Military Review

The secret section of the Baltic

9



The Gubastov-Von Yagov Pact is not as well known as Molotov-Ribbentrop, but without the first there wouldn’t be a second.

Is in stories moments, the analogy between which suggests. Two secret protocols between Russia and Germany, signed at different times, essentially designated the spheres of influence of these powers in Eastern Europe, although the first, so-called Petersburg, seemed to be limited to the Baltic Sea. And another thing that unites both documents - they appeared on the eve of world wars.

The Petersburg Protocol, sometimes called the secret, 29 of October 1907, signed by Deputy Foreign Minister Konstantin Arkadyevich Gubastov and Gottlib von Yagov, who headed Germany’s Foreign Ministry in 1916, is now forgotten. To understand its meaning, we turn to that time. The international political conjuncture is determined by the confrontation of two alliances: on the one hand, the Entente, on the other, Germany with Austria-Hungary. In 1907, the world is divided between two blocks. However, until the beginning of the First World War, some coalition members will attempt to change the alignment. They are looking for a rapprochement with Russia, which would be an ally in the coming war, or at least neutral.

In the same 1907, 31 of August, Russia signed an agreement with England on the division of spheres of influence in Asia. In the Far East, the status quo is fixed with Japan. Germany’s attempts to embroil Russia with France do not bear fruit. And yet, despite the deterioration of relations, Berlin leaves no intention to draw Petersburg into the orbit of its policy.

In Russia and then there were sensible people who understood that the British are not going to fight on someone’s side. Formally, they are with us in the union. But their main goal is to start a war in which Germany and Russia must destroy each other. Alas, Nicholas II, fascinated by the British, did not listen to this opinion. But if Russia came out on the side of Germany or at least stay neutral, world history would have gone a different way ...

Under the Petersburg Protocol, the parties agreed to maintain the status quo on the Baltic Sea and mutually guarantee the inviolability of their possessions in this region. The document addressed the issue of the demilitarization of the Aland Islands and the neutrality of Sweden and Denmark, their territorial integrity. Yes, these are just some of the problems of the region that are not the most important for their time. “The Baltic Protocol was the most tangible result of all attempts of the Russian-German rapprochement after the end of the Russian-Japanese war (and up to 1910). The fruit is meager because the practical significance of the protocol turned out to be small, ”says“ History of Diplomacy ”(volume 2, p. 618). As for Russia, one can agree with the conclusion: it apparently did not have a desire to go into this question. But for Germany, the protocol was important at least in that it provided a calm preparation for war in order to expand the living space for the German nation.

Analyzing past treaties and agreements, you come to the conclusion that Russian diplomacy never deeply delved into the essence of such documents and often did not bring the matter to its logical end. What is our trouble.
Author:
Originator:
https://vpk-news.ru/articles/39518
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. antivirus
    antivirus 29 October 2017 07: 28 New
    0
    VBR did not declare the first war by anyone.
    DO NOT SIT ON A STUMP, DO NOT EAT A PIE.
    read about the bombing of Belgrade by Austria-Hungary and the answer of RI
  2. Cat
    Cat 29 October 2017 07: 37 New
    +6
    Such "twists and turns of history" convey to students and students of historical faculties. So there is a reminder of the pact to the place, although the contents could have been revealed more.
    Analyzing past treaties and agreements, you come to the conclusion that Russian diplomacy never deeply delved into the essence of such documents and often did not bring the matter to its logical end. What is our trouble.

    Partly agree, but in our situation, the policy was determined by the only person "Emperor Nicholas II." Above, the author gently noted that the "English always touched" the latter? I will answer more rudely "fool .... to the throne" is God's punishment for the people of the whole country. But Kaiser Wilhelm warned the "niece" do not interfere!
    But the "skilled" sovereign once again "intervened" having lost the country, family and his life.
    So to burn the desire to "blur" it would be better if I drank vodka and ran around the women, maybe we were more intact!
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 29 October 2017 08: 07 New
    +1
    In Russia, even then, there were sane people who understood that the British were not going to fight on any side. Formally, they are in union with us. But their main goal is to start a war in which Germany and Russia must destroy each other.
    ... What happened in the future ...
  4. Eurodav
    Eurodav 29 October 2017 08: 19 New
    0
    Quote: Kotischa
    Such "twists and turns of history" convey to students and students of historical faculties. So there is a reminder of the pact to the place, although the contents could have been revealed more.
    Analyzing past treaties and agreements, you come to the conclusion that Russian diplomacy never deeply delved into the essence of such documents and often did not bring the matter to its logical end. What is our trouble.

    Partly agree, but in our situation, the policy was determined by the only person "Emperor Nicholas II." Above, the author gently noted that the "English always touched" the latter? I will answer more rudely "fool .... to the throne" is God's punishment for the people of the whole country. But Kaiser Wilhelm warned the "niece" do not interfere!
    But the "skilled" sovereign once again "intervened" having lost the country, family and his life.
    So to burn the desire to "blur" it would be better if I drank vodka and ran around the women, maybe we were more intact!

    First of all, Nikill wasn’t a "little brother" of Willy .. Do you know the concept of "cousin"? Cousin is a cousin.
    George V was born on June 3, 1865 in Marlborough House (London); at baptism received the name Georg Friedrich Ernst Albert. His father is Edward VII, his mother is Alexandra of Denmark. She is the sister of Maria Fedorovna - the wife of the Russian Tsar Alexander III and the mother of the last Russian Emperor Nicholas II. George V was very outwardly similar to his cousin Nicholas II. The German emperor Wilhelm II was also brought to his cousin (Wilhelm, being the son of the English princess and German empress Victoria, was the grandson of the British Queen Victoria).
    And secondly, what does it mean that William warned not to intervene? Do you know the reason for the start of WWI? They all turned it in such a way that Nikolai ll could not help but intervene, from the word at all ... From that side, there were far from boobies ...
  5. Moore
    Moore 29 October 2017 10: 41 New
    0
    But for Germany, the protocol mattered, at least in that it provided calm preparations for war in order to expand living space for the German nation.

    What would change if there weren’t this protocol? Would Germany prepare for war restlessly?
    Analyzing past treaties and agreements, you come to the conclusion that Russian diplomacy never deeply delved into the essence of such documents and often did not bring the matter to its logical end. What is our trouble.

    If this remark also applies to the PMR, then I would like to understand: what has not been brought to the end there?
  6. Eight
    Eight 29 October 2017 11: 34 New
    +1
    One point that is in doubt.
    There is such a book.

    Collection of treaties of Russia with other states. 1856-1917 / Ed. E. A. Adamova, comp. I.V. Kozmenko. - M.: State Publishing House of Political Literature, 1952. - 464 p.
    1. Eight
      Eight 29 October 2017 11: 36 New
      +2
      In it on page 395 the specified protocol.
      1. The comment was deleted.
        1. The comment was deleted.
          1. Alex1117
            Alex1117 29 October 2017 13: 37 New
            +1
            So whoever wants to Wikipedia writes. There are literate articles, there is a purely political ordering, and there are frankly stupid ones.
            1. The comment was deleted.
  7. Gopnik
    Gopnik 30 October 2017 17: 50 New
    0
    "And if Russia had stood on the side of Germany, or at least had remained neutral, world history would have gone a different way ..."

    How could Russia side with Germany in the war that Germany declared to Russia ??? This England could sit out (which Germany was counting on), but did not do this, and fit into the war.

Военное обозрение

Секретный раздел Балтики

9



Пакт Губастова – фон Ягова не так известен как Молотова – Риббентропа, однако без первого не было бы и второго.

Есть в истории моменты, аналогия между которыми напрашивается. Два секретных протокола между Россией и Германией, подписанных в разное время, по сути обозначали сферы влияния этих держав в Восточной Европе, хотя первый, так называемый Петербургский, вроде как ограничивался Балтийским морем. И еще что роднит оба документа – они появились накануне мировых войн.

Петербургский протокол, иногда называемый секретным, 29 октября 1907 года подписанный замминистра иностранных дел Константином Аркадьевичем Губастовым и Готлибом фон Яговым, возглавившим в 1916-м МИД Германии, сегодня забыт. Чтобы понять его значение, обратимся к тому времени. Международную политическую конъюнктуру определяет противоборство двух альянсов: с одной стороны – Антанта, с другой – Германия с Австро-Венгрией. В 1907 году мир оказывается разделенным между двумя блоками. Однако вплоть до начала Первой мировой некоторые участники коалиций будут предпринимать попытки изменить расклад. Они ищут сближения с Россией, которая была бы союзником в грядущей войне или по крайней мере нейтральной.

В том же 1907-м 31 августа Россией было подписано соглашение с Англией о разделе сфер влияния в Азии. На Дальнем Востоке закреплен статус-кво с Японией. Попытки Германии поссорить Россию с Францией не приносят плодов. И все же, несмотря на ухудшение отношений, Берлин не оставляет намерений втянуть Петербург в орбиту своей политики.

В России и тогда были здравомыслящие люди, понимавшие, что британцы не собираются воевать на чьей-то стороне. Формально они с нами в союзе. Но их основная цель – развязать войну, в которой Германия и Россия должны уничтожить друг друга. Увы, Николай II, очарованный англичанами, не прислушивался к такому мнению. А выступи Россия на стороне Германии или хотя бы останься нейтральной, мировая история пошла бы иным путем…

По Петербургскому протоколу стороны согласились сохранять статус-кво на Балтийском море и взаимно гарантировать неприкосновенность своих владений в этом регионе. В документе затрагивался вопрос о демилитаризации Аландских островов и нейтралитете Швеции и Дании, их территориальной целостности. Да, это лишь некоторые, не самые важные для своего времени проблемы региона. «Балтийский протокол явился наиболее осязаемым плодом всех попыток русско-германского сближения после окончания Русско-японской войны (и вплоть до 1910 г.). Плодом скудным, ибо практическое значение протокола оказалось невелико», – гласит «История дипломатии» (том 2, стр. 618). Что касается России, с выводом можно согласиться: у нее, видимо, не было желания углубляться в этот вопрос. Но для Германии протокол имел значение по меньшей мере в том, что обеспечил спокойную подготовку к войне с целью расширения жизненного пространства для немецкой нации.

Разбирая прошлые договоры и соглашения, приходишь к выводу, что русская дипломатия никогда глубоко не вникала в сущность такого рода документов и зачастую не доводила дела до логического конца. В чем и есть наша беда.
Автор:
Первоисточник:
https://vpk-news.ru/articles/39518
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. антивирус
    антивирус 29 октября 2017 07:28 Новый
    0
    ВБр не объявляла первой войну никомУ.
    НЕ САДИСЬ НА ПЕНЕК, НЕ ЕШЬ ПИРОЖЁК.
    читайте про бомбардировку Белграда Австро-Венгрией и ответ РИ
  2. Котище
    Котище 29 октября 2017 07:37 Новый
    +6
    Подобные "выверты истории"доносят до студентов и слушателей исторических факультетов. Так что напоминание о пакте к месту, хотя содержание можно было-бы раскрыть и побольше.
    Разбирая прошлые договоры и соглашения, приходишь к выводу, что русская дипломатия никогда глубоко не вникала в сущность такого рода документов и зачастую не доводила дела до логического конца. В чем и есть наша беда.

    Отчасти согласен, но в нашей ситуации политику определял единственный человек "Император Николай II". Выше Автор мягко заметил, что "англичание всегда умиляли" последнего? Я отвечу более грубо "дур....к на престоле" это божья кара для народа всей страны. А ведь кайзер Вильгельм предупреждал "племяшку" не вмешивайся!
    Но "умеленный" государь в очередной раз "вмешался" потеряв страну, семью и свою жизнь.
    Так и горить желание "брякнут" лучше бы водку пил и по бабам бегал, авось мы целее были!
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 29 октября 2017 08:07 Новый
    +1
    В России и тогда были здравомыслящие люди, понимавшие, что британцы не собираются воевать на чьей-то стороне. Формально они с нами в союзе. Но их основная цель – развязать войну, в которой Германия и Россия должны уничтожить друг друга.
    ...Что и произошло в дальнейшем...
  4. Евродав
    Евродав 29 октября 2017 08:19 Новый
    0
    Цитата: Котище
    Подобные "выверты истории"доносят до студентов и слушателей исторических факультетов. Так что напоминание о пакте к месту, хотя содержание можно было-бы раскрыть и побольше.
    Разбирая прошлые договоры и соглашения, приходишь к выводу, что русская дипломатия никогда глубоко не вникала в сущность такого рода документов и зачастую не доводила дела до логического конца. В чем и есть наша беда.

    Отчасти согласен, но в нашей ситуации политику определял единственный человек "Император Николай II". Выше Автор мягко заметил, что "англичание всегда умиляли" последнего? Я отвечу более грубо "дур....к на престоле" это божья кара для народа всей страны. А ведь кайзер Вильгельм предупреждал "племяшку" не вмешивайся!
    Но "умеленный" государь в очередной раз "вмешался" потеряв страну, семью и свою жизнь.
    Так и горить желание "брякнут" лучше бы водку пил и по бабам бегал, авось мы целее были!

    Во-первых Никиll не был " племяшкой" Вили..Понятие " кузен" вам знакомо? Кузен - двоюродный брат.
    Георг V родился 3 июня 1865 в Мальборо-хаусе (Лондон) ; при крещении получил имя Георг Фридрих Эрнст Альберт. Его отец — Эдуард VII, мать — Александра Датская. Она приходится родной сестрой Марии Фёдоровне — супруге российского царя Александра III и матери последнего российского императора Николая II. Георг V был очень внешне схож со своим двоюродным братом Николаем II. Германский император Вильгельм II тоже доводился ему двоюродным братом (Вильгельм, будучи сыном английской принцессы и германской императрицы Виктории, был внуком британской королевы Виктории).
    А во-вторых, что значит, Вильгельм предупреждал, чтоб не вмешивался? Вы знаете причину начала ПМВ? Все провернули так, что Николай ll не мог не вмешаться, от слова совсем... С той стороны далеко не олухи сидели...
  5. Мур
    Мур 29 октября 2017 10:41 Новый
    0
    Но для Германии протокол имел значение по меньшей мере в том, что обеспечил спокойную подготовку к войне с целью расширения жизненного пространства для немецкой нации.

    Что бы изменилось, не будь этого протокола? Германия готовилась бы к войне неспокойно?
    Разбирая прошлые договоры и соглашения, приходишь к выводу, что русская дипломатия никогда глубоко не вникала в сущность такого рода документов и зачастую не доводила дела до логического конца. В чем и есть наша беда.

    Если это замечание и к ПМР, то хотелось бы понять: там что до конца не доведено?
  6. Eight
    Eight 29 октября 2017 11:34 Новый
    +1
    Один моммент, который вызывает сомнения.
    Есть вот такая книга.

    Сборник договоров России с другими государствами. 1856-1917 / Под ред. Е. А. Адамова, сост. И. В. Козьменко. — М.: Государственное издательство политической литературы, 1952. — 464 с.
    1. Eight
      Eight 29 октября 2017 11:36 Новый
      +2
      В ней на стр.395 указанный протокол.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
        1. Комментарий был удален.
          1. Alex1117
            Alex1117 29 октября 2017 13:37 Новый
            +1
            Так в Викопедию кто что хочет - тот и пишет. Бывают грамотные статьи, бывает чисто политическая заказуха, а бывают откровенно дурацкие.
            1. Комментарий был удален.
  7. Гопник
    Гопник 30 октября 2017 17:50 Новый
    0
    "А выступи Россия на стороне Германии или хотя бы останься нейтральной, мировая история пошла бы иным путем…"

    Как Россия могла выступить на стороне Германии в войне, которую Германия объявила России??? Это Англия могла отсидеться (на что Германия и рассчитывала), но не стала этого делать, и вписалась в войну.