Military Review

The end justifies the means: Erdogan is ready to step on his own throat

10
One day after the talks on Syria between Russian President Vladimir Putin and his Iranian and Turkish counterpart Hassan Rouhani and Rejep Tayyip Erdogan, the Turkish leader made a sensational statement. The head of the republic allowed the possibility of discussing the issue of the Syrian Kurds with Syrian President Bashar Assad.


The end justifies the means: Erdogan is ready to step on his own throat


Speaking to Turkish journalists on the basis of the past trilateral summit, Erdogan said that at the moment Ankara did not agree on any contacts with official Damascus. At the same time, answering a question about the readiness of the Turkish authorities to conduct negotiations with Assad on the fight against YPG (detachments of the people's self-defense of Syrian Kurdistan), Erdogan said: “Whatever happens tomorrow, everything depends on the circumstances. It is impractical to say "never at all."

In the process of resolving the conflict on the territory of the neighboring country, the main task for Ankara remains the weakening of Syrian Kurdistan’s position both in the military (allowing the Turkish armed forces to conduct a military operation on the Kurdish-controlled territory) and in the diplomatic component (recognition by other YPG states as a terrorist organization). However, to fulfill the requests of Ankara, no one is in a hurry, realizing that the demands put forward are only the beginning of “political bargaining”, under which Turkey adheres to the position of “wringing prices”, strongly denying the positive role of the Kurds in the long-term war.

Having assisted in the liberation of the north of Syria from terrorist groups, Kurdish formations are trying to take their place at the negotiating table, aiming to bargain for their partial independence from Damascus. The main nuance lies in the fact that a narrow circle of people willing to take the Kurdish participant into the political dialogue consists of Moscow, Tehran and Damascus, who recently announced his intention to change the constitution and hold parliamentary elections under new conditions. It is noteworthy that, in addition to Ankara, their financial patron in the name of Washington is categorically negative to the dialogue with the Kurds. Being present at the seventh round of negotiations on Astana, the American delegation expressed its extreme concern about the possible creation of Kurdish autonomy in the Syrian Arab Republic.

Returning to Ankara’s principled policy, the position of the Turkish authorities continues to go against the interests of both official Damascus and Moscow, acting as its intermediary, and Washington. The key difference lies in the fact that Turkey has an order of magnitude more contact points with Russia. As for the United States, the Turkish authorities cannot but be concerned about the possible acquisition of control over the territory by the Capitol, which will later be used to maintain American military bases and to lobby for Western interests in Syria and the Middle East region.

It is not surprising that Ankara is beginning to look for ways to compromise with official Damascus even on the most fundamental issues, as evidenced by Erdogan’s statement, which allows for discussing the Kurdish issue with Bashar Asad. Apparently, the “overstatement of requirements” on this topic remains a matter of time and how long it will be delayed mainly and will be decided by the Turkish sultan, on whom, among others, will depend the issue of inviting Kurdish people to the Syrian National Dialogue Congress.
Author:
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 25 November 2017 07: 18 New
    +2
    It’s inappropriate to say “never at all

    Who, if not Erdoогan, knows this. He can make statements contradicting each other during the day. But even the assumption of the possibility of negotiations between Turkey and Damascus already suggests that something has moved off the ground.
    1. siberalt
      siberalt 25 November 2017 13: 27 New
      +2
      Why does Erdogan need Syrian Kurds if they need to deal with their own? It's just that Erdogan is bargaining for something. But in trade, no principles work except profit. winked
  2. aszzz888
    aszzz888 25 November 2017 08: 32 New
    +2
    The head of the republic allowed the opportunity to discuss the issue of the Syrian Kurds with the current Syrian President Bashar al-Assad.

    ... let's cross the line of old quarrels and grievances ... you were friends in the past, families were friends ... it will be better for everyone - both for the Turks and the Syrians ... drinks
    1. protoss
      protoss 26 November 2017 02: 30 New
      0
      Well, how were friends ... Erdogan tried to make friends to improve the traditionally bad relations between the two countries until, if you believe the media, he didn’t find out that the Assad woman considers his woman a fool, and his most uneducated bandit. as if after such an open duplicity of the four Assads, he cooled to this "friendship". and everything returned to normal - Turkey and Syria are enemies again.
  3. Nyrobsky
    Nyrobsky 25 November 2017 11: 28 New
    +1
    Mattresses need a single and independent Kurdistan tailored from pieces of Syria, Iraq and Turkey. If they have autonomy status in these countries, this will ruin all US plans to consolidate its presence in the region and influence on hydrocarbon flows. So, if Washington is against the creation of Kurdish autonomy, then it is really necessary to follow the path of its creation and consolidation of such status in the new constitution of Syria.
  4. Boa kaa
    Boa kaa 25 November 2017 12: 11 New
    +3
    The Kurdish issue will still have to be resolved: the 40-millionth people want to have their own independent state. But no one will voluntarily give up their lands for the creation of such a state. Moreover, Kurds are sitting in oil-bearing territories. Therefore, there is only one path: autonomy within Syria, Turkey, Iran. And in the future, Allah will give, the reunification of all Kurds into a single state.
    But the States have a different perspective on the Kurdish issue. They benefit from the “burning wick” of the national Kurdish bomb in the oil-bearing region. Here you can make a fuss with democracy, and plant military bases, and stake out your presence, and add TNKs to the business ...
    So, Russia, with its policy of peace and justice in the BV, is a bone in the throat of the "peddlers of democracy." Yes, she also withdraws the "allies" in NATO from the alliance .. Well, absolutely "radishes", these Russians! Therefore, the States will intrigue in black, right down to military provocations: it really hurts not in their own way. And this Hegemon can not stand!
    IMHO.
  5. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 25 November 2017 12: 27 New
    +2
    The end justifies the means: Erdogan is ready to step on his own throat
    The dead stands firm. Living reacts to a change in reality. Trump will offer "peach" tomorrow and Erdogan will think again. Or maybe the Kurds and not a great evil?
  6. Coconut
    Coconut 25 November 2017 12: 47 New
    0
    Not just the throat ... but what is his choice? fight with Russia? or with Iran? winked
  7. koshmarik
    koshmarik 25 November 2017 12: 57 New
    0
    I think that the creation of widely empowered Kurdish autonomies in each country is the only right decision at this stage. So, for example, there is no force that could force Turkey to surrender the vast territory of “Turkish Kurdistan” for nothing
  8. Tarasios
    Tarasios 25 November 2017 17: 33 New
    +3
    It is interesting to observe the results of the work of Russian diplomacy over the past ten years. A lot of “ideological enemies” and “half-friends” are increasingly “synchronized” with the opinion and policies of Moscow, and without extraordinary human and financial costs. This makes me happy.

Цель оправдывает средства: Эрдоган готов наступить на горло собственным принципам

Спустя один день после переговоров по Сирии между президентом России Владимиром Путиным и его иранским и турецким коллегой Хасаном Роухани и Рейджепом Тайипом Эрдоганом лидер Турции сделал сенсационное заявление. Глава республики допустил возможность обсуждения вопроса сирийских курдов с действующим президентом Сирии Башаром Асадом.

Цель оправдывает средства: Эрдоган готов наступить на горло собственным принципам


Выступая перед турецкими журналистами по итогам прошедшего трехстороннего саммита, Эрдоган заявил, что на данный момент Анкара не договаривалась о каких-либо контактах с официальным Дамаском. При этом, отвечая на вопрос о готовности турецких властей вести с Асадом переговоры по вопросу борьбы с YPG (отряды народной самообороны Сирийского Курдистана), Эрдоган заявил: «Что бы ни случилось завтра, все зависит от обстоятельств. Нецелесообразно говорить «никогда вообще».


В процессе урегулирования конфликта на территории соседней страны главной задачей для Анкары остается ослабление позиций Сирийского Курдистана как в военной (разрешение турецким вооруженным силам на проведение военной операции на контролируемой курдами территории), так и дипломатической составляющей (признание другими государствами YPG террористической организацией). Впрочем, выполнять запросы Анкары, пока никто не торопится, понимая, что выдвинутые требования являются только началом «политического торга», в рамках которого Турция придерживается позиции «заламывания цены», всячески отрицая положительную роль курдов в многолетней войне.

Оказав содействие в освобождении севера Сирии от террористических группировок курдские формирования пытаются занять свое место за переговорным столом, преследуя цель выторговать для себя частичную независимость от Дамаска. Главный нюанс заключается в том, что принимать в политический диалог курдского участника находится узкий круг желающих, состоящий из Москвы, Тегерана и Дамаска, который не так давно заявил о намерениях изменить конституцию и провести парламентские выборы на новых условиях. Примечательно, помимо Анкары категорически отрицательно к ведению с курдами диалога относится их финансовый покровитель в лице Вашингтона. Присутствуя на седьмом раунде переговоров по Астане, американская делегация выразила крайнюю озабоченность возможным созданием в Сирийской Арабской Республике Курдской автономии.

Возвращаясь к принципиальной политике Анкары, позиция турецких властей продолжает идти вразрез с интересами как официального Дамаска и Москвы, выступающей его посредником, так и Вашингтона. Ключевая разница заключается в том, что с Россией у Турции имеется на порядок больше точек соприкосновения. Что же касается США, здесь у турецких властей не может не вызывать озабоченность возможное получение Капитолием контроля над территорией, которая в дальнейшем будет использоваться для содержания американских военных баз и для лоббирования западных интересов в Сирии и ближневосточном регионе.

Неудивительно, что Анкара начинает искать пути к компромиссу с официальным Дамаском даже по самым принципиальным вопросам, о чем и свидетельствует заявление Эрдогана, допускающего вариант обсуждения курдского вопроса с Башаром Асадом. По всей видимости, «завышенность требований» по данной теме остается вопросом времени и насколько оно затянется, главным образом, и будет решать турецкий султан, от которого, в числе других, будет зависеть вопрос о приглашении на Конгресс национального диалога Сирии представителей курдского населения.
Автор: Владимир Сергеев


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 10

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. rotmistr60 (Геннадий) 25 ноября 2017 07:18
    Нецелесообразно говорить «никогда вообще

    Кому, как не Эрдогану это знать. Он может в течение суток сделать заявления противоречащие друг друга. Но даже предположение о возможности переговоров Турции с Дамаском уже говорит о том, что что-то сдвинулось с мертвой точки.
    1. сибиралт (Олег) 25 ноября 2017 13:27
      Зачем Эрдогану сирийские курды, если со своими нужно разбираться? Просто, Эрдоган что-то для себя выторговывает. А в торговле никакие принципы не работают, кроме выгоды. winked
  2. a.s.zzz888 (шериф) 25 ноября 2017 08:32
    Глава республики допустил возможность обсуждения вопроса сирийских курдов с действующим президентом Сирии Башаром Асадом.

    ... давайте переступите черту давних ссор и обид... вы ведь были в прошлом друзьями, семьями дружили... это будет лучше всем - и туркам и сирийцам... drinks
    1. protoss (Александр) 26 ноября 2017 02:30
      ну как дружили... эрдоган пытался дружить чтобы улучшить традиционно плохие отношения двух стран до тех пор пока, если верить сми, не узнал что асадовская баба его бабу считает дурой, а его самого необразованным бандитом. как бы после такого вскрывшегося двуличия четы асадов он к этой «дружбе» и охладел. и все вернулось на круги своя - турция и сирия снова враги.
  3. Ныробский (Дмитрий) 25 ноября 2017 11:28
    Матрасам нужен единый и независимый Курдистан скроенный из кусков Сирии, Ирака и Турции. Если они будут иметь статус автономий в составе этих стран, то это рушит все планы США по закреплению своего присутствия в регионе и влияния на потоки углеводородов. Так что, если Вашингтон против создания курдской автономии, значит действительно надо идти по пути её создания и закрепления такового статуса в новой конституции Сирии.
  4. Удав КАА (Александр) 25 ноября 2017 12:11
    Решать курдский вопрос все равно придется: 40-миллионный народ хочет иметь свое независимое государство. Вот только никто не отдаст добровольно свои земли под создание такого государства. Тем более, что сидят курды на нефтеносных территориях. Поэтому путь видится один: автономии в составе Сирии, Турции, Ирана. А в будущем, даст Аллах, воссоединение всех курдов в единое государство.
    Но Штаты имеют другой взгляд на курдскую проблему. Им выгоден "горящий фитиль" национальной курдской бомбы в нефтеносном районе. Тут и с демократией подсуетиться можно, и базочки военные подсадить, и присутствие свое застолбить, и ТНК к делу пристроить...
    Так что, Россия со своей политикой мира и справедливости на БВ -- кость в горле у "разносчиков демократии". Да она еще и "союзников" по НАТО уводит из альянса.. Ну совсем "редиски", эти русские! Поэтому Штаты будут интриговать по-черному, вплоть до военных провокаций: уж больно все не по-ихнему получается. А этого Гегемон терпеть не может!
    ИМХО.
  5. Mavrikiy 25 ноября 2017 12:27
    Цель оправдывает средства: Эрдоган готов наступить на горло собственным принципам
    Мертвое стоит твердо. Живое реагирует на изменение реальности. Завтра Трамп предложит "персик" и Эрдоган опять задумается. А может курды и не великое зло?
  6. Кокос (Дмитрий) 25 ноября 2017 12:47
    Не только на горло...а какой у него выбор? воевать с Россией? или с Ираном? winked
  7. koshmarik (Вадим) 25 ноября 2017 12:57
    Думаю, что создание широко полномочных курдских автономий в каждой из стран, единственно правильное решение на данном этапе. Так, например, нет никакой силы, которая могла бы заставить Турцию за просто так отдать огромную территорию "Турецкого Курдистана"
  8. Tarasios (Tarasios) 25 ноября 2017 17:33
    Интересно наблюдать за результатами работы Российской дипломатии на протяжении последнего десятка лет. Множество "идейных врагов" и "полудрузей" всё больше "синхронизируются" с мнением и политикой Москвы, причём без запредельных человеческих и финансовых затрат. Это радует.
Картина дня