Military Review

Giants at an impasse. We will not see them in the sky

20

Bombers - the largest, most complex and expensive combat aircraft of its time. After all, delivering deadly cargo to the enemy’s territory is a task that people don’t regret. However, an attempt to introduce even the most ambitious ideas often misfires. Let's look at the monsters, which gave rise to the temporary sleep of the mind of some designers.


Siemens-Schuckert R.VIII - the flightless bird

Giants at an impasse. We will not see them in the sky


A rare list of crazy engineering creations dispenses with the gloomy Teutonic genius. During the First World War, the Teutons came off with might and main (which is undeservedly forgotten against the background of the Second World War), including in aviation, achieving impressive success in some places. But with the bombers, the Germans at first lagged behind. They relied on the airships of von Zeppelin, while we have created promising "Murom". Finally, the company “Gotha” managed to make successful long-range bombers who participated in massive raids on London.

Germans knocked down the traditional weakness - the inability to stop in time. As a result, in the second half of the war, invaluable resources were spent on super-heavy bombers, the so-called R-plane. This name combines three dozen aircraft of various companies, produced in one or two copies (the most "large-scale" - as many as four).

The crown of the series was Siemens-Schuckert R.VIII - a six-engine monster with a wingspan of 48 meters, the largest aircraft of its time. Ilya Muromets had a range of about 30 meters (depending on the version), and the four-engine Handley Page V / 1500 with a span of 38 meters became the largest bomber of the Entente. But what's the use of giantomania: at the time of the truce, the Germans had only time to make a run through the airfield and break the plane before takeoff because of problems with the power plant. In the future, the Treaty of Versailles banned the development of combat aircraft in Germany and temporarily saved the world from the Teutonic genius. What a pity, because the genius, meanwhile, in the building already had a giant triplane Mannesman-Poll, even more, more terrible!

K-7 - Flying Catastrophe



In the interwar period, gigantomania did not pass the USSR. To the extent that for a long time the Soviets were leading in heavy bombing aircraft. And so, designer Konstantin Kalinin creates a shaped monster: a multi-purpose (if you want to carry passengers, if you want loads, if you want bombs) K-7.

The key idea of ​​the project was the movement to the “flying wing” scheme - theoretically the ideal form of the aircraft, in which the basis of the design is a giant wing, and thus the whole aircraft participates in creating lift. In K-7, the thickness (that is, the “height”) of the wing exceeded two meters and was free to go inside. It is even necessary, given that the passengers (up to 128 people) or paratroopers parachutically located there.

K-7 made the first flight of August 21 1933 of the year and became the largest aircraft in the USSR. There were even more in the world, but mostly they were flying boats. Unfortunately, the tests revealed problems with control, serious vibrations, and the disaster happened within three months. The failure strengthened the position of the king of the Soviet aviation, Tupolev, who did not tolerate competitors; the program was curtailed, and Kalinin was executed five years later during the purges in the military-industrial complex. In 1934, the Tupolev raises a huge ANT-20, but that one is much more conservative.

Northrop YB-35 / 49 - unlucky bird



The enthusiasts of the “flying wing” scheme were, of course, not only in the USSR. Perhaps the most prolific and successful was the American aircraft designer John Northrop. He began experimenting with flying wings at the end of the 1920s.

During World War II, monetary rain poured down on American aircraft designers, and Northrop, of course, jumped around. During the war, however, he failed to bring any idea to the serial state. His finest hour came immediately after - in the 1946 year, when a strategic bomber developed at the request of 1941 was embodied in metal, reaching the transatlantic range. The YB-35 was a four-piston piston bomber that was significantly superior to the B-29. On the bomb load - twice!

The time of piston aircraft was gone, and the YB-35 was extremely quickly converted to jet engines, and a year later, YB-49 flew with a little. Due to the gluttony of the new engines, the range and combat load fell, but the flight characteristics improved.

Machines almost went into a small series, but no luck. The end of the war reduced the interest in "creative" developments and chose a more conservative B-36 for implementation. The policy and lobby of competitors also intervened. In addition, there remained a serious problem with the handling, which the “flying wings” could not overcome until it became possible to attract computers to help the pilots. Only after this — and on the basis of a wealth of testing experience — was the modern B-2A created.

Convair NB-36H (Tu-95LAL) - Overhead Nuclear Power Plants



In the first peaceful decade, the military and without the "flying wings" was something to entertain. This is the century of crazy hobby for the atom! So why not make an atomic plane? Such perspectives: at one gas station there is an infinite range, at the airfields even the hangar itself is lit and warmed with free electricity, which has nowhere to go.

Work on the atomic aircraft were carried out in the United States and the USSR. American developments are better known not only because of their greater openness, but also because their flying lab rose five years earlier in the sky.

NB-36H, created on the basis of a B-36H bomber damaged by a hurricane, provided biological protection to the crew (a new, leaded cabin weighed as much as 11 tons) and, yes: it was equipped with the most real ASTR nuclear reactor in a building that produces three megawatts. It would be possible to modify the aircraft for the use of this energy - the benefit of it is propeller. But the Americans decided to just check the operation of the reactor in flight and secure the crew. There was no h / c, but the program turned and the real atomol - the project X-6 with nuclear jet engines - was not built.

In the USSR, the situation was, in general, repeated. The problems of nuclear aircraft consisted in the fact that if you make a conservative design that is as safe as possible, then you end up with something that can barely get off the ground; and if you otzhigat in full, with all sorts of nuclear direct-flow engines, it turns out, to put it mildly, is not environmentally friendly. Well, we must not forget that airplanes from time to time fall, and who wants small, but the real nuclear power plants to fall on it? In addition, the issue with the range almost completely closed the development of refueling in the air.

North American XB-70 Valkyrie - a bird with ambitions



Perhaps it was the “Valkyrie” that became the last truly insane bomber embodied in metal. Even the alien B-2A is, as we just saw, the implementation of old ideas in many ways.

The development program for the super-fast high-altitude bomber, which spawned the B-70, was launched in the middle of the 50-s, when the development of jet aircraft proceeded at an unimaginable pace. In just a quarter of a century, airplanes turned from wooden biplanes with speeds of 300-400 km / h (at best!) Literally into steel “bullets” that significantly exceeded the speed of sound, subdued intercontinental ranges and climbed into the stratosphere. It was a time when people believed that there were no limits to the flight characteristics, but it is worth extending a hand - and here it is, hypersound, aerospace aircraft.

To match the time were ambitions when creating B-70. Suffice it to say that this modification did not fly on kerosene, and not on petroleum products at all. Pentaboran, the most complex and expensive boron hydrogen fuel, served as fuel. It was also, to put it mildly, unhealthy for nature and could spontaneously ignite. The method of its cheap disposal will be invented only in 2000, and the United States will be able to get rid of the accumulated reserves.

Six powerful engines allowed the huge “Valkyrie” (take-off weight almost like the Tu-160) to accelerate to 3,300 km / h and have a practical ceiling of 23 kilometers - incomparable figures, given the size. However, the legions of snow-white ultra-high-speed bombers were not destined to see the light. The cost of both production and operation came out clearly unthinkable. At the same time, ballistic missiles, which were faster and more invulnerable to anti-aircraft missile systems, came to the fore as the means of delivering the nuclear charge. Even before the first flight, the program was transferred to a purely scientific track (to study high-speed flight), but after five years of testing, from 1964 to 1969 a year, it is still closed.



The past aviation age gave us many beautiful, crazy or beautiful planes in their madness. In military aviation, heavy bombers have always been the elite: nimble fighters can make as many turns as possible on an air show, but when they get to the point, they will turn into a retinue, the task of which is to defend the true main characters of their own on the way to the goal.

Payback for strength is the complexity and high cost. Therefore, when the designers were going to do something unusual (in their opinion, of course, also brilliant), they often turned out real monsters, similar to those that we remembered now.

After World War II, money to produce and maintain flotilla only two hegemons began to miss strategic bombers. However, soon they also had to cut costs for new radical ideas. What to go far: in the USA, the basis of the airborne part of the nuclear triad is the B-52H, released (physically, not invented!) In 1961-62. Stand out by their alien B-2A, and size (the largest combat aircraft in stories!) - Tu-160.

But the first, in fact, implements the ideas of 40-ies with the addition of fashionable stealth, just the technique finally allowed to make a flying wing. And the second is a very conservative project compared to those that were worked out during the competition. In our age of pragmatics and information debit with a loan of new "Valkyries" do not have to wait.
Author:
Originator:
https://warhead.su/2017/11/02/giganty-v-tupike
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. andrewkor
    andrewkor 18 November 2017 06: 40
    +2
    Give the aerospace Girerzvuk !!
    1. Herculesic
      Herculesic 18 November 2017 07: 18
      +6
      I give wassat you wrap wassat or you fly it yourself wassat !
  2. Herculesic
    Herculesic 18 November 2017 07: 22
    +2
    It seems like the Valkyrie was “knocked down” by the volume, or rather, the terrible roar from running engines. The Yankees could not find an inexpensive solution to the problem, and the plane that took off with its roar took out windows and tore the doors from private houses for the army was too expensive! !!
    1. PlotnikoffDD
      PlotnikoffDD 18 November 2017 09: 18
      14
      Valkyrie was knocked down by the supersonic interceptor mig-25)
    2. AlexVas44
      AlexVas44 18 November 2017 09: 21
      +3
      Quote: Herkulesich
      tearing down doors from private houses for the army was too expensive! !!

      Well, there would be enough money at the door.
      But the bomber itself was fantastically expensive - $ 750 million, and it was refueled not with harmless kerosene, but with poisonous fuel pentaborane. In the meantime, it was tested, then for the Soviet Air Force and Air Defense it became an impetus for the creation of the MIG-25 and new, powerful air defense systems.
      1. iouris
        iouris 18 November 2017 12: 14
        +1
        Quote: AlexVas44
        In the meantime, it was tested, then for the Soviet Air Force and Air Defense became an impetus

        And the notorious Star Wars, in general, allowed the Americans to push the USSR into the grave. Given inflation, those $ 750 million are probably close to a hundred billion.
        1. engineer74
          engineer74 18 November 2017 13: 25
          +6
          This is how to look, Star Wars could push the USSR into the next technological order. But, thanks to the degenerates, what happened happened ...
          IMHO.
        2. Vadim237
          Vadim237 18 November 2017 21: 39
          +1
          Valkyrie cost about $ 6 billion apiece for current funds, but this aircraft overtook its time in technology.
          1. CTABEP
            CTABEP 21 November 2017 19: 20
            0
            In general, the bird is of course very beautiful, it’s even a little pity that it remained an experienced aircraft.
    3. Bad_gr
      Bad_gr 19 November 2017 19: 56
      0
      Quote: Herkulesich
      It seems like the Valkyrie was “knocked down” by the volume, or rather, the terrible roar from the working engines.

      There was a lot of things besides noise. And it is not clear how much more time and money would have been needed to bring this plane to mind.
    4. Mikheich
      Mikheich 19 November 2017 20: 26
      0
      Yes, and specific fuel.
  3. Curious
    Curious 18 November 2017 15: 09
    +2
    "During World War II, money rained on American aircraft designers, and Northrop, of course, showed a fuss. During the war, however, he failed to bring to a serial state a single idea."
    The author should carefully familiarize himself with the area in which he is trying to write something.

    The Northrop P-61 Black Widow is the only American aircraft designed as a specialized night fighter manufactured during World War II. In addition, the Black Widow became the largest and heaviest fighter that entered service with the USAAF during World War II.
  4. Amurets
    Amurets 18 November 2017 15: 14
    0
    The cost of both production and operation was clearly unthinkable. At the same time, ballistic missiles came to the fore as a means of delivering a nuclear charge, which were all kinds of faster, and even invulnerable to anti-aircraft missile systems. Even before the first flight, the program was transferred to a purely scientific track (for studying high-speed flight), but after five years of testing, from 1964 to 1969, it was still closed.

    Regarding the Valkyrie, all commentators are right, just all the comments should be summarized in one general analysis, which they did in their two-volume book: The Bombers by V. Ilyin and M Levin.
    But on work on nuclear aircraft in the USSR, you can see the link: https://topwar.ru/22458-sovetskie-proekty-atomole
    tov.html There are also interesting photos here.
  5. Curious
    Curious 18 November 2017 15: 31
    +2
    "Perhaps, it was the Valkyrie that became the last truly insane bomber embodied in metal. Even the alien B-2A is, as we have just examined, in many ways just the realization of old ideas."
    If you consider the issue in more detail, you can see even crazier solutions.
    At the end of 1954, General Curtiss Lee May, the commander of strategic air forces of the United States Air Force, raised the question of creating a bomber with a range without refueling in flight of at least 11000 km at the "maximum possible" speed. This aircraft, suitable for operation from existing airfields, was supposed to replace the B-52 and be in service with the Air Force in 1965-1975. In October 1954, the terms of reference for the WS-110A weapon system were issued and a competition was announced for preliminary projects of a strategic bomber with a cruising number of M = 0,9 and the maximum possible speed at maximum height when a potential enemy breaks into the airspace at a distance of 1600 ... 1850 km. Deliveries of a new aircraft have been planned since 1963. In July 1955, six firms submitted preliminary designs, and on November 11 of that year, Boeing and North American firms received orders for further elaboration of their conceptual designs, which were ready in April next year.
    Ultimately, the North American project was recognized as promising. On December 23, 1957, the company was declared the winner of the project competition and received a contract for the development of the aircraft, which in February of the following year was given the designation B-70, and in July - the name "Valkyrie".
    But the project of the Boeing company remained unrealized. And he looks really crazy.

    In general, the development process of these aircraft is an interesting topic. If someone is interested - http://www.airwar.ru/enc/bomber/b70.html
  6. Falcon5555
    Falcon5555 18 November 2017 16: 19
    +2
    Where are the cheers patriots? Why are they silent? belay Explicitly translated article ("tips" sad ), which ignores advanced designs from the USSR, except for some pre-war Kalinin, unknown to anyone. T-100, for example.
    1. ICT
      ICT 18 November 2017 17: 16
      0
      Quote: Falcon5555
      T-100, for example.

      the rumor will not reach the bridges
      here if only the meat-and-meat and Yakovlei workings are cited as an example, but they haven’t reached the metal
    2. Whispering in the night
      Whispering in the night 19 November 2017 19: 45
      +1
      Quote: Falcon5555
      some pre-war Kalinin, unknown to anyone


      Not “some kind, unknown to anyone”, but a worthy and talented Soviet aircraft designer, whose planes Soviet civil aviation flew all the 30s. If he had not been shot by the Stalinist gebey in the 38th, he would surely have been famous no less than Tupolev, and maybe more ...
      1. Falcon5555
        Falcon5555 20 November 2017 00: 51
        +1
        If he had not been shot by the Stalinist gebey in the 38th, he would surely have been famous no less than Tupolev, and maybe more ...

        Probably this constructor is undeservedly forgotten (due to KGB censorship, and I knew almost nothing about him), and would be famous. But it’s famous in a somewhat epic sense - aviation epotage, so to speak. Starting with K-7, he did nonsense. Flying wings, especially monstrous freaks like K-12, were not needed then. Yes, and now not really needed.
        1. max702
          max702 6 August 2018 10: 16
          0
          Quote: Falcon5555
          If he had not been shot by the Stalinist gebey in the 38th, he would surely have been famous no less than Tupolev, and maybe more ...

          Probably this constructor is undeservedly forgotten (due to KGB censorship, and I knew almost nothing about him), and would be famous. But it’s famous in a somewhat epic sense - aviation epotage, so to speak. Starting with K-7, he did nonsense. Flying wings, especially monstrous freaks like K-12, were not needed then. Yes, and now not really needed.

          Shocking is an expensive affair .. Apparently they shot him for that .. Although it would have been more reasonable to close it on the coven and let him draw, he considers at least some benefit ..
  7. Achtaba1970
    Achtaba1970 18 November 2017 21: 35
    +2
    Maxim Gorky is also big and there are a lot of engines

Гиганты в тупике. Мы не увидим их в небе


Бомбардировщики — самые большие, сложные и дорогие боевые самолёты своего времени. Ведь доставлять на территорию противника смертельный груз — это задача, на которую сил и средств не жалеют. Однако, попытка внедрения даже самых амбициозных идей часто даёт осечку. Взглянем на чудовищ, которых породил временный сон разума некоторых конструкторов.

Siemens-Schuckert R.VIII — нелетающая птичка

Гиганты в тупике. Мы не увидим их в небе



Редкий список сумасшедших инженерных творений обходится без сумрачного тевтонского гения. Во время Первой Мировой войны тевтоны отрывались вовсю (что незаслуженно забыто на фоне Второй Мировой), в том числе, и в авиации, местами достигая впечатляющих успехов. Но с бомбардировщиками немцы сначала отставали. Они опирались на дирижабли фон Цеппелина, в то время, как у нас создали перспективные «Муромцы». Наконец, фирме «Gotha» удалось сделать удачные дальние бомбардировщики, которые участвовали в массированных налётах на Лондон.

Немцев подкосила традиционная слабость — неумение вовремя остановиться. В результате во второй половине войны бесценные ресурсы тратились на сверхтяжёлые бомбардировщики, так называемые R-plane. Этим названием объединяются три десятка самолётов различных фирм, выпущенные в одном-двух экземплярах (самый «крупносерийный» — аж в четырёх).

Венцом серии стал Siemens-Schuckert R.VIII — шестидвигательный монстр с размахом крыльев 48 метров, самый большой самолёт своего времени. У «Ильи Муромца» размах был около 30 метров (в зависимости от модификации), а самым большим бомбардировщиком Антанты стал четырёхдвигательный Handley Page V/1500 с размахом 38 метров. Но что толку от гигантомании: к моменту перемирия немцы успели лишь совершить пробежку по лётному полю и сломать самолёт до взлёта из-за проблем с силовой установкой. В дальнейшем Версальский договор запретил Германии разработку боевых самолётов и на время уберёг мир от тевтонского гения. Какая жалость, ведь у гения меж тем в постройке уже был гигантский триплан Mannesman-Poll, ещё больше, ещё страшнее!

К-7 — летающая катастрофа



В межвоенный период гигантомания не миновала и СССР. Вплоть до того, что долгое время Советы лидировали в тяжелобомбардировочной авиации. И вот, конструктор Константин Калинин создаёт форменного монстра: многоцелевой (хочешь вози пассажиров, хочешь грузы, хочешь бомбы) К-7.

Ключевой идеей проекта было движение к схеме «летающего крыла» — теоретически идеальной форме самолёта, при которой основой конструкции является гигантское крыло, и таким образом в создании подъёмной силы участвует весь самолёт. У К-7 толщина (то есть «высота») крыла превышала два метра и внутри него можно было свободно ходить. Даже нужно, учитывая, что пассажиры (до 128 человек) или парашютисты-десантники располагались именно там.

К-7 совершил первый полёт 21 августа 1933 года и стал самым большим самолётом в СССР. В мире водились и побольше, но, в основном, это были летающие лодки. К сожалению, испытания выявили проблемы с управлением, серьёзные вибрации, и катастрофа случилась уже через три месяца. Неудача усилила позиции не терпевшего конкурентов короля советской авиации, Туполева, программу свернули, а Калинина через пять лет казнили в процессе чисток в военно-промышленном комплексе. В 1934 году Туполев поднимает огромный АНТ-20, но тот куда более консервативен.

Northrop YB-35/49 — невезучая птичка



Свои энтузиасты у схемы «летающего крыла» имелись, конечно, не только в СССР. Пожалуй, самым плодовитым и удачливым стал американский авиаконструктор Джон Нортроп. Экспериментировать с летающими крыльями он начал ещё в конце 1920-х годов.

Во время Второй мировой на американских авиаконструкторов пролился денежный дождь, и Нортроп, конечно, подсуетился. За время войны, впрочем, довести до серийного состояния ни одну идею ему не удалось. Его звёздный час наступил сразу после — в 1946 году, когда был воплощён в металле разработанный по запросу 1941 года стратегический бомбардировщик, достигавший трансатлантической дальности. YB-35 был четырёхдвигательным поршневым бомбардировщиком, значительно превосходившим имевшийся на вооружении B-29. По бомбовой нагрузке — вдвое!

Время поршневых самолётов уходило, и YB-35 крайне быстро был переделан под реактивные двигатели, а через год с небольшим полетел YB-49. Из-за прожорливости новых движков дальность и боевая нагрузка упали, но улучшились лётные характеристики.

Машины почти пошли в мелкую серию, но не повезло. Окончание войны снизило интерес к «креативным» разработкам и для реализации выбрали более консервативный B-36. Вмешалась и политика, лобби конкурентов. Кроме того, сохранялась серьёзная проблема с управляемостью, которую «летающие крылья» не могли преодолеть до тех пор, пока не стало возможным привлечь в помощь лётчикам компьютеры. Только после этого — и на основании богатого опыта испытаний — был создан современный B-2A.

Convair NB-36H (Ту-95ЛАЛ) — АЭС над головой



В первое мирное десятилетие военным и без «летающих крыльев» было, чем себя развлечь. Это же век безумного увлечения атомом! Так почему бы не сделать атомный самолёт? Такие перспективы: на одной заправке бесконечная дальность, на аэродромах хоть сам ангар освещай и обогревай халявным электричеством, которое девать некуда.

Работы над атомными самолётами велись и в США, и в СССР. Американские разработки более известны не только из-за большей открытости, но и потому, что их летающая лаборатория поднялась в небо на пять лет раньше.

NB-36H, созданный на основе повреждённого ураганом бомбардировщика B-36H, обеспечивал биологическую защиту экипажу (новая, освинцованная кабина весила аж 11 тонн) и, да: был оснащён самым настоящим ядерным реактором ASTR в корпусе, вырабатывающим три мегаватта. Можно было бы доработать самолёт для использования этой энергии — благо он винтомоторный. Но американцы решили просто проверять работу реактора в полёте и обезопасить экипаж. Обошлось без ч/п, но программу свернули и настоящий атомолёт — проект X-6 с ядерными реактивными двигателями — не был построен.

В СССР ситуация, в общем, повторилась. Проблемы атомных самолётов заключались в том, что если делать консервативную конструкцию, максимально безопасную, то в результате получается нечто, едва способное оторваться от земли; а если отжигать по полной, со всякими ядерными прямоточными двигателями, то выходит, мягко говоря, неэкологично. Ну и нельзя забывать, что самолёты время от времени падают, а кто хочет, чтобы на него падали маленькие, но самые настоящие АЭС? К тому же вопрос с дальностью практически полностью закрыла отработка дозаправки в воздухе.

North American XB-70 Valkyrie — птица с амбициями



Пожалуй, именно «Валькирия» стала последним по-настоящему безумным бомбардировщиком, воплощённым в металле. Даже инопланетный B-2A это, как мы разбирали только что, во многом просто реализация старых идей.

Программа разработки сверхскоростного высотного бомбардировщика, породившая B-70, стартовала в середине 50-х годов, когда развитие реактивной авиации шло немыслимыми темпами. Всего за четверть века самолёты превратились из деревянных бипланов со скоростями 300-400 км/ч (в лучшем случае!) буквально в стальные «пули», значительно превысившие скорость звука, покорившие межконтинентальные дальности и забравшиеся в стратосферу. Это было время, когда верили, что границ у лётных характеристик нет, а стоит протянуть руку — и вот он, гиперзвук, воздушно-космические летательные аппараты.

Под стать времени были и амбиции при создании B-70. Достаточно сказать, что летала эта модификация не на керосине, и вообще не на нефтепродукте. Топливом служил пентаборан, сложнейшее и дорогостоящее бороводородное топливо. Ещё оно было, мягко говоря, неполезно для природы и могло самовоспламеняться. Способ его дёшево утилизировать изобретут только в 2000 году, и США смогут избавиться от наработанных запасов.

Шесть мощнейших двигателей позволяли огромной «Валькирии» (взлётный вес почти как у Ту-160) разгоняться до 3,300 км/ч и иметь практический потолок в 23 километра — несравненные показатели, учитывая размеры. Однако легионам белоснежных сверхскоростных бомбардировщиков не суждено было увидеть свет. Стоимость как производства, так и эксплуатации выходила явно немыслимой. Одновременно в роли средства доставки ядерного заряда на первый план вышли баллистические ракеты, которые были всяко быстрее, да и неуязвимы для зенитно-ракетных комплексов. Ещё до первого полёта программа была переведена на чисто научные рельсы (для изучения высокоскоростного полёта), но после пяти лет испытаний, с 1964 по 1969 год, всё равно закрыта.



Прошедший авиационный век подарил нам много красивых, безумных или прекрасных в своем безумии самолётов. В военной авиации тяжёлые бомбардировщики всегда были элитой: юркие истребители могут сколь угодно вертеть виражи на авиашоу, но, когда дойдет до дела, они превратятся в свиту, задача которой -защищать от себе подобных настоящих главных героев на пути к цели.

Расплатой за силу являются сложность и дороговизна. Поэтому, когда конструкторы собирались сделать что-то необычное (по их мнению, конечно, еще и гениальное), получались зачастую настоящие монстры, подобные тем, которых мы вспомнили сейчас.

После Второй мировой денег на то, чтобы производить и содержать флотилии стратегических бомбардировщиков стало хватать только двум гегемонам. Впрочем, вскоре им тоже пришлось подсократить расходы на новые радикальные идеи. Что далеко ходить: в США основой воздушной части ядерной триады являются B-52H, выпущенные (физически, а не придуманные!) в 1961-62 годах. Выделяются своей инопланетностью B-2A, и размерами (самый большой боевой самолёт в истории!) — Ту-160.

Но первый, по сути, реализует идеи 40-х годов с добавкой модной малозаметности, просто техника наконец позволила сделать летающее крыло. А второй — это весьма консервативный проект по сравнению с прорабатывавшимися во время конкурса. В наш век прагматики и сведения дебета с кредитом новых «Валькирий» ждать не приходится.
Автор:
Александр Ермаков
Первоисточник:
https://warhead.su/2017/11/02/giganty-v-tupike
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

20 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. andrewkor Офлайн
    andrewkor (Корчуганов Андрей) 18 ноября 2017 06:40
    +2
    Даёшь воздушно- космический Гирерзвук!!
    1. Геркулесыч Офлайн
      Геркулесыч (Витальевич) 18 ноября 2017 07:18
      +6
      Даю wassat вам завернуть wassat или вы на нем сами полетите wassat !
  2. Геркулесыч Офлайн
    Геркулесыч (Витальевич) 18 ноября 2017 07:22
    +2
    Вроде как валькирию "подкосила "громкость, точнее, страшный грохот от работающих двигателей.Янки не сумели найти недорогое решение проблемы, а самолет который на взлете своим грохотом выносил стекла и срывал двери с частных домов для армии был слишком дорог! !!
    1. PlotnikoffDD Офлайн
      PlotnikoffDD (Дмитрий) 18 ноября 2017 09:18
      +14
      Валькирию подкосил сверхзвуковой перехватчик миг-25)
    2. AlexVas44 Офлайн
      AlexVas44 (Александр) 18 ноября 2017 09:21
      +3
      Цитата: Геркулесыч
      срывал двери с частных домов для армии был слишком дорог! !!

      Ну за двери денег хватило-бы.
      А вот сам бомбардировщик был фантастически дорогим- 750 млн. долларов, да и заправлялся он не безобидным керосином, а ядовитым топливом пентабораном. А пока проходил испытания, то для советских ВВС и ПВО стал толчком к созданию МИГ-25 и новых, мощных ЗРК.
      1. iouris Офлайн
        iouris (iouris) 18 ноября 2017 12:14
        +1
        Цитата: AlexVas44
        А пока проходил испытания, то для советских ВВС и ПВО стал толчком

        А пресловутые "звёздные войны", вообще, позволили американцам толкнуть СССР в могилу. С учётом инфляции те 750 млн. долларов - это, наверное, близко к сотне миллиардов.
        1. инженер74 Офлайн
          инженер74 (Дмитрий) 18 ноября 2017 13:25
          +6
          Это как посмотреть, "Звёздные войны" могли толкнуть СССР в следующий технологический уклад. Но, благодаря вырожденцам, случилось то, что случилось...
          ИМХО.
        2. Вадим237 Офлайн
          Вадим237 (Вадим) 18 ноября 2017 21:39
          +1
          Валкирия обошлась на нынешние средства около 6 миллиардов долларов за штуку, но этот самолёт обогнал своё время по -технологиям.
          1. CTABEP Офлайн
            CTABEP (Михаил) 21 ноября 2017 19:20
            0
            Вообще, птичка конечно очень красивая, даже немного жаль, что так и остался опытным самолетом.
    3. Bad_gr Офлайн
      Bad_gr (Владимир) 19 ноября 2017 19:56
      0
      Цитата: Геркулесыч
      Вроде как валькирию "подкосила "громкость, точнее, страшный грохот от работающих двигателей.

      Там много чего было кроме шума. И не ясно, сколько бы ещё понадобилось времени и денег, что бы довести этот самолёт до ума.
    4. Михеич Офлайн
      Михеич (Михаил) 19 ноября 2017 20:26
      0
      Да и топливо специфическое.
  3. Curious Офлайн
    Curious (Victor) 18 ноября 2017 15:09
    +2
    "Во время Второй мировой на американских авиаконструкторов пролился денежный дождь, и Нортроп, конечно, подсуетился. За время войны, впрочем, довести до серийного состояния ни одну идею ему не удалось."
    Автору стоит тщательнее ознакомиться с той областью, в которой он что-то пытается писать.

    Northrop P-61 Black Widow - единственный американский самолет, разработанным как специализированный ночной истребитель, производившимся в течение Второй Мировой войны. Кроме того Black Widow стал самым большим и тяжелый истребителем, поступившим на вооружение USAAF в ходе Второй Мировой войны.
  4. амурец Офлайн
    амурец (николай) 18 ноября 2017 15:14
    0
    Стоимость как производства, так и эксплуатации выходила явно немыслимой. Одновременно в роли средства доставки ядерного заряда на первый план вышли баллистические ракеты, которые были всяко быстрее, да и неуязвимы для зенитно-ракетных комплексов. Ещё до первого полёта программа была переведена на чисто научные рельсы (для изучения высокоскоростного полёта), но после пяти лет испытаний, с 1964 по 1969 год, всё равно закрыта.

    По Валькирии правы все комментаторы, просто все комментарии надо свести в один общий разбор, что сделали в своём двухтомнике: "Бомбардировщики" В. Ильин и М Левин.
    А вот по работам над атомными самолётами в СССР можно посмотреть по ссылке: https://topwar.ru/22458-sovetskie-proekty-atomole
    tov.html Здесь есть и интересные фотографии.
  5. Curious Офлайн
    Curious (Victor) 18 ноября 2017 15:31
    +2
    "Пожалуй, именно «Валькирия» стала последним по-настоящему безумным бомбардировщиком, воплощённым в металле. Даже инопланетный B-2A это, как мы разбирали только что, во многом просто реализация старых идей".
    Если вопрос рассмотреть более подробно, то можно увидеть еще более безумные решения.
    В конце 1954 г. командующий стратегической авиацией ВВС США генерал Кертисс Ли Мей поднял вопрос о создании бомбардировщика, обладающего дальностью без дозаправки в полете не менее 11000 км при "максимально возможной" скорости. Этот самолет, пригодный для эксплуатации с существующих аэродромов, должен был заменить В-52 и состоять на вооружении ВВС в 1965-1975 гг. В октябре 1954 г. было выпущено техническое задание по системе оружия WS-110A и объявлен конкурс предварительных проектов стратегического бомбардировщика с крейсерским числом М=0,9 и максимально возможной скоростью на максимальной высоте при прорыве в воздушное пространство потенциального противника на расстояние 1600... 1850 км. Поставки нового самолета намечались с 1963 г. В июле 1955 г. шесть фирм представили предварительные проекты, а 11 ноября этого же года фирмы Боинг и Норт Америкен получили заказы на дальнейшую проработку своих эскизных проектов, которые были готовы в апреле следующего года.
    В конечном итоге проект фирмы Норт Америкен был признан перспективным. 23 декабря 1957 г. фирма была объявлена победителем конкурса проектов и получила контракт на разработку самолета, которому в феврале следующего года дали обозначение В-70, а в июле - название "Валькирия".
    А вот проект фирмы Боинг остался не реализованым. А выглядит он действительно безумно.

    Вобще, сам процесс разработки этих самолетов - интереснейшая тема. Если кто-то интересуется - http://www.airwar.ru/enc/bomber/b70.html
  6. Falcon5555 Офлайн
    Falcon5555 18 ноября 2017 16:19
    +2
    А где ура-патриоты? Почему молчат? belay Явно переводная статья ("советы" sad ), игнорирующая продвинутые конструкции из СССР, кроме какого-то предвоенного Калинина, никому не известного. Т-100, например.
    1. TIT Офлайн
      TIT (андрей) 18 ноября 2017 17:16
      0
      Цитата: Falcon5555
      Т-100, например.

      молват будет до мостров не дотягивает
      тут если только мясищевкиеи яковлеевские нароботки в пример приводить , но они до металла не дошли
    2. Шепчущий в ночи (Cthutq) 19 ноября 2017 19:45
      +1
      Цитата: Falcon5555
      какого-то предвоенного Калинина, никому не известного


      Не "какого-то, никому не известного", а достойного и талантливого советского авиаконструктора, на самолетах которого советская гражданская авиация летала все 30-е годы. Если бы не был расстрелян сталинской гэбней в 38-м, то, наверняка, был бы знаменит не менее Туполева, а может и более...
      1. Falcon5555 Офлайн
        Falcon5555 20 ноября 2017 00:51
        +1
        Если бы не был расстрелян сталинской гэбней в 38-м, то, наверняка, был бы знаменит не менее Туполева, а может и более...

        Наверно этот конструктор незаслуженно забыт (из-за гэбешной цензуры, и я о нем почти ничего не знал), и был бы знаменит. Но знаменит в несколько эпотажном смысле - авиа-эпотаж, так сказать. Начиная с К-7 он делал чушь. Летающие крылья, тем более чудовищные уродцы типа К-12, тогда были не нужны. Да и сейчас не очень нужны.
        1. макс702 Офлайн
          макс702 (Максим) 6 августа 2018 10:16
          0
          Цитата: Falcon5555
          Если бы не был расстрелян сталинской гэбней в 38-м, то, наверняка, был бы знаменит не менее Туполева, а может и более...

          Наверно этот конструктор незаслуженно забыт (из-за гэбешной цензуры, и я о нем почти ничего не знал), и был бы знаменит. Но знаменит в несколько эпотажном смысле - авиа-эпотаж, так сказать. Начиная с К-7 он делал чушь. Летающие крылья, тем более чудовищные уродцы типа К-12, тогда были не нужны. Да и сейчас не очень нужны.

          Эпатаж дело дорогое.. Вот видимо за это и расстреляли.. Хотя разумней было бы закрыть в шабашку и пусть чертит, считает хоть какая о польза..
  7. Achtuba1970 Офлайн
    Achtuba1970 18 ноября 2017 21:35
    +2
    Максим Горький тоже большой и двигателей много
Картина дня