Military Review

The first attacks of robots

5



Exactly 100 years ago, the first relatively successful use of an unmanned remote-controlled combat vehicle against another military vehicle took place. The German high-speed hydrofoil Fernlenkbot, controlled by wire from the shore, rammed the English monitor Erebus, which participated in the blockade of the Belgian coast.

Range of this weapons was 20 kilometers - that was the length of the wire. However, at such a distance it is impossible to control a small 12-meter boat, it is simply lost sight of. Therefore, the attack was accompanied by a seaplane, from which data on the direction of the Fernlenkobot were transmitted by radio to the control panel. In accordance with these data, the operator made the course adjustment.

The system turned out to be quite complex and inertial, but it worked, the glider crashed into the "Erebus" right in the middle of the hull. The contact fuse blew up a 700-kilogram charge, but the monitor did not sink. He was saved by an anti-torpedo caisson reinforced along the side, which took up the energy of an explosion. "Erebus" under its own power went to the port for repairs.

FernLenkbot was developed at 1915 by Siemens. By order of the German Navy, in the same year, an experimental batch of 12 of such boats was built, some of which were sent to the western front - to Flanders, and the rest - to the eastern - to Kurland. The first attempt to use them was marked 24 on April 1916 of the year, but then, because of the steering failure, the boat had to be given a command to self-destruct.

25 September 1916 of the year in the next attack from the hydroplane stalled the engine and had to be destroyed again in order to avoid capture by the enemy. 1 March 1917 of the year - the first success, "Fernlenkbot", managed from the warship, undermined the British coastal battery guarding the entrance to the port of Newport. On September 6, another boat attacked a British blockade monitor, but was spotted on time and sunk by its quick-firing anti-mine guns. The attempt to ram the Russian destroyer in the Gulf of Riga, which was taken by 3 in November, also ended.

In 1918, the remaining “Fernlencotts” were converted to “pure” radio guidance from hydroplanes. The 25 in May was launched by a single attack of the "radio-cruiser", but it was unsuccessful due to the breakdown of the radio station on the gunner plane. Uncontrolled glider slipped past the target, and then self-killer worked on it.

In general, "Fernlenkoboty" significantly ahead of its time. The idea was good, but the lack of reliability of the then technology and the lack of time to debug it, did not allow this idea to be fully realized.
On the screen saver - the image of "Fernlenkobot", then - a drawing of "Erebus" with anti-torpedo caissons and a post-war snapshot of the same monitor without them.



Author:
Originator:
https://vikond65.livejournal.com/682602.html
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. andrewkor
    andrewkor 5 November 2017 07: 08 New
    +6
    Oh, and some like any little bit of innovation to call it a "combat robot." During the defense of St. Petersburg in 1854 land-based anti-ship landmines were also used (like Ferlenkbots), so they should be given priority to the Russian scientist Jacobi! Well, further on the chronology: German and Soviet radio tanks, Mistels in England and TB-3 in Keningsberg. inverted commas, it’s Kamikaze’s fighting robot, because this is no longer a man, but a destruction machine with a primitive brain! Until they create and use Artificial Intelligence personally, I refuse to call these worthy devices Robots in themselves!
  2. poquello
    poquello 5 November 2017 17: 28 New
    +2
    author smoke the word "robot"
  3. Curious
    Curious 5 November 2017 23: 31 New
    +2

    The Fern-Lerikboot boats (to tighten the German author so as not to mislead the reader) had a displacement of 6 tons, dimensions 13 x 1,86 x 0,66 m; two Maybach engines of 210 hp (second series - 230 hp each); speed of 28 knots (second series - 30 knots); they carried a 230-kg explosive charge (TNT). The torpedo boat was controlled from the shore through a thin electric cable 20 km (10,8 miles) long and weighing 800 kg in total.
    Where the author fished for information about a 700 kg charge is a mystery.
  4. shinobi
    shinobi 6 November 2017 05: 40 New
    +1
    Later, the radio guidance system was brought to mind and applied to V-1. In general, the Germans simply revived the idea of ​​“firewalls” only at a new level. With the advent of the first homing torpedoes, the idea died again.
  5. Tyomanator
    Tyomanator 9 November 2017 01: 56 New
    0
    Quote: Curious
    Boats Fern-lerikboot (tighten German to the author so as not to introduce the reader into mistaken)

    Is Lerikbot right here? Maybe it’s for you to tighten up German (along with Russian;)?
    Das Fernlenkboot, Kurz FL Genannt

Военное обозрение

Первые атаки роботов

5



Ровно 100 лет назад состоялось первое относительно успешное применение беспилотной дистанционно-управляемой боевой машины против другой военной машины. Германский скоростной глиссер "Фернленкбот", управляемый по проводу с берега, таранил английский монитор "Эребус", участвовавший в блокаде бельгийского побережья.

Дальность действия этого оружия составляла 20 километров - такова была длина провода. Однако на такой дистанции управлять небольшим 12-метровым катером невозможно, он просто теряется из виду. Поэтому атаку сопровождал гидросамолет, с которого по радио передавались на пульт управления данные о направлении движения "Фернленкбота". В соответствии с этими данными оператор осуществлял корректировку курса.

Система получилась довольно сложной и инерционной, но она сработала, глиссер врезался в "Эребус" прямо посередине корпуса. Контактный взрыватель подорвал 700-килограммовый заряд, однако монитор не затонул. Его спас укрепленный вдоль борта противоторпедный кессон, принявший на себя энергию взрыва. "Эребус" своим ходом ушел в порт на ремонт.

"Фернленкбот" был разработан в 1915 году на фирме "Сименс". По заказу германского ВМФ в том же году построили опытную партию из 12 таких катеров, часть из которых направили на западный фронт - во Фландрию, а остальные - на восточный - в Курляндию. Первая попытка их применения была отмечена еще 24 апреля 1916 года, но тогда из-за отказа рулевого управления катеру пришлось дать команду на самоликвидацию.

25 сентября 1916 года в очередной атаке у глиссера заглох мотор и его вновь пришлось уничтожить во избежание захвата противником. 1 марта 1917 года - первый успех, "Фернленкбот", управляемый с борта боевого корабля, подорвал английскую береговую батарею, охранявшую вход в порт Ньюпорта. 6 сентября еще один катер атаковал британский блокадный монитор, но был вовремя замечен и потоплен его скорострельными противоминными пушками. Так же закончилась предпринятая 3 ноября попытка таранить русский эсминец в Рижском заливе.

В 1918 году оставшиеся "Фернленкботы" переоборудовали под "чистое" радионаведение с гидропланов. 25 мая была предпринята единственная атака "радиоглиссера", но она не увенчалась успехом из-за поломки радиостанции на самолете-наводчике. Неуправляемый глиссер проскочил мимо цели, а потом на нем сработал самоликвидатор.

В общем, "Фернленкботы" значительно опередили свое время. Идея была хорошая, но недостаточная надежность тогдашней техники и нехватка времени на ее отладку, не позволила этой идее реализоваться в полной мере.
На заставке - изображение "Фернленкбота", дальше - чертеж "Эребуса" с противоторпедными кессонами и послевоенный снимок того же монитора уже без них.



Автор:
Первоисточник:
https://vikond65.livejournal.com/682602.html
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. andrewkor
    andrewkor 5 ноября 2017 07:08 Новый
    +6
    Ох, и любят же некоторые любую мало мальски инновацию величать "боевым роботом". При обороне Петербурга в 1854г. тоже использовались дистанционной управляемые по проводам (как Ферленкботы)противокорабельные фугасы ,вот им надо бы отдать приоритет и русскому учёному Якоби!Ну далее по хронологии:германские и советские радиотанки,Мистели по Англии и ТБ-3 по Кенингсбергу.Я рискну назвать настоящим ,без кавычек,боевым роботом именно Камикадзе т.к. это уже не человек,а машина уничтожения с примитивным мозгом!Пока не создадут и не применят Искусственный Интеллект лично я отказываюсь называть эти сами по себе достойные аппараты Роботами!
  2. poquello
    poquello 5 ноября 2017 17:28 Новый
    +2
    автор кури слово "робот"
  3. Curious
    Curious 5 ноября 2017 23:31 Новый
    +2

    Катера Fern-Lerikboot (автору подтянуть немецкий, чтобы не вводить читателя в заблуждене) имели водоизмещение 6 тонн, размеры 13 х 1,86 х 0,66 м; два мотора фирмы «Майбах» по 210 л.с. (вторая серия — по 230 л.с.); скорость 28 узлов (вторая серия — 30 узлов); они несли 230-кг заряд ВВ (тротил). Управление катером-торпедой осуществлялось с берега через тонкий электричес­кий кабель длиной 20 км (10,8 мили) и общим весом 800 кг.
    Где автор выудил сведения про 700 кг заряд - загадка.
  4. синоби
    синоби 6 ноября 2017 05:40 Новый
    +1
    Позже систему радионаведения таки довели до ума и применяли на фау-1.А вообще немцы просто возродили идею "брандеров" только на новом уровне.С появлением первых самонаводящихся торпед идея вновь умерла.
  5. Tyomanator
    Tyomanator 9 ноября 2017 01:56 Новый
    0
    Цитата: Curious
    Катера Fern-Lerikboot (автору подтянуть немецкий, чтобы не вводить читателя в заблуждене)

    Вот прямо Лерикбот? Может, это Вам подтянуть немецкий (заодно с русским ;)?
    Das Fernlenkboot, kurz FL genannt