Military Review

Stories about weapons. Rifles of the First World War. Commission rifle sample 1888, Germany

8



History The creation of this rifle began in 1886, when the Lebel M1886 rifle was adopted by the French army. It was the first smokeless powder rifle, reduced to 8-mm caliber. Old French black powder rifles had a caliber 11 mm.

The 8-mm caliber bullets on smokeless powder had a higher speed and a more flat trajectory of flight, which increased the accuracy of the shot.

With the adoption of the French rifle, the German rifle Mauser 1871 immediately played into the category of obsolete. Therefore, the Commission is an experimental weapons infantry began work on a new rifle, the successor to the Mauser M1871 / 84.

It was originally planned to upgrade this weapon and its ammunition by changing the caliber from 11 to 7,9 mm and replacing black powder with smokeless.

But the Commission went further, deciding to create a new weapon and a cartridge for it using the latest solutions from European countries.

The new 7,9 mm cartridge was one of the first rifle cartridges without a bead.



This greatly simplified the design of the store. Overall, the store was copied from an Austrian Mannicher 1886 model of the year. The difference was in the window for the release of the cage at the bottom of the store.



Due to the successful outer form, the cartridges fit well in the holder, take up little space in the rifle magazine, are fed and delivered by the bolt without delay, and allow you to make a bolt of small diameter, which facilitates the entire bolt and receiver.



The shutter of the new rifle was developed in Spandau by Louis Schlegelmilch, a specialist in the state arsenal.

The shape and thread pitch of the barrel is copied from a Lebel rifle.

Somewhat strange was the fact that the leading rifle manufacturer in Germany, Mauser, had no relation to the development of the rifle. But Mauser worked on his new rifle, which replaced the rifle of the 1888 sample a year later.

The weapon received several names. Rifle 1888 model year, "State rifle", "Commission rifle."



The first series of rifles of the 1888 model of the year was released in the spring of the 1889 of the year. A total of about 1,7 million units were produced.

The rifle was completed with a bayonet, which in essence was a modification of the sappers sword. Very impressive melee weapon.



In 1898, the replacement began with a Mauser 98 rifle. During World War I, the Gewehr 88 was in service with only the rear units of the German army.

But the career of the commission rifle did not end there. During World War II, she too had to take part as a regular weapon of the Volkssturm.

The rifle received a lot of criticism, both for the haste of the creators and for the presence of flaws. The opinion is often expressed that the Commission could wait with the release of its rifle, because the main rifle rifle in Germany, Mauser was already finalizing his famous G98.

But it is necessary to recognize that the commission was right in an effort to quickly take the weapon into service. Mauser managed with his G1898 by the beginning of the First World War, but if something suddenly went wrong or had happened any other conflict with the same France, Germany would have remained with the ancient Mauser 1871 rifle of the year against the modern Lebel rifle among the French and God forbid, the Mosin rifle of the Russian army, which surpassed not only the Lebel rifle, but also the G1888, being the best rifle of that time.

Andrei Bondar, the reconstructor of the Infanteria club located near Moscow, will tell about what the rifle consists of, how it is sorted out.

Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. moskowit
    moskowit 30 November 2017 15: 54 New
    0
    ... barrel thread pitch ...
    recourse what sad
    In the trunks, rifling with a certain pitch, steepness and depth ... With further modernization of the rifle in 1905 and 1914, the rifling in the trunks was deepened by 0,15 mm ....
    1. figwam
      figwam 30 November 2017 17: 02 New
      +3
      The shape and thread pitch of the barrel is copied from a Lebel rifle.

      Maybe they mean the thread due to which the barrel is twisted into the receiver?
      Thanks to the good outer shape, the cartridges fit well in the holder
      This is not called a clip, but a bundle.


      I would like a photo of disassembling rifles, the design of the rifles is very interesting.
      1. hohol95
        hohol95 1 December 2017 00: 11 New
        0

        Will this poster work?
        1. figwam
          figwam 1 December 2017 11: 47 New
          +1
          No, I wanted the video to take turns showing the disassembly of all the rifles, the number of parts, their reliability, complexity, or vice versa, the simplicity of the solutions.
  2. Curious
    Curious 30 November 2017 15: 58 New
    +6
    "The shape and pitch of the barrel is copied from the Lebel rifle."
    The helical grooves in the channel of a firearm that communicate rotational movement to elongated projectiles for stability during flight in the air are called rifling.
    At the same time, the Gewehr 88 rifle (Commission rifle, Reichsgewehr) developed a Patrone 88 (M / 88) cartridge with a bottleless sleeve, a charge of smokeless powder and an 8 mm blunt bullet (diameter 8,08 mm).
    In 1905, this cartridge was replaced by a new 7,92 × 57mm Mauser with a pointed S type bullet with a diameter of 8,20 mm and more powerful gunpowder.
    The rarest version of the 1888 model rifle is the G.1897 / 88 sample ordered in 88 with the aim of replacing the 97 model. This option was equipped with a shutter based on the Mauser design of the 1898 model, which did not have a third combat support, as well as a box-shaped double-row magazine of the same Mauser design, completely hidden in the box. However, the G.88 / 97 rifle lost in the competitive tests to the Mauser model of 1898.
  3. The comment was deleted.
    1. bistrov.
      bistrov. 30 November 2017 18: 45 New
      +5
      Quote: Monarchist
      if you look after a rifle, it will be eternal "

      The barrels of rifles and carbines, manufactured by Soviet arms factories since 1943, were designed for no more than 1000 shots (this did not apply to sniper barrels, they were made using special technology) and even those soldiers on the front lines did not have time to do (according to statistics, more than 400 shots) died, or was injured, while the rifle was lost, or was disfigured before that it was no longer suitable, only in scrap metal. Although, rifles after fights, where possible, were assembled and sent to weapons factories, where they were rebuilt and restored with the addition, if necessary, of new parts. During the war, the Soviet arms factories produced more than 12 million Mosin rifles and carbines.
      In the Wehrmacht, the situation with rifles and carbines and with small arms in general was even worse, not only did Germany and its satellites release them 2 times less than the USSR, but they were also much worse in quality than Mosin rifles.
      .
      Quote: Monarchist
      In 1942 there were battles for the Pashkov crossing

      This is just a militia, an emergency, critical situation, there were simply no weapons at the right time, in the right place, usually fully equipped and armed units and units already arrived at the places of hostilities. It is not necessary to build "weather" on isolated cases.
  4. John22
    John22 1 December 2017 18: 33 New
    +1
    1. The new German cartridge P88 7,92x57 mm had a coated bullet with a lead core.
    2. The barrel of the rifle had a protective casing of thin steel protecting from burns. Another purpose of the casing is to protect the floating trunk. Front sight and sight mounted on the casing.
    3. Similarly, Russian rifle arr. 1891 should also be called a commission, not a Mosin rifle. Or by the official name given to her by Alexander III.
  5. Rotmistr
    Rotmistr 2 December 2017 16: 02 New
    15
    I liked the article.
    The rifle is a good thing. I have an SCS, although I dreamed about a mosquito)
    Always wondered - was our bayonet really the best?
    The bayonet-type bayonet has an advantage in bayonet fighting in tight formation, and the bayonet-shaped bayonet reduces the chance of getting stuck in the enemy’s body and increases penetration. Also, the needle bayonet had a mass much less than that of a similar-sized blade bayonet (an adjoined blade bayonet increases the load on the front part of the barrel of the weapon, the accuracy of firing standing and from the knee decreases), with faceted needle bayonets, where the neck deflects the blade a certain distance from axis of the bore, shooting is not a problem. Another advantage is the large length over the blade bayonet, since the total length of the gun (rifle) with the bayonet must be such that the infantryman can at a safe distance repel a cavalry reciprocal strike. After the firing with a trihedral bayonet, it turned out that the bullet was moving away from the aiming point when the target was hit. After that, a stronger needle-shaped tetrahedral bayonet was designed. This bayonet, as on previous rifles of the Russian army, was placed to the right of the barrel to compensate for derivation.
    The tip had a sharpener in the shape of a screwdriver. The wounds inflicted by a tetrahedral needle bayonet were heavier than those inflicted by a bayonet-knife, had great depth and a small inlet, so the wound was accompanied by severe internal bleeding, which caused the bayonet to be condemned as inhumane

    Interestingly

Рассказы об оружии. Винтовки Первой мировой. Комиссионная винтовка образца 1888 года, Германия



История создания этой винтовки началась в 1886 году, когда на вооружение французской армии была принята винтовка Lebel M1886. Это была первая винтовка на бездымном порохе, уменьшенная до 8-мм калибра. Старые французские винтовки на дымном порохе имели калибр 11 мм.

Пули калибра 8-мм на бездымном порохе имели более высокую скорость и более настильную траекторию полета, благодаря чему возросла точность выстрела.


С принятием на вооружение французской винтовки немецкая винтовка Mauser 1871 моментально сыграла в разряд устаревших. Поэтому Комиссия экспериментального оружия пехоты начала работу над новой винтовкой, преемником Mauser M1871/84.

Изначально планировалось модернизировать это оружие и его боеприпасы путём изменения калибра с 11 до 7,9 мм и замены чёрного пороха на бездымный.

Но Комиссия пошла дальше, решив создать новое оружие и патрон под него с использованием новейших решений европейских стран.

Новый патрон 7,9 мм был одним из первых винтовочных патронов без закраины.



Благодаря этому сильно упростилась конструкция магазина. В целом, магазин был скопирован с австрийской винтовки Манлихера образца 1886 года. Отличие состояло в окошке для выброса обоймы внизу магазина.



Благодаря удачной наружной форме патроны хорошо укладываются в обойме, занимают мало места в магазине винтовки, подаются и досылаются затвором без задержек и позволяют сделать затвор небольшого диаметра, что облегчает весь затвор и ствольную коробку.



Затвор новой винтовки был разработан в Шпандау Луи Шлегельмильхом, специалистом государственного арсенала.

Форма и шаг резьбы ствола скопирован с винтовки Лебеля.

Несколько странным был факт, что ведущий в Германии производитель винтовок, Маузер, к разработке винтовки не имел отношения. Но Маузер работал над своей новой винтовкой, которая сменила винтовку образца 1888 года несколько позже.

Оружие получило несколько названий. Винтовка образца 1888 года, «Государственная винтовка», «Комиссионная винтовка».



Первая серия винтовок образца 1888 года была выпущена весной 1889 года. Всего было произведено около 1,7 млн. штук.

Винтовка комплектовалась штыком, который по сути являлся модификацией палаша саперов. Весьма внушительное оружие ближнего боя.



В 1898 году началась замена винтовкой Mauser 98. Во время Первой мировой войны Gewehr 88 была на вооружении только тыловых подразделений немецкой армии.

Но на этом карьера комиссионной винтовки не закончилась. Во время Второй мировой войны ей тоже пришлось принять участие в качестве штатного оружия фольксштурма.

Винтовка получила в свой адрес немало критики, как за поспешность создателей, так и за наличие недостатков. Часто высказывается мнение, что Комиссия могла подождать с выпуском своей винтовки, ведь главный по винтовкам в Германии Маузер уже дорабатывал свой знаменитый G98.

Но стоит признать, что комиссия была права в стремлении быстрее принять оружие в эксплуатацию. Маузер успел со своей G1898 к началу Первой мировой войны, но если бы вдруг что-то пошло не так или случись какой-либо другой конфликт с той же Францией, Германия осталась бы с древней винтовкой Маузера 1871 года против современной винтовки Лебеля у французов и, не приведи бог, винтовкой Мосина у русской армии, которая превосходила не только винтовку Лебеля, но и G1888, являясь лучшей винтовкой того времени.

О том, из чего состоит винтовка, как разбирается, расскажет Андрей Бондарь, реконструктор подмосковного клуба "Инфантерия".

Автор:
Роман Скоморохов, Роман Кривов
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. moskowit Офлайн
    moskowit (Николай Иванович) 30 ноября 2017 15:54
    0
    ... шаг резьбы ствола...
    recourse what sad
    В стволах нарезы с определённым шагом, крутизной и глубиной... При дальнейшей модернизации винтовки в 1905 и 1914 годах в стволах были углублены нарезы на 0,15 мм....
    1. фигвам Онлайн
      фигвам (Сергей) 30 ноября 2017 17:02
      +3
      Форма и шаг резьбы ствола скопирован с винтовки Лебеля.

      Может они имеют ввиду резьбу за счёт которой ствол закручивается в ствольную коробку?
      Благодаря удачной наружной форме патроны хорошо укладываются в обойме
      Это называется не обойма, а пачка.


      Хотелось бы фото разборки винтовок, очень интересна конструкция винтовок.
      1. hohol95 Офлайн
        hohol95 (Алексей) 1 декабря 2017 00:11
        0

        А этот плакатик подойдёт?
        1. фигвам Онлайн
          фигвам (Сергей) 1 декабря 2017 11:47
          +1
          Нет, я хотел чтоб на видео по очереди показали разборку всех винтовок, количество деталей, их надёжность, сложность или наоборот простоту решений.
  2. Curious Онлайн
    Curious (Victor) 30 ноября 2017 15:58
    +6
    "Форма и шаг резьбы ствола скопирован с винтовки Лебеля".
    Винтовые канавки в канале огнестрельного оружия, сообщающие вращательное движение продолговатым снарядам для устойчивости их во время полета в воздухе, называются нарезы.
    Одновременно к винтовке Gewehr 88 ("Commission rifle", "Reichsgewehr") был разработан патрон Patrone 88 (M/88) с безфланцевой гильзой бутылочной формы, зарядом бездымного пороха и 8-мм тупоконечной пулей (диаметр 8,08 мм).
    В 1905 году этот патрон был заменен на новый 7,92×57mm Mauser с остроконечной пулей типа S диаметром 8,20 мм и более мощным порохом.
    Самым редким вариантом винтовки образца 1888 года является заказанный в 1897 году с целью замены модели 88 образец G.88/97. Данный вариант оснащался затвором на базе конструкции Маузера образца 1898 года, не имевшим третьего боевого упора, а так же полностью скрытым в ложе коробчатым двухрядным магазином так же конструкции Маузера. Однако винтовка G.88/97 проиграла в конкурсных испытаниях Маузеру образца 1898 г.
  3. Комментарий был удален.
    1. bistrov. Онлайн
      bistrov. 30 ноября 2017 18:45
      +5
      Цитата: Монархист
      если за винтовкой ухаживать,она вечная будет"

      Стволы винтовок и карабинов,выпускавшиеся советскими оружейными заводами с 1943 года, были расчитаны не более, чем на 1000 выстрелов,( это не касалось снайперских стволов,они изготавливались по особой технологии) да и тех солдат на передовой не успевал сделать,( по статистике не более 400 выстрелов) погибал, или бывал ранен,при этом винтовка утрачивалась, или до того изуродовалась, что больше никуда была не годна, только в металлолом. Хотя ,винтовки после боев,где возможно, собирались и отправлялись на оружейные заводы, где происходила их пересборка и восстановление с добавление, случае необходимости, новых деталей. За время войны советскими оружейными заводами было выпущено более 12 млн. винтовок и карабинов Мосина.
      В Вермахте ситуация с винтовками и карабинами и со стрелковым оружием вообще, была ещё хуже, мало того,что Германия и её сателлиты выпустили их в 2 раза меньше,чем СССР,так ещё и по качеству они были гораздо хуже, чем винтовки Мосина.
      .
      Цитата: Монархист
      В 1942 были бои за Пашковскую переправу

      Это всего лишь ополчение, нештатная, критическая ситуация, просто оружия не оказалось в нужное время, в нужном месте, обычно в места боевых действий уже прибывали полностью укомплектованные и вооруженные подразделения и части. Не стоит на единичных случаях строить "погоду".
  4. Джон22 Офлайн
    Джон22 (Александр) 1 декабря 2017 18:33
    +1
    1. Новый патрон Германии Р88 7,92х57 мм имел оболоченную пулю со свинцовым сердечником.
    2. Ствол винтовки имел защитный кожух из тонкой стали предохраняющий от ожогов. Другая цель кожуха - предохранение плавающего ствола. Мушка и прицел установлены на кожухе.
    3. Аналогично Русскую винтовку обр. 1891 г. тоже надо называть комиссионной, а не винтовкой Мосина. Или по официальному названию данного ей Александром III.
  5. Rotmistr Офлайн
    Rotmistr (Дмитрий Панченко) 2 декабря 2017 16:02
    +15
    Статья понравилось.
    Хорошая штука - винтовка. У меня есть СКС, хотя мечтал о мосинке)
    Всегда интересовало - действительно ли наш штык был лучшим?
    штык игольчатого типа имеет преимущество при штыковом бое в плотном строю, а игольчатая форма штыка уменьшает шанс увязания в теле противника и повышает пробиваемость. Также игольчатый штык имел массу намного меньше, чем у аналогичного по габаритам клинкового штыка (примкнутый клинковый штык увеличивает нагрузку именно на переднюю часть ствола оружия, снижается точность стрельбы стоя и с колена), при игольчатых гранёных штыках, где шейка отклоняет лезвие на некоторое расстояние от оси канала ствола, стрельба не представляет проблем. Другое преимущество большая длина перед клинковым штыком, так как общая длина ружья (винтовки) со штыком должна быть таковой, чтобы пехотинец мог на безопасном расстоянии отразить сабельный удар кавалериста. После проведённых стрельб с трёхгранным штыком, оказалось, что пуля уходит от точки прицеливания при поражении цели. После этого был спроектирован более прочный игольчатый четырёхгранный штык. Этот штык, как и на предыдущих винтовках Русской армии, для компенсации деривации был помещён справа от ствола.
    Остриё имело заточку в форме отвёртки. Ранения, наносимые четырехгранным игольчатым штыком, были тяжелее чем нанесённые штык-ножом, имели большую глубину и малое входное отверстие, поэтому ранение сопровождалось сильным внутренним кровотечением, из-за чего штык осуждался как негуманный

    Интересно
Картина дня