Military Review

M3 Glock 19 Pistol and Progenitor

7
Sometimes ideas armory designers are far ahead of their time. Less often, but even this happens, some one idea gives a good impetus to the development of all weapons as a whole, with a revision of its classes and roles on the battlefield. And sometimes it turns out well, a very controversial design, the advantages of which are completely covered by the shortcomings that have appeared. In this article, we will try to get acquainted with such a weapon model as the M3 Glock 19, which is a folding pistol.


History M3 Glock 19 Appearances

M3 Glock 19 Pistol and ProgenitorIn general, the material on this weapon could be written in two paragraphs, with the first paragraph consisting of one sentence: “By design, the gun is almost identical to the Glock 19”, and the second one could describe all the flaws of the emerging structure in this implementation. With Glock in all its variations, if not all, then many are familiar, and once again repeat the design features of this weapon makes little sense. However, a more detailed study of the design, which makes the weapon collapsible, resembles another sample of weapons of a different class and from another weapon company - the Magpul FMG-9 submachine gun, which was developed on the basis of Glock 18.

This weapon was really very interesting and at the same time simple in its design. A person who does not know about the existence of this submachine gun could, with an absolute guarantee, take him for a flashlight with a large battery. However, this sample turned into a full-fledged submachine gun with a butt after pressing just one button. And if the cartridge was in the chamber, then after pressing the button it took less than a second before the start of firing.

The submachine gun itself consisted directly of the pistol with an elongated barrel and the “package”, which was split into two halves. The lower part, in the unfolded position, served as a full-fledged butt, while the upper part worked as a kind of forearm, so to speak, in this situation. A carrying handle was fixed on it, on which a rear sight and a front sight were placed, and a small flashlight was placed in front of the handle. The inclusion of a flashlight and a button to bring the weapon into combat readiness was available for pressing with a holding hand. If desired, the flashlight could be removed by replacing it with a laser designator, leaving it completely empty.

The ability of the arms to be folded was achieved by an unusual construction of the handle, the guard and the trigger. So the handle had the ability to fold forward, folding at the same time the safety bracket, consisting of two parts, and the trigger, which also had the ability to move forward. Notable in this design was that the handle slid along the store in the process of folding and unfolding. This solution was at the same time very easy to implement and at the same time almost completely fail-safe in terms of reliability.

The weapon controls were quite ordinary, the only thing that deserves special attention is the cocking handle. This detail was a separate, unrelated to the shutter casing element, respectively, when firing the handle remained stationary. It could be installed both on the right and on the left side of the submachine gun. It did not require a tool or PP disassembly, it was enough to pull out a small part and move it to the other side of the weapon.

Unfortunately, some design flaws, such as the complex elimination of delays during firing and the low strength of plastic parts, combined with not the greatest interest in this weapon, did not allow this particular submachine gun to enter the series. However, due to the unusual appearance, he caught on in a number of video games, and from there he moved to reality in the form of airsoft weapons.

Despite the general similarity of the folding mechanism, information that the Glock 3 M19 is based on FMG-9 was not found, although everything is quite obvious.



The design of the gun M3 Glock 19

In addition to the inability to conduct automatic fire, the M3 pistol differs from its progenitor by the manual mechanism for bringing the weapon into combat readiness. Other details are different. So the safety bracket is made of metal, and the hold handle has become shorter. The principle of work remained the same, but a number of shortcomings appeared.

One of the main drawbacks of the M3 pistol design is that the trigger mechanism is now completely open to contamination when the weapon is in the folded position. In general, the folding design implies the possibility of carrying weapons in the same pocket, or in a small compartment of the bag, that is, in those places where dirt, threads, small objects that may interfere with the operation of the pistol can accumulate. This means that in order for the weapon to retain its performance guaranteed, it will be necessary to carry it in some special fully closed holster or case, which completely removes all the advantages of the very idea of ​​a folding gun.

Another disadvantage of the weapon was his handle, on which all the fingers of the hand holding could not be placed. In principle, this task is handled by a long weapon store, and when you change a store, you can aristocraticly protrude the little finger.

Conclusion

The M3 Glock 19 pistol turned out to be a very strange weapon. On the one hand, it is compact when worn, while maintaining the full capacity of the store and the length of the trunk. On the other hand, this compactness is realized by reducing the reliability and ease of operation of the weapon.

Since November of this year, the gun is available for sale in the United States. It is noteworthy that many are against the emergence of these weapons in the civilian market, motivating the possibility of hidden wearing, forgetting that there are a lot of very compact models that are much smaller in size than the M3 in the folded position, and most importantly, more reliable.
Author:
Photos used:
www.magpul.com, tigertactic.com
7 comments
Ad

Our projects are looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. the47th
    the47th 21 November 2017 16: 29 New
    +4
    What is the point of compactness if the gun cannot be used without preparation for firing? You can carry a disassembled gun with the same success. The M3 Glock 19 takes up no less space than the same Kahr PM9 or Kel-Tec PF9, but they are ready to fire, but the folding Glock does not.
    1. 4thParasinok
      4thParasinok April 22 2018 14: 15 New
      0
      The whole point is to show customers what the company is capable of, a kind of self-promotion and a way to draw the attention of potential buyers to the company's products .. And if you also buy a dozen pistols, then it will also pay off financially right away.
  2. tracer
    tracer 21 November 2017 16: 39 New
    +3
    Dead man and not a project.
    1. Curious
      Curious 21 November 2017 19: 30 New
      +1
      Dead is not dead, but already on sale for $ 1.
      Full Conceal, which made the M3, specializes in concealed models.

      M1 based on Sig P320, M2 - Glock 17.
  3. Monarchist
    Monarchist 21 November 2017 18: 50 New
    +1
    Something too clever in the company. Glocks were wonderful models (I have a book: The Beetle "A Guide to Small Arms"), and this is some kind of stupid toy. "Raging Fat" as they said before
  4. dokusib
    dokusib 22 November 2017 10: 57 New
    0
    Saw a plastic gun in half a lot of the mind is not necessary. But people apparently hawala. Ponty is more expensive than money. I recalled an episode from The Simpsons: -These Bart rights are fake That is a fake. -That is Milhouse, this is Fake!
    1. Michael HORNET
      Michael HORNET 26 November 2017 15: 17 New
      0
      Quite an interesting option for those who need to carry a gun somewhere. But the FMG-9 was even better in this regard

Раскладной пистолет M3 Glock 19 и его прародитель

Иногда идеи оружейных конструкторов далеко опережают свое время. Реже, но и такое бывает, какая-то одна идея дает хороший толчок развитию всего оружия в целом, с пересмотром его классов и ролей на поле боя. А иногда получается ну очень спорная конструкция, преимущества которой полностью перекрываются появившимися недостатками. В данной статье попробуем познакомиться с такой моделью оружия как М3 Glock 19, которая представляет собой раскладывающийся пистолет.

История появления M3 Glock 19

Раскладной пистолет M3 Glock 19 и его прародительВообще материал о данном оружии можно было бы написать в два абзаца, причем первый абзац состоял бы из одного предложение: “По своей конструкции пистолет практически идентичный Glock 19”, а во втором можно было бы описать все недостатки складывающейся конструкции в данной реализации. С Глоком во всех его вариациях знакомы если не все, то многие и в очередной раз повторять особенности конструкции этого оружия особого смысла нет. Однако более детальное изучение конструкции, которая делает оружие складывающимся, напоминает другой образец оружия, другого класса и от другой оружейной компании - пистолет-пулемет FMG-9 компании Magpul, который был разработан на базе Glock 18.


Данное оружие было действительно очень интересным и в тоже время простым по своей конструкции. Человек не знающий о существовании данного пистолета-пулемета мог со стопроцентной гарантией принять его за фонарик с большим аккумулятором. Тем не менее, этот образец превращался в полноценный пистолет-пулемет с прикладом после нажатия всего одной кнопки. И если патрон находился в патроннике, то после нажатия на кнопку до возможности начала ведения огня проходило менее секунды.

Сам пистолет-пулемет состоял непосредственно из самого пистолета с удлиненным стволом и “упаковки”, которая раскладывалась на две половины. Нижняя часть в разложенном положении выполняла роль полноценного приклада, верхняя же работала своеобразным цевьем, если так можно выразится в данной ситуации. На ней была закреплена ручка для переноски, на которой были размещены целик и мушка, а перед ручкой размещался небольшой фонарик. Включение фонарика и кнопка приведения оружия в боевую готовность была доступна для нажатия удерживающей рукой. При желании фонарик можно было снять, заменив его на лазерный целеуказатель ли вообще оставив это посадочное место пустым.

Возможность оружия складываться достигалась не совсем обычной конструкцией рукояти, предохранительной скобы и спускового крючка. Так рукоять имела возможность складываться вперед, складывая одновременно предохранительную скобу, состоящую из двух деталей, и спусковой крючок, который также имел возможность движения вперед. Примечательным в данной конструкции было то, что рукоять в процессе складывания и раскладывания скользила вдоль магазина. Такое решение одновременно было очень простым в реализации и при этом практически полностью безотказным в плане надежности.

Элементы управления оружием были вполне обычными, единственное что заслуживает отдельного внимания это рукоять взведения затвора. Эта деталь была отдельным, не связанным с кожухом-затвором, элементом, соответственно при стрельбе рукоятка оставалась неподвижной. Установить ее можно было как с правой, так и с левой стороны пистолета-пулемета. Для этого не требовался инструмент или разборка ПП, достаточно было вытащить небольшую деталь и переставить ее на другую сторону оружия.

К сожалению, отдельные недостатки конструкции, такие как сложное устранение задержек при стрельбе и невысокая прочность пластиковых деталей, в сумме с не самым большим интересом к данному оружию, не позволили выйти данному пистолету-пулемету в серию. Однако благодаря необычному внешнему виду он прижился в ряде видеоигр, а оттуда уже перекочевал в реальность в виде страйкбольного оружия.

Несмотря на общую схожесть механизма складывания, информации о том, что М3 Glock 19 базируется на FMG-9 найти не удалось, хотя все вполне очевидно.



Конструкция пистолета М3 Glock 19

Помимо отсутствия возможности ведения автоматического огня, пистолет М3 отличается от своего прародителя ручным механизмом приведения оружия в боевую готовность. Отличаются и другие детали. Так предохранительная скоба выполненна из металла, а рукоять удержания стала короче. Принцип же работы остался тот же, но проявился ряд недостатков.

Одним из самых главных недостатков конструкции пистолета М3 стало то, что теперь ударно-спусковой механизм полностью открыт для загрязнений, когда оружие находится в сложенном положении. Вообще складывающаяся конструкция подразумевает возможность ношения оружия в том же кармане, либо же в небольшом отделении сумки, то есть в тех местах, где может скапливаться грязь, нитки, мелкие предметы, которые могут помешать работе пистолета. Это значит, что для того чтобы оружие гарантировано сохранило свою работоспособность, носить его нужно будет в какой-то специальной полностью закрытой кобуре или чехле, что полностью убирает все преимущества самой идеи складного пистолета.

Еще одним недостатком оружия стала его рукоять, на которой не помещаются все пальцы удерживающей руки. В принципе с этой задачей справляется длинный магазин оружия, а при смене магазина можно аристократично оттопыривать мизинец.

Заключение

Пистолет М3 Glock 19 получился весьма странным оружием. С одной стороны в нем реализована компактность при ношении, с сохранением полноценной вместимости магазина и длины ствола. С другой же стороны эта компактность реализована за счет снижения надежности и удобства эксплуатации оружия.

С ноября этого года пистолет доступен в продаже на территории США. Примечательно, что многие против появления данного оружия на гражданском рынке, мотивируя возможностью скрытого ношения, забывая, что имеется масса очень компактных моделей, которые намного меньше по габаритам чем М3 в сложенном положении, а главное надежнее.
Автор:
Марк Поддубный
Использованы фотографии:
www.magpul.com, tigertactic.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. the47th Офлайн
    the47th (Игорь) 21 ноября 2017 16:29
    +4
    Какой смысл в компактности, если пистолет нельзя использовать без подготовки к стрельбе? С таким же успехом можно и разобранный пистолет носить. M3 Glock 19 занимает не меньше места, чем те же Kahr PM9 или Kel-Tec PF9, но они готовы к стрельбе, а складной Glock - нет.
    1. 4-тыйПарасенок (Александр) 22 апреля 2018 14:15
      0
      Весь смысл в том что-бы показать покупателям на что способна фирма, своеобразная самореклама и способ обратить внимание потенциальных покупателей на продукцию фирмы.. А если еще и купят с десяток пистолей- то еще и финансово сразу окупится.
  2. трассер Офлайн
    трассер (Вьюга) 21 ноября 2017 16:39
    +3
    Мертвяк а не проект.
    1. Curious Офлайн
      Curious (Victor) 21 ноября 2017 19:30
      +1
      Мертвяк не мертвяк, а уже в продаже за 1 200$.
      Фирма Full Conceal, которая сделала М3, специализируется на моделях для скрытого ношения.

      М1 на базе Sig P320, М2 - Glock 17.
  3. Монархист Офлайн
    Монархист (Лабинский Слава) 21 ноября 2017 18:50
    +1
    Что-то перемудрил в компании. Глоки были прекрасные модели( у меня есть книга: Жук"Справочник по стрелковому оружию"),а это какая-то глупая игрушка. "С жиру бесятся" как говорили раньше
  4. dokusib Офлайн
    dokusib 22 ноября 2017 10:57
    0
    Распилить пластиковый пистолет пополам много ума не надо. Но пипл видимо хавает. Понты дороже денег. Вспомнил эпизод из Симпсонов: -Эти права Барт подделные То-есть фалшивка. -Вот именно Милхаус, это ФАЛШИВКА!
    1. Михаил HORNET Офлайн
      Михаил HORNET 26 ноября 2017 15:17
      0
      Вполне интересный вариант для тех, кому надо пронести пистолет куда-либо. Но FMG-9 в этом плане даже лучше был
Картина дня