Military Review

Farewell visit

6



October 24 1917 of the year, the Austro-Hungarian army of Field Marshal Boroevich, reinforced by the German contingent under the command of General Belov, began the last stories Austrian Empire Italian campaign. And just a year later, unable to withstand the strain of world war, the empire collapsed and crumbled.

But then, in the autumn of 17, the Austrians triumphed, not knowing that this was their last triumph. In just two weeks, they and their German allies managed to literally powder the Italian army and capture all northeastern Italy with minimal losses.

Italians have lost 13 thousands of people killed, 30 thousands - wounded and 265 thousands of prisoners, that is, for each killed there were more than 20 who surrendered. In the history of wars such a ratio is rarely found. Approximately another 50 of thousands of soldiers deserted and they were then caught for a long time all over the country, right up to Sicily.

Material losses accounted for 3152 guns, 1732 mortars, more than 3000 machine guns, over 300 thousands of rifles, 1600 cars, 73000 horse-drawn carts, 150 airplanes and a half million projectiles. Almost all of this was abandoned during a hasty retreat, which soon took to flight, and in the end went to the winners. The Austrians and Germans lost only five thousand people killed and missing, and about 45 thousands lost - wounded, contused and sick.

This was the result of the battle, called the “Battle of Kaporetto,” after the name of an alpine town, near which the Austrians of October 24 struck the first blow and broke through the front. In the 19th century, among the West European soldiers, there was a joke: "God created the Italian army only so that the Austrian could at least win over someone." Caporetto gave this malicious joke a brilliant confirmation.

The British and French, seriously concerned about the defeat of their Mediterranean allies, had to urgently redeploy 11 divisions to Italy, thanks to which the advance of the German-Austrian troops managed to stop 9 November at the turn of the Piave river. The front there has stabilized for more than six months. During this time, the Italians managed to recover from the shock, assemble and arm a new army. and also - to build a powerful and deeply echeloned defense on the southern coast of Piave.

When in June 1918 of the Austrians, re-gathering their strength, but without the help of the Germans tried to strike a new blow, they suffered a setback. The offensive was repulsed with heavy losses, in 10 times the losses of the Austrian army under Caporetto. However, this is another story.

On the screen saver - an Austrian soldier poses near a captured Italian 305-millimeter howitzer. Next is the traditional fad of illustrations. Note: among them there are pictures related to the category 18 +.



The map of the battle of Caporetto from the Military Encyclopedia.



Austrian commander-in-chief field marshal Svetozar Boroevich, commander of German troops on the Italian front, General Otto von Belov and Italian commander-in-chief Marshal Luigi Cadorna. After the disaster at Caporetto he was removed from office and dismissed.



Field observation post of General Belov.



German soldiers in the dugout before the attack.



Austrian infantrymen from landsturm and mountain rangers who played an important role in the breakthrough of the Italian front.



Left: the mountain war in the Alps had its own specifics. Sometimes it was necessary to deliver guns to firing positions by climbing methods. Right: Lieutenant Erwin Rommel, who distinguished himself in the battle of Kaporetto. But his finest hour is still far ahead.



An Austrian heavy long-range gun on a stationary carriage of a marine sample is preparing to open fire.



On the Italian positions captured by the Austrians.



Another shot taken in the Italian trench captured by the Austrians or Germans and the Italian self-propelled gun on a car chassis that fell from the bridge during the retreat.



Defeated Italian wagon train.



Austrians with Italian flamethrowers and trench bombers.



Austrians with captive Italians drink trophy wine.



One of the camps of Italian prisoners of war captured in the Battle of Caporetto.
Author:
Originator:
https://vikond65.livejournal.com/681452.html
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 5 November 2017 07: 46
    +2
    Thank you for the photos, and just recently, there were already detailed articles on VO on this topic ...
  2. igordok
    igordok 5 November 2017 09: 06
    +2
    In the photo "German soldiers in the dugout before the attack.", The soldiers have gas masks ready. Have there been any cases of the use of chemical weapons on an alpine theater?
    1. NIKNN
      NIKNN 5 November 2017 13: 40
      +3
      Quote: igordok
      Have there been any cases of the use of chemical weapons on an alpine theater?

      Yes, in the articles about this battle (not long ago right there) it was written that the Austrians used XO.
  3. NIKNN
    NIKNN 5 November 2017 13: 41
    +3
    lost total five thousand people killed
    When I use the word "total" in relation to the calculation of human lives, it always warps ...
  4. 32363
    32363 5 November 2017 14: 01
    +2

    why was it dragged interesting?
    1. Krasnodar
      Krasnodar 5 November 2017 23: 51
      +1
      Quote: 32363

      why was it dragged interesting?

      Most likely brandies, than something else

Прощальный визит



24 октября 1917 года, австро-венгерская армия фельдмаршела Бороевича, усиленная немецким контингентом под командованием генерала Белова, начала последний в истории Австрийской империи итальянский поход. А всего через год, не выдержав напряжения мировой войны, империя рухнула и рассыпалась.


Но тогда, осенью 17-го, австрийцы торжествовали победу, еще не зная, что это их последний триумф. Всего за две недели им и их германским союзникам удалось буквально стереть в порошок итальянскую армию и с минимальными потерями захватить всю северо-восточную Италию.

Итальянцы потеряли 13 тысяч человек убитыми, 30 тысяч - ранеными и 265 тысяч пленными, то есть, на каждого убитого приходилось более 20 сдавшихся в плен. В истории войн нечасто встречается такое соотношение. Еще примерно 50 тысяч солдат дезертировали и их потом долго отлавливали по всей стране, вплоть до Сицилии.

Материальные потери составляли 3152 орудия, 1732 миномета, более 3000 пулеметов, свыше 300 тысяч винтовок, 1600 автомобилей, 73000 конных повозок, 150 самолетов и полтора миллиона снарядов. Почти всё это было брошено при поспешном отступлении, вскоре перешедшем в бегство, и в итоге досталось победителям. Австрийцы и немцы потеряли всего пять тысяч человек убитыми и пропавшими без вести, а также около 45 тысяч - ранеными, контуженными и заболевшими.

Таков был итог сражения, получившего название "битва при Капоретто", по названию альпийского городка, возле которого австрийцы 24 октября нанесли первый удар и прорвали фронт. В XIX веке среди западноевропейских военных ходила шутка: "Бог создал итальянскую армию лишь для того, чтобы австрийская могла хоть кого-то побеждать". Капоретто дало этой ехидной шутке блестящее подтверждение.

Англичанам и французам, серьезно обеспокоенным разгромом их средиземноморских союзников, пришлось в срочном порядке перебросить в Италию 11 дивизий, благодаря которым продвижение германо-австрийских войск удалось остановить 9 ноября на рубеже реки Пьяве. Фронт там стабилизировался более чем на полгода. За это время итальянцы сумели оправиться от шока, собрать и вооружить новую армию. а также - построить на южном берегу Пьяве мощную и глубоко эшелонированную оборону.

Когда в июне 1918-го австрийцы, заново собравшись с силами, но уже без помощи немцев попытались нанести новый удар, их постигла неудача. Наступление было отбито с большими потерями, в 10 раз превышавшими потери австрийской армии при Капоретто. Однако это уже другая история.

На заставке - австрийский солдат позирует возле захваченной итальянской 305-миллиметровой гаубицы. Далее - традиционная побдорка иллюстраций. Внимание: среди них есть снимки, относящиеся к категории 18+.



Карта-схема битвы при Капоретто из Военной энциклопедии.



Австрийский главнокомандующий фельдмаршал Светозар Бороевич, командующий германскими войсками на Итальянском фронте генерал Отто фон Белов и итальянский главком маршал Луиджи Кадорна. После катастрофы у Капоретто его отстранили от должности и уволили в отставку.



Полевой наблюдательный пункт генерала Белова.



Немецкие солдаты в блиндаже перед атакой.



Австрийские пехотинцы из ландсштурма и горные егеря, сыгравшие важную роль в прорыве итальянского фронта.



Слева: горная война в Альпах имела свою специфику. Порой доставлять орудия на огневые позиции приходилось альпинистскими методами. Справа: отличившийся в битве при Капоретто лейтенант Эрвин Роммель. Но его звездный час еще далеко впереди.



Австрийское тяжелое дальнобойное орудие на стационарном лафете морского образца готовится открыть огонь.



На захваченных австрийцами итальянских позициях.



Еще один снимок, сделанной в захваченной австрийцами или немцами итальянской траншее и упавшее с моста при отступлении итальянское самоходное орудие на автомобильном шасси.



Разгромленный итальянский обоз.



Австрийцы с итальянскими огнеметами и траншейными бомбометами.



Австрийцы с пленными итальянцами пьют трофейное вино.



Один из лагерей итальянских военнопленных, захваченных в битве при Капоретто.
Автор:
Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник:
https://vikond65.livejournal.com/681452.html
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти