Military Review

105-mm self-propelled howitzer M7B2 Priest

10
105-mm self-propelled howitzer M7B2 Priest was the latest production version of the famous American self-propelled guns of the Second World War period. This modification was in service longer than the others, the American army used this ACS during the Korean War. In the postwar years, various variants of the Priest self-propelled artillery mounts were also widely supplied to US allies as part of various military assistance programs. So several dozens of M7 ACSs, including the M7B2 Priest modification, were received by the Belgians, in Belgium they were used at least until 1964, and the Germans also received it. In Germany, self-propelled howitzers M7B2 Priest for some time were in service with the newly created Bundeswehr.


This American 105-mm ACS was created already during the Second World War, it was standardized in April 1942, after which it received the official designation 105mm Howitzer Motor Carriage M7. At the same time in April 1942, the first serial self-propelled guns were made, two of which were sent to Aberdeen to conduct comprehensive running and fire tests. The personal name “Priest” (Priest) of this SAU was given not by the Americans, but by the British, by the SAU supplied to the UK as part of the Lend-Lease program.

Self-propelled gun was built on the basis of medium tank M3, therefore, retained the layout of the base tank. The engine compartment was located in the aft part, the fighting compartment - in the open, stationary deckhouse in the middle part, and the control compartment, combined with the transmission compartment - in the front of the combat vehicle. The crew of the self-propelled artillery installation consisted of 6-7 people: the driver, gunner, commander and three or four numbers of combat crew.

SAU M7 Priest with calculation

The M7 Priest self-propelled artillery mount became the main and most important ACS of the US Army during the Second World War, it was used in all theaters of military operations, becoming one of the most numerous self-propelled howitzers in the world and one of the most numerous self-propelled guns of this time period as a whole. Large volumes of production of self-propelled howitzers in the United States allowed the American tank divisions to completely re-equip it, transferring their artillery component to the self-propelled chassis in full. In total, 1942 1945 self-propelled artillery mounts M4316 Priest of various modifications were released from 7 to XNUMX year.

The main weapon and main shock power of the M7 Priest ACS was the 105-mm howitzer M2A1. A number of specialists after the war noted as a disadvantage the relatively light 105-mm howitzer for such a heavy and large tank chassis M3 / 4, but it has a different point of view. Thanks to the installation of such a howitzer, the M7 possessed a much better reliability in operation than numerous improvised self-propelled howitzers of the same time period, many of which were frankly overloaded chassis and often resulted in vehicle breakdowns. Also, the choice of the 105-mm howitzer M2A1 as the main armament of the new ACS was determined by considerations of launching the M7 into mass production as soon as possible. Moreover, the M105 towed 2-mm howitzer was previously standard for American tank divisions, while the only alternative to it (not used in tank units) was twice as heavy as the 114-mm cannon and the 155-mm howitzer.

The main disadvantage of the ACS was different, it was generally recognized and was directly related to its design feature. The indisputable disadvantage of the M7 Priest self-propelled howitzer was the insufficient angle of elevation of the gun, which limited both the range of fire and the tactical capabilities of this self-propelled unit. In a real combat situation, special measures were necessary to achieve large elevation angles of the gun, in particular, the equipment of firing positions on the reverse slopes of heights. At the design stage of the ACS, this drawback seemed to the American Panzer Committee less important compared to a decrease in the height of the self-propelled gun. However, the practice of using the machine in battles, primarily in the mountainous landscape of Italy and then Korea, has shown that this drawback is significant. Experts also isolated the insufficient angles of the horizontal howitzers, which, incidentally, was typical of almost all ACS of those years. However, if the usual towed gun, if necessary, could be deployed in place to move fire beyond the available pickup angles, the M7 Priest ACS needed to leave the equipped firing position and take it again, which took not only time, but also destroyed prepared disguise.

SAU M7B2 Priest

And if Americans could still accept small angles of horizontal targeting, then the insufficient vertical alignment angles became a serious problem during the Korean War due to the peculiarities of military operations in the mountainous landscape of the Korean Peninsula. It was then that the latest modernization of the M7 ACS came to light, which could be called a serial one. During World War II, the Americans solved the problem by placing self-propelled guns on the reverse slopes of heights, but this time they decided to upgrade the self-propelled howitzer, deciding to sacrifice its height for this (it became even taller and more noticeable). As a result, the maximum angle of elevation of the gun was succeeded in bringing to 65 degrees, which was indicated in the initial tactical and technical requirements. In standard ACS M7 and M7B1 Priest, the maximum angle of elevation of the weapon was only 35 degrees. At the same time, the height of the sponson of the machine-gun installation was also increased in order to ensure that it preserved the circular sector of the shelling. Alteration of combat vehicles from existing ACN M7B1 was carried out by an army warehouse located in Tokyo. It is believed that the entire 127 SAU was converted here, which received the new designation M7B2 Priest.

After the end of the Korean War, the M7 Priest ACS continued to remain in service with the United States for several more post-war years, until in 1955, the new-generation ACS, M52 and M44, designed to completely replace military installations, did not begin to flow into the US Army. Then the Americans transferred a large number of Priest self-propelled howitzers to their allies, mainly to NATO countries. For example, the M7B2 Priest self-propelled guns went to Belgium, Germany and Italy.

It is worth noting that the army of Germany after the war was completely dependent on the allies and for a long time was treated exclusively by armored personnel carriers and light tanks, the first self-propelled guns M7B2 Priest were received by the Bundeswehr only in 1956 year. Self-propelled howitzers of this type were in service with units of the 1 Panzer Division. True, they remained in service with the Bundeswehr for a relatively short time, they were used until about the middle of the 1960s. Soon enough, they began to be replaced with new self-propelled guns of the American production - the M52. At the same time, the decommissioned ACS M7B2, due to their general obsolescence, turned out to be mainly on army training grounds, where they were used as targets.

105-mm self-propelled howitzers M7B2 Priest in the Bundeswehr, photo: 477768.livejournal.com


105-mm self-propelled howitzer M7B2 Priest









Information sources:
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/usa/spg_m7_priest.htm
http://pro-tank.ru/bronetehnika-usa/60-su/161-m7-prist
Open source materials
Author:
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. polpot
    polpot 15 November 2017 18: 55 New
    -1
    Just look at this and you will understand that the Soviet tank school is the best in the world, not even a very successful sou 122 compared to this product is a masterpiece
    1. Lopatov
      Lopatov 15 November 2017 20: 30 New
      +3
      Quote: polpot
      not even very successful sou 122

      Cars of different classes. We in WWII did not create anything like that at all.
      However, like the Americans did not produce "assault" self-propelled guns. At least I have not heard of such. Only for shooting with PDO and anti-tank.
      1. polpot
        polpot 15 November 2017 22: 21 New
        0
        Sorry, I meant SU 122 based on the T34 assault self-propelled guns, this self-propelled gun is difficult to name
        1. polpot
          polpot 15 November 2017 22: 42 New
          0
          Initially, in the terms of reference, the production of SU 122 was considered as a self-propelled howitzer; another question was how they were used
        2. Cherry Nine
          Cherry Nine 15 November 2017 22: 42 New
          +1
          Quote: polpot
          su 122 compared to this product a masterpiece

          Not quite. This product solved a specific problem - so that artillery did not lag behind tanks. And this problem was solved, unlike the SU-122. At the same time, the Americans used the chassis of an obsolete car. For Soviet money - SU-5-2.
          And what could make the apparatus better - so the Americans had most of the technique in improvisation, the American T-70 and SU-76. Thoughtful American cars appeared, almost all, in the 45th.
        3. Lopatov
          Lopatov 15 November 2017 22: 52 New
          +2
          Quote: polpot
          it’s hard to call this self-propelled gun

          Nevertheless, he was precisely that.
          In fact, there were only three types of self-propelled guns.
          - Designed for shooting with PDO
          - Assault, they are of direct support
          - anti-tank
          The American almost analogue of the SU-122 is the Sherman with a 105 mm howitzer. It was also intended to directly support the infantry.
          They had, however, another interesting feature, a 75-mm M8 self-propelled howitzer on the chassis of the light Stuart, formally also an assault gun. But it turned out to be too "niche", designed to operate where tanks could not be used.
        4. Lopatov
          Lopatov 15 November 2017 23: 05 New
          +1
          The American tank school of those years was really quite original. But do not forget the tasks that she faced: the production of a huge amount of armored vehicles by the hands of non-specialists, while maintaining an acceptable quality. Therefore, technology was at the forefront. And often everything else was sacrificed to her.
          1. Cherry Nine
            Cherry Nine 16 November 2017 00: 44 New
            0
            Quote: Spade
            Therefore, technology was at the forefront.

            Well, not quite. Naturally, the American BTT was very technological, since it was mainly developed by automobile companies (or specialists from this industry were involved). However, to say that constructive jambs are victims in the name of technology, in my opinion, is not worth it. Rather, the influence of assault and organizational mess is visible. Somewhere more, somewhere less.
            1. Lopatov
              Lopatov 16 November 2017 09: 03 New
              0
              Well, let's look at an example of this particular self-propelled guns considered in the article. They took the upper machine of the towed M2 howitzer and put it on the tank body with minimal alterations with almost no change. Hence, such a strange elevation angle that does not even allow shooting at the maximum range, not to mention the mortar one.
              How could you solve the problem? Or a change in the upper machine with the removal of the axis of rotation back and a more powerful balancing, or "turn" of the base. All this required a lot of work, so they just increased the height of the cutting.
  2. groks
    groks 15 November 2017 19: 43 New
    +2
    Poor Germans. Use it until the age of 60. The impression is that the device is 20-30s.

105-мм самоходная гаубица M7B2 Priest

105-мм самоходная гаубица M7B2 Priest стала последним серийным вариантом знаменитой американской САУ периода Второй мировой войны. Данная модификация дольше других находилась на вооружении, американская армия использовала эту САУ в годы Корейской войны. В послевоенные годы различные варианты самоходной артиллерийской установки Priest также широко поставлялись союзникам США в рамках разных программ военной помощи. Так несколько десятков САУ M7, в том числе модификацию M7B2 Priest получили бельгийцы, в Бельгии они использовались как минимум до 1964 года, получили ее и немцы. В ФРГ самоходные гаубицы M7B2 Priest некоторое время находились на вооружении вновь созданного бундесвера.

Данная американская 105-мм САУ была создана уже в годы Второй мировой войны, она прошла стандартизацию в апреле 1942 года, после чего получила официальное обозначение 105mm Howitzer Motor Carriage M7. Тогда же в апреле 1942 года были изготовлены первые серийные самоходки, две из которых были отправлены в Абердин для проведения всесторонних ходовых и огневых испытаний. Персональное название «Priest» (Священник) данной САУ дали не американцы, а британцы, САУ поставляли в Великобританию в рамках программы ленд-лиза.

Самоходная установка была построена на базе среднего танка M3, поэтому сохранила компоновочную схему базового танка. Моторное отделение располагалось в кормовой части, боевое отделение — в открытой сверху неподвижной рубке в средней части, а отделение управления, совмещенное с трансмиссионным отделением — в передней части боевой машины. Экипаж самоходной артиллерийской установки состоял из 6-7 человек: механика-водителя, наводчика, командира и трех-четырех номеров боевого расчета.


САУ M7 Priest с расчетом

Самоходная артиллерийская установка M7 Priest стала основной и важнейшей САУ армии США в годы Второй мировой войны, она использовалась на всех театрах военных действий, став одной из самых многочисленных самоходных гаубиц в мире и одной из самых многочисленных САУ этого временного периода в целом. Большие объемы производства самоходной гаубицы в США позволили полностью перевооружить ей американские танковые дивизии, в полном объеме переведя их артиллерийскую составляющую на самоходное шасси. Всего с 1942 по 1945 год в США было выпущено 4316 самоходных артиллерийских установок M7 Priest различных модификаций.

Основным вооружением и главной ударной мощью САУ M7 Priest выступала модификация 105-мм гаубицы M2A1. Ряд специалистов после войны отмечали как недостаток сравнительно легкую 105-мм гаубицу для столь тяжелого и большого танкового шасси M3/4, но имеет право и иная точка зрения. Благодаря установке такой гаубицы M7 обладала гораздо более лучшей надежностью в эксплуатации, чем многочисленные импровизированные самоходные гаубицы того же временного периода, шасси многих из которых было откровенно перегруженным и часто приводило к поломкам машин. Также выбор 105-мм гаубицы M2A1 в качестве основного вооружения новой САУ определялся соображениями как можно более скорого запуска М7 в серийное производство. Более того буксируемая 105-мм гаубица M2 являлась до этого штатной для американских танковых дивизий, тогда как единственной альтернативой ей (не использовались в танковых частях) были вдвое более тяжелые 114-мм пушка и 155-мм гаубица.

Основной же недостаток САУ был другим, он был общепризнанным и напрямую был связан с ее конструктивной особенностью. Бесспорным недостатком самоходной гаубицы M7 Priest был недостаточный угол возвышения орудия, что ограничивало и дальность ведения огня, и тактические возможности данной самоходной установки. В реальной боевой обстановке для достижения больших углов возвышения орудия необходимы были специальные меры, к которым в частности относилось оборудование огневых позиций на обратных склонах высот. На этапе проектирования САУ этот недостаток представлялся американскому Бронетанковому комитету менее важным по сравнению с уменьшением высоты самоходки. Однако практика использования машины в боях, прежде всего в гористом ландшафте Италии, а затем и Кореи, продемонстрировала, что данный недостаток является значительным. Выделяли специалисты и недостаточные углы горизонтальной наводки гаубицы, что, впрочем, было свойственно практически всем САУ тех лет. Однако, если обычное буксируемое орудие в случае возникновения необходимости можно было развернуть на месте для перевода огня за пределы доступных углов наводки, то САУ M7 Priest для этого нужно было покинуть оборудованную огневую позицию и занимать ее заново, что отнимало не только время, но и разрушало подготовленную маскировку.

САУ M7B2 Priest

И если с небольшими углами горизонтального наведения американцы еще могли смириться, то вот недостаточные углы вертикальной наводки стали серьезной проблемой в годы Корейской войны из-за особенностей ведения боевых действий в условиях гористого ландшафта Корейского полуострова. Именно тогда появилась на свет последняя модернизация САУ M7, которую можно было назвать серийной. В годы Второй мировой войны американцы решали проблему расположением самоходок на обратных склонах высот, но в этот раз они решились на модернизацию самоходной гаубицы, решив пожертвовать для этого ее высотой (она стала еще выше и заметнее). В результате максимальный угол возвышения орудия удалось довести до 65 градусов, что и было указано в изначальных тактико-технических требованиях. У стандартных САУ M7 и M7B1 Priest максимальный угол возвышения орудия составлял всего 35 градусов. Одновременно была увеличена и высота спонсона пулеметной установки, для того чтобы обеспечить ей сохранение кругового сектора обстрела. Переделка боевых машин из имеющихся САУ M7B1 осуществлялась армейским складом, расположенным в Токио. Считается, что здесь было переоборудовано всего 127 САУ, которые и получили новое обозначение M7B2 Priest.

После завершения Корейской войны САУ M7 Priest продолжали оставаться на вооружении США еще несколько послевоенных лет, пока в 1955 году в американскую армию не начали массово поступать предназначенные для полной замены установок военного периода САУ нового поколения — M52 и M44. Тогда американцы передали большое количество самоходных гаубиц Priest своим союзникам, в основном в страны НАТО. К примеру, самоходки M7B2 Priest достались Бельгии, ФРГ и Италии.

Стоит отметить, что армия ФРГ после войны находилась в полной зависимости от союзников и длительное время обходилась исключительно бронетранспортерами и легкими танками, первые самоходные орудия M7B2 Priest были получены бундесвером только в 1956 году. Самоходные гаубицы данного типа находились на вооружении подразделений 1-й танковой дивизии. Правда, на вооружении бундесвера они оставались сравнительно недолго, они использовались примерно до середины 1960-х годов. Достаточно скоро их начали заменять на новые самоходки американского же производства — М52. При этом снятые с вооружения САУ М7В2 в силу своей общей устарелости главным образом оказались на армейских полигонах, где использовались в качестве мишеней.

105-мм самоходные гаубицы M7B2 Priest в бундесвере, фото: 477768.livejournal.com


105-мм самоходная гаубица M7B2 Priest









Источники информации:
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/usa/spg_m7_priest.htm
http://pro-tank.ru/bronetehnika-usa/60-su/161-m7-prist
Материалы из открытых источников
Автор:
Юферев Сергей
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. polpot Офлайн
    polpot (Andru) 15 ноября 2017 18:55
    0
    Вот поглядишь на такое и поймешь что советская танковая школа самая лучшая в мире даже не очень удачная су 122 по сравнению с этим изделием шедевр
    1. Лопатов Офлайн
      Лопатов (Лопатов) 15 ноября 2017 20:30
      +3
      Цитата: polpot
      даже не очень удачная су 122

      Машины разных классов. У нас в ВОВ вообще не создавали ничего подобного.
      Впрочем, как и американцы не выпускали "штурмовых" САУ. По крайней мере, я не слышал о таких. Только для стрельбы с ЗОП и противотанковые.
      1. polpot Офлайн
        polpot (Andru) 15 ноября 2017 22:21
        0
        Извените я имел в виду СУ 122 на базе Т34 штурмовой САУ этот самоход назвать сложно
        1. polpot Офлайн
          polpot (Andru) 15 ноября 2017 22:42
          0
          Изночально в техзадании производство СУ 122 рассматривалось как самоходная гаубица другой вопрос как использовали
        2. Вишневая девятка (1) 15 ноября 2017 22:42
          +1
          Цитата: polpot
          су 122 по сравнению с этим изделием шедевр

          Не вполне. Это изделие решало конкретную задачу - чтобы артиллерия не отставала от танков. И эту задачу решило, в отличие от СУ-122. При этом американцы использовали шасси устаревшей машины. На советские деньги - СУ-5-2.
          А что могли бы сделать аппарат получше - так у американцев бОльшая часть техники была импровизацией, американскими Т-70 и СУ-76. Продуманные американские машины появились, почти все, в 45-м.
        3. Лопатов Офлайн
          Лопатов (Лопатов) 15 ноября 2017 22:52
          +2
          Цитата: polpot
          штурмовой САУ этот самоход назвать сложно

          И тем не менее, именно им он и являлся.
          По сути существовало всего три типа САУ.
          -- Предназначенные для стрельбы с ЗОП
          -- Штурмовые, они же непосредственной поддержки
          -- Противотанковые
          Американский почти аналог СУ-122 это "Шерман" со 105-мм гаубицей. Так же был предназначен для непосредственной поддержки пехоты.
          Была у них, правда, ещё одна интересная штукенция, 75-мм самоходная гаубица M8 на шасси лёгкого "Стюарта", формально тоже штурмовая САУ. Но она оказалась слишком уж "нишевой", предназначенной действовать там, где не могли быть использованы танки
        4. Лопатов Офлайн
          Лопатов (Лопатов) 15 ноября 2017 23:05
          +1
          Американская танковая школа тех лет была действительно весьма оригинальна. Но не стоит забывать задач, перед ней стоявших: производство огромного количества бронетехники руками неспециалистов при сохранении приемлемого качества. Посему во главе угла стояла технологичность. И часто всё остальное приносилось в жертву ей.
          1. Вишневая девятка (1) 16 ноября 2017 00:44
            0
            Цитата: Лопатов
            Посему во главе угла стояла технологичность.

            Ну, не вполне. Естественно, американская БТТ была очень технологична, поскольку ее разрабатывали, в основном, автомобильные компании (либо привлекались специалисты из этой отрасли). Однако говорить, что конструктивные косяки - это жертвы во имя технологичности, на мой взгляд, не стоит. Скорее видно влияние штурмовщины и организационного бардака. Где-то больше, где-то меньше.
            1. Лопатов Офлайн
              Лопатов (Лопатов) 16 ноября 2017 09:03
              0
              Ну вот давайте посмотрим на примере конкретно этой САУ, рассматриваемой в статье. Взяли верхний станок буксируемой гаубицы М2 и практически без изменения поставили на корпус танка с минимальными переделками. Отсюда такой странный угол возвышения, не позволяющий даже на предельную дальность стрелять, не говоря уж о мортирной.
              Как можно было решить проблему? Или изменение верхнего станка с выносом оси вращения назад и более мощным уравновешивающим, или "разворот" базы. Всё это требовало большой работы, посему они просто увеличили высоту рубки.
  2. groks Офлайн
    groks (Олег) 15 ноября 2017 19:43
    +2
    Бедные немцы. Пользоваться этим до 60 года. Впечатление что устройство годов 20-30х.
Картина дня