Military Review

Canadian Navy officer spying on Russia to be condemned in secret

18
Canadian Navy officer spying on Russia to be condemned in secret

Canada has banned the publication of a lawsuit against naval officer Jeffrey Delile, who was accused of spying for the Russian Federation. The trial of a forty-year-old military man, taken red-handed at the beginning of 2012, began a few days ago. An unnamed source close to the investigation reports that the amount of classified information that the spy gave to Moscow can be compared with the full Wikileaks archive. This transmits "Utro.ru".

According to the Wall Street Journal, the materials that Delile declassified dealt mainly with the Five Eyes system, an agreement concluded between the intelligence services of Canada, the United Kingdom, the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

According to the Wall Street Journal, Canadian officials are trying to prevent a scandal and very much hope that the incident will not prevent further cooperation with foreign intelligence agencies. But, as indicated by a source from the US government, the White House is very worried about the data leak.

According to this source, recently, in early March, in New Zealand, a meeting of the participants of the "Five Eyes" was held, initiated just by a spy scandal in Canada. The scouts discussed actions that could prevent similar leaks in the future.

Recall that Jeffrey Delail was charged with violating the Canadian law on information security. Delisle was a lieutenant fleet and special services officer. He carried out activities based on Trinity, which is the "heart" of intelligence and naval communications operations center in Halifax.

The investigation has put forward a version that Delile since July 2007, passed the secret information to the Russian special services. Now the officer faces from 5 years of imprisonment to life imprisonment.

Following the arrest of Delilah, four members of the Russian embassy were expelled from Canada. Attache Konstantin Kolpakov and lieutenant colonel Dmitry Fedorchatchenko, assistant military attache, went to their native shores. He, according to the former head of Canadian counterintelligence O'Brien, worked for the GRU. There are two more among the deported Russians: technical employees Tatyana Steklova and Mikhail Nikiforov.

A little later, two more employees of the Russian embassy and consulate went to Russia. However, Canada has made a statement that this shipment is not related to the spy scandal.
18 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. YARY
    YARY 29 March 2012 11: 36
    -2
    Intelligence failure? Or a necessary sacrifice.
    1. tronin.maxim
      tronin.maxim 29 March 2012 11: 38
      0
      Anyway, nothing good.
      1. Moga
        Moga 29 March 2012 11: 43
        +6
        tronin.maxim,
        But why? At least we know that we also have intelligence. And punctures happen everywhere, not without it.
        1. recitatorus
          recitatorus 29 March 2012 23: 18
          +2
          Now a symmetric answer will follow! .. We will wait!
    2. older
      older 29 March 2012 11: 45
      +5
      laughing Nothing terrible happened .. For reconnaissance, such cases are generally ordinary ... Somewhere it leaked from us, here I’ve got it .. And deportation .. So any one covered by diplomatic immunity walks under it ...
      1. 755962
        755962 29 March 2012 11: 49
        +2
        Canadian Navy officer Jeffrey Paul Delaille has provided Russia with so much classified data that can be compared with the amount of leaks through WikiLeaks, the American newspaper The Wall Street Journal reported, citing informed sources in the intelligence services.

        According to the newspaper, the leak of classified information has irritated the American special services due to the fact that Canadians are poorly guarded secrets concerning not only themselves, but also allies, including the United States, Great Britain and other countries. Therefore, Delisle's act caused "a serious rift between American and Canadian intelligence officials."
      2. Roman A
        Roman A 29 March 2012 11: 52
        +2
        The cost of military intelligence is the main thing that our scouts would not disclose. But in general it’s nice that our intelligence does its quiet but necessary thing
        1. Норд
          Норд 29 March 2012 12: 18
          +1
          The astonishing insight of the former head of the Canadian counterintelligence - the assistant military attache worked for the GRU .... I would be very surprised if he did NOT work for the GRU.
          So it pulls to ask this pro and why the hell then do military attaches are needed?!?
          1. Sergh
            Sergh 29 March 2012 12: 36
            0
            Release srono! Unhappy, hungry man, for a piece of bread, for a sausage sham, fat, freedom of Jeffrey Paul.
  2. Shurawi
    Shurawi 29 March 2012 11: 46
    -1
    unhealthy tendency to reveal Russian spies ...
    1. urzul
      urzul 29 March 2012 11: 56
      +2
      This is not a trend, I’m sending and catching quite often, you yourself understand that in the majority all this goes without publicity. But the latest high-profile news is related to the desire to intimidate the western population with bloodthirsty Russia, which is trying to threaten and harm everyone.
      1. Neighbor
        Neighbor 29 March 2012 15: 33
        -3
        Russia is the main enemy of NATO !!! Right now they will procrastinate this topic for a long time !! Or maybe it’s all simpler - he’s not a spy - and so they found a scapegoat.
        And they will poke Russia with and without - like, we are starting a cold war and an arms race, we are also protecting Arabs !!! The aggressor is solid in general! And most importantly - that people over the hill in all this nonsense will be happy to believe!
        You might think that the Americans are not spying on our territory. They assure us that dozens of our residents are caught - I watched a program on this topic - Shock Force or Military Affairs - I don’t remember exactly - it just doesn’t make much publicity - so, quietly peacefully, a man died from a heart attack - what is it? wassat laughing So our intelligence does not sleep and chews its bread for nothing - this is a fact!
  3. hellbringer
    hellbringer 29 March 2012 11: 52
    +1
    This is not a trend, call a spade a spade, it’s just that in our intelligence the rats wound up the same and merge ours.
  4. sichevik
    sichevik 29 March 2012 12: 09
    +1
    Well done our scouts! In spite of everything, they quietly work for themselves and do not advertise their work anywhere. No wonder they eat their bread.
  5. Bat1stuta
    Bat1stuta 29 March 2012 12: 19
    0
    if they work for our intelligence, then our intelligence is worth something in the world. but about the fact that they’ve been caught, well, there’s such a profession, the slightest mistake or a simple mole and you’ve been caught ... request
  6. patriot2
    patriot2 29 March 2012 12: 23
    0
    If the process is classified, then it is well salted. In general +. Intelligence has always been, IS AND WILL.
    1. SergeySK
      SergeySK 29 March 2012 12: 47
      0
      patriot2,

      You might think our spies were once openly judged!
  7. Shurawi
    Shurawi 29 March 2012 12: 25
    0
    I can’t believe that in Russia there were no such cases. Why, then, are they not put on public display in our country?
  8. Edge_kmv
    Edge_kmv 29 March 2012 15: 21
    0
    Whoever is not mistaken does not work
  9. Odinplys
    Odinplys 30 March 2012 01: 32
    0
    Such a job with a scout ...
    Hope for an exchange ...

Канадского офицера ВМС, шпионившего на Россию, засудят секретно

Канадского офицера ВМС, шпионившего на Россию, засудят секретно

В Канаде запрещена публикация сведений о судебном процессе в отношении офицера военно-морских сил Джеффри Делайла, который был обвинён в шпионаже в пользу Российской Федерации. Судебный процесс над сорокалетним военным, взятым с поличным в начале 2012 г., начался на днях. Неназванный источник, близкий к следствию, сообщает, что объём засекреченной информации, которую шпион передал Москве, вполне можно сравнить с полным архивом Wikileaks. Об этом передаёт «Утро.ру».

По сообщению «Уолл Стрит Джорнэл», материалы, которые рассекретил Делайл, в основном касались системы «Пяти глаз» — соглашения, заключённого между разведывательными службами Канады, Великобритании, США, Новой Зеландии и Австралии.

По сведениям «Уолл Стрит Джорнэл», канадские чиновники стараются не допустить скандала и очень надеются, что инцидент не помешает дальнейшему сотрудничеству с зарубежными спецслужбами. Но, как указывает источник из правительства США, утечка данных весьма беспокоит Белый дом.


Как информирует этот источник, недавно, в начале марта, в Новой Зеландии прошла встреча участников «Пяти глаз», инициированная как раз шпионским скандалом в Канаде. Разведчики обсуждали действия, способные предотвратить аналогичные утечки в дальнейшем.

Напомним, что Джеффри Делайлу были предъявлены обвинения в нарушении канадского закона об информационной безопасности. Делайл был младшим лейтенантом флота и сотрудником специальных служб. Он осуществлял деятельность на базе Trinity, являющейся «сердцем» разведки и военно-морской связи оперативного центра в Галифаксе.

Следствие выдвинуло версию, что Делайл уже с июля 2007 г. передавал секретные сведения российским спецслужбистам. Теперь офицеру грозит от 5 лет лишения свободы до пожизненного заключения.

Следом за арестом Делайла из Канады были высланы четверо сотрудников российского посольства. К родным берегам поехали атташе Константин Колпаков и помощник военного атташе подполковник Дмитрий Федорчатенко. Он, по утверждению бывшего главы канадской контрразведки О'Брайана, работал на ГРУ. В числе высланных россиян ещё двое: технические сотрудники Татьяна Стеклова и Михаил Никифоров.

Чуть позже в Россию отправились ещё два сотрудника российского посольства и консульства. Однако Канада сделала заявление, что эта отправка не связана со шпионским скандалом.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 18
  1. ЯРЫЙ 29 марта 2012 11:36
    Провал разведки? Или необходимая жертва.
    ЯРЫЙ
    1. tronin.maxim 29 марта 2012 11:38
      В любом случае, ничего хорошего.
      1. Moga 29 марта 2012 11:43
        tronin.maxim,
        Ну почему? По крайней мере мы знаем, что у нас тоже есть разведка. А проколы бывают везде, не без этого.
        1. recitatorus 29 марта 2012 23:18
          Теперь последует симметричный ответ!..Будем ждать!
          recitatorus
    2. older 29 марта 2012 11:45
      laughing Ничего страшного не произошло..Для разведки такие случаи вообще рядовые...Где то протекло у нас,вот и попался..А высылка..Так любой прикрытый дипломатической неприкосновенностью под ней ходит...
      1. 755962 29 марта 2012 11:49
        Офицер ВМС Канады Джеффри Пол Делайл, передал России такое количество секретных данных, которое можно сопоставить с объемом утечек через WikiLeaks, сообщила американская газета The Wall Street Journal со ссылкой на информированные источники в спецслужбах.

        По данным издания, утечка секретной информации вызвала раздражение у американских спецслужб из-за того, что канадцы плохо оберегают секреты, касающиеся не только их самих, но и союзников, в том числе США, Великобритании и других стран. Поэтому поступок Делайла вызвал "серьезный разлад между должностными лицами американской и канадской разведок".
        755962
      2. Роман А 29 марта 2012 11:52
        Издержки военной разведки главное что бы наших разведчиков не раскрыли.А вообще приятно наша разведка делает свое тихое но нужное дело
        Роман А
        1. Норд 29 марта 2012 12:18
          Поразительная проницательность бывшего главы канадской контрразведки - помощник военного атташе работал на ГРУ.... Я бы очень сильно удивился если бы он НЕ работал на ГРУ.
          Так и тянет поинтересоваться у этого профи а нахрена тогда вообще военные атташе нужны?!?
          1. Sergh 29 марта 2012 12:36
            Отпустить сроно! Несчастный, голодный мужик, за кусок хлеба, за шмат колбасы, сало, свободу Джеффри Полу.
            Sergh
  2. Шурави 29 марта 2012 11:46
    нездоровая тенденция раскрытия российских шпионов...
    Шурави
    1. urzul 29 марта 2012 11:56
      Это не тенденция, высылаю и ловят довольно часто, сами понимаете что в большинстве все это проходит без огласки. А вот последние громкие новости связанны с желание запугать западное население кровожадной Россией, которая пытается всем угрожать и навредить.
      1. Сосед 29 марта 2012 15:33
        Россия - Главный ВРАГ НАТО!!! Щас долго будут мусолить эту тему!! А может вообще всё проще - никакой он и не шпион - а так - нашли козлика отпущения.
        И будут тыкать Россию по поводу и без - типа мы холодную войну развязываем и гонки вооружений, ещё и арабов защищаем!!! Агрессор сплошной в общем! А главное - что люди за бугром во всю эту ахинею будут с удовольствием верить!
        Можно подумать - будто Америкососы не шпионят на нашей территории. Уверят - отлавливают наши ихних резидентов десятками - смотрел передачу на эту тему - Ударная Сила или Военное дело - точно не помню - просто это не придаётся особой огласке - так, тихо мирно человек помер от инфаркта - что тут такого? wassat laughing Так что наша разведка не спит и не даром свой хлеб жуёт - это Факт!
        Сосед
  3. hellbringer 29 марта 2012 11:52
    Это не тенденция, называйте вещи своими именами, просто у нас в разведке то же завелись крысы которые сливают наших же.
    hellbringer
  4. sichevik 29 марта 2012 12:09
    Молодцы наши разведчики! Не взирая ни на что работают себе потихонечку и нигде не афишируют свою работу.Не зря свой хлебушек кушают.
  5. Bat1stuta 29 марта 2012 12:19
    если работают на нашу разведку, значит наша разведка что-то стоит в мире. а по поводу того что поймали, ну так проффесия такая, малейшая оплошность или простой крот и тебя поймали... request
    Bat1stuta
  6. патриот2 29 марта 2012 12:23
    Если процесс засекретили, то хорошо насолил. В общем+. Разведка всегда была, ЕСТЬ И БУДЕТ.
    патриот2
    1. СергейСК 29 марта 2012 12:47
      патриот2,

      Можно подумать у нас шпионов когда то открыто судили !
  7. Шурави 29 марта 2012 12:25
    не верится, что в России не было таких же случаев. Почему же тогда у нас они не выносятся на всеобщее обозрение?
    Шурави
  8. Edge_KMV 29 марта 2012 15:21
    Кто не ошибается, то не работает
  9. OdinPlys 30 марта 2012 01:32
    Такая работа у разведчика...
    Надежда на обмен...
    OdinPlys

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня