Military Review

TVD Second Patriotic. 1914 year. Part of 2

8
Galicia.




Galician theater of operations and the alignment of opposing forces before the battle of Galicia. White A. Galicia battle. M. - L., 1929

Galician operations of the Russian army in 1914: the Battle of Galicia, Czestochowa - Krakow operation (01. - 11. 11. 1914) [15], the first stage of the Carpathian operation (October - December 1914) [16]. The main objective of these operations is the destruction of the Austro-Hungarian army and the withdrawal of Austria-Hungary from the war.


Commander-in-Chief of the armies of the South-Western Front, General of Artillery N. I. Ivanov. Great War. Issue Xnumx

The operations on this theater of operations were carried out primarily in the interests of the Russians themselves, but they were also very important for the coalition. The Battle of Galicia, one of the key operations of the First World War, laid the foundation for subsequent operations in Galicia, “broke the backbone” of the Austrian army, and affected the strategic and operational planning of both the Germans and the Austrians. The battle smoothed over the operational failures in East Prussia and led to the folding of a new operational-strategic situation — the Russian troops went out to the Carpathians.


Commander 3 A YuZF General of Infantry N. V. Ruzsky. Great War. Issue Xnumx


Commander 8 A YuZF cavalry general A. A. Brusilov. Great War. Issue Xnumx

The Galician front is the main theater of operations for Russia, the strategic and operational situation on it radically reflected on the entire Russian front. In fact, Serbia was retained in the ranks of the Allies - this is also the crucial strategic importance of the Battle of Galicia for the Entente. The Austrians were forced to significantly adjust their operations in the Balkans. The current of the Galician battle, which was unsuccessful for the enemy, led to the concentration on the Russian front of the Austrian 2 Army, preferably intended for conducting operations in the Balkans. The 8 infantry divisions of the strategic reserve as part of this army went to the Russian front, which saved Serbia. If we take into account that the resisting Serbia to some extent isolated Turkey, turned out to be unnecessary Thessaloniki front, etc., then the globality of the general strategic significance of the Galician victory becomes understandable. Austria-Hungary also did not solve its tasks of defeating one of the opponents (Russia and Serbia), and it was even less capable of fighting on two fronts.


Commander 4 A UZF General of Infantry A. E. Evert. Pictures of war

TVD Second Patriotic. 1914 year. Part of 2
The commander of 5 A YuZF, cavalry general P. A. Plehve. Niva


Commander 9 A YuZF General of Infantry P. A. Lechitsky. Chronicle of War № 125

Strategically, the Battle of Galicia, as the central battle of the campaign, contributed to the winning of the 1914 campaign. Operationally battles in the Galician theater of operations traditionally were successful for the Russian army (only the Czestochowa-Krakow operation ended in vain).

Poland.


The actions of the Russian troops in the two aforementioned areas led to an intensive redeployment of German forces to the Russian front. Their structuring and the search for new operational solutions led to the formation of one more theater of operations, Polsky (district of the Vistula River). Here one of the largest and most significant campaign operations was carried out - Warsaw-Ivangorod and Lodz. In the autumn and winter, 1914 was the central theater of operations of the Russian Front, both in the scale of its operations and in the number of enemy forces involved. For the Austro-Germans - this is the all-union theater. The most important operations (Warsaw-Ivangorod and Lodz) proceeded with varying success, accompanied by huge losses of the parties.


Polish theater D. N. Rybin. Lodz operation on the Russian front of World War 1914. M., 1938

The strategic result of operations in Poland did not meet the expectations of the opponents - the Russians could not carry out the invasion of Germany, the Austro-Germans - to break through to Warsaw. At the same time, the stabilization of this front was objectively beneficial to the Russian side, while the exhaustion of opponents led to the search for new operational solutions. In alleviating the position of the allies of Russia, operations in Poland were most productive - Austrian forces on the Russian front increased their 3 divisions, the Germans redeployed 8 infantry and 6 cavalry divisions, which greatly alleviated the position of the Serbs and especially the British and French in the battle in Flandria.

Operatively, of the two largest operations in Poland, one was won by the Russians (Warsaw-Ivangorod) and one ended in a draw (Lodz).


Lead a column of German prisoners taken under the fortress Osovets. Autumn 1914. Photo GASO (State Archive of the Saratov region)

Maneuverable strategic operations led to huge losses. So, only the German 9 Army lost more than 7 people during the autumn weeks of 100000, of which 36000 died [17]. The total losses of the Austro-Germans in the Warsaw-Ivangorod and Lodz operations - more than 300000 people. In the fall and winter of 1914, the Russian troops in Poland lost over 400000 people (Warsaw-Ivangorod operation, Lodz, Bzura).

The Warsaw-Ivangorod and Lodz operations contributed to the gravity of the main attack of the German military machine to the east, finally burying the enemy’s strategic hopes and disrupting the last chance to achieve a military solution in the west before the French front was stabilized. The operations of the Anglo-French “Run to the Sea” owe their success primarily to the efforts of the Russian armies.


European theaters of the Russian army and their relationship. Niva. 1914. No. 52. We deliberately left an interesting military journalist commentary on this illustration.

Caucasus.


Turkey’s entry into the war led to the formation of the Caucasian theater of war. The central operation of the campaign was Sarykamysh 09. 12. 1914 g. - 04. 01. 1915 [18].


Caucasian theaters. The Great War in 1914. Sketch of the main operations. Pg., 1916

The Russian Caucasian army, having a minimum (4 divisions) of the priority troops, pulled 11 Turkish personnel divisions and bled them, rendering invaluable assistance to the allies, primarily England. After the Sarykamysh victory, Turkish troops in the Caucasian theater of operations were strengthened - this eased the situation for the British in the Suez Canal area and in Mesopotamia. Strategically and quickly, the Caucasian front was almost always victorious.


Chief of Staff of the Caucasian Army, Lieutenant-General N. N. Yudenich. Pictures of war

The 1914 campaign began with major offensive operations on the flanks of the Russian strategic structure (East Prussian and Galician operations). Autumn, due to the large transfer of the Germans to the Russian front, was marked by counter-battles in Poland and a temporary stabilization of the front.

Russian troops destroyed the strategic planning of the enemy, and the Austro-Germans were forced to pay more and more attention to the Russian front. The territorial aspect of the strategic situation also favored the Russians: by the end of the year, they managed to capture most of East Prussia (up to Mazury Lakes) and Galicia, with the loss of the left-bank (in relation to the Vistula River) of Poland. That is, the depth of the “Polish bulge” decreased, which was of positive importance for the planning of future operations.

The highest German generals associated with the failures of 1914, the beginning of a positional war (which meant the coming catastrophe) and called on their state leadership to conclude a separate peace. As E. Falkengine believed, if the country's military-political leadership had found a way to reach an agreement with the enemy, this should have been resorted to. After all, the events on Marne and in Galicia greatly changed the position of the German bloc. [19].

E. von Ludendorff also noted that the 14 campaign of the year did not bring the desired results. [20].

In this campaign, the Russian army achieved an encirclement of a large enemy group. Efficient methods of fighting were developed in the conditions of operational semicircle — both in the Lodz and Sarykamysh operations; the retreat of semi-circled Russian formations could turn into a catastrophe — only active actions against the flanks of the enemy grouping along with tough defense brought the desired result.

Significant is the opinion of E. von Falkengain, who testified to the fact that the German command did not foresee the need for a major redeployment on the Russian front, which also was an extremely negative strategic factor - a growing need to support an ally emerged. The German command did not plan the transfer, and to the last opposed their implementation. According to E. von Falkengine, he had to abandon a very promising plan to break through the French front in Artois and Picardy, but he threw this idea away because there were not enough forces to implement it — after all the reserves (and living force, and ammunition) were spent on the Eastern Front.

The East Prussian and Galician operations disrupted the German and Austrian strategic planning, led to the gradual stabilization of the French and Serbian fronts. Autumn operations in Poland and East Prussia affected the final stabilization of the French front. The hopes of the Germans to hold the eastern frontier with the forces of predominantly Austrian troops failed — a tendency towards a gradual build-up of the German military presence on the Eastern Front is obvious.

In 1914, Russia in the established theaters of the Eastern Front disrupted enemy plans in one campaign to realize its strategic planning. Considering the entry into force of the long-term factors of the resource superiority of the Entente, Russia played a key role in the approach of the coming victory of the bloc. From the end of the 1914 campaign, the defeat of Germany and its allies was only a matter of time.

Notes

15. Czestocho-Kraków operation - between 4 and 9 armies of the UZF (gen. from artil. N.I. Ivanov) as part of 9 arm. corps (about 270000 people, over 1200 op.) and Austro-Hungarian 1 and 4 armies (gen. caval. V. Dunkl and general infantry I. Ferdinand - 8 army. corps - over 300000 people, to 1300 op.). Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd 6. Berlin, 1929; Strategic essay. CH 2.
16. Between the Austro-Hungarian 1, 2, 3, 4 armies with the support of the army groups K. Pflanzer-Baltin and R. Voirsch (general infantry Count F. Conrad von Gettsendorf; 18 army corps, 10 cd - about 600000 people., about 2600 op.) and 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, USP armies (gen. from artil. N.I. Ivanov; 23 army. corps (assuming 2 divisions per corps), 14 cd; about 750000 people, 2300 op.). Österreich-Ungarns Letzter Krieg 1914 -1918. Bd. Ii. Wien, 1931; Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg. Bd 6.
17. Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg. Bd. 6. S. 360.
18. Between the Caucasian army (formally - the general. From Kaval. Count I. I. Vorontsov-Dashkov; 120000 people, 304 or.) And the Turkish 3-th army (formally - gen.-leit. Gassan-Izzet Pasha; 150000 people. 300 op.). E. Maslovsky. The World War on the Caucasian Front; Sarykamysh operation 12 - 24 December 1914 (some documents); Korsun N. G. Sarykamysh operation; he is World War I on the Caucasian front.
19. E. Falkengain. High Command 1914 — 1916 in its most important decisions. M., 1923. C. 32.
20. Ludendorff E. My memories of the war 1914 — 1918. M. - Mn., 2005. C. 113.
Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Olgovich
    Olgovich 24 October 2017 06: 34 New
    14
    Strategically and promptly, the Caucasus Front was almost always victorious.

    Yes, they punched the Turks so much that they didn’t even dare to attack the WWII.
    No one has ever had such an extended front line as Russia had in World War II, from the Arctic Ocean (Flotilla of the Arctic Ocean) to the Indian Ocean (Mesopotamia) ..
    However, Russia coped.
  2. XII Legion
    XII Legion 24 October 2017 06: 49 New
    20
    Yes, Russia for 3,5 years held the front from the Baltic to the Black Sea with a length of almost 2000 km (not counting 1,1 thousand km of the Caucasus Front) against the German, Ottoman and Austro-Hungarian empires. On the French front (from the English Channel to Switzerland) on the 630-km front against one German army, the combined armed forces of France, England, and Belgium were concentrated, which since 1917 were reinforced by the American army.
    The tension is serious, but Russia coped
    Thank you
  3. Lieutenant Teterin
    Lieutenant Teterin 24 October 2017 06: 50 New
    17
    Wonderful, objective and informative article. The failure of the Austro-German war plan was indeed caused not least by the actions of the Russian army, which was recognized by the Germans themselves and the French. The author - my sincere appreciation for the work done!
  4. Serge72
    Serge72 24 October 2017 11: 51 New
    18
    European theater of the Russian army and their relationship. We specifically left an interesting comment by a military journalist on this illustration.

    Very interesting
    The relationship between the theater is also clear. Poland was the link between Galicia and East Prussia. And East Prussia and Galicia provided the flanks of the "Polish balcony". It is now clear and why operations were carried out on the flanks - in East Prussia and Galicia. To guarantee the "Advanced Theater", that is, the "Polish balcony".
    Interesting archive photo
    Lead a column of German prisoners taken under the fortress Osovets. Autumn 1914. Photo GASO (State Archive of the Saratov region)

    As I understand it is published for the first time
    1. OAV09081974
      24 October 2017 16: 07 New
      17
      Yes, dear Serzh72
      Copied in the Saratov archive - with all the attendant organizational and other joys.

      The result was an interesting photo series.
      1. Koshnitsa
        Koshnitsa 25 October 2017 12: 28 New
        10
        Respect, author!
        Keep it up, thank you very much for the great introduction of new photographic materials!
  5. Some kind of compote
    Some kind of compote 24 October 2017 13: 41 New
    17
    The highest German generals associated with the failures of 1914 the beginning of a positional war (which meant a coming catastrophe) and called on his state leadership to conclude a separate peace.

    The world at the end of the 14th did not stop us or them
    Quality article
    Gratifying
  6. Head Physician
    Head Physician 29 October 2017 18: 49 New
    15
    I am very interested in the history of the First World War
    Thank you
    I hope there will be a continuation for other years

Военное обозрение

ТВД Второй Отечественной. 1914 год. Часть 2

8
Галиция.




Галицийский ТВД и расстановка сил противников перед Галицийской битвой. Белой А. Галицийская битва. М. - Л., 1929

Галицийские операции русской армии в 1914 г.: Галицийская битва, Ченстохово - Краковская операция (01. – 11. 11. 1914 г.) [15], первый этап Карпатской операции (октябрь – декабрь 1914 г.) [16]. Главная цель этих операций – сокрушение австро-венгерской армии и вывод Австро-Венгрии из войны.


Главнокомандующий армиями Юго-Западного фронта генерал от артиллерии Н. И. Иванов. Великая война. Вып. 2

Операции на этом ТВД осуществлялись, прежде всего, в собственно русских интересах, но и они имели важнейшее значение для коалиции. Галицийская битва - одна из ключевых операций Первой мировой - заложила основу последующих операций в Галиции, «сломала хребет» австрийской армии, сказалась на стратегическом и оперативном планировании как немцев, так и австрийцев. Сражение сгладило оперативные неудачи в Восточной Пруссии и привело к складыванию новой оперативно-стратегической ситуации – русские войска выходили к Карпатам.


Командующий 3 А ЮЗФ генерал от инфантерии Н. В. Рузский. Великая война. Вып. 2


Командующий 8 А ЮЗФ генерал от кавалерии А. А. Брусилов. Великая война. Вып. 2

Галицийский фронт – главный ТВД для России, стратегическая и оперативная обстановка на нем кардинальным образом отражалась на всем Русском фронте. Фактически была сохранена в рядах союзников Сербия – в этом также важнейшее стратегическое значение Галицийской битвы для Антанты. Австрийцы были вынуждены значительно скорректировать свои операции на Балканах. Неудачное для противника течение Галицийской битвы привело к сосредоточению на Русском фронте австрийской 2-й армии, предпочтительно предназначавшейся для ведения операций на Балканах. 8 пехотных дивизий стратегического резерва в составе этой армии попали на Русский фронт, чем была спасена Сербия. Если же учесть, что сопротивляющаяся Сербия в какой-то степени изолировала Турцию, оказывался не нужным Салоникский фронт и т. д., то понятным становится глобальность общестратегического значения галицийской победы. Австро-Венгрия также не решила своих задач по разгрому одного из противников (Россия и Сербия), а воевать на два фронта она была способна еще менее Германии.


Командующий 4 А ЮЗФ генерал от инфантерии А. Е. Эверт. Картины войны

ТВД Второй Отечественной. 1914 год. Часть 2
Командующий 5 А ЮЗФ генерал от кавалерии П. А. Плеве. Нива


Командующий 9 А ЮЗФ генерал от инфантерии П. А. Лечицкий. Летопись войны № 125

Стратегически именно Галицийская битва, как центральное сражение кампании, способствовала выигрышу кампании 1914-го. Оперативно бои на галицийском ТВД традиционно были для русской армии успешны (безрезультатно закончилась лишь Ченстохово-Краковская операция).

Польша.


Действия русских войск по двум вышеуказанным направлениям привели к интенсивным переброскам германских соединений на Русский фронт. Их структурирование и поиск новых оперативных решений привел к образованию еще одного ТВД – Польского (район р. Висла). Здесь были осуществлены одни из крупнейших и знаковых операций кампании – Варшавско-Ивангородская и Лодзинская. Осенью-зимой 1914 г. это центральный ТВД Русского фронта как по масштабности операций, так и по количеству задействованных войск противников. Для австро-германцев – это общекоалиционный ТВД. Важнейшие операции (Варшавско-Ивангородская и Лодзинская) шли с переменным успехом, сопровождаясь огромными потерями сторон.


Польский ТВД. Рыбин Д. Н. Лодзинская операция на Русском фронте мировой войны в 1914 году. М., 1938

Стратегический результат операций в Польше не оправдал надежд противников – русские не смогли осуществить вторжение в Германию, австро-германцы - прорваться к Варшаве. Вместе с тем стабилизация этого фронта объективно была выгодна русской стороне, истощение же противников привело к поискам новых оперативных решений. В деле облегчения положения союзников России операции в Польше были наиболее результативны - австрийские силы на Русском фронте возросли на 3 дивизии, немцы перебросили 8 пехотных и 6 кавалерийских дивизий, что в значительной степени облегчило положение сербов и особенно англичан и французов в сражении во Фландрии.

Оперативно из двух крупнейших операций в Польше одна была русскими выиграна (Варшавско-Ивангородская) и одна закончилась «вничью» (Лодзинская).


Ведут колонну пленных немцев, взятых под крепостью Осовец. Осень 1914 г. Фото ГАСО (Государственный архив Саратовской области)

Маневренные стратегические операции привели к огромным потерям. Так, лишь германская 9-я армия за 7 осенних недель потеряла свыше 100000 человек, из них 36000 погибло [17]. Общие потери австро-германцев в Варшавско-Ивангородской и Лодзинской операциях – более 300000 человек. Осенью-зимой 1914 г. и русские войска в Польше потеряли свыше 400000 человек (Варшавско-Ивангородская операция, Лодзь, Бзура).

Варшавско-Ивангородская и Лодзинская операции способствовали переносу тяжести главного удара немецкой военной машины на восток, окончательно похоронив стратегические надежды противника и сорвав последнюю возможность добиться военного решения на западе до стабилизации Французского фронта. Операции англо-французов «Бег к морю» обязаны своим успехом прежде всего усилиям русских армий.


Европейские ТВД русской армии и их взаимосвязь. Нива. 1914. № 52. Мы специально оставили интересный комментарий военного журналиста к этой иллюстрации

Кавказ.


Вступление Турции в войну привело к образованию Кавказского ТВД. Центральной операцией кампании стала Сарыкамышская 09. 12. 1914 г. – 04. 01. 1915 г. [18].


Кавказский ТВД. Великая война в 1914 г. Очерк главнейших операций. Пг., 1916

Русская Кавказская армия, имея минимум (4 дивизии) первоочередных войск, притянула 11 турецких кадровых дивизий и их обескровила, оказав неоценимую помощь союзникам, прежде всего Англии. После Сарыкамышской победы турецкие войска на Кавказском ТВД были усилены - это облегчило обстановку для англичан в районе Суэцкого канала и в Месопотамии. Стратегически и оперативно Кавказский фронт почти всегда был победоносен.


Начальник штаба Кавказской армии генерал-лейтенант Н. Н. Юденич. Картины войны

Кампания 1914 г. началась крупными наступательными операциями на флангах русского стратегического построения (Восточно-Прусская и Галицийская операции). Осень, в связи с крупными перебросками германцев на Русский фронт, ознаменовалась встречными сражениями в Польше и временной стабилизацией фронта.

Русские войска разрушили стратегическое планирование противника, и австро-германцы были вынуждены уделять все большее внимание Русскому фронту. Территориальный аспект стратегической обстановки также благоприятствовал русским: к концу года удалось овладеть большей частью Восточной Пруссии (до Мазурских озер) и Галицией с потерей левобережной (применительно к р. Висла) Польши. То есть, глубина «Польского выступа» уменьшилась, что имело положительное значение для планирования будущих операций.

Высший германский генералитет связывал с неудачами 1914 года начало позиционной войны (что означало грядущую катастрофу) и призывал свое государственное руководство к заключению сепаратного мира. Как считал Э. Фалькенгайн, если бы военно-политическое руководство страны нашло путь к достижению соглашению с противником - к этому следовало прибегнуть. Ведь события на Марне и в Галиции очень изменили положение Германского блока [19].

Э. фон Людендорф также отмечал, что кампания 14 года не принесла желаемых результатов [20].

В этой кампании русская армия добилась окружения крупной группировки противника. Были выработаны эффективные приемы борьбы в условиях оперативного полуокружения - и в Лодзинской, и в Сарыкамышской операциях отступление полуокруженных русских соединений могло превратиться в катастрофу - только активные действия против флангов группировки противника вкупе с жесткой обороной принесли желаемый результат.

Знаковым является и мнение Э. фон Фалькенгайна, засвидетельствовавшего тот факт, что германское командование не предвидело необходимости крупных перебросок на Русский фронт, что также явилось чрезвычайно негативным фактором стратегического характера - вырисовывалась растущая необходимость поддержать союзника. Германское командование не планировало перебросок и до последнего противилось их осуществлению. По свидетельству Э. фон Фалькенгайна, ему пришлось отказаться от весьма перспективного плана прорвать Французский фронт в Артуа и Пикардии, но эту мысль он отбросил т. к. для ее реализации не хватало сил - после того, как все резервы (и живая сила, и боеприпасы) были истрачены на Восточном фронте.

Восточно-Прусская и Галицийская операции сорвали германское и австрийское стратегические планирования, привели к постепенной стабилизации Французского и Сербского фронтов. Осенние операции в Польше и Восточной Пруссии сказались на окончательной стабилизации Французского фронта. Надежды немцев удержать восточные рубежи силами преимущественно австрийских войск провалились – очевидна тенденция постепенного наращивания германского военного присутствия на Восточном фронте.

В 1914 г. Россия на сложившихся ТВД Восточного фронта сорвала планы противника в рамках одной кампании реализовать свое стратегическое планирование. Учитывая вступление в силу долговременных факторов ресурсного превосходства Антанты, Россия сыграла ключевую роль в приближении грядущей победы блока. С конца кампании 1914 г. поражение Германии и ее союзников стало лишь вопросом времени.

Примечания

15. Ченстохово-Краковская операция - между 4-й и 9-й армиями ЮЗФ (ген. от артил. Н. И. Иванов) в составе 9 арм. корпусов (около 270000 чел., свыше 1200 ор.) и австро-венгерскими 1-й и 4-й армиями (ген. кавал. В. Данкль и ген. пехоты И. Фердинанд - 8 арм. корпусов - свыше 300000 чел., до 1300 ор.). Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd 6. Berlin, 1929; Стратегический очерк. Ч. 2.
16. Между австро-венгерскими 1-й, 2-й, 3-й, 4-й армиями при поддержке армейских групп К. Пфланцер-Балтина и Р. Войрша (ген. пехоты граф Ф. Конрад фон Гетцендорф; 18 арм. корпусов, 10 кд – около 600000 чел., около 2600 ор.) и 3-й, 4-й, 8-й, 9-й, 11-й армиями ЮЗФ (ген. от артил. Н. И. Иванов; 23 арм. корпуса (считая 2 дивизии за корпус), 14 кд; около 750000 чел., 2300 ор.). Österreich-Ungarns Letzter Krieg 1914 -1918. Bd. II. Wien, 1931; Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg. Вd 6.
17. Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg. Вd. 6. S. 360.
18. Между Кавказской армией (формально – ген. от кавал. граф И. И. Воронцов-Дашков; 120000 чел., 304 ор.) и турецкой 3-й армией (формально – ген.-лейт. Гассан-Иззет паша; 150000 чел., 300 ор.). Масловский Е. В. Мировая война на Кавказском фронте; Сарыкамышская операция 12 - 24 декабря 1914 г. (некоторые документы); Корсун Н. Г. Сарыкамышская операция; он же. Первая мировая война на Кавказском фронте.
19. Фалькенгайн Э. Верховное командование 1914—1916 в его важнейших решениях. М., 1923. С. 32.
20. Людендорф Э. Мои воспоминания о войне 1914—1918 гг. М. – Мн., 2005. С. 113.
Автор:
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Ольгович
    Ольгович 24 октября 2017 06:34 Новый
    +14
    Стратегически и оперативно Кавказский фронт почти всегда был победоносен.

    Да, так врезали туркам, что они и в ВМВ не решились напасть.
    Такой протяженной линии фронта, какая была у России в Вторую Отечественную, не было ни у кого никогда- от Северного Ледовитого океана ( Флотилия Северного Ледовитого океана) и до Индийского океана (Месопотамия)..
    Тем не менее, Россия-справилась.
  2. XII легион
    XII легион 24 октября 2017 06:49 Новый
    +20
    Да, Россия 3,5 года удерживала фронт от Балтики до Черного моря протяженностью почти 2000 км (не считая 1,1 тыс. км Кавказского фронта) против Германской, Оттоманской и Австро-Венгерской империй. На Французском фронте (от Ла-Манша до Швейцарии) на 630-км фронте против одной германской армии были сосредоточены объединенные вооруженные силы Франции, Англии, Бельгии, которые с 1917 г. были усилены американской армией.
    Напряжение серьезное, но Россия справилась
    Спасибо
  3. ПоручикТетеринъ
    ПоручикТетеринъ 24 октября 2017 06:50 Новый
    +17
    Замечательная, объективная и информативная статья. Провал австро-германского плана войны действительно был обусловлен не в последнюю очередь действиями русской армии, что признавалось и самими немцами, и французами. Автору--моя искренняя признательность за проделанный труд!
  4. Серж72
    Серж72 24 октября 2017 11:51 Новый
    +18
    Европейские ТВД русской армии и их взаимосвязь. Мы специально оставили интересный комментарий военного журналиста к этой иллюстрации

    Очень интересно
    Понятна и взаимосвязь между ТВД. Польша была связующим звеном между Галицией и Восточной Пруссией. А Восточная Пруссия и Галиция обеспечивали фланги "польского балкона". Понятно теперь и почему проводились операции на флангах - в Восточной Пруссии и Галиции. Для гарантии "Передового театра" то бишь "польского балкона".
    Интересно архивное фото
    Ведут колонну пленных немцев, взятых под крепостью Осовец. Осень 1914 г. Фото ГАСО (Государственный архив Саратовской области)

    Я так понимаю публикуется впервые
    1. OAV09081974
      24 октября 2017 16:07 Новый
      +17
      Да, уважаемый Серж72
      Копировал в Саратовском архиве - со всеми сопутствующими организационными и пр. радостями.

      Получилась интересная фото-серия
      1. Кошница
        Кошница 25 октября 2017 12:28 Новый
        +10
        Респектище, автор!
        Так и держать, за молодецкий ввод новых фотоматериалов отдельное спасибо!
  5. Какой-то Компот
    Какой-то Компот 24 октября 2017 13:41 Новый
    +17
    Высший германский генералитет связывал с неудачами 1914 года начало позиционной войны (что означало грядущую катастрофу) и призывал свое государственное руководство к заключению сепаратного мира.

    Мир в конце 14-го не помешал ни нам б ни им
    Качественная статья
    Отрадно
  6. Главный Врач
    Главный Врач 29 октября 2017 18:49 Новый
    +15
    Историей Первой мировой очень интересуюсь
    Спасибо
    Надеюсь будет продолжение и за другие года