Military Review

Opinion of the former American admiral: Russia's ambitions in the Black Sea region are not limited to the Crimea

29
The Russian Armed Forces recently completed a widely-publicized military exercise, “The West,” which has become the largest since the days of the Cold War. More than 100 thousand people took part in the exercises, Tanks for offensive operations and armored personnel carriers, while direct aviation support. In the Black Sea, large naval operations were carried out. After the successful demonstrations in Eastern Europe, aimed at NATO, Russia will move south - to the most strategically important Black Sea region.


Opinion of the former American admiral: Russia's ambitions in the Black Sea region are not limited to the Crimea


The Black Sea gained key importance in the geopolitical race in ancient times, when the Greeks traveled along its shores (it is believed that the Argonauts were looking for the Golden Fleece). For many centuries, Greeks, Romans, Turks, Georgians, Armenians, Romanians, Bulgarians and other numerous and small peoples inhabited the shores of the Black Sea, leading the struggle for sea routes. The past of Russia is largely connected with the Black Sea region, especially with the Crimea. In the middle of the 19th century, during the Crimean War, the Ottoman, British, French empires and their European allies defeated the Russian Empire, whose losses amounted to half a million people, who died mainly from diseases and wounds.

The Crimea, which became part of the Ukrainian SSR in 1954, remains the center of tension between Russia and the West in the person of NATO. Russia formally annexed the Crimea and controls part of the south-eastern territory of Ukraine with the help of puppet forces and often thinks about creating a “land bridge” between Russian territory and the peninsula. The sanctions against Russia imposed as a result of the occupation and armed clashes (10 has already killed thousands) sanctions its economy and do not allow it to cooperate with the West in solving many problems, including the civil war in Syria.

Russia also occupied the territory of Georgia - another close NATO partner in the Black Sea region. Moscow gained control over two important Georgian regions — Abkhazia and South Ossetia — after a short-lived war in the 2008 year. No other non-NATO country has sent more soldiers per capita than Georgia to Afghanistan.

Finally, from a geopolitical point of view, the northern coast of Turkey, the extremely important Bosporus and Dardanelles, which separate the Aegean and Black Seas, and the coastlines of some other NATO allies are under pressure from the Russian Navy, whose ships are based in Sevastopol. This is an ice-free port that Russia has long dreamed of. Sevastopol - a window in the Mediterranean. Russia gained control over the bases of the Syrian coast, with the help of the Black Sea fleet it will spread its influence in the Aegean and Mediterranean seas and will compete with NATO, as is the case in the north in the Baltic Sea.

It is not only geopolitical, but Russia has economic reasons to press NATO and its partners. In addition to the discovery of oil and gas fields, Moscow is attracted by the construction of an oil pipeline that will connect the Adriatic, Baltic and Black Seas. Russia wants to control the Black Sea region economically in peacetime, but is ready to fight for it in the event of a conflict with the West.

What should NATO do to thwart Russian plans for a “southern sea”? The best way is to turn the Black Sea into a strategic zone of attention and make sure that NATO troops are able to act, are in positions and are ready both for peaceful operations and for participation in battles. The alliance is guided by similar principles in the Baltic Sea and in the Arctic.

First, NATO must develop a program for port calls, exercises and training. NATO ships will have to enter the ports of Romania, Turkey, Bulgaria more often, as well as make stops in Georgia and in the free coastal territory of Ukraine. This can be handled by a permanent NATO naval connection, which is based in the UK and consists of more 20 frigates, corvettes and minesweepers.

Secondly, the alliance should develop and finance an agreed plan of operations in the Black Sea. Some aspects have already been taken into account in other plans of NATO, but it is necessary to conduct a detailed analysis in order to prepare for gaining control over the sea and projecting force in its waters. The action plan should be developed jointly by the command of the British Navy and the command of the Allied forces in Naples. One of the main advantages of NATO is a well-established command structure. 29 countries have thousands of military 9, and this should be used when planning operations in the Black Sea.

Third, US forces should increase their presence, regardless of NATO operations. The United States has four powerful destroyers with the Aegis system, which are based in the Spanish port of Rota. They are intended for missile defense and for demonstrating power in the Mediterranean. Destroyers should more often appear in the Black Sea and conduct exercises with their allies.

Fourth, America needs to work closely with Turkey, which owns the key to the Black Sea, as it controls the straits. According to the Montreux Convention on the status of the Straits of 1936, the road to the Black Sea is tightly controlled, and Turkey refused to sign the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, which will soften the standards to the level that applies to any straits of the world. Today, America and Turkey have strained relations, but they are crucial for any military strategy in the region that Washington will elect.

Finally, America can call on Western companies to invest in Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, Turkey and Ukraine. Oil and gas are key, but logistics, fiber optic cables, and other communications are just as important. Helping these countries connect their economies with both the Black Sea region and Europe, and America as a “soft power” can stabilize the region.

NATO has a lot of work to do in the Black Sea. Active strategic interaction and the development of economic relations is the best means that can be opposed to Russia's plans for the most important of all the southern seas.
Originator:
https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles/2017-10-11/crimea-isn-t-the-end-of-russia-s-black-sea-ambitions
29 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Grandfather
    Grandfather 18 October 2017 06: 19 New
    +2
    Russia will move south
    of course ... "severnash" already.
    1. Finches
      Finches 18 October 2017 07: 41 New
      +9
      Another retired Anika warrior? Once again confirmed that a good Anglo-Saxon is a dead Anglo-Saxon!
      1. To be or not to be
        To be or not to be 18 October 2017 14: 27 New
        +1
        He sweeps it hard. Their lips rolled out to the Crimea. The bummer came out. Here it is going to die laughing
        ((Type, verb (everyday life)
        value:
        The state of a person when someone (something) is annoying him.))
  2. alex-cn
    alex-cn 18 October 2017 06: 27 New
    +2
    And why are they jerking, because they know perfectly well that any NATO ship that entered the Black Sea is a suicide bomber ...
  3. Olgovich
    Olgovich 18 October 2017 06: 34 New
    +2
    Psychopathy .... The usual state of a British general ...
  4. Masya masya
    Masya masya 18 October 2017 07: 08 New
    +3
    an alliance should develop and fund an agreed plan

    The rest is water ...
    1. novel66
      novel66 18 October 2017 10: 18 New
      +4
      hello however! love and I liked the passage about the pipeline from the Adriatic to the Baltic and the Black Sea. rare nonsense! laughing
  5. HEATHER
    HEATHER 18 October 2017 07: 24 New
    +7
    America needs to work closely with Turkey, which owns the key to the Black Sea, as it controls the straits. As Gromyko said there: a couple of missiles and there will be a new strait. But Istanbul will remain in history.
    1. The comment was deleted.
      1. CT-55_11-9009
        CT-55_11-9009 19 October 2017 09: 46 New
        +1
        Come on??? And who will do it? Tajikistan? Although yes, he can. To dig nafig Moscow and build a huge hockey box the size of Peter. For a couple of Doshiraks ...
  6. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 18 October 2017 07: 41 New
    +3
    Russia's ambitions in the Black Sea region are not limited to Crimea

    That's for sure. We have on the agenda the Atlantic with the continent located there, to which we have an approach from the Pacific.
  7. Antianglosax
    Antianglosax 18 October 2017 07: 57 New
    +1
    It's time to return the missiles to Cuba. Ameripedos froze to the ears. Creatures must be rigorously taught. They march around with a brazen face in our dressing room and try to say something else, taking advantage of the inadequacy of the owners - the Russian ruling elite.
    1. FID
      FID 18 October 2017 08: 59 New
      +2
      Another question is whether Cuba wants to return the missiles? Communists in Cuba, but who in Russia?
      1. novel66
        novel66 18 October 2017 10: 19 New
        +3
        and not quite communists already - over there
        1. FID
          FID 18 October 2017 10: 58 New
          +1
          Are you sure about that? I often visit the island ... somehow I didn’t notice the consequences of "sticking" ...
          1. novel66
            novel66 18 October 2017 11: 22 New
            +3
            you somehow know better, from a place, but here in the media there were some words about "rapprochement of positions", whatever that meant. be that as it may - our missiles are unlikely to be there. How is Cuban rum? drinks
            1. FID
              FID 18 October 2017 11: 46 New
              +2
              Quote: novel xnumx
              you somehow know better, from a place, but here in the media there were some words about "rapprochement of positions", whatever that meant. be that as it may - our missiles are unlikely to be there. How is Cuban rum? drinks

              Cubans - guys zae..bishis. But don’t put a finger in your mouth, for the 90s they ate everything ... Well, but rum - there isn’t such anywhere!
  8. netslave
    netslave 18 October 2017 08: 28 New
    0
    Moscow is attracted by the construction of an oil pipeline that will connect the Adriatic, Baltic and Black Seas

    How and why will we pull the pipe from the Black Sea to the Baltic? what
    1. novel66
      novel66 18 October 2017 10: 20 New
      +3
      and the Adriatic! laughing it’s obvious some tricky plan!
    2. kartalovkolya
      kartalovkolya 19 October 2017 10: 59 New
      0
      Why, and in order to "surpass" the ancient "ukrov" who dug up the Black Sea, we just "pump" it into the Baltic Sea (well, to flood the Baltic states and other Swedes there)! This will be an epic feat stronger than Shakespeare's tragedies!
      1. netslave
        netslave 20 October 2017 10: 02 New
        0
        The Baltic is north, that is, it is located higher. Therefore, it would not flow in the opposite direction. However, leaving the Bolts completely without water is also a good option. laughing
  9. kartalovkolya
    kartalovkolya 18 October 2017 08: 56 New
    +1
    “They’re foolish,” the satirist Zadornov correctly said. Only one statement by this retired US admiral 100% confirms the aggressive nature of the United States and its puppets from the NATO bloc. What have you forgotten on the shores of others, which you always climb to our borders, would sit behind your "puddle" and keep your mouth shut "in a rag", or is your mug itching on your Russian boot? Well, HISTORY teaches nothing to the Anglo-Saxons, apparently, they were not beaten very much by our Russian soldiers.
    1. CentDo
      CentDo 18 October 2017 10: 17 New
      +1
      Not so often the Russian soldiers beat the Anglo-Saxons. Moreover, the Crimean War can hardly be called victorious for Russia (although the British and French did not achieve all their goals).
  10. Tolik_74
    Tolik_74 18 October 2017 10: 44 New
    0
    Russia's ambitions in the Black Sea region are not limited to Crimea
    Right, you think, a retired sculptor. The ambitions of GDP are such that it’s simply impossible to imagine for everyone who considers the burger around the corner of a neighboring house the center of the universe.
  11. kudma
    kudma 18 October 2017 10: 45 New
    0
    and often thinks about creating a "land bridge" between Russian territory and the peninsula
    The admiral can read thoughts =)
  12. GDP
    GDP 18 October 2017 11: 39 New
    0
    Russia's losses in the Crimean War amounted to half a million people ...
    In fact, it’s not so at the highest rating ...
    killed 47 000, wounded - 40000 and about 200 000 died of various diseases ...
    Most estimate the total total of Russia including diseases in approximately 100 000 people
  13. alatanas
    alatanas 18 October 2017 12: 03 New
    +1
    and America as a "soft power"

    - I would sit in my own country in America and would not interfere with normal people!
  14. a housewife
    a housewife 18 October 2017 12: 39 New
    +1
    Enter our sea is not a problem. Here come out - according to the circumstances.
  15. prior
    prior 18 October 2017 19: 12 New
    0
    Crimea - Syria - Alaska .......
  16. Nemesis
    Nemesis 19 October 2017 05: 52 New
    +1
    The United States should get away from the borders of Russia, otherwise Napoleonic ambitions can even get a stake in the thick American ass

Мнение бывшего американского адмирала: амбиции России в Черноморском регионе Крымом не ограничиваются

Вооружённые силы России недавно завершили широко освещаемые в СМИ военные учения «Запад», которые стали самыми масштабными со времён холодной войны. В учениях приняло участие более 100 тысяч человек, танки для наступательных действий и бронетранспортёры, при этом осуществлялась непосредственная авиационная поддержка. В Чёрном море проводились крупные военно-морские операции. После успешно завершившихся показательных выступлений в Восточной Европе, рассчитанных на НАТО, Россия двинется на юг – в важнейший со стратегической точки зрения Черноморский регион.

Мнение бывшего американского адмирала: амбиции России в Черноморском регионе Крымом не ограничиваются


Чёрное море обрело ключевое значение в геополитической гонке ещё в древние времена, когда греки путешествовали вдоль его берегов (принято считать, что здесь Аргонавты искали Золотое Руно). На протяжении многих веков греки, римляне, турки, грузины, армяне, румыны, болгары и другие многочисленные и малочисленные народы населяли берега Чёрного моря, ведя борьбу за морские пути. Прошлое России во многом связано с Черноморским регионом, в особенности с Крымом. В середине XIX века в ходе Крымской войны Османская, Британская, Французская империи и их европейские союзники одержали победу над Российской империей, потери которой составили полмиллиона человек, погибших, в основном, от болезней и ран.


Крым, вошедший в состав Украинской ССР в 1954 году, остаётся центром напряжённости между Россией и Западом в лице НАТО. Россия формально аннексировала Крым и контролирует часть юго-восточных территорий Украины с помощью марионеточных сил и часто задумывается о создании «сухопутного моста» между российской территорией и полуостровом. Введенные вследствие оккупации и вооружённых столкновений (погибло уже 10 тысяч человек) санкции против России вредят её экономике и не позволяют сотрудничать с Западом в решении многих проблем, среди которых и гражданская война в Сирии.

Россия также заняла территорию Грузии – ещё одного близкого партнёра НАТО в Черноморском регионе. Москва обрела контроль над двумя важными грузинскими регионами – над Абхазией и Южной Осетией – после скоротечной войны в 2008 году. Ни одна другая не входящая в НАТО страна не послала в Афганистан большее количество солдат из расчет на душу населения, чем Грузия.

Наконец, с точки зрения геополитики северное побережье Турции, чрезвычайно важные проливы Босфор и Дарданеллы, которые разделяют Эгейское и Чёрное моря, и береговые линии некоторых других союзников НАТО находятся под давлением действий ВМФ России, корабли которого базируются в Севастополе. Это незамерзающий порт, о котором Россия мечтала давно. Севастополь – окно в Средиземноморье. Россия обрела контроль над базами сирийского побережья, с помощью Черноморского флота она распространит своё влияние в Эгейском и Средиземном морях и будет соперничать с НАТО, как это происходит на севере в Балтийском море.

Дело не только в геополитике, у России есть экономические причины на то, чтобы потеснить НАТО и его партнёров. Помимо открытия нефтяных и газовых месторождений, Москву привлекает постройка нефтепровода, который соединит Адриатическое, Балтийское и Чёрное моря. Россия желает экономически контролировать Черноморский регион в мирное время, но готова за него побороться и в случае конфликта с Западом.

Что должен сделать НАТО, чтобы помешать российским планам относительно «южного моря»? Лучший способ – превратить Чёрное море в стратегическую зону внимания и убедиться в том, что войска НАТО способны действовать, находятся на позициях и готовы как к мирным операциям, так и к участию в боях. Схожими принципами альянс руководствуется в Балтийском море и в Арктике.

Во-первых, НАТО должен разработать программу по заходам в порты, учениям и тренировкам. Кораблям НАТО предстоит чаще заходить в порты Румынии, Турции, Болгарии, а также делать остановки в Грузии и в свободной прибрежной территории Украины. С этим может справиться постоянное соединение ВМС НАТО, которое базируется в Великобритании и состоит из более 20 фрегатов, корветов и тральщиков.

Во-вторых, альянсу следует разработать и профинансировать согласованный план операций в Чёрном море. Некоторые аспекты уже учтены в других планах НАТО, но необходимо провести детальный анализ с целью подготовиться к обретению контроля над морем и проецированию силы в его водах. План действий должен быть разработан совместными усилиями командования ВМС Великобритании и командования Объединёнными силами НАТО в Неаполе. Одно из главных преимуществ НАТО – это хорошо отлаженная структура командования. В 29 странах находится 9 тысяч военных, и это следует использовать при планировании операций в Чёрном море.

В-третьих, американские силы должны увеличить присутствие вне зависимости от операций НАТО. У США есть четыре мощных эсминца с системой «Иджис», которые базируются в испанском порту Рота. Они предназначены для противоракетной обороны и для демонстрации силы в Средиземноморье. Эсминцам следует чаще появляться в Чёрном море и проводить учения совместно с союзниками.

В-четвёртых, Америке необходимо тесно сотрудничать с Турцией, которой принадлежит ключ от Чёрного моря, так как она контролирует проливы. Согласно Конвенции Монтрё о статусе проливов от 1936 года, путь к Чёрному морю жёстко контролируется, и Турция отказалась подписать Конвенцию ООН по морскому праву, которая смягчит стандарты до уровня тех, которые применяются к любым проливам мира. Сегодня у Америки и Турции натянутые отношения, но они имеют решающее значение для любой военной стратегии в регионе, которую изберёт Вашингтон.

Наконец, Америка может призвать западные компании инвестировать средства в Болгарию, Грузию, Румынию, Турцию и Украину. Нефть и газ – это ключевой момент, однако столь же важна логистика, оптоволоконные кабели и другие коммуникации. Помощь этим странам свяжет их экономики как с Черноморским регионом, так и с Европой, а Америка в роли «мягкой силы» может стабилизировать регион.

В Чёрном море НАТО предстоит много работы. Активное стратегическое взаимодействие и развитие экономических связей – лучшее средство, которое можно противопоставить планам России относительно важнейшего из всех южных морей.

Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 29

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Дедкастарый (Дедка Старый) 18 октября 2017 06:19
    Россия двинется на юг
    конечно..."севернаш" уже.
    1. Зяблицев (Евгений) 18 октября 2017 07:41
      Очередной Аника-воин в отставке? Очередной раз подтвердивший, что хороший англосакс - мертвый англосакс!
      1. To be or not to be 18 октября 2017 14:27
        Типает его сильно .Они губы раскатывали на Крым. Облом вышел . Вот и гнусявит laughing
        ((типает, глагол (повседневная жизнь)
        значение:
        Состояние человека, когда его кто-то (что-то) сильно раздражает.))
  2. алекс-сп (алексей ) 18 октября 2017 06:27
    И чего они дергаются, ведь прекрасно знают, что любой корабль НАТО, вошедший в Черное море - смертник...
  3. Ольгович (Андрей) 18 октября 2017 06:34
    Психопатия....Обычное состояние британского генерала...
  4. Masya Masya (Маня) 18 октября 2017 07:08
    альянсу следует разработать и профинансировать согласованный план

    Остальное вода...
    1. роман66 (роман) 18 октября 2017 10:18
      привет, однако! love а мне понравился пассаж о нефтепроводе из адриатики на балтику и черное море. редкий бред! laughing
  5. ВЕРЕСК 18 октября 2017 07:24
    Америке необходимо тесно сотрудничать с Турцией, которой принадлежит ключ от Чёрного моря, так как она контролирует проливы. Как там Громыко сказал:пара ракет-и будет новый пролив.Но Стамбул останется в истории.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
      1. CT-55_11-9009 (Семён) 19 октября 2017 09:46
        Да ладно??? И кто же сделает? Таджикистан? Хотя да, он может. Срыть нафиг Москву и построить огромадную хоккейную коробку размером с Питер. За пару-тройку Дошираков...
  6. rotmistr60 (Геннадий) 18 октября 2017 07:41
    амбиции России в Черноморском регионе Крымом не ограничиваются

    Это точно. У нас на повестке дня Атлантика с находящимся там континентом, к которому у нас подход и со стороны Тихого океана.
  7. Антианглосакс 18 октября 2017 07:57
    Пора ракеты на Кубу возвращать. Америпеды отморозились по самые уши. Тварей надо жёстко учить. Шастают с наглой мордой в нашем предбаннике и пытаются ещё что-то говорить, пользуясь неадекватностью хозяев - российской правящей верхушки.
    1. ССИ (Сергей) 18 октября 2017 08:59
      Другой вопрос, а захочет ли Куба возвращения ракет? На Кубе коммунисты, а в России - кто?
      1. роман66 (роман) 18 октября 2017 10:19
        да и не совсем коммунисты уже - вон с обамкой-то ручкались
        1. ССИ (Сергей) 18 октября 2017 10:58
          Вы в этом уверены? Я на острове часто бываю... как-то не замечал последствий "ручкания"...
          1. роман66 (роман) 18 октября 2017 11:22
            вам-то всяко виднее, с места-то, но вот в сми были какие-то слова о"сближении позиций", что бы это не обозначало. как бы то ни было - вряд ли наши ракеты там будут. как ром-то кубинский? drinks
            1. ССИ (Сергей) 18 октября 2017 11:46
              Цитата: роман66
              вам-то всяко виднее, с места-то, но вот в сми были какие-то слова о"сближении позиций", что бы это не обозначало. как бы то ни было - вряд ли наши ракеты там будут. как ром-то кубинский? drinks

              Кубинцы - ребята зае..шибись. Но палец в рот не клади, за 90-е они всего наелись... Ну, а ром - такого нигде нет!
  8. netslave (Дмитрий) 18 октября 2017 08:28
    Москву привлекает постройка нефтепровода, который соединит Адриатическое, Балтийское и Чёрное моря

    Как и зачем будем тянуть трубу из Чёрного моря в Балтийское? what
    1. роман66 (роман) 18 октября 2017 10:20
      и на адриатику! laughing видно, какой-то хитрый план!
    2. kartalovkolya 19 октября 2017 10:59
      Как зачем,а чтобы "переплюнуть" древних "укров",выкопавших Черное море,да мы просто "перекачаем" его в Балтийское (ну чтобы затопить приболтов и прочих там шведов)!Вот это будет эпический подвиг посильнее трагедий Шекспира!
      1. netslave (Дмитрий) 20 октября 2017 10:02
        Балтика севернее, то бишь выше расположена. Посему не потекло бы в обратном направлении. Впрочем, оставить приболтов совсем без воды - тоже вариант неплохой. laughing
  9. kartalovkolya 18 октября 2017 08:56
    "Они деееебилы"-правильно сказал сатирик Задорнов . Только одни высказывания этого отставного адмирала США на 100% подтверждают агрессивную сущность США и их марионеток из блока НАТО. Чего вы забыли у чужих берегов,чего вечно лезете к нашим границам,сидели бы за своей "лужей" и помалкивали бы себе "в тряпочку" ,или рожа чешется по русскому сапогу? Ну ничему ИСТОРИЯ не учит англо-саксов,видимо мало их били наши русские солдаты.
    1. CentDo (Дмитрий) 18 октября 2017 10:17
      Не так уж и часто русские солдаты били именно англо-саксов. Причем Крымскую войну сложно назвать победоносной для России (хотя и британцы с французами всех поставленных целей не достигли).
  10. Толик_74 (Анатолий) 18 октября 2017 10:44
    амбиции России в Черноморском регионе Крымом не ограничиваются
    Правильно ты думаешь, отставной ваяка. Амбиции у ВВП такие, что вам всем, считающим гамбургерную за углом соседнего дома центром вселенной, просто представить не возможно.
  11. kudma (Роман) 18 октября 2017 10:45
    и часто задумывается о создании «сухопутного моста» между российской территорией и полуостровом
    Адмирал то умеет мысли читать =)
  12. ВВП (Владимир) 18 октября 2017 11:39
    Потери России в Крымской войне составили пол миллиона человек...
    Вообще-то несовсем так по самой высокой оценке...
    убитых 47 000, раненных - 40000 и около 200 000 умерло от разных болезней...
    Большинство оценивают общие суммарные России включая болезни примерно в 100 000 человек
  13. alatanas (Александър Атанасов) 18 октября 2017 12:03
    а Америка в роли «мягкой силы»

    - сидела бы у себя в Америке и не мешала нормальным людям жить!
  14. домохозяйка (Ирина) 18 октября 2017 12:39
    Зайти в наше море не проблема. Вот выйти - по обстоятельствам.
  15. prior (Влад) 18 октября 2017 19:12
    Крым - Сирия - Аляска .......
  16. Немезида 19 октября 2017 05:52
    США следует убраться подальше от границ России,а то наполеоновские амбиции могут и колом выйти,в толстую американскую задницу
Картина дня