Military Review

Napoleons of anti-communism

7



October 26 The 1942 of Florin concluded an agreement on the coordination of the actions of the liberation armies of Greece (ELAS), Yugoslavia (NOAA) and Albania (NOAA). It was signed by Arso Jovanovic (Yugoslavia), Elas Veluhiotis (Greece) and Enver Hoxha (Albania). The main task of the document was to create a corridor free of occupants: the Albanian Adriatic - southern Macedonia - northern Greece (Thessaloniki region) with the simultaneous release of Crete and the Peloponnese peninsula with the participation of the Anglo-American special groups.

These territories were preparing for the Allied landing, which was expected after the victory over the Italian-German forces at El Alamein (North Africa). In the future, it was planned to launch the combined forces of the partisans and the Anglo-American units on Sofia, Tirana, Athens and in the direction of Belgrade. True, all these were the intentions of the leadership of the liberation armies of Yugoslavia, Greece and Albania.

What was promised

The command of the Anglo-American troops in Egypt more than once assured the Balkan partisans of the operational redeployment of part of their troops from Egypt and reinforcements from British Cyprus to the south of the peninsula.

The leaders of the liberation armies called on the Western allies to take decisive joint actions in the region in October-November 1942, because, firstly, the main German-Italian forces were stuck at Stalingrad and, secondly, military activity in Hitler’s rear would accelerate the Red Army’s victory . However, allies often have different tasks.

Yes, the victory of El Alamein (November 11 1942 of the year) freed up a significant part of the forces of Great Britain and the United States, together with their Navy and Air Force. But the Western allies did not hasten to actively cooperate with the communist and pro-communist armed formations of Yugoslavia, Greece and Albania. The people's armies, which ultimately played a large role in the liberation from occupation, were viewed in Washington and London as an obstacle to the plans to restore pro-Western monarchist regimes in the Balkans. Therefore, the successful initial joint actions of ELAS, NOAJ and NOAA were not supported by active operations of the Western allies. Those decided to limit themselves to the periodic bombardment of the positions of the Italian-German forces and several air operations to supply the liberation armies. After El Alamein, the Allies attacked Libya at that time in Italy, while at the same time a landing operation “Fakel” was in Algeria and Morocco, aimed at connecting with the eastern grouping in French Tunisia.
As a result, a pass-through corridor in the south and south-west of the Balkans could not be created by the end of 1942. This happened only two years later, when Italy was already out of the war, and the German units began to hastily evacuate from Greece, Albania, and from the south of Yugoslavia.

What did

In September, a British sabotage group was deployed from Cyprus to the Peloponnese in Peloponnese, but it interacted mainly with the monarchist group "National Republican Greek League" (EDES) of General Napoleon Zervas. Although its strength was four times smaller than the ELAS, it was this “league” and its associated combat units that already in the spring of 1942 with the participation of British commandos and encouraged by the German authorities provoked the outbreak of a civil war, which ended again with the help of the British (in 1943 – 1944- m) unbridled terror against the Communists and their sympathizers.

Zervas himself admitted that the restoration of the anti-communist monarchy was discussed in 1943 – 1944 even with the German occupiers, since they were potentially ready to cooperate with London in the struggle against the communist underground and ELAS. The similar contacts of the British emissary in Albania (1943 – 1944) by Colonel D. McLean with the same “super task” are mentioned by Hodge in his memoir book “Imperialism and Revolution” (Tirana, 1977, Russian).

Balkan Stalingrad in the autumn of 1942 did not take place only because of the two-faced policy of the Western allies, who had "their own views" in the region. However, the same happened in April-May of 1941, when Yugoslavia and Greece, delaying Nazi aggression against the USSR, fought against the German-Italian forces. London first assured Belgrade and Athens in an ambulance large-scale operation in the Balkans and on the South African islands of the Dodecanese that belonged to Italy. But the British troops who landed near Athens, on the Peloponnese and Crete in mid-March - early April 1941, almost immediately abandoned the defense of the Greek capital, the offensive in the direction of Albania with Yugoslavia and the operation on the Dodecanese islands. And in Crete, from the middle of May, the “strange war” of the British against Germany was repeated (in September, 1939, March and 1940), which soon led to the occupation of the whole of Greece. The despicable policy of London provoked a series of suicides of officers and soldiers of the Greek and Yugoslav troops.
Author:
Originator:
https://vpk-news.ru/articles/39516
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 28 October 2017 16: 14
    +5
    [b
    ] the Western allies were in no hurry to actively cooperate with the communist and pro-communist armed groups of Yugoslavia, Greece and Albania.
    [/b.BIZ... Something reminds of events in Syria ..
  2. polpot
    polpot 28 October 2017 19: 07
    +2
    The point is not the meanness of the British, but the fact that they play for themselves, and we need to learn this for ourselves, because for centuries we have shed blood for the interests of the southern Slavs and earlier the Greeks and we always get very little benefit from them for our interests
  3. Amurets
    Amurets 29 October 2017 00: 40
    0
    Zervas himself admitted that the restoration of the anti-communist monarchy was discussed in 1943 – 1944 even with the German occupiers, since they were potentially ready to cooperate with London in the struggle against the communist underground and ELAS. The similar contacts of the British emissary in Albania (1943 – 1944) by Colonel D. McLean with the same “super task” are mentioned by Hodge in his memoir book “Imperialism and Revolution” (Tirana, 1977, Russian).

    How it all looks, all over Europe. In the south are described episodes, In the north are “The Army of Craiova” and “Forest Brothers”. And the most vile thing is to substitute the allies and enter paradise on someone else's hump.
    1. Cat Marquis
      Cat Marquis 29 October 2017 06: 29
      +2
      Allegedly, Zhukov said that it was necessary to suspend the actions of the Soviet troops when the Germans began to cover the allies in the Ardennes and wait for the Germans to pile on them more, they would be more accommodating after that. The fact that they managed to intimidate Stalin with the consequences of a possible defeat in the Ardennes, such as the possible conclusion of a separate peace with the Germans, is the undoubted success of their foreign ministry.
      1. Amurets
        Amurets 29 October 2017 07: 26
        0
        Quote: Cat Marquis
        Allegedly, Zhukov said that it was necessary to suspend the actions of the Soviet troops when the Germans began to cover the allies in the Ardennes and wait for the Germans to pile on them more, they would be more accommodating after that.

        Maybe. In this regard, a book by P.M. Mikhailov is indicative. "10 hours in the air." The “In the Far Land” section is about the actions of our aviation in supporting the Yugoslav partisans of the Tito army. How the Western Allies "helped" Tito’s army.
      2. verner1967
        verner1967 30 October 2017 20: 56
        0
        Quote: Cat Marquis
        Allegedly Zhukov said

        Yes, yes, it was “supposedly”))) the Allies themselves managed.
  4. Catfish
    Catfish 11 July 2018 23: 33
    +1
    Quote: verner1967
    Quote: Cat Marquis
    Allegedly Zhukov said

    Yes, yes, it was “supposedly”))) the Allies themselves managed.


    They managed it themselves, the weather improved, the allied aviation began to work, and the Germans had nothing to oppose it. hi
    And as for British politics in the Balkans, and indeed in relation to Russia: even officers of the tsarist army used to say that "an Englishwoman always shits". She spoils now, she has such incontinence. soldier

Военное обозрение

Наполеоны антикоммунизма

7



26 октября 1942 года во Флорине было заключено соглашение о координации действий освободительных армий Греции (ЭЛАС), Югославии (НОАЮ) и Албании (НОАА). Его подписали Арсо Йованович (Югославия), Элас Велухиотис (Греция) и Энвер Ходжа (Албания). В качестве главной задачи документ предусматривал создание свободного от оккупантов коридора: албанская Адриатика – южная Македония – северная Греция (район Салоник) с одновременным освобождением при участии англо-американских спецгрупп Крита и полуострова Пелопоннес.

Эти территории готовились к высадке союзников, ожидавшейся после победы над итало-германскими войсками у Эль-Аламейна (Северная Африка). В дальнейшем планировалось наступление объединенных сил партизан и англо-американских частей на Софию, Тирану, Афины и в направлении Белграда. Правда, все это были намерения руководства освободительных армий Югославии, Греции и Албании.

Что обещали

Командование англо-американских войск в Египте не единожды заверяло балканских партизан в оперативной передислокации на юг полуострова части своих войск из Египта и подкреплений с британского Кипра.

Руководители освободительных армий призывали западных союзников к решительным совместным действиям в регионе в октябре-ноябре 1942-го, поскольку, во-первых, основные германо-итальянские силы увязли под Сталинградом и, во-вторых, военная активность в гитлеровском тылу ускорила бы победу Красной армии. Однако у союзников нередко бывают разные задачи.

Да, победа у Эль-Аламейна (11 ноября 1942 года) высвободила значительную часть войск Великобритании и США вкупе с их ВМС и ВВС. Но активно взаимодействовать с коммунистическими и прокоммунистическими вооруженными формированиями Югославии, Греции и Албании западные союзники не спешили. Народные армии, в итоге сыгравшие большую роль в освобождении от оккупации, рассматривались в Вашингтоне и Лондоне как препятствие планам по реставрации на Балканах прозападных монархических режимов. Поэтому успешные поначалу совместные действия ЭЛАС, НОАЮ и НОАА не были поддержаны активными операциями западных союзников. Те решили ограничиться периодическими бомбардировками позиций итало-германских войск и несколькими воздушными операциями по снабжению освободительных армий. После Эль-Аламейна союзники наступали в итальянской на тот период Ливии, одновременно в Алжире и Марокко шла десантная операция «Факел», нацеленная на соединение с восточной группировкой во французском Тунисе.
В результате сквозной коридор на юге и юго-западе Балкан к концу 1942-го создать не удалось. Это свершилось лишь двумя годами позже, когда Италия уже вышла из войны, а германские части стали спешно эвакуироваться из Греции, Албании и с юга Югославии.

Что сделали

В сентябре 1942 года на Пелопоннес была переброшена с Кипра британская диверсионная группа, но она взаимодействовала в основном с монархической группировкой «Национально-республиканская греческая лига» (ЭДЕС) генерала Наполеона Зерваса. Хотя ее численность была вчетверо меньше ЭЛАС, именно эта «лига» и связанные с ней боевые отряды уже весной 1943 года при участии британских коммандос и поощряемые германскими властями спровоцировали начало гражданской войны, которая завершилась с помощью опять-таки англичан (в 1944–1946-м) разнузданным террором против коммунистов и сочувствующих им.

Сам Зервас признавал, что реставрация антикоммунистической монархии обсуждалась в 1943–1944 годах даже с германскими оккупантами, так как те потенциально были готовы сотрудничать с Лондоном в борьбе с коммунистическим подпольем и ЭЛАС. О схожих контактах британского эмиссара в Албании (1943–1944) полковника Д. Маклина с той же «сверхзадачей» упоминает Ходжа в мемуарной книге «Империализм и революция» (Тирана, 1977, русск. яз.).

Балканский Сталинград осенью 1942 года не состоялся только из-за двуличной политики западных союзников, имевших «свои виды» в регионе. Впрочем, то же было и в апреле-мае 1941-го, когда Югославия и Греция, оттягивая нацистскую агрессию против СССР, сражались против германо-итальянских войск. Лондон вначале заверял Белград и Афины в скорой масштабной операции на Балканах и на принадлежавших Италии южноэгейских островах Додеканес. Но британские войска, высадившиеся было вблизи Афин, на Пелопоннесе и Крите в середине марта – начале апреля 1941 года, почти сразу отказались от обороны греческой столицы, от наступления в направлении Албании с Югославией и от операции на островах Додеканес. А на Крите уже с середины мая повторялась «странная война» британцев против Германии (в сентябре 1939-го – марте 1940-го), что вскоре привело к оккупации всей Греции. Подлая политика Лондона спровоцировала череду самоубийств офицеров и солдат греческих и югославских войск.
Автор:
Первоисточник:
https://vpk-news.ru/articles/39516
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 28 октября 2017 16:14
    +5
    [b
    ]активно взаимодействовать с коммунистическими и прокоммунистическими вооруженными формированиями Югославии, Греции и Албании западные союзники не спешили.
    [/b]...Чем то события в Сирии напоминает..
  2. polpot
    polpot 28 октября 2017 19:07
    +2
    Дело не в подлости англичан а в том что они играют за себя и для себя этому надо учится а то мы столетиями проливали кровь за интересы южных словян а раньше и греков и всегда получаем от них очень мало пользы для своих интересов
  3. амурец
    амурец 29 октября 2017 00:40
    0
    Сам Зервас признавал, что реставрация антикоммунистической монархии обсуждалась в 1943–1944 годах даже с германскими оккупантами, так как те потенциально были готовы сотрудничать с Лондоном в борьбе с коммунистическим подпольем и ЭЛАС. О схожих контактах британского эмиссара в Албании (1943–1944) полковника Д. Маклина с той же «сверхзадачей» упоминает Ходжа в мемуарной книге «Империализм и революция» (Тирана, 1977, русск. яз.).

    Как это всё похоже, по всей Европе. На юге описанные эпизоды, На севере "Армия Крайова" и "Лесные братья". И самое подлое, это подставить союзников и на чужом горбу въехать в рай.
    1. Кот Маркиз
      Кот Маркиз 29 октября 2017 06:29
      +2
      Якобы Жуков говорил, что надо было приостановить действия советских войск когда немцы начали чехвостить союзников в Арденнах и подождать чтобы немцы им больше наваляли-сговорчивее бы они были после этого. То что им удалось запугать Сталина последствиями возможного поражения в Арденнах-типа возможным заключением сепаратного мира с немцами-несомненный успех ихнего внешнеполитического ведомства.
      1. амурец
        амурец 29 октября 2017 07:26
        0
        Цитата: Кот Маркиз
        Якобы Жуков говорил, что надо было приостановить действия советских войск когда немцы начали чехвостить союзников в Арденнах и подождать чтобы немцы им больше наваляли-сговорчивее бы они были после этого.

        Возможно. В этом отношении показательна книга П.М.Михайлова. "10 000 часов в воздухе." Раздел "В лалёких краях" это о действиях нашей авиации по поддержке югославских партизан армии Тито. Как западные союзники "помогали" армии Тито.
      2. verner1967
        verner1967 30 октября 2017 20:56
        0
        Цитата: Кот Маркиз
        Якобы Жуков говорил,

        Да да, именно "якобы" ))) Союзники сами справились.
  4. Морской Кот
    Морской Кот 11 июля 2018 23:33
    +1
    Цитата: verner1967
    Цитата: Кот Маркиз
    Якобы Жуков говорил,

    Да да, именно "якобы" ))) Союзники сами справились.


    Сами и справились, погода наладилась, стала работать союзная авиация, а немцам уже нечего было ей противопоставить. hi
    А насчёт британской политики на Балканах, да и вообще в отношении России: ещё офицеры царской армии говаривали, что "англичанка всегда гадит". Она гадит и сейчас, такое у неё недержание. soldier