарнизон продержался в доме практически два месяца, не давая немцам выйти к Волге в этом секторе обороны. Во время сражения в подвале дома также прятались мирные жители (около 30 человек), которые не могли из него эвакуироваться, часть из них была тяжело ранена в результате артиллерийских обстрелов и бомбежек.


Практически все время немцы обстреливали данный дом из артиллерии и минометов, по нему наносились удары с воздуха (в результате ударов у него была полностью разрушена одна из стен), проводились непрерывные атаки, однако взять дом немцы так и не смогли. Советские солдаты грамотно подготовили его к круговой обороне, во время атак они вели по противнику огонь из разных мест дома через подготовленные амбразуры, сделанные в заложенных кирпичом окнах, а также проломы в стенах. Как только немцы подходили к зданию, их встречал плотный ружейно-пулеметный огонь из различных огневых точек на разных этажах здания, в сторону фашистов летели гранаты.

При этом лейтенанты Афанасьев, Чернышенко (погиб во время обороны) и сержант Павлов сумели наладить хорошее огневое взаимодействие с опорными пунктами, устроенными в соседних зданиях — с домом Заболотного и зданием мельницы, в котором располагался командный пункт 42-го стрелкового полка. Немалую роль в грамотной организации обороны сыграло и том, что Афанасьев и Павлов были опытными бойцами, Павлова можно было назвать кадровым военным, все-таки он находился в армии еще с 1938 года. Существенно упрощал взаимодействие опорных пунктов и тот факт, что на третьем этаже дома Павлова был оборудован наблюдательный пункт, который немцы так и не смогли уничтожить. Позднее командующий 62-й армии генерал Василий Чуйков вспоминал: «Небольшая группа советских воинов, обороняя один дом, уничтожила солдат противника больше, чем гитлеровцы потеряли при взятии Парижа».

Большую помощь защитникам дома оказывали подготовленные ими запасные позиции. Перед самим домом располагался зацементированный склад горючего, к которому защитники сумели прорыть подземный ход. А примерно метрах в 30 от дома располагался люк, ведущий в водопроводный тоннель, к которому также был прокопан подземный ход. Именно так защитники дома Павлова сравнительно незаметно и безопасно могли получать необходимые для обороны боеприпасы и продовольствие. Во время артиллерийских обстрелов все защитники дома, кроме боевого охранения и наблюдателей, спускались в убежища. После прекращения обстрела весь немногочисленный гарнизон вновь занимал свои позиции и встречал врага огнем.

Могила Павлова на Западном кладбище Великого Новгорода

Оборона дома продолжалась порядка двух месяцев до 24 ноября 1942 года, когда его защитники покинули его и 42-й полк вместе с другими частями перешел в контрнаступление. Во время героической обороны дома Павлова погибло всего три его защитника: младший лейтенант Алексей Чернышенко, сержант Идель Хайт и красноармеец Иван Свирин. При этом многие защитники дома получили ранения. Сам Яков Павлов был серьезно ранен в ногу 25 ноября 1942 года во время атаки на немецкие позиции.

После возвращения из госпиталя сержант Павлов воевал так же достойно, как и в Сталинграде, но уже в артиллерии. Он был командиром отделения разведки в различных артиллерийских частях 3-го Украинского и 2-го Белорусского фронтов, в составе которых благополучно дошел до Штеттина, пройдя Великую Отечественную войну с первого до последнего дня. За свои боевые заслуги он был награжден двумя орденами Красной Звезды, а также многочисленными медалями. 17 июня 1945 года младшему лейтенанту Якову Федотовичу Павлову было присвоено почетное звание Героя Советского Союза и вручена медаль Золотая Звезда (№6775), к тому времени он уже вступил в состав коммунистической партии. К награде он был представлен именно за подвиг, совершенный еще в Сталинграде в 1942 году.

После демобилизации из армии в 1946 году Яков Павлов вернулся в свои родные края. Он долгое время работал в городе Валдай Новгородской области, был третьим секретарем райкома партии, окончил Высшую партийную школу при ЦК КПСС. Три раза избирался депутатом Верховного Совета РСФСР от Новгородской области. После окончания Великой Отечественной войны он также был представлен к ордену Октябрьской Революции. В послевоенные годы он часто приезжал в Сталинград, где встречался с местными жителями, которые пережили войну и восстанавливали волжский город из руин. Не только Яков Павлов, но и все остальные защитники дома всегда были и у горожан самыми дорогими гостями. В 1980 году Якову Павлову было присвоено звание «Почетный гражданин города-героя Волгограда».

Яков Федотович Павлов скончался 28 сентября 1981 года в возрасте 63 лет. Скорее всего, свой вклад в сравнительно раннюю кончину героя внесли его фронтовые ранения. Он был похоронен на аллее героев Западного кладбища Великого Новгорода. В настоящее время имя Якова Павлова носит школа-интернат для детей сирот и детей, оставшихся без попечения родителей в Великом Новгороде. Также именем Якова Павлова были названы улицы в Великом Новгороде, Валдае и Йошкар-Оле.

По материалам из открытых источников
Автор:
26 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. moskowit
    moskowit 17 октября 2017 06:30 Новый
    +8
    Вечная Память! Вечная Слава! Прост и обыкновенен Человек в жизни, но Велики его Деяния и Подвиг!!!

    Страны Европы сопротивлялись войскам Гитлера:
    Нидерланды - 6 дней, Бельгия - 8 дней, Югославия - 12 дней, Греция - 24 дня, Польша - 36 дней, Франция - 43 дня.


    При попытке взять знаменитый Дом Павлова в Сталинграде, который 58 дней удерживал отряд Красноармейцев из 31 человека, немцы потеряли больше солдат, чем при взятии Парижа.
    1. Венд
      Венд 17 октября 2017 08:55 Новый
      +8
      Таких домов в Сталинграде было и не сосчитать. Такое заградотрядами не сделаешь. Только мужество и бесстрашие солдат.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 17 октября 2017 07:32 Новый
    +7
    Василий Чуйков вспоминал: «Небольшая группа советских воинов, обороняя один дом, уничтожила солдат противника больше, чем гитлеровцы потеряли при взятии Парижа».
    ...Завалили трупами, немецкими...
    1. svp67
      svp67 17 октября 2017 22:03 Новый
      +2
      Цитата: parusnik
      ...Завалили трупами, немецкими...

      а так же румынскими и венгерскими...
  3. XII легион
    XII легион 17 октября 2017 07:47 Новый
    +17
    Дом бессмертной солдатской отваги
    А Яков Павлов был прекрасным тактиком
    Честь и слава героям
  4. Victor_B
    Victor_B 17 октября 2017 08:21 Новый
    +3
    Воистину - бессмертный гарнизон!
    Слава нашим дедам - воинам!
    Да будут прокляты фашисты, нацисты, бандеровцы и их выкормыши!
  5. Victor_B
    Victor_B 17 октября 2017 08:44 Новый
    +2
    Цитата: lUSERMANN
    Немцы Париж вообще не брали-его объявили открытым городом..

    Видимо так "героически" его обороняли...
  6. Ольгович
    Ольгович 17 октября 2017 12:06 Новый
    +7
    Командовал гарнизоном дома старший по званию-лейтенант Иван Афанасьев.
    Он за оборону дома не получил ничего. В результате ранений потерял зрение.
    Он же с 1965 года собирал в этом доме на квартире у З.П. Селезневой или у себя ( он так и остался жить в Волгограде) всех выживших участников обороны дома (15 чел). Павлов не приходил...
    Афанасьев написал и выпустил книгу “Дом солдатской славы”
    1. chenia
      chenia 17 октября 2017 18:01 Новый
      +7
      Цитата: Ольгович
      Он за оборону дома не получил ничего.


      Да и Павлов ничего не получил (Героем он стал после войны, уже будучи кавалером двух орденов).

      К нему какие претензии? Он первый проник в дом (от туда и название пошло, от начала до конца оборонял его (а командование по ранениям менялось).
      Он честно дрался до и после этого. В свою часть (после ранения) он уже не попал. И относился к этому событию (обороны дома), как обычному эпизоду войны (может у него и были более героические дела ранее, с первого дня ведь на войне- и наград не было). И не может его судить какой то петушило.
      Афанасьев тоже герой, без сомнений - но он был не первый, и до конца не был (по ранению). Что оборону грамотно организовал охотно верю, но и Павлов довольно опытный сержант-способствовал.
      1. Ольгович
        Ольгович 18 октября 2017 12:11 Новый
        0
        Цитата: chenia
        Да и Павлов ничего не получил (Героем он стал после войны, уже будучи кавалером двух орденов).

        Афанасьев НЕ стал им и после войны.
        Цитата: chenia
        К нему какие претензии?

        Где претензии?!
        Командовал Афанасьев. Об этом и сказано.
        1. chenia
          chenia 18 октября 2017 13:38 Новый
          +2
          Вы че не поняли? Дом Павлова это символ стойкости Сталинграда.

          Цитата: Венд
          Таких домов в Сталинграде было и не сосчитать.


          И Павлов за всех погибших и живых получил награду. И вполне заслуженно. Всю войну, от звонка до звонка, несколько раз раненый. орденоносец, впоследствии ставший офицером.
          Он как ориентир- когда можно сказать- "и таких было много".
          1. Ольгович
            Ольгович 19 октября 2017 08:14 Новый
            0
            Цитата: chenia
            Вы че не поняли? Дом Павлова это символ стойкости Сталинграда.

            Вы- ниче не поняли.... request
  7. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 17 октября 2017 17:29 Новый
    +3
    Командовал-то, взводом (группой) как полагается, офицер - лейтенант Иван Афанасьев.
    Ему бы тоже звезду Героя дать не мешало.
    Но Павлов, конечно, герой.
  8. Альф
    Альф 17 октября 2017 23:19 Новый
    +1
    Разве немцы Дом Павлова не взяли ? Взяли. Недавно смотрел "шедевр" недоноска бондарчука, так там по сюжету стало ясно, что Дом Павлова немцы взяли. Эх, самки собаки, нет на вас Лаврентия Палыча...
  9. Околоточный
    Околоточный 19 октября 2017 06:50 Новый
    +6
    Немного не по теме. А что за история за монаха, который по словам некоторых священнослужителей и являлся сержантом Павловым?
    1. Альф
      Альф 19 октября 2017 22:09 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Околоточный
      Немного не по теме. А что за история за монаха, который по словам некоторых священнослужителей и являлся сержантом Павловым?

      А эти самые "служители" хоть какие-то доказательства привели ?
  10. Goldmitro
    Goldmitro 17 декабря 2017 14:34 Новый
    0
    Цитата: chenia
    Он (Павлов) первый проник в дом (от туда и название пошло

    По воспоминаниям других участников обороны дома Павлов написал на доме, что дом защищал сержант Павлов. А корреспондент газеты увидев эту надпись не стал, не было времени вдаваться в подробности, и написал статью в газете, прославив тем самым Павлова, после чего за домом и закрепилось его название.