Military Review

Again deuce: geographical cretinism as a diagnosis of American politics

17
Again deuce: geographical cretinism as a diagnosis of American politics



The fact that American officials are not distinguished by wide knowledge in various sciences was known for a long time. In this case, it is not at all about high matters, but about the subjects of the school curriculum, often introducing representatives of the “better nation” into a stupor.
This was confirmed on the eve of the passage by the commander of the special operations forces of the anti-terrorist coalition, James Gerrard, who said that thousands of Syrians were fleeing from Deir ez-Zor to Meyadin from government forces. So, according to Gerrard, people do not go to the south, inhabited by Arabs, but to the north - to the territory controlled by the “Syrian Democratic Forces”.

Everything is good, but there are some inconsistencies in the words of the representative of the allied forces. For example, Meyadin, where people “run,” is not in the north, but in the south. This is if the map. In the north, the city of Raqca is located, recently liberated with pomp by a coalition led by Washington, but absolutely unsuitable for anyone to rush in there, since there was only a pointer left from the settlement.

At the same time, Meyadin, who became, in Mr. Gerrard’s opinion, a shelter for the “oppressed by the regime”, like Deir ez-Zor, became accessible to the return of civilians only through the actions of to clear from terrorists their longstanding stronghold. Is it possible in such a situation that people tired of years of war just return to their homes? According to the American side, this would be too simple and uninteresting. Bored in one word.

However, other representatives of the American establishment were also distinguished by weak geographic knowledge, as well as a low political culture. Australia instead of Austria, Iran instead of Iraq, heroic attempts to defend a democratic future to a non-existent but no less striving for freedom country called Limpopo - the list of absurdities heard from the officials of a state that claims to be the world hegemon can be continued for a very long time. And, perhaps, such blunders could have caused the indulgent smile of outside observers, if not for one “but”: all too often the deliberate stupidity of Washington’s representatives turns into grief for millions of people of various nationalities and religions. And here there is no time for smiles ...
Author:
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. VadimSt
    VadimSt 3 November 2017 15: 19 New
    +5
    Why be surprised? I once looked at a survey of Americans - "Where is Ukraine?" After 8 of 10 spoke in favor of Africa, Asia, and one in Australia, I realized without GPS, Americans will be lost even in the states.
  2. Masya masya
    Masya masya 3 November 2017 15: 25 New
    +7
    geographic cretinism

    the diagnosis of uneducation has nothing to do ... in fact, just mitrophanus, undergrowth, so to speak ...
    1. Wolka
      Wolka 3 November 2017 18: 54 New
      +6
      in fact, the mitrophanushka had the ability for logic, because being completely illiterate, by virtue of his intuition, he answered "which door?" the one that has not yet been hitched, that which is noun for the time being, and the one that is .... adjective ... that’s the natural acumen that distinguishes Russians, because being completely illiterate in the 18-19 centuries, a Russian man managed such a thing that foreigners could not even dream of ...
      1. Masya masya
        Masya masya 3 November 2017 19: 00 New
        +5
        Quote: Volka
        in fact, the mitrophanushka had the ability for logic, because being completely illiterate, by virtue of his intuition, he answered "which door?" the one that is not yet hung, the noun for the time being, and the one that is .... adjective ...

        I completely agree with you ... but in this case, intuition, as such, is completely absent from the states ... sorry taftology turned out ... love
        1. Wolka
          Wolka 3 November 2017 19: 04 New
          +5
          Well, yes, it all comes down to the ability to learn, and yet looking at what to teach and how to learn, the Soviet education system was nevertheless quite perfect, whoever studied at all ...
          1. Masya masya
            Masya masya 3 November 2017 19: 14 New
            +6
            I can give a screwdriver, to you ... who knows what he wants, and now they will be counted !!! Once again, sorry for the banality of learning light, and ignorance of darkness ... love
          2. Dedall
            Dedall 3 November 2017 20: 05 New
            +3
            And you, dear, when you studied? This is what my classmates of issue 79 wrote literate.
  3. izya top
    izya top 3 November 2017 16: 09 New
    +1
    oh well, the ameri military must be stupid by nature (and mccain is the head sample wassat ). But here are the legislators what when will they take limpopo? angry
  4. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 3 November 2017 16: 57 New
    +2
    Here are the bores. Geography, oh geography, why? I’ll tell the coachman, or someone else ...
  5. Wolka
    Wolka 3 November 2017 18: 50 New
    +2
    cretinism is already at the genetic level of the Yankees, this is the product of their "democracy", it’s not even banal ignorance, it’s just dumb meat ...
  6. kush62
    kush62 3 November 2017 19: 45 New
    +5
    How about the literacy of our journalists? Channel Russia - On the 3rd floor windows were burning for a long time. Ldna from airlines drives a new chip - photos come true. Our Krasnoyarsk homegrown journalist - Yenisei fell 30 cm. A new traffic light came on at the intersection.
    Well - the air temperature will be - sounds on many channels. So, unfortunately, there are enough literate people of their own.
    1. japs
      japs 3 November 2017 20: 19 New
      +8
      This is visible everywhere, a generation of illiterate people has grown up who do not know how to express their thoughts in a coherent and logical way. It seems that there are no thoughts in these heads. Speech is more like a set of mat, emotional exclamations and emoticons. It seems that the ministers of education are mishandled enemies. There is nothing better than the old Soviet education system.
      IMHO.
      1. Kurosaki Ichigo
        Kurosaki Ichigo 4 November 2017 02: 43 New
        0
        You just think so.
        As time goes on, language, slang and style are changing. What can be stupid for you, for a modern student or just a young man, is quite normal.
        But of course, its own era is closer to the body.) It's like with the example of games: few people remember games like Gothic and Gothic 2, now serve only all kinds of Overwatch and so on!
        Although ELEX, yet returned my 2002th. wink
  7. Sergey-8848
    Sergey-8848 3 November 2017 20: 44 New
    0
    Some of them are also handling nuclear weapons. These same people are constantly dealing with the "Minutemen." Tales tell us tales with Bruce, what kind of peppers they stuffed. Judging by the reports, everything is eliminated and excluded.
  8. dzuar saubarag
    dzuar saubarag 4 November 2017 13: 15 New
    0
    Regarding geography ... An interesting statement by Sergei Kuzhugetovich Shoigu about the liberated territories in Syria, according to it, it amounted to 503 thousand 223 square kilometers. In reality, the ATS area was about 185 thousand square meters. km I wonder what he meant by calling such overstated figures? After all, he must have an idea of ​​such quantities what
  9. Gormenghast
    Gormenghast 5 November 2017 14: 47 New
    0
    Supporters of flat land entered the US military leadership. laughing
  10. nord62
    nord62 5 November 2017 14: 54 New
    +2
    Funny ... if it really were funny! Let the respected author of the article ask our children and those adults who are under 40 ..... In response, I would hear a lot of nonsense - an almost complete lack of knowledge in history, geography, literature and other general subjects. And we are undergoing further destruction of EDUCATION. Who will come to the posts and power in about 20-30 years, just those who can’t say what year Napoleon attacked Russia, or where Peru is located (in Africa or Asia). A generation has grown (unfortunately) whose head is to eat hamburgers ..... They reformed education, so it's time to laugh at ourselves and ..... sob!

Военное обозрение

Опять двойка: географический кретинизм как диагноз американской политики

17
Опять двойка: географический кретинизм как диагноз американской политики



О том, что американские официальные лица не отличаются широкими познаниями в тех или иных науках, было известно давно. При этом речь идет вовсе не о высоких материях, а о предметах школьной программы, зачастую вводящих в ступор представителей «лучшей нации».
Подтверждением этому накануне стал пассаж командующего силами специальных операций антитеррористической коалиции Джеймса Джеррарда, заявившего, что тысячи сирийцев бегут из Дейр-эз-Зора в Меядин от правительственных сил. Так, по словам Джеррарда, люди уходят не на юг, населенный арабами, а на север – на территории, подконтрольные «Сирийским демократическим силам».

Все бы хорошо, но в словах представителя союзнических сил есть кое-какие нестыковки. К примеру, Меядин, куда «бегут» люди, находится не на севере, а на юге. Это если по карте. На севере же находится город Ракка, недавно с помпой освобожденный как раз-таки коалицией во главе с Вашингтоном, но абсолютно не пригодный для того, чтобы туда кто-либо устремился, так как от населенного пункта там остался разве что указатель при въезде.

В то же время, Меядин, ставший, по мнению господина Джеррарда, приютом для «угнетенных режимом», как, собственно, и Дейр-эз-Зор, стали доступными для возвращения туда мирных жителей лишь благодаря действиям правительственных войск и российских ВКС, которым удалось зачистить от террористов их многолетний оплот. Возможно ли в такой ситуации, что уставшие от многолетней войны люди всего лишь возвращаются в свои дома? По мнению американской стороны, это было бы слишком просто и неинтересно. Скучно, одним словом.

Впрочем, слабыми географическими познаниями, равно как невысокой политической культурой, отличались ранее и другие представители американского истеблишмента. Австралия вместо Австрии, Иран вместо Ирака, героические попытки отстоять демократическое будущее несуществующей, но от этого не менее устремленной к свободе страны под названием Лимпопо – список несуразностей, звучащих из уст официальных лиц государства, претендующего на звание мирового гегемона, можно продолжать очень долго. И, возможно, подобные оплошности способны были вызвать снисходительную улыбку сторонних наблюдателей, если бы не одно «но»: слишком часто нарочитая глупость представителей Вашингтона оборачивается горем для миллионов людей самых разных национальностей и вероисповедания. А вот здесь уже не до улыбок…
Автор:
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. VadimSt
    VadimSt 3 ноября 2017 15:19 Новый
    +5
    Чему удивляться? Посмотрел как-то опрос американцев - "Где находится Украина?". После того, как 8 из 10 высказались в пользу Африки, Азии, а один - Австралии, понял, без GPS, американцы потеряются даже в штатах.
  2. Masya Masya
    Masya Masya 3 ноября 2017 15:25 Новый
    +7
    географический кретинизм

    диагноз с необразованностью ничего общего не имеет... по сути просто митрофанушки, недоросли, так сказать...
    1. Волька
      Волька 3 ноября 2017 18:54 Новый
      +6
      вообще-то у митрофанушки были способности к логике, ведь будучи совершенно неграммотным он в силу своей интуиции ответил" котора дверь?" та которая еще не навешена, та покамест существительна, а та которая.... прилагательна... природная смекалка это и отличает русских, ведь будучи повально неграммотным в 18-19 веках русский мужик сумел такое, что иноземцам и не снилось...
      1. Masya Masya
        Masya Masya 3 ноября 2017 19:00 Новый
        +5
        Цитата: Волька
        вообще-то у митрофанушки были способности к логике, ведь будучи совершенно неграммотным он в силу своей интуиции ответил" котора дверь?" та которая еще не навешена, та покамест существительна, а та которая.... прилагательна...

        Я с , Вами совершенно согласна... но в данном случае и интуиция, как таковая со стороны штатов совершенно отсутствует... извините тафтология получилась... love
        1. Волька
          Волька 3 ноября 2017 19:04 Новый
          +5
          ну да, все сводится к способности к обучению, и еще смотря чему учить и как учить, советская система образования все-таки было достаточно совершенна, кто хоте тот учился...
          1. Masya Masya
            Masya Masya 3 ноября 2017 19:14 Новый
            +6
            Могу в отвтку, Вам, подать... кто знает, что хочет, и сейчас учичтся!!! Еще раз, извините за банальность- ученье свет, а неученье тьма... love
          2. Dedall
            Dedall 3 ноября 2017 20:05 Новый
            +3
            А Вы, уважаемый, когда учились? Это я к тому, что мои одноклассники выпуска 79 года писали пограмотней.
  3. изя топ
    изя топ 3 ноября 2017 16:09 Новый
    +1
    да ладно,амерский военный по своей природе должен быть туп(а маккейн головной образец wassat ).но вот законодатели what когда они уже за лимпопо то примутся? angry
  4. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 3 ноября 2017 16:57 Новый
    +2
    Вот же зануды. География, ах география, а зачем? Скажу кучеру, или еще кому...
  5. Волька
    Волька 3 ноября 2017 18:50 Новый
    +2
    кретинизм уже на генном уровне янки, это продукт их "демократии", это даже не банальное невежество, это просто тупое мясо...
  6. kush62
    kush62 3 ноября 2017 19:45 Новый
    +5
    А как вам грамотность наших журналистов? Канал Россия - На 3-м этаже долго горели окна. Лдна из авиакомпаний гоняет новую фишку - фотографии сбываются. Наши Красноярские доморощенные журналист - Енисей упал на 30 см, На перекрестке загорелся новый светофор.
    Ну а - температура воздуха составит - звучит на многих каналах. Так что , к сожалению , и своих хватает грамотеев.
    1. japs
      japs 3 ноября 2017 20:19 Новый
      +8
      Это видно везде, выросло поколение неграмотных, не умеющих связно и логично выразить свою мысль. Создается впечатление, что и мыслей в этих головах нет. Речь больше напоминает набор мата, эмоциональных возгласов и смайликов. Такое впечатление, что министры образования - засланные враги. Нет ничего лучше старой советской системы образования.
      ИМХО.
      1. Ичиго Куросаки
        Ичиго Куросаки 4 ноября 2017 02:43 Новый
        0
        Вам просто так кажется.
        Время идет, язык, сленг и стиль - меняются. То, что для Вас может быть глупостью, для современного студента или просто молодого человека, вполне нормально.
        Но разумеется, своя эпоха ближе к телу.) Это как с к примеру с играми: мало кто помнит такие игры, как Готика и Готика 2, сейчас подавай только всякие Овервотчи и так далее!
        Хотя ELEX, таки вернул мой 2002-й. wink
  7. Сергей-8848
    Сергей-8848 3 ноября 2017 20:44 Новый
    0
    Кто-то из них и с СЯО обращается. Эти же люди постоянно имеют дело с "Минитменами". Рассказывают нам сказки с Брюсом, какие они перцы фаршированные. Судя по докладам - всё устранено и исключено.
  8. dzuar saubarag
    dzuar saubarag 4 ноября 2017 13:15 Новый
    0
    По поводу географии... Интересно высказывание Сергея Кужугетовича Шойгу об освобождённых территориях в Сирии, согласно оному она составила 503 тысячи 223 квадратных километра. В реальности площадь САР составляла порядка 185 тысяч кв. км. Интересно, что он имел в виду называя столь завышенные цифры? Ведь он то должен иметь представление о таких величинах what
  9. Горменгаст
    Горменгаст 5 ноября 2017 14:47 Новый
    0
    В военное руководство США проникли сторонники плоской земли. laughing
  10. nord62
    nord62 5 ноября 2017 14:54 Новый
    +2
    Смешно... если бы действительно было смешно ! Пусть бы уважаемый автор статьи поспрашивал наших детишек и тех взрослых, кому до 40 лет..... В ответ услышал бы много бреда - почти полное отсутствие знаний по истории, по географии, по литературе и прочим общеобразовательным предметам. И у нас идет дальнейшее уничтожение ОБРАЗОВАНИЯ . Кто придет к должностям и власти лет эдак через 20-30, как раз те , кто не может назвать в каком году Наполеон напал на Россию, или где находится Перу (в Африке или в Азии). Выросло уже (к сожалению) поколение у которого голова - чтобы ЕСТЬ гамбургеры..... Дореформировали образование, поэтому пора смеяться над самими собой и ..... рыдать !