Military Review

Battle of the River Snov - Russian Rematch

15



By the middle of the XI century, the nomadic Turkic-speaking people of the Polovtsi closely approached the eastern and southern borders of the ancient Russian state.

The first contact between the Russians and the Polovtsi was peaceful, the Kiev prince Vsevolod, the son of Yaroslav the Wise, made an alliance with them against the common enemy of the Torks.

After the victory over the Torks, the Allies fell out, and, starting with 1061, an armed confrontation began between them. If the first clashes were considered by the parties as a border conflict, then later they turned into a real war.

In September, 1068, in the battle on the Alta River, the combined Russian squads suffered a defeat from Khan Sharukan. This defeat led to a complication of the domestic political situation in the principality of Kiev. The Kievans, who suffered a lot from the Polovtsian raids, were still ready to defend their land, and they turned to Izyaslav with the request:
"Here are the Polovtsians being ruled in our land ... So let me, prince, to us weapon and horses, and we will fight them again! ”

Due to Izyaslav's refusal to organize a new campaign against the nomads, an uprising broke out, during which the Polotsk prince Vseslav Bryachislavich, who was languishing at that moment in Kiev captivity, was brought to power.

Vseslav, whom popular rumor endowed with extraordinary abilities, however, could not solve the Polovtsian problem. The nomads continued to make devastating raids on the Russian principalities.
In order to secure the southern frontiers of Russia, the Chernigov prince Svyatoslav spoke against the Polovtsy with a large, three thousand troops. He was the third son of Yaroslav the Wise, and together with his two brothers was one of the three persons of the Triumvirate of Yaroslavich.

The forces of the enemy, according to Nestor the chronicler, were 12 thousands of people, i.e. outnumbered Russian four times. Before the battle, Svyatoslav Yaroslavich addressed the soldiers with the call: “Let's fight! We have nowhere to go! ”

The battle took place on November 1 1068 of the year on the river Snov, near the town of Chernigovsky inheritance Snovsk (now Sednev). The Russians struck first, broke the Polovtsy, many of whom drowned in the river during their flight. The Polovtsian Khan himself was taken prisoner, Nestor the Chronicler does not name him, and the Novgorod First Chronicle says that it was Sharukan.

The Russian revenge was the first known victory over the Polovtsy, the threat looming over Russia after the defeat at Alta, was eliminated.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/wins/bitve-reke-snov-31291.html
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Settlement Oparyshev
    Settlement Oparyshev 11 November 2017 09: 18
    +3
    Kiryusha! There were no land roads then. There were rivers, settlements and future cities formed at the mouths and other convenient places. Fishermen and pirates, here is the main population. Do not get excited with horses either. At leisure, take a look at the fotos of Mongolian horses, without tears you don’t look at how small it is. No thoroughbred horses have been brought yet. A massive transplantation on horses took place in the 1770 years of Kiryush, teach History.
    1. igordok
      igordok 11 November 2017 09: 25
      +8
      Quote: p-k Oparyshev
      There were no land roads then.

      Well, it began ...
    2. Vend
      13 November 2017 10: 37
      +2
      Quote: pp to Oparyshev
      Kiryusha! There were no land roads then. There were rivers, settlements and future cities formed at the mouths and other convenient places. Fishermen and pirates, here is the main population. Do not get excited with horses either. At leisure, take a look at the fotos of Mongolian horses, without tears you don’t look at how small it is. No thoroughbred horses have been brought yet. A massive transplantation on horses took place in the 1770 years of Kiryush, teach History.

      I would like to know, what do you smoke? Read the chronographs, at least the Byzantine ones about the battles near Dorostol.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 11 November 2017 11: 11
    +4
    One of the first victories over the Polovtsy ... A powerful attack of the heavy Russian cavalry scattered the Polovtsian riders ... Subsequently, Vladimir Monomakh changed tactics, opposed the Polovtsian attack with a wedge, the deep formation of foot soldiers, covered with large shields, armed with long spears, and the heavy cavalry completed the rout ...
    1. Settlement Oparyshev
      Settlement Oparyshev 11 November 2017 11: 24
      0
      The words Russian, Russia, were introduced by Peter the Great along with his invasion through Petersburg from Europe.
      1. parusnik
        parusnik 11 November 2017 11: 46
        +3
        Thank you for the kindly provided letters ...
        1. Settlement Oparyshev
          Settlement Oparyshev 11 November 2017 12: 10
          0
          I admire you! It turns out you can all your life, read only letters, without delving into the meaning and can already be considered a historian. So keep it up.
          1. Cartalon
            Cartalon 11 November 2017 12: 14
            +6
            There is not a single historian here besides you, although you are probably not a historian, but an eyewitness.
            1. Settlement Oparyshev
              Settlement Oparyshev 11 November 2017 12: 19
              0
              Well, then you can’t determine who is closer to the truth. You are only letters and that's it ..
              1. Cartalon
                Cartalon 11 November 2017 12: 35
                +4
                Of course, we are letters and historians who studied the annals all our life letters and archaeologists letters, but the mathematician who did not achieve recognition and decided to cut the dough for a ball is yes Svetoch.
                1. Alex1117
                  Alex1117 16 November 2017 06: 19
                  +1
                  Well, actually there is a question. Letters (their spelling) have changed repeatedly over time. How they were pronounced, and even more so, as the words made up of letters were pronounced - no one will ever recognize her, since there were no phonographs or tape recorders. Well, or we are waiting for the invention of the "time machine". Historians study not chronicles, but those materials that are included in such a printed work as PSRL - a complete collection of Russian chronicles, the first edition of which was published at the beginning of the reign of Nicholas the First. It seemed that what was wrong with that, well, they collected all the annals and published them from a distance. If not one but. And what prevented them from being published earlier? Why didn’t Karamzin publish them at the time of writing his multi-volume work? Why did this happen only during the reign of Nicholas the First, who was so indignant at the ugliness regarding our ancient documents that he now instructed laziness to look for someone, but from memory - Count Bludov: "Bring all our ancient documentation to a uniform look."
                  So, mathematicians with their mathematical apparatus in history are not superfluous. Actually, on the basis of mathematical statistics, all anti-plagiarism programs now work.
    2. Settlement Oparyshev
      Settlement Oparyshev 11 November 2017 12: 59
      +1
      "Powerful attack of the heavy Russian cavalry", find three historical errors in this sentence.
    3. Alex1117
      Alex1117 17 November 2017 22: 25
      +1
      And what prevented from subsequently dispersing the notorious camel-dolphins as effectively? Ugh, Mongol Tatars?
  3. Curious
    Curious 11 November 2017 12: 01
    +2
    "Because of Izyaslav’s refusal to organize a new campaign against the nomads, an uprising broke out during which the Polotsk prince Vseslav Bryachislavich was brought to power, languishing at that moment in Kiev captivity."
    After this paragraph, the author has a significant gap.
    Izyaslav Yaroslavich rushed to Poland to King Boleslav II, sat there, and when the Polovtsian problem was resolved, he returned with the Polish army to pick up the Kiev table “back”.
  4. Antares
    Antares 12 November 2017 15: 13
    0
    In September 1068, in a battle on the Alta River, the combined Russian squads were defeated by Khan Sharukan.

    interestingly constructed proposal. Better word-suffered. Defeated.
    This era of princeless lawlessness was not only Polovtsy, but there was little order.

Битва на реке Снов – русский реванш



К середине XI века кочевой тюркоязычный народ половцы вплотную подошел к восточным и южным рубежам Древнерусского государства.

Первый контакт русских с половцами был мирным, Киевский князь Всеволод, сын Ярослава Мудрого, заключил с ними союз против общего врага торков.


После победы над торками союзники рассорились, и, начиная с 1061 года, между ними началось вооруженное противостояние. Если первые столкновения стороны рассматривали как приграничный конфликт, то в дальнейшем они переросли в настоящую войну.

В сентябре 1068 года в битве на реке Альте объединенные русские дружины понесли поражение от хана Шарукана. Этот разгром привел к осложнению внутриполитической ситуации в Киевском княжестве. Киевляне, много страдавшие от набегов половцев, по-прежнему были готовы защищать свою землю, они обратились к Изяславу с просьбой:
«Вот половцы хозяйничают в нашей земле… Так дай же, князь, нам оружие и коней, и мы снова будем биться с ними!»

Из-за отказа Изяслава организовать новый поход против кочевников вспыхнуло восстание, во время которого к власти был приведен полоцкий князь Всеслав Брячиславич, томившейся в тот момент в киевском плену.

Всеслав, которого народная молва наделяла необычайными способностями, однако, не смог решить половецкой проблемы. Кочевники по-прежнему продолжали совершать опустошительные набеги в пределы русских княжеств.
Чтобы обезопасить южные рубежи Руси, против половцев с большой, трехтысячной дружиной выступил Черниговский князь Святослав. Он был третьим сыном Ярослава Мудрого, и вместе с двумя братьями являлся одним из трех лиц Триумвирата Ярославичей.

Силы противника, по сообщению Нестора-летописца составляли 12 тысяч человек, т.е. превосходили русских вчетверо. Перед битвой Святослав Ярославич обратился к воинам с призывом: «Сразимся! Некуда нам уже деться!»

Битва произошла 1 ноября 1068 года на реке Снов, близ городка Черниговского удела Сновска (ныне Седнев). Русские ударили первыми, разбили половцев, многие из которых во время бегства утонули в реке. В плен был взят сам хан половецкий, Нестор-летописец не называет его имени, а Новгородская первая летопись говорит, что это был Шарукан.

Реванш русских стал первой известной победой над половцами, нависшая над Русью после разгрома на Альте угроза, была ликвидирована.
Автор: Кирилл Брагин
Первоисточник: http://rusplt.ru/wins/bitve-reke-snov-31291.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 15

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. п-к Опарышев 11 ноября 2017 09:18
    Кирюша!Не было тогда сухопутных путей дорог.Были реки,вот в устьях и др удобных местах образовывались поселения,будущие города.Рыбаки и пираты,вот основное население.С конями то же не горячись.На досуге взгляни на фоты монгольских лошадок,без слёз не глянешь ,какие маленькие.Породистых лошадей ещё не завезли.А массовое пересаживание на коней происходило в 1770 годах Кирюша ,учи Историю.
    1. igordok 11 ноября 2017 09:25
      Цитата: п-к Опарышев
      Не было тогда сухопутных путей дорог.

      Ну началось ...
    2. Венд 13 ноября 2017 10:37
      Цитата: п-к Опарышев
      Кирюша!Не было тогда сухопутных путей дорог.Были реки,вот в устьях и др удобных местах образовывались поселения,будущие города.Рыбаки и пираты,вот основное население.С конями то же не горячись.На досуге взгляни на фоты монгольских лошадок,без слёз не глянешь ,какие маленькие.Породистых лошадей ещё не завезли.А массовое пересаживание на коней происходило в 1770 годах Кирюша ,учи Историю.

      Хотелось бы узнать, а вы что курите? Почитайте хронографы, хотя бы византийские об боях под Доростолом.
  2. parusnik 11 ноября 2017 11:11
    Одна из первых побед над половцами...Мощная атака тяжелой русской конницы рассеяла половецких всадников...Впоследствии Владимир Мономах, изменил тактику, противопоставил половецкой атаке клином,глубокий строй пеших воинов, прикрытых большими щитами, вооруженных длинными копьями, а тяжелая конница завершала разгром...
    1. п-к Опарышев 11 ноября 2017 11:24
      Слова Русский,Россия,привнёс Пётр 1й вместе со своим вторжением через Петербург из Европы.
      1. parusnik 11 ноября 2017 11:46
        Благодарю Вас за любезно предоставленные буквы...
        1. п-к Опарышев 11 ноября 2017 12:10
          Я восхищён Вами!Оказывается можно всю жизнь, читать только буквы,не вникая в смысл и можно уже считаться историком.Так держать.
          1. Cartalon 11 ноября 2017 12:14
            Тут кроме вас ни одного историка то и нет, хотя вы наверное и не историк, а очевидец.
            1. п-к Опарышев 11 ноября 2017 12:19
              Ну Вы то не сможете определить,кто же ближе к истине.вы то только буквы и всё..
              1. Cartalon 11 ноября 2017 12:35
                Конечно мы буквы и историки что изучали летописи всю свою жизнь буквы и археологи буквы, а вот математик не добившийся признания и решивший срубить бабла на шару это да Светочь.
                1. Alex1117 16 ноября 2017 06:19
                  Ну, вообще то вопрос есть. Буквы ( их написание) в течении времени менялось неоднократно. Как они произносились, а тем более, как произносились составленные из букв слова - уже никто никогда ее узнает, так как ни фонографов, ни магнитофонов еще не было. Ну, или ждем изобретения " машины времени" . Историки изучают не летописи, а те материалы, которые включены в такой печатный труд, как ПСРЛ - полное собрание русских летописей , первое издание которого вышло в начале царствования Николая Первого. Казалось, а что тут такого, ну собрали все летописи и их издали. Если не одно " но". А что мешало их издать раньше ? Почему их не издал еще Карамзин в период написания своего многотомного труда ? Почему это произошло лишь при Николая Первом, который столь сильно возмущался безобразием в отношении древних наших документов, что поручил сейчас лень искать кому, но по памяти - графу Блудову : "Привести всю нашу древнюю документацию к единообразному виду".
                  Так, что математики с их математическим аппаратом в истории совершенно не лишние. Собственно именно на основе математической статистики и работают ныне все программы-антиплагиаторы.
    2. п-к Опарышев 11 ноября 2017 12:59
      "Мощная атака тяжёлой русской конницы",найдите три исторические ошибки в данном предложении.
    3. Alex1117 17 ноября 2017 22:25
      А что помешало впоследствие столь же эффективно рассеять пресловутых верблюдо-дельфинов ? Тьфу, монголо- татаров ?
  3. Curious 11 ноября 2017 12:01
    "Из-за отказа Изяслава организовать новый поход против кочевников вспыхнуло восстание, во время которого к власти был приведен полоцкий князь Всеслав Брячиславич, томившейся в тот момент в киевском плену".
    После этого абзаца у автора существенный пробел.
    Изяслав Ярославич рвонул в Польшу к королю Болеславу II, отсиделся там, а когда проблема половцев была решена, вернулся с польским войском отбирать киевский стол "взад".
  4. Антарес 12 ноября 2017 15:13
    В сентябре 1068 года в битве на реке Альте объединенные русские дружины понесли поражение от хана Шарукана.

    интересно построено предложение. Лучше слово -потерпели.Потерпели поражение.
    Эту эпоху княжеского беспредела не только половцы были,а порядка мало было.
Картина дня